DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 01/26/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 14 and 16 are amended.
Claims 3 and 13 are cancelled.
Claims 21-22 are added.
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-22 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 8-10), filed on 01/26/2026, with respect to claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 11-12, 14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al. (US 20200045767 A1), hereinafter “Velev”, in view of Da Silva et al. (US 20220159518 A1), hereinafter “Silva”, and in view of Kim et al. (US 20190313333 A1), hereinafter “Kim”.
Per claim 1, 6, 11 and 16:
Regarding claim 11, Velev teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Velev: [FIG.2]: “Remote Unit”; [0042]: “FIG. 2 depicts one embodiment of an apparatus”); ‘comprising: at least one processor’ (Velev: [FIG.2]: “Processor”); ‘at least one memory’ (Velev: [FIG.2]: “Memory”); ‘storing instructions’ (this is implied); ‘wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform operations of’ (Velev: [0043]: “The processor … capable of executing computer-readable instructions and/or capable of performing logical operations”);
‘resuming at least one dedicated signaling radio bearer based on a stored context’ (Velev: [0060]: “the UE sends an RRC resume request message, and activates an SRB (e.g., SRB1)”; [0067]: “as a result of the UE 402 receiving the RRCResume message, only the secure RRC signaling connection (e.g., SRB1 and/or SRB2) may be activated”, resume dedicated SRB). However, Velev fails to expressly teach based on a stored context;
‘sending a first message to a first radio access network device, wherein the first message comprises first non-access stratum (NAS) signaling sent by the apparatus to a core network device’ (Velev: [0060]: “a UE's AS layer performs a resume procedure to send an NAS message (e.g., TAU request, RR with an indication of a UE radio capability update) carrying information about a radio capability change to an MME and/or AMF”);
‘the first NAS signaling is carried in one of the at least one dedicated signaling radio bearer’ (Velev: [0068]: “the UE 402 doesn't consider the suspended DRBs … Therefore, only transmission of RRC signaling is possible (e.g., using SRB1 or SRB2 signaling radio bearers)”, only resume SRB to carry the NAS message);
‘wherein the apparatus is in an inactive state during the resuming and the sending’ (Velev: [0057]: “a UE does not transition from an inactive state to an idle state to perform a UE radio capability change procedure, but performs the UE radio capability change procedure from the inactive state (e.g., “ECM-IDLE state with suspend indication” or “CM CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication”). In such an embodiment, the UE sends a NAS update message toward a CN serving node (e.g., MME or AMF) without going to an idle state”, stay in an inactive state during the resuming and the sending).
However, Silva in the same field of endeavor teaches resume a RRC connection based on a stored context (Silva: [FIG.4]; [0078]-[0081]: “The UE shall set the contents of RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message as follows … set the resumeIdentity to the stored fulll-RNTI value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Silva’s teaching with that of Velev in order to support resume request with the stored full-RNTI value (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Velev and Silva does not expressly teach ‘wherein the first message further comprises a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message carried in a common signaling radio bearer SRB 0’.
However, Kim in the same field of endeavor teaches UE, in case that without performing ciphering and integrity protection, can immediately start connection resume procedure over SRB0 (Kim: [0150]: “the UE does not suspend the SRB0 so as to immediately start the connection resume procedure through the SRB0”; [0161]: “when sending the RRC message is to send the RRC resume request message to SRB0 without performing ciphering and integrity protection”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s teaching with that of combination of Velev and Silva for the first message to comprise a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message carried in a common signaling radio bearer SRB 0 in order to immediately resume the connection (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 16, Velev teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Velev: [FIG.3]: “Network Unit”; [0050]: “FIG. 3 depicts one embodiment of an apparatus”); ‘comprising: at least one processor’ (Velev: [FIG.3]: “Processor”); ‘at least one memory’ (Velev: [FIG.3]: “Memory”); ‘storing instructions’ (this is implied); ‘wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform operations of’ (Velev: [0043]: “The processor … capable of executing computer-readable instructions and/or capable of performing logical operations);
‘receiving a first message sent by a first terminal device’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 412: “UE”->”RAN”; [0060]: “the UE sends an RRC resume request message”, receive RRC resume request from UE);
‘wherein the first message comprises first non-access stratum (NAS) signaling sent by the first terminal device to a core network device’ (Velev: [0060]: “a UE's AS layer performs a resume procedure to send an NAS message (e.g., TAU request, RR with an indication of a UE radio capability update) carrying information about a radio capability change to an MME and/or AMF”);
‘the first terminal device is in an inactive state when the apparatus receives the first message’ (Velev: [0057]: “a UE does not transition from an inactive state to an idle state to perform a UE radio capability change procedure, but performs the UE radio capability change procedure from the inactive state (e.g., “ECM-IDLE state with suspend indication” or “CM CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication”). In such an embodiment, the UE sends a NAS update message toward a CN serving node (e.g., MME or AMF) without going to an idle state”, UE stays in in inactive state);
‘the first NAS signaling is sent by the first terminal device using at least one dedicated signaling radio bearer that is resumed based on a stored context’ (Velev: [0060]: “the UE sends an RRC resume request message, and activates an SRB (e.g., SRB1)”; [0067]: “as a result of the UE 402 receiving the RRCResume message, only the secure RRC signaling connection (e.g., SRB1 and/or SRB2) may be activated”, resume dedicated SRB to send a NAS message using a dedicated SRB). However, Velev fails to expressly teach based on a stored context;
‘sending a third message, wherein the third message comprises the first NAS signaling’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 422: “RAN”->”MME/AMF”; [0071]: “the RAN 404 sends the message (e.g., RRC message #5) carrying the NAS MM message to the MME/AMF 406”).
However, Silva in the same field of endeavor reaches resume a RRC connection based on a stored context (Silva: [FIG.4]; [0078]-[0081]: “The UE shall set the contents of RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message as follows … set the resumeIdentity to the stored fulll-RNTI value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Silva’s teaching with that of Velev in order to support resume request with the stored full-RNTI value.
Combination of Velev and Silva does not expressly teach ‘wherein the first message further comprises a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message carried in a common signaling radio bearer SRB 0’.
However, Kim teaches UE, in case that without performing ciphering and integrity protection, can immediately start connection resume procedure over SRB0 (Kim: [0150]: “the UE does not suspend the SRB0 so as to immediately start the connection resume procedure through the SRB0”; [0161]: “when sending the RRC message is to send the RRC resume request message to SRB0 without performing ciphering and integrity protection”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s teaching with that of combination of Velev and Silva for the first message to comprise a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message carried in a common signaling radio bearer SRB 0 in order to immediately resume the connection (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above).
Per claim 2 and 12:
Regarding claim 12, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Velev ‘receiving a second message sent by the first radio access network device’ (Velev: [0005]: “receiving a second message”);
‘wherein the second message comprises second NAS signaling sent by the core network device to the apparatus’ (Velev: [0073]: “in a fifth communication 426 transmitted from the MME/AMF 406 to the RAN 404, the MME/AMF 406 initiates signaling to inform the RAN 404 about the changed UE 402 radio capabilities”; [0075]: “the RAN 404 uses an existing RRC signaling connection to perform inquiry of the new UE 402 radio capabilities. For example, the UE 402 radio capability inquiry may be performed over the an SRB (e.g., SRB1 or SRB2) via RRC procedures”);
‘the second message is a response message for the first message’ (Velev: [0005]: “receiving a second message in response to transmitting the first message”).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Per claim 4 and 14:
Regarding claim 14, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (discussed above).
Velev teaches ‘wherein the second message comprises an RRC resume message’ (Velev: [0067]: “the RAN 404 sends a resume message (e.g., RRC resume message) to the UE”).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Per claim 7 and 17:
Regarding claim 17, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 16 (discussed above).
Velev teaches ‘receiving a fourth message’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 426: “MME/AMF”->”RAN”, receive NAS message from core network),
‘wherein the fourth message comprises second NAS signaling sent by the core network device to the first terminal device’ (Velev: [0073]: “the MME/AMF 406 initiates signaling to inform the RAN 404 about the changed UE 402 radio capabilities”);
‘sending a second message to the first terminal device’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 403: “RAN”<->”UE”);
‘wherein the second message comprises the second NAS signaling’ (Velev: [0075]: “the RAN 404 uses an existing RRC signaling connection to perform inquiry of the new UE 402 radio capabilities. For example, the UE 402 radio capability inquiry may be performed over the an SRB (e.g., SRB1 or SRB2) via RRC procedures”);
‘the second message is a response message for the first message’ (Velev: [0005]: “receiving a second message in response to transmitting the first message”, RAN sending a second message to UE in response to receiving the first message).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Per claim 8 and 18:
Regarding claim 18, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 (discussed above).
Velev teaches ‘sending the third message to the core network device’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 422: “RAN”->”MME/AMF”);
‘the receiving a fourth message comprises: receiving the fourth message sent by the core network device’ (Velev: [FIG.4]: step 426: “MME/AMF”->”RAN”).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above).
Per claim 9 and 19:
Regarding claim 19, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 (discussed above).
Velev does not expressly teach, but Silva teaches ‘wherein the third message comprises a path switch request message’ (Silva: [FIG.2]: step 208: “gNB”->”AMF”: “PATH SWITCH REQUEST”);
‘the fourth message comprises a path switch response message’ (Silva: [FIG.2]: step 210: “AMF”->”gNB”: “PATH SWITCH REQUEST RESPONSE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Silva’s teaching with that of Velev in order to support resume request followed by release and redirect (Silva: [Abstract]: “Methods and systems for resume request followed by release and redirect”).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above).
Per claim 10 and 20:
Regarding claim 20, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 (discussed above).
Velev does not expressly teach, but Silva teaches ‘sending the third message to a second radio access network device’ (Silva: [FIG.2]: step 202: “gNB”->”LAST SERVING gNB”, send message to another gNB);
‘receiving the fourth message sent by the second radio access network device’ (Silva: [FIG.2]: step 204: “LAST SERVING gNB”->”gNB”, receive message from another gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Silva’s teaching with that of Velev in order to support resume request followed by release and redirect (Silva: [Abstract]: “Methods and systems for resume request followed by release and redirect”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 20 (see rejection of claim 20 above).
Per claim 21 and 22:
Regarding claim 22, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (discussed above).
Velev teaches ‘wherein the second message comprises an RRC release message’ (Velev: [0101]: “the RAN 604 may send in the second communication 614 a release message (e.g., RRCRelease message without suspendConfig) to the UE 602 instead of the resume message”).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 22 (see rejection of claim 22 above).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Velev, Silva and Kim, in view of Rugeland et al. (US 20200359191 A1), hereinafter “Rugeland”.
Per claim 5 and 15:
Regarding claim 15, combination of Velev, Silva and Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (discussed above).
Velev teaches ‘wherein the first NAS signaling comprises a positioning protocol message’ (this is optional); ‘or a tracking area update message’ (Velev: [0063]: “the NAS message is a TAU request message”); ‘the second NAS signaling comprises a positioning protocol message’ (this is optional).
Combination of Velev, Silva and Kim does not expressly teach, but Rugeland in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘a tracking area update response message’ (Rugeland: [FIG.6]: step 640: “TAU Accept”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rugeland’s teaching with that of combination of Velev, Silva and Kim in order to support TAU in RRC_Inactive (Rugeland: [Title]: “Tracking Area Update In RRC_Inactive”).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462