DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (PG-PUB US 2023/0044621) in view of Liu et al (CN 114791415, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al disclose a sample analyzer/detection kit (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a planar substrate 112 (i.e., a plate-shaped detection member, Figures 2B & 2C, paragraph [0073]);
(2) a photothermal film 131a disposed on one side of the substrate 112 (i.e., a first photothermal area … and fixed a photothermal material …, Figure 2C, paragraphs [0078] –[0080]);
(3) at least one well 111b surrounded by the photothermal film 131a for receiving a sample therewithin, wherein the photothermal film is configured to heat the sample in the well by generating heat from a light source (i.e., a first sample area … adjacent to the first photothermal area …, Figures 2B & 2C, paragraphs [0004], [0014], [0040], & [0045]).
Jung teaches that the photothermal film 131a is supported on the substrate 112 comprising polymer or metal (Figure 2C, paragraphs [0071], [0077], & [0081]), but does not teach the substrate comprising cellulose having hygroscopicity. However, Liu et al disclose a detection chip (ABSTRACT). Liu teaches that the detection chip is constructed with a paper substrate (i.e., cellulose having hygroscopicity) for photothermal material platform with hydrophilic micro-well for containing liquid sample therewithin and such configuration can enhance detection signal and improve detection sensitivity with small sample volume and low cost (ABSTREACT & paragraphs [0028] – [0031]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize paper for a substrate to support the photothermal material as suggested by Liu in order to enhance detection signal and improve detection sensitivity with small sample volume and low cost within the device of Jung.
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches that the photothermal film 131a surrounds the well 111b and the through hole of well 111b may be a cylindrical shape (Figures 2B & 2C, paragraphs [0073] & [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches that the photothermal film 131a is disposed on the well 111b and the through hole of well 111b may be a cylindrical shape (Figures 2B & 2C, paragraphs [0073] & [00758).
Regarding claim 10, it should be noted that “a sample” and “a detection material” are materials worked upon the device. It has been held that material worked upon a device does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115). Moreover, the limitations of “receives heat from … and causes a chemical reaction …” are related to manners of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 11, it should be noted that “the sample”, “the detection material” and “an indicator whose color changes according to pH” are materials worked upon the device. It has been held that material worked upon a device does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115). Moreover, the limitations of “pH changes when a chemical reaction occurs” are related to manners of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches that an upper glass layer and a lower glass layer are provided on the upper side and the lower side of the chip having the substrate (Figure 4, paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 13, Jung teaches that the upper glass layer and the lower glass layer include edges and cover the entire chip 110b (Figure 4, paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 14, Jung teaches that the chip 110b is enclosed between the upper glass layer and the lower glass layer having edges (Figure 4, paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches a plurality of wells 111b for receiving the sample therewithin (Figures 2B & 2C, paragraphs [0004], [0040], & [0045]).
Regarding claims 16, it should be noted that “the first sample”, “a detection material” and “an indicator whose color changes according to pH” are materials worked upon the device. It has been held that material worked upon a device does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115). Moreover, the limitations of “receiving heat from … to cause a chemical reaction …” are related to manners of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jung et al (PG-PUB US 2023/0044621) and Liu et al (CN 114791415) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boydston et al (PG-PUB US 2020/0406539).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches that the photothermal material comprises carbon black and other material (paragraphs [0081] – [0082]) while Liu teaches Ag2S has photothermal property (ABSTREACT & paragraph [0028]), but Jung/Liu does not teach the photothermal material as being a mixture of carbon black and PDMS. However, Boydston et al disclose photothermal material (ABSTRACT). Boydston teaches that the photothermal material comprises carbon black combined with PDMS as a dispersing agent to form a matrix to surround and embed the photothermal material (Figure 2, paragraphs [0021] – [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to combine carbon black with PDMS as suggested by Boydston in order to form uniformly dispersed matrix for the photothermal material within the device of Jung.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143A).
Regarding claim 6, Boydston teaches that the wavelength of the photothermal material is in a range of 700 nm to 1200 nm (paragraph [0031])
Regarding claim 7,Boydston teaches 1% of carbon black in the photothermal material (paragraph [0055] & Table 1).
Response to Arguments
Due to the applicant’s amendments, rejections under 112 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 10-16 are rejected. Claim 8 is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795