DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission of RCE on July 23, 2026 and amendment after final filed on July 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-27, 29, 31-37 were canceled, claim 28 was amended and claims 28, 30, 38-41 are pending in the instant application.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL in a previous office action. Claims 28, 30, 38-41 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Maintained Objections
Claim 38 remains objected to for the following informality: the limitation “sulfonyll urea” in line 6 should be replaced with -sulfonylurea-.
Claims 28, 38-41 remain objected to for the following informality: All acronyms should be spelled out in their first instance. For example, Peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor alpha (PPARα); Carnitine palmitoyltransferase I (CPT1); Angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE); Angiotensin receptor blockers (ARBs); Glucagon Like peptide-1 (GLP-1); sodium-glucose co-transporter 2 (SGLT2); Acetyl-CoA carboxylase (ACC) etc…
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 30 and 38-41 are/remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20140148382 A1, cited previously) in view of Drucker (Cell Metabolism 24, July 12, 2016, cited previously).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches a method of administering a glycine tripeptide, including Gly Gly Leu (diapin) to a patient that has prediabetes, diabetes, obesity or metabolic syndrome (see claims 1, 7-12). Patients that have metabolic syndrome and or obesity are patients in need of preventing/treating atherosclerosis and do not necessarily have diabetes or prediabetes. Regarding claim 30, Chen additionally teaches treating wherein the patient has chronic kidney disease (see claim 19) and coronary artery disease (see paragraph 0070). Chen additionally teaches treating the diabetes associated complication of atherosclerosis (see paragraph 0070). Chen specifically teaches that diapin stimulated GLP-1 secretion, insulin secretion and lowers blood glucose levels (see Figures 7-10). Chen teaches “The amount of the composition administered is therapeutically effective to achieve at least one of the following: reducing blood glucose levels, stimulating insulin secretion, stimulating GLP-1 secretion, reducing insulin resistance, and improving glycemic control” (see paragraph 0066). Regarding “relative to baseline”, in view of the specifications consistent use of “baseline” to denote measurements taken after one week of diet and before treatment of administration, a person of ordinary skill would understand “relative to baseline” to mean relative to subjects pre-treatment level.
Regarding claim 38, Chen teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent including a DPP-4 inhibitor (see paragraph 0075) and other diabetes drugs for treatment of diabetes, prediabetes and/or metabolic syndrome.
Although Chen does not explicitly teach treatment of atherosclerosis in an example, it recognizes that atherosclerosis as a complication of prediabetes, diabetes and metabolic syndrome and therefore implies therapeutic benefit in managing associated vascular pathologies in patients that are non-diabetic.
Drucker teaches that “Both native GLP-1 and GLP-1R agonists reduce cardiac and vascular inflammation through direct and indirect mechanisms (Figure 1). Multiple studies have demonstrated that GLP-1R agonists, including native GLP-1, exenatide (synthetic exendin-4), and liraglutide, often administered at doses that do not produce weight loss, attenuated the development of atherosclerosis in genetically sensitized murine models. These peptides reduced vascular monocyte adhesion and/or macrophage accumulation within blood vessels of several strains of normoglycemic or dysglycemic mice at high risk for the development of experimental atherosclerosis and cardiac dysfunction.” (see page 17, left column, last paragraph into right column, see also Figure 2, GLP-1 actions in the vessels, increase plaque stability, reduce platelet aggregation). Thus, Drucker attributes the anti-atherosclerotic effect to the action of GLP-1 on immune cell trafficking and inflammation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat patients with atherosclerosis with the compositions of Chen (and inclusive to those without diabetes such as metabolic syndrome and prediabetes). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that improving glucose utilization, insulin sensitivity and increasing GLP-1 secretion would be beneficial in treating patients with atherosclerosis independent of diabetes as taught by Drucker. There is a reasonable expectation of success given Chen teaches treating patients with atherosclerosis as a complication with prediabetes/metabolic syndrome. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chen and Drucker and administer the instant peptides of Chen for the treatment of atherosclerosis, based on their known ability to stimulate GLP-1 secretion and the teaching in Drucker that GLP-1 activity reduces atherosclerotic plaque formation via modulation of immune responses. One would have a further reasonable expectation of success in using the peptides to treating atherosclerosis, even in a non-diabetic patient, given the mechanistic rationale provided in Drucker and the known effects of GLP-1 on vasculature and inflammation.
Chen does not teach specifically use the peptides in combination with GLP-1 or a synthetic variant thereof (the elected species). However, Chen does teach “Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone. Incretin hormones are secreted by intestinal cells in response to nutrient ingestion. The primary physiological function of GLP-1 appears to be related to glycemic control. GLP-1 stimulates insulin release, inhibits glucagon secretion, reduces gastric emptying and augments satiety. Administration of GLP-1 to patients has been reported to restore blood glucose regulation via endogenous insulin secretion. GLP-1 administration has also been reported to reduce energy intake through its actions of delaying gastric emptying and increasing satiety, therefore it may induce weight loss.
MPEP states “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two each known (GLP-1 and variants thereof with GGL, which also stimulates GLP1 naturally) to be useful for the same purpose (treating atherosclerosis in patients without diabetes such as prediabetics and metabolic syndrome), with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the peptide treatment of Chen in combination with an additional GLP-1 agent because GLP-1 receptor agonists are well known for improving glycemic control, reducing bodyweight, improving lipid parameters, and providing cardiovascular benefits in subjects with metabolic diseases and also atherosclerosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen’s therapy with a GLP-1 agent to enhance overall therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding the limitations of “reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”, Chen in view of Drucker teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same peptide Gly-Gly-Leu at a therapeutically effective amount to patients with atherosclerosis and thus, these effects would necessarily occurring as result of practicing the method of Chen in view of Drucker and due to the inherent properties of Gly-Gly-Leu as taught by Chen and Drucker (see MPEP 2112).
Furthermore, since the peptides of Chen Elevate GLP-1 and Drucker establishes that GLP agonism in non-diabetic subjects has anti-atherogenic effects and anti-lipid affects (liver fat reduction), it would have been reasonably expected that administration of the peptides in Chen would result in the same downstream effects.
More specifically, with respect to claim 28, the limitations of administrating increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1a, reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, reduces plasma LDL cholesterol, and reduces hepatic triglyceride and total cholesterol merely described biological consequences of administering the known peptide to treat the same metabolic and cardiovascular conditions including atherosclerosis. Chen teaches administration of the identical tripeptides for treatment of metabolic disorders associated with dyslipidemia and cardiovascular risk, while Drucker teaches that GLP-1 mediated signaling improves atherosclerosis, inflammation and lipid metabolism. Because Applicant relies on administration of the same tripeptide compounds to achieve these effects, such downstream metabolic and anti-atherogenic results would inherently accompany the prior art method, even if not previously quantified or expressly recognized (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claims 39–41, the recited increases in ABCG5/ABCG8, reduction of MCP-1, and suppression of NF-kB signaling are likewise result-oriented effects of the method of Chen and Drucker.
These limitations merely recite additional molecular markers or mechanistic correlates of improved cholesterol transport and reduced inflammation that naturally accompany treatment with the same known tripeptide compounds. Because Chen in view of Drucker teaches administration of the identical peptides for the same indications (treatment of atherosclerosis) and because Applicant attributes these effects to administration of the same peptides, such recited biomarker changes are inherent effects of the known treatment or at minimum expected biological consequences thereof, even if not previously recognized in the art (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 30, treatment of an atherosclerosis complication such as coronary artery disease in addition to atherosclerosis, it would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer the claimed composition to a subject having atherosclerosis and a complication thereof, such as coronary artery disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because coronary artery disease is a recognized atherosclerotic condition involving plaque accumulation in the coronary arteries. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that Chen teaches treatment of coronary artery disease and related metabolic cardiovascular disorders using the disclosed peptide compositions. Because coronary artery disease is a known atherosclerotic condition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected a therapy effective for atherosclerosis to produce similar beneficial effects in subjects with coronary artery disease.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that Chen only discloses treatment of atherosclerosis in diabetic or prediabetic patients. Specifically, Applicant cites paragraph 0070, which describes diabetes associated complications in diabetic or prediabetic patients and lists atherosclerosis among those complications. Applicant contends that amended claim 28 now requires a subject having atherosclerosis without diabetes or prediabetes, placing the claimed subject outside the only patient population taught by Chen.
Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Chen and Drucker, not Chen alone. While Chen discusses administration of the identical Gly Gly Leu tripeptide in diabetic, prediabetic, obesity, and metabolic syndrome patients, Chen teaches the peptides biological properties including stimulation of GLP-1 secretion and treatment of metabolic and cardiovascular conditions. Drucker teaches that GLP-1 signaling exerts anti-atherosclerotic and anti-inflammatory effects, including in vascular tissues. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the known peptide of Chen to subjects having atherosclerosis, including subjects without diabetes and prediabetes, because the motivation arises from the known biological properties of the peptide and the teachings regarding GLP-1 mediated treatment of atherosclerosis, rather than from the precise patient population disclosed in Chen. Furthermore, Chen also teaches administration of the peptide to subjects having obesity and metabolic syndrome, which are not limited to diabetic or prediabetic patients. Therefore, the amendment excluding diabetes and prediabetes does not overcome the combination of Chen and Drucker.
Applicants argues that the rejection improperly relies on Drucker alone to provide a reasonable expectation of successfully treating established atherosclerosis in non-diabetic subjects. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Drucker is not relied upon as the sole reference establishing patentability of the claimed method. Rather, Drucker is relied upon for its teaching the GLP-1 signaling improves atherosclerosis through recognized anti-inflammatory and vascular mechanisms. Chen teaches administration of the identical peptide that stimulates GLP-1 secretion. Therefore, the references collectively provide both motivation to combine and a reasonable expectation of success. The rejection does not require that Drucker expressly disclose administration of GGL in non-diabetic atherosclerosis patients. Rather, the combination would have suggested such use to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant argues that Drucker characterizes GLP1 effects in atherosclerosis as inconsistent, model dependent, and indirect, and therefore cannot provide a reasonable expectation of success. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. A reasonable expectation of success does not require absolute predictability or certainty (see MPEP2143, “Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019) ("To be clear, we do not hold today that efficacy data is always required for a reasonable expectation of success. Nor are we requiring ‘absolute predictability of success.’"); Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute")).”. The cited reference nevertheless teaches that GLP-1 receptor agonists reduce vascular inflammation, reduce plaque formation and improve atherosclerotic disease through recognized biological mechanisms. The fact that individual experimental outcomes may vary does not negate the overall teaching that GLP-1 signaling is beneficial in treating atherosclerosis. The cited art provides sufficient evidence that one of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected that known peptide of Chen, which stimulates GLP-1 secretion along with metabolic properties such as improve insulin sensitivity and glucose utilization, to provide therapeutic benefit in treating atherosclerosis.
Applicant argues that OSI pharmaceuticals v. Apotex to argue that generalized teachings do not establish a reasonable expectation of success in an unpredictable art. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The facts of the present application differ materially from those presented in OSI. In the present case, Chen teaches the identical therapeutic peptide and its relevant biological activity, while Drucker teaches that GLP-1 signaling is beneficial in treating atherosclerosis. Thus, the rejection is supported by specific teachings regarding both the claimed therapeutic compound and the known biological mechanism relating to the claimed indication. Unlike the facts of OSI, the present rejection is not based upon mere generalized speculation but upon the combined teachings of references that disclose the identical peptide, its known mechanism of action and the known therapeutic utility of that mechanism in treating atherosclerosis.
Double Patenting
Claims 28, 30, 38-41 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 37-38, 41-42, 50-53 of Co-pending Application 17/266897 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating atherosclerosis, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a glycine-containing tripeptide molecule Gly-Gly-Leu or Gly-Gly-dLeu, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the subject has atherosclerosis and does not have diabetes or prediabetes, wherein administering increases heaptic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1, wherein the administering reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”. The instant application further claims wherein the subject has CKD, stroke, atherosclerosis, PAD, CAD or aneurysm (see claim 3); and administering an additional therapeutic such as a GLP-1 or variant thereof (see claim 38). Claims 39-41 recite the following functional limitations, “wherein the administering increases expression ABCG5 and ABCG8”; wherein administering reduces plasma MCP-1 (Claim 40) and wherein administering suppresses NF-kB signaling.
Co-pending 17/266897 claims A method for treating liver disease in a mammalian subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject at least one tripeptide selected from Gly-Gly-Leu or Gly-Gly-dLeu, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the mammalian subject does not have diabetes, and wherein the mammalian subject has liver disease and wherein the liver disease is fatty liver, steatohepatitis, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), or non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH).…” (claim 37). The co-pending application further claims reduction in TG (claim 41); decrease in hepatic cholesterol (claim 42); functional properties including reduction in NAS score (Claims 50-52), an additional therapeutic including GLP-1 (claim 53 ) treatment for the prevention delay or reduction in arteriosclerosis (which Applicants claim as a complication of atherosclerosis). Co-pending 17/266897 further claims administering an additional agent (claim 53).
It would have been an obvious variant of the invention claimed in the co-pending application to treat atherosclerosis. The co-pending application claims recite treating fatty liver disease in non-diabetic subjects using the same glycine containing tripeptide and further recite prevention, delay or reduction of cardiovascular complication including atherosclerosis. Because the co pending claims already encompass prevention, delay or reduction of cardiovascular complications caused by fatty liver disease, including angina, MI, stroke, arteriosclerosis and atherosclerotic related outcomes as functional result of the same treatment, a method directed to treating atherosclerosis itself represents only an obvious subset or species of the broader therapeutic use previously claimed. A person of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected that a therapy capable of reducing fatty liver associated atherosclerotic complications would also be effective for treating atherosclerosis in such subjects. Accordingly, the present claims do no define a patentably distinct use of the same peptide.
With respect to “administering increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes PPARa and CPT1a” (claim 28) and claims 39–41, the recited increases in ABCG5/ABCG8, reduction of MCP-1, and suppression of NF-kB signaling, there are result-oriented effects of the method.
These limitations merely recite additional molecular markers or mechanistic correlates of improved cholesterol transport and reduced inflammation that naturally accompany treatment with the same known tripeptide compounds. Because Co-pending Application renders obvious administration of the identical peptides for the same indications (treatment of atherosclerosis) and because Applicant attributes these effects to administration of the same peptides, such recited biomarker changes are inherent effects of the known treatment or at minimum expected biological consequences thereof, even if not previously recognized in the art (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding the limitations of “reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”, Co-pending 17/266897 teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same peptide Gly-Gly-Leu at a therapeutically effective amount to patients with atherosclerosis and thus, these effects would necessarily occurring as result of practicing the method of Co-pending 17/266897 and due to the inherent properties of Gly-Gly-Leu (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claim 28, the limitations of administrating increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1a, reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, reduces plasma LDL cholesterol, and reduces hepatic triglyceride and total cholesterol merely described biological consequences of administering the known peptide to treat the same metabolic and cardiovascular conditions including atherosclerosis. Co-pending 17/266897 renders obvious administration of the identical tripeptides for treatment of athersoclerosis. Because Applicant relies on administration of the same tripeptide compounds to achieve these effects, such downstream metabolic and anti-atherogenic results would inherently accompany the prior art method, even if not previously quantified or expressly recognized (see MPEP 2112).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The Applicant request that the double parenting rejections be held in abeyance until identification of allowable subject matter.
This argument is not found persuasive. As no claims have been indicated as allowable and the outstanding rejections are maintained, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is also maintained. Applicant may overcome this rejection by filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer, or by presenting claims that are patentably distinct from the reference claims.
Claims 28, 30, 38-41 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 9062093 B2 in view of Chen (US20140148382 A1, cited previously) and Drucker (Cell Metabolism 24, July 12, 2016, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating atherosclerosis, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a glycine-containing tripeptide molecule Gly-Gly-Leu or Gly-Gly-dLeu, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the subject has atherosclerosis and does not have diabetes or prediabetes, wherein administering increases heaptic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1, wherein the administering reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”. The instant application further claims wherein the subject has CKD, stroke, atherosclerosis, PAD, CAD or aneurysm (see claim 3); and administering an additional therapeutic such as a GLP-1 or variant thereof (see claim 38). Claims 39-41 recite the following functional limitations, “wherein the administering increases expression ABCG5 and ABCG8”; wherein administering reduces plasma MCP-1 (Claim 40) and wherein administering suppresses NF-kB signaling.
US Patent No. 9062093 B2 claims “A method for treating a condition comprising administering to a patient an effective amount of a composition, wherein the composition comprises: at least one peptide consisting of the amino acid sequence GGL” (claim 1). US Patent No. 9062093 B2 further claims “wherein the condition is prediabetes, diabetes, obesity, high blood pressure, metabolic syndrome, poor glycemic control, or reduced insulin secretion” (claim 1); wherein the patient is obese, high BP or metabolic syndrome (see claim 8), wherein the at least one peptide consists of the amino acid sequence GGL (claim 10); A method of preventing, reducing, or ameliorating a diabetes-associated complication in a diabetic patient comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a composition (claim 12); treatment of CKD and cardiovascular disease (claim 17).
US Patent No. 9062093 B2 is silent to treating atherosclerosis and an additional therapeutic agent.
Chen teaches a method of administering a glycine tripeptide, including Gly Gly Leu (diapin) to a patient that has prediabetes, diabetes, obesity or metabolic syndrome (see claims 1, 7-12). Patients that have prediabetes, metabolic syndrome and or obesity are patients in need of preventing/treating atherosclerosis and do not necessarily have diabetes. Chen additionally teaches treating wherein the patient has chronic kidney disease (see claim 19) and coronary artery disease (see paragraph 0070). Chen additionally teaches treating the diabetes associated complication of atherosclerosis (see paragraph 0070). Chen specifically teaches that diapin stimulated GLP-1 secretion, insulin secretion and lowers blood glucose levels (see Figures 7-10). Chen teaches “The amount of the composition administered is therapeutically effective to achieve at least one of the following: reducing blood glucose levels, stimulating insulin secretion, stimulating GLP-1 secretion, reducing insulin resistance, and improving glycemic control” (see paragraph 0066). Chen teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent including a DPP-4 inhibitor (see paragraph 0075) and other diabetes drugs for treatment of diabetes, prediabetes and/or metabolic syndrome.
Although Chen does not explicitly teach treatment of atherosclerosis in an example, it recognizes that atherosclerosis as a complication of prediabetes, diabetes and metabolic syndrome and therefore implies therapeutic benefit in managing associated vascular pathologies in patients that are non-diabetic.
Drucker teaches that “Both native GLP-1 and GLP-1R agonists reduce cardiac and vascular inflammation through direct and indirect mechanisms (Figure 1). Multiple studies have demonstrated that GLP-1R agonists, including native GLP-1, exenatide (synthetic exendin-4), and liraglutide, often administered at doses that do not produce weight loss, attenuated the development of atherosclerosis in genetically sensitized murine models. These peptides reduced vascular monocyte adhesion and/or macrophage accumulation within blood vessels of several strains of normoglycemic or dysglycemic mice at high risk for the development of experimental atherosclerosis and cardiac dysfunction.” (see page 17, left column, last paragraph into right column, see also Figure 2, GLP-1 actions in the vessels, increase plaque stability, reduce platelet aggregation). Thus, Drucker attributes the anti-atherosclerotic effect to the action of GLP-1 on immune cell trafficking and inflammation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat patients with atherosclerosis with the compositions of US Patent NO. 093 (and inclusive to those without diabetes such as metabolic syndrome and obesity). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that improving glucose utilization, insulin sensitivity and increasing GLP-1 secretion would be beneficial in treating patients with atherosclerosis independent of diabetes as taught by Drucker. There is a reasonable expectation of success given Chen teaches treating patients with atherosclerosis as a complication with prediabetes/metabolic syndrome. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of US Patent NO. ‘093, Chen and Drucker and administer the peptides for the treatment of atherosclerosis, based on their known ability to stimulate GLP-1 secretion and the teaching in Drucker that GLP-1 activity reduces atherosclerotic plaque formation via modulation of immune responses. One would have a further reasonable expectation of success in using the peptides to treating atherosclerosis, even in a non-diabetic patient, given the mechanistic rationale provided in Drucker and the known effects of GLP-1 on vasculature and inflammation.
US Patent No. ‘093 does not teach specifically use the peptides in combination with GLP-1 or a synthetic variant thereof (the elected species). However, Chen does teach “Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone. Incretin hormones are secreted by intestinal cells in response to nutrient ingestion. The primary physiological function of GLP-1 appears to be related to glycemic control. GLP-1 stimulates insulin release, inhibits glucagon secretion, reduces gastric emptying and augments satiety. Administration of GLP-1 to patients has been reported to restore blood glucose regulation via endogenous insulin secretion. GLP-1 administration has also been reported to reduce energy intake through its actions of delaying gastric emptying and increasing satiety, therefore it may induce weight loss.
MPEP states “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two each known (GLP-1 and variants thereof with GGL, which also stimulates GLP1 naturally) to be useful for the same purpose (treating atherosclerosis in patients without diabetes such as prediabetics and metabolic syndrome), with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the peptide treatment of US Patent No. ‘093 in combination with an additional GLP-1 agent because GLP-1 receptor agonists are well known for improving glycemic control, reducing bodyweight, improving lipid parameters, and providing cardiovascular benefits in subjects with metabolic diseases and also atherosclerosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine US Patent No. ‘093 therapy with a GLP-1 agent to enhance overall therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding the limitations of “reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”, US Patent No. ‘093 in view of Chen and Drucker teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same peptide Gly-Gly-Leu at a therapeutically effective amount to patients with atherosclerosis and thus, these effects would necessarily occurring as result of practicing the method of US Patent NO. ‘093 in view of Chen and Drucker and due to the inherent properties of Gly-Gly-Leu (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claim 28, the limitations of administrating increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1a, reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, reduces plasma LDL cholesterol, and reduces hepatic triglyceride and total cholesterol merely described biological consequences of administering the known peptide to treat the same metabolic and cardiovascular conditions including atherosclerosis. US Patent NO. 093 in view of Chen teaches administration of the identical tripeptides for treatment of metabolic disorders associated with dyslipidemia and cardiovascular risk, while Drucker teaches that GLP-1 mediated signaling improves atherosclerosis, inflammation and lipid metabolism. Because Applicant relies on administration of the same tripeptide compounds to achieve these effects, such downstream metabolic and anti-atherogenic results would inherently accompany the prior art method, even if not previously quantified or expressly recognized (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claims 39–41, the recited increases in ABCG5/ABCG8, reduction of MCP-1, and suppression of NF-kB signaling are likewise result-oriented effects of the method of US Patent NO. ‘093 in view of Chen and Drucker.
These limitations merely recite additional molecular markers or mechanistic correlates of improved cholesterol transport and reduced inflammation that naturally accompany treatment with the same known tripeptide compounds. Because US Patent NO. ‘093 in view of Chen and Drucker teaches administration of the identical peptides for the same indications (treatment of atherosclerosis) and because Applicant attributes these effects to administration of the same peptides, such recited biomarker changes are inherent effects of the known treatment or at minimum expected biological consequences thereof, even if not previously recognized in the art (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 30, treatment of an atherosclerosis complication such as coronary artery disease in addition to atherosclerosis, it would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer the claimed composition to a subject having atherosclerosis and a complication thereof, such as coronary artery disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because coronary artery disease is a recognized atherosclerotic condition involving plaque accumulation in the coronary arteries. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that Chen teaches treatment of coronary artery disease and related metabolic cardiovascular disorders using the disclosed peptide compositions. Because coronary artery disease is a known atherosclerotic condition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected a therapy effective for atherosclerosis to produce similar beneficial effects in subjects with coronary artery disease.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The Applicant request that the double parenting rejections be held in abeyance until identification of allowable subject matter.
This argument is not found persuasive. As no claims have been indicated as allowable and the outstanding rejections are maintained, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is also maintained. Applicant may overcome this rejection by filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer, or by presenting claims that are patentably distinct from the reference claims.
Claims 28, 30, 38-41 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of US Patent No. 8664177 B2 in view of Chen (US20140148382 A1, cited previously) and Drucker (Cell Metabolism 24, July 12, 2016, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating atherosclerosis, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a glycine-containing tripeptide molecule Gly-Gly-Leu or Gly-Gly-dLeu, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the subject has atherosclerosis and does not have diabetes or prediabetes, wherein administering increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1, wherein the administering reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”. The instant application further claims wherein the subject has CKD, stroke, atherosclerosis, PAD, CAD or aneurysm (see claim 3); and administering an additional therapeutic such as a GLP-1 or variant thereof (see claim 38). Claims 39-41 recite the following functional limitations, “wherein the administering increases expression ABCG5 and ABCG8”; wherein administering reduces plasma MCP-1 (Claim 40) and wherein administering suppresses NF-kB signaling.
US Patent No. 8664177 B2 claims “An oral pharmaceutical dosage form consisting essentially of at least one peptide consisting of the amino acid sequence GGL, GLL, GGdL, GdLL, GLdL or GdLdL, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the peptide, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.” (claim 1). The intended utility of US Patent No. ‘177 is treating prediabetes and metabolic syndrome (see abstract).
US Patent No. ‘177 B2 is silent to treating atherosclerosis, atherosclerosis complication and an additional therapeutic agent.
Chen teaches a method of administering a glycine tripeptide, including Gly Gly Leu (diapin) to a patient that has prediabetes, diabetes, obesity or metabolic syndrome (see claims 1, 7-12). Patients that have metabolic syndrome and or obesity are patients in need of preventing/treating atherosclerosis and do not necessarily have diabetes. Chen additionally teaches treating wherein the patient has chronic kidney disease (see claim 19) and coronary artery disease (see paragraph 0070). Chen additionally teaches treating the diabetes associated complication of atherosclerosis (see paragraph 0070). Chen specifically teaches that diapin stimulated GLP-1 secretion, insulin secretion and lowers blood glucose levels (see Figures 7-10). Chen teaches “The amount of the composition administered is therapeutically effective to achieve at least one of the following: reducing blood glucose levels, stimulating insulin secretion, stimulating GLP-1 secretion, reducing insulin resistance, and improving glycemic control” (see paragraph 0066). Chen teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent including a DPP-4 inhibitor (see paragraph 0075) and other diabetes drugs for treatment of diabetes, prediabetes and/or metabolic syndrome.
Although Chen does not explicitly teach treatment of atherosclerosis in an example, it recognizes that atherosclerosis as a complication of prediabetes, diabetes and metabolic syndrome and therefore implies therapeutic benefit in managing associated vascular pathologies in patients that are non-diabetic.
Drucker teaches that “Both native GLP-1 and GLP-1R agonists reduce cardiac and vascular inflammation through direct and indirect mechanisms (Figure 1). Multiple studies have demonstrated that GLP-1R agonists, including native GLP-1, exenatide (synthetic exendin-4), and liraglutide, often administered at doses that do not produce weight loss, attenuated the development of atherosclerosis in genetically sensitized murine models. These peptides reduced vascular monocyte adhesion and/or macrophage accumulation within blood vessels of several strains of normoglycemic or dysglycemic mice at high risk for the development of experimental atherosclerosis and cardiac dysfunction.” (see page 17, left column, last paragraph into right column, see also Figure 2, GLP-1 actions in the vessels, increase plaque stability, reduce platelet aggregation). Thus, Drucker attributes the anti-atherosclerotic effect to the action of GLP-1 on immune cell trafficking and inflammation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat patients with atherosclerosis with the compositions of US Patent No. ‘177 (and inclusive to those without diabetes such as metabolic syndrome and prediabetes). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that improving glucose utilization, insulin sensitivity and increasing GLP-1 secretion would be beneficial in treating patients with atherosclerosis independent of diabetes as taught by Drucker. There is a reasonable expectation of success given Chen teaches treating patients with atherosclerosis as a complication with prediabetes/metabolic syndrome. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of US Patent No. ‘177, Chen and Drucker and administer the peptides for the treatment of atherosclerosis, based on their known ability to stimulate GLP-1 secretion and the teaching in Drucker that GLP-1 activity reduces atherosclerotic plaque formation via modulation of immune responses. One would have a further reasonable expectation of success in using the peptides to treating atherosclerosis, even in a non-diabetic patient, given the mechanistic rationale provided in Drucker and the known effects of GLP-1 on vasculature and inflammation.
US Patent No. ‘177 does not teach specifically use the peptides in combination with GLP-1 or a synthetic variant thereof (the elected species). However, Chen does teach “Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone. Incretin hormones are secreted by intestinal cells in response to nutrient ingestion. The primary physiological function of GLP-1 appears to be related to glycemic control. GLP-1 stimulates insulin release, inhibits glucagon secretion, reduces gastric emptying and augments satiety. Administration of GLP-1 to patients has been reported to restore blood glucose regulation via endogenous insulin secretion. GLP-1 administration has also been reported to reduce energy intake through its actions of delaying gastric emptying and increasing satiety, therefore it may induce weight loss.
MPEP states “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two each known (GLP-1 and variants thereof with GGL, which also stimulates GLP1 naturally) to be useful for the same purpose (treating atherosclerosis in patients without diabetes such as prediabetics and metabolic syndrome), with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the peptide treatment of US Patent No. ‘177 in combination with an additional GLP-1 agent because GLP-1 receptor agonists are well known for improving glycemic control, reducing bodyweight, improving lipid parameters, and providing cardiovascular benefits in subjects with metabolic diseases and also atherosclerosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine US Patent No. ‘177 therapy with a GLP-1 agent to enhance overall therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding the limitations of “reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”, US Patent No. ‘177 in view of Chen and Drucker teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same peptide Gly-Gly-Leu at a therapeutically effective amount to patients with atherosclerosis and thus, these effects would necessarily occurring as result of practicing the method of US Patent No. ‘177 in view of Chen and Drucker and due to the inherent properties of Gly-Gly-Leu (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claim 28, the limitations of administrating increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1a, reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, reduces plasma LDL cholesterol, and reduces hepatic triglyceride and total cholesterol merely described biological consequences of administering the known peptide to treat the same metabolic and cardiovascular conditions including atherosclerosis. US Patent No. ‘177 in view of Chen teaches administration of the identical tripeptides for treatment of metabolic disorders associated with dyslipidemia and cardiovascular risk, while Drucker teaches that GLP-1 mediated signaling improves atherosclerosis, inflammation and lipid metabolism. Because Applicant relies on administration of the same tripeptide compounds to achieve these effects, such downstream metabolic and anti-atherogenic results would inherently accompany the prior art method, even if not previously quantified or expressly recognized (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claims 39–41, the recited increases in ABCG5/ABCG8, reduction of MCP-1, and suppression of NF-kB signaling are likewise result-oriented effects of the method of US Patent No. ‘177 in view of Chen and Drucker.
These limitations merely recite additional molecular markers or mechanistic correlates of improved cholesterol transport and reduced inflammation that naturally accompany treatment with the same known tripeptide compounds. Because US Patent No. ‘177 in view of Chen and Drucker teaches administration of the identical peptides for the same indications (treatment of atherosclerosis) and because Applicant attributes these effects to administration of the same peptides, such recited biomarker changes are inherent effects of the known treatment or at minimum expected biological consequences thereof, even if not previously recognized in the art (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 30, treatment of an atherosclerosis complication such as coronary artery disease in addition to atherosclerosis, it would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer the claimed composition to a subject having atherosclerosis and a complication thereof, such as coronary artery disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because coronary artery disease is a recognized atherosclerotic condition involving plaque accumulation in the coronary arteries. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that Chen teaches treatment of coronary artery disease and related metabolic cardiovascular disorders using the disclosed peptide compositions. Because coronary artery disease is a known atherosclerotic condition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected a therapy effective for atherosclerosis to produce similar beneficial effects in subjects with coronary artery disease.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The Applicant request that the double parenting rejections be held in abeyance until identification of allowable subject matter.
This argument is not found persuasive. As no claims have been indicated as allowable and the outstanding rejections are maintained, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is also maintained. Applicant may overcome this rejection by filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer, or by presenting claims that are patentably distinct from the reference claims.
Claims 28, 30, 38-41 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 53-64 of Co-pending 18/020908 in view of Chen (US20140148382 A1, cited previously) and Drucker (Cell Metabolism 24, July 12, 2016, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A method of treating atherosclerosis, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of a glycine-containing tripeptide molecule Gly-Gly-Leu or Gly-Gly-dLeu, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the subject has atherosclerosis and does not have diabetes or prediabetes, wherein administering increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1, wherein the administering reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”. The instant application further claims wherein the subject has CKD, stroke, atherosclerosis, PAD, CAD or aneurysm (see claim 3); and administering an additional therapeutic such as a GLP-1 or variant thereof (see claim 38). Claims 39-41 recite the following functional limitations, “wherein the administering increases expression ABCG5 and ABCG8”; wherein administering reduces plasma MCP-1 (Claim 40) and wherein administering suppresses NF-kB signaling.
Co-pending AN 18/020908 claims “AA method of treating steatohepatitis in a subject, comprising administering a pharmaceutically effective amount of at least one N-acyl amino acid product to the subject, wherein the N-acyl amino acid product has a fatty acid component and an amino acid” (claim 14). Copending AN 18/020908 further claims wherein the amino acid component is glycine- glycine-leucine or glycine-glycine-D-leucine (Claim 58); wherein the treating results in the subject in decreased liver fat, decreased inflammatory status, decreased injured hepatocytes and decreased atherosclerotic plaques (claim 63) which suggests treating atherosclerosis.
Co-pending AN 18/020908 is silent to treating atherosclerosis without diabetes or prediabetes (although they do teach treating with steatohepatitis) and an additional therapeutic agent.
However, Chen teaches a method of administering a glycine tripeptide, including Gly Gly Leu (diapin) to a patient that has prediabetes, diabetes, obesity or metabolic syndrome (see claims 1, 7-12). Patients that have prediabetes, metabolic syndrome and or obesity are patients in need of preventing/treating atherosclerosis and do not necessarily have diabetes. Chen additionally teaches treating wherein the patient has chronic kidney disease (see claim 19) and coronary artery disease (see paragraph 0070). Chen additionally teaches treating the diabetes associated complication of atherosclerosis (see paragraph 0070). Chen specifically teaches that diapin stimulated GLP-1 secretion, insulin secretion and lowers blood glucose levels (see Figures 7-10). Chen teaches “The amount of the composition administered is therapeutically effective to achieve at least one of the following: reducing blood glucose levels, stimulating insulin secretion, stimulating GLP-1 secretion, reducing insulin resistance, and improving glycemic control” (see paragraph 0066). Chen teaches administering an additional therapeutic agent including a DPP-4 inhibitor (see paragraph 0075) and other diabetes drugs for treatment of diabetes, prediabetes and/or metabolic syndrome.
Although Chen does not explicitly teach treatment of atherosclerosis in an example, it recognizes that atherosclerosis as a complication of prediabetes, diabetes and metabolic syndrome and therefore implies therapeutic benefit in managing associated vascular pathologies in patients that are non-diabetic.
Drucker teaches that “Both native GLP-1 and GLP-1R agonists reduce cardiac and vascular inflammation through direct and indirect mechanisms (Figure 1). Multiple studies have demonstrated that GLP-1R agonists, including native GLP-1, exenatide (synthetic exendin-4), and liraglutide, often administered at doses that do not produce weight loss, attenuated the development of atherosclerosis in genetically sensitized murine models. These peptides reduced vascular monocyte adhesion and/or macrophage accumulation within blood vessels of several strains of normoglycemic or dysglycemic mice at high risk for the development of experimental atherosclerosis and cardiac dysfunction.” (see page 17, left column, last paragraph into right column, see also Figure 2, GLP-1 actions in the vessels, increase plaque stability, reduce platelet aggregation). Thus, Drucker attributes the anti-atherosclerotic effect to the action of GLP-1 on immune cell trafficking and inflammation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat patients with atherosclerosis with the compositions of Copending AN 18/020908 (and inclusive to those without diabetes such as metabolic syndrome and prediabetes). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that improving glucose utilization, insulin sensitivity and increasing GLP-1 secretion would be beneficial in treating patients with atherosclerosis independent of diabetes as taught by Drucker. There is a reasonable expectation of success given Chen teaches treating patients with atherosclerosis as a complication with prediabetes/metabolic syndrome. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Copending AN 18/020908, Chen and Drucker and administer the peptides for the treatment of atherosclerosis, based on their known ability to stimulate GLP-1 secretion and the teaching in Drucker that GLP-1 activity reduces atherosclerotic plaque formation via modulation of immune responses. One would have a further reasonable expectation of success in using the peptides to treating atherosclerosis, even in a non-diabetic patient, given the mechanistic rationale provided in Drucker and the known effects of GLP-1 on vasculature and inflammation.
Copending AN 18/020908 does not teach specifically use the peptides in combination with GLP-1 or a synthetic variant thereof (the elected species). However, Chen does teach “Glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone. Incretin hormones are secreted by intestinal cells in response to nutrient ingestion. The primary physiological function of GLP-1 appears to be related to glycemic control. GLP-1 stimulates insulin release, inhibits glucagon secretion, reduces gastric emptying and augments satiety. Administration of GLP-1 to patients has been reported to restore blood glucose regulation via endogenous insulin secretion. GLP-1 administration has also been reported to reduce energy intake through its actions of delaying gastric emptying and increasing satiety, therefore it may induce weight loss.
MPEP states “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two each known (GLP-1 and variants thereof with GGL, which also stimulates GLP1 naturally) to be useful for the same purpose (treating atherosclerosis in patients without diabetes such as prediabetics and metabolic syndrome or steatohepatitis), with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the peptide treatment of Copending AN 18/020908 in combination with an additional GLP-1 agent because GLP-1 receptor agonists are well known for improving glycemic control, reducing bodyweight, improving lipid parameters, and providing cardiovascular benefits in subjects with metabolic diseases (fatty liver) and also atherosclerosis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Copending AN 18/020908 therapy with a GLP-1 agent to enhance overall therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding the limitations of “reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, wherein the administering reduces plasma LDL cholesterol levels, wherein the administering reduces hepatic triglyceride content and hepatic total cholesterol levels in the subject”, Copending AN 18/020908 in view of Chen and Drucker teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same peptide Gly-Gly-Leu at a therapeutically effective amount to patients with atherosclerosis and thus, these effects would necessarily occurring as result of practicing the method of Copending AN 18/020908 in view of Chen and Drucker and due to the inherent properties of Gly-Gly-Leu (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claim 28, the limitations of administrating increases hepatic expression of fatty acid oxidation genes comprising PPARa and CPT1a, reduces atherosclerotic plaque burden in the aorta, reduces plasma LDL cholesterol, and reduces hepatic triglyceride and total cholesterol merely described biological consequences of administering the known peptide to treat the same metabolic and cardiovascular conditions including atherosclerosis. Copending AN 18/020908 in view of Chen teaches administration of the identical tripeptides for treatment of metabolic disorders associated with dyslipidemia and cardiovascular risk, while Drucker teaches that GLP-1 mediated signaling improves atherosclerosis, inflammation and lipid metabolism. Because Applicant relies on administration of the same tripeptide compounds to achieve these effects, such downstream metabolic and anti-atherogenic results would inherently accompany the prior art method, even if not previously quantified or expressly recognized (see MPEP 2112).
With respect to claims 39–41, the recited increases in ABCG5/ABCG8, reduction of MCP-1, and suppression of NF-kB signaling are likewise result-oriented effects of the method of Copending AN 18/020908 in view of Chen and Drucker.
These limitations merely recite additional molecular markers or mechanistic correlates of improved cholesterol transport and reduced inflammation that naturally accompany treatment with the same known tripeptide compounds. Because Copending AN 18/020908 in view of Chen and Drucker teaches administration of the identical peptides for the same indications (treatment of atherosclerosis) and because Applicant attributes these effects to administration of the same peptides, such recited biomarker changes are inherent effects of the known treatment or at minimum expected biological consequences thereof, even if not previously recognized in the art (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 30, treatment of an atherosclerosis complication such as coronary artery disease in addition to atherosclerosis, it would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer the claimed composition of Copending AN 18/020908 to a subject having atherosclerosis and a complication thereof, such as coronary artery disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because coronary artery disease is a recognized atherosclerotic condition involving plaque accumulation in the coronary arteries. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that Chen teaches treatment of coronary artery disease and related metabolic cardiovascular disorders using the disclosed peptide compositions. Because coronary artery disease is a known atherosclerotic condition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected a therapy effective for atherosclerosis to produce similar beneficial effects in subjects with coronary artery disease.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The Applicant request that the double parenting rejections be held in abeyance until identification of allowable subject matter.
This argument is not found persuasive. As no claims have been indicated as allowable and the outstanding rejections are maintained, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is also maintained. Applicant may overcome this rejection by filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer, or by presenting claims that are patentably distinct from the reference claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654