DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the filed PCT/EP2021/071806 on 08/04/2021 Foreign application Filed: EP 20189688.3 08/05/2020, EP 21151672.9 01/14/2021, and EP 21172908.2 05/07/2021.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-26 remain pending
in the application. Claims 2, 16, 25 and 26 were amended.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
02/06/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 16 depend on dependent Claim 2, and Claim 2 depends on Claim 1, a device claim. Claim 1 subject matter includes measurement, and report in a wireless communication network includes radio link parameters measurement and reporting as supported by specification and drawings as part of wireless communication network. Claim 2, 3 and Claim 16 recites measuring and determining non-radio link parameters. And, Claim 16 recites:
‘The device of claim 1 being configured for measuring or determining the non-radio link parameter and sensor information generated by a sensor unit, sensor information comprising at least one of:
an acoustic parameter,
a vibration parameter,
a seismic parameter,
a chemical parameter;
an electric parameter,
an electromagnetic parameter,
a dielectric parameter,
a radio parameter,
a radar parameter,
an environmental parameter,
a flow related parameter;
an ionizing radiation parameter,
a parameter related to subatomic particles;
a location-related parameter;
an optical parameter,
an imaging parameter,
a lidar parameter,
a photon parameter,
a pressure parameter;
a force parameter,
a density parameter,
a level parameter;
a thermal parameter;
a proximity parameter;
information indicating a potential, a suspected or a known aggressor in view of the wireless communication.’
Claim contains subject matter to measure or determine the non-radio link parameters within wireless communication network. Parameters doesn’t support the specification how these are measured or determined by the sensors. As this is a device claim, there are no specific module, component or disclosed any method or process that supports the specifications and drawings or any disclosures. Applicant’s remarks mentioned that, PGPUB, [0057], [0062] and [0219-0220] in the specification merely includes sensors information yet didn’t enable one in the skill art how these are measured or determined by sensors more specifically as non-radio link parameters and applicant also provide clarity in remarks that how that is determined or measured. Above paragraph provides only the sensor for location and MDT for link measurements. These position/location and MDT-link measurement is part of radio link parameters. Yet the Claim 16[Wingdings font/0xE0] Claim 3[Wingdings font/0xE0]Claim 2 acquire/determine measurement. Non-radio link parameters list of 25 parameters of the non-radio link parameters. Examiner respectfully request to provide specific details how the “measuring or determining” is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim 2, 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These claims uses a term non-radio link parameters that includes 25 parameters of wide variety technical fields: sound/seismic/vibration, pressure/flow, thermal, chemical/ionized, radiation, electric/EM/radio/dielectric, imaging, lidar, optical, location/proximity as listed in Claim 16. These require specific sensor/module to obtain/determine measurements. Parameters relates to radio/EM, electric, dielectric and location/proximity sensor are often used in the radio link and in wireless technology. Though claim 16 includes the claim limitation “at least” yet the lists are 25 that includes wide variety of technical field parameters and as applicant claim this as their invention therefore need to precisely use the term “non-radio link parameters” to obtain/determine measurement to support the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-18, 20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US-9253671-B2), hereinafter “Jung” in view of Badic et al. (US-11336319-B2) hereinafter “Badic”.
Regarding Claim 1,
‘A device configured for operating in a bidirectional wireless communication network in a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs passive communication during a second, different time interval’;
Regarding above claim element Jung discloses,
‘A device configured for operating in a wireless communication network in a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs communication during a second, different time interval’
Fig. 1 illustrates wireless communication network, a BS and a wireless device or a terminal device; Disclosure includes device in operating mode as connected Col. 1 [0053]; Includes, the device handover or switches between access network [0008] while active connected to one eNB and then switches to another by RRC connection reestablishment/reconfiguration and measurement Col. 10 [0019] and Fig. 6. Active in current cell in a specific time and passive to another cell after an interval. Perform cell selection and reselection procedure Col. 8 [0029]. The time interval discloses transmission time interval (TTI) in OFDM symbols in time domain Col. 7 [0030]. When in active connected in serving cell have time stamp and neighbor cell Col. 10 Table-2. Fig. 7 illustrates connection reconfiguration and reestablishment procedures in time duration T1 active and T2 passive. In Fig. 14 when the UE enters the RRC_connected before the time expires, the UE report logged-measurement to entity of eNB, Col. 20 [0008-0010]. And also discloses the active and the passive.
And didn’t specify bidirectional wireless communication,
And, Badic in the relevant art of endeavor discloses, bidirectional communication between a BS and a terminal to perform beamforming and further switches between access networks Col. 14 [0048] and Col. 15 [0060].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung and do modification with that of Badic to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure of Jung includes wireless communication between BS and terminal in operating mode connected to current BS and inactive to switch between cells. Both BS nodes and terminal device can have bidirectional communication when switch between cells as part of measurement at least RSRP/RSRQ. yet didn’t disclose. And, someone would recognize disclosure to modify bidirectional wireless communication. Jung motive to maximize the performance improve service quality and perform MDT to provide reliable network and communication.
Motivation of this effort would improve quality of communication through beamforming and beam sweeping identify improve communications with throughput and data rate specially when there would be interference.
Claim subject matter measurement and report in wireless communication to identify/determine radio link parameter in operating mode active and passive. Disclosure of Jung, identify/determine radio link parameter and conditions to switch between access networks and cells. As part of improving communication, device need to identify interference when in passive or inactive through beamforming sweeping and steering bidirectionally adaptive beamforming. Further, includes proximity object sensors built in to devices to identify intervening objects sometime attenuates from blocking objects as disclosed by Badic. Somone would recognize this features of preset technology in 5G NR beamforming system with operating band EHF e.g., mmWave, Badic Col. 12 [0037]. This can significantly improve link quality and high data rate in communication.
Jung ‘wherein, in the first operating mode, the device is configured for acquiring a set of measurement results comprising a plurality of s by measuring or determining a radio link parameter associated with an operation of the wireless communication network’ (As disclosed above as part of cell selection and reselection procedure determine identify radio link conditions includes RRM, RLM and CSI Col. 23 [0009], and further, RSRP, and RSRQ in the measurement results of serving cell Col. 19 Table-2. In Fig. 18 includes immediate MDT based on RRM and perform measurement/evaluation in RRC connected state and report results immediately after performed measurement; also based on the measurement configuration Col. 20 [0033-0035, 0058-0060]. An execution of an immediate MDT and perform measurement then report that includes measurement configuration and also the measurement object Clo. 29. [0053-0054] and in Fig. 22.
To provide more clarity and specific disclosures regarding the measurement result acquired by measuring or determining the radio link parameters.
Disclosure include measurement configuration that makes the UE determine to report based on measurement object configuration. Uses specific quantity configuration, object list and parameters in Fig. 11 to Fig. 13. To perform measurement procedures, the UE has a measurement object list, report configuration. Table 1 includes certain threshold as report conditions. And, Table 2 include parameter set and specific details what to be included in the measurement results);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating a measurement report comprising a set of results comprising at least one measurement result of the set of measurement results and for transmitting the measurement report to an entity of the wireless communication network.’ (FIG. 10 is a flowchart illustrating an existing method of performing measurement. Includes measurement configuration, perform measurement and report measurement results Col. 14 [0058-0062]. The UE logs measurement results one or more times within a given time period. Detail measurement configuration and procedure performed in phases that includes measurement results and reporting shown in Fig. 18. And, report based on report configuration Fig. 11 to 13. As an example, a radio environment measured by the UE include the set of measurement results of parameters signal quality, RSRP, RSRQ etc. are shown in Table 2. In Fig. 18 there are two measurement/evaluations and two measurement report. Disclosure includes ranking criteria to prioritize between the serving and the neighboring cell to evaluate the cell reselection Col. 13 [0025-0030]. And in Fig. 11 to 13 includes measurement configuration includes object list and report configuration list. Includes validity timer to indicate the validity of the measurement results Col. 17 [0060-0061]. )
Regarding Claim 2,
‘device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Regarding, ‘wherein the device is configured for acquiring the set of measurement results by measuring or determining at least one non-radio link parameter associated with the operation of the wireless communication network and for generating the measurement report so as to comprise information indicating the non-radio link parameter.’
Though Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for acquiring the set of measurement results’ by ‘generating the measurement report so as to comprise information indicating’ the radio link parameter (disclosed above in Claim 1, generate report Fig. 10 based on measurement configuration includes: report conditions, report parameter set, measure quantity and measurement results),
and didn’t disclose, ‘by measuring or determining at least one non-radio link parameter associated with the operation of the wireless communication network’
Badic in the relevant art discloses, to perform measurements as part of cell selection/reselection Col. 9 [0050]. In Fig. 5 illustrates a terminal and a BS uses detectors/sensors. That includes infrared sensors, a capacitive sensors, resistive, optical piezoelectric, radar etc. And, radar mmWave proximity sensors uses doppler effect Col. 15 [0022-0024, 0032]. Fig. 21, 24 and 35 includes device transceiver processor/controller includes sensor, detector, estimator and determiner that perform non-radio link parameter measurement. A BF controller in Fig. 3, identify the location, angle and perform adaptive beamforming Col. 11 [0005-0006]. In Fig. 33 to Fig. 36 illustrates procedures of measuring and determining non-radio link parameters to identify objects that uses sensors to perform beamsweeping by object sensors to reduce beam sweeping time. Reflectivity, capacitive, resistive objects, mmWave sensors and infrared sensors can take measure. Fig. 33 and 34 includes beam both Antenna and sensor of a device and perform measurement further illustrated in Fig. 37 to Fig. 40.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung and do modification with that of Badic to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure of Jung includes radio link parameters and types of interferences includes inter/intra, non-member UE, macro cell, and closed proximity-CSG. Someone would recognize and motivated to perform mitigation strategy as disclosed by Badic to address interference RRM/RLM/CSI, includes enhance measurement device/detectors uses sensors, passive infrared sensors and detectors. This would significantly provide more reliable communication to users with bandwidth, data rate and throughput.
Regarding Claim 3,
‘device of claim 2’ (discloses above),
Regarding claim element, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report so as to comprise the information indicating the non-radio link parameter and so as to not comprise the radio link parameter.’
Jung though discloses ‘wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report so as to comprise the information indicating’ radio link parameter and didn’t disclose, ‘the non-radio link parameter and so as to not comprise the radio link parameter.’
And, Badic in the relevant art discloses,
In Fig. 36 includes procedure sense intervene/block objects around a device sensor, classify the type of objects that assist further beam sweeping. Fig. 33 illustrates antenna and sensor perform measurement. Sensor performs non-radio link measurement and shown as a component/module of terminal device along with transceiver, transmitter/receiver RF module and processor/controller.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung and do modification with that of Badic to come up with the claim invention,
Motivation would be identical as disclosed in Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The device of claim 3’,
Regarding Claim element, ‘wherein the device is configured for not measuring or determining the radio link parameter when generating the measurement report so as to not comprise the radio link parameter.’ (In Fig. 18 illustrates the measurement/ evaluation as part of a measurement phase and report results in a reporting phase. The determination and measurement procedures distinct from reporting.)
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for measuring or determining a plurality of parameters comprising the radio link parameter so as to acquire a plurality of measurement results’ (In Fig. 10, 14 and 18 illustrates acquire measurement configuration, report and results. Parameters include RSRP/RSRQ table-2, CQI, RLF/RLM and include MDT Col. 24 [0019-0022]; );
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report by selecting for the set of measurement results a subset of the plurality of measurement results’ (Fig. 18 illustrates the measurement report based on the measurement configuration and acquire results);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for selecting the subset based on a selection signal received, the selection signal indicating the parameters that are requested to be measured and/or reported by the device.’ (Fig. 8 illustrates RRC_connection reestablishment and Fig. 10, configuration measurement and report. In Fig. 18 there are two measurement/evaluations and two measurement report. Disclosure includes ranking criteria to prioritize between the serving and the neighboring cell to evaluate the cell reselection Col. 13 [0025-0030]. And measurement includes object list and report list to identify the best-ranked cell, Col. 12 [0067]. )
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘being configured for acquiring a plurality of measurement results, wherein the radio link parameter(16) associated with the operation of the wireless communication network’ (Fig. 10 measurement configuration and measurement results);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating a log so as to comprise information derived from the plurality of measurement results and time information associated with the plurality of measurement results’ (FIG. 14 is a flowchart illustrating a method of performing a logged MDT associated with timer. Device initiates a validity timer and perform measurement. Logging measurement as illustrated in phases includes configuration, logging phase, reporting and post reporting phase; );
And, discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating a measurement report from the log and for transmitting the measurement report to at least one entity of the wireless communication network’ (in Fig. 14 when the UE enters the RRC_connected before the time expires, the UE report logged-measurement to entity of eNB, Col. 20 [0008-0010]);
Discloses, ‘wherein the radio link parameter is associated with a link operated by the device and/or wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report so as to comprise information about at least one instance of the measurement result being acquired prior to a link degrading event causing degrading of the wireless link and for transmitting the measurement report to the entity of the wireless communication network after the link degrading event.’ (Fig. 18 and Fig.22 illustrates generates report and an instance link issues/failure. Perform measurement and report link issues to eNB/network detected while switches between cells and Col. 25 [0059], Col. 26 [0008]; Fig. 7 illustrates phases of detecting link failure momentary or temporary instance at T1 and perform mitigation and recovery in second phase in T2 reconfiguration and reestablishment in Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 shown measurement results. And, the event based report conditions to identify the link measurement on a threshold provided in Table 1.)
Regarding Claim 7,
Identical to first claim element of Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A device configured for operating in a bidirectional wireless communication network in at least a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode’;
Identical to second claim element of Claim 1 disclosed above and only inclusion transmitting/receiving, ‘wherein, in the first operating mode, the device is configured for transmitting and/or receiving wireless signals and for acquiring a plurality of measurement results, acquiring a measurement result comprising measuring or determining a radio link parameter associated with an operation of the wireless communication network’ (Device with transceiver RF can perform transmitting/receiving);
Identical to second claim element of Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating a log so as to comprise information derived from the plurality measurement results and time information associated with the plurality of measurement results; wherein the device is configured for generating a measurement report from the log and for transmitting the measurement report to at least one entity of the wireless communication network’;
Identical to fourth claim element of Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein the radio link parameter is associated with a link operated by the device’;
Identical to third claim element of Claim 1 and fourth claim element of Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘and/or wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report so as to comprise information about at least one instance of the measurement result being acquired prior to a link degrading event causing degrading of the wireless link and for transmitting the measurement report to the entity of the wireless communication network after the link degrading event.’
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The device of claim 7’ (disclosed above),
‘wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report so as to comprise information about at least one instance of the measurement result being acquired prior to a link degrading event causing degrading of the wireless link and for transmitting the measurement report to the entity of the wireless communication network after the link degrading event;
Jung discloses, ‘and wherein the link degrading event is an event causing a wireless link failure.’ (link failure issues identified, Col. 25 [0059], Col. 26 [0008]. Further, Fig. 7 illustrates phases of detecting link failure momentary or temporary instance at T1 and perform mitigation and recovery in second phase in T2 reconfiguration and reestablishment in Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 shown measurement results)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating a log so as to comprise information derived from the plurality of measurement results and for reporting the log only in case a predefined triggering event occurs that comprises a link degradation.’ (predefined event triggers includes threshold serving cell or neighbor cell and access network Table-1 Col. 15. Radio link measurement, condition RLM and determination of RLF Col. 10 [0027, 0036].)
A temporal interval in which UE logs a measurement result one or more times is called a logging phase. Fig. 14 includes the measurement configuration and a comprehensive procedure to perform the measurement in phases: logging phase and reporting phase. The measurement configuration include: measurement object and report configuration Col. 14 [0063]. The report configuration based on report condition an event or period even an interval to report the measurement results Col. 15 [0015, 0033].
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The device of one of claims 7‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for receiving information indicating a measurement result from another device and for generating the log so as to comprise the received measurement result.’ (Fig. 10, 11 and 14 illustrates measurement configuration and measurement result from another device as eNB. Fig. 14 measurement phase, log phase and then report phase to send measurement results).
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The device of one of claims 7‘ (disclosed above),
Identical to first claim element of Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘wherein the device is configured for operating in the wireless communication network in the first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs passive communication during a second, different time interval’;
Identical to second claim element of Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘wherein, in the first operating mode, the device is configured for acquiring a set of measurement results comprising at least one measurement result by measuring or determining the radio link parameter; wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report comprising a set of results comprising at least one measurement result of the set of measurement results.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for generating the measurement report based on an report instruction signal received with the device, the report instruction signal comprising information indicating a request to generate the measurement report.’ (Disclosure includes measurement configuration and report configuration Fig. 11 to 13. During an event triggered by a measurement report and includes report conditions Col. 15 [0045]; Table-2 includes timestamp, location, time reference, cell identification, cell signal quality information and Fig. 14 report requested from the BS and then report generated from the terminal.)
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for logging measurement results, wherein the device is configured for receiving a logging instruction signal and for logging the measurement results based on the logging instruction signal.’ (Claim 12 and further Fig. 14, 18 and Fig. 22. During measurement object list created, identity list and report configuration as shown Fig. 11 to 13. Fig. 14 includes log measurement configuration log interval, log duration and validity timer Col. 17 [0048, 0060].)
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for at least one of: generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter’ (Fig. 14 illustrates report instances an indicator and request for logged measurement and logged measurement report request received. The UE performs RRM measurements includes RSRP, RSRQ, CQI for serving/neighbor cell and RLM for the serving cell Col. 24 [0019-0025]);
And discloses, ‘generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter;’ (generated log of measurement report as shown Fig. 14 step 1434.)
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for including validity information into the measurement report, the validity information indicating a validity of the measurement’ (validity information of logged measurement includes validity timer to identify specific measurement duration as shown Fig. 14; validity of measurement and logged maintained by validity timer. When a new logged measurement configuration provided to terminal and existing log updated Col. 17 [0056-0058]);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the validity information indicates at least one of: a resolution or accuracy of the measurement (when a link failure/issue occur, mitigation and recovery process as illustrated in Fig. 7. And, in Fig. 18 includes measurement evaluation procedure);
Jung discloses, ‘a distance to the source of the parameter to be measured’ (Table-2 includes location and time information Col. 19 [0035-0037]. Fig. 15 includes log MDT includes cell list and location information );
Jung discloses, ‘a certificate indicating a trustworthiness of the device.’ (A security mode and a security algorithm used and device SSID Col. 28 [0052, 0058]; Further includes information logged at different logging time points can be classified and stored according to different log entries.)
And didn’t disclose, ‘a hardware used for the measurement;
Badic discloses, sensors, detectors, infrared sensors, Radar controller, Fig. 8 and 18.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung and do modification with that of Badic to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure of Jung includes measurement, log and report procedures. Provide significance of radio link parameters and interference. Further, includes measurement configuration in phases measurement, recovery, reconfiguration as part of mitigation strategy. Perform event based measurement and content classification. To measure both radio link and non-radio link parameters would need additional processing capabilities with sensors/detector that can make measurement, log and report procedure more efficient. This would significantly increase communication coverage and throughput.
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The device of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Badic discloses, ‘being configured for measuring or determining the non-radio link parameter and sensor information generated by a sensor unit, the sensor information comprising at least one of:
an acoustic parameter,
a vibration parameter,
a seismic parameter,
a chemical parameter;
an electric parameter,
an electromagnetic parameter,
a dielectric parameter,
a radio parameter,
a radar parameter,
an environmental parameter,
a flow related parameter;
an ionizing radiation parameter,
a parameter related to subatomic particles;
a location-related parameter;
an optical parameter,
an imaging parameter,
a lidar parameter,
a photon parameter,
a pressure parameter;
a force parameter,
a density parameter,
a level parameter;
a thermal parameter;
a proximity parameter;
information indicating a potential, a suspected or a known aggressor in view of the wireless communication.’
Badic discloses, regarding the determine or measure non-radio link parameters that is sensor information more specifically cause radio link quality and to improve the radio link or coverage. How the determination or measurement are performed by sensors? The detectors/sensors configured to detect an intervening object that cause interference. Based on the proximity and type of the object, specific sensors activated and measure. Disclosure includes type of sensors detection/determination and measure based on parameters electric, electromagnetic, radio, radar, optical. Type of sensors proximity, mmWave radar, infrared light, piezoelectric, optical, capacitive sensors Col. 15 [0017, 0020-0023]. Fig. 24 illustrates a RF transceiver includes controller module associated with sensor.
Disclosure, measure the non-radio link parameters by sensor/detector/Radar as part of proximity/intervening and blocking objects. And, includes: electric, dielectric, EM wave, radio, Radar/sonar/lidar, proximity, radiation, heat Col. 48 [0020-0022], [0043]; RF density Col. 22 [0040], capacitive/resistive sensors reflectivity uses doppler effect, image recognition, infrared sensor light, EHF mmWave Radar sensors, an optical sensor, a piezoelectric sensor Col. 15 [0021-0023].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung and do modification with that of Badic to come up with the claim invention. And, motivation to include non-radio link parameter identical to claim 2 disclosed above.
Jung provide most important motive for the claim subject matter of measurement configuration and transmits new measurement configuration when necessary includes measurement object associated to the configuration. That can be complemented by the uses of sensors/detectors to identify reflective sensitivity of proximity/blocking objects includes parameters dielectric/EM, radiation, RF density as part of measurement configurations, disclosed by Badic. That can improve link performance and increase throughput.
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for protecting a content of the measurement report.’ (Disclosure includes content privacy for MDT logged and Information logged at different logging time points can be classified and stored according to different log entries. Contents limits to specific cell identity parameter Col. 19 [0035-0037] and Table-2. Further, a security mode and a security algorithm used in a WLAN, Col. 3 [0061] and disclosure Claim 12).
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The device of claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for transmitting the measurement report after a link degradation automatically.’ (identical to claim 6 disclosed above. Fig. 7 includes perform normal operating mode and radio link monitor when issues detected perform recovery procedure. Event based report based reporting condition uses specific threshold).
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The device according to claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for transmitting the measurement report based on a respective request and for evaluating the request for a priority information’ (measurement report and request Fig. 14. And Fig. 18 includes measurement evaluation. Disclosure includes ranking criteria to assign priority of a cell for the measurement and report, Col. 13 [0025].);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for transmitting the measurement report when the priority information indicates a priority of at least a predefined priority level and for not transmitting the measurement report when the priority information indicates a priority of less than the predefined priority level.’ (report event triggered based predefined as shown in Table-1. Report configuration includes both event and periodically. Table 2 shows time stamp and validity timer report generated and sent. Disclosure includes: immediate MDT and logged MDT. Fig. 18 illustrates measurement, evaluation results and report procedure. Disclosure provide a difference between the immediate and the logged MDT where UE reports measurement results immediately at priority after perform measurement and evaluation Col. 20 [0057-0062].)
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The device according to claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘being configured for measuring or determining at least one parameter during a time interval with a first accuracy and for measuring or determining the parameter during a second time interval with a second, higher accuracy.’ (Table-2 time stamp time of logging and time interval in Fig. 7 and Fig. 14. To perform the accuracy Fig. 18 includes measurement evaluation to achieve higher accuracy. Table 2 includes time stamp as a parameter set and time of log measurement results that is calculated current time-reference. And, optimization of network and the cell coverage reduces time and cost by an efficient MDT procedures.)
Regarding Claim 23,
‘The device of claim 22‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured to start the second time interval upon request or by determining a relevant event associated with the wireless communication network.’ (Identical to disclosed claim 22 and table-2, Fig. 14. Table 1 includes report conditions and event. And, report configuration includes an event or period measurement is triggered Col. 15 [0015].)
Regarding Claim 24,
Jung discloses ‘A wireless communication network comprising: at least a first device according to claim 1; and at least a second device being a device according to claim 1’ (Jung discloses Fig. 1 and Fig. 23);
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the network is configured to perform a root cause analysis using the measurement report to analyze a cause for a link degrading event and/or to reconfigure the network to avoid or at least partly compensate for a link degrading event.’ (Predefined threshold to determine link issues and failure. Event triggered measurement report Table-1 based on threshold; includes RSRP/RSRQ, serving/neighboring cell and access network includes time and location; Uses Operation, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) to identify issues in coverage and network Col. 17 [0017, 0020]; To maintain quality of link determine coverage and radio link issues, cell selection/ reselection and recovery illustrated Fig. 7. And Fig. 9 shows connection reestablishment and Fig. 10 measurement results as expected after recovery/mitigation strategy. Perform RLM, CSI and resource management RRM Col. 23 [0009-0011]. And, in Fig. 7 illustrates detect RLF[Wingdings font/0xE0] recovery at T1 [Wingdings font/0xE0] recovery at T2 until time expires. Alternative perform RRC re-establishment procedure as part of mitigation.)
Regarding Claim 25,
Identical to Claim 1 method claim and disclosed above, ‘A method for operating a device in a bidirectional wireless communication network in a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs passive communication during a second, different time interval, the method comprising: operating the device in the first operating mode and acquiring, using the device, a set of measurement results comprising a plurality of
Regarding Claim 26,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above and inclusion non-transitory medium, ‘A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a device in a bidirectional wireless communication network in a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs passive communication during a second, different time interval, the method comprising: operating the device in the first operating mode and acquiring, using the device, a set of measurement results comprising a plurality of of measurement results and transmitting the measurement report to an entity of the wireless communication network, when said computer program is run by a computer.’
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. in view of Badic et al. and further in view of Simsek et al. (US-20210058989-A1) hereinafter “Simsek”.
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The device according to claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Jung discloses, ‘wherein the device is configured for including, to the measurement report an information indicating’ the cell in ‘the measurement report is requested to be forwarded’.
Disclosure, Table-2 includes list of cell or cell information either serving or neighboring cells and include WLAN or different types of network. Uses Operations, Administration and Maintenance (OAM) configuration, inter cell coordination and reduce interference frequency domain resource and resource management into consideration. Table-1 shows an offset or threshold used for cell and access network when event triggered,
And didn’t disclose, ‘a number of hops’ to be forwarded ‘maximum’;
Simsek in the relevant discloses, detect and measure cells corresponding to a plurality of IAB nodes and calculate/measure maximum number of hops. Includes measurement of cell RSRP. Disclosure claim 1 to 4 and Fig. 10 to 12.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung, Badic and do modification with that of Simsek to come up with the claim invention.
Disclosure Jung includes link information or link parameters RLM/RLF for MDT and measurement results/report to perform cell HO/switch procedure. Includes CU/UP in Fig.3 And, didn’t include relay or intermediate nodes. Someone would make an effort to identify backhaul link connected by multiple hops and need to measure hops between a source and a destination node. This would reduce delay and latency as number of links would increase the latency therefore need efficient routing and hop selection would increase the performance of end-to-end transmission and throughput, disclosure Simsek [0147-0151].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Jung et al., in view of Badic et al. and further in view of Hwang et al. (US-11579606-B2) hereinafter “Hwang”.
Regarding Claim 21,
‘The device according to claim 1‘ (disclosed above),
Huwang discloses, ‘being at least a component of an apparatus implemented for flying.’ (In Fig. 10 measurement configuration and report for the UAV/aerial-terminal between the terminal and the BS [0347] includes measurement object and reporting [0348-0349]. )
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jung, Badic and do modification with that of Hwang to come up with the claim invention.
Jung motive to perform measurement based on measurement configuration includes object and reporting. This is complemented by Hwang used for UAV/drone to perform measurement and reporting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Applicant Arguments and Examiners response,
Regarding the non-radio link parameters in Claim 2, 3 and 16, examiner provided details in the OA page 2-6 above. Examiner respectfully presents the rationale regarding non-radio link parameters that are not specific when considered obtain measurement and the determination.
Regarding the Claim 1 and Claim 7 obtain measurements and send report in first time interval, Jung discloses, when the UE enters the RRC connected state (S1451) before the timer expires, the UE may report logged measurement and in Fig. 14. Therefore, generates report the measurement logged before timer expires. Disclosure includes measurement configuration associated object list and report configuration list to perform the measurement and reporting.
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and
provided required corrections in the office actions with disclosures from the closest prior
art that covers the subject matters. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s
argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Jung”, “Badic” and “Hildmann”.
Conclusion
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466