DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-23 and 36, in the reply filed on 10/01/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claim 24 is withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-23 and 36 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 06/27/2023 and 07/03/2024 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: "said sensor housing" should read "the sensor housing" for claim language consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim recites “the third metal layer covering at least the portion of the second metal layer has greater adhesion to the sensor than the third metal layer would have if the third metal layer were instead applied directly to the first metal layer or the analyte indicator”. Claim 1, from which claim 13 is dependent, states the sensor comprises an analyte indicator and a protective system which includes first, second, and third metal layers. Therefore, it is unclear how the third metal layer covering at least the portion of the second metal layer can have adhesion to the sensor if the third metal layer is part of the sensor. Therefore, claim 13 is rendered indefinite.
Regarding Claim 36, the claim recites “the presence or concentration of an analyte”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. For the purposes of examination, “the presence or concentration of an analyte” is herein interpreted to be “a presence or concentration of an analyte”. Therefore, claim 36 is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-23, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortellaro et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200178854 – cited by Applicant) hereinafter Mortellaro 1.
Regarding Claim 1, Mortellaro 1 discloses a sensor for measurement of an analyte in a medium within a living animal (the sensor 100 may be an implantable sensor configured to be fully or partially implanted in a living animal (e.g., a living human) [0046]; the sensor 100 may include an analyte indicator 106 [0052]; fig 1), the sensor comprising:
a sensor housing (the sensor 100 may include a sensor housing 102 [0051]; fig 1);
an analyte indicator covering at least a portion of the sensor housing (the analyte indicator 106 may be a polymer graft coated, diffused, adhered, or embedded on at least a portion of the exterior surface of the sensor housing 102. The analyte indicator 106 (e.g., polymer graft) may cover the entire surface of sensor housing 102 or only one or more portions of the surface of housing 102… the analyte indicator 106 may be a hydrogel [0052]; fig 1);
and a protective system including multiple metals configured to reduce deterioration of the analyte indicator (the sensor 100 may include a multiple metal protective system that includes multiple protective metals… the multiple metals may reduce deterioration of the analyte indicator 106 [0072]; fig 1);
wherein the protective system includes first and second metal layers (the multiple metal protective system may include a first metal layer 800 and a second metal layer 801 [0075]; fig 4A), the first metal layer covers at least a portion of the analyte indicator and includes a first metal of the multiple metals (as shown in FIG. 4A, the first metal layer 800 may cover at least a portion of the analyte indicator 106 [0075]), the second metal layer covers at least a portion of the first metal layer and includes a second metal of the multiple metals (the second metal layer 801 may cover at least a portion of the first metal layer 800 [0075]; fig 4A), and the first and metals are different (the first metal and the second metal may be different metals [0077]).
Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the protective system includes a third metal layer, the third metal layer covers at least a portion of the second metal layer and includes a third metal of the multiple metals, and the first, second, and third metals are different.
It is noted that Applicant has failed to provide has failed to provide details of criticality or unexpected results in the Specification with regard to the claimed third metal layer. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the protective system includes a third metal layer with the third metal layer covers at least a portion of the second metal layer and includes a third metal of the multiple metals, and the first, second, and third metals are different, in the same manner that the second metal layer covers at least a portion least a portion of the first metal layer and includes a second metal of the multiple metals and the first and metals are different, as taught by Mortellaro 1. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the first metal is platinum (the first metal may be platinum [0077]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the second metal is tungsten (the second metal may be tungsten [0077]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the second metal is cobalt (the second metal layer 801 may include a second metal selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co [0077]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal is molybdenum. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses the second metal can be molybdenum (the second metal may be molybdenum [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the third metal is molybdenum because Mortellaro 1 discloses molybdenum is a suitable choice of metal for a metal layer. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the first metal layer is sputtered on the analyte indicator (A non-limiting example of a sensor (“Example Sensor 1”) includes a sensor housing, a hydrogel on at least a portion of the sensor housing, indicator molecules contained in the hydrogel, and Pt sputtered on at least a portion of the hydrogel [0094]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the second metal layer is sputtered on the first metal layer. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses the first metal layer is sputtered on the analyte indicator (A non-limiting example of a sensor (“Example Sensor 1”) includes a sensor housing, a hydrogel on at least a portion of the sensor housing, indicator molecules contained in the hydrogel, and Pt sputtered on at least a portion of the hydrogel [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the second metal layer is sputtered on the first metal layer because Mortellaro 1 discloses sputtering can be used to deposit metal layers. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal layer is sputtered on the second metal layer. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses the first metal layer is sputtered on the analyte indicator (A non-limiting example of a sensor (“Example Sensor 1”) includes a sensor housing, a hydrogel on at least a portion of the sensor housing, indicator molecules contained in the hydrogel, and Pt sputtered on at least a portion of the hydrogel [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the third metal layer is sputtered on the second metal layer because Mortellaro 1 discloses sputtering can be used to deposit metal layers. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses, an in vivo catalytic activity of the first metal layer and the second metal layer covering the first metal layer is greater than an in vivo catalytic activity of the first metal layer alone (In an assay, protective activities listed in Table 2 were found against hypochlorite. [0090]; Unexpectedly, Au, Pd, Ni, Ta, Mg, Pt, Pt/Rh, Pt/Ir had no detectable activity against hypochlorite. [0091]; Examiner notes that platinum had no catalytic activity against hypochlorite, but copper, tungsten, iron, molybdenum, and cobalt all did. Therefore, if the first metal layer is composed of platinum and the second metal layer is composed of copper, tungsten, iron, molybdenum, or cobalt, then the in vivo catalytic activity of the first metal layer and the second metal layer covering the first metal layer is greater than an in vivo catalytic activity of the first metal layer alone).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 does not explicitly discloses the second metal layer is less susceptible to catalytic inactivation via thiol-containing molecules than the first metal layer is susceptible to catalytic inactivation via thiol-containing molecules. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses the first metal layer is platinum (the first metal may be platinum [0077]) and the second metal layer is copper (the second metal layer 801 may include a second metal selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co [0077]).
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (rejecting the contention that inherent anticipation requires recognition by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the critical date and allowing expert testimony with respect to post-critical date clinical trials to show inherency); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention."); Abbott Labs v. Geneva Pharms., Inc., 182 F.3d 1315, 1319, 51 USPQ2d 1307, 1310 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("If a product that is offered for sale inherently possesses each of the limitations of the claims, then the invention is on sale, whether or not the parties to the transaction recognize that the product possesses the claimed characteristics."); Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO, Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1348-49, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("Because ‘sufficient aeration’ was inherent in the prior art, it is irrelevant that the prior art did not recognize the key aspect of [the] invention.... An inherent structure, composition, or function is not necessarily known."); SmithKline Beecham Corp. v. Apotex Corp., 403 F.3d 1331, 1343-44, 74 USPQ2d 1398, 1406-07 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (holding that a prior art patent to an anhydrous form of a compound "inherently" anticipated the claimed hemihydrate form of the compound because practicing the process in the prior art to manufacture the anhydrous compound "inherently results in at least trace amounts of" the claimed hemihydrate even if the prior art did not discuss or recognize the hemihydrate); In re Omeprazole Patent Litigation, 483 F.3d 1364, 1373, 82 USPQ2d 1643, 1650 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (The court noted that although the inventors may not have recognized that a characteristic of the ingredients in the prior art method resulted in an in situ formation of a separating layer, the in situ formation was nevertheless inherent. "The record shows formation of the in situ separating layer in the prior art even though that process was not recognized at the time. The new realization alone does not render that necessary [sic] prior art patentable."). Furthermore, Applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by Mortellaro 1. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). As such, Mortellaro 1 discloses all of the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal layer covering at least the portion of the second metal layer has greater adhesion to the sensor than the third metal layer would have if the third metal layer were instead applied directly to the first metal layer or the analyte indicator. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses the second metal layer covering at least the portion of the first metal layer has greater adhesion to the sensor than the second metal layer would have if the second metal layer were instead applied directly to the first metal layer or the analyte indicator (In some embodiments, the multiple metals (e.g., in one or more metal layers on the analyte indicator 106 and/or one or more metal particles incorporated in the analyte indicator 106) in the multiple metal protective system may additionally or alternatively improve protection against degradative species because one metal layer (e.g., the first metal layer 800) may act to promote adhesion of another metal layer (e.g., the second metal layer 801). For example, molybdenum may adhere better to platinum than to an analyte indicator 106, which may be, for example and without limitation, a glucose indicating hydrogel than molybdenum. For instance, in the embodiments shown in FIGS. 4A, 7A, and 10A, the multiple metal protective system may include a first metal layer 800 applied to at least a portion of the analyte indicator 106 and a second metal layer 801 applied to at least a portion of the first metal layer 800, and the first and second metal layers 800 and 801 may include first and second metals (e.g., platinum and molybdenum), respectively. In some embodiments, the first metal (e.g., platinum) of the first metal layer 800 may promote adhesion of the second metal of the second metal layer 801. That is, the second metal layer 801 may adhere better to the first metal layer 800 than the second metal layer 801 would adhere to the analyte indicator 106 if applied directly to the analyte indicator 106. Accordingly, the multiple metals of the multiple metal protective system may allow the system to include a metal that could not be used if only one metal were used. In some non-limiting embodiments, the multiple metal protective system may include a Pt layer covered by a Mo layer, which may enable improved adhesion to the hydrogel and improve catalysis against both hydrogen peroxide and hypochlorite. [0093]).
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the first metal is platinum and third metal is molybdenum because Mortellaro 1 discloses platinum and molybdenum as a suitable choice of metal for a metal layer. As such, the third metal layer covering at least the portion of the second metal layer has greater adhesion to the sensor than the third metal layer would have if the third metal layer were instead applied directly to the first metal layer or the analyte indicator.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal is catalytically active against a degradative species that the first and second metals are not active against. However, Mortellaro discloses “the multiple metals (e.g., in one or more metal layers on the analyte indicator 106 and/or one or more metal particles incorporated in the analyte indicator 106) in the multiple metal protective system may improve protection against degradative species because one of the metals may degrade one type of degradative species (e.g., hydrogen peroxide) and another one of the metals may degrade another type of degradative species (e.g., hypochlorite)” [0092].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the third metal is catalytically active against a degradative species that the first and second metals are not active against because Mortellaro 1 discloses different metals may be catalytically active against different degradative species. Doing so would improve the protective system of the sensor because it would protect the sensor from more/different degradative species.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal is catalytically active against hypochlorous acid, and the first and second metals are not active against hypochlorous acid. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses “platinum can be used to degrade hydrogen peroxide but is not useful to degrade hypochlorite… copper was found to be more reactive than molybdenum against hydrogen peroxide but less reactive than molybdenum against hypochlorite” [0091].
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the first metal is platinum, the second metal is copper, and third metal is molybdenum because Mortellaro 1 discloses platinum, copper, and molybdenum as a suitable choice of metal for a metal layer. As such, the third metal is catalytically active against hypochlorous acid, and the first and second metals are not active against hypochlorous acid.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the first, second, and third metals are catalytically active against hydrogen peroxide. However, Mortellaro 1 discloses “the first metal layer 800 may include a first metal selected from Cu, W, Pt, Fe, Mo, Co” [0077] and “the second metal layer 801 may include a second metal selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co” [0077]. Mortellaro 1 also discloses the protective properties of select metals (In an assay, protective activities listed in Table 1 were found against hydrogen peroxide. [0088]; Examiner notes that copper, tungsten, platinum, iron, molybdenum, and cobalt are all catalytically active against hydrogen peroxide).
Since all the suitable metals, taught by Mortellaro 1, for the metal layers are catalytically active against hydrogen peroxide, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the first, second, and third metals are selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the first, second, and third metals are catalytically active against hydrogen peroxide
Regarding Claim 17, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the third metal is catalytically active against multiple reactive oxygen species. However, Mortellaro 1 teaches “the second metal layer 801 may include a second metal selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co” [0077] and the protective properties of select metals (In an assay, protective activities listed in Table 1 were found against hydrogen peroxide. [0088]; In an assay, protective activities listed in Table 2 were found against hypochlorite. [0090]; Examiner notes that copper, tungsten, iron, molybdenum, and cobalt are all catalytically active against hydrogen peroxide and hypochlorite which are reactive oxygen species).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified Mortellaro 1 such that the third metal is selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co, as taught by Mortellaro 1. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Modified Mortellaro 1 teaches disclose the third metal is catalytically active against multiple reactive oxygen species.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the first metal layer does not include the second metal and the second metal layer does not include the first metal (In some embodiments, the first metal and the second metal may be different metals. In some non-limiting embodiments, the first metal may be platinum, and the second metal may be molybdenum. In some non-limiting embodiments, the first metal may be copper, and the second metal may be molybdenum. In some non-limiting alternative embodiments, the first metal may be platinum, and the second metal may be tungsten. In some other non-limiting alternative embodiments, the first metal may be tungsten, and the second metal may be molybdenum. In some other non-limiting alternative embodiments, the first metal layer 800 includes platinum and the second metal layer 801 includes tungsten. [0077]; In some embodiments, metal particles 802 may be incorporated into a first carrier material 811 and different metal particles 803 may be incorporated into a second carrier material 812, wherein the first carrier material 811 covers the analyte indicator 106 as shown in FIG. 16C. [0086]; fig 16C). However, Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the first metal layer does not include the second and third metals, the second metal layer does not include the first and third metals, and the third metal layer does not include the first and second metals.
Since modified Mortellaro 1 teaches a third metal layer composed of a third metal, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the first metal layer does not include the second and third metals, the second metal layer does not include the first and third metals, and the third metal layer does not include the first and second metals in the same manner that the first metal layer does not include the second metal and the second metal layer does not include the first metal, as taught by Mortellaro 1. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the protective system comprises metal particles incorporated within the analyte indicator, and the metal particles include one or more of the multiple metals (the multiple metals (e.g., in one or more metal layers on the analyte indicator 106 and/or one or more metal particles incorporated in the analyte indicator 106) in the multiple metal protective system [0092]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the first metal layer is a multi-metal layer comprising two or more of the multiple metals (In some non-limiting embodiments, the first metal layer 800 may include a first metal selected from Cu, W, Pt, Fe, Mo, Co, and oxides, alloys, and complexes of those metals (e.g., alloys such as Pt/Rh and Pt/Lr). In some non-limiting embodiments, the first metal layer 800 may include the first metal and one or more additional metals selected from Cu, W, Pt, Fe, Mo, Co, and oxides, alloys, and complexes of those metals. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the multiple metals are configured to collectively interact or react with multiple degradative species (the protective system may include multiple metals that are configured to collectively interact or react with multiple degradative species [0014]).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses the multiple metals of the protective system are configured to collectively interact or react with at least two of hydrogen peroxide, a reactive oxygen species, enzymes, metal ions, a reactive nitrogen species, and a free radical (the multiple metals of the protective system may be configured to collectively interact or react with at least two of hydrogen peroxide, a reactive oxygen species, enzymes, metal ions, a reactive nitrogen species, and a free radical. [0014]).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 further discloses a radiation source contained in said sensor housing and configured to emit radiation to the analyte indicator (the sensor 100 may include a light source 108, which may be, for example, a light emitting diode (LED) or other light source that emits radiation, including radiation over a range of wavelengths that interact with the indicator molecules 104 [0054]; Some part of the excitation light 329 emitted by the light source 108 may be reflected from the analyte indicator 106 [0056]; fig 1); and a photosensitive element contained in the sensor housing and configured to receive light emitted by the analyte indicator (Some part of the excitation light 329 emitted by the light source 108 may be reflected from the analyte indicator 106 back into the sensor 100 as reflection light 333, and some part of the absorbed excitation light may be emitted as emitted (fluoresced) light 331... The reflected light 333 and emitted (fluoresced) light 331 may be absorbed by the one or more photodetectors (e.g., first and second photodetectors 224 and 226) within the body of the sensor 100. [0056]; fig 1).
Regarding Claim 36, Mortellaro 1 discloses a method for detecting the presence or concentration of an analyte in an in vivo sample (the present invention relates to a method for detecting the presence or concentration of an analyte in an in vivo sample [0044]) comprising:
exposing the in vivo sample to a device having a detectable quality that changes when the device is exposed to an analyte of interest (exposing the in vivo sample to a device having a detectable quality that changes when the device is exposed to an analyte of interest [0044]), wherein the device comprises protective material that prevents or reduces degradation or interference of the device from degradative species or biological oxidizers (The device includes in part protective material, wherein the protective material prevents or reduces degradation or interference of the device from degradative species or biological oxidizers. [0044]), and wherein the device is the sensor of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above);
measuring a change in the detectable quality to thereby detect the presence or concentration of an analyte of interest in the in vivo sample (measuring any change in the detectable quality to thereby determine the presence or concentration of an analyte of interest in the in vivo sample [0044]).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortellaro 1 (US Patent Pub. No. 20200178854 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mortellaro et al. (US Patent Pub. No 20190159708) hereinafter Mortellaro 2.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Modified Mortellaro 1 fails to teach the second metal is iridium.
However, Mortellaro 2 teaches iridium as a suitable metal to protect an analyte indicator (In some embodiments, the coating 207 may include a catalytically active material configured to reduce deterioration of the analyte indicator 106 by catalyzing degradation of reactive oxygen species (ROS). In some embodiments, the catalytically active material in the coating may include, for example and without limitation, one or more of platinum, iridium, palladium, manganese oxide, thiol and/or disulfide containing compounds, and catalase. In some non-limiting embodiments, the coating 207 may be a sputter coating sputtered on the outside of the analyte indicator 106. [0061]).
Mortellaro 2 is considered analogous art to the present invention because it directed towards the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the second metal is iridium, as taught by Mortellaro 2, because it is a catalytically active material suitable to protect the analyte indicator. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Mortellaro 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Mortellaro 1 discloses the first metal layer is a layer of platinum sputtered on the analyte indicator (A non-limiting example of a sensor (“Example Sensor 1”) includes a sensor housing, a hydrogel on at least a portion of the sensor housing, indicator molecules contained in the hydrogel, and Pt sputtered on at least a portion of the hydrogel [0094]) and “the second metal layer 801 may include a second metal selected from Mo, W, Cu, Fe, Co” [0077]. However, Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the first metal layer is a layer of platinum having a thickness greater than or equal to 7nm and less than or equal to 13nm sputtered on the analyte indicator, the second metal layer is a layer of iridium having a thickness greater than or equal to 3nm and less than or equal to 7nm sputtered on the first metal layer, and/or the third metal layer is a layer of molybdenum having a thickness greater than or equal to 17nm and less than or equal to 23nm sputtered on the second metal layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the third metal layer is a layer of molybdenum because Mortellaro 1 discloses molybdenum is a suitable choice of metal for a metal layer. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Mortellaro 1 fails to disclose the first metal layer is a layer of platinum having a thickness greater than or equal to 7nm and less than or equal to 13nm sputtered on the analyte indicator, the second metal layer is a layer of iridium having a thickness greater than or equal to 3nm and less than or equal to 7nm sputtered on the first metal layer, and/or the third metal layer is a layer of molybdenum having a thickness greater than or equal to 17nm and less than or equal to 23nm sputtered on the second metal layer.
However, Mortellaro 2 teaches iridium as a suitable metal to protect an analyte indicator (In some embodiments, the coating 207 may include a catalytically active material configured to reduce deterioration of the analyte indicator 106 by catalyzing degradation of reactive oxygen species (ROS). In some embodiments, the catalytically active material in the coating may include, for example and without limitation, one or more of platinum, iridium, palladium, manganese oxide, thiol and/or disulfide containing compounds, and catalase. In some non-limiting embodiments, the coating 207 may be a sputter coating sputtered on the outside of the analyte indicator 106. [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 such that the second metal layer is a layer of iridium, as taught by Mortellaro 2, because it is a catalytically active material suitable to protect the analyte indicator. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Mortellaro 1 in view of Mortellaro 2 fails to disclose the first metal layer is a layer of platinum having a thickness greater than or equal to 7nm and less than or equal to 13nm sputtered on the analyte indicator, the second metal layer is a layer of iridium having a thickness greater than or equal to 3nm and less than or equal to 7nm sputtered on the first metal layer, and/or the third metal layer is a layer of molybdenum having a thickness greater than or equal to 17nm and less than or equal to 23nm sputtered on the second metal layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have further modified the sensor of Mortellaro 1 in view of Mortellaro 2 such that the second metal layer is sputtered on the first metal layer and the third metal layer is sputtered on the second metal layer because Mortellaro 1 discloses sputtering can be used to deposit metal layers. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Modified Mortellaro 1 in view of Mortellaro 2 fails to disclose the first metal layer is a layer of platinum having a thickness greater than or equal to 7nm and less than or equal to 13nm sputtered on the analyte indicator, the second metal layer is a layer of iridium having a thickness greater than or equal to 3nm and less than or equal to 7nm sputtered on the first metal layer, and/or the third metal layer is a layer of molybdenum having a thickness greater than or equal to 17nm and less than or equal to 23nm sputtered on the second metal layer.
It is noted that Applicant has failed to provide has failed to provide details of criticality or unexpected results in the Specification with regard to the claimed thickness of the first, second, and third metal layers. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to determine an optimum thickness for the first, second, and third metal layers. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/JANKI M BAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791