DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted on 02/06/2023 and 08/02/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 7, “a Cu containing material” should be –a Copper (Cu) containing material--.
Claim 1 line 20, “has the other end” should be –has other end--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-6 respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12451822. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the comparison of claim limitations shown below.
Instant application
US Patent 12451822
Claim 1
A feeder member that is used to supply electricity to an electrode embedded in a ceramic base, the feeder member comprising:
an electrode-side terminal that is made of a high-melting-point metal containing material, and that is joined to the electrode;
an insert that is made of a Cu containing material, and that has a joined portion and a hole portion, the joined portion being directly joined to the electrode-side terminal without using a brazing material, the hole portion being provided on a side opposite to the joined portion;
a connector that is made of a Cu containing material, and that has a joint portion and a recessed portion, the joint portion being electrically connected to a conductive member differing from the feeder member, the recessed portion being provided on a side opposite to the joint portion; and
a cable that is made of a Cu containing material, has one end joined to the insert with the one end being inserted in the hole portion of the insert, and has the other end joined to the connector with the other end being inserted in the recessed portion of the connector.
Claim 1
A feeder member that is used to supply electricity to an electrode embedded in a ceramic base, the feeder member comprising:
an electrode-side terminal that is made of a high-melting-point metal containing material and that is joined to the electrode;
an intermediate member that is made of a Cu containing material and directly joined to the electrode-side terminal without using a brazing material;
a cable support member that is made of a Cu containing material and joined to the intermediate member;
a cable that is made of a Cu containing material and that has one end whose end surface is welded to the cable support member.
Claim 2
The feeder member according to claim 1, wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material.
Claim 4
The feeder member according to Claim 1, wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material.
Claim 3
A wafer placement table comprising: a ceramic base that has, at a surface thereof, a wafer placement surface;
an electrode that is embedded in the ceramic base; and
a feeder member that is inserted into a surface of the ceramic base on a side opposite to the wafer placement surface, and that is joined to the electrode, wherein the feeder member is the feeder member according to claim 1, and the electrode-side terminal is joined to the electrode.
Claim 5
A wafer placement table comprising: a ceramic base that includes, at a surface thereof, a wafer placement portion;
an electrode embedded in the ceramic base; and
a feeder member that is inserted into a surface of the ceramic base on a side opposite to the wafer placement portion and joined to the electrode, wherein the feeder member is the feeder member according to Claim 1, and the electrode-side terminal is joined to the electrode.
Claim 4
The wafer placement table according to claim 3, wherein the ceramic base is made of an alumina containing material, and
wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material.
Claim 6
The wafer placement table according to Claim 5, wherein the ceramic base is made of an alumina containing material, and
wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai (JP 2016062999 A), and further in view of Kuroiwa (JP 2006236896 A) and Kunita (KR 20200121350 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kosakai teaches a feeder member (abstract, a highly reliable terminal connection structure) that is used to supply electricity to an electrode embedded in a ceramic base (page 1, a terminal connection structure, a heating device, and an electrostatic chuck device), the feeder member comprising:
an electrode-side terminal (i.e. circular flange 41, fig.1) (page 7, connection terminal 40 includes a circular flange 41 provided on the facing surface 41 a side (+ Z side) joined to the heating member 7) that is made of a high-melting-point metal containing material (page 7, material of the connection terminal 40 is … preferably the same material as the material of the heating member 7) (pages 6-7, heating member 7 is preferably made of … a titanium (Ti) thin plate, a tungsten (W) thin plate, a molybdenum (Mo) thin plate), and that is joined to the electrode (page 7, connection terminal 40 includes a circular flange 41 provided on the facing surface 41 a side (+ Z side) joined to the heating member 7);
an insert (i.e. columnar portion 42, fig.1), and that has a joined portion (e.g. portion of 42 adjacent to 41, fig.1) and a hole portion (e.g. portion of 42 away from 41, fig.1), the joined portion being directly joined to the electrode-side terminal without using a brazing material (e.g. 41 and 42 appear to be an integral piece, figs.1, 4a, 9), the hole portion being provided on a side opposite to the joined portion (e.g. hole portion including 42a, is away from joined portion near 41b, fig.3);
a connector (i.e. power supply terminal 32, fig.1) that is made of a Cu containing material (page 6, material of the power supply terminal 32 is not limited as long as it is conductive), and that has a joint portion (e.g. portion of 32 adjacent to fixing plate 16, fig.1) and a recessed portion (e.g. portion of 32 adjacent to connection line 33, fig.1), the joint portion being electrically connected to a conductive member differing from the feeder member (page 6, male connector (not shown) for supplying electricity to the electrostatic chuck device 100 from an external power source can be connected to the power supply terminal 32), the recessed portion being provided on a side opposite to the joint portion (e.g. portion of 32 adjacent to 16, is on the opposite side of portion of 32 adjacent to 33, fig.1); and
a cable (i.e. connection line 33, fig.1), has one end joined to the insert (e.g. joining of 33 and 42, fig.1) with the one end being inserted in the hole portion of the insert (page 7, A connection line 33 is connected to the end face 42 a of the cylindrical portion 42), and has other end joined to the connector (e.g. joining of 33 and 32, fig.1) with the other end being inserted in the recessed portion of the connector (page 7, The connection line 33 is provided to electrically connect the connection terminal 40 and the power supply terminal 32).
Kosakai does not teach, an insert that is made of a Cu containing material, and a cable that is made of a Cu containing material.
Kuroiwa teaches in a similar field of endeavor of connection terminal and heater electrode equipped with it, an insert (i.e. base 4, fig.1) that is made of a Cu containing material (page 4, connection terminal of the present invention is … normal conductive materials such as copper, aluminum, gold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the insert that is made of a Cu containing material in Kosakai, as taught by Kuroiwa, as it provides the advantage of optimal design for an insert and does not require special material or manufacturing methods.
Kosakai and Kuroiwa do not teach, a cable that is made of a Cu containing material.
Kunita teaches in a similar field of endeavor of electrode terminal in an electrostatic chuck, and a cable (i.e. cable 46, fig.1) that is made of a Cu containing material (page 3, stranded wire made of metal (for example, copper)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the cable that is made of a Cu containing material in Kosakai and Kuroiwa, as taught by Kunita, as it provides the advantage of providing a cable with good strength when force is applied in compression direction.
Regarding claim 2, Kosakai, Kuroiwa and Kunita teach the feeder member according to claim 1, wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material (Kosakai, page 7, material of the connection terminal 40 is … preferably the same material as the material of the heating member 7) (Kosakai, pages 6-7, heating member 7 is preferably made of … a titanium (Ti) thin plate, a tungsten (W) thin plate, a molybdenum (Mo) thin plate).
Regarding claim 3, Kosakai, Kuroiwa and Kunita teach a wafer placement table (Kosakai, i.e. electrostatic chuck device 100, fig.1) comprising:
a ceramic base (Kosakai, i.e. mounting plate 21, support plate 22, resin layer 80, fig.1) that has, at a surface thereof, a wafer placement surface (Kosakai, i.e. first surface 20a, fig.1);
an electrode (Kosakai, i.e. heating member 7, fig.1) that is embedded in the ceramic base (Kosakai, e.g. 7 is embedded in 80, fig.1); and
a feeder member (Kosakai, e.g. structure comprising connection terminal 40, insulating tube 15, fig.1) that is inserted into a surface of the ceramic base on a side opposite to the wafer placement surface (Kosakai, e.g. surface 50b is opposite to wafer placement surface 21a, fig.1), and that is joined to the electrode (Kosakai, e.g. 40 and 7 are joined, fig.1), wherein the feeder member is the feeder member according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and the electrode-side terminal is joined to the electrode (Kosakai, page 3, connection terminal 40 is joined to the heating member 7 by welding).
Regarding claim 4, Kosakai, Kuroiwa and Kunita teach the wafer placement table according to claim 3, wherein the ceramic base is made of an alumina containing material (Kosakai, page 3, an aluminum oxide-silicon carbide (Al .sub.2 O .sub.3 —SiC) composite sintered body, aluminum oxide (Al .sub.2)), and wherein the electrode-side terminal is made of a Mo containing material (Kosakai, page 7, material of the connection terminal 40 is … preferably the same material as the material of the heating member 7) (Kosakai, pages 6-7, heating member 7 is preferably made of … a titanium (Ti) thin plate, a tungsten (W) thin plate, a molybdenum (Mo) thin plate).
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 02/02/2026