DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to claims filed on 09/19/2025 and Claims 1-14 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2023, 05/22/2023, 08/02/2023, 09/19/2023, 05/27/2025, 07/01/2025, 08/202025, and 10/15/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pages 8-9, filed 09/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) over Doppler et al. (US 20080070510 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210321415 A1) and in further view of Guo et al. (US 20210410160 A1).Raghavan teaches a base station providing a communication configuration (e.g., SFI/slot format) for UE communications and interference measurements, where the UE measures interference and transmits a measurement report that the base station uses to select or adapt a subsequent configuration to mitigate interference(e.g., cross-link or self-interference)(See FIG. 17; [0037], [0094]-[0096], [0174]).Guo teaches using configured sets of reference-signal resources(e.g., CSI-RS/SSB and CSI-IM/NZP CSI-RS) to measure interference per the RS set (e.g., via Pi/SINR) and report the resulting interference metric, supplying the “set of reference signals” measurement (See [0005], [0034], [0063]-[0064].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Raghavan et al. (US 20210321415 A1) and in view of Guo et al. (US 20210410160 A1). With regarding Claim 1, Raghavan teaches a wireless communication system comprising: a base station adapted for scheduling, using a communication configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device;(See FIG. 2, and ¶[0033]-[0035], [0038], [0041]-[0042]. Disclosed a base station that configure a communication configuration to one or more UEs by providing a communication configuration that determines how symbols are used, and that a UE measures interference, sends a measurement report to the base station, and base station uses that report to select compatible ) wherein the reporting device is configured for performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with the communications configuration; (See FIG. 2, and ¶[0033]-[0035]. Disclosed that the UE operates according to the communications configuration(SFI) provided by the base station. The UE both measures interference and communicates based on the configured SFIs, demonstrating that the device performs communication in accordance with the communications configuration.) wherein the reporting device is configured for using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring, e.g., RSRP, RSSI or any other adopted signal metric, to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result; and wherein the wireless communication system is configured for using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference.(See ¶[0035]-[0036], [0078], [0125]. Disclosed the system using measurement reports and information about other devices to adapt communication configuration for interference mitigation.) Raghavan may not explicitly disclose wherein the reporting device is configured for using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring, e.g., RSRP, RSSI or any other adopted signal metric, to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result; However, in analogous art, Guo disclose wherein the reporting device is configured for using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring, e.g., RSRP, RSSI or any other adopted signal metric, to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See ¶[0005], [0036], [0061]. Disclosed that the terminal uses configured information identifying sets of reference-signal resources and performs interference measurement based on the second set, where the interference power is computed from measured power contributions of signals on the reference signal resources in that set.); wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result (See FIG. 1 ¶[0005], [0034]-[0036]. Disclosed that the UE or terminal produces a measurement result (e.g., SINR derived from channel and interference measurements) and that the UE transmits a measurement report to the base station based on those measurements.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan.Raghavan teaches while enabling the reporting UE to use configured information indicating sets of reference signals to measure interference and generate a report. Guo teaches the base station then uses that measurement report in the multi-UE context to select or adapt the communications configuration for devices to mitigate cross link or self-interference. This combination improved measurement granularity because the interference is quantified using the configured RS resource sets. With regarding claim 4, Raghavan discloses wherein the wireless communication system is configured for determining, from the measurement result or the measurement report, a type of the interference and for comprising a type information indicating the type into the measurement report ( See ¶ [0002], [0006], [0012],[0099], [0101], [0111]-[0112], [0120]-[0123]. Disclosed that the UE determines whether interference is cross-link or self-interference and transmits a measurement report that carries interference characterization information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Guo teaches the framework for measuring interference using reference signals. And Raghavan teaches determining and differentiating between types of interference based on measurement results and information about the type of interference in measurement reports. This combination ensure measuring interference using reference signals. With regarding Claim 5, Raghavan and Guo teaches the wireless communication system of claim 1. Raghavan teaches wherein the reporting device is adapted to evaluate the measurement results and for generating the measurement report to comprise an evaluation result ( See ¶[0135], [0095]-[0096]. Disclosed that the UE also collect raw measurements but evaluates them to determine compatible SFIs and includes this evolution in the measurement report.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan.Raghavan teaches while enabling the reporting UE to use configured information indicating sets of reference signals to measure interference and generate a report. Guo teaches that the device performs calculations on raw measurements to device SINR values and compatible SFIs to include in reports. This combination improved measurement granularity because the interference is quantified using the configured RS resource sets. With regarding Claim 7, Raghavan a device for operating in a wireless communication system, the device configured for: performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with a communications configuration acquired from a base station of the wireless communication system and scheduling communication of the device (See ¶[0009], [0037], [0087], [0092], [0135]. Disclosed UE receives config from BS and operates accordingly. Base station transmits the SFI configuration to the UE. This is the acquired from a base station.); using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See ¶[0005], [0034]. Disclosed a configured set of RS resources and uses that set to perform measurement (including interference measurement)); and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See ¶[0095]-[0097], [0174]. Disclosed UE performs interference measurements using configured measurement symbols.); and generating a measurement report based on the measurement result and reporting the measurement report to the wireless communication system. Raghavan may not explicitly disclose using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals. However, in analogous art, Guo disclose using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See ¶[0005], [0034]. Disclosed a configured set of RS resources and uses that set to perform measurement (including interference measurement)); and for determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See ¶[0036], [0063]-[0064]. Disclosed deriving an interference amount from measurement behavior (cross-link), and amount of interference tied to the set of reference signals/each RS resources). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan.Raghavan teaches providing the framework for SFIs and interference measurements in TDD systems, and Guo providing detailed teaching on reference signal resources for channel and interference measurements. This combination improve interference reporting suitable for multi-UE scheduling or configuration selection. The base station receives interference information that is both configuration-aligned and RS-resource-referenced and Guo sets enabling more reliable and granular interference mitigation decisions. With regarding claim 8, Raghavan and Guo disclose the device of claim 7. Raghavan disclosed wherein the device is configured for logging measurement results (See ¶[0096]-[0097] and [0122]-[0123]. Disclosed Measuring interference in wireless communication systems, generating measurement reports based on these measurements and reporting measurement results to base stations or other network entities.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan.Raghavan teaches interference measurements and reporting. And Guo teaches measurement and reporting. This combination achieves comprehensive interference logging with advanced SFI-based reporting. With regarding claim 9, Raghavan and Guo disclose the device of claim 7, Raghavan disclosed wherein the device is configured for determining (estimating), from the measurement result and combination of measurement results, a type of the interference and for comprising a type information indicating the type into the measurement report (See ¶[0012]-[0013], [0099], [0122], [0033], [0079], [0097], [0171]-[0172]. Disclosed that the UE can determine cross-link interference, self-interference, or combinations thereof, and report the determined interference, which is type information being included in or reportable by the measurement report.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Raghavan teaches transmitting a measurement report that provides the interference measurement or estimate and related indications derived from those estimates. That report content us tied to the interference characterization being performed. Guo providing detailed teaching on reference signal resources for channel and interference measurements. This combination ensure determining interreference from measurement results and including that type information in measurement reports. With regarding claim 11, Raghavan a base station configured for operating in a wireless communication system, the base station adapted for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device (See FIG. 14, 17, ¶[0087], [0092]-[0094], [0124]-[0125], [0166]-[0169]. Disclosed the UE is configured with an SFI that specifies when the UE uses downlink symbols and when it used uplink symbols for communications with the bastion.); wherein the base station is configured for receiving a report generated by the reporting device, the measurement report indicating an amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through a reference signal of a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See ¶[0096],[0136]. Disclosed base stations receiving measurement reports from UEs that indicate interference amounts.); and wherein the base station is configured for using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference(See ¶[0096]-[0097],[0158], [0164]. Disclosed base stations using measurement reports to adapt communications configurations for mitigating interference across multiple devices. It also teaches coordination between base stations for interference mitigation and using information about other devices to adapt reference signals used by other devices.). Raghavan may not explicitly disclose This combination ensure determining interreference from measurement results and including that type information in measurement reports. However, in analogous art, Guo disclose This combination ensure determining interreference from measurement results and including that type information in measurement reports (See ¶[0036]-[0076]. Disclosed how reference signals are used for interference measurement, providing the necessary context for how the base station uses information about reference signals used by other devices.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Raghavan teaches transmitting a measurement report that provides the interference measurement or estimate and related indications derived from those estimates. That report content us tied to the interference characterization being performed. Guo providing detailed teaching on reference signal resources for channel and interference measurements. This combination ensure determining interreference from measurement results and including that type information in measurement reports. With regarding claim 12, Raghavan a method for operating a wireless communication system, the method comprising: operating a base station for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device; operating the reporting device for performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with the communications configuration (See ¶[0087], [0092], [0124]. Disclosed a method for operating a base station to schedule communications for multiple UEs using SFI configurations, and teaches configuring different SFIs for different UEs and transmitting these configurations to the UEs with some UEs serving as reporting devices for interference measurements.); such that the reporting device reports, to the wireless communication system a measurement report being based on the measurement result (See ¶[0096], [0174]. Disclosed methods for UEs to format and transmit measurement reports containing interference measurements to the base station.); and such that the wireless communication system uses the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference. Raghavan may not explicitly disclose such that the reporting device uses information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system and determines an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; such that the wireless communication system uses the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference. However, in analogous art, Guo disclose such that the reporting device uses information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system and determines an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See ¶[0035], [0044], [0059]. Disclosed methods for devices using reference signal resources for interference measurement and determining interference amounts by calculating SINR values.); such that the wireless communication system uses the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference (See ¶[0036]. Disclosed how reference signal information is used for beam selection based on SINR measurements.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Raghavan teaches for base station operations, device scheduling, interference measurement, and configuration adaptation. Guo specifically enhances these teachings with detailed methods for reference signal usage and SINR-based interference reporting. This combination improved interference management in wireless communication systems using reference signal measurements and SFI-based scheduling techniques. With regarding claim 13, Raghavan a method for operating a device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: performing communication in the wireless communication system in accordance with a communications configuration acquired from a base station of the wireless communication system and scheduling communication of the device (See ¶[0094], [0168], [0037]. Disclosed a method where a UE receives configuration information SFI from a base station and performs communications according to that configuration. And its describes how the UE determines symbols for downlink communications and measurements based on the received SFI configuration.); using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; and determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; and generating a measurement report based on the measurement result and reporting the measurement report to the wireless communication system (See FIG. 17 and ¶[0094]-[0096], [0174], [0167].Disclosed methods for UEs to format measurement reports based on interference measurements and transmit these reports to the base station. And information is included in the reports and how they are transmitted.). Raghavan may not explicitly disclose using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system; and determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals; and However, in analogous art, Guo disclose using information indicating a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See ¶[0006], [0034]-[0036]. Disclosed a method where a terminal device uses information about sets of reference signals in a wireless communication system. And receiving configurations for reference signal resources and using different sets for different purposes.); and determining an amount of interference interfering with the communication in the wireless communication system for each of the set of reference signals by measuring to acquire a measurement result indicating the amount of interference perceived by the device through the reference signals of the set of reference signals (See ¶[0044], [0059], [0063]. Disclosed determining interference amounts by using reference signal resources for interference measurement and calculating SINR values. And how interference is measured using specific reference signal resources and how these measurements are used to calculate interference amounts); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Raghavan teaches for base station operations, device scheduling, interference measurement, and configuration adaptation. Guo specifically enhances these teachings with detailed methods for reference signal usage and SINR-based interference reporting. This combination improved interference management in wireless communication systems using reference signal measurements and SFI-based scheduling techniques. With regarding claim 14, Raghavan disclosed a method for operating a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station adapted for scheduling, using a communications configuration, communication of a plurality of devices, the plurality of devices comprising a reporting device, the method comprising (See FIG. 14 and ¶[0124], [0087], [0145]. Disclosed methods for operating a base station that schedules communications for multiple UEs using SFI configurations. And teaches a base station selecting different SFIs for different USs to enable interference measurements, with some UEs functioning as reporting devices.); receiving a report generated by the reporting device, the measurement report indicating an amount of interference perceived by the reporting device through a reference signal of a set of reference signals used in the wireless communication system (See ¶[0136], [0096]. Disclosed base stations receiving measurement reports from UEs containing interference measurements); and using the measurement report and information about other devices communicating in the wireless communication system and information about reference signals used by the other devices for adapting the communications configuration of at least one device of the plurality of devices for mitigating interference (See ¶[0097], [0158], [0136]. Disclosed methods for base stations to use measurement reports and information about other devices to adapt communications configurations for mitigating interference.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo to modify Raghavan. Raghavan teaches the foundational method teachings for base station operation, scheduling communications for multipole devices, receiving measurement reports, and adapting configurations based on those reports. Guo teaches methods for reference signal usage in interference measurement and reporting [0005], [0059], [0036], [0076]. This combination improved interference management in wireless communication systems.
Claims 2, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan and Guo et al. as applied to claims 1/11 above, and further in view of Doppler et al. (US 20080070510 A1).
With regarding of claim 2, Raghavan discloses wherein the wireless communication system comprises a plurality of base stations (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0040], [0079]. Disclosed plurality of base station); wherein the reporting device is configured for reporting the measurement report to the base station being a first base station and a scheduling base station for the reporting device (See FIG. 17, and ¶[0173], [0096], [0106], [0096], [0158], [0035], [0078], [0110]. Disclosed UE measures interference and transmits a measurement report to the base station, and the base station uses it to choose compatible SFIs for communications.) the wireless communication system being configured for identifying an interferer causing interference to the reporting device, the interferer being scheduled by a different second base station (See FIG. 2, and ¶[0082], [0125], [0079]-[0080]. Disclosed cross-link inference at a UE results from transmissions of a different UE, and that different UE being served by the other BS); wherein the first base station is to adapt a communications configuration for the reporting device to mitigate the interference (See FIG. 14, and ¶[0082], [0041], [0079] [0096]-[0097], [0158], [0172]-[0173]. Disclosed base station uses the report to identify compatible SFIs and performs subsequent communications using them(interference mitigation).); and/or Raghavan may not explicitly disclose wherein the first base station is configured for providing information to the second base station, wherein the second base station is configured for adapting a communications configuration of the interferer to mitigate the interference based on the information. wherein the reporting device is adapted to transmit, to the base station a suggestion for a future communications configuration, e.g., based on a listen before talk procedure or enhanced listen before talk procedure described herein. However, in analogous art, Doppler disclose wherein the first base station is configured for providing information to the second base station, wherein the second base station is configured for adapting a communications configuration of the interferer to mitigate the interference based on the information (See FIG. 9, and ¶[0081], [0091], [0100]. Disclosed the first base station adapting communications configuration to mitigate interference and forwarding of interference information between base stations for coordination of interference mitigation). wherein the reporting device is adapted to transmit, to the base station a suggestion for a future communications configuration, e.g., based on a listen before talk procedure or enhanced listen before talk procedure described herein (See FIG. 9, and ¶[0077], [0091]. Disclosed the reporting device suggesting future communications configurations based on LBT procedures.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Doppler to modify Raghavan.Raghavan teaches the inter-cell interference coordination mechanisms and Doppler teaches comprehensive interference management system capable of identifying and mitigating interference across cell boundaries. This combination would improve network performance. With regarding of claim 6, Raghavan and Guo discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, Raghavan and Guo may not explicitly disclose wherein the reporting device is adapted to generate the measurement report by condensing, compressing or summarizing a set of measurement results. However, in analogous art, Doppler disclose wherein the reporting device is adapted to generate the measurement report by condensing, compressing or summarizing a set of measurement results (See FIG. 14, and ¶[0103], [0052], [0101], [0106]-[0108], [0082]. Disclosed efficient structuring of reports, including combining multiple reports while maintain essential information through length indicators and addressing.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Doppler to modify Raghavan and Guo.Raghavan teaches the inter-cell interference coordination mechanisms and Doppler teaches conventional compression techniques to reduce interference reports, and provides context for efficient reporting through selective inclusion of relevant information and structured report formats. This combination ensure to reduce uplink signaling overhead and improve reporting efficiency. With regarding of claim 10, Raghavan and Guo discloses the device of claim 9, Raghavan disclosed wherein the device is configured for evaluating the type of interference based on the configured measurements and/or an angle-of-arrival estimation (See ¶[0033], [0099]. Disclosed evaluating interference types (self-interference vs. cross-link interference) based on configured measurements taken during different symbols). Raghavan and Guo may not explicitly disclose based on the configured measurements and/or an angle-of-arrival estimation (See ¶[0101], [0079], [0139]. Disclosed evaluating interference types based on beam identification, where devices can “distinguish between the beams” from interfering nodes and report “the disturbing beams” and beam-based interference identification satisfies the angle-of-arrival estimation aspect.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Doppler to modify Raghavan and Guo.Raghavan teaches evaluating inference types based on configured measurements taken during different symbols. Doppler teaches evaluating interference types based on beam identification, where device can distinguish between the beams. This beams identification is functionally equivalent to angle-of -arrival estimation since different beams correspond to different spatial directions. This combination ensure to reduce uplink signaling overhead and improve reporting efficiency.
10. Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan and Guo et al. as applied to claims 1/11 above, and further in view of Safavi et al (US 20110021153 A1).
With regarding claim 3, Raghavan and Guo the wireless communication system of claim 1, Guo teaches wherein the wireless communication system is adapted for using information about interferes and the interference they cause in the wireless communication system based on reports received from reporting devices to determine the communications configuration to acquire an overall mitigated interference for scheduled devices based on an optimization criterion (FIG. 3 and ¶[0016], [0075]-[0077]-[0089]. Disclosed the system uses interference information to determine an optimal communications configuration that mitigates interference across the network through cross-layer approaches.)Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Safavi to modify Raghavan and Guo.Raghavan and Guo teaches measurement report based on the downlink and cross-link or self-interference measurements and Guo teaches the base station then uses that measurement report in the multi-UE context to select or adapt the communications configuration for devices to mitigate cross link or self-interference. Safavi teaches mathematical formulations for optimal resource allocation policies that explicitly address system-wide interference optimization. This combination ensure overall mitigated interference for scheduled devices.
Conclusion
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468