Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 101 analysis, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection. The instant limitation “transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first power tool to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first power tool,” represent an intended function of the instruction, namely “to modify” describes the purpose of the instruction but without effectuating an affirmative control of the power tool using the instructions.
The claim language, if amended to recite the equivalent of “wherein the first power tool is controlled based on the modified performance parameters,” would represent a practical application of the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. As per claims 1, 11, and 19, the claim(s) recite(s) receiving a user modification to received performance data used for programming the power tool. The step of modifying an input via a user may practically be performed in the mind through observation and judgment of the working parameters of the tool.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the inclusion of a display, wireless communication unit, and processor represent common computing components while the processor represents mere instructions to apply. The inclusion of displaying a list of power tools, power tool performance parameters, attributes, and identification data generally links the abstract idea to the field of power tools while also representing tangential data gathering and transmission regarding obtaining the power tool identification and attributes.
The instant limitation transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first power tool to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first power tool, represent an intended function of the instruction, namely “to modify” describes the purpose of the instruction but without effectuating an affirmative control of the power tool using the instructions.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the inclusion of a processor represents mere instructions to apply the abstract idea while displaying, receiving, transmitting, and/or communication represent well-known, convention, and routine extra solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)
As per claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20, the claimed enabling and disabling a power tool is recited generally so as to generically link the abstract idea to the field of power tools (e.g. the enabling or disabling is not tied to the modified parameters); the step of disabling based on a power tool guard; displaying different colors based on tool availability; monitoring the LED brightness; editing names or tool pictures; and accessory identification do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea to the field of power tools for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5-6, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799)
Claim 1:
Chen teaches a computing device including a display (ABSTRACT e.g. see wireless communicator), a wireless communication circuit (ABSTRACT, Figure 15-330 e.g. see wireless means for communicating), and a processor (Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 15 e.g. “portable computer-119, Figure 2-36); However, Chen does not expressly teach the user input for connecting to plurality of power tools, displaying a list of power tools in response, selecting a displayed power tool, displaying performance parameters of a power tool, receiving user input to modify the performance parameters, and transmitting the performance parameters to the power tool.
Page teaches the user input for connecting to a process control device while Mashiko et al. teaches a plurality of power tools; Page teaches selecting a displayed, discovered device for establishing a connection while Chen teaches obtaining and modifying performance parameters of a process device responsive to establishing a connection with a desired field device while Mashiko teaches the power tools having performance parameters; Mashiko teaches obtaining and displaying performance parameters responsive to establishing a connection, displaying power tool performance parameters, modifying performance parameters, and transmitting performance parameters while Chen teaches obtaining performance parameters in response to a connection to a field device, modifying performance parameters of a field device, and transmitting performance parameters for a field device,
wherein the processor (Chen, Figure 1-30, 34) is configured to:
receive a user input to connect the computing device to a plurality of power tools (Page et al-405 (e.g. see user input initiating connection to wireless device), infra Mashiko for power tools), see also Page et al., 410, 425, 430, 435, 462, Figure 4, e.g. see user input to connect a computer device to devices via the processor of Page (e.g. as interpreted, user initiated request for establishing a connection), see also Chen for connecting a computing device to multiple field devices via a field engineer, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see establishing a connection with a selected field device via an operator, including identifying and selecting displayed devices) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool, including multiple power tools)
wirelessly contact the plurality of power tools via the wireless communication circuit (Page, Figure 4 e.g. see wireless discovering multiple devices, see Chen for wireless communicating with field devices based on obtaining a communication channel, Col 24 lines 56-67, in addition to establishing a communication session with a field device, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10)
cause the display to present a listing of the plurality of power tools (Page, Figure 4-425 e.g. see displaying listing of discovered devices, see Chen for displaying list of identified field devices, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64)
receive a user selection of a first power tool from the listing of the plurality of power tools from the display (Page, Figure 4-430, 435 e.g. see selecting a displayed device to establish a connection, see Chen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Page, namely implementing establishing wireless connections to a selected, displayed device based a on a user request to connect, to the teachings of Chen, namely obtaining device information “once a communication connection has been established,” would achieve an expected and predictable result of manually triggering a device discovery process for identifying nearby devices for establishing a connection. The integration of the discovery functions Page into the processor Chen provides an expected and predictable result whether processor functions of separate or integral. The application of Page to Chen provides an improved device discovery as described, background of invention and would logically commend itself to the device discovery process of Chen.
Chen, as modified by Page, does not expressly teach the plurality of power tools. Mashiko teaches the plurality of power tools described above, analogous to a process control device or field device.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings Mashiko, namely identifying a power tool make and model, obtaining performance parameters of the power tool, modifying the power tool performance parameters, and transmitting modified power tool performance parameters, would achieve an improved invention by facilitating the remote configuration of power tools via applying the teachings of Chen, as modified by Page, namely displaying a list of discovered devices responsive to user requesting a discovery process, selecting a displayed device for establishing a connection, upon establishing a connection based on the displayed list, then obtain device parameters, modifying the device parameters, and configuring the device with the modified parameters, as per Chen, Col 22 lines 56-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10. Mashiko is in the same field of endeavor as Chen, namely process control, see background art (e.g. assembly work in factories), and is reasonably pertinent to a problem of customizing device parameters to perform in accordance with tool specifications in the work environment. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art substituting or including a power tool in place of or with a field device for process control yields an expected and predictable result of acquiring power tool parameters based on establishing a connection.
Chen, as modified, teaches:
receive at least one performance data associated with a performance of the first power tool via the wireless communication circuit (Chen et al., see using wireless device to connect to a selected, displayed field device; directly and wirelessly obtaining and changing performance parameters of the field device; and changing select field device parameters, Col 22 lines 56-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67 (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67 (e.g. see read field device information, configure or reconfigure the field device, calibrate the control device , send new parameters to the field device, etc.), Col 24 lines 56-67), and see Mashiko for at least one performance data for a power tool, Figure 5-S1, S4, S10, S12, S21,)
cause the display to present a plurality of attributes including the at least one performance data and at least one identity data associated with the first power tool in response to the user selection of the first power tool (Chen, e.g. see obtaining performance data of a selected field device including parameters for user modification and download to the field device in response to a user selecting a process control device, see also “device specific information” as reading of identify data, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67 (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67 (e.g. see read field device information, configure or reconfigure the field device, calibrate the control device , send new parameters to the field device, etc.), Col 24 lines 56-67), and see the following for displaying obtained power tool parameters:
see Mashiko for displaying at least one performance parameter and tool identity data in response to the connection and data retrieval from the power tool to the computer device, see Mashiko, Figure 5-S1, S4, S10, S12, S21, Figure 6 – 91, 92, 93, 94 e.g. see display presenting a plurality of power tool attributes and identity data in response to establishing a connection with the power tool, see above for selecting a displayed field device, establishing communication with a selected device, and obtaining parameters based on the selected field device upon establishing communication).
receive a user modification input modifying the at least one performance data from the display (Chen e.g. see sending new parameters or other information to the device…./new reads on modifications of parameters, see Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67 (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67 (e.g. see read field device information, configure or reconfigure the field device, calibrate the control device , send new parameters to the field device, etc.), Col 24 lines 56-67), see also Mashiko for user modifying power tool parameters, Figure 5)
transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first power tool to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first power tool (Chen e.g. see sending new parameters/reconfiguring as reading on instructions to the field device for implementation and device control over a wireless medium, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67 (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67 (e.g. see reading field device information, configure or reconfigure the field device, calibrate the control device , send new parameters to the field device, etc.), Col 24 lines 56-67), and see Mashiko for modifying and transmitting at least one performance data for a power tool, Figure 5-S1, S4, S10, S12, S21, Figure 6 – 91, 92, 93, 94. As interpreted, sending new parameter values for implementation reads on “sending instructions to modify” because receiving modified parameters (e.g. new mode values) represent a “set of information” that effectively teach the power tool how perform.
Claim 5.
The computing device of claim 1 wherein the mode limitations comprise:
wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a first user input associated with enabling or disabling a mode of operation of the first power tool, and to; and transmit an instruction to the first power tool accordingly (Mashiko, Figure 1, Figure 2, Figure 6 e.g. see changing drive modes as reading on enabling a mode of operation)
Claim 6.
The computing device of claim 1, wherein the at least one identity data comprises at least one of an identifying name or a picture icon (Mashiko, Figure 6-91, see also Chen, Figure 4-104, Col 8 lines 8-10, col 11 lines 16-26)
Claim 19. Chen, as modified, supra claim 1, teaches a system comprising: a plurality of power tools;and a computing device including a display, a wireless communication circuit, and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to :wirelessly contact the plurality of power tools via the wireless communication circuit; cause the display to present a listing of the plurality of power tools ;receive a user selection of a first power tool from the listing of the plurality of power tools from the display; receive at least one performance data associated with a performance of the first power tool via the wireless communication circuit ;cause the display to present a plurality of attributes including the at least one performance data and at least one identity data associated with the first power tool in response to the user selection of the first power tool; receive a user input modifying the at least one performance data from the display; and transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first power tool to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first power tool.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same prior art and rationales set forth in claim 1.
Claim 20. The system of claim 19, wherein the first power tool is configured to modify the at least one performance data in accordance to with the modified at least one performance data (supra claim 1 e.g. see updating configuration parameters of Chen via the field device/power tool and/or overwriting tool parameters of Mashiko)
Claims 2-3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Gilmore (USPN 6845279).
Claim 2. The applied prior art teaches the computing device of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the speed and power limitations described below. Gilmore teaches the speed and power limitations described below
wherein the at least one performance data includes at least one of a maximum motor speed or a maximum motor power of the first power tool ((Gilmore, Col 8 lines 60-67)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely configuring power tool settings, to the teachings of Gilmore, namely specifying maximum toque specifications for a power tool, would achieve an expected and predictable result combining said elements using known methods. Gilmore is reasonably pertinent to specifying power tool parameters for error proofing as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 3.
The computing device of claim 1 but does not teach the LED limitations described below. Gilmore teaches the LED limitations described below
wherein the at least one performance data includes at least one of a brightness of at least one LED of the first power tool, a blink pattern of the at least one LED, or a time period that the at least one LED remains ON after releasing a trigger switch, Gilmore, Col 19 lines 60-67.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely configuring power tool settings, to the teachings of Gilmore, namely specifying LED blinking patterns, would achieve an expected and predictable result combining said elements using known methods for indicating power tool status. One of ordinary skill in the art adapting the LED settings via the portable computer of Chen, as modified, for remotely configuring a power tool, would realize an improved invention via assisting a user visually of the power tool status. Gilmore is reasonably pertinent to a problem of informing a user on connection status and would provide a benefit of improving usability as described.
Claim 4 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Pilchowski (USPN 6418829).
Claim 4.
Chen teaches the computing device of claim 1 but does not teach the guard limitations described below. Pilchowski teaches the guard limitations described below.
wherein the processor is configured to limit a power output of the first power tool if a side handle or an on-tool guard is not detected (ABSTRACT)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely controlling and monitoring power tools, to the teachings of Pilchowski, namely disabling a power tool when a protective guard is not in place, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods.
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Trandal (USPN 8694501)
Claim 7. The computing device of claim 6 but does not expressly teach the limitations described below. wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a first user input modifying at least one of the identifying name or the picture icon from the display; and transmit a modified data associated with the identifying name or the picture icon to the first power tool (supra claim 1 for receiving at least an identifying name and remotely updating power tool parameters, see Trandal for modifying a name, col 4 lines 20-25)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen as modified, namely display a list of discovered devices, selecting a device for configuration, and transmitting new parameters to a power tool, to the teachings of Trandal, namely graphically modifying a device name, would achieve an expected and predictable result via configuring a device with a modified name. Trandal is reasonably pertinent to a problem of updating and designating new power tools with specific identifiers and would commend itself to remotely configuring a power tool.
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Francis (PG/PUB 20060234617).
Claims 8. The computing device of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the accessory limitations described below. Francis teaches the accessory limitations described below
wherein the processor is further configured to: determine an identity of an accessory associated with the first power tool (Francis, ABSTRACT, Figure 2- S140; modify the at least one performance data according to the identity of the accessory; and transmit the modified at least one performance data to the at least one power tool, supra claim 1 for remotely configuring power tool parameters)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely retrieving power tool configuration data and sending a modified parameters for controlling the power tool, to the teachings of Francis, namely obtaining power tool accessory and associated settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely configuring power tool accessories.
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Francis (PG/PUB 20060234617) in view over Brown (PG/PUB 20060155582)
Claim 9. The computing device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine an identity or a type of a workpiece associated with the first power tool; modify the at least one performance data according to the identity or the type of the workpiece; and transmit the modified at least one performance data to the at least one power tool (Brown, 0056 for identifying workpiece, supra claim 1 for remotely configuring power tool settings)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely retrieving power tool configuration data and sending a modified parameters for controlling the power tool, to the teachings of Brown, namely obtaining workpiece identifiers for custom tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely customizing power tool settings based on workpiece properties.
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko et al. (WO2012160799) in view over Doshi et al. (USPN 7457262).
Claim 10.
Chen teaches the computing device of claim 1 but does not teach the color limitations described below. Doshi teaches the color limitations described below.
wherein the processor is configured to cause the display to present the plurality of power tools in a first color and a second plurality of power tools that cannot be contacted or accessed by the computing device in a second color different from the first color (Doshi, ABSTRACT, Col 7 lines 53-67 thru. Col 8 lines 1-10, see multiple power tools communicating with a server, supra claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Doshi, namely associating different colors to indicate device available or unavailability as well as allowing an operator to configure color settings based on device states, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, maintaining communication with multiple power tools and ascertaining power tool operating settings including at least temperature and torque values, would achieve an expected and predictable result via color coding different power tools based on availability/unavailability/loading information/failure/communication issues to assist an operator in visually ascertaining the power tool’s status.
Claims 11-12, 15, and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko in (WO2012160799) view over Makita (PG/PUB 20200343744) .
Claim 11.
Chen, as modified, supra claim 1, but does not expressly teach the battery limitations described below. Makita teaches the battery pack limitations described below.
a computing device including a display, a wireless communication circuit, and a processor configured, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a user input to connect the computing device to a plurality of battery packs, supra claim 1 for power tool; wirelessly contact the plurality of battery packs via the wireless communication circuit; cause the display to present a listing of the plurality of battery packs, supra claim 1 for displaying tool listings; receive a user selection of a first battery pack from the listing of the plurality of battery packs from the display; supra claim 1 for selecting power tool, receive at least one performance data associated with a performance of the first battery pack[[s]] via the wireless communication circuit ,supra claim 1 for receiving power tool parameters, cause the display to present a plurality of attributes including the at least one performance data and at least one identity data associated with the first battery pack in response to the user selection of the first battery pack, supra claim 1 for displaying power tool model and parameters, receive a user modification input modifying the at least one performance data from the display, supra claim 1 for modifying power tool parameters; and transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first battery pack to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first battery pack, supra claim 1 for modifying power tool parameters)
Makita teaches a plurality of battery packs, 0184; Chen, as modified, teaches a plurality of power tools with battery packs, supra claim 1; Makita teaches an external computer for modifying received battery pack parameters, 0345, 0365, 0370-0393)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, supra claim 1, to the teachings of Makita, namely obtaining, displaying, modifying, and transmitting battery pack parameters, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely configuring battery pack parameters. Makita is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to provisioning batter parameters similar to provisioning power tool parameters because of the dependencies between the power tool and attached battery pack, namely the implementation of a speed and torque parameter is associated with the ability of battery pack to enable operation.
Claim 12. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the at least one performance data includes at least one of a state of full charge, announcement settings related to a full charge or discharge, announcement settings related to temperature of the first battery pack, enabling or disabling of the first battery pack, or conditions settings under which the first battery pack is enabled or disabled, Makita, 0025-0030, 0345, 0365, 0370-0393,
Claim 15. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the at least one identity data comprises at least one of an identifying name or a picture icon (0044, 0138)
Claim 18. Chen, as modified, supra claim 11, teaches a system comprising: a plurality of power tools at least one power tool; at least one battery pack; and a computing device including a display, a wireless communication circuit, and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: wirelessly contact the at least one power tool and the at least one battery pack via the wireless communication circuit; cause the display to present a listing of the at least one power tool and the at least one battery pack; receive a user selection of a device from the listing of the at least one power tool and the at least one battery pack; receive at least one performance data associated with a performance of the a first power tool or the a first battery pack via the wireless communication circuit; cause the display to present a plurality of attributes including the at least one performance data and at least one identity data associated with the first power tool or the first battery pack in response to the user selection of the first power tool or the first battery pack; receive a user input modifying the at least one performance data from the display; and transmit, via the wireless communication circuit, instructions to the first power tool or to the first battery pack to modify the at least one performance data in accordance with the user modification input, wherein the instructions to modify the at least one performance data control the performance of the first power tool or the first battery pack.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same prior art and rationales set forth in claims 1 and 11
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko in (WO2012160799) view over Makita (PG/PUB 20200343744)
Claim 13. The computing device of claim 12 but does not expressly teach the disable limitations described below. Sonobe teaches the disable limitations described below, wherein the conditions settings under which the first battery pack is disabled include a predetermined number of charge cycles, a predetermined time period, or a number of uses (0345, 0365, 0370-0393, see Sonobe, Col 1 lines 53-67 e.g. see cycle condition for controlling a battery)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Sonobe, namely disabling based on cycle conditions, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely setting battery pack parameters, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods to prolong battery life.
Claim 17. The computing device of claim 11 but does not teach the sound limitations described below. Sonobe teaches the sound limitations described below
, wherein the processor is further configured to: send a locate signal to the first power tool battery pack via the wireless communication circuit, causing the first power tool battery pack to emit a sound to assist in identifying its a location of the first battery pack ((Sonobe, 0066 e.g. see sending signal to device to emit audible))
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Sonobe, namely assisting a user to locate a tool via sound, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely communicating with a power tool, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods.
Claim 14 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko in (WO2012160799) view over Makita (PG/PUB 20200343744) in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375) in view over Sonobe
Chen, as modified, teaches the computing device of claim 11 but does not teach accept limitations described below. Zeiler teaches the accept limitations and Zeiler teaches the vicinity limitations described below.
wherein the at least one performance data includes include the battery pack being configured to provide power or accept charging power when it is within a vicinity of the computing device (Zeiler, 0083 e.g. see enabling or disabling a power tool based on location, and see Sonobe as enabling or disabling charging based on conditions, supra claims 11-13)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely obtaining battery parameters for remotely battery operation, to the teachings of Sonobe, namely disabling a battery or enabling a battery pack based upon sensed conditions, to the teachings of Zeiler, namely enabling a power tool with battery based on location, would achieve an expected and predictable result of adapting a battery condition to include location data for enabling the battery to accept charge.
Claim 16 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko in (WO2012160799) view over Makita (PG/PUB 20200343744) in view over Lacender (USPN 9641002)
Claim 16.
Brown, as modified, teaches the computing device of claim 15 but does not teach the name limitations described below. Lavender teaches the battery name limitations described below
wherein the processor is configured to receive a user input modifying at least one of the identifying name or the picture icon from the display, and transmit a modified data associated with the identifying name or the picture icon to the first battery pack ( see Lavender for user modifying battery name, Col 3 lines 1-5, supra claim 11 for modifying battery attributes)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely display a list of discovered devices, selecting a device for configuration, modifying parameter, and downloading to battery memory, to the teachings of Lavender namely graphically modifying a battery device name, would achieve an expected and predictable result via configuring a battery with an identifier.
Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPN 7640007) in view over Page et al. (USPN 7324462) in view over Mashiko in (WO2012160799) view over Makita (PG/PUB 20200343744) in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375)
Claim 17.
Chen, as modified, teaches the computing device of claim 11 but does not teach the sound limitation described below. Zeiler teaches the sound limitation described below
wherein the processor is configured to send a locate signal to the first power tool via the wireless communication circuit, causing the first power tool to emit a sound to assist in identifying its location (Zeiler, 0131-0134)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zieler for controlling a power tool to emit a noise to the teachings Chen, as modified, namely remotely controlling a power tool, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods.
Conclusion
7634322 7010294 7640007 20230090298 20230092671 20230091046 20230092671 7324462 7640007 20090043353 -programming device 7324462 7640007
8683017 20100332979 20060031457 20210291309 20210029619 200900495189729945
20110065375 20060223547 9942753 20070004449
20100279627 7634322 7010294 7640007 20230090298 20230092671 20230091046 20230092671 7324462 7640007 20090043353 -programming device 7324462 7640007
8683017 20100332979 20060031457 20210291309 20210029619 20090049518 9729945 20110065375 20060223547 9942753 20070004449 20100279627
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117