DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
2. Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 11 have been amended.
Claim 12 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are examined on the merits.
Withdrawn Objections
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1, 6 and 11 are no longer objected to because each independent claim recites the full meaning of the acronym prior to the abbreviation.
Withdrawn Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. The rejection of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard et al., (Blood 138 (Supplement 1): 1721-1723, 5 November 2021), and further in view of Bot et al., US 2021/0161959 A1 (effectively filed November 6, 2020) and Fischer et al., (J. Immunotherapy 40 (5): 187-195, June 2017) is withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 1, In the Claims submitted July 27, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “…anti-CD19 antibodies configured to recognize CD19 comprising the reference glycosylation state, see claim 19, lines 3 and 4 of the Claims submitted February 7, 2023, page 19. The specification on page 2, lines 12-15; page 3, last paragraph (para.) cites the same; as well as other citations of similar language on page 3, last sentence; page 10, last para.; page 11, first para. and lines 20-22; and page 12, lines 10-15. There is no clear definition or functional equivalents, thereof identified in the specification. The Specification is silent with respect to any structural elements and corresponding structure, but rather cites a compound or antibody to be implemented in the claimed invention absent of structure that performs the recognition.
New and Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim invention includes treating a B cell malignancy with the administration of “a therapeutically effective amount of a cluster of differentiation 19 (CD19)-targeted immunotherapy in combination with a therapeutically effective amount of an agent capable of modulating CD19 glycosylation or signal peptide peptidase-like 3 (SPPL3) expression or activity in malignant B cells”.
The written description in this instant case seems to set forth “…an antibody, a bispecific T cell engager and/or CAR T cell that specifically binds hyperglycosylated or hypoglycosylated CD19 of malignant B cells if the glycosylation state of CD19 is substantially hyperglycosylated or hypoglycosylated compared to the reference glycosylation state: or selecting for the treatment the CD19-targeted immunotherapy in combination with an agent capable of modulating expression or activity of SPPL3 if the expression or activity of SPPL3 is substantially increased or decreased compared to the reference expression or activity of SPPL3.”, see sections 0007, 0008.
“In various aspects, CD19 glycosylation-modifying agents include any composition or method that can modulate the degree of glycosylation or glycosylation profile of CD19 on disease cells without limitation. For example, a CD19 glycosylation-modifying agent can be an activator, an inhibitor, an agonist, or an antagonist.”, see section 0062, 0064. However, the broad claims remiss of known agents, read on a host of molecules that may be capable of modulating CD19 glycosylation or SPPL3 expression or activity in malignant B cells.
The instant application does not provide sufficient guidance as to the nexus or correlation between the structure and function of the undefined host of agents capable of performing the recited function of modulating that places the skilled artisan in possession of the relevant identifying characteristics of a genus of agents thereof commensurate in scope with the claimed inventions.
In Abbvie v. Centocor (Fed. Cir. 2014), the Court held that a disclosure of many different antibodies (in that case neutralizing antibodies to IL-12 with a particular binding affinity) was not enough to support the genus of all IL-12 neutralizing antibodies because the disclosed antibodies were very closely related to each other in structure and were not representative of the full diversity of the genus. The Court further noted that functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus.
“A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus.” See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69.
Vas-Cath Inc. V Mahurkar, 19 U5PQ2d 1111, clearly states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117). The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 115).
The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed structure of the encompassed agents and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it. The polypeptide itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 U5PQ 2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Lts. 18 U5PQ2d 1016.
Furthermore, In The Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 U5PQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that while Applicant is not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of a genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of DNA molecules, usually defined by a nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(l), the court states that "[a]n adequate written description of a DNA...'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties', not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention".
At the time the application was filed Applicant seems to not be in possession of all agents that may or may not be capable of modulating CD19 glycosylation and/or modulating expression or activity of SPPL3 to facilitate treatment. The specification does not evidence the possession of all agents that are undefined and uncharacterized falling within the potentially large genus to establish possession. No corollary nexus has been established between structure and function.
The USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018. See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf.
The Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies, including the following.
“In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”.
There is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the agents that are capable of modulating expression or activity of SPPL3 to the claimed invention to demonstrate possession that fulfill the requirements of a structure-function relationships of written description. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
“When a patent claims a genus using functional language to define a desired result, the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus.” See Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), the following is noted.
To show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358).
The instant disclosure, including the claims fail to disclose a representative number of species falling with the scope of the genus and/or structural common to the members of the genus so the one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus of therapeutic agents that function in the manner set forth in the claims. Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361).
An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products – “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
Here, Applicant’s claim by virtue of the breath of the broad term, agent includes molecules that encompass various structural, specificities and functional attributes to fulfill the requirements of a structure-function relationships of written description, but does not describe the structure-identifying information about the therapeutic agent(s), nor describe a representative number of species falling with the scope of the genus or structural common to the members of the genus so the one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus of the actual agent(s).
A skilled artisan cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus that exhibit this functional property.
The specification does not evidence the possession of all agents that are undefined and uncharacterized, falling within the potentially large genus to establish possession. Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 U5PQ2d 1398.
The full breadth of the claims do not meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
12. The rejection of claims 1-11 and 13-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is maintained and made. Claim 12 has been cancelled.
Applicant has asserted with the amendments to the claims, “…all of Examiner’s [rejections] to these claims” have been addressed, see Remarks submitted July 27, 2026, page 7, “Claim…35 USC § 112” segment. Applicant’s arguments and claims have been carefully considered, but fail to persuade.
a. Claims 1 and 2 no longer recite the term, “substantially”, it has been deleted and replaced with the term, significantly, see In the Claims submitted July 27, 2026, step. c. in claim 1 and steps a. & b. in claim 2. However, it remains unclear how much and/or how little in amount and/or level between the subject’s biomarker level and the reference biomarker level should be considered crucial or notable to impact critical clinical decisions, including determining resistance to immunotherapy, implementing treatment and/or selecting treatment.
It is also not clear how different, alike, crucial, notable, alike or correlative the CD19 glycosylation states between an individual’s malignant B cells and reference expression should or should not be to determine the B cell malignancy is resistant to immunotherapy. Accordingly, the metes and bounds cannot be determined.
b. Claims 1, 6 and 11 recite “…an agent capable of modulating…”, however it is not clear if the agent is the same as the modified CD19-targeted immunotherapy comprising antibody, chimeric antigen receptor T (CAR T), or CD19-targeted bispecific T cell engager. It is not clear if the agent one and the same as the three therapeutic agents recited herein. Accordingly, the metes and bounds cannot be determined.
c. Claim 19 has been amended to recite “…anti-CD19 antibodies configured to preferentially bind to CD19 in the reference glycosylation state.”, see last two lines of the claim.
The nonce term, configured does not have any specific structural meaning for performing the claimed function, hence it remains unclear how the said antibodies are arranged and/or their structure is designed in order to bind to CD19 in a reference glycosylated state. Furthermore, the term “preferentially” is indefinite because the scope of the claim is not clear. It is not clear if the language following the term, preferentially. The metes and bounds cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
14. The claimed invention continues to be directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 13-19 does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they read on a judicial (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract) without significantly more. Claim 12 has been cancelled.
Applicant argues with the amendment to claims 1 and 11 including an administration step and selecting step, the claims now read on practical applications, see Remarks submitted July 27, 2026.
While Applicant has amended the claims to include administration steps, the implementation of the step is conditional. If the biomarker level differs between the B cell malignancy and the reference level, thereby determined to be resistant to immunotherapy administration of treatment commences, as well as the determination is based on if the glycosylation state of CD19 differs between glycosylation states and expression/activity of SPPL3 between the patient’s sample and reference malignant B cells. Applicant’s claims are conditional claims, that is, if a condition precedent in a method claim is not met, the conditional steps recited in the claims are not required to be performed. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of such method claims do not include the conditional steps. The conditional steps reading on the converse are not included in the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Moreover, “if the glycosylation state of CD19 is similar to not statistically different from the reference glycosylation state, the expression or activity of SPPL3 is similar to the reference expression or activity of SPPL3,” and “…if the expression or activity of SPPL3 is significantly increased or decreased compared to the reference expression or activity of SPPL3”, CD19-targeted immunotherapy or CD19-targeted immunotherapy in combination with an agent capable of modulating SPPL3 is selected. These recitations also contain conditional language and do not include active steps of administering a treatment after selecting, thereby the judicial exception continues not to be integrated into a practical application.
The rejection is maintained and made for the reasons of record and cited, herein
The claimed invention (claims 1-5 and 11-19) is directed to a judicial exception and/or natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a method of detecting a biomarker(s) level in malignant B cells, the glycosylation state biomarker, CD19 and/or expression or activity of biomarker, SPPL3 and/or any combination thereof. The biomarker(s) is/are compared to a reference biomarker(s). A significant difference between the biomarker(s) level and the reference biomarker(s) level is indicative of the B cell malignancy’s resistance to immunotherapy.
Furthermore, the claimed invention reads on selecting a B cell malignancy treatment comprising detecting a biomarker(s) level in malignant B cells, the glycosylation state biomarker, CD19 and/or expression or activity of biomarker, SPPL3 and/or any combination thereof. The biomarker(s) are compared to a reference biomarker(s). A comparison between the biomarker(s) level and the reference biomarker(s) level is indicative of the B cell malignancy treatment that should be selected.
Moreover, differences between the glycosylation state of CD19 (hyperglycosylated or hypoglycosylated) compared to reference glycosylation state in malignant B cells or SPPL3 expression/activity in malignant B cells substantially increased/decreased compared to reference expression/activity of SPPL3 in malignant B cells is indicative of the B cell malignancy is resistant to immunotherapy.
The judicial exception reads assaying a biomarker(s) level in an individual’s malignant B cells, comparing it to a reference biomarker level and based on differences between these levels is indicative of immunotherapy treatment resistance and selecting a B cell malignancy treatment. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because gathering information and observing the difference in candidate cancer biomarker(s) level(s) between an individual’s biological sample and a reference level(s) required to use the correlation does not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it does not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
The analysis as set forth in the 2019 Guidance is as follows:
Step 1: Yes, claims are drawn to a method which is one of the four statutory categories, a process.
Step 2A, prong 1: Yes, the claims recite/describe/set forth a judicial exception. The claims describe the relationship between the difference in an individual’s biomarker(s), CD19 and/or SPPL2 level(s) within malignant B cells and reference biomarker(s) level is indicative of resistance to immunotherapy, as well as the treatment to select. Furthermore, assayed differences in CD19 glycosylation states between an individual’s B cell malignancy and reference sample is indicative of the treatment to select.
Step 2A, prong 2: No, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not rely on or use the exception here. Once differences in expression and/or activity of biomarker(s) SLLP3 and states of CD19 glycosylation within the individual’s malignant B cells sample and a reference, there are no additional elements or combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Determining and selecting are mental steps/ processes, thereby the claims encompass abstract ideas and involve performing mental steps.
Step 2B: There is no inventive concept present in the clams. The steps of analyzing the level of candidate cancer biomarker(s) in a biological sample and assessing a glycosylation pattern is established by well understood, routine conventional methods, and in addition they are pre-solution activity, i.e. data gathering necessary to perform the correlation. The following claims and steps inform one of ordinary skilled in the art, the comparison and the level of biomarker(s) identifies an individual as requiring treatment. The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, these claims are not be eligible under step 2A or step 2B.
Claims 1-5 and 11-19 are drawn to a non-statutory method having a "natural principle" as a limiting element or step without reciting additional elements/steps that integrate the natural principle into the claimed invention such that the natural principle is practically applied, and are sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the natural principle itself. In the instant case, the "natural principle" is: detecting biomarkers, a glycosylation state of CD19, SPPL3 expression or activity in malignant B cells as compared to a reference biomarker level and difference in biomarker levels between the malignant B cells and the reference level is indicative of the B cell malignancy will be resistant to immunotherapy and what treatment to select.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because assaying candidate cancer biomarkers, as well as their expression and/or activity does not add significantly more and is not an inventive concept. Because methods for making such determinations were well known in the art, these steps simply tell researchers to engage in well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously engaged in by scientists in the field. Such activities are normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such law. The claims do not add significantly more to the natural phenomenon because the claims do not require a novel reagent, apparatus of incorporate a novel treatment based on the correlation.
A claim that focuses on use of a natural principle must also include additional elements or steps to show that the inventor has practically applied, and added something significant to, the natural principle itself. See Mayo, 101 USPQ2d at 1966. Recited elements such as “detecting”, “comparing”, “determining” and “selecting” based on the natural principle impose no meaningful limit on the performance of the claimed invention. As set forth the claims do not impose meaningful limits on the performance of the claimed invention. Patents cannot be obtained on subject matter identified by the courts as being exempted from eligibility (i.e., laws of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract ideas). Further, the active method steps are conventional and routine in the art for the reasons stated above and the claims do not amount to significantly more than the recited natural principle. The claims do not "practically apply" the natural principle; rather, the claims "simply inform" the natural principle to one performing routine active method steps and do not amount to significantly more than the natural principle itself. Thus, the technology used by the instant claims is well-known in the art and does not contribute significantly more to the judicial exception. See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and Federal Register https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/18/2019-22782/october-2019-patent-eligibility-guidance-update; and FDsys.gov.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. The rejection of claim(s) 6-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bondanza et al., WO 2020/020841 A1 (published 30 January 2020) is maintained.
Applicant asserts, “Bondanza is silent as to the administration of an agent capable of modulating CD19 glycosylation or signal peptide peptidase-like 3 (SPPL3) expression or activity in malignant B cells, or a CD19-targeted immunotherapy that specifically binds hyperglycosylated or hypoglycosylated CD19 of malignant B cells”, see Remarks submitted July 27, 2026, page 9, lines 1-4.
In conclusion, “Applicant submits that the teachings of Bondanza fail to disclose or suggest all of the elements of the composition of independent claim 6 as amended. In particular, Bondanza fails to disclose the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a cluster of differentiation 19 (CD19)-targeted immunotherapy in combination with a therapeutically effective amount of an agent capable of modulating signal peptide peptidase-like 3 (SPPL3)expression or activity in malignant B cells; or a therapeutically effective amount of a modified CD19-targeted immunotherapy comprising an antibody or a chimeric antigen receptor T (CAR T) cell that specifically binds hyperglycosylated or hypoglycosylated CD19 of malignant B cells as is required by claim 6.”, see Remarks page 9, 2nd paragraph (para.). Applicant’s arguments and points of view have been carefully considered, but fail to be persuaded.
However, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Bondanza discloses CD19-targeted CAR T therapies able to treat patients with refractory B-cell malignancies, see page 1, lines 12-22. Both, Kymriah® (tisagenlecleucel) and Yescarta® (axicabtagene ciloleucel) are CAR T cell medications able to recognize and bind the CD19 antigen expressed by B cell malignancies, see page 20, Approved drugs segment. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Bondanza discloses treating B-cell malignancies comprising solid, haematopoietic or lymphoid tumors with one glycosylation inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy, preferably a CAR-T cell therapy, see page 1, 1st paragraph (para.); page 3, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21. The CAR T targets CD19, see page 17, lines 23 and 24. With the administration of the disclosed treatment, T cell recognition of CD19 would improve, activation of CAR t cell effector function would increase and CD19-targeted CAR T anti-tumor cytotoxicity would be enhanced.
The B-cell malignancies include “…chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), acute leukemias, acute lymphoid leukemia (ALL), B-cell acute lymphoid leukemia (B-ALL),..B cell prolymphocytic leukemia,… Burkitt’s lymphoma, diffuse large B cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, hairy cell leukemia, small cell- or a large cell-follicular lymphoma, malignant lymphoproliferative conditions, MALT lymphoma, mantle cell lymphoma, marginal zone lymphoma, multiple myeloma,…[most] non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, Hodgkin's lymphoma, plasmablastic lymphoma, plasmacytoid dendritic cell neoplasm, Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia, or preleukemia,”, see page 6, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21.
C19-targeted CAR T therapies are able to treat patients with refractory B-cell malignancies, see page 1, lines 12-22. Moreover, Kymriah® (tisagenlecleucel) and Yescarta® (axicabtagene ciloleucel) are also disclosed, which are able to treat peaediatric and young adult relapse/refractory B-cell ALL and adult relapsed/refractory large B-cell lymphoma, respectively, see page 1, lines 20-22; and page 20, lines 11-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard et al., (Blood 138 (Supplement 1): 1721-1723, 5 November 2021), and further in view of Bot et al., US 2021/0161959 A1 (effectively filed November 6, 2020), Fischer et al., (J. Immunotherapy 40 (5): 187-195, June 2017) and Bondanza et al., WO 2020/020841 A1 (published 30 January 2020). Heard teaches “[g]el-shift analysis demonstrating that loss of SPPL3 results in hyperglycosylation of CD19 while over-expression (SPPL3KO+) results in hypoglycosylation.”, see page 1722, Figure 1e.
“[Heard] confirmed decreased glycosylation of CD19 (Figure 1e), and found that this resulted in loss of FMC63 [anti-CD19 CAR] binding to CD19 and complete resistance to [chimeric antigen receptor-engineered T cells targeting CD19] CART19 activity (Figure 1f)…changes to CD19 glycosylation, either enhanced or decreased, impair the ability of CARs to bind and initiate T cell effector function against malignant B cells.”, see page 1721, last five lines of the abstract. These assays utilized acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) cells, see entire abstract.
“Consistent with its known function, loss of SPPL3 resulted in increased addition of complex glycans to CD19. Surface staining of SPPL3KO cells revealed that CD19 antibodies were less capable of binding this hyperglycosylated CD19. This included decreased binding of the antibody used to construct the anti-CD19 CAR (clone FMC63).”, see page 1721.
Heard does not explicitly teach there is a reference biomarker level to compare differences in the glycosylation state of CD19, wherein the assayed malignant B cells had a CD19ΔTyr260 mutation in CD19. Nor, does Heard teach the expression of SPPL3 was determined between a malignant B cell sample and a reference sample, as well as administration of CAR-T therapy.
However, Bot teaches B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia resistance to a CAR T cell therapy treatment is associated with the CD19ΔTyr260 mutation in CD19, see Example 10 on page 67. “Additional analysis using flow cytometry showed that CD19 expression was not detected on Jurkat CD19ΔTyr260 cells but was present on Jurkat CD19-WT cells, which suggested that the lack of visualization of cells carrying this point mutation and their resistance to CAR T cell therapy…Fractionated cellular lysates showed WT CD19 in the cell membrane having a high and lower molecular weight band, as well as CD19ΔTyr260 expressed on the surface with a single low molecular weight band. Under deglycosylating conditions, only 1 band was present in both WT CD19 and CD19ΔTyr260 cellular fractions. Without being bound to any scientific theories or hypotheses, it is likely that the CD19ΔTyr260 mutation may result in lack of suitable or functional CD19 glycosylation and/or inhibiting detection. The mutation in B-ALL malignant cells may have potential implications for other anti-CD19 CAR or non-CD19 CAR cell therapy.”, see page 67, section 0372.
And Fischer teaches “[w]ith few exceptions, CD19 expression is high in newly diagnosed B-ALL... Using flow cytometry, we measured CD19 expression levels on a panel of diagnostic samples obtained from patients with DLBCL, mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), follicular lymphoma, and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). Whereas CLL samples consistently demonstrated CD19 expression levels that approximated those seen on normal B cells, DLBCL, MCL, and follicular lymphoma samples demonstrated significantly lower median CD19 levels, with the greatest interpatient variability observed for DLBCL (Fig. 1A).”, see page 704, 1st column (col.), 1st paragraph (para.).
These differences in CD19 expression between B cell malignancies, DLBCL, MCL, follicular lymphoma and normal B cells cited in Figure 1A are substantial, see page 705; and Figure 1B, Y-axis on page 705. As seen on the Y-axis, the CD19 relative expression is substantially different, see Figure 1A on page 705.
“Primary diagnostic samples of DLBCL, MCL, follicular lymphoma (FL), and CLL were analyzed by flow cytometry for expression of CD19 compared with normal B cells from healthy donors. Shown is CD19 protein expression, relative to healthy donor PBMC B cells on a log2 scale... Statistical differences between groups were analyzed by one-way ANOVA nonparametric test with Dunn post-test correction.”, see Figure 1A caption and the figure on page 705.
Moreover, Bondanza teaches CD19-targeted CAR T therapies able to treat patients with refractory B-cell malignancies, as well as solid, haematopoietic or lymphoid tumors with one glycosylation inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy, preferably a CAR-T cell therapy, see the cover sheet; page 1, lines 12-22; page 3, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21. The CAR T targets CD19, see page 17, lines 23 and 24. Both, Kymriah® (tisagenlecleucel) and Yescarta® (axicabtagene ciloleucel) are CAR T cell medications able to recognize and bind the CD19 antigen expressed by B cell malignancies, see page 20, Approved drugs segment. The CAR T targets CD19, see page 17, lines 23 and 24. With the administration of the disclosed treatment, T cell recognition of CD19 would improve, activation of CAR t cell effector function would increase and CD19-targeted CAR T anti-tumor cytotoxicity would be enhanced.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to assay the test malignant B cells and reference samples of Fischer for SPPL3 biomarker levels, as well as the glycosylation state of CD19 for biomarker level differences between the two sets of samples, as well as assay for the CD19ΔTyr260 mutation. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to treat the said B cell malignancies with a glycosylation inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy, Kymriah® (tisagenlecleucel) or Yescarta® (axicabtagene ciloleucel), CAR T cell medications able to recognize and bind the CD19 antigen expressed by B cell malignancies as taught by Bondanza, see the cover sheet; page 1, lines 12-22; page 3, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21. The CAR T targets CD19, see page 17, lines 23 and 24.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success by teachings in all three references to evaluate, both biomarker levels given all the combination of references teach the requisite assays, which are art known and well established and are routinely performed and easily reproducible.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so
with a reasonable expectation of success by teachings in Bot, the mutation in B-ALL malignant cells may have potential implications for other anti-CD19 CAR or non-CD19 CAR cell therapy.”, see page 67, section 0372. Moreover, it is art known that CD19 glycosylation and SLLP3 function is inextricably linked, see entire Heard reference, as well as Fisher and Bot. And absent evidence to the contrary, CAR T cell medications are able to recognize, target and bind the CD19 antigen expressed by B cell malignancies regardless of glycosylation as taught by Bondanza, see the cover sheet; page 1, lines 12-22; page 3, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21.
19. The rejection of claim(s) 11 and 13-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heard et al., (Blood 138 (Supplement 1): 1721-1723, 5 November 2021), and further in view of Bondanza et al., WO 2020/020841 A1 (published 30 January 2020), Bot et al., US 2021/0161959 A1 (effectively filed November 6, 2020) and Fischer et al., (J. Immunotherapy 40 (5): 187-195, June 2017) is maintained and made. Claim 12 has been cancelled.
Applicant surmises the teachings of each of the references and assert the references “either singly or in any combination, fail to disclose or suggest all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, see Remarks submitted July 27, 2026, pages 8-13. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, but are found unpersuasive.
Based on the teachings herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would be to select the proper treatment based on the assessment of glycosylation states and expression/activity of SPPL3. The teachings herein, reveal based on the observation of alterations/modifications or not of CD19 protein and/or SPPL3, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make an informed decision of which therapeutic agent(s) to select. Hence, the rejection is maintained.
Heard teaches “[g]el-shift analysis demonstrating that loss of SPPL3 results in hyperglycosylation of CD19 while over-expression (SPPL3KO+) results in hypoglycosylation.”, see page 1722, Figure 1e.
“[Heard] confirmed decreased glycosylation of CD19 (Figure 1e), and found that this resulted in loss of FMC63 [anti-CD19 CAR] binding to CD19 and complete resistance to [chimeric antigen receptor-engineered T cells targeting CD19] CART19 activity (Figure 1f)…changes to CD19 glycosylation, either enhanced or decreased, impair the ability of CARs to bind and initiate T cell effector function against malignant B cells.”, see page 1721, last five lines of the abstract. These assays utilized acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) cells, see entire abstract.
“Consistent with its known function, loss of SPPL3 resulted in increased addition of complex glycans to CD19. Surface staining of SPPL3KO cells revealed that CD19 antibodies were less capable of binding this hyperglycosylated CD19. This included decreased binding of the antibody used to construct the anti-CD19 CAR (clone FMC63).”, see page 1721.
Heard does not explicitly teach there is a reference biomarker level to compare differences in the glycosylation state of CD19, wherein the assayed malignant B cells had a CD19ΔTyr260 mutation in CD19. Nor, does Heard teach the expression of SPPL3 was determined between a malignant B cell sample and a reference sample. Nor, does Heard explicitly teach the selection of a B cell malignancy treatment.
However, Heard makes clear “…loss of SPPL3 resulted in increased addition of complex glycans to CD19. Surface staining of SPPL3KO cells revealed that CD19 antibodies were less capable of binding this hyperglycosylated CD19. This included decreased binding of the antibody used to construct the anti-CD19 CAR (clone FMC63). Protein modeling revealed that an asparagine residue known to be normally glycosylated on CD19 (N125) is in close physical proximity to the FMC63 binding site (Figure 1d), suggesting that the addition of complex glycans at this site may be responsible for disruption of CAR binding that led to impaired T cell activation.”, see page 1721, middle of abstract. Hence, after assessment of CD19 glycosylation states, one of ordinary skill in the art would know if there is decreased glycosylation of CD19 the B malignancy is resistant to CART19 activity and another therapy should be selected such as that of Bondanza. Bondanza teaches treating B-cell malignancies comprising solid, haematopoietic or lymphoid tumors with one glycosylation inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy, preferably a CAR-T cell therapy, see page 1, 1st paragraph (para.); page 3, lines 30 and 31; and page 7, lines 11-21. The CAR T targets CD19, see page 17, lines 23 and 24. With the administration of the disclosed treatment, T cell recognition of CD19 would improve, activation of CAR t cell effector function would increase and CD19-targeted CAR T anti-tumor cytotoxicity would be enhanced.
Bot teaches B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia resistance to a CAR T cell therapy treatment is associated with the CD19ΔTyr260 mutation in CD19, see Example 10 on page 67. “Additional analysis using flow cytometry showed that CD19 expression was not detected on Jurkat CD19ΔTyr260 cells but was present on Jurkat CD19-WT cells, which suggested that the lack of visualization of cells carrying this point mutation and their resistance to CAR T cell therapy…Fractionated cellular lysates showed WT CD19 in the cell membrane having a high and lower molecular weight band, as well as CD19ΔTyr260 expressed on the surface with a single low molecular weight band. Under deglycosylating conditions, only 1 band was present in both WT CD19 and CD19ΔTyr260 cellular fractions. Without being bound to any scientific theories or hypotheses, it is likely that the CD19ΔTyr260 mutation may result in lack of suitable or functional CD19 glycosylation and/or inhibiting detection.
And Fischer teaches “[w]ith few exceptions, CD19 expression is high in newly diagnosed B-ALL... Using flow cytometry, we measured CD19 expression levels on a panel of diagnostic samples obtained from patients with DLBCL, mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), follicular lymphoma, and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). Whereas CLL samples consistently demonstrated CD19 expression levels that approximated those seen on normal B cells, DLBCL, MCL, and follicular lymphoma samples demonstrated significantly lower median CD19 levels, with the greatest interpatient variability observed for DLBCL (Fig. 1A).”, see page 704, 1st column (col.), 1st paragraph (para.).
These differences in CD19 expression between B cell malignancies, DLBCL, MCL, follicular lymphoma and normal B cells cited in Figure 1A are substantial, see page 705; and Figure 1B, Y-axis on page 705. As seen on the Y-axis, the CD19 relative expression is substantially different, see Figure 1A on page 705.
“Primary diagnostic samples of DLBCL, MCL, follicular lymphoma (FL), and CLL were analyzed by flow cytometry for expression of CD19 compared with normal B cells from healthy donors. Shown is CD19 protein expression, relative to healthy donor PBMC B cells on a log2 scale... Statistical differences between groups were analyzed by one-way ANOVA nonparametric test with Dunn post-test correction.”, see Figure 1A caption and the figure on page 705.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to assay the test malignant B cells and reference samples of Fischer for SPPL3 biomarker levels, as well as the glycosylation state of CD19 for biomarker level differences between the two sets of samples to further select treatment for the B cell malignancy. The mutation in B-ALL malignant cells may have potential implications for other anti-CD19 CAR or non-CD19 CAR cell therapy.”, see page 67, section 0372.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so
with a reasonable expectation of success by teachings in all three references to evaluate, both biomarker levels given all the combination of references teach the requisite assays, which are art known and well established and are routinely performed and easily reproducible. Moreover,
it is art known that CD19 glycosylation and SLLP3 function is inextricably linked, see entire Heard reference, as well as Fisher and Bot.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so
with a reasonable expectation of success by teachings in all the references, particularly Heard and Bondanza to observe the differences in the levels of biomarkers and select the best therapeutic agent that would has the highest preponderance to yield effective cancer treatment.
Conclusion
20. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Julie Wu can be reached on 571-272-5205. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
ALANA HARRIS DENT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1643
October 1, 2026
/Alana Harris Dent/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643