This office action is in response to amendments filed August 11, 2026.
Claims 1, 9, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weik et al. (US Publication 20200333756A1) in further view of Herzi (US Publication 20160110273A1), Zaehring et al. (US Patent 10108889B1), and Gorgievski et at. (US Publication 20220381651A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weik teaches a controller for a barrier operator, comprising:
a control board communicatively coupled to the barrier operator and a device (FIG. 1 schematically shows … a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board ... plurality of relay controlled devices 3; a variable frequency drive 4 ... a single board computer 5 ... a motor assembly 6; a position sensor/encoder 7)([0039]; Figure 1 – a control board coupled to apparatus (i.e., a devices and barrier operators) is shown);
a display communicatively coupled to the control board (FIG. 1 schematically shows ... a display 8)([0039]); and
one or more data processors (a control board based on an FPGA ... with a micro controller with processor)([0019]) configured to:
receive device data of the device and optionally the barrier operator (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored);
generate … content in response to the device data … and display the … content on the display … (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code and the natural-language content are concurrently displayed in response to user input.
However, generating and concurrently displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code) in response to user input is taught by Herzi (a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0040], [0048], and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded content is generated and displayed in response to user input. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
The combination of Weik-Herzi fails to teach the user input is a user prompt (i.e., selection of an element on a display), wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data (e.g., error).
However, displaying content in response to a user selection of an element on a display, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes device error is taught by Zaehring (the inventive concepts disclosed herein are directed to a widget for displaying a QR code populated with data pertinent to a system ... a QR code including at least a portion of data associated with the error or system generating the error, and renders the QR code on the display ... elements rendered on the display 208 may each be associated with an input such that a user may select an element on the display. Selecting such input instructs the processor 202 to send a request to the graphics server 210 to generate a QR code)( column 2 lines 51-53 and 65-67 and column 3 line 1 and lines 55-59).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Zaehring teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying of Zaehring such that content is displayed in response to a user prompt, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting pertinent data in a viable format (column 2 lines 51-55).
The combination of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring fails to teach scanning the QR code by a handheld device causes the handheld device to display repair instructions and/or diagnostic information retrieved from a remote source based on data in the QR code.
However, scanning a QR code by a handheld device to cause the device to display repair instructions and/or diagnostic information retrieved from a remote source based on data in the QR code is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... Display of the data in the QR codes 101 a-101 b may include, but is not limited to, one or more timestamps, one or more hardware configuration numbers, one or more software configuration numbers, and zero or more error codes detected by the automatic teller machine 100 … the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0046], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring to include the displaying of Gorgievski such that scanning a QR code by a handheld device causes the handheld device to display repair instructions and/or diagnostic information retrieved from a remote source based on data in the QR code. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repair of a faulty machine ([0039]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 2, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1 further comprising an input device communicatively coupled to the control board (Weik - FIG. 1 schematically shows a plurality of multiple input control devices 1)([0036]), wherein the input device is configured to generate a query signal in response to activation of the input device, and wherein the natural-language content and the encoded content are displayed on the display in response to the query signal (although Weik does not teach generating and displaying natural-language content and the encoded in response to a query signal generated in response to activation of an input device, said generating and displaying is taught by Herzi (processing device 306 executes one or more diagnostic routines in response to an error signal ... a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … return the HTML content ... the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0034], [0040], and [0049]). The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski to include the generating and displaying of Herzi such that a query signal is generated upon an input device trigger and content is displayed in response. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi)).
Regarding claim 3, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 2, wherein the input device comprises an electrical switch or push button (Herzi - possible hot-key combinations include, but are not limited to, simultaneously pressing a function key and the power button, or pressing an escape key and the power button)([0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the device has first state and a second state, and the device data indicates whether the device is in the first state or the second state, and optionally further comprising a relay that is electrically coupled to the device and communicatively coupled to the control board, wherein the relay is configured to generate a status signal in response to the device being in the first state or the second state, and wherein the control board is configured to generate the device data in response to the status signal (Weik - control board (discussed in further detail in the FPGA section) can sense that they are connected as well as sense their ON or OFF state)([0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to receive controller data of the controller, and to generate the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content).
Regarding claim 7, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski the controller of claim 6, wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 8, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to retrieve local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and to display the local informational content on the display, wherein the local information content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Weik teaches a system for a barrier operator, comprising:
a controller (FIG. 1 schematically shows … a controller 2)([0039]) comprising;
a control board communicatively coupled to the barrier operator and a device (an FPGA based Control Board ... plurality of relay controlled devices 3; a variable frequency drive 4 ... a single board computer 5 ... a motor assembly 6; a position sensor/encoder 7)([0039]; Figure 1 – a control board coupled to apparatus (i.e., a devices and barrier operators) is shown);
a display communicatively coupled to the control board (FIG. 1 schematically shows ... a display 8)([0039]); and
one or more data processors (a control board based on an FPGA ... with a micro controller with processor)([0019]) configured to:
receive device data of the device and optionally the barrier operator (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored),
generate … content in response to the device data … and display the … content on the display (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code and the natural-language content are concurrently displayed in response to user input.
However, generating and concurrently displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code) in response to user input is taught by Herzi (a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0040], [0048], and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded content is generated and displayed in response to user input. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
The combination of Weik-Herzi fails to teach the user input is a user prompt (i.e., selection of an element on a display), wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data (e.g., error).
However, displaying content in response to a user selection of an element on a display, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes device error is taught by Zaehring (the inventive concepts disclosed herein are directed to a widget for displaying a QR code populated with data pertinent to a system ... a QR code including at least a portion of data associated with the error or system generating the error, and renders the QR code on the display ... elements rendered on the display 208 may each be associated with an input such that a user may select an element on the display. Selecting such input instructs the processor 202 to send a request to the graphics server 210 to generate a QR code)( column 2 lines 51-53 and 65-67 and column 3 line 1 and lines 55-59).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Zaehring teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying of Zaehring such that content is displayed in response to a user prompt, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting pertinent data in a viable format (column 2 lines 51-55).
Although the combination of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring discloses of a handheld device comprising processors, a camera, and a display (Weik - The computer used by the service technician can be any commonly called a laptop, desktop, pad, smartphone, smart device)([0039]; smart devices (e.g., a smartphone) contains processors, a camera, and a display). Weik-Herzi-Zaehring differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi fails to teach receiving the QR code using the handheld device’s camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on data in the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content.
However, receiving a QR code using a handheld device’s camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on data in the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... Display of the data in the QR codes 101 a-101 b may include, but is not limited to, one or more timestamps, one or more hardware configuration numbers, one or more software configuration numbers, and zero or more error codes detected by the automatic teller machine 100 … the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0046], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handheld device of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring to include the receiving, the retrieving and the displaying of Gorgievski such that a handheld device’s camera receives a QR code, retrieves remote content from a remote database based on data in the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displays the remote content. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repair of a faulty machine ([0039]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 11, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more data processors of the controller are further configured to receive controller data of the controller generated by the control board, and to generate the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content), wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 12, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to retrieve local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and to display the local informational content on the display, and optionally wherein the local informational content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the controller further comprises an input device communicatively coupled to the control board (Weik - FIG. 1 schematically shows a plurality of multiple input control devices 1)([0036]), wherein the input device is configured to generate a query signal in response to activation of the input device, and wherein the natural- language content and the encoded content are displayed on the display in response to the query signal (although Weik does not teach generating and displaying natural-language content and the encoded in response to a query signal generated in response to activation of an input device, said generating and displaying is taught by Herzi (processing device 306 executes one or more diagnostic routines in response to an error signal ... a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … return the HTML content ... the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0034], [0040], and [0049]). The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski to include the generating and displaying of Herzi such that a query signal is generated upon an input device trigger and content is displayed in response. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi)).
Regarding claim 15, Weik teaches a method for displaying content for a controller for a barrier operator, the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more data processors of the controller device data of a device (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored);
generate … content in response to the device data … and displaying the … content on a handheld display of the handheld device (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code and the natural-language content are concurrently displayed in response to user input.
However, generating and concurrently displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code) in response to user input is taught by Herzi (a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0040], [0048], and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded content is generated and displayed in response to user input. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
The combination of Weik-Herzi fails to teach the user input is a user prompt (i.e., selection of an element on a display), wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data (e.g., error).
However, displaying content in response to a user selection of an element on a display, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes device error is taught by Zaehring (the inventive concepts disclosed herein are directed to a widget for displaying a QR code populated with data pertinent to a system ... a QR code including at least a portion of data associated with the error or system generating the error, and renders the QR code on the display ... elements rendered on the display 208 may each be associated with an input such that a user may select an element on the display. Selecting such input instructs the processor 202 to send a request to the graphics server 210 to generate a QR code)( column 2 lines 51-53 and 65-67 and column 3 line 1 and lines 55-59).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Zaehring teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying of Zaehring such that content is displayed in response to a user prompt, wherein displayed encoded content comprises a QR code that dynamically encodes a portion of device data. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting pertinent data in a viable format (column 2 lines 51-55).
Although the combination of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring discloses of a handheld device comprising a camera and a display (Weik - The computer used by the service technician can be any commonly called a laptop, desktop, pad, smartphone, smart device)([0039]; smart devices (e.g., a smartphone) contains a camera and a display). Weik-Herzi differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi fails to teach receiving the QR code using the handheld device’s camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content.
However, receiving a QR code using a handheld device’s camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on data in the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... Display of the data in the QR codes 101 a-101 b may include, but is not limited to, one or more timestamps, one or more hardware configuration numbers, one or more software configuration numbers, and zero or more error codes detected by the automatic teller machine 100 … the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0046], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handheld device of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring to include the receiving, the retrieving and the displaying of Gorgievski such that a handheld device receives a QR code, retrieves remote content from a remote database based on data in the QR code, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displays the remote content. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repair of a faulty machine ([0039]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 17, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 15 further comprising receiving controller data of the controller, and generating the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content).
Regarding claim 18, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 17, wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 19, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 15 further comprising retrieving local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and displaying the local informational content on the display (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 20, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 19, wherein the local informational content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - The touch screen display can ... display at least one of: coached step by step set-up instructions for door and motor control system; display installation videos)([0109]).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, Gorgievski in further view of Czapar (US Publication 20140085309A1).
Regarding claim 10, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the system as applied above, wherein remote content is retrieved (Gorgievski - The mobile device 92 subsequently generates recommended actions based on ... the recommendations received from the computer 82)([0046]). Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski fails to teach the content comprises a user manual.
However, retrieving content including a user manual is taught by Czapar (A mobile phone 304 is configured to read QR code 306 displayed at interface 202 ... Mobile phone 304 is configured to interpret the QR code 306 and to communicate with a data server 308 to obtain ... a user manual)([0030] and [0031]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, Gorgievski, and Czapar teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retrieving of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski to include the retrieving of Czapar such that a user manual is retrieved. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing additional documentation to assist in troubleshooting.
Regarding claim 16, Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski teach the method as applied above, wherein remote content is retrieved (Gorgievski - The mobile device 92 subsequently generates recommended actions based on ... the recommendations received from the computer 82)([0046]). Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski fails to teach the content comprises a user manual.
However, retrieving content including a user manual is taught by Czapar (A mobile phone 304 is configured to read QR code 306 displayed at interface 202 ... Mobile phone 304 is configured to interpret the QR code 306 and to communicate with a data server 308 to obtain ... a user manual)([0030] and [0031]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Zaehring, Gorgievski, and Czapar teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retrieving of Weik-Herzi-Zaehring-Gorgievski to include the retrieving of Czapar such that a user manual is retrieved. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing additional documentation to assist in troubleshooting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding claim 1, 9, and 15, the applicant argues the Gorgievski does not teach “retrieving remote content based on device data encoded in QR code”; the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gorgievski discloses a QR code which includes device data (i.e., error code) in an encoded format (i.e., code based presentation) “Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... The system 80 implements QR code-based presentations of error codes … Display of the data in the QR codes 101 a-101 b may include, but is not limited to, one or more timestamps, one or more hardware configuration numbers, one or more software configuration numbers, and zero or more error codes detected by the automatic teller machine 100” ([0036], [0037], and [0046]). Specifically, Gorgievski discloses the QR code is presented and scanned by a user utilizing a handheld’s camera “the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a” ([0069] and [0070]) such that the handheld parses data and uploads the data to a remote database (i.e., computer) to retrieve repair instructions and/or diagnostic information (i.e., recommended actions) for presentation on the handheld’s display “The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98” ([0070] and [0071]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for a QR code encoding data.
US20120303323A1
How Do QR Codes Work? QR Code Technical Basics
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118