DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding 35 U.S.C § 101 on pages 10 and 11 filed February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims remain directed to collecting and analyzing dialogue-related information using that information to obtain background knowledge. The added limitation merely specify that selections are received electronically and that a memory is queried. those limitation do not change the character of the claim as a whole. The claim still recites receiving user selections of a dialogue subject, acquiring the feature of that subject, and acquiring knowledge information according to the feature and dialogue data. These are information-gathering, classification, and retrieval steps, which are properly treated as abstract mental processes or certain method of organizing human activities.
The additional computer related limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims do not recite a particular improvement to computer functionality, a particular memory structure, a particular database architecture, a specialized query mechanism, a technical solution to a technical problem, or any unconventional computer operation. Rather, the claims recite generic computer implementation of the underlying abstract idea. “Receiving electronic selections” and “querying a memory” are routine computer functions used as tools to implement the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C § 101 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C § 102 on pages 12 and 13, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C § 102 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Saabas et al (US 20130198297 A1) in view of Vaduva et al. (US 20180324116 A1).
Applicant's arguments regarding 35 U.S.C § 103 on pages 13-15 filed February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Saabas teaches the core dialogue subject and knowledge information limitations. Hajiyv was relied upon for initiating a data collection task to a plurality of users and providing preset subjects or prompts in response to the user permission or acceptance. the prior office action identified Hajiev's disclosure of running a data collection activation script, detecting a user permission trigger event, and triggering display of a user permission dialog.
Applicant’s argument that Hajiyev relates to behavioral data rather than dialogue data is not sufficient to overcome the rejection. The relevant teaching of Hajiyev is not limited to the ultimate type of data collection; rather, Hajiyev teaches initiating a data collection process and using user permission before collecting data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply such consent-based activation and task initiating procedures to Saabas’s multi user communication system in order to ensure that user data is collected only after appropriate user participation.
Applicant argument for dependent claims 10 and 11 are based primarily on the alleged allowability of independent claim 9. Because the argument directed to independent claim 9 are not persuasive, these dependent claims are not allowable for that reason.
With respect to claim 10, Yang was relied upon for determining whether a number of dialogue rounds has reached a present threshold, stopping dialogue data collection when a threshold is reached, determining completion, continuing collection when threshold is not reached. Applicant has not persuasively shown that Yang fails to teach or suggest the claimed threshold-based dialogue round control.
With respect to claim 11, Liu was relied upon for evaluating a completion degree according to a statistical method and discarding or making dialogue data when the completion degree is below a preset completion degree. Applicant has not persuasively shown that Liu fails to teach or suggest the claimed statistical completion evaluation.
Accordingly, the rejections for claims 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C § 103 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim was not amended properly, new elements were added but the older elements was not removed, for the purpose of examination the examiner considered the same changes for claim 9 as for claims 1, 16, and 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 (Ill) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject matter. The analysis of claims 1-20, in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Claims 1-8 and 9-15 are directed to method (processes). Claim 16-18 are directed to a device (machine). Claims 19-20 are directed to a computer program product (article of manufacture). Therefore, claims 1-20 fall into one of four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, article of manufacture).
As to claim 1,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
in response to receiving separate … selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (the limitation describes selecting a subject by two users which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (this limitation describes determining a feature of a dialog subject, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users. (Determining information and using that information to provide background knowledge is a mental process. Examiner notes that “information is used for providing...” is directed to intended use and the claims does not require providing information.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
A method implemented by a processor of a device; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
receiving separate electronic selections (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
querying a memory (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 9
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
preset dialog subjects to the two users for the two users to select; and (the limitation states the users select the subject based on the topic discussed, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
in response to the two users starting dialog data collection: receiving separate … selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (this limitation describes two users selecting the same dialog subject which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (this limitation describes determining a feature of a dialog subject, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
according to the feature or according to the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides, background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users; and (Determining information and using that information to provide background knowledge is a mental process. Examiner notes that “information is used for providing...” is directed to intended use and the claims does not require providing information.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
A method implemented by a processor of a device; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
initiating a dialog data collection task to a plurality of users; (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
providing, in response to accepting the dialog data collection task by two users of the plurality of users, (this limitation describes data transmission, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
saving the dialog data. (Describes a generic computer function of saving data, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) Storing and retrieving information in memory.)
electronic selections (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
querying a memory (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 16,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
in response to receiving separate … selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (the limitation describes selecting a subject by two users which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (this limitation describes determining a feature of a dialog subject, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users. (Determining information and using that information to provide background knowledge is a mental process. Examiner notes that “information is used for providing...” is directed to intended use and the claims does not require providing information.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
a memory configured to store instructions; and (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to store the abstract idea on a generic memory and apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the device to: (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to store the abstract idea on a generic memory and apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
receiving separate electronic selections (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
querying a memory (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 19,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
in response to receiving separate … selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (the limitation describes selecting a subject by two users which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (this limitation describes determining a feature of a dialog subject, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users. (Determining information and using that information to provide background knowledge is a mental process. Examiner notes that “information is used for providing...” is directed to intended use and the claims does not require providing information.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
A computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and that, when executed by a processor, cause an apparatus to: (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to store the abstract idea on a generic memory and apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
receiving separate electronic selections (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
querying a memory (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).)
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 2,12,17, and 20
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
further acquiring or acquire the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature; (the limitation describes conditional acquisition of information preforming the information gathering step when certain events occur “acquiring the feature”, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind)
further acquiring or acquire the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and receiving the dialog data; or (the limitation describes conditional acquisition of information preforming the information gathering step when certain events occur “acquiring the feature and receiving the dialog data”, which is a mental process implemented in the human mind)
further acquiring or acquire the first knowledge information in response to receiving request information for acquiring the first knowledge information. (The limitation describes conditional acquisition of information preforming the information gathering step when certain events occur “receiving request information for acquiring the first knowledge information”, Such steps constitute concepts of organizing human activity and mental processes.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
The additional limitations of claim 17 “wherein the processor is further configured” and claim 20 “wherein the computer-executable instructions further” (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).
As to claim 3, 5, 7, 8, and 15
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein acquiring the first knowledge information further comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library.
The limitation specifies that the “first knowledge information” is obtained from a pre- established knowledge information library. The recited step therefor represents retrieving information from a library, which falls within the abstract idea category of collecting, analyzing, and presenting information (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(iii)).
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
As to claim 4, 13, and 18
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and after receiving the dialog data; or
further acquiring the first knowledge information, in response to acquiring the feature and a duration of not receiving the dialog data being equal to or exceeding a preset duration after starting to receive the dialog data.
The limitations describe conditional acquisition of information based on timing and input conditions, retrieving knowledge information either after receiving dialog data or after a period of inactivity (“a duration of not receiving the dialog data being equal to or exceeding a preset duration”). This logic represents rule-based information processing. This is a mental process and a method of organizing human activity, because it involves evaluating known conditions (receipt of Data, passage of time) and deciding when to take actions, actions that can be performed mentally.
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims 4 and 13 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
The additional limitations of claim 18 “wherein the processor is further configured” This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).
As to claim 6, and 14
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
further comprising updating the first knowledge information according to the dialog data.
The limitation describes updating previously obtained information (the first knowledge information) based on dialog data. This operation amounts to manipulating or modifying stored data, which is a type of data analysis and information processing activity. Such actions are mental processes that can be performed by a person or using a generic computer, and have been identified as abstract ideas under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(iii).
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
As to claim 10
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
determining whether a number of dialog rounds of the dialog data has reached a preset threshold;
when the number of dialog rounds has reached the preset threshold:
stopping the dialog data collection; and
determining that the dialog data collection task is completed; and
continuing the dialog data collection when the number of dialog rounds does not reach the preset threshold.
The limitations describe a rule-based decision process for managing dialog data collection: counting dialog rounds, comparing the number to a threshold, and taking an action (stop or continue) based on that determination. Those operations involve evaluating data and making logical decision according to predefined condition, activities that represent mental processes and method or organizing human activity see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(iii).
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
As to claim 11
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recites the following abstract ideas:
evaluating a completion degree of the dialog data according to a statistical method; and
discarding the dialog data or marking the dialog data when the completion degree is lower than a preset completion degree. (The limitations describe evaluating dialog data using statistical method and taking action (discarding or marking) based on whether the data meets a preset completion degree threshold. which is a mental process implemented in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saabas et al (US 20130198297 A1) in view of Vaduva et al. (US 20180324116 A1).
As to claim 1 Saabas teaches a method implemented by a processor of a device, wherein the method comprises: (see Saabas paragaph [0035] "The communication client is a software program executed on a local processor in the user terminal 102.")
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (see Saabas paragraph [0055] "the client at the user terminal 102 analyses the input received from the user 104. This analysis is performed to determine attributes of the input. For example, the analysis may determine that the input indicates a particular participant (e.g. user 110) for the communication event. As another example, the analysis may determine that the input includes some text or voice data including a particular keyword which is to be included in the communication event (e.g. in the subject field of an email message or in the body of an email message or instant message…")
querying a memory according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users. (see Saabas paragraph [0040] “when the user 104 provides an input, to the client implemented at the user terminal 102, relating to a communication event, … based on the input provided by the user 104 and based on previous communication events. … consist of two parts: (i) the computation of relevancy information … the relevancy information providing indications as to the likelihood of a particular user being a participant in a communication event having particular attributes … and (ii) using the relevancy information for making suggestions”, and see Saabas paragraph [0042] “A user relevancy weight … provides an indication as to the likelihood that a communication event has both of the users … as participants, given that one of the users of the user-user pair is a participant of the communication event.”, and see Saabas paragraph [0063] “Therefore in the method described above in relation to the flow chart of FIG. 3, the client implemented at the user terminal 102 observes the data that the user 104 has already entered in order to bootstrap the recommendation process. The bootstrapping can be made based on already added participants, or a conversation topic or message subject of the communication event.”)
Saabas does not explicitly teach "in response to receiving separate electronic selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects:"
However, Vaduva teaches
in response to receiving separate electronic selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (see Vaduva paragraph [0046] " the first chat window (such as the first chat window 300 shown in FIG. 3) displayed to the user is configured to display one of a button, a tab and a widget. The user selection of the button, the tab or the widget is configured to indicate the user's desire to initiate a new topic. The user may select the button, tab or widget any time during the course of the chat conversation with the other user to indicate his or her requirement of initiating a new topic. In at least one example embodiment, the communication module 208 of the system 150 is configured to receive an input related to the first chat window, or more specifically, receive a selection of the button/tab/widget on the first chat window and provision the input to the processor 202. The processor 202 may be configured to cause display of a second chat window on the display screen of the user's electronic device in response to the reception of the selection input.", and see Vaduva paragraph [0048] "for each new subject or topic to be discussed, the user may provide a selection input on the button, such as the button 408 shown in FIG. 4A, or provide a predefined gesture input to indicate the desire to start a new topic.", and see paragraph [0049] "Each chat window includes content related to a specific topic as indicated by the header of the chat window.")
querying a memory according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data (see Vaduva Paragraph [0050] "Various machine learning algorithms for learning context may be stored in the memory 204 of the system 150. These algorithms may be configured to learn a current context of the chat conversation based on analysis of the current chat line, one or more succeeding chat lines")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Saabas of analyzing a communication event input, retrieving relevancy information from memory, and using a conversation topic or message subject, with Vaduva's electronic topic selection mechanism, because it enables the user to quickly retrieve the desired information. (see Vaduva paragraph [0081])
As to claim 2, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches acquiring the first knowledge information comprises:
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature; (see paragraph [0016] “The communication event may include transmitting a message over the communication system and the keyword may be included in a subject field or a body of the message” and paragraph [0017] “generating relevancy information for said at least one other user from said previous communication events”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and receiving the dialog data; or (see paragraph [0017] “generating relevancy information for said at least one other user from said previous communication events”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to receiving request information for acquiring the first knowledge information (note: this optional claim limitation is not addressed in this rejection).
As to claim 3, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information further comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library. (See paragraph 0052] “The keyword relevancy weights can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the keyword relevancy information is needed.”)
As to claim 4, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information further comprises:
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and after receiving the dialog data; or (see paragraph [0016] “The communication event may include transmitting a message over the communication system and the keyword may be included in a subject field or a body of the message” and paragraph [0047] “A keyword relevancy weight is determined for each keyword-user pair. That is, for each of a set of keywords (or "topics") … if the user 104 inputs a particular keyword into a communication event (e.g. into the subject field of an email message), the keyword relevancy weight for the keyword-user pair relating to the particular keyword … .”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information, in response to acquiring the feature and a duration of not receiving the dialog data being equal to or exceeding a preset duration after starting to receive the dialog data. (note: this optional claim limitation is not addressed in this rejection).
As to claim 5, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information further comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library. (See paragraph 0052] “The keyword relevancy weights can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the keyword relevancy information is needed.”)
As to claim 6, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches further comprising updating the first knowledge information according to the dialog data. (see paragraph [0017] “comprise updating and storing the relevancy information for each communication event involving the user.”)
As to claim 7, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library. (See paragraph 0052] “The keyword relevancy weights can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the keyword relevancy information is needed.”)
As to claim 8, Saabas as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library. (See paragraph [0041] “The computation of the relevancy information consists of two distinct parts in a preferred implementation. Firstly, the relevancy of contacts with respect to each other is computed and secondly, the relevancy of keywords or topics with respect to each contact is computed. These two parts of the relevancy information are described in more detail below.”, and paragraph 0052] “The keyword relevancy weights can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the keyword relevancy information is needed.”)
As to claim 16, this is directed to a computer-program embodiment that corresponds to method claim 1. See the rejection for claim 1 above, which also applies to claim 16. In addition, Saabas teaches system having a memory, computer readable instructions, and one or more processors to perform the operations (see Fig 2)
As to claim 17, this is directed to a computer-program embodiment that corresponds to method claim 2. See the rejection for claim 2 above, which also applies to claim 17.
As to claim 18, this is directed to a computer-program embodiment that corresponds to method claim 4. See the rejection for claim 4 above, which also applies to claim 18.
As to claim 19, this is directed to a system or a computing device claim that corresponds to method claim 1. See the rejection for claim 1 above, which also applies to claim 19. In addition, Saabas teaches system having a memory, computer readable instructions, and one or more processors to perform the operations (see Fig 2 above)
As to claim 20, this is directed to a system or a computing device claim that corresponds to method claim 2. See the rejection for claim 2 above, which also applies to claim 20.
Claim(s) 9, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saabas et al (US 20130198297 A1) in view of Hajiyev et al ( WO 2016001257 A1) and further in view of Vaduva et al. (US 20180324116 A1).
As to claim 9, Saabas as modified by Hajiyev teaches a method comprises:
acquiring a feature of the dialog subject of the first dialog; and (see Saabas paragraph [0055] "the client at the user terminal 102 analyses the input received from the user 104. This analysis is performed to determine attributes of the input. For example, the analysis may determine that the input indicates a particular participant (e.g. user 110) for the communication event. As another example, the analysis may determine that the input includes some text or voice data including a particular keyword which is to be included in the communication event (e.g. in the subject field of an email message or in the body of an email message or instant message…")
querying a memory according to the feature or according to the feature and dialog data received from the two users to acquire first knowledge information that provides, background knowledge related to the first dialog to the two users; and (see Saabas paragraph [0040] “when the user 104 provides an input, to the client implemented at the user terminal 102, relating to a communication event, … based on the input provided by the user 104 and based on previous communication events. … consist of two parts: (i) the computation of relevancy information … the relevancy information providing indications as to the likelihood of a particular user being a participant in a communication event having particular attributes … and (ii) using the relevancy information for making suggestions”, and see Saabas paragraph [0042] “A user relevancy weight … provides an indication as to the likelihood that a communication event has both of the users … as participants, given that one of the users of the user-user pair is a participant of the communication event.”, and see Saabas paragraph [0063] “Therefore in the method described above in relation to the flow chart of FIG. 3, the client implemented at the user terminal 102 observes the data that the user 104 has already entered in order to bootstrap the recommendation process. The bootstrapping can be made based on already added participants, or a conversation topic or message subject of the communication event.”)
saving the dialog data. (see Saabas paragraph [0046] “can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the user relevancy information is needed.”)
Saabas Does not explicitly teach “initiating a dialog data collection task to a plurality of users;”, “providing, in response to accepting the dialog data collection task by two users of the plurality of users, preset dialog subjects to the two users for the two users to select; and”, and "in response to receiving separate electronic selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects."
However, Hajiyev teaches initiating a dialog data collection task to a plurality of users; (see Hajiyev page [10] Line [8] “Running the data collection activation script can therefore comprise detecting a user permission”)
providing, in response to accepting the dialog data collection task by two users of the plurality of users, preset dialog subjects to the two users for the two users to select; and (see Hajiyev page [10] Line [8] “Running the data collection activation script can therefore comprise detecting a user permission trigger event, and upon detection of the user permission trigger event, triggering display of a user permission dialog.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Saabas to include a user permission to collect data before the initiation of a discussion to send the data for analysis.
Saabas-Hajiyev do not explicitly teach "in response to receiving separate electronic selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects."
However, Vaduva teaches
in response to receiving separate electronic selections from each of two users participating in a first dialog selecting a same dialog subject either from among preset dialog subjects or from among user-defined dialog subjects: (see Vaduva paragraph [0046] " the first chat window (such as the first chat window 300 shown in FIG. 3) displayed to the user is configured to display one of a button, a tab and a widget. The user selection of the button, the tab or the widget is configured to indicate the user's desire to initiate a new topic. The user may select the button, tab or widget any time during the course of the chat conversation with the other user to indicate his or her requirement of initiating a new topic. In at least one example embodiment, the communication module 208 of the system 150 is configured to receive an input related to the first chat window, or more specifically, receive a selection of the button/tab/widget on the first chat window and provision the input to the processor 202. The processor 202 may be configured to cause display of a second chat window on the display screen of the user's electronic device in response to the reception of the selection input.", and see Vaduva paragraph [0048] "for each new subject or topic to be discussed, the user may provide a selection input on the button, such as the button 408 shown in FIG. 4A, or provide a predefined gesture input to indicate the desire to start a new topic.", and see paragraph [0049] "Each chat window includes content related to a specific topic as indicated by the header of the chat window.")
querying a memory according to either the feature or the feature and dialog data (see Vaduva Paragraph [0050] "Various machine learning algorithms for learning context may be stored in the memory 204 of the system 150. These algorithms may be configured to learn a current context of the chat conversation based on analysis of the current chat line, one or more succeeding chat lines")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Saabas of analyzing a communication event input, retrieving relevancy information from memory, and using a conversation topic or message subject, with Vaduva's electronic topic selection mechanism, because it enables the user to quickly retrieve the desired information. (see Vaduva paragraph [0081])
As to claim 12, Saabas-Hajiyev as modified by Vaduva teaches acquiring the first knowledge information comprises:
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature; (see Saabas paragraph [0016] “The communication event may include transmitting a message over the communication system and the keyword may be included in a subject field or a body of the message” and Saabas paragraph [0017] “generating relevancy information for said at least one other user from said previous communication events”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and receiving the dialog data; or (see Saabas paragraph [0017] “generating relevancy information for said at least one other user from said previous communication events” and Saabas paragraph [0047] “A keyword relevancy weight is determined for each keyword-user pair. That is, for each of a set of keywords (or "topics") … if the user 104 inputs a particular keyword into a communication event (e.g. into the subject field of an email message), the keyword relevancy weight for the keyword-user pair relating to the particular keyword … .”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to receiving request information for acquiring the first knowledge information. (note: this optional claim limitation is not addressed in this rejection).
As to claim 13, Saabas-Hajiyev as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information further comprises:
further acquiring the first knowledge information in response to acquiring the feature and after receiving the dialog data; (see Saabas paragraph [0016] “The communication event may include transmitting a message over the communication system and the keyword may be included in a subject field or a body of the message” and Saabas paragraph [0047] “A keyword relevancy weight is determined for each keyword-user pair. That is, for each of a set of keywords (or "topics") … if the user 104 inputs a particular keyword into a communication event (e.g. into the subject field of an email message), the keyword relevancy weight for the keyword-user pair relating to the particular keyword … .”)
further acquiring the first knowledge information, in response to acquiring the feature and a duration of not receiving the dialog data being equal to or exceeding a preset duration after starting to receive the dialog data. (note: this optional claim limitation is not addressed in this rejection).
As to claim 14, Saabas-Hajiyev as modified by Vaduva teaches further comprising updating the first knowledge information according to the dialog data. (see Saabas paragraph [0017] “comprise updating and storing the relevancy information for each communication event involving the user.”)
As to claim 15, Saabas-Hajiyev as modified by Vaduva teaches wherein acquiring the first knowledge information comprises further acquiring the first knowledge information from a pre-established knowledge information library. (See Saabas paragraph 0052] “The keyword relevancy weights can be stored at the user terminal 102, e.g. in the memory 226, and can be retrieved by the client implemented at the user terminal 102 when the keyword relevancy information is needed.”)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saabas et al (US 20130198297 A1) in view of Hajiyev et al ( WO 2016001257 A1) and Vaduva et al. (US 20180324116 A1) and further in view of Yang et al (CN 112800192 A).
As to claim 10,
Saabas as modified by Hajiyev teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Saabas does not teach “determining whether a number of dialog rounds of the dialog data has reached a preset threshold;”, “when the number of dialog rounds has reached the preset threshold:”, “stopping the dialog data collection; and”, “determining that the dialog data collection task is completed; and”, and “continuing the dialog data collection when the number of dialog rounds does not reach the preset threshold.”
However, Yang teaches determining whether a number of dialog rounds of the dialog data has reached a preset threshold;
when the number of dialog rounds has reached the preset threshold:
stopping the dialog data collection; and
determining that the dialog data collection task is completed; and
continuing the dialog data collection when the number of dialog rounds does not reach the preset threshold.
See page [10] (“In one embodiment, judging whether the m-th session is finished. after forming a round of dialogue, judging whether the information slot in the task target of the m-th session is fully filled, or judging whether the number of rounds of the multi-wheel session in the m-th session reaches a threshold value M, wherein M is a natural number greater than or equal to 1. The judgment can be judged by the user simulator after generating the simulation action (namely forming a round of conversation). the threshold value M is a limited number of rounds of conversation, avoiding the dead cycle cannot be finished, can be selected M=20 and so on.”)
Note: Yang describes that after each round of dialogue is generated by the system action and the user simulator’s response, the system checks weather the entire m-th dialogue should end. The dialogue ends if either all the required information slots defined in the task goal have been successfully filled by this point, or if the total number of rounds has reached a preset maximum threshold to prevent endless loops. Once the dialogue is determined to be over, the system will then evaluate how many target slot values were filled correctly and use that number to assign one overall reward value for the entire m-th dialogue.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Saabas to set a limitation on the round of dialogue to stop the data collection so that it prevents endless loops and excess memory usage and additional storage usage.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saabas et al (US 20130198297 A1) in view of Hajiyev et al ( WO 2016001257 A1) and Vaduva et al. (US 20180324116 A1) and further in view of Liu et al (CN 113742928 A).
As to claim 11,
Saabas as modified by Hajiyev teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Saabas does not teach “evaluating a completion degree of the dialog data according to a statistical method; and”, and “discarding the dialog data or marking the dialog data when the completion degree is lower than a preset completion degree.”
However, Liu teaches
evaluating a completion degree of the dialog data according to a statistical method; and (see page [3] “the method for checking the reliability and efficiency of the collected data … by Cronbach ' salpha coefficient.”)
discarding the dialog data or marking the dialog data when the completion degree is lower than a preset completion degree. (see page [4] “judging whether the fitting value corresponding to the fitness index falls into the corresponding recommended value range; if so, indicating that the technology acceptance model can be accepted; entering step S332, if not, re-collecting the data or re-selecting the influence variable;”)
Note: Liu disclosed that he uses the Cronbach alpha coefficient to determine the validity of the data collected, and weather the data can be accepted or not. If not er-collect the data. Also, Chelsea Goforth at the university of Virginia published “Using and Interpreting Cronbach's Alpha” in 2015 that describes the usage of the Cronbach equation. Thus, the Cronbach equation is widely taught in universities to calculate the validity of the data.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Saabas to include the Cronbach equation to calculate the completion degree of the rounds of dialogue data to be collected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH KHALED ABOUD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121