DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 23 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
--In claim 1, insert a semicolon between the last two limitations.
--In claims 1 and 31, Examiner suggests reordering the performing and selecting limitations as the performing relies on the final configuration information of the selecting limitation.
--In claims 8 and 23, replace “startum” with “stratum”.
--At the end of claim 34, please add the period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 27, 30-31, 33-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0156583), hereinafter referred to as Murray.
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a user device, from a network device, one or more sets of configuration information for a cell selection or a cell reselection and association information indicating one or more network slices or network slice groups associated with the one or more sets of configuration information (receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]);
performing, by the user device, the cell selection or the cell reselection based on a final configuration information (interpreted as the information associated with the cell that supports the desired network slice) that is one of the one or more sets of configuration information (performing, by a first apparatus, the following: cell selection; cell reselection; See [0388]), and
selecting, by the user device, the final configuration information (interpreted as the information associated with the cell that supports the desired network slice) among the one or more sets of configuration information (the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAI.sub.x, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAI.sub.x.; See [0229]).
Regarding claim 3, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the final configuration information is selected based on an implementation of the user device, or wherein the final configuration information is a default configuration information or a configuration information set associated with a default network slice (the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAI.sub.x, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAI.sub.x.; See [0229]) or a default network slice group, or wherein the default configuration information, the default network slice or the default network slice group are defined in a specification or configured by the network device and received by the user device via a SIB1 (system information block 1) message, a system information message, a dedicated RRC (radio resource control) message, or a NAS (non-access stratum) message.
Regarding claim 6, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sets of configuration information includes at least one of i) cell reselection priorities, each reselection priority related to at least one of a frequency or a cell, or ii) an identification (ID) of a network slice or a network slice group that is supported by the network device (wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]).
Regarding claim 8, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sets of configuration information are included in a first radio resource control (RRC) message or a first NAS (non-access startum) message and the association information is included in a second RRC message or a second NAS message, the first RRC message and the second RRC message being a system information message or a dedicated RRC message, or wherein the one or more sets of configuration information and the association information are included in a same RRC message, a same system information message, or a same NAS message (The network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access-stratum signaling message; See [0388]).
Regarding claim 11, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the user device, an indication whether the one or more sets of configuration information are available for use in the user device (UE configuration update command indicates that the second tracking area or the second radio access network notification area supports a different set of radio access network (RAN) slices than the first tracking area; See [0387]).
Regarding claim 13, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the association information is received with at least one of i) a configuration information index identifying a corresponding set of configuration information and one or more S-NSSAI(Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) identifying one or more network slices or network slice groups (wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]), ii) a slice index identifying a corresponding network slice or network slice group and the one or more sets of configuration information for the cell selection and the cell reselection, or iii) a list of network slice or network slice group supported by the network device, each network slice or network slice group in the list assigned with an identification.
Regarding claim 27, Murray further teaches the wireless communication method of claim 8, wherein the association information is received with at least one of i) a configuration information index identifying a corresponding set of configuration information and one or more S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) identifying one or more network slices or network slice groups (wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]), ii) a slice index identifying a corresponding network slice or network slice group and the one or more sets of configuration information for the cell selection and the cell reselection, or iii) a list of network slice or network slice group supported by the network device, each network slice or network slice group in the list assigned with an identification.
Regarding claim 30, Murray further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 8, further comprising:
transmitting, by the network device, an indication whether the one or more sets of configuration information are available for use in the user device (UE configuration update command indicates that the second tracking area or the second radio access network notification area supports a different set of radio access network (RAN) slices than the first tracking area; See [0387]).
Regarding claim 31, Murray discloses a communication apparatus (See Fig. 14F, #102) comprising a processor (See Fig. 14F, #1118) configured to implement a method comprising:
receiving, by a user device, from a network device, one or more sets of configuration information for a cell selection or a cell reselection and association information indicating one or more network slices or network slice groups associated with the one or more sets of configuration information (receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]);
performing, by the user device, the cell selection or the cell reselection based on a final configuration information (interpreted as the information associated with the cell that supports the desired network slice) that is one of the one or more sets of configuration information (performing, by a first apparatus, the following: cell selection; cell reselection; See [0388]); and
selecting, by the user device, the final configuration information (interpreted as the information associated with the cell that supports the desired network slice) among the one or more sets of configuration information (the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAI.sub.x, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAI.sub.x.; See [0229]).
Regarding claim 33, Murray further discloses the communication apparatus of claim 31, wherein the final configuration information is selected based on an implementation of the user device, or wherein the final configuration information is a default configuration information or a configuration information set associated with a default network slice (the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAI.sub.x, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAI.sub.x.; See [0229]) or default network slice group.
Regarding claim 34, Murray further discloses the communication apparatus of claim 31, the one or more sets of configuration information includes at least one of i) cell reselection priorities, each reselection priority related to at least one of a frequency or a cell, or ii) an identification (ID) of a network slice or a network slice group that is supported by the network device (wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]).
Regarding claim 36, Murray further discloses the communication apparatus of claim 31, wherein the association information is received with at least one of i) a configuration information index identifying a corresponding set of configuration information and one or more S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) identifying one or more network slices or network slice groups (wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); See [0388]), ii) a slice index identifying a corresponding network slice or network slice group and the one or more sets of configuration information for the cell selection and the cell reselection, or iii) a list of network slice or network slice group supported by the network device, each network slice or network slice group in the list assigned with an identification.
Claims 16, 19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bouazizi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0105308), hereinafter referred to as Bouazizi.
Regarding claim 16, Bouazizi discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, to a core network device, a resource set up request to set up resources for a communication (the UE transmits a NAS registration request message to the core network via the BS A in the frequency A. The registration request message may include requested-NSSAI requesting for a slice A and a slice B; See [0127]);
receiving, from the core network device, a resource setup response including a list of network slices or network slice groups that are supported by the core network device (the core network transmits a NAS registration accept or response message to the UE via the BS A. The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating that the slice A and the slice B are allowed; See [0129]); and
transmitting, by the network device, to a user device, one or more sets of configuration information for a cell selection or a cell reselection and association information indicating one or more network slices or network slice groups associated with the one or more sets of configuration information (the core network transmits a NAS registration accept or response message to the UE via the BS A. The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating that the slice A and the slice B are allowed; See [0129]).
Regarding claim 19, Bouazizi further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein the one or more sets of configuration information includes a default configuration information or configuration information set associated with a default network slice or a default network slice group, and wherein the default configuration information, the default network slice (The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating that the slice A and the slice B are allowed; See [0129]) or the default network slice group is defined in a specification or configured by the network device and transmitted to the user device via a SIB1 (system information block 1) message, a system information message, a dedicated RRC (radio resource control) message, or a NAS (non-access stratum) message.
Regarding claim 21, Bouazizi further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein the one or more sets of configuration information includes at least one of i) cell reselection priorities, each reselection priority related to at least one of a frequency or a cell, or ii) an identification (ID) of a network slice or a network slice group that is supported by the network device (The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating that the slice A and the slice B are allowed; See [0129]).
Regarding claim 23, Bouazizi further discloses the wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein the one or more sets of configuration information are included in a first radio resource control (RRC) message or a first NAS (non-access startum) message and the association information is included in a second RRC message or a second NAS message, each of the first RRC message and the second RRC message being a system information message or a dedicated RRC message, or wherein the one or more sets of configuration information and the association information are included in a same RRC message, a same system information message, or a same NAS message (The NAS registration response message may include allowed NSSAI indicating that the slice A and the slice B are allowed; See [0129]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray as applied to claims 1 and 31 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0377545), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 12, Murray fails to teach the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid.
Wang teaches wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid (The configuration(s) (e.g. session parameter(s)) that may be used in the establishment of the second PDU session may include one or more of: a mission specific data network name (DNN), Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), and/or Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, Service Type, and/or time period that the configuration (e.g. session parameter) will remain valid; See [0100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Murray to include wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid taught by Wang in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 26, Murray fails to teach the wireless communication method of claim 8, wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid.
Wang teaches wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid (The configuration(s) (e.g. session parameter(s)) that may be used in the establishment of the second PDU session may include one or more of: a mission specific data network name (DNN), Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), and/or Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, Service Type, and/or time period that the configuration (e.g. session parameter) will remain valid; See [0100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Murray to include wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid taught by Wang in order to optimize communication.
Regarding claim 35, Murray fails to teach the communication apparatus of claim 31, wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid.
Wang teaches wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid (The configuration(s) (e.g. session parameter(s)) that may be used in the establishment of the second PDU session may include one or more of: a mission specific data network name (DNN), Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), and/or Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode, Service Type, and/or time period that the configuration (e.g. session parameter) will remain valid; See [0100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Murray to include wherein the association information further indicates time information how long associations between the one or more network slices or network slice groups and the one or more sets of configuration information are to be valid taught by Wang in order to optimize communication.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Velev et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0120589), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 18, Bouazizi fails to teach the wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein the association information includes an updated list of network slices or network slice groups are received from the core network device in response to an update request from the network device to the core network device.
Velev teaches wherein the association information includes an updated list of network slices or network slice groups are received from the core network device in response to an update request from the network device to the core network device (the AMF 135 may initiate, e.g., a Registration Management procedure or UE Configuration Update procedure to send a new Allowed NSSAI which contains the new additional S-NSSAI (see signaling 520) in response to the registration request sent in step 508; See [0099]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Bouazizi to include wherein the association information includes an updated list of network slices or network slice groups are received from the core network device in response to an update request from the network device to the core network device taught by Velev in order to minimize loss and connection failure.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 12/13/2025