DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/06/2026.
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 15-20 are pending and examined.
Claims 10, 13 and 14 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-9, 11-12, and 15-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that “the cited art stands in contrast to amended claim 1, which requires these features,” but does not provide any specific arguments and merely lists the amendments to claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below for a detailed analysis. Examiner interprets Aurongzeb’s interface controller receiving data including a participant’s location and their proximity to a display as receiving telemetry data comprising identification of a location of the IHS. Van Os’s device choosing to not display a new notification when there is another visible indication involves the device receiving information that there is another notification currently provided is interpreted to disclose sending, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the notification has been provided. While Van Os does not explicitly teach that the first command comprises at least one of: blink a light of the IHS, dim brightness of a display of the IHS, or apply a visual effect or texture to a video output so that the video output is blurred on the display and that the second command comprises at least one of: increase brightness of the display, or remove the visual effect or texture so that the video output is no longer blurred on the display, commands comprising dimming a brightness of a display of the IHS and increasing brightness of the display are a popular form of command as evidenced by Aurongzeb’s interface controller being able to control the brightness of each display using a horizontal or vertical display control component correlates to a command increasing or dimming the brightness of the display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with Van Os because displaying notifications indicating a number of participants in a live communication session changes provides the user with feedback about the current state of the participants. Visual feedback sent to the user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user device interface more efficient.
Additionally, Perez’s license regulating the number of guest users at a given location and requiring an unlimited-viewing license or charging each detected viewer in the viewing area correlates to receiving a policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS. The licensee check being made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content, which is based on the number of users present at a given location, correlates to determining whether the location of the IHS and the policy rule match. The license check being successful and allowing the content to be viewed by the licensed number of users, which additionally updates the remaining uses of a license such as the number of additional viewers, correlates to instructing at least one of the plurality of devices to modify the at least one Onlooker Detection setting. The view occurring and updating the license usage such as through a database and indicating that the license expired due to all of the uses being made correlates to receiving a confirmation that the at least one Onlooker Detection setting has been modified. The licensee check determining the number of users present at the consuming device is less than or equal to the specified user limit, which can be decremented on each use of the license, correlates to determine a user count based, at least in part, upon the modified at least one Onlooker Detection setting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity. Location information can be used in combination with other licenses to support simultaneous views at a specific location. Notifications can be used to prompt a user to upgrade their license to support their current number of users.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurongzeb et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20180107341 A1), hereinafter “Aurongzeb” in view of Van Os et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 10284812 B1), hereinafter “Van Os” and Perez et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20120278904 A1), hereinafter “Perez.”
With regards to Claim 1, Aurongzeb teaches:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a heterogeneous computing platform; and
a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (Paragraphs 55 and 71, “IHS 200 includes memory 209, one or more processing resources such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 205 or hardware or software control logic, and operates to execute code. Additional components of IHS 200 may include main memory 209, one or more storage devices such as static memory or disk drives 211. These memory devices 209 and 211 can store code and data… Additionally or alternatively, virtual meeting system 300 may be implemented in hardware. For example, a portion of virtual meeting system 300 and interface controller 302 may include hardware such as, for example, an integrated circuit (such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), a structured ASIC, or a device embedded on a larger chip), a card, or a system (such as a motherboard, a system-on-a-chip (SoC), or a stand-alone device). Virtual meeting system 300 may also have some or all parts to include software, including firmware embedded at a device, capable of operating a relevant environment of IHS 200. In some cases, virtual meeting system 300 may include a combination of the foregoing examples of hardware or software.” Based on the specification at paragraph 31, an IHS refers to an integrated circuit, chip, FPGA, or ASIC containing a plurality of discrete processing circuits or semiconductor IP cores (SoC devices). The IHS which includes memory and an integrated circuit combined with a SoC system corresponds to an IHS comprising a heterogeneous computing platform coupled with memory), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among a plurality of devices of the heterogeneous computing platform, enables the respective device to provide a respective firmware service (Paragraphs 55, 71, and 81 “IHS 200 includes memory 209, one or more processing resources such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 205 or hardware or software control logic, and operates to execute code. Additional components of IHS 200 may include main memory 209, one or more storage devices such as static memory or disk drives 211. These memory devices 209 and 211 can store code and data. In various embodiments, memory 209 and 211 may be implemented using any suitable memory technology, such as static RAM (SRAM), synchronous dynamic RAM (SDRAM), nonvolatile/Flash-type memory, or any other type of memory… Virtual meeting system 300 may also have some or all parts to include software, including firmware embedded at a device, capable of operating a relevant environment of IHS 200. In some cases, virtual meeting system 300 may include a combination of the foregoing examples of hardware or software... In an embodiment, gesture/intent detection system 408 may operate to detect and interpret gestures as I/O input. Such a gesture/intent detection system 408 may be code run on CPU 205 or GPU 206 via chipset 208. Alternatively, the gesture detection system 408 may be firmware or software code instructions operating on a separate controller or processor.” The firmware embedded at storage devices in the IHS which includes nonvolatile memory corresponds to the memory comprising a plurality of sets of firmware instructions. The gesture and intent detection system running via the chipset or separate controller or processor correlates to enabling the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to perform operations that comprise:
receive context data (Paragraphs 83-84, “Generally speaking, gesture/intent detection system 408 is configured to identify a user's hand and elements of the user's hand relevant to the gestures including a palm and one or more fingers that may perform gestures. Gesture/intent detection system 408 interprets gesture movements by a user's hand into commands for selection and manipulation of a cursor or elements displayed by OS 222 or application 224 running on IHS 200... In operation, camera 403 and image sensors 402 of vision system 401 calibrate a detection zone and gesture detection plane. Additionally, camera 403 and image sensors 402 may detect and capture images of gestures for input to virtual I/O hub 241. These images are buffered in image buffer 404 and then provided to processor chipset 405 or other processing device as needed by the gesture detection system 242.” The camera and image sensors detecting and capturing images of gestures that are buffered and provided to the gesture detection system correlates to receiving context data);
receive telemetry data comprising identification of a location of the IHS (Paragraph 77, “Interface controller 302 may also access receive and process data including: an electronic meeting's environment, a participant's location and identification, an object's location an identification, a gesture or other command (e.g., voice) issued by a participant, a proximity of a participant to a display or smart desk, an ambient environment (e.g., ambient lighting, temperature, etc.), profiles and preferences associated with a participant, etc.” The interface controller receiving data including a participant’s location and their proximity to a display correlates to receiving telemetry data comprising identification of a location of the IHS):
determine a user count based, at least in part, upon the context data (Paragraph 110, “In various embodiments, an electronic collaboration session may be moderated by an IHS that records, analyzes, and determines a number of participants in the room, identifies of one or more participants, identifies which participants are active and which are not, identifies the role of different participants in the session, identifies the position and physical movement of each participant, identifies any participant's gestures and/or intent, etc. This information may be obtained, for example, using a combination of 3D camera data and millimeter wave proximity sensor data.” The number of participants in the room being determined from the 3D camera data and millimeter wave proximity sensor data correlates to determining a user count based in part upon the context data);
Aurongzeb does not explicitly teach:
receive a policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS:
determine whether the location of the IHS and the policy rule match and, in response to a determination that the location of the IHS and the policy rule match, instruct at least one of the plurality of devices to modify the at least one Onlooker Detection setting and receive a confirmation that the at least one Onlooker Detection setting has been modified
and instruct a selected firmware service of the user count, wherein the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a notification, to a user of the IHS, of the user count.
wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count, and to instruct the selected firmware service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected firmware service of the change in user count: and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of an increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a first command, wherein in response to a determination the change in user count representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a second command,
However, Van Os teaches:
and instruct a selected service of the user count, wherein the selected service is configured to trigger a notification, to a user of the IHS, of the user count (Col. 79, lines 54-64, “In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The notification displayed to the user indicating the number of participants in the live communication session changed correlates to instructing a selected service of the user count which is configured to trigger a notification to a user of the user count) and to send, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the notification has been provided (Col. 80, lines 12-19, “In some embodiments, the device forgoes displaying a notification that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed (e.g., the notification is not displayed when there is another visible indication that a participant has joined or left the live communication session, such as display of a representation of a newly joined participant or removal of the display of a representation of a participant who has left the session).” The device choosing to not display a new notification when there is another visible indication involves the device receiving information that there is another notification currently provided and therefore correlates to sending, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the notification has been provided),
wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count (Col. 79, lines 51-58, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed.” The device detecting a change in the number of participants in the live communication session correlates to the orchestrator configured to determine a change between a current and previous user count), and to instruct the selected service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected service of the change in user count (Col. 79, lines 51-63, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The device displaying a notification indicating that the number of participants has changed correlates to the orchestrator configured to instruct the selected service of the change in the user count) and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of an increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected service is configured to trigger a first command (Col. 79, lines 63-68 and Col. 80, lines 1-5 and 25-28, “In some embodiments, the notification, when a new participant joins the live communicate, on session, is display of a placeholder (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) for the new participant that is subsequently replaced (e.g., after a predetermined time) with a representation (e.g., a representation based on video data transmitted from a device of the new participant) of the new participant... In some embodiments, the notification includes an indication (e.g., the name) of a participant that has joined or left the live communication session.” The device displaying a notification with a placeholder graphic when a new participant joins the live communication session correlates to the selected service being configured to trigger a first command in response to the change in user count representing an increase in a number of users present before the IHS), and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected service is configured to trigger a second command (Col. 79, lines 55-63 and Col. 80, lines 25-28, “In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time)… In some embodiments, the notification includes an indication (e.g., the name) of a participant that has joined or left the live communication session.” The device displaying a notification showing an animation when a participant leaves the live communication session correlates to the selected service being configured to trigger a second command in response to the change in user count representing a reduction in a number of users present before the IHS).
Van Os does not explicitly teach that the selected service is a selected firmware service, that the first command comprises at least one of: blink a light of the IHS, dim brightness of a display of the IHS, or apply a visual effect or texture to a video output so that the video output is blurred on the display and that the second command comprises at least one of: increase brightness of the display, or remove the visual effect or texture so that the video output is no longer blurred on the display. However, firmware services are a popular type of service as evidenced by Aurongzeb above. Additionally, commands comprising dimming a brightness of a display of the IHS and increasing brightness of the display are a popular form of command as evidenced by Aurongzeb (Paragraph 76, “Vertical display control component 307 and/or horizontal display control component 308 may also enable interface controller 302 to control certain aspects and settings of each display (e.g., brightness, color, contrast, etc.).” The interface controller being able to control the brightness of each display using a horizontal or vertical display control component correlates to a command increasing or dimming the brightness of the display).
Additionally, Perez teaches:
receive a policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS (Paragraphs 27-28 and 30, “Each of these various types of licenses can be used alone or in combination with other licenses. User identity can be combined with "guest" or "unknown" user licenses at a given location. For example, a license regulating the number of simultaneous views at one location may be combined with a license allowing an identified user unlimited views so that additional simultaneous views at the location may be allowed... In an alternative embodiment, a fee can be charged for each viewer of the content for each view. In another alternative, at 225 and 240, a per-viewer license may comprise counting the number of viewers in a viewing area and directly charging for each identified user in the viewing area. Viewers may be uniquely identified and a count of the viewers determined, with the licensee then charged for each viewer accessing the content… At step 220, the user selects to view the content subject to the terms of the license. At 225, a licensee check is made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content. This check may include a determination of the number of users present at the consuming device and a determination of whether, for the particular performance of the content selected, the number of users relative to the number of views allowed is equal to or less than that specified in the license.” The license regulating the number of guest users at a given location and requiring an unlimited-viewing license or charging each detected viewer in the viewing area correlates to receiving a policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS):
determine whether the location of the IHS and the policy rule match (Paragraphs 27 and 30, “User identity can be combined with "guest" or "unknown" user licenses at a given location. For example, a license regulating the number of simultaneous views at one location may be combined with a license allowing an identified user unlimited views so that additional simultaneous views at the location may be allowed… At step 220, the user selects to view the content subject to the terms of the license. At 225, a licensee check is made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content. This check may include a determination of the number of users present at the consuming device and a determination of whether, for the particular performance of the content selected, the number of users relative to the number of views allowed is equal to or less than that specified in the license.” The licensee check being made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content, which is based on the number of users present at a given location, correlates to determining whether the location of the IHS and the policy rule match) and, in response to a determination that the location of the IHS and the policy rule match, instruct at least one of the plurality of devices to modify the at least one Onlooker Detection setting (Paragraphs 30 and 32, “If the license check is successful, then the licensed number of users is allowed to view the content at 240. If the license check is not successful at 225, then the user may be presented with a warning that the user has an insufficient license to consume the content relative to the number of licensed uses and may further be provided with the opportunity to update the license to include the number of users or views to allow the user to view the content… Once a view occurs at 240, the license usage is updated at 245. This may include updating a user record in the database 154 associated with the user relative to additional performances of the content. Step 245 may further include indicating that the license is expired (all uses have been made) such that a new license to consume the same content is required.” The license check being successful and allowing the content to be viewed by the licensed number of users, which additionally updates the remaining uses of a license such as the number of additional viewers, correlates to instructing at least one of the plurality of devices to modify the at least one Onlooker Detection setting) and receive a confirmation that the at least one Onlooker Detection setting has been modified (Paragraph 32, “Once a view occurs at 240, the license usage is updated at 245. This may include updating a user record in the database 154 associated with the user relative to additional performances of the content. Step 245 may further include indicating that the license is expired (all uses have been made) such that a new license to consume the same content is required.” The view occurring and updating the license usage such as through a database and indicating that the license expired due to all of the uses being made correlates to receiving a confirmation that the at least one Onlooker Detection setting has been modified)
determine a user count based, at least in part, upon the modified at least one Onlooker Detection setting (Paragraphs 30 and 32, “At 225, a licensee check is made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content. This check may include a determination of the number of users present at the consuming device and a determination of whether, for the particular performance of the content selected, the number of users relative to the number of views allowed is equal to or less than that specified in the license… Once a view occurs at 240, the license usage is updated at 245. This may include updating a user record in the database 154 associated with the user relative to additional performances of the content. Step 245 may further include indicating that the license is expired (all uses have been made) such that a new license to consume the same content is required.” The licensee check determining the number of users present at the consuming device is less than or equal to the specified user limit, which can be decremented on each use of the license, correlates to determine a user count based, at least in part, upon the modified at least one Onlooker Detection setting)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with instruct a selected service of the user count, wherein the selected service is configured to trigger a notification, to a user of the IHS, of the user count, and to send, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the notification has been provided, wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count, and to instruct the selected service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected service of the change in user count: and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of an increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a first command, wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a second command as taught by Van Os because displaying notifications indicating a number of participants in a live communication session changes provides the user with feedback about the current state of the participants. Visual feedback sent to the user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user device interface more efficient (Van Os: Col. 80, lines 41-54).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with receive a policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS: determine whether the location of the IHS and the policy rule match and, in response to a determination that the location of the IHS and the policy rule match, instruct at least one of the plurality of devices to modify the at least one Onlooker Detection setting and receive a confirmation that the at least one Onlooker Detection setting has been modified, determine a user count based, at least in part, upon the modified at least one Onlooker Detection setting as taught by Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity. Location information can be used in combination with other licenses to support simultaneous views at a specific location. Notifications can be used to prompt a user to upgrade their license to support their current number of users (Perez: paragraphs 27 and 30).
With regards to Claim 20, the system of Claim 1 performs the same steps as the method of Claim 20, and Claim 20 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 1.
With regards to Claim 2, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of: a System-On-Chip (SoC), a Field-Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), or an Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) (Paragraph 71, “Additionally or alternatively, virtual meeting system 300 may be implemented in hardware. For example, a portion of virtual meeting system 300 and interface controller 302 may include hardware such as, for example, an integrated circuit (such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), a structured ASIC, or a device embedded on a larger chip), a card, or a system (such as a motherboard, a system-on-a-chip (SoC), or a stand-alone device). Virtual meeting system 300 may also have some or all parts to include software, including firmware embedded at a device, capable of operating a relevant environment of IHS 200.” The virtual meeting system including hardware such as an integrated circuit, which includes a structured ASIC or SoC, correlates to the heterogeneous computing platform comprising at least one of a SoC, FPGA, or ASIC).
With regards to Claim 3, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein the orchestrator comprises a sensing hub (Paragraph 68, “IHS 200 also has a system sensor module or component 250, including motion sensors 252, image sensors 224, sound sensors 256, proximity sensors 258, and Ambient Light Sensor (ALS) 260. Sensor system module 250 is a sensor hub, or an accumulator device, that collects raw data from connected orientation sensors, and organizes and processes data received from the connected sensors. Such a sensor hub may be an independent microcontroller such as the STMicro Sensor Fusion MCU as well as other microcontroller processing systems.” The IHS including a sensor module or component comprising motion, image, sound, proximity, and ambient light sensors correlates to the orchestrator comprising a sensing hub).
With regards to Claim 4, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein the context data comprises an image frame (Paragraphs 64-65, “IHS 200 may include one or more integrated camera systems 270 with one or more camera drivers. Some cameras 270 may operate in accordance with normal usage as a webcam or such as those that may be mounted on a back surface for standard image taking with the IHS 200. Image taking or image capture can refer to any type of camera operation whether still image capture, video, or other functions or for other purposes. Alternatively, any one or all of camera(s) 270 may be used as part of a virtual I/O device hub 241 to capture images of gesture as part of the disclosure embodiments described below.” The cameras used to capture images or videos as part of the I/O device hub corresponds to the context data comprising an image frame).
With regards to Claim 5, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Van Os further teaches:
wherein the context data comprises the user count (Paragraphs 234 and 279, “As indicated by the live video stream displayed in primary representation 810G and the representation 816A of the video camera in notification 816, participant Hoan joins the live communication session in a video mode such that device 600 receives live video and audio data associated with participant Hoan… Optionally, at block 917, in response to receiving data indicating that a new participant has joined or been added to the live communication session, the device displays a representation of the new participant in the overflow region at the end of a sequence of the representations of the second plurality of participants in the overflow region (e.g., 822B in FIG. 8R).” The live video and audio data received indicating that a new participant has been added to the live communication session and the change in the representations of participants on the user’s interface correlates to the context data comprising the user count).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the context data comprises the user count as taught by Van Os because the number of users can affect the primary representation of video layouts to represent all users connected. Providing an adaptive live communication user interface reduces the cognitive burden on a user. Additionally, for battery operated computing devices, enabling a user to view the live communication user interface based on a predetermined number of participants is faster and efficiently conserves power (Van Os: Col. 61, lines 35-44 and Col. 70, lines 3-16).
With regards to Claim 6, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein to receive the context data, the orchestrator is configured to receive a message from a firmware service executed by a given one of the plurality of devices via an Application Programming Interface (API) without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (Paragraphs 69, 82 and 95, “An Application Programming Interface (API) may enable interaction between virtual meeting system 300, device drivers, and other aspects of IHS 200 and its program instructions… Gesture/intent detection system 408 illustrates a subset of elements of IHS 200 that enable free space gesture inputs. This subset including hardware, firmware, and software elements for controlling a vision system 101, including camera 403 and image sensors 402. Gesture/intent detection system 408 executes code in software or firmware on processor chipset(s) 208 for gesture detection and interpretation, and coordinates gesture images and data. Alternatively, the code in software or firmware may be executed on a separate processor or microcontroller or may be hard coded into an ASIC designed to perform some or all of the operations of the gesture/intent detection system 408... In various embodiments, gesture/intent detection system 408 may employ the gesture recognition technology described with or without other inputs from other sensors (e.g., using a fusion algorithm or the like) to discern a participant's intent. As noted above, gesture/intent detection system 408 may include optical sensing technology and/or object tracking technology, and may be implemented as a camera, a three-dimensional camera or body sensor, an infrared sensor, or the like configured to detect body orientation, head orientation or gaze, and/or hand location/movement.” The gesture and intent detection system employing gesture recognition technology without inputs from other sensors or executing through code on a separate microcontroller through an API correlate to the orchestrator receiving a message from a firmware service via an API without involvement by any OS).
With regards to Claim 7, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 6 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein the given device comprises at least one of: a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a high-performance AI device, a Video Processing Unit (VPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), an audio Digital Signal Processor (aDSP), a camera controller (Paragraph 99, “Coordination of vision system 401, gesture/intent detection system 408, and IR motion sensor component 406 of virtual I/O hub 241 may involve control of camera 403 and gathering of gesture images for interpretation by the gesture/intent detection system 408 operating via processor 405, such as processor or chipset 208. Coordination occurs via instructions running on or between elements of the processor chipset or an external controller such as an MCU associated with the gesture/intent detection system 408. This may include CPU, embedded controllers, and camera controllers, executing all or parts of instructions for capturing free space gesture images for interpretation into information handling system control commands such as cursor control. CPU 205, embedded controller, MCU, camera controllers or other processors may coordinate via the IHS's API.” The embedded controller communicating with the camera controller via an API correlate to the given device comprising a camera controller), a time-of-flight sensor, or a presence detection sensor.
With regards to Claim 8, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein the selected firmware service is executed by an Embedded Controller (EC) or a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC) (Paragraph 59 and 99, “IHS 200 may include several sets of instructions 221 to be run by CPU 205, GPU 206, and any embedded controllers 220 on IHS 200. One such set of instructions includes Operating System (OS) 222 with an OS interface… Coordination of vision system 401, gesture/intent detection system 408, and IR motion sensor component 406 of virtual I/O hub 241 may involve control of camera 403 and gathering of gesture images for interpretation by the gesture/intent detection system 408 operating via processor 405, such as processor or chipset 208. Coordination occurs via instructions running on or between elements of the processor chipset or an external controller such as an MCU associated with the gesture/intent detection system 408. This may include CPU, embedded controllers, and camera controllers, executing all or parts of instructions for capturing free space gesture images for interpretation into information handling system control commands such as cursor control.” The IHS including sets of instructions to be run by embedded controllers for coordination of the vision and gesture/intent detection systems and the IR motion sensor component correlates to the selected firmware service executed by an embedded controller).
With regards to Claim 9, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 8 above. Aurongzeb further teaches:
wherein to instruct the selected firmware service, the orchestrator is configured to send a message to the EC or BMC via an Application Programming Interface (API) without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (Paragraphs 82 and 99, “Gesture/intent detection system 408 executes code in software or firmware on processor chipset(s) 208 for gesture detection and interpretation, and coordinates gesture images and data. Alternatively, the code in software or firmware may be executed on a separate processor or microcontroller or may be hard coded into an ASIC designed to perform some or all of the operations of the gesture/intent detection system 408... Coordination of vision system 401, gesture/intent detection system 408, and IR motion sensor component 406 of virtual I/O hub 241 may involve control of camera 403 and gathering of gesture images for interpretation by the gesture/intent detection system 408 operating via processor 405, such as processor or chipset 208. Coordination occurs via instructions running on or between elements of the processor chipset or an external controller such as an MCU associated with the gesture/intent detection system 408. This may include CPU, embedded controllers, and camera controllers, executing all or parts of instructions for capturing free space gesture images for interpretation into information handling system control commands such as cursor control. CPU 205, embedded controller, MCU, camera controllers or other processors may coordinate via the IHS's API.” The coordination of the vision and gesture/intent detection systems and the IR motion sensor component occurring through instructions running on embedded controllers via an API correlate to the orchestrator sending a message to the EC via an API without involvement by any OS to instruct the selected firmware service).
With regards to Claim 11, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Van Os further teaches:
wherein the notification indicates at least one of: the user count, or the change between the current user count and the previous user count (Col. 79, lines 51-63, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The device displaying a notification indicating that the number of participants has changed correlates to the notification indicating the change between the current user count and the previous user count).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the notification indicates at least one of: the user count, or the change between the current user count and the previous user count as taught by Van Os because displaying notifications indicating a change in the number of participants in a live communication session changes provides the user with feedback about the current state of the participants. Visual feedback sent to the user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user device interface more efficient (Van Os: Col. 80, lines 41-54).
With regards to Claim 12, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Van Os further teaches:
wherein the notification indicates an identity of one or more users present before the IHS (Col. 79-80 and lines 63-68 and 1-5, “In some embodiments, the notification, when a new participant joins the live communication session, is display of a placeholder (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) for the new participant that is subsequently replaced (e.g., after a predetermined time) with a representation (e.g., a representation based on video data transmitted from a device of the new participant) of the new participant... In some embodiments, the notification includes an indication (e.g., the name) of a participant that has joined or left the live communication session.” The device displaying a notification indicating a graphic including the participant’s name or initials correlates to the notification indicating the identity of one or more users present before the IHS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the notification indicates an identity of one or more users present before the IHS as taught by Van Os because displaying notifications indicating an identity of one or more participants in a live communication session when the number of participants changes provides the user with feedback about the current state of the participants. Visual feedback sent to the user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user device interface more efficient. Additionally, when participants join or leaves the live communication session, the device displaying the notification can wait for a certain threshold of time to elapse to determine whether the notification should include information about additional participants (Van Os: Col. 80, lines 41-54).
With regards to Claim 15, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 1 above. Perez further teaches:
wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is further configured to receive a policy from an Information Technology Decision Maker (ITDM) or Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) (Paragraphs 33 and 35-36, “At 302, a display device may receive a set of license options and available user content from one or more content providers… At 314, a scan of the display area of the associated display device is made to determine the number of users in the field. As noted, this may comprise using the available capture device or camera, comprising one of a number of suitable technologies, to determine the number of uses present who can consume the content presented… Multiple display devices with multiple display areas can be combined to determine whether the specified number of individuals meets the licensed definition of allowed viewers. At 324, a license validation is performed by comparing the user count and any view or performance limitation against that allowed by the license. If the license is satisfied, the content presentation begins at 326. If not, then at 338, the user is presented with an option to adjust the license terms. If the license is updated, then the content presentation begins at 326. If not, the presentation is halted at 642.” The display device receiving a set of license options from the one or more content providers correlates to the orchestrator being further configured to receive a policy from an original equipment manufacturer. The scanning of the display area to determine the number of users in the field based on the licensed definition of allowed viewers and performance limitations correlates to determining the user count wherein the orchestrator is further configured to receive a policy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is further configured to receive a policy from an Information Technology Decision Maker (ITDM) or Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) as taught by Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity (Perez: paragraph 27).
With regards to Claim 16, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 15 above. Perez further teaches:
wherein the firmware service is selected based, at least in part, upon the policy (Fig. 2, paragraph 27, “At 205 a consumer views a selection of content generally available from the content provider. The content viewed may be from a single provider or multiple providers. At 210, the user selects content which the user wishes to view. At 215, the user selects a license option associated with the content. Each element of content may have one or more license options. Some content may only include one license option, while others may have various options. Each option may be associated with a license cost. In accordance with the technology, the license may be associated with actual user consumption based on detection of a user or consumer within a field of display of a display device… Licenses may also be tied to user identity. Using conventional user authentication methods, or the system of FIGS. 5 and 6 below, a license may be associated with a user identity so that individuals may view content based on their licensed identity.” The consumer selecting a specific type of content correlates to selecting a firmware service. The license option associated with the content including limitations such as a fee, identity of a user and detection of a user within the field of display of a display device correlate to the firmware service being selected based in part upon the policy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the firmware service is selected based, at least in part, upon the policy as taught by Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity (Perez: paragraph 27).
With regards to Claim 17, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 15 above. Perez further teaches:
wherein the policy associates an IHS location with a different type of notification (Paragraphs 27 and 30-31, “Each of these various types of licenses can be used alone or in combination with other licenses. User identity can be combined with "guest" or "unknown" user licenses at a given location. For example, a license regulating the number of simultaneous views at one location may be combined with a license allowing an identified user unlimited views so that additional simultaneous views at the location may be allowed... If the license check is not successful at 225, then the user may be presented with a warning that the user has an insufficient license to consume the content relative to the number of licensed uses and may further be provided with the opportunity to update the license to include the number of users or views to allow the user to view the content… If the user chooses not to update the license at 235, a notice that viewing the content on a device in the manner attempted by the user is not allowed at 255.” The license regulating the number of guest users at a given location and presenting a warning and notice on the user interface when the number of detected users exceeds the limit correlates to the policy associating an IHS location with a different type of notification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the policy associates an IHS location with a different type of notification as taught by Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity. Location information can be used in combination with other licenses to support simultaneous views at a specific location. Notifications can be used to prompt a user to upgrade their license to support their current number of users (Perez: paragraphs 27 and 30).
With regards to Claim 19, Aurongzeb teaches:
A memory device configured with a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions is executable by a respective device among a plurality of devices of a heterogeneous computing platform in an Information Handling System (IHS) to enable the respective device to provide a respective firmware service (Paragraphs 55, 71, and 81 “ IHS 200 includes memory 209, one or more processing resources such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 205 or hardware or software control logic, and operates to execute code. Additional components of IHS 200 may include main memory 209, one or more storage devices such as static memory or disk drives 211. These memory devices 209 and 211 can store code and data. In various embodiments, memory 209 and 211 may be implemented using any suitable memory technology, such as static RAM (SRAM), synchronous dynamic RAM (SDRAM), nonvolatile/Flash-type memory, or any other type of memory… Additionally or alternatively, virtual meeting system 300 may be implemented in hardware. For example, a portion of virtual meeting system 300 and interface controller 302 may include hardware such as, for example, an integrated circuit (such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), a structured ASIC, or a device embedded on a larger chip), a card, or a system (such as a motherboard, a system-on-a-chip (SoC), or a stand-alone device). Virtual meeting system 300 may also have some or all parts to include software, including firmware embedded at a device, capable of operating a relevant environment of IHS 200. In some cases, virtual meeting system 300 may include a combination of the foregoing examples of hardware or software... In an embodiment, gesture/intent detection system 408 may operate to detect and interpret gestures as I/O input. Such a gesture/intent detection system 408 may be code run on CPU 205 or GPU 206 via chipset 208. Alternatively, the gesture detection system 408 may be firmware or software code instructions operating on a separate controller or processor.” Based on the specification at paragraph 31, an IHS refers to an integrated circuit, chip, FPGA, or ASIC containing a plurality of discrete processing circuits or semiconductor IP cores (SoC devices). The IHS which includes memory and an integrated circuit combined with a SoC system corresponds to an IHS comprising a heterogeneous computing platform. The firmware embedded at storage devices in the IHS which includes nonvolatile memory corresponds to the memory comprising a plurality of sets of firmware instructions. The gesture and intent detection system running via the chipset or separate controller or processor correlates to enabling the respective device to provide a respective firmware service),
Aurongzeb does not explicitly teach:
and wherein a given one of the plurality of sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a given device, cause the given device to perform operations that comprise:
receive an instruction to notify a user of a user count or a change in the user count from an orchestrator among the plurality of devices based at least in part upon an Information Technology Decision Maker (ITDM) or Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) policy, wherein the ITDM or OEM policy comprises a policy rule configured to associate a location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS; and
in response to the instruction, notify the user and send, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the user has been notified,
wherein the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count, and to instruct a selected firmware service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected firmware service of the change in user count;
and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of an increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a first command, wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a second command,
However, Van Os teaches:
and wherein a given one of the plurality of sets of instructions, upon execution by a given device, cause the given device to perform operations that comprise:
receive an instruction to notify a user of a user count or a change in the user count from an orchestrator among the plurality of devices (Col. 79, lines 51-64, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The device displaying a notification indicating that the number of participants has changed correlates to receiving an instruction to notify a user of user count or change in the user count).
and in response to the instruction, notify the user (Col. 79, lines 54-64, “In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The notification displayed to the user indicating the number of participants in the live communication session changed correlates to notifying the user in response to the instruction) and send, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the user has been notified (Col. 80, lines 12-19, “In some embodiments, the device forgoes displaying a notification that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed (e.g., the notification is not displayed when there is another visible indication that a participant has joined or left the live communication session, such as display of a representation of a newly joined participant or removal of the display of a representation of a participant who has left the session).” The device choosing to not display a new notification when there is another visible indication involves the device receiving information that there is another notification currently provided and therefore correlates to sending, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the user has been notified),
wherein the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count (Col. 79, lines 51-58, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed.” The device detecting a change in the number of participants in the live communication session correlates to the orchestrator configured to determine a change between a current and previous user count), and to instruct the selected service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected service of the change in user count (Col. 79, lines 51-63, “Optionally, at blocks 941 and 942, while displaying the plurality of representations of participants in the live communication session, the device detects a change in the number of participants in the live communication session. In response to detecting the change in the number of participants in the live communication session, displaying a notification (e.g., 812) indicating that the number of participants in the live communication session has changed. In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time).” The device displaying a notification indicating that the number of participants has changed correlates to the orchestrator configured to instruct the selected service of the change in the user count) and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of an increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected service is configured to trigger a first command (Col. 79, lines 63-68 and Col. 80, lines 1-5 and 25-28, “In some embodiments, the notification, when a new participant joins the live communicate, on session, is display of a placeholder (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) for the new participant that is subsequently replaced (e.g., after a predetermined time) with a representation (e.g., a representation based on video data transmitted from a device of the new participant) of the new participant... In some embodiments, the notification includes an indication (e.g., the name) of a participant that has joined or left the live communication session.” The device displaying a notification with a placeholder graphic when a new participant joins the live communication session correlates to the selected service being configured to trigger a first command in response to the change in user count representing an increase in a number of users present before the IHS), and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected service is configured to trigger a second command (Col. 79, lines 55-63 and Col. 80, lines 25-28, “In some embodiments, the notification, when a participant leaves the live communication session, is an animation of the departing participant's representation being replaced with a placeholder graphic (e.g., a graphic that includes the participant's name or initials) that subsequently disappears (e.g., after a predetermined time)… In some embodiments, the notification includes an indication (e.g., the name) of a participant that has joined or left the live communication session.” The device displaying a notification showing an animation when a participant leaves the live communication session correlates to the selected service being configured to trigger a second command in response to the change in user count representing a reduction in a number of users present before the IHS).
Van Os does not explicitly teach that the selected service is a selected firmware service, that the user count or a change in the user count from an orchestrator among the plurality of devices [is] based at least in part upon an Information Technology Decision Maker (ITDM) or Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) policy, that the first command comprises at least one of: blink a light of the IHS, dim brightness of a display of the IHS, or apply a visual effect or texture to a video output so that the video output is blurred on the display and that the second command comprises at least one of: increase brightness of the display, or remove the visual effect or texture so that the video output is no longer blurred on the display. However, firmware services are a popular type of service as evidenced by Aurongzeb above. Additionally, OEM policies are a popular type of policy associated with a user count or change in user count as evidenced by Perez above (Paragraphs 33 and 35-36, “At 302, a display device may receive a set of license options and available user content from one or more content providers… At 314, a scan of the display area of the associated display device is made to determine the number of users in the field. As noted, this may comprise using the available capture device or camera, comprising one of a number of suitable technologies, to determine the number of uses present who can consume the content presented… Multiple display devices with multiple display areas can be combined to determine whether the specified number of individuals meets the licensed definition of allowed viewers. At 324, a license validation is performed by comparing the user count and any view or performance limitation against that allowed by the license.” The display device receiving a set of license options from the one or more content providers correlates to a policy from an original equipment manufacturer. The scanning of the display area to determine the number of users in the field based on the licensed definition of allowed viewers and performance limitations correlates to determining the user count based at least in part upon an OEM policy). Lastly, commands comprising dimming a brightness of a display of the IHS and increasing brightness of the display are a popular form of command as evidenced by Aurongzeb above (Paragraph 76).
Additionally, Perez teaches:
wherein the ITDM or OEM policy comprises a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS (Paragraphs 27-28, 30, and 33, “Each of these various types of licenses can be used alone or in combination with other licenses. User identity can be combined with "guest" or "unknown" user licenses at a given location. For example, a license regulating the number of simultaneous views at one location may be combined with a license allowing an identified user unlimited views so that additional simultaneous views at the location may be allowed... In an alternative embodiment, a fee can be charged for each viewer of the content for each view. In another alternative, at 225 and 240, a per-viewer license may comprise counting the number of viewers in a viewing area and directly charging for each identified user in the viewing area. Viewers may be uniquely identified and a count of the viewers determined, with the licensee then charged for each viewer accessing the content… At step 220, the user selects to view the content subject to the terms of the license. At 225, a licensee check is made to determine whether the user has sufficient rights to consume the content. This check may include a determination of the number of users present at the consuming device and a determination of whether, for the particular performance of the content selected, the number of users relative to the number of views allowed is equal to or less than that specified in the license… At 302, a display device may receive a set of license options and available user content from one or more content providers.” The display device receiving a set of license options from the one or more content providers correlates to the orchestrator being further configured to receive a policy from an original equipment manufacturer. The license regulating the number of guest users at a given location and requiring an unlimited-viewing license or charging each detected viewer in the viewing area correlates to an OEM policy comprising a policy rule configured to associate the location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with and wherein a given one of the plurality of sets of instructions, upon execution by a given device, cause the given device to perform operations that comprise: receive an instruction to notify a user of a user count or a change in the user count from an orchestrator among the plurality of devices, in response to the instruction, notify the user and send, to the orchestrator, a confirmation that the user has been notified, wherein to determine the user count, the orchestrator is configured to determine a change between a current user count and a previous user count, and to instruct the selected service of the user count, the orchestrator is configured to instruct the selected service of the change in user count: and wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of increase in a number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a first command, wherein in response to a determination the change in user count is representative of a reduction in the number of users present before the IHS, the selected firmware service is configured to trigger a second command as taught by Van Os because displaying notifications indicating a number of participants in a live communication session changes provides the user with feedback about the current state of the participants. Visual feedback sent to the user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user device interface more efficient (Van Os: Col. 80, lines 41-54).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the ITDM or OEM policy comprises a policy rule configured to associate a location of the IHS with a modification to at least one Onlooker Detection setting for detection of a plurality of users present before the IHS as taught by Perez because licenses can regulate the number of views, simultaneous views, views within a certain time period, views for an indeterminate large number of people, and user identity. User authentication can be used to ensure individual can view content associated with their identity. Location information can be used in combination with other licenses to support simultaneous views at a specific location. Notifications can be used to prompt a user to upgrade their license to support their current number of users (Perez: paragraphs 27 and 30).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurongzeb in view of Van Os, Perez and Dogaru et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20230412638 A1), hereinafter “Dogaru.”
With regards to Claim 18, Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez teaches the system of Claim 17 above. Aurongzeb in view of Van Os and Perez does not explicitly teach:
wherein the policy comprises an identification of at least one of: a trusted location, or an untrusted location.
However, Dogaru teaches:
wherein the policy comprises an identification of at least one of: a trusted location, or an untrusted location (Paragraphs 58 and 64, “Following a key zero trust principle, least-privileged access, trust is established based on context (e.g., user identity and location, the security posture of the endpoint, the app or service being requested) with policy checks at each step, via the cloud-based system 100… Zero trust policies verify access requests and rights based on context, including user identity, device, location, type of content, and the application being requested.” The policy verifying access requests and rights based on the user identity and location correlates to the policy comprising an identification of a trusted location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Aurongzeb with wherein the policy comprises an identification of at least one of: a trusted location, or an untrusted location as taught by Dogaru because zero trust policies secure applications and services even if they communicate across network environments, requiring no architectural changes or policy updates. Zero trust with a cloud-based system also eliminates attack surfaces as there are no inbound connections, prevents lateral movement, compromise, and data loss (Dogaru: paragraphs 61 and 66).
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ragupathi et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20160182338 A1); teaching a method of controlling an information handling system in response to environmental events. A management controller is used to dynamically poll at least one environmental event source for environmental event data. The environmental event data is analyzed to determine if the data falls outside of a threshold specification, and a first action is issued to trigger the information handling system in response to the data being outside of a threshold specification.
Conclusion
Please note that PublicPAIR and PrivatePAIR systems are no longer available. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SELINA ELISA HU/Examiner, Art Unit 2193
/Chat C Do/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2193