DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth claim objections have been withdrawn. Please see below for new claim objections, pertaining to the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment, with the exception of “said temperature conduction device”, which was not addressed and is maintained below. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn. Please see also below for new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, necessitated by Amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments concerning the function of the thermoelectric chip of Nam are considered moot and have been discussed previously. Regarding the arrangement of the components of Nam compared with those of Applicant, Examiner notes that some of the features are newly recited and have been mapped as necessitated by Amendment. Further, in the context of a “comprising” claim, it is not found persuasive that item #2 surrounds thermoelectric chip #4, as there is a surface of #2 that is on the claimed surface of #4. Regarding the mesh member and the capillary structure, Examiner notes that the condenser #3 has multiple porous layers, one of which can be considered the mesh member and the other the capillary structure. Regarding the “tube”, examiner notes that the pores/through holes/columns of Nam are all synonyms of “tube” as claimed, and notes that Applicant’s disclosure appears to share this understanding when discussing background information (see, for example, paragraph [0072] of the Application as published). Examiner notes that Applicant’s claims remain broad, and encourages Applicant to refer to the disclosure (i.e. paragraph [0050] of the Application as filed) to incorporate material distinct from Nam.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “generating” appears to be in error for “to generate”; and “cover on” appears to be in error for “cover”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
device for temperature conduction (i.e device [generic placeholder] for temperature conduction [functional language]) in claims 1-7,9-11;
member for water collection (i.e. member [generic placeholder] for water collection [functional language]) in claim 10.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the case of “device for temperature conduction”, the corresponding structure is found to metal or nonmetal sheet. In the case of “member for water collection”, container or basin #30 is found to be the corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations “said first temperature being higher than a dew temperature” and “to said first temperature and lower than said dew temperature”. It does not appear that Applicant’s disclosure includes support for the first temperature being higher than a dew temperature and lower than a dew temperature. Claim 1 also recites the limitation “a capillary structure layer, including a tube inside” and refers through the remainder of claim 1 and dependent claim(s) to the single tube. It does not appear that Applicant has support for the capillary structure layer including a single tube as claimed.
Accordingly, claim 1 is considered to add new matter to the disclosure. Claims 2-7 and 9-11 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 1 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claims 1-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “said chip side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as Applicant cancelled the antecedent basis for “said chip side”. It is believed Applicant meant either first side, or cold side. Claim 1 recites the limitation “said temperature conduction device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it appears Applicant amended to “device for temperature conduction”. Claim 1 also recites the limitations “said first temperature being higher than a dew temperature” and “to said first temperature and lower than said dew temperature”. It is not understood how the first temperature is both higher and lower than the dew temperature. Please see also, above. Claims 2-7, and 9-11 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 1 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 2022/0010983: previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Nam et al. shows a structure for dehumidification and water collection, said structure for dehumidification and water collection comprising:
a cooling chip (see at least temperature control member #4), said cooling chip including a hot end and a cold end (see at least paragraph [0063]: inherent to temperature control member), said cooling chip converting a temperature of said hot end to enable said cold end generating a first temperature (see at least paragraph [0063]), said temperature of said hot end being greater than said first temperature (see at least paragraph [0063]: inherent to temperature control member #4 as cooler/thermoelectric conversion module in cooling mode), said cold end defined at said chip side of said cooling chip (see at least paragraph [0063]: in the cooling mode, the chip side and the cold end will be at the same side), said first temperature being higher than a dew temperature (see at least paragraph [0066]: #4 may operate above, at, and/or below the dewpoint temperature),
a device for temperature conduction, including a first device side (see at least surface of top half of water-absorber drainer #2 adjacent #4) and a second device side (see at least surface of top half of water-absorber drainer #2 opposite the side adjacent #4), said first device side covering on said cold end of said cooling chip, said device for temperature conduction receiving said first temperature from said cold end (see at least surface of top half of water-absorber drainer #2 adjacent #4);
a mesh member (see at least condenser #3; see at least paragraph [0037]: condenser #3 has a hydrophilic structure and includes a multi-layer porous/capillary structure that includes mesh), including a first side (see at least bottom side of #3; i.e. of #37A) and a second side (see at least top side of #3, i.e. of #37A), said first side of said mesh member disposed at the second device side of said device for temperature conduction (see at least bottom surface of condenser #3 on the surface of top half of water-absorber drainer #2 opposite the side adjacent #4), said device for temperature conduction conducting said first temperature from said first device side of said device for temperature conduction to said mesh member through said second device side of said device for temperature conduction (see at least paragraphs [0064]-[0065]; Examiner also reminds Applicant “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).”), said second device side of said device for temperature conduction opposite to said first device side of said temperature conduction device (see above), said second side of said mesh member contacting air (see at least top surface of condenser #3 is exposed to air), a hydrophilic structure formed on said second side of said mesh member to condense vapor in said air to condensed water while a temperature of said mesh member is changed from an original temperature to said first temperature and lower than said dew temperature (see at least paragraph [0037]: condenser #3 has a hydrophilic structure and includes a multi-layer porous/capillary structure that includes mesh, thus the hydrophilic structure is on first/second sides of the mesh member; Examiner also reminds Applicant “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).”: to the extent the claim is understood, the temperature of the condenser #3 will be lower than the dewpoint temperature in the immediate area of the condenser to allow for condensation); and
a capillary structure layer including a tube inside, said capillary structure layer formed between said first side of said mesh member and said second side of said device for temperature conduction (see at least paragraph [0037]: “The condenser 3 may be a porous layer having a pore that connects the first main surface 31 and the second main surface 32 to each other.”: pore and tube are synonymous; see also for example #37B), said capillary structure layer guiding said condensed water into said tube to flow in a downward direction, in which said downward direction is different from a disposition direction of said device for temperature conduction and said mesh member (see at least paragraphs [0037]; [0063]-[0065]: the condensed water will flow in the direction of gravity regardless of the disposition of the device/member; Examiner also reminds Applicant “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).”).
Regarding claim 2, Nam et al. further shows wherein
wherein said temperature of said hot end is between 30℃ and 100℃ (see at least paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Nam et al. further shows wherein the cooling chip further comprises a semiconductor layer disposed between said hot end and said cold end, said semiconductor layer receives said temperature of said hot end and converts said temperature of said hot end to said first temperature (see at least paragraphs [0037]; [0063]-[0064]: inherent to temperature control member #4 as thermoelectric conversion module).
Regarding claim 4, Nam et al. further shows wherein when said vapor is condensed on said second mesh side of said mesh member: said hydrophilic structure absorbs said vapor on said second mesh side and transfers said vapor to said capillary structure layer to form condensed water in said capillary structure layer; and said capillary structure layer enables said condensed water guided into said tube to flow in said downward direction through at least one of capillary action or gravity (see at least paragraphs [0064]-[0065]; [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Nam et al. further shows wherein, when said vapor is condensed in said capillary structure layer to form condensed water in said capillary structure layer; said capillary structure layer enables said condensed water guided into said tube to flow in said downward direction through capillary action (see at least paragraphs [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Nam et al. further shows wherein said first temperature is between 4℃ and 25℃ (see at least paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Nam et al. further shows wherein a material of said device for temperature conduction is one of metals or nonmetals (see at least paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Nam et al. further shows wherein said air temperature of said air is greater than a mesh temperature of said mesh member (see at least paragraphs [0064]-[0065]: thus condensation is created).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Nam et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mizobe (US 6,309,448: previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Nam et al. is silent regarding wherein a thermal conduction coefficient of said mesh member is above 200W/mK.
Mizobe teaches another dehumidifier having a mesh member having a thermal conduction coefficient, wherein said thermal conduction coefficient is above 200W/mK (see at least column 11, lines 44-49: one or more of the materials listed include such a thermal conduction coefficient).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the mesh member of Nam et al. with wherein a thermal conduction coefficient of said mesh member is above 200W/mK, as taught by Mizobe, to improve the mesh member of Nam et al. by making use of a material having good electrical and heat conductivity (see at least Mizobe column 11, lines 44-49).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakikawa et al. (US 2017/0266610: previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Nam et al. does not disclose further comprising a member for water collection, said member for water collection being disposed below said device for temperature conduction and said mesh member, said member for water collection being configured to collect said condensed water guided from said capillary structure layer.
However, it was old and well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a dehumidifier with a member for water collection, said member for water collection being disposed below said device for temperature conduction and said mesh member, said member for water collection being configured to collect said condensed water guided from said capillary structure layer, as evidenced by Sakikawa et al. (see at least drain tank #6 disposed below substrate #21 and mesh/capillary #22).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the invention to provide the dehumidification and water collection structure of Nam et al. with further comprising a member for water collection, said member for water collection being disposed below said device for temperature conduction and said mesh member, said member for water collection being configured to collect said condensed water guided from said capillary structure layer, since, as evidenced by Sakikawa et al. such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of allowing for convenient disposal of excess condensate water from the dehumidifier.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763