DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 February 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20140103781).
Regarding independent claim 1, Nakamura et al. (e. g. see Fig. 1B, [0043], [0049], [0052]) discloses an ultrasonic transducer (10), comprising: a piezoelectric material layer (30), having an ultrasonic wave emitting side and a back side opposite to the ultrasonic wave emitting side (The ultrasonic element 10 also operates as a receiver element for receiving an ultrasonic echo produced when emitted ultrasonic waves are reflected by a subject and then come back … the ultrasonic transducer elements can emit ultrasonic waves. [0049] The vibrating membrane 42 supports the piezoelectric body membrane 30 and the first and second electrode layers 21, 22, and is able to vibrate in conformity with the expansion and contraction of the piezoelectric body membrane 30 to generate ultrasonic waves.), wherein the piezoelectric material layer (30) has a protrusion structure on the back side (a sheet shape in a predetermined arraying of 10), and the protrusion structure overlaps a central axis (the axis at the central of 10) of the piezoelectric material layer (30); a first electrode layer (22), disposed on the back side of the piezoelectric material layer (30); and a second electrode layer (21), disposed on the ultrasonic wave emitting side of the piezoelectric material layer (30).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura et al. (e. g. see Fig. 1B, [0043], [0049], [0052]) discloses
the piezoelectric material layer (30) has the protrusion structure on the back side, the protrusion structure has two sidewall surfaces opposite to each other and a top surface, and the top surface is connected to the two sidewall surfaces.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura et al. (e. g. see Fig. 1B, [0043], [0049], [0052]) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are perpendicular to the top surface.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura et al. (e. g. see Fig. 1B, [0043], [0049], [0052]) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are inclined relative to the top surface (at 90° for an inclined angle relative to the horizontal 0° to 90°).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura et al. (e. g. see [0061]) discloses the ultrasonic transducer is a phase array transducer ([0061] The protective film 49 protects the plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements 10 arranged in an arrayed shape, and also functions as an acoustic matching layer.)
Claims 1-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saitoh et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5295487).
Regarding independent claim 1, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2, lines 60-65 of Col. 3, line 20 of Col. 9 – line 50 of Col. 10) discloses an ultrasonic transducer (FIG. 2), comprising: a piezoelectric material layer (11), having an ultrasonic wave emitting side (the ultrasonic transmitting/receiving surface of each ultrasonic transmitting/receiving element) and a back side opposite to the ultrasonic wave emitting side (the opposite side of the transmitting side), wherein the piezoelectric material layer (11) has a recess structure (A first electrode 13 is formed on the recessed ultrasonic transmitting/ receiving surface of each piezoelectric member 11) on the back side (the opposite side of the transmitting side), and the recess structure overlaps a central axis (C axis) of the piezoelectric material layer (11); a first electrode layer (13), disposed on the back side (the opposite side of the transmitting side) of the piezoelectric material layer (11); and a second electrode layer (14), disposed on the ultrasonic wave emitting side (the ultrasonic transmitting/receiving surface of each ultrasonic transmitting/receiving element) of the piezoelectric material layer (11).
Regarding claim 2, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 10) discloses the piezoelectric material layer (11) has the recess structure on the back side, the recess structure has two sidewall surfaces opposite to each other and a bottom surface, and the bottom surface is connected to the two sidewall surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2, FIG. 10, lines 60-65 of Col. 3, line 20 of Col. 9 – line 50 of Col. 10) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are perpendicular to the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 4, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2, FIG. 10, lines 60-65 of Col. 3, line 20 of Col. 9 – line 50 of Col. 10) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are inclined relative to the bottom surface (at 90° for an inclined angle relative to the horizontal 0° to 90°).
Regarding claim 10, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2, FIG. 9, FIG. 10, FIG. 11A) discloses the piezoelectric material layer (11) is divided into a plurality of sections in an extension direction (11 in FIG. 2), and the first electrode layer (13) is divided into a plurality of sections (13 in FIG. 2) in the extension direction, so as to form a plurality of elements (Furthermore, a transmitter 36 having a plurality of ultrasonic generating elements 35 shown in FIG. 9) arranged in the extension direction (FIG. 11A).
Regarding claim 11, Saitoh et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2, FIG. 10, lines 35-40 of Col. 3, lines 35-40 of Col. 15) discloses the ultrasonic transducer is a phase array transducer (an array-type ultrasonic probe, the 91PZN-9PT solid-solution based single crystal, phase transformation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20140103781) in view of Suwaki et al. (U. S. Patent No. 4375818).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura et al. disclose every aspect of the invention except for “the second electrode layer is a matching layer.”
Suwaki et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, lines 35-50 of Col. 7) teaches the second electrode layer (23) is a matching layer (As shown in FIG. 3, the ultrasonic transducer 11 comprises a vibrator 21, formed of an electrostrictive material such as PZT (lead zirconate titanate, Pb(Zr,Ti)O.sub.3), lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3) with a pair of electrode layers 22, 23 applied to the upper and the lower surface thereof. An insulating coat 24 of a material such as epoxy resin is applied to the upper surface of the electrode layer 22, which represents an ultrasonic energy emitting surface, as well as to the lateral sides of the transducer 11 in order to provide a matching of an acoustical impedance with an ultrasonic wave transmitting medium such as deaerated water, and to provide an electrical insulation.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Nakamura et al. to include “the second electrode layer is a matching layer” as taught by Suwaki et al. for the purpose of reducing acoustic impedance mismatch in order to maximize energy transfer between the transducer and the target medium.
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura et al. disclose every aspect of the invention except for “another matching layer disposed below the second electrode layer, wherein the another matching layer is an insulation layer.”
Suwaki et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, lines 35-50 of Col. 7) teaches another matching layer disposed below the second electrode layer (22), wherein the another matching layer is an insulation layer (As shown in FIG. 3, the ultrasonic transducer 11 comprises a vibrator 21, formed of an electrostrictive material such as PZT (lead zirconate titanate, Pb(Zr,Ti)O.sub.3), lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3) with a pair of electrode layers 22, 23 applied to the upper and the lower surface thereof. An insulating coat 24 of a material such as epoxy resin is applied to the upper surface of the electrode layer 22, which represents an ultrasonic energy emitting surface, as well as to the lateral sides of the transducer 11 in order to provide a matching of an acoustical impedance with an ultrasonic wave transmitting medium such as deaerated water, and to provide an electrical insulation.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Nakamura et al. to include “another matching layer disposed below the second electrode layer, wherein the another matching layer is an insulation layer” as taught by Suwaki et al. for the purpose of isolating the internal piezoelectric element from unwanted external noise/vibrations as well as electrical and thermal abnormities in order to provide acoustic damping and ensure electrical safety during the transduction of electrical signals to sound waves.
Since Nakamura et al. and Suwaki et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (the ultrasonic transducer), the purpose disclosed by Suwaki et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Nakamura et al.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Bible et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20120206014).
Regarding independent claim 12, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses an ultrasonic transducer (piezoelectric transducer), comprising: a piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250), having an ultrasonic wave emitting side and a back side opposite to the ultrasonic wave emitting side, wherein the piezoelectric material layer has a protrusion structure ([0055] In FIG. 2A, a convex or dome-shaped vibrating element 202 is shown.) or a recess structure ([0075] FIG. 2B shows another example configuration for a vibrating element 242 in which a concave piezoelectric element 250) on the back side, the protrusion structure or the recess structure has a width d (concave area has a width), the back side of the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250) has a width D (210 and 250 have widths), a first electrode layer (212 for convex and 254 for concave), disposed on the back side of the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250); and a second electrode layer (214 for convex and 252 for concave), disposed on the ultrasonic wave emitting side of the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250).
Bible et al. does not explicitly disclose the relationship between the width d of the protrusion structure or the recess structure and the width D of the back side of the piezoelectric material layer as d>D/5.
However, the Applicant does not identify whether “d>D/5” solves any specific problem. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known usage and experimental optimization of the ultrasonic transducer within the level of ordinary skill in the art to make a modification of the width d of the protrusion structure or the recess structure and the width D of the back side of the piezoelectric material layer to obtain d>D/5 for the purpose of reducing attenuation of the high-frequency ultrasonic waves propagating through the width of the protrusion structure or the recess structure.
Regarding claim 13, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) does not explicitly disclose d<D/2.
However, the Applicant does not identify whether “d<D/2” solves any specific problem. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known usage and experimental optimization of the ultrasonic transducer within the level of ordinary skill in the art to make a modification of the width d of the protrusion structure or the recess structure and the width D of the back side of the piezoelectric material layer to select d<D/2 for the purpose of reducing attenuation of the high-frequency ultrasonic waves propagating through the width of the protrusion structure or the recess structure.
Regarding claim 14, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses a height of the protrusion structure (FIG. 2A) or a depth of the recess structure (FIG. 2B) is h, the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250) at the protrusion structure (FIG. 2A) or the recess structure (FIG. 2B) has a thickness H (thickness of 210 and 250).
Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) does not explicitly disclose “1/10<h/H<1/3”.
However, the Applicant does not identify whether “1/10<h/H<1/3” solves any specific problem. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known usage and experimental optimization of the ultrasonic transducer within the level of ordinary skill in the art to make a modification of a height h of the protrusion structure or a depth h of the recess structure and a thickness H of the piezoelectric material layer at the protrusion structure or a thickness H of the recess structure to select 1/10<h/H<1/3 for the purpose of obtaining a critical design parameter to control and optimize the performance of the ultrasonic wave transducer because it is well known in the art that the thickness of the piezoelectric material layer defines the operating frequency, while the opening area governs the beam directivity and efficiency of energy transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250) has the recess structure (FIG. 2B) on the back side, the recess structure (FIG. 2B) has two sidewall surfaces opposite to each other and a bottom surface, and the bottom surface is connected to the two sidewall surfaces ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Regarding claim 16, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are perpendicular to the bottom surface ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Regarding claim 17, Bible et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are inclined relative to the bottom surface ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Regarding claim 18, (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the piezoelectric material layer (210 or 250) has the protrusion structure on the back side, the protrusion structure (FIG. 2A) has two sidewall surfaces opposite to each other and a top surface, and the top surface is connected to the two sidewall surfaces ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Regarding claim 19, (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are perpendicular to the top surface ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Regarding claim 20, (e. g. see FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B) discloses the two sidewall surfaces are inclined relative to the top surface ([0042] The plane of the vibrating outer surface of the transducer array can face forward, e.g., be perpendicular to, the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1B), or face to the side, i.e., be parallel (or at an acute angle), to the long axis of the handle (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1C).)
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20120056512) disclose a probe for an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus. The probe includes a backing layer, a piezoelectric layer disposed on one side of the backing layer, a matching layer disposed on one side of the piezoelectric layer, a signal connector disposed inside the backing layer to transfer a signal to the piezoelectric layer, and a ground connector disposed outside the signal connector.
Contact Information
17 March 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837