DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Petersen (U. S. Patent 5,919,049).
Regarding claim 1, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses a connector socket 18 for receiving a card-edge connector 601 for an information handling system, the connector
socket 18 comprising: a first contact array 20 for receiving a second contact array on a
first edge of the card-edge connector 601; and a first slot channel 26 perpendicular to
the first contact array, the first slot channel (the support 26 extends perpendicular to slot 22 and does include contact at 13) for receiving a second edge of the card-edge connector 601 perpendicular to the first edge of the card edge connector (right edge of the card is perpendicular to the card contact array near leadline 602), the first slot channel 26 including a first contact extending from the first slot channel and configured such that, when the card-edge connector 601 installed into the connector socket, a first current is provided between the connector socket and the card- edge connector through the first contact 13 and a second contact extending from the second edge of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 2, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the first contact 13 is on a
first surface of the first slot channel 26 and the second contact finger 608 is on a first
surface of the card-edge connector 601, such that, when the card-edge connector 601
is installed into the connector socket 18, the first surface of the first slot channel 26 is
adjacent to the first surface of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 3, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the connector socket 18
further includes a third contact, and wherein the card-edge connector further includes a
fourth contact configured such that, when the card-edge connector is installed into the
connector socket, a second current is provided between the connector socket and the
card edge connector through the third contact and the fourth contact.
Regarding claim 4, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the third contact is on a second surface of the first slot channel 26, such that, when the card-edge connector is
installed into the connector socket 18, a second surface of the first slot channel 26 is
adjacent to the second surface of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 5, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses further comprising: a second
slot channel for receiving a third edge of the card-edge connector, the second slot channel including the third contact.
Regarding claim 6, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the first current is a power current to provide power to the card-edge connector 601, and wherein the second current is a ground current for the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 7, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the connector socket 18 is a
surface mount socket 18 configured to be soldered to a printed circuit board, and wherein the first contact provides the first current from a first surface mount pad of the
printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 11, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses a method for receiving an
a card-edge connector 601 in an add-in socket 18 of an information handling system,
the method comprising: providing, on the add-in module connector socket 18, a card-
edge connector interface 20 first contact array for receiving a card edge connector
second contact array on a first edge of the card-edge connector 601; providing, on the
connector socket 601, a first slot channel 26 perpendicular to the first contact array, the
first slot channel (the support 26 extends perpendicular to slot 22 and does include
contact at 13) for receiving a second edge of the card-edge connector 601
perpendicular to the first edge of the card edge connector (right edge of the card is
perpendicular to the card contact array near leadline 602); providing, on the first slot
channel 26, a first contact 13 extending from the first slot channel and configured such that, when the card-edge connector 601 is installed into the connector socket 18, a first current is provided between the connector socket 601 and the card-edge connector 601 through the first contact 13 and a second contact extending from the second edge of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 12, Petersen discloses the first contact 13 is on a first surface of
the first slot channel 26 and the second contact is on a first surface of the card-edge connector 601, such that, when the card- edge connector 601 is installed into the connector socket 18, the first surface of the first slot channel 26 is adjacent to the first
surface of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 13, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses further comprising: providing, on the connector socket 18, a third contact, and wherein the card-edge connector 601 further includes a fourth contact configured such that, when the card-
edge connector 601 is installed into the connector socket 18, a second current is
provided between the connector socket 18 and the card-edge connector 601 through
the third contact and the fourth contact.
Regarding claim 14, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the third contact is on a second surface of the first slot channel 26, such that, when the card- edge connector
601 is installed into the connector socket 18, a second surface of the first slot channel
26 is adjacent to the second surface of the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 15, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses further comprising:
providing, on the connector socket, a second slot channel for receiving a third edge of
the card-edge connector; providing, on the second slot channel, the fifth contact.
Regarding claim 16, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the first current is a power
current to provide power to the card-edge connector 601, and wherein the second
current is a ground current for the card-edge connector 601.
Regarding claim 17, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the connector socket 18 is
a surface mount socket configured to be soldered to a printed circuit board, and wherein
the first contact 13 provides the first current from a first surface mount pad of the printed
circuit board.
Regarding claim 20, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses an information handling
system, comprising: a printed circuit board; and a connector socket 18 for receiving a
card-edge connector 601 for the information handling system, the connector socket 18
being affixed to the printed circuit board, and including: a card-edge connector interface
20 first contact array for receiving a card edge connector 601 second contact array on a
first edge of the card-edge connector 601; and a first slot channel 26 perpendicular to
the first contact array, the first slot channel (the support 26 extends perpendicular to slot
22 and does include contact at 13) for receiving a second edge of the card-edge
connector 601 perpendicular to the first edge of the card edge connector (right edge of
the card is perpendicular to the card contact array near leadline 602), the first slot
channel 26 including a first contact extending from the first slot channel and configured such that, when the card-edge connector 601 is installed into the connector socket 18, a first current is provided from the printed circuit board to the card- edge connector 601 through the first contact and a first contact extending from the second edge of the card-edge connector 601.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Petersen.
Regarding claims 8 18, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the claimed invention
except for the connector socket is a plated through hole mount socket configured to be
soldered to a printed circuit board, and wherein the first contact provides the first
current from a first plated through hole of the printed circuit board. It would have been
obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention
to modify Petersen to use plate holes as are standard so as to provide for good soldering.
Regarding claims 9, 19, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the claimed invention
except for the connector socket is a double data rate dual in-line memory module
socket. It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify Petersen to use select type module as
necessary for specific application.
Regarding claim 10, Petersen, see figure 1, discloses the claimed invention
except for the connector socket is a peripheral component interconnect-express device
socket. It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention to modify Petersen to use select type module as necessary for specific application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with the amendment have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Comments on page 6 are noted.
However, upon review examiner find that the rejection is proper.
The applicant argues that, the art of record fails to disclose the features of the independent claims as amended and those claims therefore are allowable, as are the claims that depend therefrom. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reference meets claim languages with socket having slot channel and contacts 13 in the slot channels to engage contacts 608 extending along a second edge of the card edge contacts.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831