DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Drake et al. (US 20140284850).
Regarding claims 39-43
Although Drake does not disclose the percentage of crosslinking, Drake does disclose a method of controlling the cross-linking rate of a cross-linking compound for use in cross-linking an organic polymer (i.e., matrix material) (claim 26). Further, even if the crosslinking in Drake is greater than claimed, at some point the composition of Drake would pass through the claimed cross-linking range, and thus anticipate the claim.
In the alternative, Drake discloses controlling the crosslinking rate and also teaches that the degree of crosslinking can be limited with the results of a lower glass transition temperature, reduced chemical resistance and lesser tensile strength (para 0010). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to control the crosslinking amount through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize the properties such as the glass transition temperature and tensile strength of the resulting composition for the desired use.
Drake discloses that the polymer is an poly(arylene ether) (i.e., a polyarylene – aromatic polymer matrix material) (claim 34). It is noted that the instant specification discloses that the polymer may be a polyarylene (instant specification paragraph 0017), and is the specifically elected polymer.
Drake discloses a method heat molding the cross-linked organic polymer to forma heat molded article (claim 63).
With respect to the preamble limitation on being - for use in a high end PV end application in which it is subject to a frictional force or used in a tribological system - is an intended use. See Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation").
With respect to the limitation of – when cross-linked, remains operable at a PV of at least about 75,000 psi-ft/min – it is noted that this is a property of the formed composition. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 44
Drake discloses that the organic polymer may include an additive such as carbon fibers, glass fibers, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or graphite (para 0028).
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Drake does not teach the claimed crosslinking percentage range. While this may be true it is not persuasive as Drake either anticipates or makes obvious the claimed range.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734