Claim objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: With regarding claim 2, line 13. Containing an incorrect period after the phrase. This line currently ends in a period (.) but should end with a comma (,)
Appropriate correction is required to maintain clarity and proper claim formatting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doppler et al. (US 20080070510 A1) disclosing subject matter fully supported by U.S. Prov. App. No. 60/826085, hereinafter Doppler). With regarding Claim 1, Doppler teaches: a wireless communication system comprising: a base station adapted for scheduling, using a communication configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device;(See FIG. 1, and [0021]-[0022], [0042], [0047], [0064]-[0066]
[0021] Various embodiments are disclosed relating to techniques for managing interference among nodes in a wireless network.
[0022] According to an example embodiment, a first measurement of a first interference activity may be determined at a first wireless node in a wireless network. A determination may be made that the first interference activity is unacceptable based on the first measurement. A first interference report including an indication of the unacceptable first interference activity may be sent to a second wireless node for transmission to a base station for processing by the base station. ) wherein the reporting device is configured for performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with the communications configuration; (See FIG. 1, and [0022], [0046]-[0047], [0066], [0077]-[0079]
[0047] When using OFDMA it may be possible to configure the coding and modulation differently for different subcarriers and schedule transmissions such that subcarriers that experience an unacceptable amount of interference may be avoided. The interference avoidance techniques discussed herein may exploit these capabilities by communicating indications of subcarriers on which interference occurs and setting different allowed power levels to subcarriers to limit the interference.[0077] The MTs (e.g., in active state) and the RNs may report the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes in downlink, i.e., interferers or interfering nodes that may be suppressed by interference rejection combining (IRC) or that may be cancelled may not be not reported. [0078] Thus, the example techniques may be discussed with regard to MTs performing the measurements and the reporting. Similarly, as RNs may be receivers in downlink, the example techniques may be used by relay nodes as well. Due to low mobility of an MT, the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes may remain the same for an extensive period of time and the MT may then report only changes in the interfering activity, which may be preferable to regular reporting.
[0079] According to an example embodiment, an MT may identify disturbing interferers or interfering nodes and report their IDs in a message to the MT's serving RAP. If the serving RAP is a RN, then it forwards the message to the BS of the relay enhanced cell. It is noted that the measurement and the signaling load may be reduced significantly if a significant number of the MTs are static.)
wherein the reporting device is configured for using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; (See paragraphs [0053], [0061] [0053] The amount of measurements available at the serving relay node and base station may differ depending on the user and flow. For example, all users may measure the average SINR that they experience and may report the dominant interferers or interfering nodes and their relative signal strength compared to the serving relay node or base station. Further, the current PER may be available at the serving relay node or base station. Frequency adaptive users, for example, may measure and feed back accurate SINR for the subchannels relevant to them.
[0061] In order to implement this example scheduling scheme the scheduler may need to obtain knowledge about the frequency-adaptive transmissions. First, the frequency adaptive users may be identified, for example, from a coherence time measurement, or from a control message indicating that f-adaptive transmission is possible. MS in f-adaptive mode may report regularly detailed CSI, i.e., SINR for the subchannels in use, which may include a subset of the available subchannels.)
and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring, e.g., RSRP, RSSI or any other adopted signal metric, to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; (See paragraphs [0053], [0061], [0104], [0106]-[0107]-[0110]-[0110][0104] In order to detect interfering nodes, it may be desirable, for example, to determine an example threshold such that nodes that may be considered as disturbing interferers or interfering nodes have a signal strength that is larger than the threshold (e.g., the threshold may be pre-defined, a system parameter, or adaptive). Thus, the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes may be referred to as causing an interference activity, which may be determined to be an unacceptable interference activity if certain conditions are met, for example, having a signal strength that exceeds the threshold, as discussed above. According to an example embodiment, an example of such a threshold may be xdB below the signal strength of the serving RAP. Thus, if the interferers' signal strength is greater than or less than xdB below the signal strength of the serving RAP, then it may be classified as a disturbing interferer or a disturbing interfering node (i.e., the disturbing interferer or disturbing interfering node is causing an unacceptable interference activity). For an example OFDMA system, one threshold may be used for the whole received signal, or the threshold may, for example, be applied to each sub-channel.[0106] When interference is detected, a node in the wireless network may generate an interference report element 1010, for example, as shown in FIG. 10a, that may include a source id 1012, a length 1014 (which may vary depending, for example, on the options included in the message), a time stamp 1016, several interference elements 1018 describing the interference of particular interfering nodes, and, for example, an optional field 1020 that may indicate availability of subchannels via an example binary mapping. In the example mapping a 1 may indicate an unacceptably high level of interference and a 0 may mean that a subchannel is available. This example mapping may be compressed or coded to optimize the message.[0107] As shown in FIG. 10b, according to an example embodiment, an example interference element 1050 may be used to report the interference perceived from another Radio Access Point (base station or relay) 1052. If variable antenna beams are used, for example, a beam id 1054 may be transmitted. Further, a time stamp 1056 may be included. The strength of the interference 1058 (e.g., the strength of the interfering node may be indicated using the "Signal Strength Serving RAP"/"Ratio Signal Strength Interferer," Carrier-to-Interference Ratio) and location information for the device 1060 may be included.) wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result; (See FIG. 9, [0022], [0100]-[0101], [0106], [0107],[0100] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the MTs may measure interference and may report the interference measurements to their serving radio access point (e.g., BS or RN). The RNs may collect the measurements from the MTs, and may append more information (e.g., an ID of the terminal), add their own measurement or interference report, and forward the measurement or interference reports to the BS.[0106] When interference is detected, a node in the wireless network may generate an interference report element 1010, for example, as shown in FIG. 10a, that may include a source id 1012, a length 1014 (which may vary depending, for example, on the options included in the message), a time stamp 1016, several interference elements 1018 describing the interference of particular interfering nodes, and, for example, an optional field 1020 that may indicate availability of subchannels via an example binary mapping. In the example mapping a 1 may indicate an unacceptably high level of interference and a 0 may mean that a subchannel is available. This example mapping may be compressed or coded to optimize the message.) and wherein the wireless communication system is configured for using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference.(See paragraphs [0066], [0071]-[0075],[0082], and [0117].[0071] According to an example embodiment, the BS may assign a power mask for the RNs in its relay-enhanced cell (REC) based on the following: [0074] 3) adaptation of the power mask may be triggered by reports of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes and changing traffic loads [0125] Resource partitioning that may be included in the example intra-cell interference management techniques discussed herein may be triggered by reported interferers or interfering nodes. However, knowing IDs of reported interferers or interfering nodes as such may not be sufficient. For intra-cell interference scenarios, the BS may know all the flows that are handled by relays within its relay enhanced cell. Thus, the BS may have information about the traffic load and QoS requirements of these flows. Therefore, the BS may use this information when it does the resource partitioning. Thus, resource requests that may result in a high signaling load may be avoided. It is noted that in a system without relays and with fast, high bandwidth inter-connections between base stations and radio network controllers, the resource requests may be handled and there is no need for anything further. The combined use of reported interferers or interfering nodes, traffic load and QoS requirements of the flows handled by the relays may provide an effective management technique.)
With regarding claim 3, Doppler teaches wherein the wireless communication system is adapted for using information about interferes and the interference they cause in the wireless communication system based on reports received from reporting devices to determine the communications configuration to acquire an overall mitigated interference for scheduled devices based on an optimization criterion (See paragraphs [0023], [0071], [0082], [0096]-[0097], [0104]-[0108], [0117].[0081] If the disturbing interferer or interfering node is within the relay-enhanced cell (REC), the BS may adapt the power mask of the disturbing interferer or interfering node (e.g., RN or BS) accordingly, i.e., the BS may assign low power resources to the disturbing interferer or interfering node. Further, the BS may signal to the serving RN that it can schedule a particular MT with reduced interference from the disturbing interferer or interfering node in particular resources.[0104] In order to detect interfering nodes, it may be desirable, for example, to determine an example threshold such that nodes that may be considered as disturbing interferers or interfering nodes have a signal strength that is larger than the threshold (e.g., the threshold may be pre-defined, a system parameter, or adaptive). Thus, the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes may be referred to as causing an interference activity, which may be determined to be an unacceptable interference activity if certain conditions are met,[0106] n the example mapping a 1 may indicate an unacceptably high level of interference and a 0 may mean that a subchannel is available. This example mapping may be compressed or coded to optimize the message.)
With regarding claim 6, Doppler teaches wherein the reporting device is adapted to generate the measurement report by condensing, compressing or summarizing a set of measurement results (See paragraphs [0102], [0103][0102] According to an example embodiment, a minimum configuration may include at least the IDs of interfering nodes in the measurement report.
[0103] According to an example embodiment, the measurement or interference report may be reduced by, for example, using conventional compression techniques.).
With regarding claim 11, Doppler teaches a base station configured for operating in a wireless communication system, the base station adapted for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device (See FIG. 2, FIG. 9, and paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0046], [0064]-[0066], [0068], [0056], [0058], [0100]. [0043] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating a wireless network according to an example embodiment. According to an example embodiment, a mobile station MS 208 may initially communicate directly with a base station BS 204, for example, and a subscriber station 210 may communicate with the base station BS 204 via a relay station RS 220. In an example embodiment, the mobile station 208 may travel or move with respect to base station BS 204. For example, the mobile station MS 208 may move out of range of the base station BS 204, and may thus begin communicating with the base station 204 via the relay station 220 as shown in FIG. 2.[0066] Example techniques discussed herein include an intra-cell interference coordination scheme for relay enhanced cells. The interference coordination scheme may be based on interference measurements taking place at the mobile terminals (MTs) and at the relay nodes (RNs) in the network. If one or more of the interference measurements may be considered unacceptable (e.g., above or below a predetermined threshold), the node(s) causing the unacceptable interference activity may be referred to as disturbing interferers or disturbing interfering nodes. The MTs and the RNs may report identifiers (IDs) of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes to their serving radio access point (RAP), which may be the BS or a RN. The RNs serving other RNs or MTs may then forward the IDs of the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes to the BS. Based on these reports the base station may adjust the resource allocations to the different relay nodes[0068] Resource Scheduling (e.g., actual chunks on the radio link) may be handled locally by the relay nodes. The interference coordination scheme may, for example, be integrated in a radio resource management (RRM) framework for a relay based 4th generation wireless communication system.); wherein the base station is configured for receiving a report generated by the reporting device, the measurement report indicating an amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through a reference signal of a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See paragraphs [0066], [0100]-[0102], [0106], [0116], [107][0100] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the MTs may measure interference and may report the interference measurements to their serving radio access point (e.g., BS or RN). The RNs may collect the measurements from the MTs, and may append more information (e.g., an ID of the terminal), add their own measurement or interference report, and forward the measurement or interference reports to the BS.[0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.
[0102] According to an example embodiment, a minimum configuration may include at least the IDs of interfering nodes in the measurement report.[0107] As shown in FIG. 10b, according to an example embodiment, an example interference element 1050 may be used to report the interference perceived from another Radio Access Point (base station or relay) 1052. If variable antenna beams are used, for example, a beam id 1054 may be transmitted. Further, a time stamp 1056 may be included. The strength of the interference 1058 (e.g., the strength of the interfering node may be indicated using the "Signal Strength Serving RAP"/"Ratio Signal Strength Interferer," Carrier-to-Interference Ratio) and location information for the device 1060 may be included.); and wherein the base station is configured for using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference (See paragraphs [0066]-[0071], [0081]-[0090], [0107], [0010], [0117],[0071] According to an example embodiment, the BS may assign a power mask for the RNs in its relay-enhanced cell (REC) based on the following: [0072] 1) the power masks may be assigned according to the traffic load of the radio access points (RAPs) [0073] 2) information about the interference that the radio access points (RAPs) in the REC generate with respect to each other may be utilized. The interference information is gathered from measurement reports [0074] 3) adaptation of the power mask may be triggered by reports of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes and changing traffic loads [0075] 4) update of the power mask may be occurring on a slower timescale than the resource scheduling (e.g., at most every 200-500 ms)[0094] If user specific beamforming or other spatial modes without fixed patterns are used then only the interfering RAP may know the spatial transmission mode it was using. In this case the MT may be able to determine which RAP was transmitting at the time when it could not decode its own packet. The MT may thus add this timestamp and the sub-channels to the message regarding the disturbing interferer or interfering node that the MT sends to its serving RAP. Additionally to updating the power mask, the BS can then signal to the interfering RAP 1) that it cannot use the spatial mode it used at timestamp xx and for sub-channel(s) yy for the specified part of the power mask and/or 2) that it has to reduce the power for the spatial mode, it used at timestamp xx and for sub-channel(s) yy for the specified part of the power mask.0084] 1) Amount and type of traffic the MT reporting the interferer or interfering node may be using (i.e., amount of resources needed)).
With regarding claim 12, Doppler teaches a method for operating a wireless communication system, the method comprising: operating a base station for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device (See FIG. 2 and paragraphs [0043], [0056], [0066][0043] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating a wireless network according to an example embodiment. According to an example embodiment, a mobile station MS 208 may initially communicate directly with a base station BS 204, for example, and a subscriber station 210 may communicate with the base station BS 204 via a relay station RS 220. In an example embodiment, the mobile station 208 may travel or move with respect to base station BS 204. For example, the mobile station MS 208 may move out of range of the base station BS 204, and may thus begin communicating with the base station 204 via the relay station 220 as shown in FIG. 2.[0066] Example techniques discussed herein include an intra-cell interference coordination scheme for relay enhanced cells. The interference coordination scheme may be based on interference measurements taking place at the mobile terminals (MTs) and at the relay nodes (RNs) in the network. If one or more of the interference measurements may be considered unacceptable (e.g., above or below a predetermined threshold), the node(s) causing the unacceptable interference activity may be referred to as disturbing interferers or disturbing interfering nodes. The MTs and the RNs may report identifiers (IDs) of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes to their serving radio access point (RAP), which may be the BS or a RN. The RNs serving other RNs or MTs may then forward the IDs of the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes to the BS. Based on these reports the base station may adjust the resource allocations to the different relay nodes. For example, the BS may assign different power masks to the RNs in its cell. The BS may assign the power masks based on the intra-cell interference situation and the traffic load of the different nodes in the cell. Thus, the BS may balance the local interference situation, traffic load and Quality-of-Service (QoS) requirements. The example techniques discussed herein include example measurements and signals for the example scenarios.); operating the reporting device for performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with the communications configuration (See paragraphs [0058], [0066][0058] In order to ensure this predictability the users may be scheduled within a super-frame in a predictable manner. For example, the frequency adaptive users may be scheduled first, then the frequency non-adaptive users. The remaining part of the super-frame may be used for contention based channels. An Allocation Table for the next superframe may be transmitted, for example, in the last DL slot.); such that the reporting device uses information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See paragraphs [0101], [0094][0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.[0094] If user specific beamforming or other spatial modes without fixed patterns are used then only the interfering RAP may know the spatial transmission mode it was using. In this case the MT may be able to determine which RAP was transmitting at the time when it could not decode its own packet. The MT may thus add this timestamp and the sub-channels to the message regarding the disturbing interferer or interfering node that the MT sends to its serving RAP. Additionally to updating the power mask, the BS can then signal to the interfering RAP 1) that it cannot use the spatial mode it used at timestamp xx and for sub-channel(s) yy for the specified part of the power mask and/or 2) that it has to reduce the power for the spatial mode, it used at timestamp xx and for sub-channel(s) yy for the specified part of the power mask.); and determines an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See paragraphs [0064]-[0066], [0078], [0107], [0101]-[0102][0078] Thus, the example techniques may be discussed with regard to MTs performing the measurements and the reporting. Similarly, as RNs may be receivers in downlink, the example techniques may be used by relay nodes as well. Due to low mobility of an MT, the disturbing interferers or interfering nodes may remain the same for an extensive period of time and the MT may then report only changes in the interfering activity, which may be preferable to regular reporting.[0047] When using OFDMA it may be possible to configure the coding and modulation differently for different subcarriers and schedule transmissions such that subcarriers that experience an unacceptable amount of interference may be avoided. The interference avoidance techniques discussed herein may exploit these capabilities by communicating indications of subcarriers on which interference occurs and setting different allowed power levels to subcarriers to limit the interference.[0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.); such that the reporting device reports, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result (See paragraphs [0104], [0106]-[0113][0106] When interference is detected, a node in the wireless network may generate an interference report element 1010, for example, as shown in FIG. 10a, that may include a source id 1012, a length 1014 (which may vary depending, for example, on the options included in the message), a time stamp 1016, several interference elements 1018 describing the interference of particular interfering nodes, and, for example, an optional field 1020 that may indicate availability of subchannels via an example binary mapping. In the example mapping a 1 may indicate an unacceptably high level of interference and a 0 may mean that a subchannel is available. This example mapping may be compressed or coded to optimize the message.0110] One example measure of the strength of an Interferer or interfering node may include a "Signal Strength Serving RAP"/"Ratio Signal Strength Interferer," Carrier-to-Interference Ratio.); and such that the wireless communication system uses the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference (See paragraphs [0066]-[0071], [0094], [0081]-[0082], [0101]-[0102], [0113][0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.[0071] According to an example embodiment, the BS may assign a power mask for the RNs in its relay-enhanced cell (REC) based on the following: [0072] 1) the power masks may be assigned according to the traffic load of the radio access points (RAPs) [0073] 2) information about the interference that the radio access points (RAPs) in the REC generate with respect to each other may be utilized. The interference information is gathered from measurement reports [0074] 3) adaptation of the power mask may be triggered by reports of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes and changing traffic loads [0075] 4) update of the power mask may be occurring on a slower timescale than the resource scheduling (e.g., at most every 200-500 ms)[0082] FIG. 8 illustrates an example original power 802 and updated power 804 mask. In the example as shown, RAP 1 is causing interference to a MT served by RAP 2 and the BS is updating the power mask. The BS thus assigns low power resources 806 to RAP 1 and thereby reduces the interference that RAP 1 may cause to RAP 2.). With regarding claim 13, Doppler teaches a method for operating a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with a communications configuration acquired from a base station of the wireless communication system and scheduling communication of the device (See FIG.1-2 and paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0058],[0066], [0111].[0042] Referring to the Figures in which like numerals indicate like elements, FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a wireless network 102 according to an example embodiment. Wireless network 102 may include a number of wireless nodes or stations, such as an access point (AP) 104 or base station and one or more mobile stations or subscriber stations, such as stations 108 and 110. While only one AP and two mobile stations are shown in wireless network 102, any number of APs and stations may be provided. Each station in network 102 (e.g., stations 108, 110) may be in wireless communication with the AP 104, and may even be in direct communication with each other. Although not shown, AP 104 may be coupled to a fixed network, such as a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), the Internet, etc., and may also be coupled to other wireless networks[0058] In order to ensure this predictability the users may be scheduled within a super-frame in a predictable manner. For example, the frequency adaptive users may be scheduled first, then the frequency non-adaptive users. The remaining part of the super-frame may be used for contention based channels. An Allocation Table for the next superframe may be transmitted, for example, in the last DL slot.[0066] The BS may assign the power masks based on the intra-cell interference situation and the traffic load of the different nodes in the cell. Thus, the BS may balance the local interference situation, traffic load and Quality-of-Service (QoS) requirements. The example techniques discussed herein include example measurements and signals for the example scenarios.) using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system device (See paragraphs [0094], [0101], [0107][0094] If user specific beamforming or other spatial modes without fixed patterns are used then only the interfering RAP may know the spatial transmission mode it was using. In this case the MT may be able to determine which RAP was transmitting at the time when it could not decode its own packet. The MT may thus add this timestamp and the sub-channels to the message regarding the disturbing interferer or interfering node that the MT sends to its serving RAP. [0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.[0107] As shown in FIG. 10b, according to an example embodiment, an example interference element 1050 may be used to report the interference perceived from another Radio Access Point (base station or relay) 1052. If variable antenna beams are used, for example, a beam id 1054 may be transmitted.); and determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See FIG. 11 and paragraph [0101], [0107], [0111][0111] FIG. 11 is a flowchart illustrating operation of a wireless node according to an example embodiment. At 1110, a first measurement of a first interference activity may be determined at a first wireless node in a wireless network. According to an example embodiment, a strength of a signal received at the first wireless node may be measured (1112).); and generating a measurement report based on the measurement result and reporting the measurement report to the wireless communication system (See FIG. 11 and paragraph [0066], [0107], [0106], [0100], [0111]-[0113].[0106] When interference is detected, a node in the wireless network may generate an interference report element 1010, for example, as shown in FIG. 10a, that may include a source id 1012, a length 1014 (which may vary depending, for example, on the options included in the message), a time stamp 1016, several interference elements 1018 describing the interference of particular interfering nodes, and, for example, an optional field 1020 that may indicate availability of subchannels via an example binary mapping. In the example mapping a 1 may indicate an unacceptably high level of interference and a 0 may mean that a subchannel is available. This example mapping may be compressed or coded to optimize the message.[0111] FIG. 11 is a flowchart illustrating operation of a wireless node according to an example embodiment. At 1110, a first measurement of a first interference activity may be determined at a first wireless node in a wireless network. According to an example embodiment, a strength of a signal received at the first wireless node may be measured (1112).[0113] At 1130, a first interference report including an indication of the unacceptable first interference activity may be sent to a second wireless node for transmission to a base station for processing by the base station. According to an example embodiment, the first interference report including at least one identification of one or more interfering wireless nodes may be sent (1132).).
With regarding claim 14, Doppler teaches a method for operating a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station adapted for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device, the method comprising (See FIG.2 and paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0056], [0058], [0066], [0071], [0100], [0116]-[0117][0043] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating a wireless network according to an example embodiment. According to an example embodiment, a mobile station MS 208 may initially communicate directly with a base station BS 204, for example, and a subscriber station 210 may communicate with the base station BS 204 via a relay station RS 220. In an example embodiment, the mobile station 208 may travel or move with respect to base station BS 204. For example, the mobile station MS 208 may move out of range of the base station BS 204, and may thus begin communicating with the base station 204 via the relay station 220 as shown in FIG. 2.[0058] In order to ensure this predictability the users may be scheduled within a super-frame in a predictable manner. For example, the frequency adaptive users may be scheduled first, then the frequency non-adaptive users. The remaining part of the super-frame may be used for contention based channels. An Allocation Table for the next superframe may be transmitted, for example, in the last DL slot.[0100] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the MTs may measure interference and may report the interference measurements to their serving radio access point (e.g., BS or RN). The RNs may collect the measurements from the MTs, and may append more information (e.g., an ID of the terminal), add their own measurement or interference report, and forward the measurement or interference reports to the BS.); receiving a report generated by the reporting device, the measurement report indicating an amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through a reference signal of a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See paragraphs [0100]-[0102], [0106]-[0107], [0113][0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.[0113] At 1130, a first interference report including an indication of the unacceptable first interference activity may be sent to a second wireless node for transmission to a base station for processing by the base station. According to an example embodiment, the first interference report including at least one identification of one or more interfering wireless nodes may be sent (1132).[0107] As shown in FIG. 10b, according to an example embodiment, an example interference element 1050 may be used to report the interference perceived from another Radio Access Point (base station or relay) 1052. If variable antenna beams are used, for example, a beam id 1054 may be transmitted. Further, a time stamp 1056 may be included. The strength of the interference 1058 (e.g., the strength of the interfering node may be indicated using the "Signal Strength Serving RAP"/"Ratio Signal Strength Interferer," Carrier-to-Interference Ratio) and location information for the device 1060 may be included.); and using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference (See paragraphs [0066]-[0071], [0094], [0107], [0117], [0081]-[0084], [0089] [0071] According to an example embodiment, the BS may assign a power mask for the RNs in its relay-enhanced cell (REC) based on the following: [0072] 1) the power masks may be assigned according to the traffic load of the radio access points (RAPs) [0073] 2) information about the interference that the radio access points (RAPs) in the REC generate with respect to each other may be utilized. The interference information is gathered from measurement reports [0074] 3) adaptation of the power mask may be triggered by reports of disturbing interferers or interfering nodes and changing traffic loads [0075] 4) update of the power mask may be occurring on a slower timescale than the resource scheduling (e.g., at most every 200-500 ms)[0082] FIG. 8 illustrates an example original power 802 and updated power 804 mask. In the example as shown, RAP 1 is causing interference to a MT served by RAP 2 and the BS is updating the power mask. The BS thus assigns low power resources 806 to RAP 1 and thereby reduces the interference that RAP 1 may cause to RAP 2.
[0083] Decisions regarding whether to adapt a power mask and/or how to adapt a power mask may, for example, be based on the following: [0084] 1) Amount and type of traffic the MT reporting the interferer or interfering node may be using (i.e., amount of resources needed.)
[0101] The measurement or interference report may, for example, include one or more of: 1) an ID of the interfering node; 2) a subchannel on which the interfering node was detected; 3) a timestamp, indicating when the interfering node was detected; 4) an ID of a beam, if the interfering node uses a grid of beams; 5) an ID of the MT or RN that is sending the measurement report; 6) a location of the MT or RN, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doppler et al. (US 20080070510 A1) in view of Raghavan et al (US 20210321415 A1).
With regarding of claim 2, Doppler may not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless communication system comprises a plurality of base stations; wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting the measurement report to the base station being a first base station and a scheduling base station for the reporting device; the wireless communication system being configured for identifying an interferer causing interference to the reporting device, the interferer being scheduled by a different second base station; wherein the first base station is to adapt a communications configuration for the reporting device to mitigate the interference; and/or wherein the first base station is configured for providing information to the second base station, wherein the second base station is configured for adapting a communications configuration of the interferer to mitigate the interference based on the information. wherein the reporting device is adapted to transmit, to the base station a suggestion for a future communications configuration, e.g., based on a listen before talk procedure or enhanced listen before talk procedure described herein. However, in analogous art Raghavan discloses wherein the wireless communication system comprises a plurality of base stations (See FIG. 2 and [0040]); wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting the measurement report to the base station being a first base station and a scheduling base station for the reporting device (See FIG. 10, and paragraphs [0106], [0096], [0158][0106] The receiver 810 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to methods for self-interference and cross-link interference measurements in mmW bands, etc.). Information may be passed on to other components of the device 805. The receiver 810 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 1020 described with reference to FIG. 10. The receiver 810 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas.); the wireless communication system being configured for identifying an interferer causing interference to the reporting device, the interferer being scheduled by a different second base station; wherein the first base station is to adapt a communications configuration for the reporting device to mitigate the interference (See paragraphs [0041], [0079] [0096]-[0097], and [0158].0079] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 200 that supports methods for self-interference and cross-link interference measurements in mmW bands in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, wireless communications system 200 may implement aspects of wireless communications system 100. In this example, wireless communications system 200 includes a first UE 115-a, a second UE 115-b, a first base station 105-a that may provide a serving cell for the first UE 115-a, and a second base station 105-b that may provide a serving cell for the second UE 115-b. While illustrated separately, in some cases the first base station 105-a and the second base station 105-b may be part of a same base station (e.g., radio heads or antenna panels of a gNB). The UEs 115 and base stations 105 may be examples of UEs 115 and base stations 105 as described with reference to FIG. 1.[0158] The inter-station communications manager 1445 may manage communications with other base station 105, and may include a controller or scheduler for controlling communications with UEs 115 in cooperation with other base stations 105. For example, the inter-station communications manager 1445 may coordinate scheduling for transmissions to UEs 115 for various interference mitigation techniques such as beamforming or joint transmission. In some examples, the inter-station communications manager 1445 may provide an X2 interface within an LTE/LTE-A wireless communication network technology to provide communication between base stations 105.); and/or wherein the first base station is configured for providing information to the second base station, wherein the second base station is configured for adapting a communications configuration of the interferer to mitigate the interference based on the information. wherein the reporting device is adapted to transmit, to the base station a suggestion for a future communications configuration, e.g., based on a listen before talk procedure or enhanced listen before talk procedure described herein. (See paragraph [0065], [0078]-[0080], [0110], [0116], [0158], [0174].[0078] In some cases, one or more UEs 115 may perform self-interference or cross-link interference measurements in accordance with techniques as described herein. In some cases, a UE 115 may receive configuration information from a base station 105 that indicates one or more SFI values that are compatible for cross-link interference or self-interference measurements. Based on the configured SFI(s), the UE 115 may measure interference in multiple symbols, which may be used to estimate an amount of cross-link interference or self-interference, and the UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the base station 105. In some cases, the UE 115 may indicate one or more SFIs that are compatible for communications based on the interference measurements. The base station 105, based on the measurement report, may identify one or more compatible SFIs for communications with one or more UEs 115, and perform subsequent communications using the identified compatible SFIs. In some cases, the interference measurements may identify cross-link interference at the UE 115 that results from transmissions of a different UE 115. In some cases, the interference measurements may identify self-interference of concurrent communications of multiple channels at a same UE 115.[0080] The first base station 105-a may use a downlink beam 205 to transmit downlink communications 210 to the first UE 115-a. Further, second UE 115-b may use an uplink beam 215 to transmit uplink communications 220 to the second base station 105-b.[0110] The measurement report manager 830 may transmit a measurement report to the base station that provides one or more of the first interference measurement, the second interference measurement, an indication of a set of compatible SFIs based on the first interference estimate and the second interference estimate, or any combinations thereof.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Doppler’s BS adapts configurations to mitigate and reporting interference measurements with Raghavan’s teaches cross-link interference between UE in different cells (e.g. UE1 served by BS1 interferences with UE2 served by BS2) UEs suggesting compatible SFIs/beams pairs to the BS based on interference measurements. This combination achieves comprehensive interference mitigation across cells, improving spectral efficiency and Qos.
With regarding claim 4, Doppler may not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless communication system is configured for determining, from the measurement result or the measurement report, a type of the interference and for comprising a type information indicating the type into the measurement report.
However, in analogous