Detailed Office Action
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/18/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-16 are pending and have been fully examined.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 2, 6, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchibori et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0063761 A1), hereinafter referred to as Uchibori.
Regarding Claim 1, Uchibori teaches:
An image processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to:
acquire, in a case where a fault has occurred in the image processing apparatus, setting information associated with the fault from an external apparatus; ([0164]; regarding, “the data processing apparatus 40 sends error information to the image processing apparatus 10. The error information may include a reason of the error such as the confirmation data 612…”);
extract a setting item of which setting contents are different between setting information, which is stored in the image processing apparatus associated with the fault and the acquired setting information associated with the fault, ([0068]; regarding, “The image processing apparatus 10 sends a request for obtaining setting information, which is necessary for operating the image processing apparatus 10”; [0172]; regarding, “…differentiating the setting items of the set of preference information 610 stored in the information storing unit 604 of the data processing apparatus 40 into the confirmation data 612 and the preference content information 614”);
wherein the extracted setting item causes the fault occurrence, ([0164]; regarding, “the data processing apparatus 40 sends error information to the image processing apparatus 10. The error information may include a reason of the error”);
wherein the acquired setting information from the external apparatus and the stored setting information of the image processing apparatus are configuration setting information, which are configured to control an operation of the image processing apparatus and the external apparatus; ([0068]; regarding, “The image processing apparatus 10 sends a request for obtaining setting information, which is necessary for operating the image processing apparatus 10, to the data processing apparatus 40.”);
update, in a case where the acquired setting information does not correspond to a version of control software of the image processing apparatus, the version of the control software of the image processing apparatus to a version corresponding to the acquired setting information; (Fig. 11, [0068]; regarding, “the setting information is referred to as "preference information" as well... The image processing apparatus 10 sets or updates the setting values of the preference information stored in the image processing apparatus 10 by the setting values of the preference information obtained from the data processing apparatus 40.”);
and control the operation of the image processing apparatus using the updated version of the control software of the image processing apparatus. ([0145]).
Regarding Claim 3, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori further teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: change a setting content of the extracted setting item to a setting content of the acquired setting information. ([0068]; regarding, “The image processing apparatus 10 sets or updates the setting values of the preference information stored in the image processing apparatus 10 by the setting values of the preference information obtained from the data processing apparatus 40.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori further teaches:
wherein the setting information is classified into a plurality of categories, and the processor is configured to: acquire only setting information of a category associated with the fault that has occurred. (Fig. 16, [0254]; regarding, “by constituting the set of preference information 626 to include the plural kinds of data sets for the differentiated preference information for which setting items (or setting values) are different, the set of preference information 626 can be applicable to plural kinds of apparatuses in updating the preference information.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori further teaches:
wherein the external apparatus from which the setting information is acquired is an apparatus connected to the image processing apparatus via a network. ([0065]; regarding, “The information setting system 1 includes plural image processing apparatuses 10, 20 and 30 and a data processing apparatus 40 which are connected via a network 50.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 7 as referenced above. Uchibori further teaches:
wherein the external apparatus from which the setting information is acquired is an apparatus registered in advance. ([0069]; regarding, “The data processing apparatus 40 stores the preference information to be commonly set in the image processing apparatuses 10, 20 and 30 which are connected to the data processing apparatus 40 via the network 50.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori further teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: correct and change, in a case where the acquired setting information does not correspond to a version of control software of the image processing apparatus, the acquired setting information. (Fig. 11, [0068]; regarding, “the setting information is referred to as "preference information" as well... The image processing apparatus 10 sets or updates the setting values of the preference information stored in the image processing apparatus 10 by the setting values of the preference information obtained from the data processing apparatus 40.”).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 under the same grounds of rejection as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchibori et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0063761 A1), hereinafter referred to as Uchibori, in view of Fujii et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0278537 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fujii.
Regarding Claim 2, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: notify a user of the extracted setting item. (Fujii, [0064]; regarding, “when there exists a setting that is inappropriate for the replication, the… module 165 may notify the user of the setting.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 6, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: notify, in a case where there is no difference between the setting information of the image processing apparatus and the acquired setting information, a person in charge of maintenance of the case. (Fujii, [0058]; regarding, “…include a case where there is no difference in configuration between the present information processing apparatus 100 and another information processing apparatus 100”; [0063]; regarding, “when the replication request module 165 cannot make the request, the replication request module 165 may make a notification to a user in order to prompt an existing replication process or a manual replication process.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 11, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: notify, in a case where the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is smaller than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus, that the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is smaller than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus. (Fujii, [0063]; regarding, “when the replication request module 165 cannot make the request, the replication request module 165 may make a notification to a user… module 165 cannot make the request” may include a case where another information processing apparatus 100 that possesses the target setting does not exist.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 12, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: acquire, in a case where the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is smaller than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus, setting information of a shortage setting item from an external apparatus other than the external apparatus from which the setting information is acquired. (Fujii, [0092]; regarding, “when there exists no information processing apparatus 100 that possesses all of the necessary pieces of setting information (that is, when another information processing apparatus 100 that possesses the same settings as the plural necessary settings does not exist), the setting grasping module 190 may extract, for each piece of setting information, an information processing apparatus 100 that possesses the piece of setting information (as a result, a plurality of information processing apparatuses 100 are extracted).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 13, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: notify, in a case where the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is larger than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus, that the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is larger than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus. (Fujii, [0072]; regarding, “The setting grasping module 190 communicates with another information processing apparatuses 100 (for example, the information processing apparatus 100A) to acquire…a setting that the other information processing apparatus 100 possesses.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 14, Uchibori teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as referenced above. Uchibori fails to explicitly disclose but Fujii teaches:
wherein the processor is configured not to: use, in a case where the number of setting items of the acquired setting information is larger than the number of setting items of the setting information of the image processing apparatus, the setting information of an excessive setting item. (Fujii, [0092]; regarding, “the setting grasping module 190 may extract, for each piece of setting information, an information processing apparatus 100 that possesses the piece of setting information (as a result, a plurality of information processing apparatuses 100 are extracted). Then, the individual pieces of setting information may be received from the information processing apparatuses 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Uchibori with the teachings of Fujii. Doing so can reduce the effort of performing the setting again on other information processing apparatus (Fujii, [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection on independent Claim 1,
and similarly Claims 15 and 16, have been considered and a new grounds of rejection has been provided addressing the newly claimed matter. Please see the above detailed rejection of the newly recited subject matter.
Newly cited reference Uchibori in combination with Fujii teaches the amended claim limitations.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATHEW GUSTAFSON whose telephone number is (571)272-5273.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2113
/BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113