DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/165,481 filed on February 7, 2023. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 14 and 20, none of the art cited discloses the transmitting/receiving of the UCI multiplexing mode change from disabled to enabled before transmitting/receiving the second DCI of the second UCI and repetitions of the second PUSCH transmission, and receiving/transmitting, respectively, of the second UCI in the second repetitions of the PUSCH transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230035886, hereinafter, “Chen”) in view of Papasakellariou et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20160226649, hereinafter, “Papasakellariou”), further in view of Choi et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220104224, hereinafter, “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters indicating (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions ... Fig. 6):
a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission of uplink control information (UCI) (Chen: [0158] … In some aspects, the uplink control channel [i.e., PUCCH] message may include a UCI message. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-b may receive additional control signaling (e.g., second DCI message) which schedules the UCI message 235 which overlaps in the time domain with at least the PUSCH repetition 220-a and/or PUSCH repetition 220-e. Figs. 2, 6); and
a frequency domain repetition scheme for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (Chen: At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI … [0114] … the UCI message 235 may be scheduled on … different component carrier as the linked uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions 220) ... [0064] ... A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers … Figs. 1, 2, 6);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling frequency domain repetitions of a PUSCH transmission, wherein the frequency domain repetitions comprise a first repetition and a second repetition (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI. In some aspects, the uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) may include a first set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., first set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a first SRS resource set and/or first beam, and a second set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., second set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a second SRS resource set and/or second beam … Figs. 2, 6).
Although Chen teaches an UE receiving DCI messages with scheduling/information for/about PUSCH repetitions and UCI message, Chen does not explicitly teach:
based on the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission overlapping in time with the PUCCH transmission of the UCI and based on the first repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, being associated with a value satisfying a criteria, transmitting the UCI in the first repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Papasakellariou teaches:
based on the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission overlapping in time with the PUCCH transmission of the UCI and based on the first repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, being associated with a value satisfying a criteria, transmitting the UCI in the repetition (Papasakellariou: [0090] CE [coverage enhancements] is typically supported by repeating transmissions of signals either in a time domain or in a frequency domain. A LC-UE operating with CE can be configured by a serving eNB with a CE level corresponding to a number of SFs for a transmission or reception of a respective channel. For example, when UE 114 is an LC-UE, LC-UE 114 can be configured by eNB 102 with a first number of SFs to receive repetitions of a PDSCH, a second number of SFs to transmit repetitions of a PUSCH, and so on … [0164] A sixth embodiment of the disclosure considers a LC-UE behavior when repetitions for respective transmissions of UCI and data [i.e., PUSCH] overlap in time … [0165] LC-UE 114 can multiplex UCI (HARQ-ACK or CSI) in a PUSCH transmission that is configured with a number of repetitions … eNB 102 can configure LC-UE 114 to use a first number, or set of numbers, of repetitions when LC-UE 114 does not multiplex UCI in a PUSCH and to use a second number, or a second set of numbers, of repetitions when UE 114 multiplexes UCI in a PUSCH [i.e., transmitting the UCI in the repetition], where the second number is larger than the first number [i.e., satisfying criteria] …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen to include the features as taught by Papasakellariou above in order to enable link adaptation and transmitting associated control information. (Papasakellariou, ¶ [0002]).
Chen-Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach:
… transmitting the UCI in the first repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
… transmitting the UCI in the first repetition (Choi: [0259] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when multiple PUSCH repetitions overlap one PUCCH [interpreted as satisfying a criteria], the UE may transmit UCI by multiplexing (or piggybacking) the UCI on only one PUSCH repetition, and may not transmit the UCI in the remaining PUSCH repetitions. The one PUSCH repetition may be the first PUSCH repetition which is the most preceding among the PUSCH repetitions ...)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Papasakellariou to include the features as taught by Choi above in order to repetitively transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Choi, ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Choi further teaches:
wherein the transmitting the UCI in the first repetition is further based on at least one of:
the one or more configuration parameters indicating a UCI multiplexing mode parameter that is not enabled (Choi: [0257] FIG. 29 illustrates omission of UCI multiplexing in a configuration in which a PUSCH repetition from which a DM-RS is omitted and another PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol. According to another embodiment of the present disclosure, referring to FIG. 29, in a case in which the UE is configured and indicated so that a PUSCH repetition from which a DM-RS is omitted and another PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol, when UCI included in the PUCCH is transmitted in at least one PUSCH repetition, the UE may not multiplex or piggyback the UCI on the PUSCH repetition from which the DM-RS is omitted and may not transmit the same. FIG. 29 shows that the UE is configured and indicated so that the second PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #1), the third PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #2), the fourth PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #3), and the PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol. Here, the DM-RS is omitted from each of the second PUSCH repetition and the fourth PUSCH repetition, and the DM-RS is included in each of the first PUSCH repetition and the third PUSCH repetition. Since the DM-RS exists in the third PUSCH, the UCI is multiplexed (or piggybacked) on the corresponding PUSCH repetition and transmitted. Accordingly, the UCI may not be multiplexed (or piggybacked) [i.e., not enabled] on the second PUSCH repetition and the fourth PUSCH repetition, from which the DM-RSs are omitted. Fig. 29).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Choi is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the UCI comprises at least one of:
a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK);
a channel state information (CSI) report (Chen: [0114] The uplink control channel message (e.g., UCI message 235) may be scheduled to carry different types of information, including HARQ information, P-CSI, SP-CSI, or any combination thereof …).
Regarding claim 7, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Chen further teaches:
receiving second DCI scheduling:
transmission of second UCI; and
frequency domain repetitions of a second PUSCH transmission (Chen: [0158] … In some aspects, the uplink control channel [i.e., PUCCH] message may include a UCI message. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-b may receive additional control signaling (e.g., second DCI message) which schedules the UCI message 235 which overlaps in the time domain with at least the PUSCH repetition 220-a and/or PUSCH repetition 220-e. Figs. 2, 6).
Choi further teaches:
transmitting, based on a UCI multiplexing mode parameter being enabled, the second UCI in each of the frequency domain repetitions of the second PUSCH transmission (Choi: [0257] ... FIG. 29 shows that the UE is configured and indicated so that the second PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #1), the third PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #2), the fourth PUSCH repetition (PUSCH rep #3), and the PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol. Here, the DM-RS is omitted from each of the second PUSCH repetition and the fourth PUSCH repetition, and the DM-RS is included in each of the first PUSCH repetition and the third PUSCH repetition. Since the DM-RS exists in the third PUSCH, the UCI is multiplexed (or piggybacked) on the corresponding PUSCH repetition and transmitted ... Fig. 29).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Choi is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi in view of Jang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240195483, hereinafter, “Jang”).
Regarding claim 3, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi does not explicitly teach:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective value of a plurality of values;
the criteria comprises a determination of a lowest value, or a highest value, of the plurality of values, wherein the plurality of values comprises the value satisfying the criteria; and
the value associated with the first repetition indicates at least one of:
a frequency;
a resource block value;
a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state;
a TCI state index;
a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set;
a control resource set (CORESET) pool index;
a transmission and reception point (TRP) index;
an antenna panel; or
an antenna panel index.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective value of a plurality of values;
the criteria comprises a determination of a lowest value, of the plurality of values, wherein the plurality of values comprises the value satisfying the criteria; and
the value associated with the first repetition indicates at least one of:
a control resource set (CORESET) pool index (Jang: [0303] Regarding solutions for SFN scheme with two default beams, the above statements are just for example, it can be extended generally considering M number of TRPs, N number of TCIs activated in a CORESET, and P number of PUSCH repetition based on the similar principle … [0312] the UE shall transmit PUSCH according to the spatial relation, if applicable, with a reference to the RS with ‘QCL-TypeD’ corresponding to . . . . [0315] Solution 3: the TCI state or the QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID corresponding to the lowest coresetPoolIndex value on the active DL BWP of the cell in case CORESET(s) are configured on the cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi to include the features as taught by Jang above in order to improve reliability. (Jang, ¶ [0005]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi in view of Deghel et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250016752, hereinafter, “Deghel”.
Regarding claim 4, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi does not explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi does not explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of transmission occasions in different frequency ranges, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is transmitted, by the wireless device, in a respective transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising transmitting each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of transmission occasions in different frequency ranges, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is transmitted, by the wireless device, in a respective transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Papasakellariou-Choi to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Claims 8, 12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230035886, hereinafter, “Chen”) in view of Choi et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220104224, hereinafter, “Choi”), further in view of Wu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220078816, hereinafter, “Wu”).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising an uplink control information (UCI) multiplexing mode parameter (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions ... In some aspects, the uplink control channel message may include a UCI message. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-b may receive additional control signaling (e.g., second DCI message) which schedules the UCI message 235 which overlaps in the time domain with at least the PUSCH repetition 220-a and/or PUSCH repetition 220-e. Figs. 2, 6); and
a frequency domain repetition scheme for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (Chen: At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI … [0114] … the UCI message 235 may be scheduled on … different component carrier as the linked uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions 220) ... [0064] ... A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers … Figs. 1, 2, 6);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling frequency domain repetitions of a PUSCH transmission, wherein the frequency domain repetitions comprise a first repetition and a second repetition (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI. In some aspects, the uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) may include a first set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., first set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a first SRS resource set and/or first beam, and a second set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., second set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a second SRS resource set and/or second beam … Figs. 2, 6).
Although Chen teaches an UE receiving DCI messages with scheduling/information for/about PUSCH repetitions and UCI message, Chen does not explicitly teach:
based on the one or more configuration parameters indicating that UCI multiplexing is not enabled, transmitting the UCI in one of the first repetition or the second repetition, wherein selection of the first repetition or the second repetition for the transmitting the UCI is based on an index, associated with one of the first repetition or the second repetition, satisfying a criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
based on the one or more configuration parameters indicating that UCI multiplexing is not enabled (Choi: [0257] … in a case in which the UE is configured and indicated so that a PUSCH repetition from which a DM-RS is omitted and another PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol, when UCI included in the PUCCH is transmitted in at least one PUSCH repetition, the UE may not multiplex or piggyback the UCI on the PUSCH repetition from which the DM-RS is omitted [i.e., not enabled] and may not transmit the same ... Fig. 29), transmitting the UCI in one of the first repetition (Choi: [0259] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when multiple PUSCH repetitions overlap one PUCCH [interpreted as satisfying a criteria], the UE may transmit UCI by multiplexing (or piggybacking) the UCI on only one PUSCH repetition, and may not transmit the UCI in the remaining PUSCH repetitions. The one PUSCH repetition may be the first PUSCH repetition which is the most preceding among the PUSCH repetitions ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen to include the features as taught by Choi above in order to repetitively transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Choi, ¶ [0010]).
Chen-Choi does not explicitly teach:
… transmitting the UCI in one of the first repetition or the second repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, wherein selection of the first repetition or the second repetition for the transmitting the UCI is based on an index, associated with one of the first repetition or the second repetition, satisfying a criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
… transmitting the UCI in one of the repetitions, wherein selection of the repetitions for the transmitting the UCI is based on an index, associated with one of the repetitions, satisfying a criteria (Wu: [0016] herein, the first information block is used to indicate the first time-frequency resource block, and the first time-frequency resource block is reserved for the first bit block; the second information block is used to indicate the second time-frequency resource block and the third time-frequency resource block, and the second time-frequency resource block and the third time-frequency resource block are respectively reserved for two repetitions of the second bit block; the first time-frequency resource block overlaps with the second time-frequency resource block in time domain, and the first time-frequency resource block overlaps with the third time-frequency resource block in time domain; whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether to drop transmitting the first bit block in the first time-frequency resource block; the third information block is used to indicate a first index and a second index, the first index is used to determine a spatial relation of the second time-frequency resource block, and the second index is used to determine a spatial relation of the third time-frequency resource block; the first condition set comprises: the first index is the same as the second index; the first index is a non-negative integer, and the second index is a non-negative integer; the first bit block comprises at least one bit, and the second bit block comprises at least one bit. [0020] In one embodiment, the essence of the above method is that a first time-frequency resource block is a PUSCH, a second time-frequency resource block and a third time-frequency resource block are repetitions of a PUCCH, a first bit block is a Transport Block (1B) or a Code Block Group (CBG), a second bit block is Uplink control information (UCI), and a first index and a second index are respectively two beams used for repetitions of the PUCCH; when a first condition set is satisfied, the UCI is multiplexed to be transmitted in the PUSCH ... Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi to include the features as taught by Wu above in order to solve a plurality of transmissions conflict in time domain. (Wu, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the UCI comprises at least one of:
a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK);
a channel state information (CSI) report (Chen: [0114] The uplink control channel message (e.g., UCI message 235) may be scheduled to carry different types of information, including HARQ information, P-CSI, SP-CSI, or any combination thereof …).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches:
A method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, one or more configuration parameters indicating (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions ... Fig. 6):
uplink control information (UCI) multiplexing mode parameter (Chen: [0158] … In some aspects, the uplink control channel message may include a UCI message. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-b may receive additional control signaling (e.g., second DCI message) which schedules the UCI message 235 which overlaps in the time domain with at least the PUSCH repetition 220-a and/or PUSCH repetition 220-e. Figs. 2, 6);
a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission of uplink control information (UCI) (Chen: [0158] … In some aspects, the uplink control channel [i.e., PUCCH] message may include a UCI message. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the UE 115-b may receive additional control signaling (e.g., second DCI message) which schedules the UCI message 235 which overlaps in the time domain with at least the PUSCH repetition 220-a and/or PUSCH repetition 220-e. Figs. 2, 6); and
a frequency domain repetition scheme for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (Chen: At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI … [0114] … the UCI message 235 may be scheduled on … different component carrier as the linked uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions 220) ... [0064] ... A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration. Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers … Figs. 1, 2, 6);
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) scheduling frequency domain repetitions of a PUSCH transmission, wherein the frequency domain repetitions comprise a first repetition and a second repetition (Chen: [0157] At 605, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station 105-b, control signaling (e.g., a first DCI message) which schedules transmission of A-CSI via multiple uplink transmission repetitions. For example, the UE 115-b may receive a DCI message which schedules a set of linked PUSCH transmissions which are scheduled to include A-CSI. In some aspects, the uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) may include a first set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., first set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a first SRS resource set and/or first beam, and a second set of uplink transmission repetitions (e.g., second set of PUSCH repetitions) associated with a second SRS resource set and/or second beam … Figs. 2, 6).
Although Chen teaches an UE receiving DCI messages with scheduling/information for/about PUSCH repetitions and UCI message, Chen does not explicitly teach:
based on the one or more configuration parameters indicating that UCI multiplexing is not enabled, receiving the UCI in one of the first repetition or the second repetition, wherein reception of the UCI in the first repetition or in the second repetition is based on an index, associated with one of the first repetition or the second repetition, satisfying a criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
based on the one or more configuration parameters indicating that UCI multiplexing is not enabled (Choi: [0257] … in a case in which the UE is configured and indicated so that a PUSCH repetition from which a DM-RS is omitted and another PUCCH are transmitted in the same symbol, when UCI included in the PUCCH is transmitted in at least one PUSCH repetition, the UE may not multiplex or piggyback the UCI on the PUSCH repetition from which the DM-RS is omitted [i.e., not enabled] and may not transmit the same ... Fig. 29), receiving the UCI in one of the first repetition (Choi: [0259] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when multiple PUSCH repetitions overlap one PUCCH [interpreted as satisfying a criteria], the UE may transmit UCI by multiplexing (or piggybacking) the UCI on only one PUSCH repetition, and may not transmit the UCI in the remaining PUSCH repetitions. The one PUSCH repetition may be the first PUSCH repetition which is the most preceding among the PUSCH repetitions ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen to include the features as taught by Choi above in order to repetitively transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Choi, ¶ [0010]).
Chen-Choi does not explicitly teach:
… transmitting the UCI in one of the first repetition or the second repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, wherein reception of the UCI in the first repetition or in the second repetition is based on an index, associated with one of the first repetition or the second repetition, satisfying a criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
… transmitting the UCI in one of the repetitions of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, wherein reception of the UCI in the repetitions is based on an index, associated with one of the repetitions, satisfying a criteria (Wu: [0016] herein, the first information block is used to indicate the first time-frequency resource block, and the first time-frequency resource block is reserved for the first bit block; the second information block is used to indicate the second time-frequency resource block and the third time-frequency resource block, and the second time-frequency resource block and the third time-frequency resource block are respectively reserved for two repetitions of the second bit block; the first time-frequency resource block overlaps with the second time-frequency resource block in time domain, and the first time-frequency resource block overlaps with the third time-frequency resource block in time domain; whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether to drop transmitting the first bit block in the first time-frequency resource block; the third information block is used to indicate a first index and a second index, the first index is used to determine a spatial relation of the second time-frequency resource block, and the second index is used to determine a spatial relation of the third time-frequency resource block; the first condition set comprises: the first index is the same as the second index; the first index is a non-negative integer, and the second index is a non-negative integer; the first bit block comprises at least one bit, and the second bit block comprises at least one bit. [0020] In one embodiment, the essence of the above method is that a first time-frequency resource block is a PUSCH, a second time-frequency resource block and a third time-frequency resource block are repetitions of a PUCCH, a first bit block is a Transport Block (1B) or a Code Block Group (CBG), a second bit block is Uplink control information (UCI), and a first index and a second index are respectively two beams used for repetitions of the PUCCH; when a first condition set is satisfied, the UCI is multiplexed to be transmitted in the PUSCH ... Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi to include the features as taught by Wu above in order to solve a plurality of transmissions conflict in time domain. (Wu, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the UCI comprises at least one of:
a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK);
a channel state information (CSI) report (Chen: [0114] The uplink control channel message (e.g., UCI message 235) may be scheduled to carry different types of information, including HARQ information, P-CSI, SP-CSI, or any combination thereof …).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen-Choi-Wu in view of Xiong et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210337534, hereinafter, “Xiong”).
Regarding claim 9, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
wherein the transmitting the UCI comprises transmitting the UCI in the first repetition based on the first repetition comprising a lowest index of a plurality of indexes comprising a first index associated with the first repetition and a second index associated with the second repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xiong teaches:
wherein the transmitting the UCI comprises transmitting the UCI in the first repetition based on the first repetition comprising a lowest index of a plurality of indexes comprising a first index associated with the first repetition and a second index associated with the second repetition (Xiong: [0024] In some embodiments, for a codebook-based PUSCH transmission, the first TPMI index may be indicated by a value of ‘0’ and may be used for a first PUSCH repetition and the second TPMI index may be indicated by a value of ‘1’ and may be used for a second PUSCH repetition. In these embodiments, each TPMI index may correspond to a different precoder matrix allowing different precoding matrixes to applied for different transmission occasions of a PUSCH repetition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Xiong above in order for gNB to receive PUSCH from a UE. (Xiong, ¶ [0003]).
Claims 10 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen-Choi-Wu in view of Jang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240195483, hereinafter, “Jang”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective index of a plurality of indexes, wherein the plurality of indexes comprises the index satisfying the criteria;
the transmitting the UCI is in the first repetition based on an index associated with the first repetition being a lowest index, or a highest index, of the plurality of indexes;
the criteria comprises a determination of the lowest index, or the highest index, of the plurality of indexes; and
the index satisfying the criteria comprises at least one of:
a TCI state index; or
an antenna panel index.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective index of a plurality of indexes, wherein the plurality of indexes comprises the index satisfying the criteria;
the transmitting the UCI is in the first repetition based on an index associated with the first repetition being a lowest index, or a highest index, of the plurality of indexes;
the criteria comprises a determination of the lowest index, of the plurality of indexes; and
the index satisfying the criteria comprises at least one of:
a TCI state index (Jang: [0276] Regarding solutions for Non-SFN scheme with two default beams, the above statements are just for example, it can be extended generally considering M number of TRPs, N number of CORESETs which each CORESET is associated with N search space sets, respectively, configured by higher layer parameter for PDCCH repetition, and P number of PUSCH repetition based on the similar principle … [0287] the UE shall transmit PUSCH according to the spatial relation, if applicable, with a reference to the RS with ‘QCL-TypeD’ corresponding to the QCL assumption . . . . [0288] Solution 1-1: the TCI state or the QCL assumption of the lowest TCI state ID activated for a CORESET with the lowest index among the CORESETs activated two different TCI states on the active DL BWP of the cell in case CORESET(s) are configured on the cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Jang above in order to improve reliability. (Jang, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective index of a plurality of indexes, wherein the plurality of indexes comprises the index satisfying the criteria;
the receiving the UCI is in the first repetition based on an index associated with the first repetition being a lowest index, or a highest index, of the plurality of indexes;
the criteria comprises a determination of the lowest index, or the highest index, of the plurality of indexes; and
the index satisfying the criteria comprises at least one of:
a TCI state index; or
an antenna panel index.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches:
wherein:
each repetition, of the frequency domain repetitions, is associated with a respective index of a plurality of indexes, wherein the plurality of indexes comprises the index satisfying the criteria;
the receiving the UCI is in the first repetition based on an index associated with the first repetition being a lowest index, or a highest index, of the plurality of indexes;
the criteria comprises a determination of the lowest index, or the highest index, of the plurality of indexes; and
the index satisfying the criteria comprises at least one of:
a TCI state index (Jang: [0276] Regarding solutions for Non-SFN scheme with two default beams, the above statements are just for example, it can be extended generally considering M number of TRPs, N number of CORESETs which each CORESET is associated with N search space sets, respectively, configured by higher layer parameter for PDCCH repetition, and P number of PUSCH repetition based on the similar principle … [0287] the UE shall transmit PUSCH according to the spatial relation, if applicable, with a reference to the RS with ‘QCL-TypeD’ corresponding to the QCL assumption . . . . [0288] Solution 1-1: the TCI state or the QCL assumption of the lowest TCI state ID activated for a CORESET with the lowest index among the CORESETs activated two different TCI states on the active DL BWP of the cell in case CORESET(s) are configured on the cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Jang above in order to improve reliability. (Jang, ¶ [0005]).
Claims 11, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen-Choi-Wu in view of Deghel et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250016752, hereinafter, “Deghel”.
Regarding claim 11, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of transmission occasions in different frequency ranges and overlapping in time, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is transmitted, by the wireless device, in a respective transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising transmitting each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of transmission occasions in different frequency ranges and overlapping in time, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is transmitted, by the wireless device, in a respective transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising transmitting the second repetition in a same time period as the first repetition, wherein the UCI is multiplexed in the first repetition, and wherein the UCI is not multiplexed in the second repetition (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen-Choi-Wu discloses on the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Chen-Choi-Wu does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of reception occasions in different frequency ranges and overlapping in time, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is received, by the base station, in a respective reception occasion of the plurality of reception occasions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
further comprising receiving each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of reception occasions in different frequency ranges and overlapping in time, wherein each repetition of the frequency domain repetitions of the PUSCH transmission is received, by the base station, in a respective reception occasion of the plurality of reception occasions (Deghel: [0071] FDM (frequency domain multiplexing) PUCCH/PUSCH transmission operation, for which the same UCI/TB may be repeated at the same time (or at overlapping time domain resources) but on non-overlapping frequency domain allocations, where each repetition is transmitted towards a different TRP. Alternatively, instead of repeating the same TB/UCI, different parts of PUCCH/PUSCH (where a part may be a time allocation, a frequency allocation, layer(s), and/or coded bits) may be transmitted towards different TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen-Choi-Wu to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to improve the multiplexing scheme(s). (Deghel, ¶ [0032]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416