DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2006/0285662 A1 to Yin et al. (hereinafter “Yin”) in view of 2003/0074198 A1 to Sussman.
Regarding claim 1, Yin teaches a computer-implemented method for visualizing menu options of an interactive voice response (IVR) system (Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15), the computer-implemented method comprising:
establishing, by one or more processors, a connection with the IVR system (Fig.3 step 315 and paragraph [0043]; telephone connects user with IVR unit);
retrieving, by the one or more processors, the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system from the location; and displaying, by the one or more processors, the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system (Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; menu display client 230 contacts the interactive visual menu service 20 (step 355), opening a channel specifically for the interactive visual menu session between the menu display client 230 and the visual control module 205 of the interactive visual menu service 20. The audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15).
However, Yin does not teach transmitting, by the one or more processors, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the one or more processors, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the one or more processors, the second message, revealing the location of the file.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses transmitting, by the one or more processors, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the one or more processors, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the one or more processors, the second message, revealing the location of the file (Abstract, paragraphs [0034], [0038], [0044] and [0047] providing a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone. The present invention provides a variety of means to store, display, select and update associated text menus and other data with an IVR system. The various communication means include analog modems, broadband modems, and VoIP connectivity. The present invention provides the means to convert the audio IVR menus to text menus, as well as the means to download the associated IVR text menus from the Internet).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of transmitting, by the one or more processors, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the one or more processors, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the one or more processors, the second message, revealing the location of the file as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 2, Yin does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 3, Yin does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 4, Yin does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus…the phone 1 retrieves the relevant URL that is stored in memory with the Call Destination Text Menu).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 5, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the DTMF codes of the second message implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification (paragraph [0050]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215).
Regarding claim 6, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the retrieving step includes retrieving the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system from a web server hosting the file at the location provided by the URL decoded from the second message; and upon displaying the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system, transmitting to the IVR system, one or more DTMF codes corresponding to the menu options being displayed by the file (paragraphs [0050] and [0051]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Regarding claim 7, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising:
upon transmitting each of the one or more DTMF codes corresponding to the menu options, updating, by the processor, the visualization of the menu options to visually indicate each of the menu options being selected by the one or more DTMF codes, tracking a position within an IVR menu of the IVR system (paragraph [0050]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Regarding claim 8, Yin teaches a computer system for visualizing menu options of an interactive voice response (IVR) system (Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15), the computer system comprising:
a processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer-readable storage media contains program instructions executing, via the processor (paragraph [0032], system 10 can be saved on a suitable storage medium such as a diskette, a CD, a hard drive, or like devices) a computer-implemented method comprising:
establishing, the processor, a connection with the IVR system (Fig.3 step 315 and paragraph [0043]; telephone connects user with IVR unit);
retrieving, by the processor, the file containing the visualization of the menu
options for the IVR system from the location; and
displaying, by the processor, the visualization of the menu options for the IVR
system (Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; menu display client 230 contacts the interactive visual menu service 20 (step 355), opening a channel specifically for the interactive visual menu session between the menu display client 230 and the visual control module 205 of the interactive visual menu service 20. The audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15).
Yin does not teach transmitting, by the processor, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the processor, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the processor, the second message, revealing the location of the file.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses transmitting, by the processor, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the processor, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the processor, the second message, revealing the location of the file (Abstract, paragraphs [0034], [0038], [0044] and [0047] providing a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone. The present invention provides a variety of means to store, display, select and update associated text menus and other data with an IVR system. The various communication means include analog modems, broadband modems, and VoIP connectivity. The present invention provides the means to convert the audio IVR menus to text menus, as well as the means to download the associated IVR text menus from the Internet).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of transmitting, by the processor, a first message comprising a signal to the IVR system indicating compliance with decoding signals of the IVR systems and compliance with displaying the visualization of menu options thereby requesting the visualization of menu options for the IVR system; receiving, by the processor, a second message from the IVR system, the second messaged encoded with information describing a location of a file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system; decoding, by the processor, the second message, revealing the location of the file as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 9, Yin teaches the computer system of claim 8, wherein the first message and the second message comprise dual-tone multi-frequency (DTMF) codes (paragraph [0050]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Regarding claim 10, Yin does not teach the computer system of claim 9, wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set and upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the DTMF codes of the second message encode an ASCII character set as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 4, Yin does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus…the phone 1 retrieves the relevant URL that is stored in memory with the Call Destination Text Menu).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein upon decoding the second message into the ASCII character set from the DTMF codes, the ASCII character set represents a universal resource locator (URL) providing the location of the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 11, Yin does not teach the computer system of claim 9, wherein the DTMF codes of the second message implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the DTMF codes of the second message implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification (paragraphs [0023], [ [0047] and [0057]-[0060]; even though voice IP packets can be transmitted over the Internet 4, because of the inherent data transmission delays in the Internet 4, the preferred embodiment of the invention uses the PSTN 3 rather than the Internet 4 for voice traffic).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the DTMF codes of the second message implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 12, Yin teaches the computer system of claim 10, wherein the retrieving step includes retrieving the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system from a web server hosting the file at the location provided by the URL decoded from the second message; and upon displaying the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system, transmitting to the IVR system, one or more DTMF codes corresponding to the menu options being displayed by the file (paragraphs [0050] and [0051]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Regarding claim 13, Yin teaches the computer system of claim 12, further comprising:
upon transmitting each of the one or more DTMF codes corresponding to the menu options, updating, by the processor, the visualization of the menu options to visually indicate each of the menu options being selected by the one or more DTMF codes, tracking a position within an IVR menu of the IVR system (paragraph [0050]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Regarding claim 14, Yin teaches a computer-implemented method for visualizing menu options of an interactive voice response (IVR) system (Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15), the computer-implemented method comprising:
establishing, by one or more processors, a connection with the IVR system (Fig.3 step 315 and paragraph [0043]; telephone connects user with IVR unit);
based on the location of the file provided within the third message, retrieving, by the processors, the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system from the location; and displaying, by the one or more processors, the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system Fig. 3B and paragraph [0046]; menu display client 230 contacts the interactive visual menu service 20 (step 355), opening a channel specifically for the interactive visual menu session between the menu display client 230 and the visual control module 205 of the interactive visual menu service 20. The audio-visual synchronization module 215 instructs the visual control module 205 to display the visual menu to user 75 via the menu display client 230 (step 360) and a graphical window on interactive device 15).
However, Yin does not teach receiving, by the one or more processors, a first message from the IVR system encoded with information describing a length of a third message describing a location of a file containing a visualization of menu options for the IVR system; transmitting, by the one or more processors, a second message to the IVR system, where the second message is encoded with information containing an address to send the third message; receiving, by the one or more processors, the third message at the address encoded within the second message, said third message comprising the location of the file.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses receiving, by the one or more processors, a first message from the IVR system encoded with information describing a length of a third message describing a location of a file containing a visualization of menu options for the IVR system; transmitting, by the one or more processors, a second message to the IVR system, where the second message is encoded with information containing an address to send the third message; receiving, by the one or more processors, the third message at the address encoded within the second message, said third message comprising the location of the file (Abstract, paragraphs [0034], [0038], [0044] and [0047] providing a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone. The present invention provides a variety of means to store, display, select and update associated text menus and other data with an IVR system. The various communication means include analog modems, broadband modems, and VoIP connectivity. The present invention provides the means to convert the audio IVR menus to text menus, as well as the means to download the associated IVR text menus from the Internet).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of receiving, by the one or more processors, a first message from the IVR system encoded with information describing a length of a third message describing a location of a file containing a visualization of menu options for the IVR system; transmitting, by the one or more processors, a second message to the IVR system, where the second message is encoded with information containing an address to send the third message; receiving, by the one or more processors, the third message at the address encoded within the second message, said third message comprising the location of the file as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 15, Yin does not teach computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the first message encodes the information describing the length of the third message and the second message encodes the information containing the address, using dual-tone multi-frequency (DTMF) codes.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the first message encodes the information describing the length of the third message and the second message encodes the information containing the address, using dual-tone multi-frequency (DTMF) codes (paragraphs [0023], [0044] and [0047]; text menu version is the same as the audio DTMF menu, the program downloads 140 the updates for the Call Destination Text Menu 2 whose version is out of synch with the audio menu and stores and displays 180 the new text menus).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the first message encodes the information describing the length of the third message and the second message encodes the information containing the address, using dual-tone multi-frequency (DTMF) codes as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 16, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the address encoded within the second message is a phone number (paragraphs [0041] and [0042]; a phone number, an employee ID, a customer ID, any other unique identification, or a combination of them. The ID mapping dB 231 maps the user ID to the unique virtual address of the user 75).
Regarding claim 17, Yin does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the DTMF codes implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Sussman discloses wherein the DTMF codes implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification (paragraphs [0023], [ [0047] and [0057]-[0060]; even though voice IP packets can be transmitted over the Internet 4, because of the inherent data transmission delays in the Internet 4, the preferred embodiment of the invention uses the PSTN 3 rather than the Internet 4 for voice traffic).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Yin’s teaching with a feature of wherein the DTMF codes implement a Transport of Reduced References In DTMF (TORRID) compression protocol specification as taught by Sussman in order to provide a graphical user interface that enables the user to navigate related IVR text menus that are displayed on the telephone (Abstract, Sussman).
Regarding claim 18, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein third message is a Short-Message-System (SMS) text message sent to the phone number (paragraphs [0014], [0041]- [0042] and [0053]; visual display of a voice menu displays the text of the voice menu onto a screen built into a phone set).
Regarding claim 19, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the SMS text message comprises a universal resource locator (URL) for accessing the location of the file (paragraphs [0046] and [0056]; a URL of an interactive visual menu service from which the visual menu is transmitted).
Regarding claim 20, Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 19 wherein the retrieving step includes retrieving the file containing the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system from a web server hosting the file at the location provided by the URL; and upon displaying the visualization of the menu options for the IVR system, transmitting to the IVR system, one or more DTMF codes corresponding to the menu options being displayed by the file (paragraph [0050]; time stamp and DTMF (dual-tone multi-frequency) input from telephone 80 or other input user made through Interactive device 15. When user 75 keys in a menu choice on the keypad of telephone 80, the key value is sent to the audio control module 240 and to the audio-visual synchronization module 215. In response to direction from the audio-visual synchronization module 215, the visual control module 205 transmits an updated visual menu to the interactive device 15. In response to direction by the IVR unit 235, the audio control module 240 plays the selected audio prompt).
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694