DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims are newly amended to put the “vanadium-free” feature in the body of the Claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed 6/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under the non-final have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the reference below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 110694640) and in view of Zhang (CN 110756217).
As to Claims 1, 2, 3 and 4, Yang describes a denitration catalyst (title) that is made up of a titania-containing carrier (Claim 9). This is considered the substrate. Metals in oxide form that amount to 2-10wt% of the whole catalyst (Claim 9). The amounts of each include: ceria, niobium and tungsten oxides in a mass ratio of (1-5): (1-5): (1-2) (Claim 9). Assuming a mass ratio of 1 for all three and a total mass of 7 (including the other metals listed in Claim 9) and assuming a total weight of the whole catalyst to be 10wt%, the mass of each metal is about 1.4mass % except for ceria. Ceria, assuming a ratio of about 1.5, the mass of ceria when assuming the total ratio of metal catalyst is 10wt% is about 2%. The mass of the other metals would then be about 1.3%. A ratio of Nb:Ce of 1.3:2 would then be about 1:1.5.
Zhang describe a denitration catalyst (title). The catalyst includes a titania support (abstract) and 1-10wt% of metal catalysts that can include cerium oxide, tungsten oxide and tin oxide (abstract). As to the filler, Zhang explains that the catalyst can include glass fibers that serve as strengthening reinforcing agents in an amount of 5-20wt% (page 3, lines 20-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include filler in an amount of 5-20wt%, as taught by Zhang for use with the catalyst of Yang because these are known to serve as strengthening reinforcing agents.
As to Claim 7, Yang teaches a range of 2-10wt% of the total catalyst and the range of the active components can include a range of Mn, Ce, Fe, Mo, Nb, W in an amount of (1-5):(1-5): (2-5): (1-2) : (1-5) : (1-2) (Claim 9). Ceria can be in the mixture in a ratio of about 2, amount to a total mass ratio of 2.5% and Nb in an amount of 1, amounting to a total mass ratio of 1.25%.
As to Claim 8, Zhang describes a denitration catalyst and preparation method (title). The catalyst is made up of 30-60wt% titania (abstract) and 5-20wt% glass fibers (pg 3, lines 20-22). The catalyst also includes an element (d) that is from 1-10wt% of at least one oxide that can be cerium (pg 3, line 3-4) and another element (e) that is from 1-10wt% that is an oxide of at least one element that can include niobium (pg. 3, lines 5-6). This overlaps the claimed ratio.
As to the method of making steps, Zhang teaches making an aqueous mixture of the catalyst compounds (see page 5, lines 22-38) that includes cerium and a second element, which can be at least one element of niobium, tungsten and others (see page 3, 3-6) and titania (page 3, line 1), as well as glass fibers (see the rection to claim 1 above, incorporated here by reference). The mixture is then dried and kneaded (pg 5, lines 25, 28-29, 33-34, 37), followed by extruding the product into a honeycomb molding (pg 5, last lines). The product is then heated to 600 degrees C (pg 6, lines 1-2). This is a calcination temperature. Zhang does not specifically teach that the catalyst precursor mixture is made into a paste prior to kneading. However, since the final product is kneaded, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the product made by combining the aqueous solution with catalyst precursor, filler, filtered and dried is a kneadable product and that kneadable product can be considered a paste substance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the SCR of Yang using the process of Zhang, which produces an extruded monolith because Hancu teaches that SCR catalyst can be made into either washcoat catalyst or extruded monoliths.
As to Claim 9, Yang teaches that the titania is modified with silica (page 3, line 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Yang discloses other metals, such as Mn, Fe, Mo in the catalyst (abstract) and therefore would not meet he “consists of” feature of Claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 July 8, 2026