DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 6 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (JP 2020-141358) in view of Tsuchido (JP 2006-254210).
Fujiwara discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, A suspended resonator, comprising: a vibration structure (Figs. 3, 4 and description in specs related to such figures), comprising: a vibration region, comprising: a plate portion 22c, comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (see Figs. 8, 9), a central part, and an edge part (see Fig. 8); and a thickening portion 22d, surrounding the central part of the plate portion (see Fig. 8), wherein the edge part of the plate portion is sandwiched in the thickening portion (since the plate portion is inside; “sandwiched” in the X plane by the thickness portion) and a thickness of the thickening portion is greater than a thickness of the plate portion (see Fig. 8); a frame portion 23, surrounding the vibration region and maintaining a gap with the vibration region (see Fig. 8); and a connecting portion 24, connecting the thickening portion 22d with the frame portion 23; a first electrode 221, disposed on the first surface (see Fig. 4); and a second electrode 222, disposed on the second surface (see Fig. 5).
Tsuchido is being cited for explicitly showing that it is known to have an edge part of a plate portion 22 of a vibrator being sandwiched in a thickening portion 54, 58 (see Fig. 2).
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 6, a material of the vibration structure is a piezoelectric material (Fujiwara, abstract).
Claim 7, a base; a first sealing ring, disposed on the base, wherein the vibration structure is disposed on the first sealing ring; a second sealing ring, disposed on the vibration structure; and an upper cover, disposed on the second sealing ring (Fujiwara, Fig. 1; Tsuchido, Fig. 1).
Claim 8, a plurality of pads 10 (Tsuchido, Fig. 3), disposed under the base and electrically connected to the first electrode and the second electrode respectively (Tsuchido, Fig. 3).
Claim 9, a thickness of the connecting portion is greater than a thickness of the plate portion (Fujiwara, Fig. 8; Tsuchido, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the resonator as disclosed by Fujiwara and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Tsuchido for the purpose of preventing brazing material being stuck on the vibrating area, thus improving the vibration characteristics of a resonator.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara and Tsuchido as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al (US 2018/0048284).
The combined resonator discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined resonator does not disclose the elements below.
On the other hand, Nakamura et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, the connecting portion comprises two connecting sections respectively connected to two opposite sides of the vibration region (see Fig. 2, extending L-shape portions on opposite sides of the central vibrating region; see also Fujiwara, Fig. 8, 5).
Claim 3, a connecting line of the two connecting sections deviates from a center of the vibration region (since the L-shape deviates from the central region; see Fig. 2).
Claim 4, a protrusion height of the thickening portion relative to the first surface is H, a length of the vibration region in an arrangement direction of the two connecting sections is L, and the suspended resonator meets
Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (ranges from the thickening portions height) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined resonator as disclosed above and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Nakamura et al for the purpose of decreasing the resonance resistance of a resonator, thus improve the resonator vibrations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The cited prior art of record fails to disclose the structural description of the connecting sections as specifically described in the claim.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R – 07.2015] VI. PRIOR MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP ₴ 2123.
Conclusion
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
January 28, 2026