DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih US (2020/0383085) in view of Keating et al. US (2020/0229130), and further in view of Chang et al. US (2022/0039098).
Regarding Claim 1, Shih discloses a communication control method executed in a user equipment, the communication control method comprising: performing one of a first data transmission and a second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the UE determines a validity of a timing parameter associated with one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). The UE determines, based on the validity, whether to initiate a random access procedure for MT-EDT (i.e., MT-EDT includes a “first transmission” by the UE using MO-EDT) or to initiate a transmission using the one or more PURs (i.e., data transmission using PUR may be “second transmission”), [0358] i.e., MO-EDT (i.e., “first transmission” of uplink user data), [0363], [0366-0368] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble on PRACH to the network (e.g., Msg1 of a RA procedure)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, [0370-0372] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble…the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT…The UE monitors for Msg2 which may be an uplink grant for MO-EDT…after receiving, the Msg2, the UE transmits a Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission”) of the RA procedure including uplink data based on the uplink grant provided in Msg2, & [0402])
the first data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state transmits data by using a message of a random access procedure, (see Para’s [0005], [0354-0355] i.e., In RRC_IDLE mode, if a UE initiates a RA procedure, the RA procedure may be for early data transmission (EDT)…After EDT is triggered, uplink user data may be included in a Msg3 during a RA procedure, [0358], [0363] i.e., MO-EDT, [0366-0368] & [0370-0372] i.e., MO-EDT may be initiated by uplink data originated from the UE (i.e., “first transmission”)…the UE transmits Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission” including uplink data) of the RA procedure to the network using the uplink grant provided in the Msg2 (i.e., uplink grant may be for MO-EDT))
the second data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in the RRC idle state transmits data by using a preconfigured radio resource, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the initiates a transmission using one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). [0135], & [0359-0361] i.e., in order to further improve transmission efficiency and/or reduce power consumption for MTC UE’s and/or NB-IoT UEs, transmission in preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) may be introduced…a UE may use one or more dedicated PURs in RRC-IDLE mode if criteria are met…the UE performs a PUR transmission (e.g., a transmission of data to a network via one or more PURs) on a PUR occasion).
wherein the performing comprises: when both first configuration information for the first data transmission and second configuration information for the second data transmission are configured in the user equipment from a base station, (For the “second configuration information” see Para’s [0163-0167], [0235-0241] i.e., PUR resource configuration & [0360-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission on a PUR occasion. In some embodiments, the UE determines the PUR occasion based on time and frequency information of one or more PURs configured in a dedicated PUR configuration of the UE…The dedicated PUR configuration may be provided in a dedicated signaling to the UE when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode. One or more configured PURs configured by the dedicated PUR configuration may be valid when the UE is in RRC_IDLE mode. For the “first configuration information” see Para’s [0364] i.e., the network may use a paging message to trigger the UE to initiate a MT-EDT procedure (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of MT-EDT), [0366] i.e., A dedicated preamble (i.e., dedicated preamble may be “first configuration information” for the first data transmission since it is used for MO-EDT) and/or a PRACH resource may be provided in the paging message (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of the dedicated preamble (i.e., “first configuration information”) and/or the PRACH resource)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, & [0388] i.e., MT-EDT configuration (i.e., “first configuration information”))
determining whether an execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied prior to the first data transmission; (see Para’s [0005], [0162], [0359], & [0377] i.e., In an example where the UE is configured with PUR, the UE maintains a Timing Advance Value during RRC_IDLE mode. When there is uplink data available for transmission to the network, the UE determines whether the timing advance value is valid or not (i.e., “execution condition”) based on some criteria configured by the network (e.g., the UE may determine whether the timing advance value is valid based on at least one of a Timing Advance timer for PUR, one or more Serving Cell RSRP changes, etc.). If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR with the maintained timing advance value. If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure for EDT, & [0384-0387])
and in response to determining that the execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied, performing the second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005], [0359-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission, [0377] i.e., If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR (i.e., “second data transmission”)…If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure (e.g., a RA procedure for EDT) & [0384-0387])
the communication control method further comprising receiving, by the user equipment, an RRC release message (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message)
the RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059] i.e., A RRC connection suspend procedure is used at RRC connection release, [0068] i.e., The eNB suspends the RRC connection by sending an RRC connection release message, & [0413-0414])
Shih does not disclose the claim features of the first transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state and the second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Keating et al. US (2020/0229130).
Keating discloses a UE performing a first transmission in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., A data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode (e.g. early data transmission or small data transmission) refers to data transmission while the UE is still in RRC_IDLE or RRC_inactive state, generally during random access procedure (for example, data transmission as part of Msg2, Msg3, Msg4, or Msg5 in the random access procedure)
and a second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., Alternatively, data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode can also occur without the need for random access, for example using preconfigured uplink resource).
(Keating suggests the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections for properly, (see Para’s [0004-0006], [0009-0010], [0039-0042], & [0046])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the performing by the UE the one of the first transmission and the second transmission while the UE is in the RRC idle mode as disclosed in Shih to perform the one of the first transmission and the second transmission in the RRC inactive state as disclosed in the teachings of Keating who discloses a UE performs data transmission such as early data transmission (EDT) during a random access procedure while the UE is in RRC_idle or RRC_inactive state or alternatively performs data transmission during RRC_idle or RRC_inactive inactive state without the need for random access, using preconfigured uplink resource, because the motivation lies in Keating that the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections.
While Shi discloses the communication control method further comprising receiving, by the user equipment an RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message), the combination of Shih in view of Keating does not disclose the claim feature of the RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2022/0039098).
Chang a UE receiving an RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission (i.e., “PUR transmission”), (see Para’s [0004] & [0040-0041] i.e., the UE entering the RRC idle state may be triggered by receiving the RRC connection release message…the expression ”enabling PUR transmission” refers to a condition in which the UE is configured with a PUR (i.e., ”second data transmission”) and/or the configured PUR is enabled…Preferably, the PUR transmission configuration is carried by the RRC connection release message).
(Chang suggests the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission (see Para [0041]) and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA) (see Para’s [0003-0004] & [0024] i.e., RRC idle state may also be an RRC inactive state)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC release message received by the UE which performs the second data transmission as disclosed in Shih in view of Keating to include the PUR transmission configuration carried by the RRC connection release message received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Shih in view of Keating discloses the communication control method according to claim 1, wherein the performing further comprises: in response to determining that the execution condition for the second data transmission is not satisfied, performing the first data transmission (Shih, see Para [0377] i.e., If the timing advance is determined not to be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure for EDT), the communication control method further comprises: in response to performing the first data transmission, clear the second configuration information configured in the user equipment, (Shih, see Para [0377] i.e., If the timing advance is determined not to be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure for EDT. Upon initiation of the RA procedure, the UE may release the PUR configuration & [0378])
Regarding Claim 3, Shih discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 116 & Fig. 3 & Para’s [0027] & [0041]) comprising: a controller (see Fig. 3 i.e., control circuit 306 & Para’s [0041-0042], [0436], & [0449]) configured to perform one of a first data transmission and a second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the UE determines a validity of a timing parameter associated with one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). The UE determines, based on the validity, whether to initiate a random access procedure for MT-EDT (i.e., MT-EDT includes a “first transmission” by the UE using MO-EDT) or to initiate a transmission using the one or more PURs (i.e., data transmission using PUR may be “second transmission”), [0358] i.e., MO-EDT (i.e., “first transmission” of uplink user data), [0363], [0366-0368] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble on PRACH to the network (e.g., Msg1 of a RA procedure)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, [0370-0372] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble…the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT…The UE monitors for Msg2 which may be an uplink grant for MO-EDT…after receiving, the Msg2, the UE transmits a Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission”) of the RA procedure including uplink data based on the uplink grant provided in Msg2, & [0402])
the first data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state transmits data by using a message of a random access procedure, (see Para’s [0005], [0354-0355] i.e., In RRC_IDLE mode, if a UE initiates a RA procedure, the RA procedure may be for early data transmission (EDT)…After EDT is triggered, uplink user data may be included in a Msg3 during a RA procedure, [0358], [0363] i.e., MO-EDT, [0366-0368] & [0370-0372] i.e., MO-EDT may be initiated by uplink data originated from the UE (i.e., “first transmission”)…the UE transmits Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission” including uplink data) of the RA procedure to the network using the uplink grant provided in the Msg2 (i.e., uplink grant may be for MO-EDT))
the second data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in the RRC idle state transmits data by using a preconfigured radio resource, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the initiates a transmission using one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). [0135], & [0359-0361] i.e., in order to further improve transmission efficiency and/or reduce power consumption for MTC UE’s and/or NB-IoT UEs, transmission in preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) may be introduced…a UE may use one or more dedicated PURs in RRC-IDLE mode if criteria are met…the UE performs a PUR transmission (e.g., a transmission of data to a network via one or more PURs) on a PUR occasion).
wherein the controller (see Fig. 3 i.e., control circuit 306 & Para’s [0041-0042], [0436], & [0449]) is configured to: when both first configuration information for the first data transmission and second configuration information for the second data transmission are configured in the user equipment from a base station, (For the “second configuration information” see Para’s [0163-0167], [0235-0241] i.e., PUR resource configuration & [0360-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission on a PUR occasion. In some embodiments, the UE determines the PUR occasion based on time and frequency information of one or more PURs configured in a dedicated PUR configuration of the UE…The dedicated PUR configuration may be provided in a dedicated signaling to the UE when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode. One or more configured PURs configured by the dedicated PUR configuration may be valid when the UE is in RRC_IDLE mode. For the “first configuration information” see Para’s [0364] i.e., the network may use a paging message to trigger the UE to initiate a MT-EDT procedure (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of MT-EDT), [0366] i.e., A dedicated preamble (i.e., dedicated preamble may be “first configuration information” for the first data transmission since it is used for MO-EDT) and/or a PRACH resource may be provided in the paging message (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of the dedicated preamble (i.e., “first configuration information”) and/or the PRACH resource)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, & [0388] i.e., MT-EDT configuration (i.e., “first configuration information”))
determine whether an execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied prior to the first data transmission; (see Para’s [0005], [0162], [0359], & [0377] i.e., In an example where the UE is configured with PUR, the UE maintains a Timing Advance Value during RRC_IDLE mode. When there is uplink data available for transmission to the network, the UE determines whether the timing advance value is valid or not (i.e., “execution condition”) based on some criteria configured by the network (e.g., the UE may determine whether the timing advance value is valid based on at least one of a Timing Advance timer for PUR, one or more Serving Cell RSRP changes, etc.). If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR with the maintained timing advance value. If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure for EDT, & [0384-0387])
and in response to determining that the execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied, perform the second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005], [0359-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission, [0377] i.e., If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR (i.e., “second data transmission”)…If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure (e.g., a RA procedure for EDT) & [0384-0387])
receive an RRC release message (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message)
the RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059] i.e., A RRC connection suspend procedure is used at RRC connection release, [0068] i.e., The eNB suspends the RRC connection by sending an RRC connection release message, & [0413-0414])
Shih does not disclose the claim features of the first transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state and the second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Keating et al. US (2020/0229130).
Keating discloses a UE performing a first transmission in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., A data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode (e.g. early data transmission or small data transmission) refers to data transmission while the UE is still in RRC_IDLE or RRC_inactive state, generally during random access procedure (for example, data transmission as part of Msg2, Msg3, Msg4, or Msg5 in the random access procedure)
and a second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., Alternatively, data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode can also occur without the need for random access, for example using preconfigured uplink resource).
(Keating suggests the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections for properly, (see Para’s [0004-0006], [0009-0010], [0039-0042], & [0046])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the performing by the UE the one of the first transmission and the second transmission while the UE is in the RRC idle mode as disclosed in Shih to perform the one of the first transmission and the second transmission in the RRC inactive state as disclosed in the teachings of Keating who discloses a UE performs data transmission such as early data transmission (EDT) during a random access procedure while the UE is in RRC_idle or RRC_inactive state or alternatively performs data transmission during RRC_idle or RRC_inactive inactive state without the need for random access, using preconfigured uplink resource, because the motivation lies in Keating that the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections.
While Shi discloses the communication control method further comprising receiving, by the user equipment an RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message), the combination of Shih in view of Keating does not disclose the claim feature of the RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2022/0039098).
Chang a UE receiving an RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission (i.e., “PUR transmission”), (see Para’s [0004] & [0040-0041] i.e., the UE entering the RRC idle state may be triggered by receiving the RRC connection release message…the expression ”enabling PUR transmission” refers to a condition in which the UE is configured with a PUR (i.e., ”second data transmission”) and/or the configured PUR is enabled…Preferably, the PUR transmission configuration is carried by the RRC connection release message).
(Chang suggests the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission (see Para [0041]) and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA) (see Para’s [0003-0004] & [0024] i.e., RRC idle state may also be an RRC inactive state)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC release message received by the UE which performs the second data transmission as disclosed in Shih in view of Keating to include the PUR transmission configuration carried by the RRC connection release message received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA).
Regarding Claim 4, Shih discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 3 i.e., control circuit 306 & Para [0041]) controlling a user equipment (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 116 & Fig. 3, 300 & Para’s [0027] & [0041]), the apparatus (see Fig. 3 i.e., control circuit 306) comprising a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., CPU 308 & Para [0041]) and a memory coupled to the processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., memory 310 & Para [0041]), the processor configured to (see Fig. 3 i.e., CPU 308 & Para’s [0041-0042], [0436], & [0449]) perform one of a first data transmission and a second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the UE determines a validity of a timing parameter associated with one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). The UE determines, based on the validity, whether to initiate a random access procedure for MT-EDT (i.e., MT-EDT includes a “first transmission” by the UE using MO-EDT) or to initiate a transmission using the one or more PURs (i.e., data transmission using PUR may be “second transmission”), [0358] i.e., MO-EDT (i.e., “first transmission” of uplink user data), [0363], [0366-0368] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble on PRACH to the network (e.g., Msg1 of a RA procedure)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, [0370-0372] i.e., after the MT-EDT is initiated, the UE transmits a RA preamble…the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT…The UE monitors for Msg2 which may be an uplink grant for MO-EDT…after receiving, the Msg2, the UE transmits a Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission”) of the RA procedure including uplink data based on the uplink grant provided in Msg2, & [0402])
the first data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state transmits data by using a message of a random access procedure, (see Para’s [0005], [0354-0355] i.e., In RRC_IDLE mode, if a UE initiates a RA procedure, the RA procedure may be for early data transmission (EDT)…After EDT is triggered, uplink user data may be included in a Msg3 during a RA procedure, [0358], [0363] i.e., MO-EDT, [0366-0368] & [0370-0372] i.e., MO-EDT may be initiated by uplink data originated from the UE (i.e., “first transmission”)…the UE transmits Msg3 (i.e., “first transmission” including uplink data) of the RA procedure to the network using the uplink grant provided in the Msg2 (i.e., uplink grant may be for MO-EDT))
the second data transmission being a transmission where the user equipment in the RRC idle state transmits data by using a preconfigured radio resource, (see Para’s [0005] i.e., the initiates a transmission using one or more preconfigured uplink resources (PUR). [0135], & [0359-0361] i.e., in order to further improve transmission efficiency and/or reduce power consumption for MTC UE’s and/or NB-IoT UEs, transmission in preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) may be introduced…a UE may use one or more dedicated PURs in RRC-IDLE mode if criteria are met…the UE performs a PUR transmission (e.g., a transmission of data to a network via one or more PURs) on a PUR occasion).
wherein the processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., CPU 308 & Para’s [0041-0042], [0436], & [0449]) configured to: when both first configuration information for the first data transmission and second configuration information for the second data transmission are configured in the user equipment from a base station, (For the “second configuration information” see Para’s [0163-0167], [0235-0241] i.e., PUR resource configuration & [0360-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission on a PUR occasion. In some embodiments, the UE determines the PUR occasion based on time and frequency information of one or more PURs configured in a dedicated PUR configuration of the UE…The dedicated PUR configuration may be provided in a dedicated signaling to the UE when the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED mode. One or more configured PURs configured by the dedicated PUR configuration may be valid when the UE is in RRC_IDLE mode. For the “first configuration information” see Para’s [0364] i.e., the network may use a paging message to trigger the UE to initiate a MT-EDT procedure (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of MT-EDT), [0366] i.e., A dedicated preamble (i.e., dedicated preamble may be “first configuration information” for the first data transmission since it is used for MO-EDT) and/or a PRACH resource may be provided in the paging message (e.g., the paging message may be indicative of the dedicated preamble (i.e., “first configuration information”) and/or the PRACH resource)…In some embodiments, the RA preamble may be for MO-EDT, & [0388] i.e., MT-EDT configuration (i.e., “first configuration information”))
determine whether an execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied prior to the first data transmission; (see Para’s [0005], [0162], [0359], & [0377] i.e., In an example where the UE is configured with PUR, the UE maintains a Timing Advance Value during RRC_IDLE mode. When there is uplink data available for transmission to the network, the UE determines whether the timing advance value is valid or not (i.e., “execution condition”) based on some criteria configured by the network (e.g., the UE may determine whether the timing advance value is valid based on at least one of a Timing Advance timer for PUR, one or more Serving Cell RSRP changes, etc.). If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR with the maintained timing advance value. If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure for EDT, & [0384-0387])
and in response to determining that the execution condition for the second data transmission is satisfied, perform the second data transmission, (see Para’s [0005], [0359-0361] i.e., the UE performs a PUR transmission, [0377] i.e., If the timing advance is determined to be valid (i.e., “execution condition satisfied”), the UE performs transmission using PUR (i.e., “second data transmission”)…If the timing advance is determined to not be valid, the UE may initiate a RA procedure (e.g., a RA procedure for EDT) & [0384-0387])
receive an RRC release message (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message)
the RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059] i.e., A RRC connection suspend procedure is used at RRC connection release, [0068] i.e., The eNB suspends the RRC connection by sending an RRC connection release message, & [0413-0414])
Shih does not disclose the claim features of the first transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state and the second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Keating et al. US (2020/0229130).
Keating discloses a UE performing a first transmission in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., A data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode (e.g. early data transmission or small data transmission) refers to data transmission while the UE is still in RRC_IDLE or RRC_inactive state, generally during random access procedure (for example, data transmission as part of Msg2, Msg3, Msg4, or Msg5 in the random access procedure)
and a second transmission being performed by the UE in a RRC inactive state (see Para [0034] i.e., Alternatively, data transmission scheme during idle or inactive mode can also occur without the need for random access, for example using preconfigured uplink resource).
(Keating suggests the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections for properly, (see Para’s [0004-0006], [0009-0010], [0039-0042], & [0046])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the performing by the UE the one of the first transmission and the second transmission while the UE is in the RRC idle mode as disclosed in Shih to perform the one of the first transmission and the second transmission in the RRC inactive state as disclosed in the teachings of Keating who discloses a UE performs data transmission such as early data transmission (EDT) during a random access procedure while the UE is in RRC_idle or RRC_inactive state or alternatively performs data transmission during RRC_idle or RRC_inactive inactive state without the need for random access, using preconfigured uplink resource, because the motivation lies in Keating that the UE performs the first transmission or second transmission in the RRC inactive state for reporting measurement reports for determining the positioning of the UE which results in less power consumption by the UE by not needing to enter RRC connected state and less signaling overhead in the network to set up RRC connections.
While Shi discloses the communication control method further comprising receiving, by the user equipment an RRC release message being a message to command suspension of an RRC connection of the user equipment (see Para’s [0059], [0068], & [0413-0414] i.e., uplink PUR transmission after receiving a network response which may be RRC connection release message), the combination of Shih in view of Keating does not disclose the claim feature of the RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2022/0039098).
Chang a UE receiving an RRC release message including information for configuring the second data transmission (i.e., “PUR transmission”), (see Para’s [0004] & [0040-0041] i.e., the UE entering the RRC idle state may be triggered by receiving the RRC connection release message…the expression ”enabling PUR transmission” refers to a condition in which the UE is configured with a PUR (i.e., ”second data transmission”) and/or the configured PUR is enabled…Preferably, the PUR transmission configuration is carried by the RRC connection release message).
(Chang suggests the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission (see Para [0041]) and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA) (see Para’s [0003-0004] & [0024] i.e., RRC idle state may also be an RRC inactive state)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC release message received by the UE which performs the second data transmission as disclosed in Shih in view of Keating to include the PUR transmission configuration carried by the RRC connection release message received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that the PUR transmission configuration received in the RRC release message is used for the UE to determine the PUR configuration information in order to perform the PUR transmission and that it is desired to further improve the efficiency of uplink transmission and reduce UE power consumption by pre-allocating available uplink resources for a user in an RRC idle state when there is a valid uplink timing advance (TA).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461