DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-13 have been presented for examination.
PRIORITY
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application JP 2022-025088 filed February 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2023, October 22, 2025, and December 3, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS as to the merits.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6127970 A, hereafter Lin.
Regarding Claim 1: Lin discloses a navigation simulator comprising:
a memory in which a computer program is stored; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform processing by executing the computer program, the processing including: (Lin. Column 3, Lines 52-57, “The system for coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation according to the principles of the present invention comprises of a computer used as computing platform, an RS-232 serial port for the emulated global positioning system data output, an inertial sensor signal generation circuitry.” Examiner notes: The terms “memory” and “processor” are not explicitly defined in the specification. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (MPEP § 2111), “memory” comprises any part of a computer in which data or program instructions can be stored for retrieval, and “processor” comprises any component in a computer that carries out instructions from software. Lin discloses a computer used as computing platform (Lin. Column 3, Line 55), which meets the limitations of “a memory” and “a processor” under this interpretation.)
acquiring, from an external device, a test scenario including a simulator built-in sensor signal, the simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor when a vehicle drives on a preset driving route, the simulator built-in sensor being installed in the navigation simulator; (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 2, Lines 55-64, “It is a further object of this invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system which allows unlimited dynamic test and performance evaluation of a global positioning/inertial integrated system because the motion devices are removed from the navigation system. With the gyro, accelerometer, and global positioning system receiver emulation method and system the testers are able to test the global positioning/inertial integrated system performance over a real mission trajectory.” Examiner notes: The unlimited dynamic test and performance evaluation of a global positioning/inertial integrated system including the gyro and accelerometer from Lin disclose the claimed test scenario including a simulator built-in sensor signal. The gyro from Lin is a sensor that measures angular velocity and the accelerometer from Lin is a sensor that measures acceleration, which disclose the claimed simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor. The vehicle on a real mission trajectory from Lin discloses the claimed vehicle on a preset driving route. The gyro and accelerometer in the global positioning/inertial integrated system from Lin disclose the claimed simulator built-in sensor being installed in the navigation simulator.)
generating an emulated sensor signal obtained by emulating a car navigator built-in sensor signal on the basis of the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the test scenario, the car navigator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a car navigator built-in sensor installed in a car navigation system; (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 2, Lines 65-67 and Column 3, Lines 1-3, “It is still a further object of this invention to provide a coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation method and system that is efficiently utilized for ground test of installed system, laboratory hardware-in-the-loop dynamic simulation, and global positioning/inertial integrated system analysis and development.” Column 3, Lines 4-11, “Another object of this invention is to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that can perform accurate test for the global positioning/inertial system. In the simulated test, the reference trajectory is accurate and known, since it is defined by the testers, so that the high accuracy of the simulated method is very useful for the performance verification of the global positioning/inertial system.” Column 3, Lines 22-31, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, which is driven by a 6DOF trajectory generator to simultaneously generate synchronized dynamic gyro, accelerometer, and global positioning system receiver measurements. During the test, the installed fully coupled positioning system on the vehicle remains motionless. Therefore, the present invention provides an integrally dynamic hardware-in-the-loop test of fully coupled positioning system on the ground or in a laboratory environment.” Column 3, Lines 32-37, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, in which the dynamic inertial measurements are generated in high fidelity through inertial sensor measurement modeling and error modeling, and a specific interface with the fully coupled positioning system.” Examiner notes: The dynamic inertial measurements in the coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system on the vehicle that includes a coupled inertial sensor and is driven by a 6DOF trajectory generator to simultaneously generate synchronized dynamic gyro and accelerometer for the simulated test from Lin disclose the claimed emulated sensor signal obtained by emulating a car navigator built-in sensor signal on the basis of the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the test scenario.)
outputting the generated emulated sensor signal to the car navigation system. (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 3, Lines 38-45, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, in which the global positioning system receiver measurements are generated in high fidelity through real time global positioning system satellite constellation simulation, intermediate frequency (IF) signal generation, global positioning system receiver tracking loop simulation, and output data formatting.” Column 3, Lines 46-57, “According to the principle of the present invention, the method of simulating the coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system comprises inertial measurement modeling, inertial sensor error modeling, global positioning system error modeling, synchronization of inertial measurements and global positioning system data, simulated data formatting, and output interfaces. The system for coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation according to the principles of the present invention comprises of a computer used as computing platform, an RS-232 serial port for the emulated global positioning system data output, an inertial sensor signal generation circuitry.” Examiner notes: The emulated global positioning system data outputted to the global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle from Lin discloses the claimed emulated sensor signal outputted to the car navigation system.)
Regarding Claim 7: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 1, wherein the motion information includes information indicating angular velocity and acceleration of the vehicle. (Lin. Column 13, Lines 60-66 and Column 14, Lines 9 & 11-12 & 15-16 & 20 & 22-23, “In view of the performance evaluation of the integrated GPS/INS (global positioning system/inertial navigation system) system 30, the data produced by the 6DOF trajectory generator 10 is the ideal reference for the test mission. Using the simulated real time GPS and IMU (inertia measurement unit) signals, the integrated GPS/INS system 30 can resolve a vehicle trajectory. Comparing the ideal trajectory and the system resolved trajectory, we can evaluate the performance of the integrated system. Usually, the 6DOF trajectory data can produce the following flight data:
(5) Acceleration vector in ECIZ frame.
(7) Angular velocity vector observed in ECIZ and resolved in the B frame.
The integrated GPS/INS system 30 can produce the following outputs:
(3) Acceleration vector in N frame.
(5) Angular velocity vector observed in N and resolved in the B frame.”)
Regarding Claim 13: Lin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which programmed instructions are recorded, the instructions causing a computer to execute processing, the processing comprising:
acquiring, from an external device, a test scenario including a simulator built-in sensor signal, the simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor when a vehicle drives on a preset driving route, the simulator built-in sensor being installed in the navigation simulator; (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 2, Lines 55-64, “It is a further object of this invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system which allows unlimited dynamic test and performance evaluation of a global positioning/inertial integrated system because the motion devices are removed from the navigation system. With the gyro, accelerometer, and global positioning system receiver emulation method and system the testers are able to test the global positioning/inertial integrated system performance over a real mission trajectory.” Examiner notes: The unlimited dynamic test and performance evaluation of a global positioning/inertial integrated system including the gyro and accelerometer from Lin disclose the claimed test scenario including a simulator built-in sensor signal. The gyro from Lin is a sensor that measures angular velocity and the accelerometer from Lin is a sensor that measures acceleration, which disclose the simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor. The vehicle on a real mission trajectory from Lin discloses the claimed vehicle on a preset driving route. The gyro and accelerometer in the global positioning/inertial integrated system from Lin disclose the simulator built-in sensor being installed in the navigation simulator.)
generating an emulated sensor signal obtained by emulating a car navigator built-in sensor signal on the basis of the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the test scenario, the car navigator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by a car navigator built-in sensor installed in a car navigation system; (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 2, Lines 65-67 and Column 3, Lines 1-3, “It is still a further object of this invention to provide a coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation method and system that is efficiently utilized for ground test of installed system, laboratory hardware-in-the-loop dynamic simulation, and global positioning/inertial integrated system analysis and development.” Column 3, Lines 4-11, “Another object of this invention is to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that can perform accurate test for the global positioning/inertial system. In the simulated test, the reference trajectory is accurate and known, since it is defined by the testers, so that the high accuracy of the simulated method is very useful for the performance verification of the global positioning/inertial system.” Column 3, Lines 22-31, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, which is driven by a 6DOF trajectory generator to simultaneously generate synchronized dynamic gyro, accelerometer, and global positioning system receiver measurements. During the test, the installed fully coupled positioning system on the vehicle remains motionless. Therefore, the present invention provides an integrally dynamic hardware-in-the-loop test of fully coupled positioning system on the ground or in a laboratory environment.” Column 3, Lines 32-37, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, in which the dynamic inertial measurements are generated in high fidelity through inertial sensor measurement modeling and error modeling, and a specific interface with the fully coupled positioning system.” Examiner notes: The dynamic inertial measurements in the coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system on the vehicle that includes a coupled inertial sensor and is driven by a 6DOF trajectory generator to simultaneously generate synchronized dynamic gyro and accelerometer for the simulated test from Lin disclose the claimed emulated sensor signal obtained by emulating a car navigator built-in sensor signal on the basis of the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the test scenario.)
outputting the generated emulated sensor signal to the car navigation system. (Lin. Column 2, Lines 20-24, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation method for positioning and location system that renders the testing of the installed global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle can be carried out in a laboratory or in an anechoic chamber facility.” Column 3, Lines 38-45, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, in which the global positioning system receiver measurements are generated in high fidelity through real time global positioning system satellite constellation simulation, intermediate frequency (IF) signal generation, global positioning system receiver tracking loop simulation, and output data formatting.” Column 3, Lines 46-57, “According to the principle of the present invention, the method of simulating the coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system comprises inertial measurement modeling, inertial sensor error modeling, global positioning system error modeling, synchronization of inertial measurements and global positioning system data, simulated data formatting, and output interfaces. The system for coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation according to the principles of the present invention comprises of a computer used as computing platform, an RS-232 serial port for the emulated global positioning system data output, an inertial sensor signal generation circuitry.” Examiner notes: The emulated global positioning system data outputted to the global positioning/inertial system on the vehicle from Lin discloses the claimed emulated sensor signal outputted to the car navigation system.)
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-6, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6127970 A, hereafter Lin, in view of U.S. Patent No. 20150302126 A1, hereafter Hamid et al.
Regarding Claim 2: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 1, wherein the simulator built-in sensor signal represents, by a dimensionless quantity, the motion information detected by the simulator built-in sensor. (Lin. Column 2, Lines 14-17, “The simulated signal has the same amplitude and signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) as realistic one so that it can be directly injected into a global positioning system receiver through the antenna port.”)
Lin does not explicitly disclose details about the storing of information, wherein the processing further includes storing, in a storage medium, a driving log file including the simulator built-in sensor signal.
However, Hamid et al discloses, in the analogous art area of simulation, the processing that includes storing, in a storage medium, a driving log file including the simulator built-in sensor signal. (Hamid et al. “[0146] In one embodiment, a first test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a first compiler executed by the processor 101 and a second test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a second compiler executed by the processor 101 or by another processor. “[…]” “[0194] In one embodiment, the comparator 220 receives the test output, e.g., messages, etc., from a log file stored in a memory device that is coupled to a processor executing the test bench. The test output is stored in the log file by one or more module representations of the test bench. The test output is post-processed by the comparator 220 after execution of the test bench is completed to generate the test output. The processor that executes the test bench is coupled to the memory device.” “[…]” “[0218] The SoC (system-on-a-chip) scenario model 402 identified from a compiled file by the test file generation module 110 and provided to the UVM (universal verification methodology) test bench 412 is also provided to the test bench 214. It should be noted that the UVM test bench 412 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at a subsystem stage of the project and the UVM test bench 214 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at an SoC stage of the project. It should be noted that the IP (intellectual property), the subsystem, and the SoC stages are simulation stages of the project.” “[…]” “[0274] The processor 101 or another processor determines that expected outputs of the test include that the vehicle keeps moving forward or that the vehicle stops. The one or more inputs of the scenario model are constrained from execution by the processor 101 based on the expected outputs of the scenario model.” Examiner notes: The log file, stored in a memory device, that includes the test output regarding the vehicle’s motion information during the simulation stages of the project from Hamid et al discloses the claimed driving log file including the simulator built-in sensor signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a driving log file including the simulator built-in-sensor signal as per Hamid et al for the system in Lin because the use of the driving log file would allow for the “use of different test cases for different project stages” (Hamid et al. [0012]), which “may result in a bug that is not found until a later stage, e.g., during the final silicon stage, etc., of the project. Fixing the bug delays time-to-market potentially missing a market window completely and resulting in reduced financial revenues.” (Hamid et al. [0012])
Regarding Claim 3: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 2, wherein the test scenario includes: a virtual sensor signal output from the simulator built-in sensor when the vehicle virtually drives on the preset driving route. (Lin. Column 6, Lines 49-67 and Column 7, Lines 1-2, “The coupled real time (GPS/IMU) emulation method for positioning and location system such as the integrated GPS/INS system according to the present invention comprises the following steps:
1. Input IMU measurement models and IMU error models into the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 according to a real IMU device 32 of the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested. The IMU measurement models comprise gyro measurement model and accelerometer measurement model, which are determined by an inertial sensor principal. The IMU error models comprises gyro error model and accelerometer error model which are defined by a user according to the real IMU device 32 used in the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested.
2. Produce real time trajectory data from the 6DOF trajectory generator 10 and send the real time trajectory data to the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20. The real time trajectory data are defined by the user. The coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 produces dynamic GPS measurements and IMU signals as if a vehicle is really moving along a trajectory defined by the user.” Examiner notes: The dynamic GPS measurements and IMU signals produced by the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 as if a vehicle is really moving along a trajectory defined by the user from Lin disclose the claimed virtual sensor signal output from the simulator built-in sensor when the vehicle virtually drives on the preset driving route.)
Lin does not explicitly disclose details about the information of the test scenario, wherein the test scenario includes: the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file.
However, Hamid et al discloses, in the analogous art area of simulation, the test scenario that includes: the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file. (Hamid et al. “[0146] In one embodiment, a first test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a first compiler executed by the processor 101 and a second test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a second compiler executed by the processor 101 or by another processor. “[…]” “[0194] In one embodiment, the comparator 220 receives the test output, e.g., messages, etc., from a log file stored in a memory device that is coupled to a processor executing the test bench. The test output is stored in the log file by one or more module representations of the test bench. The test output is post-processed by the comparator 220 after execution of the test bench is completed to generate the test output. The processor that executes the test bench is coupled to the memory device.” “[…]” “[0218] The SoC (system-on-a-chip) scenario model 402 identified from a compiled file by the test file generation module 110 and provided to the UVM (universal verification methodology) test bench 412 is also provided to the test bench 214. It should be noted that the UVM test bench 412 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at a subsystem stage of the project and the UVM test bench 214 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at an SoC stage of the project. It should be noted that the IP (intellectual property), the subsystem, and the SoC stages are simulation stages of the project.” “[…]” “[0274] The processor 101 or another processor determines that expected outputs of the test include that the vehicle keeps moving forward or that the vehicle stops. The one or more inputs of the scenario model are constrained from execution by the processor 101 based on the expected outputs of the scenario model.” Examiner notes: The test output, stored in the log file, regarding the vehicle’s motion information during the simulation stages of the project from Hamid et al discloses the claimed simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file as per Hamid et al for the system in Lin because the use of the driving log file would allow for the “use of different test cases for different project stages” (Hamid et al. [0012]), which “may result in a bug that is not found until a later stage, e.g., during the final silicon stage, etc., of the project. Fixing the bug delays time-to-market potentially missing a market window completely and resulting in reduced financial revenues.” (Hamid et al. [0012])
Regarding Claim 4: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 3, wherein the emulated sensor signal is a signal obtained by converting the simulator built-in sensor signal or the virtual sensor signal into a signal with a format of a car navigator built-in sensor signal output by the car navigator built-in sensor. (Lin. Column 7, Lines 8-11, “4. Format the GPS measurement data and convert the real time IMU data into IMU simulated electronic signals by an IMU signal generator in the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20.” Column 11, Lines 14-22, “The IMU input/output interface 232 as shown in FIG. 2 for IMU emulation includes an analog signal interface 232-1 (as shown in FIG. 8), a serial signal interface 232-2 (as shown in FIG. 9), a pulse signal interface 232-3 (as shown in FIG. 10), and a parallel digital signal interface 232-4 (as shown in FIG. 11). These interfaces 232-1, 232-2, 232-3, 232-4 are used to convert the simulated IMU measurement data into one kind of signal that can be injected into the Integrated GPS/INS System 30.” Column 12, Lines 61-67 and Column 13, Line 1, “As shown in FIGS. 8 to 10, the signal regulator and connector board 24 is used to convert the electronic signals produced by the signal generator into the required electrical specifications and form a suitable connector so that they can be directly injected into the installed integrated GPS/INS computer (such as the navigation computer) 33 of the GNC avionics on-board vehicle, i.e. the integrated GPS/INS system 30.” See also FIG. 2 on Sheet 2, FIG. 8 on Sheet 8, FIG. 9 on Sheet 9, FIG. 10 on Sheet 10, and FIG. 11 on Sheet 11. Examiner notes: The electronic signals, produced by the signal generator, being converted into the required electrical specifications to form a suitable connector so that they can be directly injected into the installed integrated GPS/INS computer 33 of the GNC avionics on-board vehicle from Lin disclose the claimed simulator built-in sensor signal or the virtual sensor signal being converted into a signal with a format of a car navigator built-in sensor signal output by the car navigator built-in sensor.)
Regarding Claim 5: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 2, wherein the processing includes acquiring the test scenario including the simulator built-in sensor signal representing, by a physical quantity, the simulator built-in sensor signal stored in the storage medium. (Lin. Column 4, Lines 35-56, “The present invention relates to a method and system for coupled (global positioning system/inertia measurement unit) GPS/IMU sensor emulation. The technique involves IMU modeling, IMU error modeling, GPS receiver modeling, GPS error modeling, and simulated data formatting. During the hardware-in-the-loop test, a 6DOF trajectory generator drives the present system to produce dynamic IMU and GPS measurements. These simulated data and signals are injected into the integrated GPS/INS system. The advantages of the technique applied in the present invention include:
1. Simulating dynamic IMU measurements in real time using software;
2. Simulating the behavior of a GPS receiver in a dynamic and jamming environment using software;
3. Simulating the GPS and IMU simultaneously using synchronization technique;
4. Having unlimited dynamic IMU sensors and GPS receiver simulation capability coupled with a 6DOF generator; and
5. Providing a cost-effective test method for the GPS/INS system and its cost of maintenance is low.”)
Regarding Claim 6: Lin discloses the navigation simulator according to claim 1, wherein the register being configured to hold the emulated sensor signal, wherein the processing further includes reading the emulated sensor signal corresponding to a sensor signal from the register in response to a request for the sensor signal from the car navigation system. (Lin. Column 6, Lines 14-29, “The emulation of GPS and IMU may not be completed at the same time. Whichever is calculated first, it must wait for the second emulated data, the IMU data or the GPS measurement data. Also, a timing software module regulates the output of the emulated IMU data and GPS measurement data in a synchronization fashion. The emulated GPS measurement data also will be sent out through the GPS Input and Output Interface, and the emulated IMU data also will be sent out through the IMU Input and Output Interface. The emulated IMU data and GPS measurement data will be stored in the buffer to wait the triggering signal. However, the triggering signal is provided by the one of the two computers' clock or comes from an outside common synchronization signal. At the triggering time, the emulated GPS measurements and IMU data are sent out synchronously.” Examiner notes: The buffer in which the emulated IMU data and GPS measurement data are stored to wait the triggering signal from Lin discloses the claimed register being configured to hold the emulated sensor signal. The emulated GPS measurements and IMU data being sent out in response to the triggering signal from Lin disclose the claimed process of reading the emulated sensor signal corresponding to a sensor signal from the register in response to a request for the sensor signal from the car navigation system.)
Lin does not explicitly disclose details about the storing of information in the same place: a register to which a same memory address as the car navigator built-in sensor is assigned.
However, Hamid et al discloses, in the analogous art area of simulation, a register to which a same memory address as the car navigator built-in sensor is assigned. (Hamid et al. “[0136] The scenario models 206 include a memory map, e.g., a link, etc., between a module representation and a memory device module representation, e.g., an address, a set of addresses. As an example, a memory map includes identifications of registers and fields that support each intellectual property (IP) block, and available instances of each memory device module representation with available base addresses of the memory device module representations. In one embodiment, an IP block is a module representation except for a memory device module representation. As another example, a memory map includes a cache line size of a cache module representation that supports an IP block, a number of cache lines of the cache module representation, set associativity of the cache module representation, a cache index hash function of the cache module representation, etc. The memory device module representation is used for storing an input or an output of an IP block. It should be noted that a function of a memory device module representation is to store an input or an output. The scenario models 206 further include one or more driver scenario models, one or more application scenario models, and one or more performance scenario models.” “[…]” “[0274] The processor 101 or another processor determines that expected outputs of the test include that the vehicle keeps moving forward or that the vehicle stops. The one or more inputs of the scenario model are constrained from execution by the processor 101 based on the expected outputs of the scenario model.” Examiner notes: The register stored in the same memory as the output regarding the vehicle’s motion information from Hamid et al discloses the claimed register to which a same memory address as the car navigator built-in sensor is assigned.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a register to which a same memory address as the car navigator built-in sensor is assigned as per Hamid et al for the emulated sensor signal and the corresponding sensor signal from the register in Lin because it would allow for sharing resources, such as a memory address, which enables fast, efficient, and direct communication between threads or processes, as per Hamid et al: “In an embodiment, a thread is a subset, e.g., a smallest sequence, etc., of computer instructions that is managed independently by a scheduler. One or more threads are part of a process and share resources, e.g., time share resources, time division multiplex resources, etc., and different processes do not share the resources. Examples of resources include memory devices, addresses within one or more memory devices, etc.” (Hamid et al. [0269])
Regarding Claim 8: Lin discloses an information processing device comprising:
a memory in which a computer program is stored; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform processing by executing the computer program, the processing including: (Lin. Column 3, Lines 52-57, “The system for coupled inertial sensor and global positioning system emulation according to the principles of the present invention comprises of a computer used as computing platform, an RS-232 serial port for the emulated global positioning system data output, an inertial sensor signal generation circuitry.” Examiner notes: The terms “memory” and “processor” are not explicitly defined in the specification. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (MPEP § 2111), “memory” comprises any part of a computer in which data or program instructions can be stored for retrieval, and “processor” comprises any component in a computer that carries out instructions from software. Lin discloses a computer used as computing platform (Lin. Column 3, Line 55), which meets the limitations of “a memory” and “a processor” under this interpretation.)
generating a virtual driving scenario including a virtual sensor signal, the virtual sensor signal representing motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor when a vehicle virtually drives on a preset driving route, the simulator built-in sensor being installed in a navigation simulator; (Lin. Column 6, Lines 49-67 and Column 7, Lines 1-7, “The coupled real time (GPS/IMU) emulation method for positioning and location system such as the integrated GPS/INS system according to the present invention comprises the following steps:
1. Input IMU measurement models and IMU error models into the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 according to a real IMU device 32 of the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested. The IMU measurement models comprise gyro measurement model and accelerometer measurement model, which are determined by an inertial sensor principal. The IMU error models comprises gyro error model and accelerometer error model which are defined by a user according to the real IMU device 32 used in the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested.
2. Produce real time trajectory data from the 6DOF trajectory generator 10 and send the real time trajectory data to the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20. The real time trajectory data are defined by the user. The coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 produces dynamic GPS measurements and IMU signals as if a vehicle is really moving along a trajectory defined by the user.
3. Generate output data including real time IMU data, identical to the real IMU device in a designed mission, by the IMU model of the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20, and the GPS measurements by the GPS receiver model in the GPS/IMU emulation system 20.” Examiner notes: The output data including real time IMU data and the GPS measurements as if a vehicle is really moving along a trajectory defined by the user and the IMU measurement models comprising gyro measurement model and accelerometer measurement model used to produce real time trajectory data from Lin disclose the claimed virtual driving scenario including a virtual sensor signal that represents motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor when a vehicle virtually drives on a preset driving route. The gyro from Lin is a sensor that measures angular velocity and the accelerometer from Lin is a sensor that measures acceleration, which disclose the claimed virtual sensor signal that represents motion information detected by a simulator built-in sensor. The vehicle virtually moving along a trajectory defined by the user from Lin discloses the claimed vehicle virtually driving on a preset driving route. The gyro and accelerometer in the global positioning/inertial integrated system from Lin disclose the claimed simulator built-in sensor being installed in the navigation simulator.)
executing a test scenario including the virtual sensor signal included in the virtual driving scenario or the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file; (Lin. Column 6, Lines 53-62, “1. Input IMU measurement models and IMU error models into the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 according to a real IMU device 32 of the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested. The IMU measurement models comprise gyro measurement model and accelerometer measurement model, which are determined by an inertial sensor principal. The IMU error models comprises gyro error model and accelerometer error model which are defined by a user according to the real IMU device 32 used in the integrated GPS/INS system 30 to be tested.” Column 7, Lines 22-27, “6. Inject the simulated GPS measurements and the IMU simulated electronic signals into the integrated GPS/INS system 30. When the integrated GPS/INS system 30 is excited in dynamic operation, a performance thereof is able to be tested and evaluated as if carrying a real transportation/flight test.” Examiner notes: The test including the simulated GPS measurements and the IMU simulated electronic signals in the virtual scenario and the gyro signals and the accelerometer signals in the system from Lin disclose the claimed test scenario including the virtual sensor signal included in the virtual driving scenario or the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file.)
and outputting the test scenario to the navigation simulator. (Lin. Column 7, Lines 28-34, “Collect test data from the integrated GPS/INS system 30, during the test, by a data acquisition and performance evaluation system 40 which includes a computer. Usually the comparison between the reference 6DOF trajectory data and the integrated GPS/INS resolved vehicle trajectory data is done to determine whether the integrated GPS/INS system 30 works properly and to evaluate its performance.” Examiner notes: The test data outputted to the integrated GPS/INS system from Lin discloses the claimed test scenario outputted to the navigation simulator.)
Lin does not explicitly disclose details about information acquisition, wherein the processing includes acquiring a driving log file including a simulator built-in sensor signal, the simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by the simulator built-in sensor when the vehicle drives on the driving route;
However, Hamid et al discloses, in the analogous art area of simulation, the processing that includes acquiring a driving log file including a simulator built-in sensor signal, the simulator built-in sensor signal representing motion information detected by the simulator built-in sensor when the vehicle drives on the driving route; (Hamid et al. “[0146] In one embodiment, a first test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a first compiler executed by the processor 101 and a second test file generated by the test file generation module 110 is compiled by a second compiler executed by the processor 101 or by another processor. “[…]” “[0194] In one embodiment, the comparator 220 receives the test output, e.g., messages, etc., from a log file stored in a memory device that is coupled to a processor executing the test bench. The test output is stored in the log file by one or more module representations of the test bench. The test output is post-processed by the comparator 220 after execution of the test bench is completed to generate the test output. The processor that executes the test bench is coupled to the memory device.” “[…]” “[0218] The SoC (system-on-a-chip) scenario model 402 identified from a compiled file by the test file generation module 110 and provided to the UVM (universal verification methodology) test bench 412 is also provided to the test bench 214. It should be noted that the UVM test bench 412 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at a subsystem stage of the project and the UVM test bench 214 is applied to the SoC scenario model 402 at an SoC stage of the project. It should be noted that the IP (intellectual property), the subsystem, and the SoC stages are simulation stages of the project.” “[…]” “[0274] The processor 101 or another processor determines that expected outputs of the test include that the vehicle keeps moving forward or that the vehicle stops. The one or more inputs of the scenario model are constrained from execution by the processor 101 based on the expected outputs of the scenario model.” Examiner notes: The log file, stored in a memory device, that includes the test output regarding the vehicle’s motion information during the simulation stages of the project from Hamid et al discloses the claimed driving log file including the simulator built-in sensor signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a driving log file including a simulator built-in sensor signal as per Hamid et al for the system in Lin because the use of the driving log file would allow for the “use of different test cases for different project stages” (Hamid et al. [0012]), which “may result in a bug that is not found until a later stage, e.g., during the final silicon stage, etc., of the project. Fixing the bug delays time-to-market potentially missing a market window completely and resulting in reduced financial revenues.” (Hamid et al. [0012])
Regarding Claim 10: Lin discloses the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the processing includes: generating a driving route on which the vehicle is caused to virtually drive by a dedicated map application; (Lin. Column 6, Lines 63-67 and Column 7, Lines 1-2, “2. Produce real time trajectory data from the 6DOF trajectory generator 10 and send the real time trajectory data to the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20. The real time trajectory data are defined by the user. The coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 produces dynamic GPS measurements and IMU signals as if a vehicle is really moving along a trajectory defined by the user.”)
generating the virtual driving scenario on the basis of the generated driving route. (Lin. Column 7, Lines 3-7, “3. Generate output data including real time IMU data, identical to the real IMU device in a designed mission, by the IMU model of the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20, and the GPS measurements by the GPS receiver model in the GPS/IMU emulation system 20.”)
Regarding Claim 11: Lin discloses the information processing device according to claim 10, wherein the processing includes: acquiring, by using the map application, latitude and longitude of a driving route on which operation verification of the car navigation system is to be performed; (Lin. Column 8, Lines 56-67 and Column 9, Lines 1-33, “The tropospheric delay is independent upon the carrier frequency, and can be calculated from the height of GPS antenna and the satellite elevation angle. The vehicle's position is provided by the real time trajectory data. An assumption is made that the GPS antenna is the same as the vehicle's position which won't introduce error because the position deviation can be omitted comparing with the distance to the satellite. The elevation can be derived from the satellite position and vehicle position.
[…]
In the present invention, the ionospheric delay is calculated from the satellite azimuth, GPS time, vehicle's longitude and latitude, satellite elevation angle, and the satellite transmitted data words .alpha..sub.n and .beta..sub.n (n=0,1,2,3).”)
generating the driving route by authoring on the basis of the latitude and longitude; (Lin. Column 8, Lines 56-67, Column 9, Lines 1-33, and Column 12, Lines 54-60, “In the present invention, the ionospheric delay is calculated from the satellite azimuth, GPS time, vehicle's longitude and latitude, satellite elevation angle, and the satellite transmitted data words .alpha..sub.n and .beta..sub.n (n=0,1,2,3).”
“The Ethernet network controller board 21, as shown in FIG. 2, is used to receive real time vehicle flight trajectory data from the 6DOF trajectory generator 10. The 6DOF trajectory generator 10 and the real time IMU emulation system 20 can also be connected by a standard serial communication port such as RS-422/485, according to the application requirement.”)
and generating, by physical computation, the virtual driving scenario including a sensor signal obtained in a case where the vehicle model is caused to drive on the generated driving route. (Lin. Column 12, Lines 61-67 and Column 13, Lines 1-48, “As shown in FIGS. 8 to 10, the signal regulator and connector board 24 is used to convert the electronic signals produced by the signal generator into the required electrical specifications and form a suitable connector so that they can be directly injected into the installed integrated GPS/INS computer (such as the navigation computer) 33 of the GNC avionics on-board vehicle, i.e. the integrated GPS/INS system 30. The signal regulator and connector board 24 is designed for the specific user according to the specific IMU used in the system. This is because even if two IMUs have the same type of signal, they often have different signal ranges, scale factors, voltages, currents, and different connector arrangements. It usually consists of an amplifier, a buffer, a coupler and sometimes logic. Of course, it also forms a suitable connector for the specific installed system in order to replace the real IMU directly.
The coupled real time IMU and GPS simulation are inherently complex issues since the real IMU in the GPS/INS system is a self-contained device and the GPS receiver in the GPS/INS system cannot generate dynamic measurements when the vehicle does not move. For the IMU, it produces inertial measurements by itself without receiving any signal from the outside. Accordingly, when the vehicle is stationary, the outputs of the real IMU device 32 and the GPS receiver 31 are constant, so that in the dynamic test of the installed integrated GPS/INS system 30, the real IMU device 32 and the GPS receiver 31 in the vehicle have to be separated from the system and replaced by the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 of the present invention. This replacement inherently causes an intrusion to the installed avionics system, i.e. the integrated GPS/INS system 30 according to the present embodiment.
[…]
It is worth to mention that the software of the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20 can be modified to produce more efficient user interface and even includes a 6DOF trajectory generator in the coupled real time GPS/IMU emulation system 20.”)
Regarding Claim 12: Lin discloses the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the motion information includes angular velocity and acceleration of the vehicle. (Lin. Column 13, Lines 60-66 and Column 14, Lines 9 & 11-12 & 15-16 & 20 & 22-23, “In view of the performance evaluation of the integrated GPS/INS system 30, the data produced by the 6DOF trajectory generator 10 is the ideal reference for the test mission. Using the simulated real time GPS and IMU signals, the integrated GPS/INS system 30 can resolve a vehicle trajectory. Comparing the ideal trajectory and the system resolved trajectory, we can evaluate the performance of the integrated system. Usually, the 6DOF trajectory data can produce the following flight data:
(5) Acceleration vector in ECIZ frame.
(7) Angular velocity vector observed in ECIZ and resolved in the B frame.
The integrated GPS/INS system 30 can produce the following outputs:
(3) Acceleration vector in N frame.
(5) Angular velocity vector observed in N and resolved in the B frame.”)
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6127970 A, hereafter Lin, in view of U.S. Patent No. 20150302126 A1, hereafter Hamid et al, further in view of U.S. Patent No. 20080109166 A1, hereafter Takaoka et al.
Regarding Claim 9: Lin discloses the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the processing includes: converting the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file into a sensor signal represented by a physical quantity; (Lin. Column 11, Lines 14-22, “The IMU input/output interface 232 as shown in FIG. 2 for IMU emulation includes an analog signal interface 232-1 (as shown in FIG. 8), a serial signal interface 232-2 (as shown in FIG. 9), a pulse signal interface 232-3 (as shown in FIG. 10), and a parallel digital signal interface 232-4 (as shown in FIG. 11). These interfaces 232-1, 232-2, 232-3, 232-4 are used to convert the simulated IMU measurement data into one kind of signal that can be injected into the Integrated GPS/INS System 30.”. See also FIG. 2 on Sheet 2, FIG. 8 on Sheet 8, FIG. 9 on Sheet 9, FIG.10 on Sheet 10, and FIG.11 on Sheet 11)
generating the virtual driving scenario including the virtual sensor signal represented by a physical quantity; (Lin. Column 11, Lines 22-37, “The generated signals must be identical to those signals produced by the real IMU device 32 that is replaced by the GPS/IMU emulation system 20. There are many types of gyros and accelerometers which are fabricated by different manufacturers and have various signal types and connector requirements. Therefore, one of the core technologies in the GPS/IMU emulation system 20 is the electronic signal generation and its interface to the installed integrated GPS/INS system 30. The software implements the IMU measurement simulation, and the hardware converts the simulated IMU outputs into electronic signals which are injected into the installed integrated GPS/INS system 30. The injected signals must be compatible with the electronics of the on-board GPS/INS system and the injection method must present the least intrusion to the installed integrated GPS/INS system 30.”)
executing the test scenario including the simulator built-in sensor signal or the virtual sensor signal having been multiplied by the transformation formula. (Lin. Column 3, Lines 22-30, “It is still a further object of the present invention to provide a coupled real time emulation system for positioning and location system, which is driven by a 6DOF trajectory generator to simultaneously generate synchronized dynamic gyro, accelerometer, and global positioning system receiver measurements. During the test, the installed fully coupled positioning system on the vehicle remains motionless. Therefore, the present invention provides an integrally dynamic hardware-in-the-loop test of fully coupled positioning system on the ground or in a laboratory environment.”)
Lin and Hamid et al do not explicitly disclose details about the multiplication of data, wherein the processing includes multiplying, by a transformation rotation matrix, the virtual sensor signal included in the virtual driving scenario or the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file, the transformation rotation matrix corresponding to an attachment angle of a car navigator built-in sensor installed in a car navigation system;
and multiplying, by a transformation formula, the simulator built-in sensor signal or the virtual sensor signal having been multiplied by the transformation rotation matrix, the transformation formula corresponding to a sensitivity coefficient of the car navigator built-in sensor.
However, Takaoka et al discloses, in the analogous art area of simulation, the processing that includes multiplying, by a transformation rotation matrix, the virtual sensor signal included in the virtual driving scenario or the simulator built-in sensor signal included in the driving log file, the transformation rotation matrix corresponding to an attachment angle of a car navigator built-in sensor installed in a car navigation system; (Takaoka et al. “[0007] the attachment angle, an angle of the car navigation apparatus's body (in which the acceleration sensor is installed) with respect to the vehicle,” “[0029] A rotation angle .phi. around the x axis is referred to as a ‘tilt angle .phi.’ while a rotation angle .theta. around the y axis is referred to as a ‘swing angle.theta.’. In addition, a rotation angle .psi. around the z axis is referred to as a ‘pan angle .psi.’” “[0046] the transformation matrix B as a whole represents the attachment angle (attachment inclination) of the three axis acceleration sensor with respect to the vehicle,” “[0047] In the transformation matrix B as indicated by the above (11) equation, the pan angle .psi.', the swing angle .theta.' and the tilt angle .phi.' are multiplied in that order.” “[0049] With respect to the sensor coordinate system (with x'', y'' and z'' axes) for the three axis acceleration sensor, the vehicle coordinate system (with x', y' and z' axes) for the vehicle on the inclined road is expressed as follows: (x' y' z') = B * .function. (x'' y'' z'') (12).”)
and multiplying, by a transformation formula, the simulator built-in sensor signal or the virtual sensor signal having been multiplied by the transformation rotation matrix, the transformation formula corresponding to a sensitivity coefficient of the car navigator built-in sensor. (Takaoka et al. “[0050] Accordingly, transforming the above equation (12) presents the sensor coordinate system (with x'', y'' and z'' axes) for the three axis acceleration sensor as follows: (x'' y'' z'') = B-1 .function. (x' y' z') ( 13 ).” “[0053] the inverse matrix B-1 of the transformation matrix B represents the inclination of the three axis acceleration sensor with respect to the vehicle”. Examiner notes: The term “sensitivity coefficient” is not explicitly defined in the specification. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (MPEP § 2111), this term comprises any multiplier that measures how changes in an input variable affect the output of a measurement or model. Takaoka et al discloses an inclination of the three axis acceleration sensor with respect to the vehicle, which is represented by an inverse matrix B-1 that measures how changes in a vehicle coordinate system (with x', y' and z' axes) for a vehicle on an inclined road affect a sensor coordinate system (with x'', y'' and z'' axes) for a three axis acceleration sensor (Takaoka et al. [0050]), which meets the limitation of “a sensitivity coefficient” under this interpretation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize multiplication by a transformation rotation matrix and a transformation formula as per Takaoka et al for the system in Lin and Hamid et al because it would allow for determining locations without signals, which ensures safety, convenience, and reliability, as per Takaoka et al: “The present invention has been made in view of the above points and is intended to provide a navigation apparatus and navigation information calculation method that can calculate, even when signals are not received from a satellite, the current position and speed of a mobile object by calculating an attachment angle of an acceleration sensor with respect to the mobile object.” (Takaoka et al. [0009])
Conclusion
8. All Claims are rejected.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i) US. Patent No. 6298318 B1 – includes relevant technical concepts: flight simulator sensor replay and industrial hardware-in-the-loop testing.
ii) Elmquist, Asher, and Dan Negrut. “Methods and Models for Simulating Autonomous Vehicle Sensors.” IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Vehicles. Volume: 5, Issue: 4, December 2020. 684-692 – includes relevant technical concepts: test scenario acquisition and output to vehicle navigation system.
iii) Davis, Jeremy J., James Doebbler, Kevin J. Daugherty, John L. Junkins, and John Valasek. “Aerospace Vehicle Motion Emulation Using Omni directional Mobile Platform.” AIA A Guidance, Navigation and Control Conference and Exhibit, 20 - 23 August 2007, Hilton Head, South Carolina. AIA A 2007-6325. 1-12 – includes relevant technical concepts: emulated sensor signal generation and sensitivity adjustment.
/KHANG THIEN GIA HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186