DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Große (US 2012/0100761).
Regarding claim 1, Große discloses a battery cell connector 1 comprising a first terminal part 2, a second terminal part 4, a connecting part 6 which is arranged between the terminal parts 2,5, and a flat piece 8 which is connected to the second terminal part 4 (abstract, Figs 1b-3b). As seen in Figures 1b-3b, the first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6 form a single component [first electrical contact]. Therefore, the second terminal part 4 [second electrical contact] is joined directly to the first electrical contact [first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6].
Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact is configured to flex relative to the second electrical contact along a first axis and along a second axis.
Regarding claim 2, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars that are connected to a first and second different battery.
Regarding claim 3, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5).
With regards to the limitation of “wherein the first battery is within a first cell stack and the second battery is within a different, second cell stack”, it is noted that the claim is directed to “an electrical connection system” and therefore the scope of the claim is directed to the electrical connection (comprising a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact). The limitations of a “first battery”, “first cell stack”, “second battery” and “second cell stack” are outside the breadth of the claim as said limitations are directed to what the electrical connection system connects (which is outside of the connection itself). Therefore, because Große teaches that battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), Große meets the limitations of the claim which are directed to the electrical connection system.
Regarding claim 4, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5). As seen in Figure 5, the terminals 22 are within the boundaries of the cell, and therefore the terminals are disposed within a case of the respective battery.
In addition, with regards to the limitation of “wherein a portion of the first battery terminal is disposed within a case of the first battery, and a portion of the second battery terminal is disposed within a case of the second battery”, it is noted that the claim is directed to “an electrical connection system” and therefore the scope of the claim is directed to the electrical connection (of a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact). The limitations of a “first battery terminal”, “case of the first battery”, “second battery terminal” and “case of the second battery” are outside the breadth of the claim as said limitations are directed to what the electrical connection system connects (which is outside of the connection itself). Therefore, because Große teaches that battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), Große meets the limitations of the claim which are directed to the electrical connection system.
Regarding claims 5-6, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The central region 6a of the connecting part 6 and first terminal part 2 (first electrical contact) has bends with bending angles 13 ([0110], Figs 1b-2c), while the second terminal part 4 does not have any bends.
Regarding claim 9, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große teaches the batteries are used to make battery packs and in vehicles ([0004]).
Regarding claims 10-12, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is more flexible than the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4), and the second electrical contact is rigid relative to the first electrical contact.
Regarding claim 13, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is configured to flex back-and-forth vertically and to flex back-and-forth horizontally.
Regarding claim 14, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars.
Regarding claim 15, Große discloses a battery cell connector 1 comprising a first terminal part 2, a second terminal part 4, a connecting part 6 which is arranged between the terminal parts 2,5, and a flat piece 8 which is connected to the second terminal part 4 (abstract, Figs 1b-3b). As seen in Figures 1b-3b, the first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6 form a single component [first electrical contact]. Therefore, the second terminal part 4 [second electrical contact] is joined directly to the first electrical contact [first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6].
Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact is configured to flex relative to the second electrical contact along a first axis and along a second axis, and therefore the first contact is flexed during the joining.
Regarding claim 17, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is configured to flex back-and-forth vertically and to flex back-and-forth horizontally, and therefore the flexing includes flexing vertically and flexing horizontally.
Regarding claim 18, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is more flexible than the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4).
Regarding claim 19, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars that are directly connected to a first and second different battery.
Regarding claim 20, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große teaches the batteries are used to make battery packs and in vehicles ([0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Große (US 2012/0100761), as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499).
Regarding claim 7, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, while Große discloses ventilation opening 14a and positioning opening 14c where the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 meet ([0113]-[0114], Figs 1b-2c), Große does not explicitly disclose a mechanical fastener that joins the second electrical contact directly to the first electrical contact, wherein the mechanical fastener is received within both a first aperture of the first electrical contact and within a second aperture of the second electrical contact.
Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4). In an embodiment, the third region 623 has a bent portion 623a ([0084], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coupling holes and bolt for jointing electrical connection pieces as taught by Cho with the meeting of the first and second terminal parts of Große for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together.
Regarding claim 16, Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, while Große discloses ventilation opening 14a and positioning opening 14c where the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 meet ([0113]-[0114], Figs 1b-2c), Große does not explicitly disclose joining the first electrical contact to the second electrical contact with a mechanical fastener.
Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4). In an embodiment, the third region 623 has a bent portion 623a ([0084], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coupling holes and bolt for jointing electrical connection pieces as taught by Cho with the meeting of the first and second terminal parts of Große for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Große (US 2012/0100761) in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ochi (US 2011/0064993).
Regarding claim 8, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Cho discloses coupling using coupling holes and bolts ([0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4), modified Große does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first aperture or the second aperture is oval-shaped.
Ochi discloses a battery array provided with a plurality of battery cells 1 that are connected by metal plates 3 [busbars] (abstract). The metal plates 3 can have through-holes 4 wherein the through-holes 4 can be elongated [oval-shaped] holes 4A,34A ([0009], Fig 8-9, 14). The elongated holes allow for connection to absorb dimensional error ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elongated [oval-shaped] holes for joining electrical components as taught by Ochi with the openings of modified Große for the purpose of allowing for the connection to absorb dimensional error.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725