DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07/15/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patents- US 10718578 B2 & US 9982958 B1 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lukas (US 3788632 A).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 22, Lukas discloses a jig (10) for finishing a lower receiver (92) having a buffer tube alignment hole and a takedown pin hole, comprising:
a top guide plate (28) configured to be supported by a front support (94) and a buffer support (44);
a rotary tool adaptor (94) configured to be supported by the top guide plate; a rotary power tool (14) coupled to a rotary tool (16) configured to be supported by the top guide plate and the rotary tool adaptor (94, fig. 1);
a first carriage plate (20) and a second carriage plate (22) configured to be positioned on respective first and second sides of the lower receiver (92),
wherein a proximal end of each of the first and second carriage plates (20/22) are coupled with the top guide plate (28) and a distal end of each of the first and second carriage plates extends therefrom (figs. 1-2); wherein the distal ends of the first and second carriage plates extend below a lowermost point of the lower receiver (92); and
a locating pin (screws 62 shown on clamps 94) configured to extend through the front support (94, figs. 1-2) to secure the front support (94) to the lower receiver (92 secured via clamping) and the top guide plate (28) is oriented perpendicular relative to the front support (94 – extends upward/perpendicular from 28 as well as the screws 62 part of 94 extend perpendicular to 28) and/or the buffer support (44).
Regarding claims 9, Lukas discloses the locating pin is a bolt (62), first carriage plate and second carriage plate (20/22) includes a plurality of drill guide holes (fig. 4) aligned with a location for a hammer pin (62), a trigger pivot, and a selector (any of 132, 134, 136 632, 634, 636 can be “aligned with a hammer/trigger pivot hole or “selector”), wherein the buffer support (110/buffer adapter 7) includes one or more buffer attachment holes (holes for 112), a buffer locator hole (center hole, figs. 21 and 27), and a boss (ridges shown on buffer adapter 7 fig. 21), wherein a locating pin/bolt (704) is configured to couple the front support (118, [0039], figs. 1-8) to the lower receiver (116 [0035-0051], figs. 1-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lukas (US 3788632 A) in view of Witt (US 6742558 B1).
Regarding claims 3-8 and 12, Lukas fails to disclose the first and second carriage plate have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches, wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners, wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing and the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch.
Witt teaches having a first and second carriage plate (14/16 and/or block 30) have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches (col. 1, lines 1-16, “as much as two inches” - block 30 with four laminate layers 32, 34, 36, 38), wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners (pins 56/slugs 62), wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing (“configured” to resist some skewing with added thickness guides drill bit further thus resisting skewing), wherein the first carriage plate (36) includes a drill guide hole (60, horizontal bores 78/ slots 82 and/or 91) aligned with a location for a hammer pin (pins 56, bolts 94 and/or adjustment bolt 93), the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch (Witt also teaches increasing or decreasing the number of laminates, col. 3, lines 60-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 5, lines 1-16, figs. 1-9).
Witt states: “the number of laminates is shown to be four, this number may be increased or decreased” (col. 4, lines 5-8).
Given the teachings of Lukas to have first and second carriage plates with a template for guiding a drill, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the first and second carriage plate have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches, wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners, wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing and the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch for more precise operation of the rotary tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece), improved guiding of the rotary tool and/or for having a template depth for the desired hole/feature in a blank purposes as taught by Witt.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17, 19-21, and 23 are allowed.
Claims 13-14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a jig for manufacturing a lower receiver from a blank comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features a buffer tube and a takedown pin hole, comprising: a top plate configured to be supported by a front support and a buffer support, a rotary tool adaptor configured to be supported by the top plate; a rotary power tool coupled to a rotary tool configured to be supported by the top plate and the rotary tool adaptor, a first carriage plate and a second carriage plate (22/24) configured to be positioned on respective first and second sides of the lower receiver; and a locating pin configured to extend through the front support to secure the front support to the lower and a proximal end of each of the first and second carriage plates is coupled with the top plate and a distal end of each of the first and second carriage plates extends therefrom, wherein the distal ends of the first and second carriage plates extend below a lowermost point of the lower receiver, wherein the first and second carriage plates include a plurality of drill guide holes aligned with a location for a hammer pin, a trigger pivot, and a selector, wherein the buffer support includes can have one or more buffer attachment holes, a buffer locator hole, and a boss. Though Chang et al. teaches the carriage plates that include a drill guide hole the explicit teaching of having a proximal end of each of the first and second carriage plates coupled with the top plate and a distal end of each of the first and second carriage plates extends therefrom, wherein the distal ends of the first and second carriage plates extend below a lowermost point of the lower receiver, wherein the first and second carriage plates include a plurality of drill guide holes aligned with a location for a hammer pin, a trigger pivot, and a selector, wherein the buffer support includes can have one or more buffer attachment holes, a buffer locator hole, and a boss would not be obvious to modify since the carriage plates coupling assembly and router support plate would not be able to be attached without having to add other coupling features to function with the different shape/extending carriage plates. Having the carriages able to adapt the jig to different receivers by provides a more versatile tool along with using at least one guiding feature to facilitate in the guidance of the rotary tool in a safe manner.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-9, 11-17, and 19-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all new references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Allemann et al. (US 20040126197 A1) – JIG with template having differing depth of holes, size and shape of holes/features ([0035-0041, 0051], figs. 1-5)
PUGSLEY (US 2997900 A)- Multipurpose Fixture/JIG for drilling holes in a rod (R) with two carriage plates (20/58/78), template for drill bit to be held at right angles to avoid skewing (col. 2, lines 44-67- col. 4, line 67, figs. 1-10) and see references cited, form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731