DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/29/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 and 10 recites the limitation(s) "the ball", “the golf club”, “the wireless inertial sensor”, and/or “the swing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedenko et al. (U.S. 9,211,439, hereafter referred to as Pedenko) in view of Oberc et al. (U.S. 10,232,225, hereafter referred to as Oberc) and further in view of Tremblay-Munger et al. (U.S. 2015/0057111, hereafter referred to as Munger).
Regarding claim 1, Pedenko teaches a system comprising: a core micro-controller processor 38 including a Bluetooth radio 42 (see figure 1e); a first triad acceleration sensor 10 and rate gyrometric sensor 18; a triad magnetometer sensor 48; a storage unit 22; a charging controller 34; and a battery 36.
However, Pedenko does not explicitly teach wherein the Bluetooth radio is a Bluetooth ‘Low-energy’ radio; a second triad acceleration sensor and rate gyrometric sensor; wherein the charging controller is a ‘Qi wireless’ charging controller; or a battery monitor.
Oberc teaches a similar system for obtaining sports-related data comprising an acceleration sensor 220, a gyroscopic sensor 215 and a magnetometer 225; Oberc further teaches inductive wireless charging (see column 5, line 48- column 6, line 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Pedenko with the teaching of Oberc since Qi wireless charging has been a common standard for wireless charging to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Munger teaches a system for quantifying motion which uses an acceleration sensor group 22 and a gyroscope sensor group 24; wherein each group operates in a small acceleration range (i.e. ‘Low-inertial’; see para. 0105); Munger further teaches a battery monitor 72 which monitors the battery status (see para. 0110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Pedenko with the teachings of Oberc and Munger since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/JAMEL E WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855