DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 13-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of Bowen et al (US. Pat. No. 11,612,702).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Bowen et al generally encompass the outstanding claims of the instant application.
Regarding instant independent claim 13, and dependent claim 16, claim 13 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of the instant claim. While it recites that a lid is “sealed upon” the flange, it would be well understood by one having ordinary skill in the art that if something is “sealed upon” something else, it is also “coupled to” that something.
Regarding instant claim 14, claim 14 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of this instant claim.
Regarding instant claim 15, claim 15 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of this instant claim.
Regarding instant claim 17, claim 6 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of this instant claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the heat-sealable film or aluminum feature of the lid into the invention of independent claim 12 of Bowen.
Regarding instant claim 18, claim 2 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of this instant claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a vaporizable material that is fluidic or viscous into the shell of the invention of independent claim 12 of Bowen.
Regarding instant independent claim 19, and dependent claim 22, independent claim 1 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of the instant claim. Again, while it recites that a lid is “sealed upon” the flange, it would be well understood by one having ordinary skill in the art that if something is “sealed upon” something else, it is also “coupled to” that something.
Regarding instant claim 20, claim 8 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of this instant claim.
Regarding claim 21, claim 9 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 23, claim 6 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 24, claim 2 of Bowen et al includes all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 13-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2008/029381 (hereinafter referred to as “Oglesby et al”) in view Robinson et al (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2008/0092912).
Regarding independent claim 13, and dependent claim 16, Oglesby et al discloses a disposable sachet (1) (read: cartridge/shell) of tobacco (2) shaped and sized to releasably and snugly be received in a vaporizing chamber (15) of a gas powered vaporizing device (5) (read: vaporizer device) for vaporizing vaporizable constituents of the tobacco (2) (see abstract and Fig. 10) (corresponding to the claimed “[a] cartridge for use in a vaporizer device comprising a chamber configured for the cartridge to be inserted therein”).
The sachet (1) has a downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) made of permeable (read: plurality of aperture or vents) paper material, sealingly secured to the side wall (45) of the sachet (1) which allows aerosol formed by the vaporized constituents to flow therethrough upon actuation of the heat transfer member (25) extending into the interior region (46) of the sachet (1) (corresponding to the claimed “a lid…wherein the lid comprises a plurality of apertures or vents; wherein the plurality of apertures of vents of the lid are configured to allow exit of an aerosol generated from heating the vaporizable material within the cartridge to a target temperature by a heater of the vaporizer device”.
Oglesby et al fails to specifically disclose that its sachet (1) (read: shell) has a “flange” and the downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) is “coupled to the flange”; however, replacing the sachet (1) of Oglesby et al with a conventional flanged-shell design is merely a simple substitution of known elements and yields nothing more than predictable results. Specifically, Oglesby et al already teaches a sachet (1) with a sidewall (45) and a sealingly secured end cap (53). Modifying Oglesby’s sidewall to include a flange to facilitate the coupling/sealing of the end cap (lid) is simply the application of a known manufacturing and sealing technique (e.g., heat-sealing or crimping a lid to a flange) to achieve the predictable result of a secure, leak-proof enclosure. In the alternative, replacing the sachet (1) of Oglesby et al with a conventional flanged-shell design is merely a design choice and optimization of functional features. Providing a flange on a container to to act as a mating surface for a lid or film is a standard, well-known design choice in many arts. Hence, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized that extending the top edge of Oglesby’s sidewall (45) outward to form a flange provides a wider, flat surface area, which optimizes and improves the efficiency of sealing the permeable end cap (54) to the shell (corresponding to the claimed “a lid coupled to the flange”; and the “wherein the lid is sealed to the flange” recitation of claim 16).
Oglesby et al discloses tobacco (2) and its constituents as vaporizable material used in its sachet but fails to specifically disclose “glycerin and a tobacco material”; however, the Robinson et al reference teaches an aerosol-generating substance that is designed to be contained in a container of an electrically powered aerosol generating device (read: vaporizer). The substance may include a mixture of glycerin and propylene glycol, in intimate contact with granulated tobacco (read: pieces of tobacco), and may be contained in the container in liquid form. Robinson et al further indicates that such tobacco materials produce visible aerosols that are “smoke-like” in nature (see paras. [0010], [0043], [0050], [0062], [0084]-[0086]). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated this aerosol-generating material of Robinson et al into the modified sachet (1) of Oglesby et al as such is already known in the art from the Robinson et al disclosure and is useful for controlling chemical composition of the mainstream aerosol produced by the device and, hence, positively impact the organoleptic experience for the user during operation as taught/suggested in Robinson et al (see para. [0070]) (corresponding to the claimed “a vaporizable material comprising glycerin and a tobacco material comprising pieces of tobacco…wherein the glycerin is present in an amount to produce a visible aerosol”).
Regarding claim 14, while Robinson et al fails to articulate that its “granulated tobacco” pieces are less than 2 mm in diameter, the word “granulated” teaches, if not strongly suggests, that the tobacco particles would be in granular form (read: in the form of grains, particles) which would have obviously motivated one of ordinary skill to provide such tobacco pieces in sizes that would be less than 2mm in diameter (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the pieces of tobacco are less than 2 mm in diameter”).
Regarding claim 15, Oglesby et a discloses that its tobacco is heated to a temperature generally in the range of from 130-2300C (page 1, lines 28-29). Note: in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05 (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the target temperature is 100oC to 200oC”).
Regarding claim 17, Oglesby et al discloses that its downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) may alternately be made of perforated aluminum foil (page 23, lines 1-3)(corresponding to the claimed “wherein the lid comprises…aluminum”).
Regarding claim 18, Robinson et al discloses that its aerosol-forming material can be in liquid form (see para. [0062]). Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided for the modified vaporizing material of the modified Oglesby et al sachet to also be in liquid form (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the vaporizable material is a fluidic …vaporizable material’).
Regarding independent claim 19, and dependent claim 22, Oglesby et al discloses a disposable sachet (1) (read: cartridge) of tobacco (2) shaped and sized to releasably and snugly be received in a vaporizing chamber (15) (read: body) of a gas powered vaporizing device (5) (read: vaporizer device) for vaporizing vaporizable constituents of the tobacco (2) (see abstract and Fig. 10) (corresponding to the claimed “[a]n aerosol-generating device comprising: a body; a cartridge configured to be inserted into the body”).
The sachet (1) has a downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) made of permeable (read: plurality of aperture or vents) paper material, sealingly secured to the side wall (45) of the sachet (1) which allows aerosol formed by the vaporized constituents to flow therethrough upon actuation of the heat transfer member (25) extending into the interior region (46) of the sachet (1) (corresponding to the claimed “the cartridge comprising: a shell containing a vaporizable material…wherein a heater is configured to heat the vaporizable material within the cartridge within the chamber to a target temperature; a lid coupled to the shell, the lid comprising a plurality of apertures or vents configured to allow exit from the cartridge of an aerosol generated by heating the vaporizable material within the cartridge”).
Oglesby et al fails to specifically disclose that its sachet (1) (read: shell) has a “flange” and the downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) is “coupled to the flange”; however, Oglesby et al fails to specifically disclose that its sachet (1) (read: shell) has a “flange” and the downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) is “coupled to the flange”; however, replacing the sachet (1) of Oglesby et al with a conventional flanged-shell design is merely a simple substitution of known elements and yields nothing more than predictable results. Specifically, Oglesby et al already teaches a sachet (1) with a sidewall (45) and a sealingly secured end cap (53). Modifying Oglesby’s sidewall to include a flange to facilitate the coupling/sealing of the end cap (lid) is simply the application of a known manufacturing and sealing technique (e.g., heat-sealing or crimping a lid to a flange) to achieve the predictable result of a secure, leak-proof enclosure. In the alternative, replacing the sachet (1) of Oglesby et al with a conventional flanged-shell design is merely a design choice and optimization of functional features. Providing a flange on a container to to act as a mating surface for a lid or film is a standard, well-known design choice in many arts. Hence, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized that extending the top edge of Oglesby’s sidewall (45) outward to form a flange provides a wider, flat surface area, which optimizes and improves the efficiency of sealing the permeable end cap (54) to the shell (corresponding to the claimed “a lid coupled to the flange”; and “wherein the lid is sealed to the flange” recitation of claim 22).
Oglesby et al discloses tobacco (2) and its constituents as vaporizable material used in its sachet but fails to specifically disclose “glycerin and a tobacco material”; however, the Robinson et al reference teaches an aerosol-generating substance that is designed to be contained in a container of an electrically powered aerosol generating device (read: vaporizer). The substance may include a mixture of glycerin and propylene glycol, in intimate contact with granulated tobacco (read: pieces of tobacco), and may be contained in the container in liquid form. Robinson et al further indicates that such tobacco materials produce visible aerosols that are “smoke-like” in nature (see paras. [0010], [0043], [0050], [0062], [0084]-[0086]). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated this aerosol-generating material of Robinson et al into the sachet (1) of Oglesby et al as such is already known in the art from the Robinson et al disclosure and is useful for controlling chemical composition of the mainstream aerosol produced by the device and, hence, positively impact the organoleptic experience for the user during operation as taught/suggested in Robinson et al (see para. [0070]) (corresponding to the claimed “a vaporizable material comprising glycerin and a tobacco material comprising pieces of tobacco…wherein the glycerin is present in an amount to produce a visible aerosol”).
Regarding claim 20, while Robinson et al fails to articulate that its “granulated tobacco” pieces are less than 2 mm in diameter, the word “granulated” teaches, if not strongly suggests, that the tobacco particles would be in granular form (read: in the form of grains, particles) which would have obviously motivated one of ordinary skill to provide such tobacco pieces in sizes that would be less than 2mm in diameter (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the pieces of tobacco are less than 2 mm in diameter”).
Regarding claim 21, Oglesby et a discloses that its tobacco is heated to a temperature generally in the range of from 130-2300C (page 1, lines 28-29). Note: in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05 (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the target temperature is 100oC to 200oC”).
Regarding claim 23, Oglesby et al discloses that its downstream end cap (53) (read: lid) may alternately be made of perforated aluminum foil (page 23, lines 1-3)(corresponding to the claimed “wherein the lid comprises…aluminum”).
Regarding claim 24, Robinson et al discloses that its aerosol-forming material can be in liquid form (see para. [0062]). Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided for the modified vaporizing material of the modified Oglesby et al sachet to also be in liquid form (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the vaporizable material is a fluidic …vaporizable material”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection presented above.
Conclusion
/DIONNE W. MAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747