Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-3, 12-13 are
canceled and claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 11, 14, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20 are pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have overcome 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 10-13 Remarks filed on 08/11/2026 that the tangible physical object is a structural object and its physical characteristics can include geometry and topology. The design parameters can include physical quantities, including material properties, loading, boundary conditions, response constraints, and manufacturing constraints. All these physical characteristics are built into a model. … In this case, the practical application is to analyze and design tangible physical objects-i.e., structural parts-to improve their strength and design. …In determining patent eligibility, examiners should consider whether the claim "purport(s) to improve the functioning of the computer itself' or "any other technology or technical field." When finding that a claim is directed to such an improvement, the examiner must evaluate both the specification and the claim. The specification should disclose sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement, and the claim itself must reflect the improvement in technology….
Examiner respectfully disagreed with the following reasons. Firstly, the instant claims did not recite any limitations that use of the “tangible physical object” physically. The limitation merely recites limitation that receiving information / input that is related to the physical object and performing the optimization to the input using mathematical calculation. Note that using information that is related to the physical object is not a practical application. Moreover, there is not evident in the claim illustrate it provide various specific improvements of the method or any technology. Note that the claim must include an element that explicitly tied the rules detailed in the claim to the improved functionality that the court determined qualified the subject matter as not invoking an abstract idea. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In McRO, the Federal Circuit found that "the claims themselves set out meaningful requirements for the first set of rules: they 'define[] a morph weight set stream as a function of phoneme sequence and times associated with said phoneme sequence."' 837 F.3d at 1313 (citation omitted). The Federal Circuit further explained that "[t]he specific, claimed features of these rules allow for the improvement realized by the invention." Id. The present claims are distinguishable from the patent-eligible claims in McRO. Notably, the present claims do not define meaningful requirements for any "specific rules" as alleged by Applicant that are remotely analogous to the meaningful requirements for the first set of rules in McRO. The McRO court also noted that the claims at issue described a specific way (use of particular rules to set morph weights and transitions through phonemes) to solve the problem of producing accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters, rather than merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome, and thus were not directed to an abstract idea. 837 F.3d at 1313, 120 USPQ2d at 1101. Consequently, the office fails to see how the environmental interaction between objects result in an improvement. Rather, the alleged improvement appears to be the modeling objects.
In Visual Memory, LLC v. NVIDIA Corp., 867 F.3d 1253, 1254, 123 USPQ2d 1712, 1713 (Fed. Cir. 2017), the Federal Circuit concluded that claims to an enhanced computer memory system were not directed to an abstract idea. The basis for the court’s decision was that the claims focused on a specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities (the use of programmable operational characteristics that are configurable based on the type of processor) and thus were not directed to the abstract idea of categorical data storage. There is no mention of any memory or storage in the instant claims, let alone improvement to its functionality.
Furthermore, recitations of “invoking the nD-ROM to predict a target structure configuration within the design space of the geometry from the separate set of values of the design parameters” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f) (1) and (3). For example, the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished.
In summary, applicants’ amendment and arguments did not overcome 101 rejection. Therefore, 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 14- Remarks filed on 08/11/2026 that the specification (see, e.g., [0021], [0024], [0028]) that, as used in the claim, a fixed geometry of a design space means that the geometry associated with the design space-as defined, for instance, by its boundaries-is invariant and does not change during topology optimization. As used in the specification and the claim, "fixed" does not mean that the geometry is stationary (i.e., not moving). An interpretation of "fixed" as synonymous with "stationary" is therefore inconsistent with the specification and not reasonable. …
Examiner respectfully disagreed with the following reasons. Firstly, the amendment recites limitations: “receiving a fixed geometry associated with a design space for a design of a physical object based on one or more design parameters, a design objective, and design constraints; … performing a plurality of topology optimizations according to the design objective and constraints to generate two or more structure configurations within the design space associated with the fixed geometry based on two or more sets of values of the design parameters, each structure configuration corresponding to a respective set of values of the design parameters; … invoking the nD-ROM to predict a target structure configuration within the design space associated with the fixed geometry from the separate set of values of the design parameters, … obtaining the target structure configuration from the design space associated with the fixed geometry by applying a geometric operator to an optimized topology scalar field predicted by the nD-ROM.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner interpret the limitations as the claim invention is using information from the fixed geometry which is associated with the design space. However, the design space or the parameters or the constraint is/are not fixed in the limitations. The claims did not recite any limitation that is related to “boundaries is invariant and does not change during topology optimization”.
Furthermore, the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In summary, applicants’ amendment and arguments did not overcome 102/103 rejection. Therefore, 102/103 rejection is maintained.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to
determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is
requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the
specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. These claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to claim 1,
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a machine readable medium. Therefore, the claim is eligible under Step 1 for being directed to article of manufacture.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 recites
receiving a fixed geometry associated with a design space for a design of a physical object based on one or more design parameters, a design objective, and design constraints; (input data)
performing a plurality of topology optimizations according to the design objective and constraints to generate two or more structure configurations within the design space associated with the fixed geometry based on two or more sets of values of the design parameters, each structure configuration corresponding to a respective set of values of the design parameters; (mental process)
generating an n-dimensional reduced order model (nD-ROM) of a scalar field generated by topology optimization in order to predict each of the two or more structure configurations from a corresponding set of the design parameters; (mental process for 1-dimension or 2-dimension)
receiving a separate set of values of the design parameters; (input data)
invoking the nD-ROM to predict a target structure configuration within the design space associated with the fixed geometry from the separate set of values of the design parameters, (mere instructions to apply an exception)
the target structure configuration for building or manufacturing the physical object; (intended use)
obtaining the target structure configuration from the design space associated with the fixed geometry by applying a geometric operator to an optimized topology scalar field predicted by the nD-ROM. (mental process)
The claimed concept is a method of determining design parameters for a structure based on mathematic relationship directed to “Mental Process” grouping. These limitations can be performed in a human mind or using pen and paper.
Therefore, claim 1 is an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two
The inputting data step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of inputting for use in the evaluation step) and amounts to mere data inputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Recitations of “invoking the nD-ROM to predict a target structure configuration within the design space of the geometry from the separate set of values of the design parameters” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f) (1) and (3). For example, the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Therefore, claim 1 is an abstract idea.
The claim recites additional elements such as “non-transitory machine-readable medium storing executable instructions which when executed by a data processing system cause the data processing system”. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. See applicant’s specification Fig 11 A-C [0060-0065] for generic computer description.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The same analysis of Step 2A Prong Two applies here in 2B. The present claim does not recite any limitation that would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the claim limitations do not recite a combination of additional elements that tie or “integrate the invention into a practical application”.
Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible. Same conclusion for dependent claims of claim 1. See below.
4. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1 wherein applying the geometric operator comprises: thresholding the optimized topology to eliminate values of a topology scalar field that are outside a specified range; (mental process)
extracting the target structure configuration from the design space using the thresholded topology scalar field. (mental process)
5. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 4 wherein extracting the target structure configuration comprises subtracting from the design space parts of the associated fixed geometry where the topology scalar field is outside the specified range. (mental process)
6. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 3 wherein the nD-ROM receives the separate set of values of the design parameters from a user interface. (input data)
7. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 3 wherein the method further comprises displaying the optimized topology, the target structure configuration, or both, to a user via the user interface. (output data)
8. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the two or more sets of values of the design parameters used for the topology optimizations are selected using a design of experiment (DoE) method. (mental process)
9. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 8 wherein the DoE method is a stochastic DoE method or a deterministic DoE method. (data description)
10. The machine-readable medium of claim 1, further comprising: invoking the nD-ROM to predict an alternative structure configuration within the design space associated with the fixed geometry from an alternative set of values of the design parameters; (mental process)
and selecting the target structure configuration for building or manufacturing the physical object. (mental process)
Same conclusion for independent claims 11 and dependent claims. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the claim limitations do not recite a combination of additional elements that tie or “integrate the invention into a practical application”.
Thus, claims 1, 4-11, 14-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10,16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 2021/0357555 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Claim 1. Liu discloses A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing executable instructions which when executed by a data processing system cause the data processing system to perform a method comprising:
Liu: [0044] “In a further aspect, the invention relates to a computational system for design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system. In one embodiment, the computational system includes one or more computing devices comprising one or more processors; and a non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more computing devices to perform the above-disclosed method for design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system.”
Liu discloses receiving a fixed geometry associated with a design space for a design of a physical object based on one or more design parameters, a design objective, and design constraints;
Liu [0284-0285] “In one embodiment, the building blocks are defined by material properties and structural descriptors obtained by modeling or experimental observations and encoded in a domain decomposition of structures for identifying locations and properties of each phase within the building blocks. In one embodiment, the structural descriptors comprise characteristic length and geometry. [correspond to fixed geometry associated with a design space]”
Liu discloses performing a plurality of topology optimizations according to the design objective and constraints to generate two or more structure configurations within the design space associated with the fixed geometry based on two or more sets of values of the design parameters, each structure configuration corresponding to a respective set of values of the design parameters;
Liu [0448] “2. Topology optimization with constraints defined by the FFNN+CNN framework to identify microstructure damage and thereby design durable (damage aware) structures, using the CNN.”
[0451] “The formulation of microstructure sensitive topology optimization with an FFNN is shown in Eq. (1-36). The objective function is defined as the overall strain energy of the structure, Φ, which is to be minimized. A subtle but important difference in the present example in this work is that the FFNN is used to replace the usual linear elastic material response with a nonlinear one. By using a nonlinear material responses database depicted in above, a new avenue for data-driven material and structure design is illustrated. This is depicted graphically in FIG. 33, which shows the use of an FFNN to generate microstructure-based stress-strain response within a topology design framework.” See [0454] and Fig 33 for additional detail.
Liu discloses generating an n-dimensional reduced order model (nD-ROM) of a scalar field generated by topology optimization in order to predict each of the two or more structure configurations from a corresponding set of the design parameters;
Liu [0575] “Two sets of ROMs of the UD RVE are generated with a different number of clusters: 1) 2 clusters in the fiber phase (K.sub.f=2) and 8 clusters in the matrix phase (K.sub.m=8); 2) 16 clusters in the fiber phase (K.sub.f=16) and 16 clusters in the matrix phase (K.sub.m=16).” Examiner considers “nD” as 1-dimension or 2-dimension.
Liu discloses receiving a separate set of values of the design parameters; and
Liu [0986] “For reliable predictions, there is a need for characterizing and employing realistic and accurate material properties in the computational model. During preforming, prepregs will undergo tension, shear, and bending deformation, as demonstrated in FIG. 126. FIG. 126 also shows that when different prepreg layers have different initial fiber orientation, there will be large relative sliding between prepreg surfaces. [correspond to separate set of values of the design parameters] As a summary, the targets of experimental characterization for prepreg are: tension, shear, bending, and surface interaction.”
Liu discloses invoking the nD-ROM to predict a target structure configuration within the design space associated with the fixed geometry from the separate set of values of the design parameters, the target structure configuration for building or manufacturing the physical object;
Liu [0992] “The major technical target for the preforming modeling part of the invention is to develop a computational simulation method that can capture the deformation of carbon fiber composite prepregs, including part geometry, fiber orientation, and forming force during preforming, with high accuracy and less than 5% error. With this simulation method, the material cost and development period for design and optimization of carbon fiber composite prepreg preforming can be reduced significantly compared to the conventional manufacturing process design methods, which rely heavily on trial-and error experiments. This cost and time cut for the development of a carbon fiber composite manufacturing process will broaden the application of these advanced light-weight composites in the transportation industry, making a great contribution to the control of fossil fuel consumption and emission pollution.”
See [1164] for example of manufacturing.
obtaining the target structure configuration from the design space associated with the fixed geometry by applying a geometric operator to an optimized topology scalar field predicted by the nD-ROM.
Liu [0699-0700] “In the FFT scheme, each voxel in the input image represents a material point. The location of the voxel is represented by X. Stress and strain tensors at all material points are computed in the FFT scheme. The local stress σ(X) can be computed using any given constitutive law, but we assume linear elasticity for now. To solve Eq. (5-2), the FE approach would formulate the Cauchy momentum equation with periodic boundary conditions. Here, the local strain is given as in Eq. (5-1). It is composed of sym(∇u*), the symmetric part of the gradient of the periodic displacement field u*, and ε.sup.Macro, the prescribed macroscopic strain tensor. Introducing the polarization stress T and the Green's operator Γ.sup.0, it is possible to express to the local strain as a Lippmann-Schwinger equation: …”
Regarding Claim 11, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Claims 6 and 16
Liu discloses wherein the nD-ROM receives the separate set of values of the design parameters from a user interface.
Liu [1025] “This non-orthogonal material model was implemented into both Abaqus® and LS-DYNA®. This model enables users to directly input experimental data to define the stress-strain curves, as well as the shear locking angle, which indicates whether the shear deformation reaches to the extent that the rotation resistance between warp and weft yarns is no longer small compared to the tensile modulus of the material.”
Claims 7 and 17
Liu discloses wherein the method further comprises displaying the optimized topology, the target structure configuration, or both, to a user via the user interface.
Liu [0235] “FIG. 177 shows screenshots of graphical user interfaces, according to embodiments of the invention: (panel a) optimal Latin hypercube sampling user interface. (panel b) Gaussian process modeling user interface.”
Claims 10 and 20
invoking the n0D-ROM to predict an alternative structure configuration within the design space of the geometry from an alternative set of values of the design parameters; and selecting the target structure configuration for building or manufacturing the physical object.
Liu: [1041] “When the multiscale preforming simulation method is established, double-dome benchmark tests are conducted and modeled to validate the capability of the multiscale method for 3D shape forming considering different yarn orientations and stacking sequences. This validation result reveals that this multiscale method leads to a slight improvement regarding the prediction of part geometry and fiber angle distribution, with an average of 4.0% error for fiber orientation prediction, which achieves the proposal target.” Examiner considers the multiscale simulation correspond to alternative structure configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2021/0357555 A1), hereinafter Liu, in view of Popli et al (NPL: Robust design of experiments using constrained stochastic optimization, 2015), hereinafter Popli.
Claims 8 and 18
Liu does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the two or more sets of values of the design parameters used for the topology optimizations are selected using a design of experiment (DoE) method.
However, Popli discloses wherein the two or more sets of values of the design parameters used for the topology optimizations are selected using a design of experiment (DoE) method on
Liu and Popli are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” design optimization.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Liu and Popli before him or her, to modify the method of Liu to include the DoE feature of Popli
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Popli “Conclusions”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Liu and Popli to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 9 and 19
Popli discloses wherein the DoE method is a stochastic DoE method or a deterministic DoE method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 101.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Liu et al (US 2021/0357555 A1) teach a method for design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system includes generating a representation of the material system at a number of scales, the representation at a scale comprising microstructure volume elements (MVE) of building blocks of the material system at said scale; providing inputs to the MVEs; collecting data of response fields of the MVE computed from a material model of the material system over a predefined set of material properties and boundary conditions; applying machine learning to the collected data to generate clusters; computing an interaction tensor of interactions of each cluster with each of the other clusters; and solving an governing partial differential equation using the generated clusters and the computed interactions to result in a response prediction usable in an iterative scheme in a multiscale model for the material system. The performance of each scale can be predicted for design optimization.
Popli et al (NPL: Robust design of experiments using constrained stochastic optimization, 2015) teach a method for design a set of experiments to estimate the parameters of multiscale kinetic models.
Mirzendehdel et al (US 2023/0306160 A1) teach a method for automatically generating design parameters of a structural model (or any component that is defined by one or more parameters) to be produced by additive manufacturing, using machine-learning models to avoid production failures.
These references taken either alone or in combination with the prior art of record fail to disclose limitations, including:
Claims 4 and 14: wherein applying the geometric operator comprises:
thresholding the optimized topology to eliminate values of a topology scalar field that are outside a specified range; extracting the target structure configuration from the design space using the thresholded topology scalar field.
in combination with the remaining elements and features of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUEN-MEEI GAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189