DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Iwata does not teach “when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the axial direction, the recessed part is recessed from one end of the electrode film in the axial direction toward a predetermined direction, and the predetermined direction is a direction from an inner end surface of the flange toward an outer end surface thereof” as amended claim 1. Applicant agrees that there’s a “recessed part” 63a (annotated FIG. 3) in the coil device of Iwata when viewed in Z axis direction or in the axial direction. However, when the coil device is viewed in a direction perpendicular the Z axis direction (or perpendicular to the axial direction), or when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the center core part, applicant asserts that the reference character 63a does not form a recess.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. When the coil device of Iwata is viewed from the corner between side surfaces 40a and 40b toward the opposite corner in a diagonal direction (or x45 axis direction as annotated below) of flange 40, the reference character 63a forms “a recessed part” as claimed. The x45 axis is in the xy plane, and the x45 axis direction is perpendicular to the axial direction (or Z axis direction). The claim does not limit the view only in x axis direction and or y axis direction. Accordingly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner maintains Iwata teaches “when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the axial direction, the recessed part is recessed from one end of the electrode film in the axial direction toward a predetermined direction, and the predetermined direction is a direction from an inner end surface of the flange toward an outer end surface thereof” as amended claim 1.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/05/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify if “outer end surface” as recited in the last line is the same as or different from the “mounting surface” in line 3. Paragraph [0030] of the originally filed specification of the present invention discloses “the outer end surface (mounting surface) 221.” Based on this disclosure, it appears the “outer end surface” is the same as the “mounting surface.” However, the “mounting surface” as claimed (i.e., without reading the specification into the claim) could be interpreted as a surface of the a circuit board on which the coil device is mounted.
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0217919 A1).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Iwata et al., hereinafter referred to as “Iwata,” teaches a coil device 2 (FIGs. 1-6) comprising
a core 20 having a core center part 30 f capable of being arranged perpendicular to a mounting surface (upper surface of mounting circuit board, para. [0080]) and a flange 40 formed to one end in an axial direction (Z axis direction) of the core center part;
a coil 10 disposed around the core center part; and
an electrode film 60 connected to a lead part of the coil and at least partially formed on a circumference surface 40a of the flange;
wherein
the electrode film has a recessed part 63a (annotated FIG. 3),
when viewed from a direction (front corner to back corner of the flange as seen in annotated FIG. 3 provided below, or x45 direction as annotated above in the response to argument section) perpendicular to the axial direction, the recessed part is recessed from one end (vertical end adjacent to the circumference surface of the flange) of the electrode film in the axial direction toward a predetermined direction (x45 axis direction from the front corner), and
the predetermined direction is a direction from an inner end surface (surface facing the core center part) of the flange toward an outer end surface (surface facing away from the core center part) thereof (paras. [0065], [0080] and [0091]).
With respect to claim 2, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 1, wherein the circumference surface of the flange comprises an electrode non-formed area 40ab (annotated FIG. 3 above) corresponding to the recessed part, wherein
the flange has an intersection (ridge between surface 43 and circumference surface) located between an inner end surface 43 and the circumference surface;
the electrode non-formed area is provided between the electrode film and the intersection; and
the electrode non-formed area does not have the electrode film (paras. [0085] and [0091]). With respect to claim 8, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 1, wherein the electrode film includes a wire connecting part 62 connected to a lead part of the coil, and
the wire connecting part is provided at a different position from a position of the recessed part (para. [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amada et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,144,280).
With respect to claim 3, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 1. Iwata does not expressly teach the electrode film extends along a circumference direction of the flange, and
the recessed part is formed at a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film.
Amada et al., hereinafter referred to as “Amada,” teaches a coil device (FIGs. 1(A) and 1(B)), wherein the electrode film 3 extends along a circumference direction of the flange 1b, and
the recessed part (part corresponding to groove 2) is formed at a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film (col. 4, lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the recessed part as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to provide the desired inductance to meet design requirements (col. 4, lines 62-65).
With respect to claim 4, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 1. Iwata does not expressly teach wherein the electrode film extends along a circumference direction of the flange, and
a thickness of the electrode on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film.
Amada teaches a coil device (FIG8D), wherein the electrode 56 film extends along a circumference direction of the flange 1b, and
a thickness of the electrode on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film (col. 6, lines 48-53). The thickness at the upper edge is smaller in all sides. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode film thickness as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to facilitate manufacturing (col. 6, lines 53-58).
With respect to claim 5, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 2. Iwata does not expressly teach the electrode film extends along a circumference direction of the flange, and
a thickness of the electrode on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film.
Amada teaches a coil device (FIG8D), wherein the electrode film 56 extends along a circumference direction of the flange 1b, and
a thickness of the electrode on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward a center area in an extending direction of the electrode film (col. 6, lines 48-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode film thickness as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to facilitate manufacturing (col. 6, lines 53-58).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claims 1 and 4, respectively. Iwata does not expressly teach a thickness of the electrode film on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward an inner end surface of the flange.
Amada teaches a coil device (FIG8D), wherein a thickness of the electrode film 56 on the circumference surface becomes thinner toward an inner end surface (upper flat surface of the flange) of the flange (the flat plate) (col. 6, lines 48-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode film thickness as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to facilitate manufacturing (col. 6, lines 53-58).
With respect to claim 9, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 8, wherein
wherein the flange has a polygonal shape when viewed from the axial direction of the core center part,
the circumference surface of the flange has a plurality of surfaces 40a and 40b along a circumference direction of the flange (paras. [0066] and [0077]). Iwata does not expressly teach
the electrode film is formed in a continuous manner to at least two surfaces among the plurality of surfaces of the circumference surface of the flange, and
the wire connecting part is formed on one of the surfaces different from another one of the surfaces that the recessed part is formed.
Amada teaches a coil device (FIGs. 1(A) and 1(B)), wherein
the electrode film 3 is formed in a continuous manner to at least two surfaces among the plurality of surfaces of the circumference surface of the flange 1b, and
the wire connecting part is formed on one of the surfaces different from another one of the surfaces that the recessed part is formed (col. 6, lines 34-38 and 41-46). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode on the flange as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to improve the mechanical stability of the electrode on the flange.
With respect to claim 10, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 8. Iwata does not expressly teach the electrode film on the circumference surface has a thinner thickness at the position of the recessed part compared to the position of the wire connecting part.
Amada teaches a coil device (FIG8D), wherein the electrode film 56 on the circumference surface has a thinner thickness at the position of the recessed part compared to the position of the wire connecting part (col. 6, lines 48-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode film thickness as taught by Amada to the coil device of Iwata to facilitate manufacturing (col. 6, lines 53-58).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Takayama et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0175000 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Iwata teaches the coil device according to claim 1, Iwata does not expressly teach the electrode film comprises a metal and glass.
Takayama et al., hereinafter referred to as “Takayama,” teaches a coil device (FIG. 1), wherein the electrode film 19 and or 20 comprises a metal and glass (para. [0044]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the film comprises a metal and glass as taught by Takayama to the coil device of Iwata to reduce manufacturing cost (para. [0044]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837