DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 12 August 2025.
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 15, 18 and 20 are amended.
Claim 19 is canceled.
Claim 21 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding Claims 1, 15 and 18, the Applicant argues:
(1) Applicant respectfully submits that the proposed combinations of Yang, Zhou, and Ouchi is silent with respect to the recited features of amended claim 1, and has not been shown to teach or suggest at least these features of the claim.
For the teaching of these features and for rejecting claim 3, part of which has been incorporated into amended claim 1, the Office Action offers Yang (citing paras. [0089] and upon [0103]). Upon review, Applicant respectfully submits Yang has not been shown to teach or suggest at least the current claim language.
Applicant respectfully submits that Yang refers to PUSCH communication may be transmitted on a same set of RBs and is rate-matched around resource elements that are overlapping with SRS. See id. In contrast to the features of claim 1 as presently amended, Yang does not teach or suggest that the specific configuration that the uplink SRS and the PUSCH are transmitted in a part of frequency domain resources in a first symbol and all frequency domain resources in a second symbol, and much less that the second symbol if following the first symbol in time domain.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Yang has not been shown to teach or suggest “simultaneously sending, by the terminal device, the uplink SRS and the PUSCH to a network device on the target time-frequency resource, wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, the uplink SRS and the PUSCH occupy a same time-frequency resource,” particularly where “a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH” as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). Zhou and Ouchi have not been shown to, and does not, remedy at least this deficiency of Yang.
For at least the above-mentioned reasons, Applicant respectfully asserts that claim 1 distinguishes over the proposed combination of Yang, Zhou, and Ouchi, and is in condition for allowance. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and allowance of independent claim 1 and all claims depending thereform.
Independent claims 15 and 18 recite features similar but not identical to independent claim 1. Accordingly, for at the same reasons discussed above relative to claim 1, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn with respect to claims 15 and 18, and their respective dependents [Remarks, page 10].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
As per the first argument,
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Yang discloses a communication method, comprising:
a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 89 and 103; a part of frequency domain resources/(resource elements) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitted the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
In other words, the UE is configured to multiplex sounding reference signal (SRS) with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using frequency division multiplexing (FDM). Then, the UE transmits these two signals on different sets of resource elements (REs) within the same symbol(s) in the time domain which discloses part of frequency domain resources.
Therefore, Yang discloses the limitation “a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In other words, Zhou is used to cure the deficiencies of Yang. Zhou discloses the limitation “and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Zhou discloses a communication method, comprising:
wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain (see paragraphs 72-76; wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol/(first time-domain symbol) and a second symbol/(second time-domain symbol) following the first symbol/(a frequency-domain resource position selected for a second symbol is acquired by cyclically shifting the frequency-domain resource position for the first symbol by T bits…until all the time-domain symbols have been transmitted) in time domain/time domain), and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see paragraphs 76; and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS/SRS and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
In other words, paragraph 76 of Zhou discloses Frequency-domain resource position/(second symbol) are used to transmit sounding reference signal and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Therefore, Zhou discloses the limitation “and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2019/0349066 A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Zhou et al (US 2019/0053223 A1), hereinafter Zhou and further in view of Ouchi et al (US 2019/0044639 A1), hereinafter Ouchi.
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a communication method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraphs 85-87; by a terminal device/UE), a target time-frequency resource in an uplink communication time period in a target subframe (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraphs 85-87; a target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) in an uplink communication time period/(uplink resources) in a target subframe/only SRS and PUSCH communication across multiple SRS resources), and the target time-frequency resource is used to transmit an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see Figure 7, steps 720, 730 and 740 and paragraphs 85-87; and the target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) is used to transmit/transmit an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS)/(uplink SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH); and
simultaneously sending (see Figure 7, step 740 and paragraphs 87 and 89; simultaneously sending/the UE is scheduled to transmit the SRS and the PUSCH communication in a same symbol and/or a same set of resource blocks), by the terminal device (see Figure 7, step 740 and paragraphs 87 and 89; by the terminal device/UE), the uplink SRS and the PUSCH to a network device on the target time-frequency resource (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 87 and 98; the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH to a network device/(base station (BS)) on the target time-frequency resource/same set of resource blocks), the uplink SRS and the PUSCH occupy a same time-frequency resource (see paragraph 87; the uplink SRS/(UE transmits SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH occupy a same/same time-frequency resource/symbol or set of resource block), a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 89 and 103; a part of frequency domain resources/(resource elements) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitted the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH.
Although Yang discloses a communication method as set forth above,
Yang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
However, Zhou discloses a communication method, comprising:
wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain (see paragraphs 72-76; wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol/(first time-domain symbol) and a second symbol/(second time-domain symbol) following the first symbol/(a frequency-domain resource position selected for a second symbol is acquired by cyclically shifting the frequency-domain resource position for the first symbol by T bits…until all the time-domain symbols have been transmitted) in time domain/time domain), and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see paragraphs 76; and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS/SRS and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH” as taught by Zhou in the system of Yang to provide a method and a device for transmitting a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zhou).
Although the combination of Yang and Zhou discloses a communication method as set forth above,
The combination of Yang and Zhou does not explicitly disclose “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period”.
However, Ouchi discloses a communication method,
a target subframe of a plurality of subframes (see paragraph 38; a target subframe/(special subframe) of a plurality of subframes/uplink, downlink and special subframes), wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP), and the uplink communication time period (see paragraph 38; wherein the target subframe/(special subframe) includes a downlink communication time period/(downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS) enabling downlink transmission), a guard period (GP)/(guard period (GP)), and the uplink communication time period/uplink pilot time slot (UpPTS) enabling uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period” as taught by Ouchi in the combined system of Yang and Zhou to enable transmit power control or transmission control for efficient communication (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Ouchi).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses the method, wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe in time domain (see paragraphs 51 and 89; wherein the target time-frequency resource/(same set of RBs) occupies all symbols/symbols of the uplink communication time period/(uplink resources) in the target subframe/subframe in time domain/the SRS and DMRS can be transmitted on different sets of resource blocks (RBs)).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses the method, wherein:
the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource comprise the first symbol and the second symbol (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource comprise a first symbol and a second symbol/SRS is multiplexed with a DMRS on a symbol associated with the DMRS), the first symbol comprises at least one symbol (see Figure 8, 820 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; the first symbol/(OFDM symbol) comprises at least one symbol/OFDM symbol), and the second symbol comprises at least one symbol (see Figure 8, 820 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; and the second symbol/(OFDM symbol) comprises at least one symbol/OFDM symbol).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang discloses the method, wherein the other part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PUSCH (see paragraph 89; wherein the other part of frequency domain resources/(the DMRS on odd subarriers) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitting a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)/DMRS of the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang discloses the method, wherein all frequency domain resources in the first symbol are combed by the part of frequency domain resources and the other part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol (see paragraphs 89 and 96; wherein all frequency domain resources/subcarriers in the first symbol/symbol combed/combed by the part of frequency domain resources/(SRS and PUSCH) and the other part of frequency domain resources/DMRS in the first symbol/symbol).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang discloses the method, wherein each resource element (RE) in the part of frequency domain resources and each RE in the other part of frequency domain resources are spaced apart from each other (see paragraph 89; wherein each resource element (RE) in the part of frequency domain resources and each RE in the other part of frequency domain resources are spaced apart from each other/the SRS and DMRS are transmitted on different sets of resource blocks (RBs) or in the same sets of RBs but using different combs (for example), SRS are transmitted on even subcarriers and DMRS are transmitted on odd subcarriers).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang discloses the method, wherein the first symbol is a 1st symbol of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe in time domain (see paragraphs 51 and 89; wherein the first symbol/symbol is a 1st symbol of the/(first symbol of the frame) uplink communication time period/(the SRS and DMRS can be transmitted on different sets of resource blocks (RBs)) in the target subframe/subframe in time domain/the SRS and DMRS can be transmitted on different sets of resource blocks (RBs)).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang discloses the method, wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe (see paragraphs 85-86; wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe/only SRS and PUSCH communication across multiple SRS resources).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses the method, wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies (see paragraph 96; wherein the target time-frequency resource/(symbols of SRS and PUSCH communication) occupies), in time domain (see paragraph 96; in time domain/symbols of the time domain), a part of symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe (see paragraphs 51 and 96; a part of symbols of the uplink communication/(symbols of SRS and PUSCH communication to the BS) time period/symbol in the target subframe/subframe).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses the method, wherein symbols other than the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe are used to transmit a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PUSCH (see Figure 11a and paragraphs 51 and 95-96; wherein symbols/symbols other than the symbols/(one of three portions) occupied by the target time-frequency resource/(resource set) of the uplink/uplink communication time period/(the SRS and DMRS can be transmitted on different sets of resource blocks (RBs)) in the target subframe/subframe are used to transmit/transmit a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)/DMRS of the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses the method, wherein the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource are symbols other than a 1st symbol in the uplink communication time period in the target subframe (see paragraph 96; wherein the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource are symbols other than a 1st symbol in the uplink communication time period in the target subframe/the UE transmits a DMRS before the multiplexed SRS and PUSCH communication to the BS).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang discloses the method, wherein before the terminal device simultaneously sends the uplink SRS and the PUSCH to the network device on a target symbol (see Figure 7, step 740 and paragraphs 87 and 89; wherein before the terminal device/UE simultaneously sends/(the UE is scheduled to transmit the SRS and the PUSCH communication in a same symbol and/or a same set of resource blocks) the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH to the network device/BS on a target symbol/symbol), the method further comprises:
receiving (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; receiving/BS transmits), by the terminal device (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; by the termina device/UE), first information from the network device (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; first information/(configuration that indicates whether the UE is to spatially multiplex the multiple uplink transmission) from the network device/BS), where the first information indicates that the uplink SRS and the PUSCH are transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of the target subframe (see Figure 3A and paragraphs 85-86 and 93; wherein the first information/(configuration that indicates whether the UE is to spatially multiplex the multiple uplink transmission) indicates that the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH are transmitted/transmit on a same/same time-frequency resource/(symbol or set of resource blocks) of the target subframe/subframe).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; receiving/BS transmits), by the terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; by the terminal device/UE), second information from the network device (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; second information/(SRS resources) from the network device/BS), where the second information indicates the target time-frequency resource (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; where the second information/(SRS resources) indicates the target time-frequency resource/multiple SRS resources).
Regarding Claim 14, Although the combination of Yang and Zhou discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Yang and Zhou does not explicitly disclose “wherein the target subframe is an S subframe”.
However, ouchi discloses the method, wherein the target subframe is an S subframe (see paragraph 38; wherein the target subframe/(special subframe) is an S subframe/special subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the target subframe is an S subframe” as taught by Ouchi in the combined system of Yang and Zhou to enable transmit power control or transmission control for efficient communication (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Ouchi).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a communication method, comprising:
simultaneously receiving (see Figure 7, step 740 and paragraphs 87 and 89; simultaneously receiving/the UE is scheduled to transmit the SRS and the PUSCH communication in a same symbol and/or a same set of resource blocks), by a network device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 87 and 98; by a network device/BS), an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) from a terminal device on a target time-frequency resource in an uplink communication time period in a target subframe (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 87 and 98; an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS)/(uplink SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH from a terminal device/UE on a target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) in an uplink communication time period/(uplink resources) in a target subframe/only SRS and PUSCH communication across multiple SRS resources), and the target time-frequency resource is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see paragraph 87; and the target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) is used to transmit/transmit the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH); and
processing, by the network device (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 87 and 98; by the network device/BS), the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 87 and 98; the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH), the uplink SRS and the PUSCH occupy a same time-frequency resource (see paragraph 87; and the uplink SRS/(UE transmits SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH occupy a same/same time-frequency resource/symbol or set of resource block), a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 89 and 103; a part of frequency domain resources/(resource elements) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitted the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Although Yang discloses a communication method as set forth above,
Yang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
However, Zhou discloses a communication method, comprising:
wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain (see paragraphs 72-76; wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol/(first time-domain symbol) and a second symbol/(second time-domain symbol) following the first symbol/(a frequency-domain resource position selected for a second symbol is acquired by cyclically shifting the frequency-domain resource position for the first symbol by T bits…until all the time-domain symbols have been transmitted) in time domain/time domain) in time domain/time domain), and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see paragraphs 76; and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS/SRS and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH” as taught by Zhou in the system of Yang to provide a method and a device for transmitting a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zhou).
Although the combination of Yang and Zhou discloses a communication method as set forth above,
The combination of Yang and Zhou does not explicitly disclose “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period”.
However, Ouchi discloses a communication method,
a target subframe of a plurality of subframes (see paragraph 38; a target subframe/(special subframe) of a plurality of subframes/uplink, downlink and special subframes), wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP), and the uplink communication time period (see paragraph 38; wherein the target subframe/(special subframe) includes a downlink communication time period/(downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS) enabling downlink transmission), a guard period (GP)/(guard period (GP)), and the uplink communication time period/uplink pilot time slot (UpPTS) enabling uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period” as taught by Ouchi in the combined system of Yang and Zhou to enable transmit power control or transmission control for efficient communication (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Ouchi).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses the method, further comprising:
sending (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; sending/transmit), by the network device (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; by the network device/BS), first information to the terminal device (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraph 85; first information/(configuration that indicates whether the UE is to spatially multiplex the multiple uplink transmission) to the terminal device/UE), wherein the first information indicates that the uplink SRS and the PUSCH are transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of the target subframe (see Figure 3A and paragraphs 85-86 and 93; wherein the first information/(configuration that indicates whether the UE is to spatially multiplex the multiple uplink transmission) indicates that the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH are transmitted/transmit on a same/same time-frequency resource/(symbol or set of resource blocks) of the target subframe/subframe).
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses the method, further comprising:
sending (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; sending/BS transmits), by the network device (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; by the network device/BS), second information to the terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; second information/(SRS resources) to the terminal device/UE), wherein the second information indicates the target time-frequency resource (see Figure 7 and paragraph 85; where the second information/(SRS resources) indicates the target time-frequency resource/multiple SRS resources).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang discloses a communication apparatus (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 43-45; a communication apparatus/UE 120), comprising:
at least one processor (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 43-45; at least one processor/controller processor 280);
one or more memories (see Figure 2 and paragraph 111; one or more memories/memory 282) coupled to the at least one processor (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 43-45; coupled to the at least one processor/controller processor 280) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 8; and storing/store programming instructions/(one or more instructions) for execution/executed by the at least one processor/controller processor 280) to determine a target time-frequency resource in an uplink communication time period in a target subframe (see Figure 7, step 720 and paragraphs 85-87; to determine a target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) in an uplink communication time period/(uplink resources) in a target subframe/only SRS and PUSCH communication across multiple SRS resources), and the target time-frequency resource is used to transmit an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see Figure 7, steps 720, 730 and 740 and paragraphs 85-87; and the target time-frequency resource/(same set of resource blocks) is used to transmit/transmit an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS)/(uplink SRS) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/PUSCH); and
a transceiver (see Figure 2 and paragraph 46; a transceiver/receiver processor 258 and transmit processor 264), the transceiver (see Figure 2 and paragraph 46; the transceiver/receiver processor 258 and transmit processor 264) configured to simultaneously send the uplink SRS and the PUSCH to a network device on the target time-frequency resource (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 87 and 98; configured to simultaneously send/(the UE is scheduled to transmit the SRS and the PUSCH communication in a same symbol and/or a same set of resource blocks) the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH to a network device/(base station (BS)) on the target time-frequency resource/same set of resource blocks), the uplink SRS and the PUSCH occupy a same time-frequency resource (see paragraph 87; and the uplink SRS/(UE transmits SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH occupy a same/same time-frequency resource/symbol or set of resource block), a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 89 and 103; a part of frequency domain resources/(resource elements) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitted the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Although Yang discloses a communication apparatus as set forth above,
Yang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH”.
However, Zhou discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain (see paragraphs 72-76; wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol/(first time-domain symbol) and a second symbol/(second time-domain symbol) following the first symbol/(a frequency-domain resource position selected for a second symbol is acquired by cyclically shifting the frequency-domain resource position for the first symbol by T bits…until all the time-domain symbols have been transmitted) in time domain/time domain), and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see paragraphs 76; and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS/SRS and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the target time-frequency resource occupies at least a first symbol and a second symbol following the first symbol in time domain, and all frequency domain resources in the second symbol are used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH” as taught by Zhou in the system of Yang to provide a method and a device for transmitting a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zhou).
Although the combination of Yang and Zhou discloses a communication apparatus as set forth above,
The combination of Yang and Zhou does not explicitly disclose “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period”.
However, Ouchi discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a target subframe of a plurality of subframes (see paragraph 38; a target subframe/(special subframe) of a plurality of subframes/uplink, downlink and special subframes), wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP), and the uplink communication time period (see paragraph 38; wherein the target subframe/(special subframe) includes a downlink communication time period/(downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS) enabling downlink transmission), a guard period (GP)/(guard period (GP)), and the uplink communication time period/uplink pilot time slot (UpPTS) enabling uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a target subframe of a plurality of subframes” or “wherein the target subframe includes a downlink communication time period, a guard period (GP). and the uplink communication time period” as taught by Ouchi in the combined system of Yang and Zhou to enable transmit power control or transmission control for efficient communication (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Ouchi).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang discloses the communication apparatus, wherein:
the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource comprise a first symbol and a second symbol (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; the symbols occupied by the target time-frequency resource comprise a first symbol and a second symbol/SRS is multiplexed with a DMRS on a symbol associated with the DMRS), the first symbol comprises at least one symbol (see Figure 8, 820 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; the first symbol/(OFDM symbol) comprises at least one symbol/OFDM symbol), and the second symbol comprises at least one symbol (see Figure 8, 820 and paragraphs 89, 96, 101 and 103; and the second symbol/(OFDM symbol) comprises at least one symbol/OFDM symbol); and
a part of frequency domain resources in the first symbol is used to transmit the uplink SRS and the PUSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 89 and 103; a part of frequency domain resources/(resource elements) in the first symbol/symbol is used to transmit/transmitted the uplink SRS/(uplink SRS) and the PUSCH/PUSCH).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Ouchi and further in view of Chen et al (US 2018/0006787 A1), hereinafter Chen [provided in the IDS dated 8/3/2023].
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe”.
However, Chen discloses the method, wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 71 and 100; wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe/).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the target time-frequency resource is all frequency domain resources of all symbols of the uplink communication time period in the target subframe” as taught by Chen in the combined system of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi to provide techniques for transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a UpPTS (see page 1, paragraph 6 of Chen).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Ouchi and further in view of Xu et al (US 2021/0185543 A1), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding Claim 21, Although the combination of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi discloses the second symbol as set forth above,
The combination of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi does not explicitly disclose “comprises a plurality of consecutive symbols”.
However, Xu discloses the method, wherein the second symbol comprises a plurality of consecutive symbols (see paragraphs 110, 121 and 149; wherein the second symbol/(last 3 symbols. Note; first 5 symbols are the first symbol) comprises a plurality of consecutive symbols/8 symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a plurality of consecutive symbols” as taught by Xu in the combined system of Yang, Zhou and Ouchi to provide a plurality of symbols consecutive in time (see paragraph 100 of Xu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al (US 2021/0105090 A1) discloses Method for Rate Matching In Wireless Communication System and Apparatus Therefor. Specifically, see paragraphs 6-20, 48-73 and 95-109.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469