DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV, Figures 5-6 and Claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakatsu [JP 2010-041906 A] in view of Tetsuo et al. [WO 2007/122788 A1]
Regarding claim 1, Sadakatsu discloses a wireless transmission module for transmitting energy or signals, comprising:
- a coil assembly [12], having a winding axis; and
- an induction substrate [11], corresponding to the coil assembly; wherein the induction substrate has a first surface facing the coil assembly, wherein the induction substrate includes: a first block; a second block, adjacent to the first block; a third block, adjacent to the second block; a fourth block, adjacent to the third block; a first gap, adjacent to and between the first block and the second block; a second gap, adjacent to and between the second block and the third block; and a third gap, adjacent to and between the third block and the fourth block [figures 2A-2B].
Sadakatsu further discloses the induction substrate further discloses the plurality of block [31, 311, 31c, 31d, 31a1-31a2] formed of soft magnetic pieces which may have different shapes such as a triangle and so on [para 0029]. Sadakatsu further discloses the induction substrate is not limited thereto and with different arrangements of the plurality of the blocks [figures 3A-3B, 6A-6B and 7-8C].
Sadakatsu disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific sizes of the blocks.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use different sizes or shapes for the magnetic blocks to form the induction substrate [11].
Sadakatsu disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific sizes and spaces arrangement between the blocks.
Tetsuo et al. discloses a non-contact device using a magnetic substrate [foil 16] having a plurality of gaps [slits 17] formed thereon, wherein the gaps can be arranged arbitrarily [figures 11, 13-14] and at an angle [figure 12].
Tetsuo further discloses different arrangement of the “blocks” [figure 11], specifically the blocks formed or separated by gaps [11] into different sizes and/or shapes. Tetsuo also discloses the size of the gaps/slits can be arbitrarily determined. Tetsuo also discloses that it is effective to provide the slit so that the area of the magnetic body after the division becomes smaller as it becomes the center.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use different size blocks/gaps and/or different arrangement of Tetsuo, in Sadakatsu, for the purpose of suppression of the eddy current effect and the power receiving efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, the specific angle of the gap(s) would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different desired magnetic flux/field characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837