DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 05/03/2023 has been considered and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 and Sub-species a in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged.
Species 1 consists of claims 1,43,45. Sub-species a consists of claims 2,3,4,5,6,7,11,12,14,21,22,23,27,28,29,44. Only the elected claims are being examined. All remaining claims that do not correspond to the elected invention are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 27,28,43 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 is objected to as being improperly formatted and containing unnecessary repetition, which renders the claim unclear as to the intended scope. Specifically, claim 27 repeats the limitation “wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to derive one or more channel parameters and to compare the one or more channel parameters with an expected function or a value of the respective channel parameter, or a combination of multiple parameters,” resulting in redundant “or” clauses.
Claim 28 is objected to as containing informal and unclear language. Specifically, the phrase “wherein is configured to In one receive from a network, base station or transmission point (TRP) a message comprising information to enable estimating the channel state” is grammatically incorrect and lacks a clear subject, rendering the claim unclear as to its intended wording.
For purposes of examination, this claim was interpreted as “wherein the transceiver is configured to receive, from a network, base station or transmission point (TRP) a message comprising information to enable estimating the channel state.”
Claim 43 is objected to for informal and grammatically incorrect language.
The phrase “performing a measurements” is not grammatically correct and renders the claim unclear as to whether a single measurement or multiple measurements are performed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,5,6,7,11,12,14,21,22,23,27,29,43,44,45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (WO 2020069083, hereinafter Khoryaev) in view of Opshaug et al. (US 20200145955, hereinafter Opshaug)
Regarding claim 1, Khoryaev discloses a transceiver for receiving a receive signal or a plurality of receive signals to be used for position determination, the transceiver comprising (Par. 18: Lines 1-3; Positioning reference signals (PRS) are used to measure the signal location parameters (SLP) for determining a UE location; Claim 1: The apparatus includes circuitry configured to transmit and receive RF signals (i.e. transceiver)):
a measurement unit configured to perform measurements to detect an information on a first arriving path, the information comprises a time or a direction for the first arriving path (Par. 22: The first arriving paths (FAP) are processed to determine timing and angular information); and
a channel state analyzer configured to estimate a LOS channel condition to determine a channel state information describing the condition of the first arriving path (Par. 29: Lines 1-2; The UEs or base stations can classify LOS status or non-LOS status (LOS channel condition); Par. 30: Additional information of LOS state and information on confidence level of LOS state (channel state information) can be reported).
Khoryaev does not disclose the positioning determination is performed over multiple points of time.
Opshaug, however, discloses receiving a receive signal or the plurality of receive signals to be used for position determination over multiple points of time (Par. 98; The location of a mobile device can be determined by PRS occasions. By determining the position at multiple times, a more accurate position can be estimated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev’s channel-state based positioning to use receive signals over multiple points of time as taught by Opshaug, in order to improve the accuracy and robustness of the position determination.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer configured to analyze a correlation profile of the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals, wherein the analyzing comprises:
extraction of a first information for the correlation profile at a first point of time (Par. 23: Lines 4-9 and Fig. 2; Channel input response (CIR) used six different paths; The positioning circuitry analyzes the CIR as a correlation profile of the received signal; Par. 22: Lines 1-3; FAP from three different base stations (different times) are used to determine UE location by measuring time, angular information, etc.; These parameters are represented from the first CIR peak); and
extraction of a second information for the correlation profile at a second point of time (Par. 23: Lines 4-9 and Fig. 2; Channel input response (CIR) used six different paths; The positioning circuitry analyzes the CIR as a correlation profile of the received signal; Par. 22: Lines 1-3; FAP from three different base stations (different times) are used to determine UE location by measuring time, angular information, etc.; CIR contains multiple paths at later time positions which correspond to a second set of information at a second point in time); and
extraction of a third information for the correlation profile at a third point of time;
wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to determine the channel state information based on a relationship of the first, second and third information with respect to each other (Par. 29: Lines 1-12; LOS vs non-LOS is estimation of FAP timing; The CIR gives FAP path timing and multipath structure).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals comprises multiple frames (Par. 23: Lines 4-8; There are six different path in the CIR; A CIR estimate depends on multiple samples of the reference signal, meaning the UE has received multiple PRS reference occasions (i.e., multiple frames)) or is a periodic signal or a semi-persistent signal or a signal with a known time offset; and/or wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to perform the evaluation for further points of time (Par. 22: Lines 1-6; The FAP is analyzed for arrival path information; Par. 23: The UE collects information about other paths (further points in times). The CIR shows six different peaks (six different times) and uses this information to help determine location; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses a transceiver receiving a plurality of receive signals (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1) but does not disclose wherein the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals is received along a movement of the transceiver for receiving the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals over the first, second and third point of time or along a movement of a transmitter outputting the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals over the first, second and third point of time.
Opshaug, however, discloses wherein the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals is received along a movement of the transceiver for receiving the receive signal (Par. 84; Bundled (i.e. consecutive) PRS occasions are received by a moving UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transceiver of Khoryaev to receive the plurality of positioning / reference signals while the UE is moving, over multiple consecutive PRS occasions corresponding to first, second, and third points in time as taught by Opshaug, in order to reduce motion-induced positioning error and improve OTDOA accuracy during a shorter positioning session—an expected and predictable improvement when applying known motion-robust PRS bundling techniques to the positioning transceiver of Khoryaev.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to classify the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals as LOS state, NLOS state (Par. 29: Lines 1-2; the UE may classify LOS status or non-LOS status for different channels/links; Par. 29: Lines 9-12; LOS/NLOS classification is performed by the UE or gNB) or to classify the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals as LOS state, NLOS state, OLOS state; and/or to classify the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals as LOS state, NLOS state or MPC state (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the information to be extracted refers to at least one of the group comprising:
magnitude of the FAP peak (Par. 38: Lines 2-4; The UE can use reference signals and estimate RX power carried by each detected multipath component of the CIR; Par. 39: RSRP/RSRP measurements are made for the FAP; The power of the FAP corresponds to the magnitude of the FAP peak; The remaining limitations are given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses the transceiver according to claim 1, wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to detect a first arriving path (Par. 29: Lines 9-12; The UE or gNB determines LOS/NLOS by performing estimation of the first arrival path) and/or a time-position of the first arriving path at a first, second and third point of time (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the transceiver comprises a position determination entity configured to determine a position information based on an information regarding the first arriving path of the received signal (Par. 22; The UEs location can be determined by processing first arrival path information) or the plurality of receive signals taking into account the channel state information (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to analyze the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals with regard to a confidence of the channel state (Par. 29: Lines 1-9; The classification of LOS/NLOS is associated with a confidence level) and/or with regard to a quality of the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals; and/or wherein a high amplitude and/or a sharp lobe indicates a high quality of the receive signal or the plurality of receive signals; and/or wherein a low amount of information for the correlation profile out of a general trend of all information for the correlation profile indicates a high confidence of the channel state (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to perform an analysis of a correlation profile with respect to a phase and amplitude (Par. 23: Lines 4-9; The CIR is used to help determine the location of the UE; The CIR inherently carries amplitude and phase information as it is a complex valued function).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to determine the LOS or NLOS channel state condition from a complex correlation at a measurement instant (Par. 23: Lines 4-9; The CIR is used to help determine the location of the UE; Par. 29: Lines 9-12; The FAP information is used to determine LOS/NLOS; The CIR is complex valued and is used to extract FAP information that is used to classify LOS/NLOS), comprising the substeps: Detecting the time of arrival of a first arriving path within the measurement instant (Par. 29: Lines 9-12; To determine LOS/NLOS classification, first arrival path timing is used; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the evaluation represents a complex correlation area; and/or wherein the evaluation represents a difference between a reference complex correlation and a reference complex correlation; and/or wherein the evaluation is performed on the more evaluation at multiple time instants (Par. 22: Lines 2-3; FAP information received by the UE come from three different base stations (different instances); Par. 23; Because the UE receives multiple signals, the CIR is analyzed multiple times; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to derive one or more channel parameters and to compare the one or more channel parameters with an expected function or a value of the respective channel parameter, or a combination of multiple parameters (This limitation was given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”); or wherein the channel state analyzer is configured to derive one or more channel parameters and to compare the one or more channel parameters with an expected function or a value of the respective channel parameter (This limitation was given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”), or a combination of multiple parameters or wherein an expected function or value of the respective channel parameter is dependent on channel state (LOS, NLOS and OLOS) and the measurement or reference channel (Par. 29: Lines 9-14; LOS/NLOS classification is made by using FAP path timing and analyzing frequency flatness characteristics or measuring he power of the FAP; Classifying a signal into LOS/NLOS is done by comparing measured characteristics to specific parameters).
Regarding claim 29 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev discloses the transceiver according to claim 1 being part of a user equipment (downlink) (Par. 10: Lines 3-4; Wireless communication devices may be UEs or base stations; Par. 11: Lines 1-5; Each device includes positioning circuitry that analyze receive signals and generate signals to determine location), or being part of TRPTRP (uplink) or being part of a user equipment (sidelink) communicating with another user equipment (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optimal language “or”).
Regarding claim 43, Khoryaev discloses a channel state analysis comprising:
performing a measurements to detect an information of a first arriving path, advantageously a time or a direction for a first arriving path (Par. 22; FAP signals are post-processed for timing, timing difference, angular information, etc.); and
estimating a LOS channel condition to determine a channel state information describing the condition of the FAP (Par. 29: Lines 1-2; The different channels/links may be classified as LOS/NLOS; Par. 30; A report can be introduced to indicate additional information on LOS state and information on confidence level of LOS state).
Khoryaev does not disclose receiving a receive signal or the plurality of receive signals to be used for position determination over multiple points of time.
Opshaug, however, discloses receiving a receive signal or the plurality of receive signals to be used for position determination over multiple points of time (Par. 98; The location of a mobile device can be determined by PRS occasions. By determining the position at multiple times, a more accurate position can be estimated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev’s channel-state based positioning to use receive signals over multiple points of time as taught by Opshaug, in order to improve the accuracy and robustness of the position determination.
Regarding claim 44 as applied to claim 43, the rejection of claim 2 addresses the limitations presented in claim 44. Therefore, the limitations of claim 44 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 45, the rejection of claim 43 addresses the limitations presented in claim 45. Therefore, the limitations of claim 45 have been addressed. A computer program is necessarily needed to perform the recited functions.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (WO 2020069083, hereinafter Khoryaev) in view of Opshaug et al. (US 20200145955, hereinafter Opshaug) in further view of Manolakos et al. (WO 2020072171, hereinafter Manolakos)
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Opshaug discloses measuring of a signal over multi-points of time but Khoryaev in view of Opshaug does not disclose wherein the multi-points of time are defined by at least one out of a group comprising the following:
a slot number of a radio frame,
a OFDM symbol number l, where l=0 corresponds to the first OFDM symbol of the SRS or PRS transmission,
or a OFDM symbol index l’ of the slot that corresponds to the first OFDM symbol of the SRS transmission in the given slot.
Manolakos, however, disclose a beam index of derived from a frame and slot (Par. 71: Lines 4-6; A beam index may be derived from a time of transmission, e.g., frame and slot; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the standard NR/LTE radio-frame timing structure of Manolakos (frame, slot, and OFDM symbol indices) to Khoryaev in view of Opshaug’s multi-point-in-time measurements, as both references address time-indexed processing of positioning-related signals, and using the well-known frame/slot timing convention provides a predictable and consistent way to identify the measurement instants. Accordingly, defining the multi-points of time by a slot number of a radio frame or an OFDM symbol index would have been an obvious design choice.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (WO 2020069083, hereinafter Khoryaev) in view of Opshaug et al. (US 20200145955, hereinafter Opshaug) in further view of Soriaga et el. (US 20200229010, hereinafter Soriaga)
Regarding claim 28 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev in view of Opshaug does not disclose wherein the transceiver is configured to receive from a network, base station or transmission point (TRP) a message comprising information to enable estimating the channels state.
Soriaga, however, discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to receive from a network, base station or transmission point (TRP) a message comprising information to enable estimating the channels state (Par. 72: Lines 1-13; The UE receives, from a base station, reference RF signals such as PRS and channel state information reference signals that contain information enabling the UE to identify LOS/shortest path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transceiver of Khoryaev in view of Opshaug to be further configured to receive, from the network/base station/TRP, reference signals carrying information for estimating channel state as taught by Soriaga, in order to improve the robustness and accuracy of channel-state/LOS determination and associated positioning, which is a predictable use of known reference-signal signaling for the same purpose in the same technical field.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648