DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims state receiving a message indicating two CORESET pool indexes, two SRS resource sets, and that reporting of two PHR for two SRS is not configured. The specification does not appear to support the notion of a single message being received which includes this information.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. “Khoshnevisan” US 2023/0031429 in view of Lo et al. “Lo” US 2022/0256571.
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages indicating:
a first and second CORESETs (physical control channels can include multiple control regions (coresets); Paragraph 83),
two sounding reference signals (SRS) resource sets (Paragraph 119 teaches a first and second SRS resource set with respect to PUSCH), and
reporting two PHRs, for the two SRS sets is not configured (the UE only reports a single PHR value for the PUSCH transmission which overlap; Paragraph 126. As only one PHR is configured, this would mean two PHRs are not configured as claimed);
based on a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with the first CORESET overlapping in time with a second PUSCH associated with a second CORESET, transmitting a PHR for the first PUSCH transmission (Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR. The PUSCH is a physical control channel which includes CORESETS; Paragraph 83. Thus the PUSCH are associated with CORESETs as claimed. Figure 6 shows that in response to the PUSCH repetitions, (630) a PHR report is transmit (635). It is known that wireless system resources are in time, frequency and power; Paragraph 2. The carriers refer to radio frequency spectrum resources used for communications; Paragraph 74. Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly disclose multiple CORESET pool indexes; however, Lo teaches resource block indexes; Paragraph 284. Lo further teaches the use of a plurality of TCI states; Paragraph 89. This information can be used in the determination of power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130. Paragraphs 139-141 also teaches CORESETPoolIndex values.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to include the CORESET of Khoshnevisan to be a first and second CORESETPoolIndex as taught by Lo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determined the power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130.
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan teaches the first PUSCH transmission includes a plurality of frequency domain repetitions (Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR. It is known that wireless system resources are in time, frequency and power; Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan teaches one or more messages indicating reporting of two PHRs is not configured by indicating single power headroom mode is enabled (based on a resource allocation scheme, the UE may only report a single PHR value; Paragraph 126. A rule can also designate the use of a single PHR; Paragraph 136. The UE will receive RRC signaling indicating the UE to report a single PHR report/value; Paragraph 141. Thus one can see the UE receives a parameter indicating single power headroom as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan teaches transmitting the PHR is based on the reporting of the two PHRs, two SRS sets not being configured (the UE only reports a single PHR value for the PUSCH transmission which overlap; Paragraph 126. As only one PHR is configured, this would mean two PHRs are not configured as claimed).
.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Khoshnevisan teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, one or more messages indicating:
a first and second CORESETs (physical control channels can include multiple control regions (coresets); Paragraph 83),
two sounding reference signals (SRS) resource sets (Paragraph 119 teaches a first and second SRS resource set with respect to PUSCH), and
reporting two PHRs, for the two SRS sets is not configured (the UE only reports a single PHR value for the PUSCH transmission which overlap; Paragraph 126. As only one PHR is configured, this would mean two PHRs are not configured as claimed);
based on a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with the first CORESET overlapping in time with a second PUSCH associated with a second CORESET, transmitting a PHR for the first PUSCH transmission (Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR. The PUSCH is a physical control channel which includes CORESETS; Paragraph 83. Thus the PUSCH are associated with CORESETs as claimed. Figure 6 shows that in response to the PUSCH repetitions, (630) a PHR report is transmit (635). It is known that wireless system resources are in time, frequency and power; Paragraph 2. The carriers refer to radio frequency spectrum resources used for communications; Paragraph 74. Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly disclose multiple CORESET pool indexes; however, Lo teaches resource block indexes; Paragraph 284. Lo further teaches the use of a plurality of TCI states; Paragraph 89. This information can be used in the determination of power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130. Paragraphs 139-141 also teaches CORESETPoolIndex values.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to include the CORESET of Khoshnevisan to be a first and second CORESETPoolIndex as taught by Lo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determined the power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art teaches PHR tied to pool indexes; however, Khoshnevisan does not expressly disclose multiple CORESET pool indexes wherein the first index is lower than the second index. Lo teaches a first CORESETpool index can have a value of 0 and the second a value of 1; Paragraph 141.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to include the CORESET of Khoshnevisan to be a first and second CORESETPoolIndex wherein the first index is lower than the second as taught by Lo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determined the power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130.
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan teaches the first PUSCH transmission includes a plurality of frequency domain repetitions (Paragraph 126 teaches multiple PUSCH repetitions which can overlap with a PUSCH carrying PHR. It is known that wireless system resources are in time, frequency and power; Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan teaches one or more messages indicating reporting of two PHRs is not configured by indicating single power headroom mode is enabled (based on a resource allocation scheme, the UE may only report a single PHR value; Paragraph 126. A rule can also designate the use of a single PHR; Paragraph 136. The UE will receive RRC signaling indicating the UE to report a single PHR report/value; Paragraph 141. Thus one can see the UE receives a parameter indicating single power headroom as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Khoshnevisan teaches transmitting the PHR is based on the reporting of the two PHRs, two SRS sets not being configured (the UE only reports a single PHR value for the PUSCH transmission which overlap; Paragraph 126. As only one PHR is configured, this would mean two PHRs are not configured as claimed)
Regarding claim 15, Khoshnevisan teaches a value in the PHR is determined using the pathloss reference signal corresponding to the repetition with a lowest index (the UE can determine the PHR value based on transmission settings which can include pathloss compensation values and a closed loop index; Paragraphs 145 and 193. The value of the closed loop index can be 0 (i.e. lowest state index among a plurality of state indexes); Paragraphs 148, 152, 154. Thus one can see pathloss information is used, with respect to a lowest index, in order to determine the PHR, see also 620/625 of Figure 6. The PHR report is transmit in the PUSCH repetitions (thus second PUSCH); 630 and 635 of Figure 6).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly disclose repetitions associated with a value of a TCI state index; however, Lo teaches resource block indexes; Paragraph 284. Paragraphs 216-220 disclose repetitions with respect to TCI states in time/frequency. Lo further teaches the use of a plurality of TCI states; Paragraph 89. This information can be used in the determination of power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130. Thus one can see repetitions are tied to TCI states and PHR values are based on/associated with TCI states as claimed. The claim does not define what “associated with a same value” means, thus because the TCI state values and repetitions are tied together they are viewed as “Associated with”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to include TCI indexes or resource block locations as taught by Lo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determined the power headroom information for overlapping PUSCH repetition transmissions; Paragraphs 125-130.
Regarding claim 18, Khoshnevisan teaches one or more messages indicating reporting of two PHRs is not configured by indicating single power headroom mode is enabled (based on a resource allocation scheme, the UE may only report a single PHR value; Paragraph 126. A rule can also designate the use of a single PHR; Paragraph 136. The UE will receive RRC signaling indicating the UE to report a single PHR report/value; Paragraph 141. Thus one can see the UE receives a parameter indicating single power headroom as claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Khoshnevisan teaches a pathloss RS is based on the PHR (the UE can determine the PHR value based on transmission settings which can include pathloss compensation values and a closed loop index; Paragraphs 145 and 193. The value of the closed loop index can be 0 (i.e. lowest state index among a plurality of state indexes); Paragraphs 148, 152, 154. Thus one can see pathloss and PHR information is used, see also 620/625 of Figure 6. The PHR report is transmit in the PUSCH repetitions (thus second PUSCH); 630 and 635 of Figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan teaches transmitting the PHR is based on the reporting of the two PHRs, two SRS sets not being configured (the UE only reports a single PHR value for the PUSCH transmission which overlap; Paragraph 126. As only one PHR is configured, this would mean two PHRs are not configured as claimed).
Regarding claim 21, Khoshnevisan teaches the PHR is for an actual PUSCH repetition of the first PUSCH transmission (The PHR report is transmit in the PUSCH repetitions (actual PUSCH repetition); 630 and 635 of Figure 6).
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Lo and further in view of Ling et al. “Ling” US 2025/0089036.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose transmitting repetitions based on first/second TCI states; however, Ling teaches that PUSCH transmission with repetitions are transmit wherein each repetition of the PUSCH is transmitted according to a TCI state; Paragraph 72.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending PUSCH repetitions based on TCI states as taught by Ling.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can better support dynamic switching between beams as taught by Ling; Paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose receiving repetitions based on first/second TCI states; however, Ling teaches that PUSCH transmission with repetitions are transmit/received wherein each repetition of the PUSCH is transmitted/received according to a TCI state; Paragraph 72.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending PUSCH repetitions based on TCI states as taught by Ling.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can better support dynamic switching between beams as taught by Ling; Paragraph 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Lo and further in view of Liu et al. “Liu” US 2025/0233717.
Regarding claim 5, while the prior art talks about TCI states and transmission of repetitions, the prior art does not teach transmitting the repetition using spatial domain based on the first state and using a transmission power determined based on pathloss indicated by the first TCI state. Liu teaches two TCI states are indicated to be activated wherein the UE applies, to all PUSCH transmissions, spatial filtering and pathloss computations based on power control parameters; Paragraph 72.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include activating TCI states and transmitting based on spatial filtering and pathloss/power computations as taught by Liu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can apply the information to all PUSCH transmission as taught by Liu; Paragraph 72.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not teach an indication to activate at least two TCI states and transmitting the repetition using spatial domain based on the first state and using a transmission power determined based on pathloss indicated by the first TCI state. Liu teaches two TCI states are indicated to be activated wherein the UE applies, to all PUSCH transmissions, spatial filtering and pathloss computations based on power control parameters; Paragraph 72.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include activating TCI states and transmitting based on spatial filtering and pathloss/power computations as taught by Liu..
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can apply the information to all PUSCH transmission as taught by Liu; Paragraph 72.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, 18-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Khoshnevisan does not teach the CORESETpoolindex amended into the ind. claims. The Examiner is relying upon the secondary reference, Lo, to disclose this limitation thus the argument is moot.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411