DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendment
3. This is a Non-Final Office action in response to applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 10/21/2025.
4. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1, 9, 18, 25 have been amended.
• Claims 5, 14, 22, 30 were previously canceled.
• Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-21, 23-29, 31-33 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks and arguments
5. Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 10/21/2025 with respect to the rejection of amended independent claims 1, 9, 18, 25 have been fully considered. The applicant argues that the cited reference of Ohlsson does not disclose “receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE”. Applicant further states that Ohlsson’s handover procedure involves only one UE, and Ohlsson’s asserted “receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information” relates to the asserted UE receiving the temporary identity information of itself, rather than receiving the UE identity information of a different UE operating as the relay UE for the asserted UE.
6. The examiner does not agree with the applicant’s assessment. However, for the clarity of the record, newly discovery prior art of BANGOLAE et al. (WO 2016/182597 A1) is cited to cure the deficiency of Huawei.
Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-21, 23-30, 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei (Technical support for LTE device to device, UE-to- Network relays for IoT and wearables, May 15, 2017, 11 pages, hereinafter Huawei) in view of BANGOLAE et al. (WO 2016/182597 A1) and further in view of CHENG et al. (US 20230156854 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Huawei discloses a method comprising: sending, by a user equipment (UE) (Huawei, page 2, scenario 2a: remote UE) to a source access node (Huawei, page 2, scenario 2a: eNB1), a message including a relay UE information report comprising information associated with a plurality of UEs detectable by the UE (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 scenario 2a-2: RRC meas report); participating, by the UE with the source access node, in a handover initiation (Huawei, pages 5-7, Figure 2a-2: section 8, eNB1 to eNB2 move: Source eNB to provide the eRemote UE and eRelay UE relationship towards to target eNB); detaching, by the UE, from the source access node (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 Scenario 2a-2: RRC connection reconfiguration); and participating, by the UE with the selected UE, in a handover completion (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 Scenario 2a-2: RRC Connection Reconfig. Complete).
Huawei does not appear to explicitly disclose the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE; synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection.
In the same field of endeavor, BANGOLAE discloses the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE (BANGOLAE, abstract, Figs 4-9, para. 49-50, 53-58, 66, 67: the eNodeB (source access node) sending a relay initiation and configuration message to a UE and can include information about another UE (the remote UE) for which the receiving UE will act as a relay (e.g., remote UE ID). Moreover, BANGOLAE also discloses the eNodeB … can communicate a relay information message to the remote UE. The relay information message may indicate that the relay UE is to act as a relay for the remote UE. The network (source node) sends a message to one UE containing identity/role information about another UE (i.e. selected UE different from the receiving UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei with the teaching of BANGOLAE to include the above features such as receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE as taught by BANGOLAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide functionality of a relay user equipment (UE) operable to act as a relay between a remote UE and an eNodeB.
The combination of Huawei and BANGOLAE does not appear to explicitly disclose synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection.
In the same field of endeavor, CHENG discloses synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection (CHENG, para. 107: the remote UE common DRX may need timing synchronization among all the remote UEs and relay UEs. In this case, relay nodes may always be CONNECTED and, therefore, synchronized with gNB. The remote UE, on the other hand, may need synchronization. If the DRX is configured in SIB and/or pre-configured, the relay node may be required to send a sidelink broadcast channel (SL-BCH) for the synchronization of remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE with the teaching of CHENG to include the above features such as synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the at selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection as taught by CHENG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system for coordinating sidelink discontinuous reception mode for a remote UE connected to a relay that is connected to a network entity (e.g., a gNB).
Regarding claim 2, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 1, the relay UE information report comprising at least one of UE identity information of the plurality of UEs, measurements of at least one connection between the UE and the plurality of UEs, or cell identity information of cells of the plurality of UEs (Huawei, Figure 2a-2, page 7, section 2: The eRemote UE reports to the serving eNB with the information of selected eRelay UE, e.g., via measurement report message).
Regarding claim 3, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 1, the message being sent over a Uu interface (Huawei, page 6: the evolved remote UE communicates directly with the eNB via Uu interface).
Regarding claim 4, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing, by the UE, relay UE discovery and authorization (Huawei, pages 5 and 7: The eRemote UE performs relay discovery procedure and selects a suitable eRelay UE).
Regarding claim 6, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 5, the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving first cell identity information of a cell of the selected UE (Huawei, page 6: the evolved remote UE communicates directly with the eNB via Uu interface, and then switches to the evolved relay UE served by a cell belonging to another eNB which is different from the previous serving cell of the evolved remote UE).
Regarding claim 7, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 6, the participating in the handover completion comprising: setting up, by the UE with the selected UE, the sidelink connection (Huawei, page 5, scenario 5.x.3.1 Solution 2a-1: The UE may be able to set up the PC5 connection before the handover); and sending, by the UE to the cell of the selected UE, a reconfiguration complete message (Huawei, page 4, Figure 1-1: eRemote UE / eRelay UE sends RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message to eNB).
Regarding claim 8, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 6, the cell and the source access node being the same (Huawei, page 4, Figure 1-1: the cell is the source access node).
Regarding claim 10, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, the relay UE information report comprising at least one of UE identity information of the plurality of UEs, measurements of at least one connection between the UE and the plurality of UEs, or cell identity information of cells of the plurality of UEs (Huawei, Figure 2a-2, page 7, section 2: The eRemote UE reports to the serving eNB with the information of selected eRelay UE, e.g., via measurement report message).
Regarding claim 11, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, the initiating the handover comprising: sending, by the source access node to the serving cell, a handover request including UE identity information of the selected UE (Huawei, page 9: Upon receiving all the HANDOVER REQUEST messages related to the indicated eRelay UE and eRemote UE relationship information, the eNB2 performs admission control and prepare the resources for eRelay UE and eRemote UE).
Regarding claim 12, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 11, the initiating the handover comprising: receiving, by the source access node from the serving cell, a handover request acknowledgement (Huawei, page 9, section 5: eNB2 sends the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message of eRelay UE to the eNB1).
Regarding claim 13, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: participating, by the source access node with the UE, in a handover initiation (Huawei, pages 5-7, Figure 2a-2: section 8, eNB1 to eNB2 move: Source eNB to provide the eRemote UE and eRelay UE relationship towards to target eNB), but fails to disclose, however, BANGOLAE discloses the participating in the handover initiation comprising the sending, from the source access node to the UE, the UE identity information of the selected UE (BANGOLAE, abstract, Figs 4-9, para. 49-50, 53-58, 66, 67: the eNodeB (source access node) sending a relay initiation and configuration message to a UE and can include information about another UE (the remote UE) for which the receiving UE will act as a relay (e.g., remote UE ID)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei as modified by CHENG with the teaching of BANGOLAE to include the above features such as sending, from the source access node to the UE, the UE identity information of the selected UE as taught by BANGOLAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide functionality of a relay user equipment (UE) operable to act as a relay between a remote UE and an eNodeB.
Regarding claim 15, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: transferring, by the source access node to the serving cell, sequence number status (Huawei, page 7, section 8: The source eNB sends SN Status Transfer to the target eNB).
Regarding claim 16, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: sending, by the source access node to the serving cell, a data forwarding end marker for the UE (Huawei, page 6, Figure 2a-1: The source eNB sends the RRC Measurement Control to the serving cell).
Regarding claim 17, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 9, the source access node and the serving cell being the same (Huawei, page 4, Figure 1-1: the cell is the source access node).
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Huawei discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors (Remote UE inherently comprise at least one processor); and a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to perform operations including: sending, to a source access node (Huawei, page 2, scenario 2a: Remote UE sending to eNB1), a message including a relay UE information report comprising information associated with a plurality of UEs detectable by the UE (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 scenario 2a-2: RRC meas report); participating, with the source access node, in a handover initiation (Huawei, pages 5-7, Figure 2a-2: section 8, eNB1 to eNB2 move: Source eNB to provide the eRemote UE and eRelay UE relationship towards to target eNB); detaching from the source access node (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 Scenario 2a-2: RRC connection reconfiguration); and participating, with the selected UE, in a handover completion (Huawei, Figure 1-1, pages 4-7, section 5.x.3.2 Scenario 2a-2: RRC Connection Reconfig. Complete).
Huawei does not appear to explicitly disclose the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE; synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection.
In the same field of endeavor, BANGOLAE discloses the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE (BANGOLAE, abstract, Figs 4-9, para. 49-50, 53-58, 66, 67: the eNodeB (source access node) sending a relay initiation and configuration message to a UE and can include information about another UE (the remote UE) for which the receiving UE will act as a relay (e.g., remote UE ID). Moreover, BANGOLAE also discloses the eNodeB … can communicate a relay information message to the remote UE. The relay information message may indicate that the relay UE is to act as a relay for the remote UE. The network (source node) sends a message to one UE containing identity/role information about another UE (i.e. selected UE different from the receiving UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei with the teaching of BANGOLAE to include the above features such as receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs, the selected UE being different from the UE as taught by BANGOLAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide functionality of a relay user equipment (UE) operable to act as a relay between a remote UE and an eNodeB.
The combination of Huawei and BANGOLAE does not appear to explicitly disclose synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection.
In the same field of endeavor, CHENG discloses synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection (CHENG, para. 107: the remote UE common DRX may need timing synchronization among all the remote UEs and relay UEs. In this case, relay nodes may always be CONNECTED and, therefore, synchronized with gNB. The remote UE, on the other hand, may need synchronization. If the DRX is configured in SIB and/or pre-configured, the relay node may be required to send a sidelink broadcast channel (SL-BCH) for the synchronization of remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE with the teaching of CHENG to include the above features such as synchronizing, by the UE, with the selected UE, the at selected UE operating as a relay UE for communication between the UE and a target access node over a sidelink connection as taught by CHENG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system for coordinating sidelink discontinuous reception mode for a remote UE connected to a relay that is connected to a network entity (e.g., a gNB).
Regarding claim 19, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the UE of claim 18, the relay UE information report comprising at least one of UE identity information of the plurality of UEs, measurements of at least one connection between the UE and the plurality of UEs, or cell identity information of cells of the plurality of UEs (Huawei, Figure 2a-2, page 7, section 2: The eRemote UE reports to the serving eNB with the information of selected eRelay UE, e.g., via measurement report message).
Regarding claim 20, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the UE of claim 18, the message being sent over a Uu interface (Huawei, page 6: the evolved remote UE communicates directly with the eNB via Uu interface).
Regarding claim 21, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the UE of claim 18, the operations further comprising: performing relay UE discovery and authorization (Huawei, pages 5 and 7: The eRemote UE performs relay discovery procedure and selects a suitable eRelay UE).
Regarding claim 23, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the UE of claim 18, the participating in the handover initiation comprising: receiving first cell identity information of a cell of the selected UE (Huawei, page 6: the evolved remote UE communicates directly with the eNB via Uu interface, and then switches to the evolved relay UE served by a cell belonging to another eNB which is different from the previous serving cell of the evolved remote UE).
Regarding claim 24, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the UE of claim 23, the participating in the handover completion comprising: setting up, with the selected UE, the sidelink connection (Huawei, page 5, scenario 5.x.3.1 Solution 2a-1: The UE may be able to set up the PC5 connection before the handover); and sending, to the cell of the selected UE, a reconfiguration complete message (Huawei, page 4, Figure 1-1: eRemote UE / eRelay UE sends RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message to eNB).
Regarding claim 26, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the access node of claim 25, the relay UE information report comprising at least one of UE identity information of the plurality of UEs, measurements of at least one connection between the UE and the plurality of UEs, or cell identity information of cells of the plurality of UEs (Huawei, Figure 2a-2, page 7, section 2: The eRemote UE reports to the serving eNB with the information of selected eRelay UE, e.g., via measurement report message).
Regarding claim 27, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the access node of claim 25, the initiating the handover comprising: sending, to the serving cell, a handover request including UE identity information of the selected UE (Huawei, page 9: Upon receiving all the HANDOVER REQUEST messages related to the indicated eRelay UE and eRemote UE relationship information, the eNB2 performs admission control and prepare the resources for eRelay UE and eRemote UE).
Regarding claim 28, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the access node of claim 27, the initiating the handover comprising: receiving, from the serving cell, a handover request acknowledgement (Huawei, page 9, section 5: eNB2 sends the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message of eRelay UE to the eNB1).
Regarding claim 29, Huawei as modified by CHENG discloses the access node of claim 25, the operations further comprising: participating, with the UE, in a handover initiation (Huawei, pages 5-7, Figure 2a-2: section 8, eNB1 to eNB2 move: Source eNB to provide the eRemote UE and eRelay UE relationship towards to target eNB), but fails to disclose, however, BANGOLAE further the participating in the handover initiation comprising the sending, to the UE, the UE identity information of the selected UE (BANGOLAE, para. 12, 14, 18: ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei as modified by CHENG with the teaching of Ohlsson to include the above features such as receiving, by the UE from the source access node, UE identity information of a selected UE from the plurality of UEs as taught by Ohlsson. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the radio network node to receive the capability information in an efficient and secure manner leading to an improved performance of the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 31, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the access node of claim 25, the operations further comprising: transferring, to the serving cell, sequence number status (Huawei, page 7, section 8: The source eNB sends SN Status Transfer to the target eNB).
Regarding claim 32, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the access node of claim 25, further comprising: sending, to the serving cell, a data forwarding end marker for the UE (Huawei, page 6, Figure 2a-1: The source eNB sends the RRC Measurement Control to the serving cell for the UE).
Regarding claim 33, Huawei as modified by BANGOLAE and CHENG discloses the method of claim 12, however, BANGOLAE further discloses the handover request acknowledgement indicating: the UE identity information of the selected UE, identity information of the target access node, and a data radio bearer (DRB) configuration for the UE to establish the sidelink connection with the selected UE (BANGOLAE, abstract, Figs 4-9, para. 49-50, 53-58, 66, 67: The eNodeB 730 can merely send an acknowledgement (ACK) to the relay UE 720 indicating that the relay UE 720 is permitted to act as a relay. The eNodeB (source access node) may also send a relay initiation and configuration message to a UE and can include information about another UE (the remote UE) for which the receiving UE will act as a relay (e.g., remote UE ID). The remote UE may discontinue using the relay UE as a relay after the remote UE successfully establishes an RRC connection, sends an RRC connection request, or establishes an EPS bearer for an application that was previously served by the relay UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huawei as modified by CHENG with the teaching of BANGOLAE to include the above features such as the handover request acknowledgement indicating: the UE identity information of the selected UE, identity information of the target access node, and a data radio bearer (DRB) configuration as taught by BANGOLAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system for coordinating sidelink discontinuous reception mode for a remote UE connected to a relay that is connected to a network entity (e.g., a gNB).
Conclusion
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466