DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1 and 15 have been amended to recite that “each of the plurality of partitions are connected to a side wall by a respective partition connecting tab” [Claim 1 lines 17-18 and Claim 15 lines 17-19]. Applicant notes that Applicant’s Specification does not support this new limitation as defined partition panels exist that do not have connecting tabs attached thereto (e.g. partition panels 1160, 1791, and 1191). For purposes of examining the claims on the merits, Examiner maintains the claim interpretation previously set forth.
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 16-18, and 20 fail to cure the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakx (US 6189687 B1) in view of Harrelson (US 5645162 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Bakx discloses an article carrier and blank therefor comprising a side shell for forming walls of the carrier, the side shell comprising a plurality of side walls (14/16/18/20/22/24/26) wherein together the plurality of side walls comprise a functionally seamless side wall outer surface (see Fig. 2; Examiner considers Bakx’s carrier to be functionally seamless) wherein the side wall outer surface is folded only at a plurality of side wall creases configured to form corners (30/32/36/38); and wherein one of the side walls further comprises a side shell connecting tab (12) that comprises material beyond the side wall area (see Fig. 1), wherein the side shell terminates at a first end in a side shell edge and at a second end in a side shell connecting tab crease; a handle comprising two handle panels (54/68); a plurality of partitions (P; see Fig. 2) for forming a plurality of compartments by dividing an inside space of the package wherein each partition is contiguous with a handle panel of the package and wherein at least two of the plurality of partitions are connectable to a side wall by a partition connecting tab (102/141/135), wherein the partition connecting tab is rotatably connected to the partition at a partition connecting tab crease (106/142/136). Bakx lacks a bottom formed from an auto-bottom construction.
Harrelson teaches a basket-style carrier with automatic bottom and reinforced handle comprising a plurality of bottom panels(51/52/53/54/56/57), wherein the bottom panels are auto-bottom panels for forming an auto-bottom (Col 1 lines 60-65), and wherein each bottom panel is connected to a respective side wall of the plurality of side walls by a bottom panel crease (B; see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Bakx’s carrier to have an auto-bottom construction in order to increase the strength of the carrier (Harrelson; Col 2 lines 15-30).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 10, and 16, Bakx, as modified above, discloses a carrier and blank for making further comprising at least one securing medium for securing the package in an open configuration (Bakx; Col 3 lines 60-65).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Bakx, as modified above, discloses a carrier and blank for making wherein the at least one side shell connecting tab is rotatably connected to the side shell by the side shell connecting tab crease; and wherein the side shell connecting tab is secured to an interior surface of the side wall by at least one securing medium; and wherein the side shell connecting tab crease and the side wall edge are substantially collocated (Bakx; Col 4 lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 5, Bakx, as modified above, discloses a carrier and blank for making wherein the plurality of partitions includes a first partition and second partition, the first partition rotatably connected on a first side to the side shell connecting tab by at least the side wall crease and on a second side to the second partition by a partition crease (Bakx; Col 3 lines 15-35).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Bakx, as modified above, discloses a carrier and blank for making further comprising one or more handles (Bakx; H; see Figures 1-3).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakx in view of Harrelson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilkins et al. (US 9061809 B2; hereinafter Wilkins).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 20, Bakx, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the container being made of cardboard and an outside surface comprising artwork. Wilkins teaches a basket carrier with integral partitions and an automatic-bottom construction wherein said carrier is made of cardboard and comprises printed indicia (i.e. artwork) on an exterior surface (Col 10 lines 10-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Bakx’s container to be made of cardboard, as a known substitution of materials in the art of foldable partitioned carriers; and further provide said container with printed indicia on an exterior surface in order to provide advertising, as taught by Wilkins.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach a plurality of partitions wherein “each” of the plurality of partitions are further connected to a side wall by a partition connecting tab.
-Examiner cannot find support for this argument within Applicant’s Specification, therefore, the metes and bounds of the argument are not readily understood. Examiner considers the prior art to indeed disclose partitions with partition connecting tabs (Bakx; 102/141/135) for connecting the partitions to a side wall of the container.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734