Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/30/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “A method of claim 1 comprising” in line 1 and should recite “The method of claim 1 comprising”.
Claim 25 recites “the lateral sides of the fingers” and should recite “lateral sides of the fingers of the plurality of fingers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 and 13-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the first passageway in the housing” in lines 4-5. It is unclear if this refers to the passageway in the housing recited earlier in the claim or an additional passageway. Clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites “conductive material” in lines 2-3 and line 3. It is unclear if this refers to the conductive material recited in base claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites “conductive material” in line 7 and lines 7-8. It is unclear if the second recitation refers to the first recitation of conductive material or a different conductive material. Clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites “the housing comprises a first passageway therethrough […] and a second passageway therethrough”. It is unclear if these first and second passageways are part of the passageway in the housing recited in base claim 13 or in addition to this passageway. Clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites “conductive material” in lines 2-3 and line 3. It is unclear if these recitations refer to the conductive material recited in base claim 13 or a different conductive material. The same issue appears in dependent claim 18. Clarification is required.
Claim 19 recites “conductive material” in line 3. It is unclear if this recitation refer to the conductive material recited in base claim 13 or a different conductive material. Clarification is required.
Claim 22 recites “conductive material” in line 4 and line 5. It is unclear if this refers to the conductive material recited in base claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 25, lines 6-7 recites “a passageway in the energizable coil”. It is unclear if this passageway refers to the passageway in the energizable coil recited in base claim 22 or an additional passageway. Clarification is required.
Claim 27 recites “an energizable coil having a passageway”. It is unclear if this refers to the energizable coil and the passageway refer to the same named elements in base claim 22 or additional elements. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites “the passageway in the energizable coil”. As discussed with respect to claim 27, it is not clear if this refers to the passageway in the energizable coil recited in base claim 27 or base claim 22. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites “the housing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent thereon inherit the deficiencies of the respective base claim.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 recites “The system of claim 131”. There is no claim 131, so this claim cannot include all the limitations of a claim that does not exist. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Examiner notes the scope of claim 21 is so unclear that no art rejection is given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method (paragraph 8) comprising:
obtaining a wearable covering (Figure 2, 205. Figure 2 shows a shirt and claim 11 describes a shoe) comprising conductive material (110);
inserting the wearable covering adjacent to an energizable coil (120);
warming the wearable covering in response to induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil (paragraph 18); and
removing the wearable covering from adjacent the energizable coil (paragraph 18 describes warming the wearable covering when a person sits in the seat, thus the wearable covering is removed from adjacent the energizable coil when the person stands up and moves away from the seat).
Chen is silent on inserting the wearable covering into a passageway in an energizable coil and removing the wearable covering from the passageway in the energizable coil.
Boardman teaches inserting the wearable covering into a passageway in an energizable coil (Figure 4 shows inserting shoe upper 410 (and paragraph 121 describes other components of the shoe) into a passageway 428 of an energizable coil 425) and removing the wearable covering from the passageway in the energizable coil (410 is necessarily removed from the passageway after being heated).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s invention to include inserting the wearable covering into a passageway in an energizable coil and removing the wearable covering from the passageway in the energizable coil in order to provide heating to multiple areas of the shoe as suggested and taught by Boardman in paragraph 120.
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Boardman teach the invention as claimed and described above. Chen further teaches wherein: the inserting comprises inserting the wearable covering into a passageway (Figure 2, space between the two wall of 210, in which coil 120 resides) in a housing (Figure 2, 210) disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil (Figure 2 shows the housing surrounds coil 120 and the passageway within it); and
the removing comprises removing the wearable covering from the first passageway in the housing (when the wearer stands, the wearable covering is removed from the first passageway).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen further teaches the wearable covering comprising a shoe or boot (claim 11).
Claims 2, 5-6, 10-11, 13-14, 17, 19-20, 22, 24, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043) and Stevens et al. (US 2015/0230524).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Boardman teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except wherein: the wearable covering is disposable around a portion of a wearer with the conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearable covering and over a first side portion of the wearer, and the conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearable covering and over a second side portion of the wearer; and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side of the wearable covering and the opposite second side of the wearable covering in response to induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil.
Stevens teaches wherein: the wearable covering (Figures 5A and 5B) is disposable around a portion of a wearer (Figures 5A and 5B show a shirt, which is disposed around the torso and arms of a wearer and paragraph 51 describes the wearable covering as gloves, socks and boots which cover hands in the first instance and feet in the last two instances) with the conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearable covering (Figure 5A show the conductive material 11 on the front side of the garment) and over a first side portion of the wearer (the front side of a shirt corresponds to the chest of a wearer), and the conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearable covering (Figure 5B show the conductive material 11 on the back side of the garment) and over a second side portion of the wearer (the back side of a shirt corresponds to the back of a wearer); and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side of the wearable covering and the opposite second side of the wearable covering in response to induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens, when the wearable covering is inserted into the passageway in the coil, both the first and second side of the wearable covering are warmed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include wherein: the wearable covering is disposable around a portion of a wearer with the conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearable covering and over a first side portion of the wearer, and the conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearable covering and over a second side portion of the wearer; and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side of the wearable covering and the opposite second side of the wearable covering in response to induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraph 3.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising a glove.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering comprising a glove (paragraph 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising a glove in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the hands as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising a glove comprising the conductive material disposed along a front of the glove and the conductive material disposed along a back of the glove.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering comprising a glove (paragraph 51) comprising the conductive material disposed along a front of the glove and the conductive material disposed along a back of the glove (Figures 5A and 5B show the wearable covering G has conductive material 11 disposed on the front (Figure 5A) and the back (Figure 5B)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising a glove comprising the conductive material disposed along a front of the glove and the conductive material disposed along a back of the glove in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the hands as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen further teaches the wearable covering comprising a shoe or boot (claim 11).
Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the shoe or boot comprising the conductive material disposed along a top of the shoe or boot and the conductive material disposed along a bottom of the shoe or boot.
Stevens teaches the shoe or boot comprising the conductive material disposed along a top of the shoe or boot and the conductive material disposed along a bottom of the shoe or boot (Figures 5A and 5B show the wearable covering G has conductive material 11 disposed on the front (Figure 5A) which corresponds to the top of the shoe, and the back (Figure 5B) which corresponds to the bottom of the shoe).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the shoe or boot comprising the conductive material disposed along a top of the shoe or boot and the conductive material disposed along a bottom of the shoe or boot in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the feet as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising a liner disposable on an extremity of the wearer and receivable in a glove, shoe, or boot, the liner comprising the conductive material disposed along a first side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer and the conductive material disposed along a second side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering comprising a liner disposable on an extremity of the wearer (Figures 5A and 5B show a shirt, which is disposed around the torso and arms of a wearer and paragraph 51 describes the wearable covering as socks, which cover feet) and receivable in a glove, shoe, or boot (Socks are receivable in shoes and boots and in the context of Chen, which teaches in paragraph 18 that the warmed garment is for clothing worn by skiers or outdoor sports spectators, the wearer would also necessarily be wearing shoes or boots), the liner comprising the conductive material disposed along a first side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer (Figure 5A shows the conductive material 110 on the front of the garment, and thus the front side of the wearer in situ) and the conductive material disposed along a second side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer (Figure 5B shows the conductive material 110 on the back of the garment, and thus the back side of the wearer in situ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising a liner disposable on an extremity of the wearer and receivable in a glove, shoe, or boot, the liner comprising the conductive material disposed along a first side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer and the conductive material disposed along a second side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the feet as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses an induction heating station (Figure 2) comprising:
a housing (Figure 2, 210) having at least one opening (Figure 2, the gap between the two walls of 210) having a passageway therethrough (Figure 2, space between the two wall of 210, in which coil 120 resides) aligned with an energizable coil (120);
a wearable covering (Figure 2, 205. Figure 2 shows a shirt and claim 11 describes a shoe) sized and configured to extend around a portion of a wearer (a shirt extends around a wearer’s torso and a shoe extends around a wearer’s foot) and fit within the at least one opening in the housing (Figure 2), the wearable covering comprising conductive material (110); and
wherein the wearable covering is positionable in the at least one opening in the housing (paragraph 18).
Chen is silent on a passageway in an energizable coil; the wearable covering comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearer and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearer; and simultaneously warm the first side of the wearer and the opposite second side of the wearer based on induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil.
Boardman teaches a passageway in an energizable coil (Figure 4 shows shoe upper 410 (and paragraph 121 describes other components of the shoe) into a passageway 428 of an energizable coil 425).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s invention to include a passageway in an energizable coil in order to provide heating to multiple areas of the shoe as suggested and taught by Boardman in paragraph 120.
Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearer and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearer; and simultaneously warm the first side of the wearer and the opposite second side of the wearer based on induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering (Figures 5A and 5B) comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearer (Figure 5A show the conductive material 11 on the front side of the garment, which corresponds with the chest of the wearer) and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearer (Figure 5B show the conductive material 11 on the back side of the garment, which corresponds to the back of the wearer); and simultaneously warm the first side of the wearer and the opposite second side of the wearer based on induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens, when the wearable covering is inserted into the passageway in the coil, both the first and second side of the wearable covering are warmed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the wearer and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the wearer; and simultaneously warm the first side of the wearer and the opposite second side of the wearer based on induction heating of the wearable covering in the passageway in the energizable coil in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above.
Stevens further teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises a right hand glove (Figure 3B shows a right glove on the left side of the figure) and a left hand glove (Figure 3B shows a left glove on the right side of the figure).
Chen further teaches the at least one opening in the housing comprises an elongated opening (Figure 2 shows the opening to the housing longer between the uppermost edge of the vertical wall and the frontmost edge of the horizontal wall than the horizontal length, i.e. the opening is elongated).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Stevens further teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises at least one glove (paragraph 51) comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the glove and the conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the glove (Figures 5A and 5B show the wearable covering G has conductive material 11 disposed on the front (Figure 5A), i.e. first side, and the back (Figure 5B), i.e. opposite second side).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Chen further teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises a at least one shoe or boot (claim 11). Stevens further teaches the at least one shoe or boot (Figure 3C) comprising conductive material disposed on a first side of the shoe or boot (Figure 5A show the conductive material 11 on the front side of the garment) and the conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the shoe or boot (Figure 5B show the conductive material 11 on the back side of the garment).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Stevens further teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises a liner disposable on an extremity of the wearer (Figures 5A and 5B show a shirt, which is disposed around the torso and arms of a wearer and paragraph 51 describes the wearable covering as socks, which cover feet) and receivable in a glove, shoe, or boot (Socks are receivable in shoes and boots and in the context of Chen, which teaches in paragraph 18 that the warmed garment is for clothing worn by skiers or outdoor sports spectators, the wearer would also necessarily be wearing shoes or boots), the liner comprising the conductive material disposed along a first side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer (Figure 5A shows the conductive material 110 on the front of the garment, and thus the front side of the wearer in situ) and the conductive material disposed along a second side of the liner and the extremity of the wearer (Figure 5B shows the conductive material 110 on the back of the garment, and thus the back side of the wearer in situ).
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses an article of clothing (Figure 2, 205) operable for induction heating (Figure 2) comprising:
a wearable covering (Figure 2, 205. Figure 2 shows a shirt and claim 11 describes a shoe) positionable on a wearer (a shirt extends around a wearer’s torso and a shoe extends around a wearer’s foot),
the wearable covering comprising conductive material (110) extendable the wearer (Figure 2 shows a shirt, which extends over a wearer’s torso); and
the wearable covering operable to warm (paragraph 18) the wearer adjacent an energizable coil (120).
Chen is silent on the wearable covering comprising conductive material extendable on at least a first side portion of the wearer and conductive material disposed on a second opposite side portion of the wearer with the portion of the wearer disposable therebetween; and
the wearable covering operable to simultaneously warm the first side portion of the wearer and the opposite second side portion of the wearer upon positioning the wearable covering in a passageway in an energizable coil.
Boardman teaches a passageway in an energizable coil (Figure 4 shows shoe upper 410 (and paragraph 121 describes other components of the shoe) into a passageway 428 of an energizable coil 425).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s invention to include a passageway in an energizable coil in order to provide heating to multiple areas of the shoe as suggested and taught by Boardman in paragraph 120.
Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising conductive material extendable on at least a first side portion of the wearer and conductive material disposed on a second opposite side portion of the wearer with the portion of the wearer disposable therebetween; and
the wearable covering operable to simultaneously warm the first side portion of the wearer and the opposite second side portion of the wearer.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering (Figures 5A and 5B) comprising conductive material extendable on at least a first side portion of the wearer (Figure 5A show the conductive material 11 on the front side of the garment, which corresponds with the chest of the wearer) and conductive material disposed on a second opposite side portion of the wearer (Figure 5B show the conductive material 11 on the back side of the garment, which corresponds to the back of the wearer) with the portion of the wearer disposable therebetween (the torso of the wearer is therebetween); and
the wearable covering operable to simultaneously warm the first side portion of the wearer and the opposite second side portion of the wearer (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens, when the wearable covering is inserted into the passageway in the coil, both the first and second side of the wearable covering are warmed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising conductive material extendable on at least a first side portion of the wearer and conductive material disposed on a second opposite side portion of the wearer with the portion of the wearer disposable therebetween; and the wearable covering operable to simultaneously warm the first side portion of the wearer and the opposite second side portion of the wearer in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Regarding claim 24, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Stevens further teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises a wearable covering for a hand of the wearer (paragraph 51 describes a glove); and
the conductive material extends over a front side and a back side of the hand (Figures 5A and 5B show the wearable covering G has conductive material 11 disposed on the front (Figure 5A), i.e. first side, and the back (Figure 5B), i.e. opposite second side).
Regarding claim 26, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Chen further teaches the wearable covering comprises a wearable covering for a foot of the wearer (claim 11 describes a shoe).
Stevens further teaches the conductive material extending over a top side and a bottom side of the foot (Figures 5A and 5B show the wearable covering G has conductive material 11 disposed on the front (Figure 5A) which corresponds to the top of the foot and shoe, and the back (Figure 5B) which corresponds to the bottom of the foot and shoe).
Regarding claim 27, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Boardman further teaches an induction heating station (Figure 4) comprising an energizable coil (See 112 above, this is assumed to refer to the energizable coil recited in base claim 22. 425) having a passageway (See 112 above, this is assumed to refer to the passageway recited in base claim 22. 428) for receiving the wearable covering (410).
Regarding claim 28, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above. Chen further teaches wherein: the induction heating station (Figure 2, 210) comprises the housing (Figure 2, the two walls of the induction heating station) having a passageway (space between the two walls through which the wearable covering is placed) therethrough aligned with the passageway in the energizable coil (Figure 2 shows the housing passageway is aligned with a central passageway of the energizable coil 120).
Claims 4, 8, 15-16 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043), Stevens et al. (US 2015/0230524) and Augusto de Fario Neto (US 2022/0354314).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on wherein: the wearable covering comprises a first wearable covering comprising the conductive material and a second wearable covering comprising the conductive material;
the inserting comprises inserting the first wearable covering into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the second wearable covering into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil.
Stevens teaches wherein: the wearable covering comprises a first wearable covering (Figure 3B shows a left glove on the right side of the figure) comprising the conductive material (Figure 3B shows a patch on the glove which indicates the conductive material, shown in more detail in figures 5A and 5B and described in paragraph 51) and a second wearable covering (Figure 3B shows a right glove on the left side of the figure) comprising the conductive material (Figure 3B shows a patch on the glove which indicates the conductive material, shown in more detail in figures 5A and 5B and described in paragraph 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include wherein: the wearable covering comprises a first wearable covering comprising the conductive material and a second wearable covering comprising the conductive material in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the hands as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens are silent on the inserting comprises inserting the first wearable covering into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the second wearable covering into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil.
Augusto de Fario Neto teaches the inserting comprises inserting the first wearable covering into a first passageway (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, top passageway) in a housing (Figure 1, 20) disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment) and inserting the second wearable covering into a second passageway (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, bottom passageway) in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include the inserting comprises inserting the first wearable covering into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the second wearable covering into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil (in the system of Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Augusto de Fario Neto, the wearable coverings are inserted into the passageways of Augusto de Fario Neto) in order to provide transportable induction heating as suggested and taught by Augusto de Fario Neto in paragraph 1.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the wearable covering comprising a right hand glove comprising the conductive material and a left hand glove comprising the conductive material;
the inserting comprises inserting the right hand glove into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the left hand glove into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering comprising a right hand glove (Figure 3B shows a right glove on the left side of the figure) comprising the conductive material (Figure 3B shows a patch on the glove which indicates the conductive material, shown in more detail in figures 5A and 5B and described in paragraph 51) and a left hand glove (Figure 3B shows a left glove on the right side of the figure) comprising the conductive material (Figure 3B shows a patch on the glove which indicates the conductive material, shown in more detail in figures 5A and 5B and described in paragraph 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the wearable covering comprising a right hand glove comprising the conductive material and a left hand glove comprising the conductive material in order to provide needed warmth and protection from hypothermia in the hands as suggested and taught by Stevens in paragraphs 3 and 51.
Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens are silent on the inserting comprises inserting the right hand glove into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the left hand glove into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil.
Augusto de Fario Neto teaches the inserting comprises inserting the right hand glove into a first passageway (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, top passageway) in a housing (Figure 1, 20) disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment), and inserting the left hand glove into a second passageway (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, bottom passageway) in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include the inserting comprises inserting the right hand glove into a first passageway in a housing disposed around the passageway in the energizable coil, and inserting the left hand glove into a second passageway in the housing disposed around a second passageway in a second energizable coil (in the system of Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Augusto de Fario Neto, the wearable coverings are inserted into the passageways of Augusto de Fario Neto) in order to provide transportable induction heating as suggested and taught by Augusto de Fario Neto in paragraph 1.
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach the invention as claimed and described above.
Stevens teaches the wearable covering comprises a right hand glove (Figure 3B shows a right glove on the left side of the figure and described in paragraph 51) and a left hand glove (Figure 3B shows a left glove on the right side of the figure and described in paragraph 51).
Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens are silent the housing comprises a first passageway therethrough aligned with the passageway in the energizable coil, and a second passageway therethrough aligned with a second passageway in a second energizable coil.
Augusto de Fario Neto teaches the housing (Figure 1, 20) comprises a first passageway therethrough (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, top passageway) aligned with the passageway in the energizable coil (Figure 6, top coil 11’. In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway in the energizable coil aligned with the passageway in the housing of Chen), and a second passageway therethrough aligned with a second passageway (Figure 1 shows 3 passageways defined by the housing and shelves 21, bottom passageway) in a second energizable coil (Figure 6, bottom coil 11’. In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway in the energizable coil aligned with the passageway in the housing of Chen).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include the housing comprises a first passageway therethrough aligned with the passageway in the energizable coil, and a second passageway therethrough aligned with a second passageway in a second energizable coil (in the system of Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Augusto de Fario Neto, the wearable coverings are inserted into the passageways of Augusto de Fario Neto) in order to provide transportable induction heating as suggested and taught by Augusto de Fario Neto in paragraph 1.
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Augusto de Fario Neto teach the invention as claimed and described above.
Augusto de Fario Neto further teaches the first opening in the housing comprises a first elongated opening (Figure 1 shows the top opening is wider than it is tall, i.e. elongated); and
the second opening in the housing comprises a second elongated opening spaced from the first elongated opening (Figure 1 shows the bottom opening is wider than it is tall, i.e. elongated and spaced away from the first elongated opening by the middle opening).
Regarding claim 29, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except a backpack comprising an induction heating station.
Augusto de Fario Neto teaches a backpack comprising an induction heating station (paragraph 24 describes the induction heating system in the form of a backpack and paragraph 29 describes the energizable coil. In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include a backpack comprising an induction heating station in order to provide transportable induction heating as suggested and taught by Augusto de Fario Neto in paragraph 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043), and further in view of Augusto de Fario Neto (US 2022/0354314).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Boardman teach the method steps as described in claim 1 above. Chen in view of Boardman are silent on the passageway disposed in a backpack.
Augusto de Fario Neto teaches the passageway disposed in a backpack (paragraph 24 describes the induction heating system in the form of a backpack and paragraph 29 describes the energizable coil. In the system of Chen in view of Boardman and Augusto de Fario Neto, each coil works as described in Boardman with a passageway which receives the wearable garment).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman’s invention to include the passageway disposed in a backpack in order to provide transportable induction heating as suggested and taught by Augusto de Fario Neto in paragraph 1.
Claims 7, 18, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) in view of Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043), Stevens et al. (US 2015/0230524) and Dunlop (US 2019/0142086).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except wherein: the glove comprises fingers, and the fingers comprises conductive material disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove; and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side and the second side of the fingers in response to the induction heating of the glove in the passageway in the energizable coil.
Dunlop teaches wherein: the glove (Figure 1, 2) comprises fingers (Figure 1, 6a-6e), and the fingers comprises conductive material (paragraph 13 describes conductive leather) disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove (Paragraph 13 describes the finger portions 6a-6e being comprised of a first material, i.e. conductive leather, which means all sides of the fingers are formed of the conductive material); and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side and the second side of the fingers in response to the induction heating of the glove in the passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Dunlop, when the glove is warmed by the induction heating coil, all sides of the fingers are warmed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include wherein: the glove comprises fingers, and the fingers comprises conductive material disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove; and
the warming comprises simultaneously warming the first side and the second side of the fingers in response to the induction heating of the glove in the passageway in the energizable coil in order to warm the wearer’s fingers as suggested and taught by Dunlop in paragraph 9.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except wherein: the glove comprises fingers, and the fingers comprises conductive material disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove.
Dunlop teaches wherein: the glove (Figure 1, 2) comprises fingers (Figure 1, 6a-6e), and the fingers comprises conductive material (paragraph 13 describes conductive leather) disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove (Paragraph 13 describes the finger portions 6a-6e being comprised of a first material, i.e. conductive leather, which means all sides of the fingers are formed of the conductive material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include wherein: the glove comprises fingers, and the fingers comprises conductive material disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove in order to warm the wearer’s fingers as suggested and taught by Dunlop in paragraph 9.
Regarding claim 23, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except wherein the conductive material extends completely around the portion of the wearer.
Dunlop teaches wherein the conductive material (paragraph 13 describes conductive leather) extends completely around the portion of the wearer (Paragraph 13 describes the finger portions 6a-6e being comprised of a first material, i.e. conductive leather, which means all sides of the fingers are formed of the conductive material and thus completely extend around the fingers, i.e. portion, of the wearer).
wherein: the glove (Figure 1, 2) comprises fingers (Figure 1, 6a-6e), and the fingers comprises conductive material disposed on a first side of the fingers and conductive material disposed on an opposite second side of the fingers of the glove.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include wherein the conductive material extends completely around the portion of the wearer in order to warm the wearer’s fingers as suggested and taught by Dunlop in paragraph 9.
Regarding claim 25, Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens teach all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except wherein: the wearable covering comprises a glove having a plurality of fingers; and
the conductive material extends along the lateral sides of the fingers of the glove; and
and wherein the glove is operable to simultaneously warm the lateral sides of the fingers of the wearer upon positioning the wearable covering in a passageway in the energizable coil.
Dunlop teaches wherein: wherein: the wearable covering comprises a glove (Figure 1, 2) having a plurality of fingers (Figure 1, 6a-6e); and
the conductive material (paragraph 13 describes conductive leather) extends along the lateral sides of the fingers of the glove (Paragraph 13 describes the finger portions 6a-6e being comprised of a first material, i.e. conductive leather, which means all sides of the fingers are formed of the conductive material); and
and wherein the glove is operable to simultaneously warm the lateral sides of the fingers of the wearer upon positioning the wearable covering in a passageway in the energizable coil (In the system of Chen in view of Boardman, Stevens and Dunlop, when the glove is warmed by the induction heating coil, all sides of the fingers are warmed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Boardman and Stevens’s invention to include wherein: the wearable covering comprises a glove having a plurality of fingers; and the conductive material extends along the lateral sides of the fingers of the glove; and wherein the glove is operable to simultaneously warm the lateral sides of the fingers of the wearer upon positioning the wearable covering in a passageway in the energizable coil in order to warm the wearer’s fingers as suggested and taught by Dunlop in paragraph 9.
Additional Art of Record
Yates et al. (US Patent 5,509,143) and Yates et al. (US Patent 5,774,894) each teach a set of mittens with a thermally conductive material around the fingers that is inserted into the mitten flap which has a heater. There is no energizable coil.
Chen et al. (US 2007/0039948) teaches a wearable covering, i.e. shirt 205 in figure 2, with a conductive material, metallic mesh lining 110, which can be placed on or adjacent an energizable coil, 120, to heat the wearable covering. The energizable coil does not contain a passageway.
McCoy et al. (US 2007/0267398), Saunamäki (US 2017/0094727), Yamaoka et al. (US 2020/0323301), Stingu et al. (US 2021/0352997) teach a shoe with a heat conductive element or heating element, which is warmed when placed upon a heating mat.
Boardman et al. (US 2014/0000043), Tanabe (US 2021/0186145) teach a process for shaping or joining shoe components using a heating coil.
Stevens et al. (US 2015/0230524) teaches a garment with conductive heating elements on multiple sides of the garment.
Taira et al. (US 2017/0260604) teach an energizable coil for heating an element within the coil.
Park et al. (US 2025/0261291) teaches a heating system with multiple passageways.
Conclusion
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741