DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2-8, 9, 10-14, 15, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei (CN 111436082), as disclosed in the IDS, and further in view of Park et al (Pub No: 2020/0288474).
As to claim 1, Huawei teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus is a terminal device or is applied to the terminal device, and the apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Huawei, Pg. 44 Paragraphs 3-4, a terminal device with processor and memory):
camp on a first bandwidth part (BWP) in response to being in a radio resource control (RRC)-non-connected state (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, a terminal device is on a first BWP (camping) for the corresponding state); wherein the RRC-non-connected state is an idle state (Huawei, Pg. 11 Para 1, the state of terminal is in an idle state).
receive a first message from a network device, wherein the first message is for indicating a second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, receiving switching indication information indicating to go to a second (different) BWP)); and
switch from the first BWP to the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, switching to a second BWP upon receiving switching indication information).
Huawei does not explicitly teach a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP.
However, Park teaches a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP (Park, [0045], receiving a configuration message with information (parameters) from the network device that includes an identifier (ID) of the added/second BWP. Information in a message of a computer system is conveyed in bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide additional BWP configuration identifier as taught by Park in the system of Huawei, so that it would provide information configuration and accuracy for beam failure detection and recovery (Park [0007]).
As to claim 4, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is useable for indicating at least one of following content: an identifier of the second BWP, information about a terminal device that uses BWP switching, a type of the terminal device that uses BWP switching, a BWP switch period (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraph 6- Pg. 4 Paragraph 1, the indication message with a time period for BWP switching).
As to claim 5, Huawei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a second message from the network device, wherein the second message is useable for configuring one or more BWPs, and the one or more BWPs include the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 25 Paragraph 6 – Pg. 26 Paragraph 1, a second DCI message from the network device with the same content and useable for configuring BWP2) .
As to claim 6, Huawei teaches wherein the second message includes system information (Huawei, Pg. 8 Paragraph 7, the message includes DCI and SI).
As to claim 7, Huawei teaches wherein the second message is useable for indicating at least one of following content in each of the one or more BWPs: a BWP switch period (Huawei, Pg. 25 Paragraph 6 – Pg. 26 Paragraph 2, a BWP switch period).
As to claim 8, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is further useable for indicating at least one of following content in the second BWP: a BWP switch period (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraph 6- Pg. 4 Paragraph 1, the indication message with a time period for BWP switching).
As to claim 9, Huawei teaches an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Huawei, Pg. 49 Paragraphs 8, a network device with processor and memory):
send a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message is useable for indicating to the terminal device in a radio resource control (RRC)-non-connected state to switch from a first BWP to a second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, sending switching indication information indicating to go to a second (different) BWP) from a first BWP when a device is in an out of network state (off/outside)). wherein the RRC-non-connected state is an idle state (Huawei, Pg. 11 Para 1, the state of terminal is in an idle state).
Huawei does not explicitly teach a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP.
However, Park teaches a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP (Park, [0045], receiving a configuration message with information (parameters) from the network device that includes an identifier (ID) of the added/second BWP. Information in a message of a computer system is conveyed in bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide additional BWP configuration identifier as taught by Park in the system of Huawei, so that it would provide information configuration and accuracy for beam failure detection and recovery (Park [0007]).
As to claim 10, Huawei teaches wherein the is one or more processors execute the instructions to further caused the one or more processors to: receive small data or a reference signal from the terminal device on the second BWP.
As to claim 13, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is useable for indicating at least one of following content: an identifier of the second BWP, information about a terminal device that uses BWP switching, a type of the terminal device that uses BWP switching, a BWP switch period, a cell corresponding to the second BWP, or a resource for small data communication in the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraph 6- Pg. 4 Paragraph 1, the indication message with a time period for BWP switching)..
As to claim 14, Huawei teaches wherein the is one or more processors are further caused to: send a second message to the terminal device, wherein the second message is useable for configuring one or more BWPs for the terminal device, and the one or more BWPs include the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 25 Paragraph 6 – Pg. 26 Paragraph 1, a second DCI message from the network device with the same content and useable for configuring BWP2) ..
As to claim 15, Huawei teaches a method (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, a method), comprising: sending a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message is useable for indicating to the terminal device in a radio resource control (RRC)-non-connected state to switch from a first BWP to a second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraphs 1-2, sending switching indication information indicating to go to a second (different) BWP) from a first BWP when a device is in an out of network state (off/outside)). wherein the RRC-non-connected state is an idle state (Huawei, Pg. 11 Para 1, the state of terminal is in an idle state).
Huawei does not explicitly teach a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP.
However, Park teaches a message from a network device includes a configuration parameter of the second BWP, the configuration parameter includes first bits for indicating an identifier (ID) of the second BWP (Park, [0045], receiving a configuration message with information (parameters) from the network device that includes an identifier (ID) of the added/second BWP. Information in a message of a computer system is conveyed in bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide additional BWP configuration identifier as taught by Park in the system of Huawei, so that it would provide information configuration and accuracy for beam failure detection and recovery (Park [0007]).
As to claim 16, Huawei teaches further comprising: receiving small data or a reference signal from the terminal device on the second BWP (Huawei, Pg 99-101 Figures, the terminal sends to the network device data using the BWP2 that was switched 2 for communication Page 2 Paragraph 7).
As to claim 19, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is useable for indicating at least one of following content: an identifier of the second BWP, information about a terminal device that uses BWP switching, a type of the terminal device that uses BWP switching, a BWP switch period, a cell corresponding to the second BWP, or a resource for small data communication in the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 3 Paragraph 6- Pg. 4 Paragraph 1, the indication message with a time period for BWP switching).
As to claim 20, Huawei teaches further comprising: sending a second message to the terminal device, wherein the second message is useable for configuring one or more BWPs for the terminal device, and the one or more BWPs include the second BWP (Huawei, Pg. 25 Paragraph 6 – Pg. 26 Paragraph 1, a second DCI message from the network device with the same content and useable for configuring BWP2)
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Huawei and Park as applied to claims above, and further in view of Agiwal et al (Pub No: 12,369,138)
As to claim 2, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is carried in downlink control information (DCI), and the DCI is first-type DCI (Huawei, Pg. 8 Paragraph 7, the message is carried in a type of DCI)
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) or is scrambled by a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI); or the DCI is second-type DCI, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order, wherein the DCI is useable for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), for scheduling a random access response, or for scheduling an acknowledgment (ACK)/negative acknowledgment (NACK) feedback for a configured grant (CG).
However, Agiwal teaches the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) (Agiwal, Col 9 L55-65 Col 10 L63-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
As to claim 3, Huawei teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: information for paging, system information, a random access response, an ACK/NACK feedback for a CG, or downlink small data.
However, Agiwal teaches wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: system information(Agiwal, Col 8 L 34-45, system information is transmitted over PDSCH and use for carrying system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
As to claim 11, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is carried in downlink control information (DCI), and the DCI is first-type DCI (Huawei, Pg. 8 Paragraph 7, the message is carried in a type of DCI)
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) or is scrambled by a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI); or the DCI is second-type DCI, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order, wherein the DCI is useable for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), for scheduling a random access response, or for scheduling an acknowledgment (ACK)/negative acknowledgment (NACK) feedback for a configured grant (CG).
However, Agiwal teaches the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) (Agiwal, Col 9 L55-65 Col 10 L63-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
As to claim 12, Huawei teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: information for paging, system information, a random access response, an ACK/NACK feedback for a CG, or downlink small data.
However, Agiwal teaches wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: system information(Agiwal, Col 8 L 34-45, system information is transmitted over PDSCH and use for carrying system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
As to claim 17, Huawei teaches wherein the first message is carried in downlink control information (DCI), and the DCI is first-type DCI (Huawei, Pg. 8 Paragraph 7, the message is carried in a type of DCI)
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) or is scrambled by a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI); or the DCI is second-type DCI, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order, wherein the DCI is useable for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), for scheduling a random access response, or for scheduling an acknowledgment (ACK)/negative acknowledgment (NACK) feedback for a configured grant (CG).
However, Agiwal teaches the DCI is scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) (Agiwal, Col 9 L55-65 Col 10 L63-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
As to claim 18, Huawei teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: information for paging, system information, a random access response, an ACK/NACK feedback for a CG, or downlink small data.
However, Agiwal teaches wherein the first message is carried in a PDSCH, and the PDSCH is useable for carrying at least one of following information: system information(Agiwal, Col 8 L 34-45, system information is transmitted over PDSCH and use for carrying system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “use DCI with P-RNTI” as taught by Agiwal in the system of Park and Huawei, so that it would enhance the method of updating SI (Agiwal, Col 4 L53-60).
Conclusion
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469