DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The After Final Amendment filed 04/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-23 are pending in the application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/18/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Us patents- 11623313, 10875135, 12138727 B2, 11607765 B2, 11000930 B1, AND 10099329 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “101” has been used to designate both rotary power tool and guide plate (presumably should be 110) in fig. 7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Presumably guide plate “101” in fig. 7 should be - - 110 - -.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hammer pin, trigger pivot, and selector must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. - US 10718578 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a rotary tool having an adaptor, lower receiver with a top guide plate and two carriage plates and two supports for the carriage plates (current claim 1 & patented claims 1-3 and 7). Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
See claim match below-
18163657 (claims)
US 10718578 B2 (claims)
1, 5-6, 15, and 20
1-4 and 6-8
3-4, 8, 12, and 16
13
7, 13, 19
16
Claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. - US 9982958 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a rotary tool having an adaptor, lower receiver with a top guide plate and two carriage plates and two supports for the carriage plates (current claim 1 & patented claims 1-13). Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
See claim match below-
18163657 (claims)
US 10718578 B2 (claims)
2-9, 11-17, and 19-23
1-11
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, the phrase “each of the first and second carriage plates is coupled” does not agree in singular/plural and should be recited - - each of the first and second carriage plates are coupled - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11, 13-15, and 19-23 is/are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by copending Application No. 16/206878/ Partington (US 20190331442 A1) which has a common inventor with the instant application.
Based upon the earlier effective filing date of the copending application, it would constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), if published under 35 U.S.C. 122(b) or patented under 35 U.S.C. 151. This provisional rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is based upon a presumption of future publication or patenting of the copending application. Since Application No. 16/206878/Partington (US 20190331442 A1) anticipates the invention and there is a different inventive entity (assignee) the rejection should be overcome.
This provisional rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the copending application was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the copending application and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
This rejection may not be overcome by the filing of a terminal disclaimer. See In re Bartfeld, 925 F.2d 1450, 17 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 22, Partington discloses a jig (100) for finishing a lower receiver (116) having a buffer tube alignment hole (figs. 4, 21-22 and 27) and a takedown pin hole (any of 132, 134, 136), comprising:
a top guide plate (108) configured to be supported by a front support (118) and a buffer support (110);
a rotary tool adaptor (122/8, figs. 1-8 and 21) configured to be supported by the top guide plate; a rotary power tool (102) coupled to a rotary tool (104) configured to be supported by the top guide plate and the rotary tool adaptor ([0035-0040], figs. 1-10);
a first carriage plate (114) and a second carriage plate (302) configured to be positioned on respective first and second sides of the lower receiver (figs. 1-8, 20-22 and 26-27),
wherein a proximal end of each of the first and second carriage plates (114/302) is coupled with the top guide plate (108) and a distal end of each of the first and second carriage plates extends therefrom (figs. 1-8, 21-22 and 26-27) wherein the distal ends of the first and second carriage plates extend below a lowermost point of the lower receiver (screw 304 shown below lower receiver, [0040], figs. 4 and 7-8); and
a locating pin (704) configured to extend through the front support ([0039], figs. 1-8) to secure the front support (118) to the lower receiver (116 [0035-0051], figs. 1-27) and the top guide plate (108) is oriented perpendicular relative to the front support and/or the buffer support (116 [0035-0051], figs. 1-27).
Regarding claims 15 and 23, Partington discloses a jig (100) for finishing a lower receiver (116) having a buffer tube alignment hole (figs. 4, 21-22 and 27) and a takedown pin hole (any of 132, 134, 136), comprising:
a top guide plate (108) configured to be supported by a front support (118) and a buffer support (110); the front support coupled to the top guide plate by one or more fasteners,
the buffer support (110/buffer adapter 7) comprising:
one or more buffer attachment holes configured to receive fasteners (112, [0035, 0045], figs. 21); a buffer locator hole (center hole, figs. 21 and 27) configured to engage a buffer locator (capable of engaging a buffer locator); and a boss (ridges shown on buffer adapter 7 fig. 21) configured to engage with the buffer tube alignment hole (capable of “engaging” the alignment hole) on the lower receiver (116);
wherein the fasteners (112) extending through the one or more buffer attachment holes are configured to couple to the top guide plate (figs. 3-4);
a rotary power tool (102) coupled to a rotary tool (104) configured to be supported by the top guide plate ([0035-0040], figs. 1-10); and
a first carriage plate (114) and a second carriage plate (302) configured to be positioned on respective first and second sides of the lower receiver (figs. 1-8, 20-22 and 26-27),
wherein a proximal end of each of the first and second carriage plates (114/302) is coupled with the top guide plate (108) and a distal end of each of the first and second carriage plates extends therefrom (figs. 1-8, 21-22 and 26-27), wherein the top guide plate (108) is oriented perpendicular relative to the front support and/or the buffer support (116 [0035-0051], figs. 1-27).
Regarding claims 9, 13-14 and 19-21, Partington discloses the first carriage plate and second carriage plate (114/302) includes a plurality of drill guide holes (132, 134, 136, 632, 634, 636) aligned with a location for a hammer pin, a trigger pivot, and a selector (any of 132, 134, 136 632, 634, 636 can be “aligned with a hammer/trigger pivot hole or “selector”), wherein the buffer support (110/buffer adapter 7) includes one or more buffer attachment holes (holes for 112), a buffer locator hole (center hole, figs. 21 and 27), and a boss (ridges shown on buffer adapter 7 fig. 21), wherein a locating pin/bolt (704) is configured to couple the front support (118, [0039], figs. 1-8) to the lower receiver (116 [0035-0051], figs. 1-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Partington (US 20190331442 A1) in view of Smith (US 20190210170 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 19-23, In the alternative, if it can be argued that Partington fails to disclose the buffer support with having a boss configured to engage with the buffer tube alignment hole -
Smith teaches the first carriage plate includes a drill guide hole (guide holes 42 is used to guide a drill bit [0044, 0065], figs. 1-2 and 11), the first carriage plate is coupled to the top plate by a first set of fasteners extending through the top plate (via apertures 56 [0046]), wherein the second carriage plate is coupled to the top plate by a second set of fasteners extending through the top plate [0046], wherein a first row of the first set of fasteners is coupled along a first side of the first carriage plate and a second row of the first set of fasteners is coupled along a second side of the first carriage plate, wherein the first carriage plate includes a drill guide hole (40) aligned with a location for a hammer pin, ([0044-0065], fig. 2) and;
a buffer support (314) having a boss (332) configured to engage with a buffer tube alignment hole (330 [0068-0069], fig. 15).
Given the teachings of Partington to have first and second carriage plates with a template for guiding a drill, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the buffer support with having a boss configured to engage with the buffer tube alignment hole for more secure holding the rotary tool, protect from dust/debris and more precise alignment of the buffer support installation and/or for having a template correct depth for the desired hole/feature in a blank purposes as taught by Smith.
Claim(s) 3-8, 12, and 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Partington (US 20190331442 A1) in view of Smith (US 20190210170 A1) in view of Witt (US 6742558 B1).
Regarding claims 3-8, 12, and 16-17, Partington fails to disclose the first and second carriage plate have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches, wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners, wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing and the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch.
Witt teaches having a first and second carriage plate (14/16 and/or block 30) have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches (col. 1, lines 1-16, “as much as two inches” - block 30 with four laminate layers 32, 34, 36, 38), wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners (pins 56/slugs 62), wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing (“configured” to resist some skewing with added thickness guides drill bit further thus resisting skewing), wherein the first carriage plate (36) includes a drill guide hole (60, horizontal bores 78/ slots 82 and/or 91) aligned with a location for a hammer pin (pins 56, bolts 94 and/or adjustment bolt 93), the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch (Witt also teaches increasing or decreasing the number of laminates, col. 3, lines 60-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 5, lines 1-16, figs. 1-9).
Witt states: “the number of laminates is shown to be four, this number may be increased or decreased” (col. 4, lines 5-8).
Given the teachings of Partington to have first and second carriage plates with a template for guiding a drill, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the first and second carriage plate have a thickness of at least 1.0 inches, wherein the thickness is in a direction between the first row and the second row of the first set of fasteners, wherein the thickness is configured to allow the rotary tool to resist skewing and the drill guide hole having a depth of at least 1 inch for more precise operation of the rotary tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece), improved guiding of the rotary tool and/or for having a template depth for the desired hole/feature in a blank purposes as taught by Witt.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Allemann et al. (US 20040126197 A1) – JIG with template having differing depth of holes, size and shape of holes/features ([0035-0041, 0051], figs. 1-5)
PUGSLEY (US 2997900 A)- Multipurpose Fixture/JIG for drilling holes in a rod (R) with two carriage plates (20/58/78), template for drill bit to be held at right angles to avoid skewing (col. 2, lines 44-67- col. 4, line 67, figs. 1-10) and see references cited, form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731