DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 18/164,267 filed on 02/03/2023, in
which the amendments and arguments filed on 10/24/2025.
Claims 1-3, 8, and 11-15 has been amended.
No claims have been added.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2202703.1, filed on 02/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS(s)) submitted on 05/02/2023 has been received and considered. The information disclosure statement filed 10/18/2023 and 10/18/2023 has been received and considered.
Response to Amendment
5. With regards to claim 1 rejection under USC 103 the Applicants respectfully disagree with the Examiner's interpretation of Noonan in view of Schlichting’s teachings, and in turn, respectfully disagree with the Examiner's reading of the control system limitations on Noonan in view of Schlichting. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims the reading of “… control system that determines, in dependence on the position of at least a first electronic identifier […] a cutting strategy for performing the cutting operation to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of an electronic identifier” is disclosed in Noonan Paragraph 0012, 0030, and 0034. Noonan discloses in Paragraph 0030 a first RFID tag in a location on the outer tail end and an inner tail end and the outer tail end is joined together prior to being separated at the section where it will be cut thus not damaging any of the RFID tags. The above stated interactions are within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “… control system that determines, in dependence on the position of at least a first electronic identifier […] a cutting strategy for performing the cutting operation to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of an electronic identifier” as claimed.
Examiner also respectfully disagrees with the applicant under the most reasonable interpretation, examiner believes “ […] and the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers.” Schlichting discloses in Paragraphs 0100 two tags are placed on the segment of web which is used for wrapping an object and the distance between the two tags is larger than quarter of the circumferential length of the object to be wrapped and smaller than three quarters of this length, preferably equal to half of the length. The above stated interactions are within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “[…] and the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers” as claimed. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system that determines, in dependence on the position of at least a first electronic identifier […] a cutting strategy for performing the cutting operation to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of an electronic identifier of Noonan with the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers, of Schlichting to a wrapping apparatus wherein a wrapping malfunction can automatically be detected without the need of wrapping the object in the chamber into a specific web of wrapping material. Therefore, the design incentives of increasing efficiency of detecting a wrapping malfunction in a wrapping apparatus provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner. For these reasons applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant also respectfully disagrees that claim 13 is unpatentable dependent on claim 1. For the reasons explained above Examiner disagrees and has determined the arguments are unpersuasive for the same reasons as described above therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Specification
6. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
• Abstract is less than 50 words.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20090107349 A1) to Noonan et al. (hereinafter Noonan) in view of Schlichting (US 20170057680 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noonan discloses A control system for controlling a cutting operation performed by one or more operational components of an agricultural baler on a wrapping material incorporating a plurality of electronic identifiers, the control system comprising one or more controllers, and being configured to: (Noonan Paragraph 0011: “a control arrangement that includes a wrap material separating device for automatically separating pre-partitioned”)(Noonan Paragraph 0028: “electronic control arrangement 171”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114 a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130”)
receive data indicative of a position of a first electronic identifier; (Noonan Paragraph 0013: “RFID tag reader which senses the number and other information contained on the tag as well as the location of the tag”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114”)[…] determine, in dependence on the position of at least a first electronic identifier (Noonan Paragraph 0012: “a first RFID tag is located near an outer tail end of, and offset to one side of, the length of wrapping material in a position for being read by a first RFID tag reader located on either the module forming apparatus or module wrapping apparatus.”) […] a cutting strategy for performing the cutting operation to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of an electronic identifier; (Noonan Paragraph 0030: “As considered when wrapped about a given module 94, each of the segments 106 includes an inner tail section 108 and an outer tail end 110, with the section 108 and tail end 110 being joined together prior to being separated by the cut-off or separation device 130 of the module wrapping system 80.”) (Note: The section 108 and tail end 110 is cut where it is joined together) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”) (Note: When separating the lead wrapping material segment from the adjacent following segment the cutoff device can cut the two segments at the tail end 110)
and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling one or more operational components associated with the baler in dependence on the determined cutting strategy. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Noonan does not disclose […] receive data indicative of a distance between adjacent electronic identifiers; […] and the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers,
However, Schlichting does teach […] receive data indicative of a distance between adjacent electronic identifiers; […] and the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers, (Schlichting Paragraph 0010: “The wrapping material 86 is formed as a sequence of several identical segments 106 each comprising three RFID tags 112, 114, 116.”) (Schlichting Paragraph 0100: “distance between the two tags”) (Schlichting Paragraph 0193: “The tag reader 4.2 is positioned with respect to the tag 50 such that the tag reader 4.2 can detect the tag 50”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noonan to include […] receive data indicative of a distance between adjacent electronic identifiers; […] and the distance between adjacent electronic identifiers, taught by Schlichting. This would have been for the benefit to provide a wrapping apparatus with the features of the preamble of claim 1 and a wrapping method with the features of the preamble of claim 20 wherein a wrapping malfunction can automatically be detected without the need of wrapping the object in the chamber into a specific web of wrapping material. [Schlichting Paragraph 0018]
Regarding claim 2, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cutting strategy further comprises one of: increasing the number of preset wrapping material layers; (Noonan Paragraph 0036: “One possible use of this information is to give notice to an operator, by way of a display 178, for example, as to how many wrap segments 106 are still left on the supply roll 84 so that the operator knows when a new supply roll 84 of wrapping material 86 must be loaded into the wrapping mechanism 80.”) or decreasing the number of preset wrapping material layers; or neither increasing or decreasing the number of preset wrapping material layers.
Regarding claim 3, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more operational components further comprises a user interface operable to communicate information indicative of the determined cutting strategy to an operator of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Referring again to FIG. 1, an RFID reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the wrapping material guide structure 92, and, during wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer to cause operation of the cutting mechanism for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106. Another RFID reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed. The orientation and power level of the RFID reader 122 is such that at least one wrap must be completed during the wrapping process before the reader will identify the tag assembly 114. In the event that the tag assembly 114 is not identified within a certain time after a signal has been sent to initiate the wrapping operation, a warning would be provided to the operator to help prevent the operator from letting the module 94 exit the machine 10 prior to being wrapped.”) (Note: The operator is notified when the cutting strategy fails)
Regarding claim 4, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 3, configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for controlling operation of the user interface to communicate the information indicative of the determined cutting strategy to an operator of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Referring again to FIG. 1, an RFID reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the wrapping material guide structure 92, and, during wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer to cause operation of the cutting mechanism for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106. Another RFID reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed. The orientation and power level of the RFID reader 122 is such that at least one wrap must be completed during the wrapping process before the reader will identify the tag assembly 114. In the event that the tag assembly 114 is not identified within a certain time after a signal has been sent to initiate the wrapping operation, a warning would be provided to the operator to help prevent the operator from letting the module 94 exit the machine 10 prior to being wrapped.”) (Note: The operator is notified when the cutting strategy fails)
Regarding claim 5, Noonan discloses The control system of claim 1, wherein the one or more operational components further comprises a severing apparatus for operation in accordance with the determined cutting strategy. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 6, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 5, configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for automatically controlling the severing apparatus to sever the wrapping material during a baling operation. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 7, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 1, configured to: receive position data from an electronic identification system associated with the agricultural baler; (Noonan Paragraph 0013: “RFID tag reader which senses the number and other information contained on the tag as well as the location of the tag”) and determine a cutting strategy in dependence thereon. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 8, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the electronic identification system further comprises a reader of the electronic identifier. (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 9, Noonan discloses The control system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the electronic identification system is mounted or otherwise coupled to the agricultural baler and configured to monitor electronic identifiers passing into a baling chamber of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Another RFID tag reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed.”)
Regarding claim 11, Noonan discloses A system for controlling a cutting operation performed by at least one controllable components of an agricultural baler on a wrapping material, further comprising: a severing apparatus for severing wrapping materials passing into a baling chamber of an agricultural baler; (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “A wrapping material cut-off or separation device 130 is provided for selectively separating the supply roll 84 from a length of wrapping material that is being wrapped about a completely formed module 94 located in the baling chamber 38. The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”)
and a control system as claimed in claim 1 configured to control operation of the severing apparatus and/or the wrapping apparatus in accordance with a determined cutting strategy to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of an electronic identifier. (Noonan Paragraph 0030: “As considered when wrapped about a given module 94, each of the segments 106 includes an inner tail section 108 and an outer tail end 110, with the section 108 and tail end 110 being joined together prior to being separated by the cut-off or separation device 130 of the module wrapping system 80.”) (Note: The section 108 and tail end 110 is cut where it is joined together) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”) (Note: When separating the lead wrapping material segment from the adjacent following segment the cutoff device can cut the two segments at the tail end 110)
Regarding claim 12, Noonan discloses An agricultural baler further comprising the system of claim 11.
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over Noonan (US 20090107349 A1) in view of in view of Schlichting (US 20170057680 A1) and further in view of (US20190124850 A1) to Okamura et al. (hereinafter Okamura).
Regarding claim 10, Noonan discloses claim 1 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Noonan discloses […] and determine the cutting strategy in dependence thereon. (Noonan Paragraph 0052: “An RFID reader 182 is supported at an upper location between the side plates 166 and 168 so as to be positioned for sensing the attached RFID tag assembly 112 when the latter is positioned at the top of the module 94, thus indicating the presence of the loose inner tail section 108 at the top of the bale, this being the desired position of the tail section for the removal of the module wrapping when removal is to be done by cutting a slit across a width of the wrapping at a bottom location of the module.”) (Note: The module 94 That has the RFIDs mounted on it and since the RFID indicates the loose inner tail section is used in determining to cut the Module 94 at the bottom of the module)
Noonan does not disclose The control system as claimed in claim 1, configured to receive a user input indicative of a position of a first electronic identifier provided by an operator of the agricultural baler
However, Okamura does teach The control system as claimed in claim 1, configured to receive a user input indicative of a position of a first electronic identifier provided by an operator of the agricultural baler (Okamura Paragraph 0046: “An operator installs one RFID tag 30 per the roll forming material K.”) (Okamura Paragraph 0051: “The RFID reader 50 is, for example, a portable reader that can be carried by a operator, and has a reading part 51 and an outputting part 52.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noonan to include The control system as claimed in claim 1, configured to receive a user input indicative of a position of a first electronic identifier provided by an operator of the agricultural baler taught by Okamura. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient crops management system that is disposed on a forming machine that is configured to output formed material information relating to the formed material, as a wireless tag disposed on the formed material and configured to store indentifying information of the formed material, and a management device having an obtaining part configured to obtain the identifying information of the formed material and the formed material information of the formed material, and a relating part configured to relate the formed material information to the identifying information obtained by the obtaining part. [Okamura Paragraph 0005]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Noonan (US 20090107349 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Noonan discloses A method of controlling operation of one or more controllable components of an agricultural baler, comprising: (Noonan Paragraph 0011: “a control arrangement that includes a wrap material separating device for automatically separating pre-partitioned”) (Noonan Paragraph 0028: “electronic control arrangement 171”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114 a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130”)
receiving data indicative of data indicative of a position of a first electronic identifier on a wrapping material incorporating a plurality of electronic identifiers; (Noonan Paragraph 0013: “RFID tag reader which senses the number and other information contained on the tag as well as the location of the tag”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114”)
determine, in dependence on the position of a first electronic identifier, a cutting strategy for performing a cutting operation to avoid severing of the wrapping material in the region of the electronic identifier; (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”) and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling one or more operational components associated with the agricultural baler in dependence on the determined cutting strategy. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 14, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein the cutting strategy further comprises one of: increasing the number of preset wrapping material layers; or decreasing the number of preset wrapping material layers; or neither increasing or decreasing the number of preset wrapping material layers. (Noonan Paragraph 0036: “One possible use of this information is to give notice to an operator, by way of a display 178, for example, as to how many wrap segments 106 are still left on the supply roll 84 so that the operator knows when a new supply roll 84 of wrapping material 86 must be loaded into the wrapping mechanism 80.”)
Regarding claim 15, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein the one or more operational components further comprises a user interface operable to communicate information indicative of the determined cutting strategy to an operator of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Referring again to FIG. 1, an RFID reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the wrapping material guide structure 92, and, during wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer to cause operation of the cutting mechanism for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106. Another RFID reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed. The orientation and power level of the RFID reader 122 is such that at least one wrap must be completed during the wrapping process before the reader will identify the tag assembly 114. In the event that the tag assembly 114 is not identified within a certain time after a signal has been sent to initiate the wrapping operation, a warning would be provided to the operator to help prevent the operator from letting the module 94 exit the machine 10 prior to being wrapped.”) (Note: The operator is notified when the cutting strategy fails. Information indicate of a determined cutting strategy is any information regarding the cutting strategy.)
Regarding claim 16, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 15, configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for controlling operation of the user interface to communicate the information indicative of the determined cutting strategy to an operator of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Referring again to FIG. 1, an RFID reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the wrapping material guide structure 92, and, during wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer to cause operation of the cutting mechanism for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106. Another RFID reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed. The orientation and power level of the RFID reader 122 is such that at least one wrap must be completed during the wrapping process before the reader will identify the tag assembly 114. In the event that the tag assembly 114 is not identified within a certain time after a signal has been sent to initiate the wrapping operation, a warning would be provided to the operator to help prevent the operator from letting the module 94 exit the machine 10 prior to being wrapped.”) (Note: The operator is notified when the cutting strategy fails. Information indicate of a determined cutting strategy is any information regarding the cutting strategy.)
Regarding claim 17, Noonan discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more operational components further comprises a severing apparatus for operation in accordance with the determined cutting strategy. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 18, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 17, configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for automatically controlling the severing apparatus to sever the wrapping material during a baling operation. (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “RFID tag reader 120 is provided on an upper rear location of the vehicle frame 12 adjacent a rear underside region of the wrapping material guide structure 92. During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 19, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 13, further comprising: receiving position data from an electronic identification system associated with the agricultural baler; and determining a cutting strategy in dependence thereon. (Noonan Paragraph 0013: “RFID tag reader which senses the number and other information contained on the tag as well as the location of the tag”) (Noonan Paragraph 0026: “The cut-off or separation device 130 includes an upstanding, horizontal, transverse cutting blade 132 fixed rearward of the lower rear gate roll 62 and having a cutting edge 134.”) (Noonan Paragraph 0033: “The RFID tag assemblies 112, 114 and 116 are strategically placed on each wrapping material segment 106 to allow RFID tag reading capability”) (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “During wrapping operation, when the reader 120 identifies the presence of the tag assembly 114, a signal can be sent to the on board computer 170 to cause operation of the cut-off or separating device 130 for separating the lead wrapping material segment 106 from the adjacent following segment 106.”)
Regarding claim 20, Noonan discloses The method as claimed in claim 19, wherein the electronic identification system is mounted to the agricultural baler and configured to monitor electronic identifiers passing into a baling chamber of the agricultural baler. (Noonan Paragraph 0034: “Another RFID tag reader 122 is provided at a location adjacent the inlet 40 of the module-forming chamber 38. The reader 122 is positioned such that it will detect the tag assembly 114, regardless of the diameter of the cotton module 94 being formed.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664