DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action on merit. Claim 15 was canceled. Claims 1-14, 16-30, after amendment, are presently pending and have been considered below.
Request for Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-14, 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0092685 A1, Fehrenbach et al. (hereinafter Fehrenbach) in view of US 2021/0014785 A1, Vaze et al. (hereinafter Vaze) and further in view of PCT/CN2022/088783, Leng et al. (hereinafter Leng, see US2025/0023699 A1 for citation).
As to claim 1, Fehrenbach discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig 2), comprising: at least one processor, and; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor storing instructions executable by at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a second UE, a first set of one or more synchronization signals via a first component carrier (Fig 18; pars 0162-0163, 0186, a primary synchronization signal being provided to a group of UEs by UE 11 over a sidelink as a primary synchronization signal PSPSS) and a second set of one or more synchronization signals via a second component carrier (Figs 3-4, 21; pars 0186, 0268, 0270, provided as a secondary synchronization signal, PSSSS);
transmit a first measurement report on the first set of one or more synchronization signals and a second measurement report on the second set of one or more synchronization signals (Fig 11b; pars 0629, 0634, 0693, 0705, multiple measurement reports related to synchronization signal being transmitted); and
receive a control message associated with indirect communication between the first UE and a network entity via the second UE (pars 0060-0070, 0221, 0223, 0230-0233, group manager UE communicates directly with the network entity while the group member UEs communicate indirectly with the network entity via relay of the group manager UE), wherein the control message includes a set of parameters associated with a sidelink carrier aggregation between the first UE and the second UE based at least in part on the first measurement report and on the second measurement report (Fig 2; pars 0041-0042, 0047, 0105, 0110, 0113, 0246, sidelink message between the group manager UE ang group member UEs for resources allocation and aggregation towards the network).
Fehrenbach but does not expressly disclose the measurement reports comprising indicative of one or more measurements on the set of one or more synchronization signals and the control message with parameters associated with a sidelink carrier aggregation.
Vaze, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches transmit a first measurement report indicative of one or more first measurements on the first set of one or more synchronization signals and a second measurement report indicative of one or more second measurements on the second set of one or more synchronization signals (Figs 2, 5, 11, 14-17; pars 0004, 0007-0010, 0026-0030). Vaze additionally teaches carrier aggregation can be utilized for inter-band and intra-band communications (Fig 15; pars 0006, 0055, 0072, 0084, 0089).
Nevertheless, Leng, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches different carrier components may be used for sidelink communications among USs including synchronization signaling and/or control message and carrier components may be aggregated over configuration message in sidelink communications (Figs 4-5; pars 0048, 0060, 0063, 0069, 0143, 0147, 0379, 0406).
Therefore, consider Fehrenbach, Vaze, and Leng’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Vaze teachings and Leng’s teachings in Fehrenbach’s apparatus for providing control message including synchronization signal indication in measurement reports and expanded communication path with CA capability.
As to claim 2, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: establish a sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE based at least in part on the control message (Fehrenbach: Figs 4-5; pars 0041-0042, 0047, 0105, 0108, group manager UE and member UEs establish a sidelink connection/communication via a second interface), wherein the control message further includes a second set of parameters associated with a switch from direct communication between the first UE and the network entity to the indirect communication between the first UE and the network entity via the second UE (Fehrenbach: Fig 5; pars 0256, 0259-0263, group member UEs 12A or 12B may connect to base station 13 directly and relay information to UE 11A and 11B, e.g. switching direct and indirect communications with the base station).
As to claim 3, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a second control message associated with a switch from direct communication between the first UE and the network entity to the indirect communication between the first UE and the network entity via the second UE (Fehrenbach: Figs 4-5; pars 0256, 0259-0263), wherein the second control message includes a second set of parameters associated with the switch (Fehrenbach: Fig 5; pars 0256, 0259-0263, group member UEs 12A or 12B may connect to base station 13 directly and relay information to UE 11A and 11B, e.g. switching direct and indirect communications with the base station); and establish a sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE based at least in part on the second control message (Fehrenbach: Figs 4-5; pars 0256, 0259-0263, 0375-0377, such second or third control message associated with switch from direct communication between the first UE and the network entity to indirect communication between the group manger UE and member UEs will occur when a group handover occurs or new members joining the group, also see rejection in claim 2).
As to claim 4, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity, a request to measure the second set of one or more synchronization signals via the second component carrier and to transmit the second measurement report (Fehrenbach: Fig 12: 1, Source eNB sending measurement control to a UE), wherein receiving the second set of one or more synchronization signals and transmitting the second measurement report is based at least in part on receiving the request (Fehrenbach: Fig 12: 2, measurement reports being sent to Source eNB; Fig 12: 9, Synchronization signal being sent to the target eNB; Leng: Figs 4-5; pars 0060, 0379, 0406, different carriers being used for measurement report).
As to claim 5, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second control message responsive to the control message, wherein the second control message indicates a completion of a sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE in accordance with the sidelink carrier aggregation (Fehrenbach: Figs 14, 16; pars 0267-0273, 0347-0355; Leng: Figs 3-4, 11-12).
As to claim 6, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the second UE and in accordance with a sidelink connection establishment procedure, a random access channel message based at least in part on a radio frequency band of a sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE (Fehrenbach: Fig 20; pars 0487-0494, 0629, 0715); and transmit, to the second UE, a random access channel response message based at least in part on receiving the random access channel message (Fehrenbach: Fig 20; pars 0487-0494, 0629, 0715).
As to claim 7, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit data to, or receive data from, the network entity via the second UE in accordance with the indirect communication between the first UE and the network entity via the second UE and the sidelink carrier aggregation between the first UE and the second UE (Fehrenbach: Fig 14; pars 0038-0044).
As to claim 8, Fehrenbach as modified discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig 2), comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor storing instructions executable by at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a second UE, a first set of one or more synchronization signals via a first component carrier (Fig 18; pars 0162-0163. 0186, primary synchronization signal being provided to a group of UEs by UE 11 over a sidelink as a primary synchronization signal PSPSS) and a second set of one or more synchronization signals via a second component carrier (pars 0186, 0268, 0270, provided as a secondary synchronization signal, PSSSS);
establish a sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE in accordance with a switch from direct communication between the second UE and a network entity to indirect communication between the second UE and the network entity via the first UE (Figs 4-5; pars 0041-0042, 0047, 0105, 0108, 0256, 0259-0263, group member UEs 12A or 12B may connect to base station 13 directly and relay information to UE 11A and 11B, e.g. switching direct and indirect communications with the base station); receive, from the second UE, a measurement report (Fig 11b; pars 0629, 0634, 0693, 0705, multiple measurement reports related to synchronization signal being transmitted); and
transmit data to, or receive data from, the second UE in accordance with the indirect communication between the second UE and the network entity via the first UE and a sidelink carrier aggregation between the first UE and the second UE (pars 0105, 0108, 0110-0111, 0256, 0259-0263).
Fehrenbach does not expressly disclose the sidelink carrier aggregation is based at least in part on the first set of one or more synchronization signals and on the one or more measurements of the second set of one or more synchronization signals indicated by the measurement report.
Vaze, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches transmit a first measurement report indicative of one or more first measurements on the first set of one or more synchronization signals and a second measurement report indicative of one or more second measurements on the second set of one or more synchronization signals (Figs 2, 5, 11, 14-17; pars 0004, 0007-0010, 0026-0030) and receive, from the second UE, a measurement report indicative of one or more measurements on the second set of one or more synchronization signals. Vaze additionally teaches carrier aggregation can be utilized for inter-band and intra-band communications (Fig 15; pars 0006, 0055, 0072, 0084, 0089).
Leng, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches different carrier components may be used for sidelink communications among USs including synchronization signaling and/or control message and carrier components may be aggregated over configuration message in sidelink communications (Figs 4-5; pars 0048, 0060, 0063, 0069, 0143, 0147, 0379, 0406).
Therefore, consider Fehrenbach, Vaze, and Leng’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Leng’s teachings in Fehrenbach’s apparatus for providing for providing control message including synchronization signal indication in measurement reports and expanded communication path with CA capability.
15. (Canceled)
As to claim 9, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the network entity, a request to transmit the second set of one or more synchronization signals via the second component carrier (see rejection in claim 4), wherein transmitting the second set of one or more synchronization signals via the second component carrier is based at least in part on receiving the request (see rejection in claim 4).
As to claim 10, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity, a sidelink carrier aggregation capability inquiry message (Fehrenbach: Fig 12: 1, 10, UL allocation; Fig 2; pars 0041-0042, 0047, 0105, 0110, 0113, 0246, sidelink message between the group manager UE ang group member UEs for resources allocation and aggregation towards the network); and transmit, to the network entity in response to the sidelink carrier aggregation capability inquiry message, an indication of a sidelink carrier aggregation capability of the first UE, wherein receiving the request to transmit the second set of one or more synchronization signals via the second component carrier is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the sidelink carrier aggregation capability of the first UE (Fehrenbach: Figs 16, 18, 21; Leng: Figs 4-5; pars 0060, 0379, 0406, component cassier aggregation capability in sidelink communication).
As to claim 11, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the network entity, the measurement report received from the first UE (Fehrenbach: Fig 11b; pars 0629, 0634, 0693, 0705, multiple measurement reports related to synchronization signal being transmitted).
As to claim 12, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the second UE, a control message that indicates a completion of the sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE in accordance with the sidelink carrier aggregation (Fehrenbach: Figs 14, 16; pars 0267-0273, 0347-0355; Leng: Figs 3-4, 11-12); and transmit, to the network entity, the control message received from the second UE (Fehrenbach: Figs 14, 16; pars 0267-0273, 0347-0355; Leng: Figs 3-4, 11-12).
As to claim 13, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the second UE and in accordance with a sidelink connection establishment procedure, a random access channel message based at least in part on a radio frequency band of the sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE (Fehrenbach: Fig 20; pars 0487-0494, 0629, 0715); and receive, from the second UE, a random access channel response message based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message (Fehrenbach: Fig 20; pars 0487-0494, 0629, 0715).
As to claim 14, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein establishing the sidelink connection between the first UE and the second UE is based at least in part on the first set of one or more synchronization signals or is based at least in part on both the first set of one or more synchronization signals and the second set of one or more synchronization signals (Fehrenbach: pars 0143-0144, 0162-0164, sidelink connection between the group manger UE and member UEs is based on synchronization signals received).
15. (Canceled)
As to claim 16, it is essentially a mirror image of operations in an apparatus of a network entity corresponding to an UE’s operations. It is therefore rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 17, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the second UE, a request to transmit the second set of one or more synchronization signals via the second component carrier, wherein receiving the second measurement report is based at least in part on transmitting the request (see rejection in claim 4).
As to claim 18, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
As to claim 19, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 20, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first control message further includes a second set of parameters associated with a switch from direct communication between the first UE and the network entity to the indirect communication between the first UE and the network entity via the second UE (Fig 5; pars 0256, 0259-0263, group member UEs 12A or 12B may connect to base station 13 directly and relay information to UE 11A and 11B, e.g. switching direct and indirect communications with the base station), and wherein transmitting the first control message is based at least in part on both the first measurement report and the second measurement report ((Fig 2; pars 0041-0042, 0047, 0105, 0110, 0113, 0246, sidelink message between the group manager UE ang group member UEs for resources allocation and aggregation towards the network).
As to claim 21, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first UE, a third control message associated with a switch from direct communication between the first UE and the network entity to the indirect communication between the first UE and the network entity via the second UE, wherein the third control message includes a second set of parameters associated with the switch (see rejection in claim 3, note that the control messages are sent continuously whenever a switch between group manager UE and member UEs depending on communication coverage, environment changes, handover situation, and/or new group formed etc.).
As to claim 22, Fehrenbach as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the third control message is transmitted prior to the first control message, wherein transmitting the third control message is based at least in part on the first measurement report, and wherein transmitting the first control message is based at least in part on the second measurement report (see rejection in claims 3 and 4).
As to claim 23, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 24, it is a method claim necessitated by claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claims 25-30, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 2-7, respectively.
Response Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are moot in light of new ground of rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Qun Shen whose telephone number is (571) 270-7927. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Amandeep Saini can be reached on (571) 272-3382. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662