DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received 5/20/2026. The application is not in condition for allowance for the reasons set forth below. Claims 1-20 remain pending and claims 9, 12, and 19 remain withdrawn from consideration
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the objection of claim 20, Applicant only partially amended claim 20 as suggested, thereby the objection is maintained below.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Applicant argues that Kelly fails to disclose a polymeric outer layer, wherein the first preformed flap has an edge attached to an outer surface of the outer layer as required by amended claim 1 and a plurality of preformed flaps attached to an outer surface of the outer layer as required by amended claims 13 and 20. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kelly discloses in paragraph [0031] that the stent of the stent graft is a cylindrical frame and the graft material of the stent graft may be disposed on the stent’s interior, exterior, or both. Kelly also discloses in paragraph [0033] that the graft material may be a polymeric material. Therefore, Kelly discloses a polymeric outer layer as claimed (the polymeric graft material disposed on the exterior surface of the stent frame). Further, Fig. 4 illustrates the first preformed flap 114 having an edge attached to an outer surface of the stent graft 100 and a second preformed flap 116 attached to an outer surface of the stent graft 100. Since the polymeric graft material is the outer layer of the stent graft 100 as discussed above, the first preformed flap has an edge attached to an outer surface of the outer layer as required by amended claim 1 and the plurality of preformed flaps are attached to an outer surface of the outer layer as required by amended claims 13 and 20.
The Applicant further argues Kelly fails to disclose the retention flaps 134 are used for engaging a vessel wall as claimed. However, it is noted that the claimed preformed flaps are identified as elements 114 and 116 in Kelly, not 134 as argued. Therefore, this argument is rendered moot.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors.
Claim 20 should be amended as follows: “wherein a first preformed flap of the plurality of preformed flaps is positioned along the first end region, and wherein a second preformed flap of the plurality of preformed flaps is positioned…”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelly (US 2017/0035587).
Regarding claim 1, Kelly discloses an expandable stent (100) comprising a tubular scaffold (the stent portion described in [0031]) including an inner surface, an outer surface and a lumen extending therein (Fig. 4), a polymeric outer layer (the graft portion described in [0031] and [0033]) disposed along the outer surface of the tubular scaffold (see [0031] describing the graft may be disposed on the stent’s interior, exterior, or both), and a first preformed flap (114) having an edge attached to an outer surface of the outer layer (Fig. 4, [0046]; wherein the polymeric graft material disposed on the exterior of the stent portion as disclosed in [0031] and [0033] defines an outer surface to which the edge of 114 is attached), wherein the preformed flap is configured to releasably engage a vessel wall when the stent is implanted therein (via free end 126).
Regarding claim 2, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) is configured to pivot between a radially extended position and a collapsed position (can be in the radially extended position as illustrated in Fig. 4 and in the collapsed position as illustrated in Fig. 1, thereby is configured to pivot as claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) is configured to deflect radially inward from a radially extended position (can be in the radially extended position as illustrated in Fig. 4 and in the radially inward position as illustrated in Fig. 1, thereby is configured to deflect as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) includes a first attachment region (124) positioned along the edge of the flap (Fig. 4), and wherein the first preformed flap is attached to the outer surface of the outer layer along the first attachment region (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kelly discloses a second preformed flap (116), and wherein the first preformed flap (114) and the second preformed flap (116) are uniformly spaced around the tubular scaffold (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) and the second preformed flap (116) are longitudinally aligned with each other along the outer layer of the stent (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) is positioned along a proximal end region (104) of the tubular scaffold, and wherein the second preformed flap (116) is positioned along a distal end region (106) of the tubular scaffold.
Regarding claim 11, Kelly discloses the first preformed flap (114) extends in a distal direction toward a distal end of the tubular scaffold (towards 106), and wherein the second preformed flap (116) extends in a proximal direction toward a proximal end of the tubular scaffold (towards 104).
Regarding claim 13, Kelly discloses a stent (100) comprising a tubular scaffold (the stent portion described in [0031]), the scaffold including an inner surface, an outer surface and a lumen extending therein (Fig. 4), a polymeric outer layer (the graft portion described in [0031] and [0033]) disposed along the outer surface of the tubular scaffold (see [0031] describing the graft may be disposed on the stent’s interior, exterior, or both), and a plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) formed separately from and subsequently attached to an outer surface of the outer layer (Fig. 4, [0046]; wherein the polymeric graft material disposed on the exterior of the stent portion as disclosed in [0031] and [0033] defines an outer surface to which the flaps 114, 116 are attached), wherein each of the preformed flaps (114, 116) is configured to pivot between a radially extended position and a collapsed position (can be in the radially extended position as illustrated in Fig. 4 and in the collapsed position as illustrated in Fig. 1, thereby is configured to pivot as claimed), wherein each of the plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) is configured to releasably engage a vessel wall when the stent is implanted therein (via free end 126, 132).
Regarding claim 14, Kelly discloses each of the plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) is configured to deflect radially inward from a radially extended position (can be in the radially extended position as illustrated in Fig. 4 and in the radially inward position as illustrated in Fig. 1, thereby is configured to deflect as claimed).
Regarding claim 17, Kelly discloses the plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) are uniformly spaced around a circumference of the tubular scaffold (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kelly the plurality of preformed flaps are longitudinally aligned along the tubular scaffold (114s are longitudinally aligned with 116s).
Regarding claim 20, Kelly discloses a stent (100) comprising an expandable tubular scaffold (the stent portion described in [0031]) having an outer surface and an opposite inner surface (Fig. 4), the tubular scaffold including a first end region (104), a second end region (106) and a medial region positioned between the first and second end regions (Fig. 4), a polymeric outer layer (the graft portion described in [0031] and [0033]) disposed along the outer surface of the tubular scaffold (see [0031] describing the graft may be disposed on the stent’s interior, exterior, or both), and a plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) attached to an outer surface of the outer layer and extending outward therefrom (Fig. 4, [0046]; wherein the polymeric graft material disposed on the exterior of the stent portion as disclosed in [0031] and [0033] defines an outer surface to which the flaps 114, 116 are attached), wherein each of the preformed flaps (114, 116) is configured to pivot between a radially extended position and a collapsed position (can be in the radially extended position as illustrated in Fig. 4 and in the collapsed position as illustrated in Fig. 1, thereby is configured to pivot as claimed), wherein a first preformed flap (114) of the plurality of preformed flaps is positioned along the first end region (104), and wherein a second preformed flap (116) of the plurality of preformed flaps is positioned along the second end region (106), and wherein each of the plurality of preformed flaps (114, 116) is configured to releasably engage a vessel wall when the stent is implanted therein (via free end 126, 132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5, 6, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Folan et al. (US 2018/0125682).
Kelly fails to disclose how the preformed flaps are coupled to the outer layer, thereby fails to disclose the preformed flaps being bonded to the outer layer using a bonding material. Folan also discloses preformed flaps (34) coupled to an outer surface of a stent (10; Fig. 1). Folan teaches the preformed flaps (34) being bonded to the stent using a bonding material (glue; see [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to have coupled the preformed flaps to the outer layer in Kelly using a bonding material as taught by Folan as doing so provides a suitable means for attachment ([0058]).
With further respect to claims 6 and 16, Applicant discloses the outer layer, preformed flaps, and bonding material may be formed from the same materials or from different materials (page 11, line 20 – page 12, line 2) and there is no evidence that establishes that using the same materials to form the outer layer, preformed flaps, and bonding material over using different materials would result in a difference in function of the device. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the outer layer, preformed flaps, and bonding material of Kelly in view of Folan of the same materials, because Applicant has not disclosed that an outer layer, preformed flaps, and bonding material of the same materials provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the device of Kelly in view of Folan, and Applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the outer layer, preformed flaps, and bonding material being formed from same materials or different materials because Applicant indicates both configurations are equally suitable (page 11, line 20 – page 12, line 2) and both configurations would yield radially extendable flaps configured to releasably engage a vessel wall when the stent is implanted therein.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Kelly in view of Folan to obtain the invention as specified in claims 6 and 16 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Kelly in view of Folan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774