DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses pending claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-15, and 17-23. Claims 1-2, 8, and 15 were amended, claims 3, 7, and 16 were cancelled, and claims 21-23 were added in the response filed 5/11/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first cross-member disposed along a side of the first cell stack” and “second cross-member disposed along a side of the second cell stack” of claims 21 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Große (US 2012/0100761) in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499).
Regarding claim 1, Große discloses a battery cell connector 1 comprising a first terminal part 2, a second terminal part 4, a connecting part 6 which is arranged between the terminal parts 2,5, and a flat piece 8 which is connected to the second terminal part 4 (abstract, Figs 1b-3b). As seen in Figures 1b-3b, the first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6 form a single component [first electrical contact]. Therefore, the second terminal part 4 [second electrical contact] is joined directly to the first electrical contact [first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6].
Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact is configured to flex relative to the second electrical contact along a first axis and along a second axis.
Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5).
With regards to the limitation of “first electrical contact electrically connected to a first battery terminal of a first battery within a first cell stack” and “a second electrical contact electrically connected to a second battery terminal of a second battery within a cell stack that is different than the first cell stack”, it is noted that the claim is directed to “an electrical connection system” and therefore the scope of the claim is directed to the electrical connection (comprising a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact). The limitations of a “first battery”, “first cell stack”, “second battery” and “second cell stack” are outside the breadth of the claim as said limitations are directed to what the electrical connection system connects (which is outside of the connection itself). Therefore, because Große teaches that battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), Große meets the limitations of the claim which are directed to the electrical connection system.
However, while Große discloses ventilation opening 14a and positioning opening 14c where the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 meet ([0113]-[0114], Figs 1b-2c), Große does not explicitly disclose a mechanical fastener received within both a first aperture of the first electrical contact and a second aperture of the second electrical contact.
Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4). In an embodiment, the third region 623 has a bent portion 623a ([0084], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coupling holes and bolt for jointing electrical connection pieces as taught by Cho with the meeting of the first and second terminal parts of Große for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together.
Regarding claim 2, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars that are connected to a first and second battery.
Regarding claim 4, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5). As seen in Figure 5, the terminals 22 are within the boundaries of the cell, and therefore the terminals are disposed within a case of the respective battery.
In addition, with regards to the limitation of “wherein a portion of the first battery terminal is disposed within a case of the first battery, and a portion of the second battery terminal is disposed within a case of the second battery”, it is noted that the claim is directed to “an electrical connection system” and therefore the scope of the claim is directed to the electrical connection (of a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact). The limitations of a “first battery terminal”, “case of the first battery”, “second battery terminal” and “case of the second battery” are outside the breadth of the claim as said limitations are directed to what the electrical connection system connects (which is outside of the connection itself). Therefore, because Große teaches that battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), Große meets the limitations of the claim which are directed to the electrical connection system.
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The central region 6a of the connecting part 6 and first terminal part 2 (first electrical contact) has bends with bending angles 13 ([0110], Figs 1b-2c), while the second terminal part 4 does not have any bends.
Regarding claim 9, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große teaches the batteries are used to make battery packs and in vehicles ([0004]).
Regarding claims 10-12, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is more flexible than the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4), and the second electrical contact is rigid relative to the first electrical contact.
Regarding claim 13, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is configured to flex back-and-forth vertically and to flex back-and-forth horizontally.
Regarding claim 14, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars.
Regarding claim 15, Große discloses a battery cell connector 1 comprising a first terminal part 2, a second terminal part 4, a connecting part 6 which is arranged between the terminal parts 2,5, and a flat piece 8 which is connected to the second terminal part 4 (abstract, Figs 1b-3b). As seen in Figures 1b-3b, the first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6 form a single component [first electrical contact]. Therefore, the second terminal part 4 [second electrical contact] is joined directly to the first electrical contact [first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6].
Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact is configured to flex relative to the second electrical contact along a first axis and along a second axis, and therefore the first contact is flexed during the joining.
However, while Große discloses ventilation opening 14a and positioning opening 14c where the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 meet ([0113]-[0114], Figs 1b-2c), Große does not explicitly disclose a mechanical fastener received within both a first aperture of the first electrical contact and a second aperture of the second electrical contact.
Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4). In an embodiment, the third region 623 has a bent portion 623a ([0084], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coupling holes and bolt for jointing electrical connection pieces as taught by Cho with the meeting of the first and second terminal parts of Große for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together.
Regarding claim 17, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is configured to flex back-and-forth vertically and to flex back-and-forth horizontally, and therefore the flexing includes flexing vertically and flexing horizontally.
Regarding claim 18, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) is more flexible than the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4).
Regarding claim 19, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]-[0085]), and therefore the first electrical contact (first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6) and the second electrical contact (second terminal part 4) are busbars that are directly connected to a first and second different battery.
Regarding claim 20, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Große teaches the batteries are used to make battery packs and in vehicles ([0004]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Große (US 2012/0100761) in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ochi (US 2011/0064993).
Regarding claim 8, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Cho discloses coupling using coupling holes and bolts ([0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4), modified Große does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first aperture or the second aperture is oval-shaped.
Ochi discloses a battery array provided with a plurality of battery cells 1 that are connected by metal plates 3 [busbars] (abstract). The metal plates 3 can have through-holes 4 wherein the through-holes 4 can be elongated [oval-shaped] holes 4A,34A ([0009], Fig 8-9, 14). The elongated holes allow for connection to absorb dimensional error ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elongated [oval-shaped] holes for joining electrical components as taught by Ochi with the openings of modified Große for the purpose of allowing for the connection to absorb dimensional error.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Große (US 2012/0100761) in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2016/0293925).
Regarding claim 21, modified Große discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Große discloses that the battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), and Cho teaches electrical pieces connected to each other via bolts (abstract, [0053]-[0054]), modified Große does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electrical contact is mounted on a first cross-member disposed along a side of the first cell stack, and the second electrical contact is mounted on a second cross-member disposed along a side of the second cell stack.
Nakayama discloses a connection structure 10,40 for connecting electrical storage electrical groups 12,42 (abstract). In an embodiment, first 50 and third 54 connecting members [types of electrical contacts] connect the terminals of adjacent electrical storage groups 42, 42A, 42B ([0088]-[0092], Figs 11 and 13). The connection structure includes an insulated protector 61 is dividable into two units 61A, 61B [first and second cross-members] for each electrical storage element group 42, and said two units 61A, 61B are coupled via coupling portions 65 which are provided on a third holding portion 64 ([0094], Figs 11 and 13). Retaining protrusions 64D [mounting] for retaining the third connecting member 54 are provided on the inner surface of the protection wall 64C of the insulated protector 61 to accommodate a displacement between the electrode terminal 14 of the third electrical storage element 43 ([0100], Fig 11). That is, the connection member 54 [type of electrical contact] is mounted [via the retaining protrusions 64D] on a first cross-member [either units 61A, 61B] disposed along a side of a first cell stack [either element group 42A or 42B], and is mounted on a second cross-member [the other of unit 61A, 61B] disposed along a side of the second cell stack [the other of element group 42 or 43B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the insulated protector made of two units [first/second cross-members] with each unit having retaining protrusions [mountings] as taught by Nakayama with the batteries and cell connector of Große for the purpose of insulating and protecting the cell connector.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US 2016/0293925) in view of Große (US 2012/0100761).
Regarding claim 22, Nakayama discloses a battery pack comprising electrical storage device group 42 including first electrical storage element group 42A and second electrical storage element group 42B [either being the first cell stack and the other the second cell stack] ([0084]-[0086], Figs 11-14 ). First 50 and third 54 connecting members [types of electrical contacts] connect the terminals of adjacent electrical storage groups 42, 42A, 42B ([0088]-[0092], Figs 11 and 13). The connection structure includes an insulated protector 61 is dividable into two units 61A, 61B [first and second cross-members] respectively for each electrical storage element group 42A, 42B, and said two units 61A, 61B are coupled via coupling portions 65 which are provided on a third holding portion 64 ([0094], Figs 11 and 13).
Retaining protrusions 64D [mounting] in the two units 61A, 61B for retaining the third connecting member 54 [bus bar] are provided on the inner surface of the protection wall 64C of the insulated protector 61 to accommodate a displacement between the electrode terminal 14 of the third electrical storage element 43 ([0100], Fig 11).
Therefore, the third connecting member 54 [bus bar] is mounted [via the retaining protrusions 64D] on a first cross-member [either units 61A, 61B] disposed along a side of a first cell stack [either element group 42A or 42B], and is mounted on a second cross-member [the other of unit 61A, 61B] disposed along a side of the second cell stack [the other of element group 42 or 43B].
However, Nakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the third connecting member [busbar] is divided into a first busbar mounted on the first cross-member and a second busbar mounted on the second cross-member, with the first busbar joined directly to the second busbar, nor wherein the first busbar configured to flex relative to the second busbar along a first axis and along a second axis transverse to the first axis.
Große discloses a battery cell connector 1 comprising a first terminal part 2, a second terminal part 4, a connecting part 6 which is arranged between the terminal parts 2,5, and a flat piece 8 which is connected to the second terminal part 4 (abstract, Figs 1b-3b). As seen in Figures 1b-3b, the first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6 form a single component [first busbar]. Therefore, the second terminal part 4 [second busbar] is joined directly to the first busbar [first terminal part 2 and connecting part 6]. Große discloses that the connecting part 6 allows the sides of the first terminal part 2 and second terminal part 4 to be displaced relative to one another in the X direction [vertical direction] ([0117], Fig 1a-b) and the connecting part 6 also has flexibility in the Y direction [horizontal direction] ([0119], Fig 2a-c). Therefore, the first busbar is configured to flex relative to the second busbar along a first axis and along a second axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the multiple component cell connectors [having a first busbar and second busbar joined directly to each other] as taught by Große with the third connecting member of Nakayama for the purpose of having an electrical connection that can provide flexibility.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US 2016/0293925) in view of Große (US 2012/0100761), as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2016/0211499) and Ochi (US 2011/0064993).
Regarding claim 23, modified Nakayama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Nakayama does not explicitly disclose does not explicitly disclose a mechanical fastener received within both a first aperture of the first electrical contact and a second aperture of the second electrical contact.
Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4). In an embodiment, the third region 623 has a bent portion 623a ([0084], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coupling holes and bolt for jointing electrical connection pieces as taught by Cho with the meeting of the first and second terminal parts of Nakayama modified by Große for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together.
Modified Nakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first aperture or the second aperture is oval-shaped.
Ochi discloses a battery array comprising battery cells 1 wherein metal plates 3,23,33 [busbars] connect electrode terminals 2 of adjacent battery cells 1 (abstract, [0009]). The metal plates include through-holes 4, wherein the through-holes can be an elongated hole 4A [oval-shaped] to allow the terminal to move, and allow for error in dimensions to be absorbed in the elongated holes ([0009]-[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elongated hole shape [oval-shaped] of through holes of a metal plate [busbar] as taught by Ochi with the coupling holes of the busbar/connection plates of Nakayama modified by Cho for the purpose of allowing the connection to move and allow for error in dimensions to be absorbed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Große in view of Cho does not disclose the mechanical fastener feature now recited in amended claim 1. Applicant argues that the bolts of Cho are used to couple external terminals, and not between two busbars in which a single fastener is received within an aperture of each busbar. Therefore arguing that Cho does not disclose the claimed architecture of a mechanical fastener received within a first aperture of the first electrical contact and a second aperture of the second electrical contact.
This is not considered persuasive. It is firstly noted that the claim limitation of “first electrical contact electrically connected to a first battery terminal of a first battery within a first cell stack” and “a second electrical contact electrically connected to a second battery terminal of a second battery within a cell stack that is different than the first cell stack”, is outside the scope of the claim because the claim is directed to “an electrical connection system”, and therefore the scope of the claim is towards an electrical connection (comprising a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact). The limitations of a “first battery”, “first cell stack”, “second battery” and “second cell stack” are outside the breadth of the claim as said limitations are directed to what the electrical connection system connects (which is outside of the connection itself). Therefore, because Große teaches that battery cell connector 1 connects battery cells together (abstract, [0084]- [0085]) and connect terminals 22,24 of adjacent batteries 20a-e ([0128]-[0130], Fig 5), Große meets the limitations of the claim which are directed to the electrical connection system.
With regards to Cho, Cho discloses a battery module including first 310 and second 320 connection plates each having third regions 313,323 having coupling holes 313a,323b that are coupled to external terminals 410,420 using a bolt [mechanical fastener] (abstract, [0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4).
The connection plates 310 and 320 are made of conductive material ([0048], [0055]) and can therefore be considered a first/second contact that is electrically connected to a battery terminal. Further, the external terminals 410 and 420 are made of conductive material ([0066], [0068]) and can therefore be considered a first/second contact that is electrically connected to a battery terminal. Because the connection plates and external terminals are made of conductive material, these teachings of Cho can be applied to other electrical connections, including the cell connector having first 2 and second 4 terminal parts with a connecting part and flat piece 8 connected to the second terminal part 4 of Große.
Applicant argues that the rationale offered for the combination of Große and Cho (“for the purpose of connecting the electrical components together”) offered for the combination is entirely generic and does not constitute an articulated reasoning with rationale underpinnings required to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Further arguing that the Examiner has not explained why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to take Cho’s bolt arrangement and apply it to the internal busbar-to-busbar interface proposed by modified Große, particularly when the purposes of those connections are different.
This is not considered persuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrical connections need to, in fact, be connected.
Große teaches that electrical connections connects can be made by a material fit, that includes welding ([0036]), a tool ([0035]), stamping ([0047]), or “another connection method” ([0124]). Cho teaches another connection method where the connection uses coupling via a hole and bolt [mechanical fasteners] ([0054]).
Therefore, the prior art establishes that these electrical connections (including using a mechanical fastener/bolt) are well known within the art, and are within the level of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of connecting electrical connections.
With regards to purpose, both the bolt arrangement of Cho and the internal busbar-to-busbar interface of Große have the purpose of conducting electricity. Therefore, the purposes are the same and/or overlap in scope.
In response to applicant's argument that the Cho’s bolt provides a detachable output connection while the claimed mechanical fastener creates a direct rigid junction, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In addition, the instant specification only describes the second electrical contact as rigid and not the junction itself (see published paragraph [0014], [0015], [0052]); the specification does not support the conclusion that using a mechanical fastener creates a direct rigid junction. It is further unclear how apertures within the first and second contact can create a “direct rigid junction” when said apertures are “oval-shaped” which “enable the fastener 74 to move within the first aperture 78…during the securing” (published paragraph [0053]).
With regards to claim 8, Applicant argues that Ochi’s elongated holes do not supply the oval-shaped aperture feature in the manner the Examiner contends. Applicant argues that Ochi’s elongated holes 4A are sized and positioned to receive electrode terminal posts of individual battery cells, and are not for bolt apertures in busbars.
This is not considered persuasive. Ochi describes the electrode terminals as bolts ([0005]) and illustrates the terminals as bolts (see Figs 14-15) that pass through an elongated hole in a busbar and is fastened. Ochi teaches that the elongated hole allows for connection to absorb dimensional error ([0010]).
As Cho discloses coupling of electrically conductive parts [busbar] using coupling holes and bolts ([0053]-[0054], [0060]-[0061], Figs 1-2 and 4), the elongated hole teachings of Ochi can be applied to other electrical connections which involve coupling holes and bolts as, as stated above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrical connections need to, in fact, be connected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725