DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on May 13, 2026 and wherein new claims 23-25 being currently added.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-25 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argue Qu does not disclose "coordination information indicating the first resource" as described in claim 1(Remarks, Page 8) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Qu disclose first UE feedback ACK or NACK information to the second UE, and ACK/NACK indicating whether time-frequency resources in the L time-frequency resources are received correctly or not, wherein L time-frequency resources is reading as first resource. See Fig. 2 and para [0054]. Qu disclose the first UE determines L time-frequency resources according to the N time-frequency resources transmitted by the second UE, See para [0055] and [0033].
Thus, the ACK/NACK feedback information for each L time-frequency resources reception status is appropriately interpreted as “coordination information indicating the first resource”.
Applicant argue neither Qu nor JI discloses "the first resource is usable by the first terminal apparatus to determine a second resource for sending sidelink information to the second terminal apparatus" as described in claim 1 (Remarks, Pages 8-9) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argue JI's HARQ feedback may trigger a reselection procedure, but JI does not teach using a first resource, indicated by coordination information, to determine a second resource as described in claim 1 (Remarks, Pages 8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
JI disclose trigger a resource reselection procedure based on ACK/NACK feedback, see Fig. 5, 6, 9 and para [0054] and [0072-0078].
Ji further discloses feedback message include at least one frequency domain resource and at least one time domain resource, at least one of resource conflict information, and position information of the conflict resource may include time domain information of the resource, and may also include frequency domain information of the resource, see para [0118], [0120-0121] and [0130].
Thus, JI’s “resource reselection” is appropriately interpreted as selecting nonconflicting resources based on indication of the conflicted resources, wherein conflicted resources are reading as first resource, and reselected resources is reading as second resource.
Applicant argue Qu does not disclose "wherein the trigger information is for triggering determining of a first resource" as described in claim 1 (Remarks, Page 9) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Qu disclose start determining L time-frequency resources according to the N time-frequency resources after receiving first SCI, and SCI information indicating N time-frequency resources, see Fig. 2, element 101 and para [0046-0047], wherein first SCI is reading as trigger information for triggering determining of a first resource.
Applicant argue Qu does not disclose "sending ... at or before a first time" as described in claim 1 (Remarks, Page 9) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Qu disclose sending feedback information at slot (n+k), wherein time slot n is the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE, and the time slot difference value K is used to indicate a minimum time domain interval between a time slot where the first UE receives the PSSCH sent by the second UE and a time slot where the first UE sends the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH, see para [0058], [0142]. Wherein n+k is reading as first time, k is reading as first time offset, thus, Qu teaches “sending ... at a first time".
Based on the aforementioned reasoning, therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not
persuasive. Further, the new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the applicant amendment. The Office has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 6, 8-14, 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu et al. (US 20220225307 A1, hereinafter Qu) and in view of JI et al. (US 20220369169 A1, hereinafter JI).
Claim 1: Qu teaches A communication method (abstract), comprising: receiving, by a second terminal apparatus (Fig.2, element First UE), trigger information from a first terminal apparatus (Fig.2, element Second UE), wherein the trigger information is for triggering determining of a first resource (Fig. 2, element 101, [0046-0047], disclose start determining L time-frequency resources according to the N time-frequency resources after receiving first SCI, and SCI information indicating N time-frequency resources, wherein first SCI is reading as trigger information for triggering determining of a first resource, and “L time-frequency resources” is reading as “a first resource”. [0049], “When one SCI indicates N time-frequency resources for sending the PSSCH, the N time-frequency resources may be located in N continuous sidelink time slots, or on N discontinuous sidelink time slots. Moreover, in the case M≥2, only some of the N time slots have the PSFCH resource. At this point, it is necessary to determine the L time-frequency resources according to both the N time-frequency resources and the time slots containing the PSFCH resources in the N time slots, and the time domains of the PSFCH resources respectively corresponding to different time-frequency resources in the L time-frequency resources
are the same”, Fig. 3, Fig.4, [0050-0051], disclose the method of determining L time-frequency resource according to the N time-frequency resource.);
and sending, by the second terminal apparatus (Fig.2, element First UE), to the first terminal apparatus (Fig.2, element Second UE) at or before (alternative) a first time ([0058], [0142], disclose sending feedback information at slot (n+k), wherein time slot n is the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE, and the time slot difference value K is used to indicate a minimum time domain interval between a time slot where the first UE receives the PSSCH sent by the second UE and a time slot where the first UE sends the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH, Wherein n+k is reading as first time, k is reading as first time offset), coordination information indicating the first resource (Fig.2, element 103, [0054], Qu disclose first UE feedback ACK or NACK information to the second UE, and ACK/NACK indicating whether time-frequency resources in the L time-frequency resources are received correctly or not, wherein L time-frequency resources is reading as first resource. [0055], [0033], disclose the first UE determines L time-frequency resources according to the N time-frequency resources transmitted by the second UE), wherein the first time is based on a time at which the trigger information is received from the first terminal apparatus and a first time offset ([0058], “if the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE in time slot n, it takes a certain processing time to decode the received PSSCH to determine whether the PSSCH is received correctly, and the PSFCH resource is used for feedback in a certain time slot after the time slot n, such as time slot (n+K). The value of K depends on the minimum processing delay of all UEs supporting V2X services”, wherein K is reading as “a first time offset”, [0142], “for each of the N time-frequency resources, a first time slot according to a time domain position of the time-frequency resource and a preconfigured time slot difference value K, so as to obtain N first time slots, where the time slot difference value K is used to indicate a minimum time domain interval between a time slot where the first UE receives the PSSCH sent by the second UE and a time slot where the first UE sends the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH”);
However, Qu does not explicitly teach wherein the first resource is usable by the first terminal apparatus to determine a second resource for sending sidelink information to the second terminal apparatus.
JI, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first resource is usable by the first terminal apparatus to determine a second resource for sending sidelink information to the second terminal apparatus (Fig. 5, 6, 9, para [0054], [0072-0078], disclose trigger a resource reselection procedure based on ACK/NACK feedback. Para [0118], [0120-0121] and [0130], discloses feedback message include at least one frequency domain resource and at least one time domain resource, at least one of resource conflict information, and position information of the conflict resource may include time domain information of the resource, and may also include frequency domain information of the resource. Thus, JI’s “resource reselection” is appropriately interpreted as selecting nonconflicting resources based on indication of the conflicted resources, wherein conflicted resources are reading as first resource, and reselected resources are reading as second resource).
Qu and JI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Qu and the features of determining, based on a HARQ feedback status from the receive terminal, whether to trigger resource reselection as taught by JI, for the benefit for helping improve reliability and effectiveness of transmission based on HARQ feedback in Sidelink transmission (paragraph [0076], [0338]).
Claim 5 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 9 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Qu further teaches one or more processors (Fig. 10, element 12, Fig. 11, element 21); and a memory (Fig. 11, element 22) storing instructions for execution by the one or more processors ([0105], “the memory 22
stores computer-executed instructions”); wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to facilitate performance ([0106], “the processor 21
executes the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory 22, so that the processor 21 perform the feedback method performed by the first UE as above”) by the second terminal apparatus (Fig. 2, element First UE).
Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Qu further teaches one or more processors (Fig. 10, element 12, Fig. 11, element 21); and a memory (Fig. 11, element 22) storing instructions for execution by the one or more processors ([0105], “the memory 22
stores computer-executed instructions”); wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to facilitate performance ([0106], “the processor 21
executes the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory 22, so that the processor 21 perform the feedback method performed by the first UE as above”) by the first terminal apparatus (Fig. 2, element Second UE).
Claim 2: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving control information, sidelink radio resource control PC5-RRC signaling, or a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE) from the first terminal apparatus (Fig. 2, element 101, [0028], “two UEs perform direct communication through a PC5 interface, and the direct communication can also be called sidelink communication”), wherein the control information, the sidelink radio resource control PC5-RRC signaling, or the MAC CE indicates the first time offset (alternative) and/or a capability of the first terminal apparatus ([0081], “The first UE receives the first SCI in time slot n, and the first SCI indicates two time-frequency resources for sending the PSSCH; and the first UE receives the second SCI in time slot (n+2), and the second SCI indicates one time-frequency resource for sending the PSSCH. At this point, L=2, and the two time-frequency resources determined by the first UE according to one first SCI and one second SCI include time-frequency
resources corresponding to the PSSCH in time slot n and time slot (n+2)”, [0079], “the second UE may indicate the first UE to perform blind retransmission and reception through the sidelink high-layer signaling, such as the PC5 RRC signaling, and indicate the first UE to feed back on the PSFCH resource corresponding to time-frequency
resource of the last PSSCH for the blind retransmission”).
Claim 6 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 5 and claim 2.
Claim 10 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 2.
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 2.
Claim 3: The combination of Qu and JI teaches the method according to claim 1, JI additionally teaches further comprising: receiving, on the second resource, the sidelink information from the first terminal apparatus (Fig.5, [0054], “the trigger condition for resource reselection is satisfied, the transmit terminal may perform an operation of resource reselection, that is, the transmit terminal may perform resource reselection, in other words, the transmit terminal may reselect a resource”, [0055], “ For the resource
reselection operation in the foregoing operations, because the transmit terminal
reselects the resource to avoid a resource conflict, thereby better resolving the problem of resource conflicts”, [0338], “in sidelink communication, when there is a resource conflict for the resource of the first transmit terminal, the first transmit terminal may perform resource reselection or perform related adjustment in the case that the trigger condition for resource reselection is satisfied. In this way, the first transmit terminal can address the problem of resource conflicts through resource reselection”).
The motivation for combining Qu and JI regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 3.
Claim 11 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 3.
Claim 4: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first time and the first time offset are measured in milliseconds (alternative) or slots ([0057], “ the first UE determines a first time slot according to a time domain position of the time-frequency
resource and a preconfigured time slot difference value K, so as to obtain N first time slots, where the time slot difference value K is used to indicate a minimum time domain interval between a time slot where the first UE receives the PSSCH sent by the second UE and a time slot where the first UE sends the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH”).
Claim 8 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 5 and claim 4.
Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 4.
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 4.
Claim 17: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first time is a sum of the time at which trigger information is received from the first terminal apparatus and the first time offset ([0058], “if the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE in time slot n, it takes a certain processing time to decode the received PSSCH to determine whether the PSSCH is received correctly, and the PSFCH resource is used for feedback in a certain
time slot after the time slot n, such as time slot (n+K). The value of K depends on the minimum processing delay of all UEs supporting V2X services”).
Claim 18: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the first time offset is based on a capability of the first terminal apparatus ([0058], “if the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE in time slot n, it takes a certain processing time to decode the received PSSCH to determine whether the PSSCH is received correctly, and the PSFCH resource is used for feedback in a certain time slot after the time slot n, such as time slot (n+K). The value of K depends on the minimum processing delay of all UEs supporting V2X services”); or the first time offset is a predefined time offset ([0091], “ for each of the N time-frequency resources, a first time slot according to a time domain position of the time-frequency resource and a preconfigured time slot difference value K”).
Claim 19: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the trigger information comprises at least one of the following information: a start time of a resource selection window(alternative), a end time of the resource selection window (alternative), the first time offset (alternative), a capability of the first terminal apparatus (alternative), a second time offset (alternative), or a duration of the resource selection window ([0049], “When one SCI indicates N time-frequency resources for sending the PSSCH, the N time-frequency resources may be located in N continuous sidelink time slots, or on N discontinuous sidelink time slots. Moreover, in the case M≥2, only some of the N time slots have the PSFCH resource. At this point, it is necessary to determine the L time-frequency resources according to both the N time-frequency resources and the time slots containing the PSFCH resources in the N time slots, and the time domains of the PSFCH resources respectively corresponding to different time-frequency resources in the L time-frequency resources are the same”, Wherein N continuous sidelink time slots are reading as “duration of the resource selection window”).
Claim 20: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a start time of the first resource in the time domain falls within a resource selection window ([0049], “When one SCI indicates N time-frequency resources for sending the PSSCH, the N time-frequency
resources may be located in N continuous sidelink time slots, or on N discontinuous
sidelink time slots. Moreover, in the case M≥2, only some of the N time slots have the PSFCH resource. At this point, it is necessary to determine the L time-frequency
resources according to both the N time-frequency resources and the time slots containing the PSFCH resources in the N time slots, and the time domains of the PSFCH resources respectively corresponding to different time-frequency resources in the L time-frequency resources are the same”, wherein “N time slots” is reading as “resource selection window”, [0081], “The first UE receives the first SCI in time slot n, and the first SCI indicates two time-frequency resources for sending the PSSCH; and the first UE receives the second SCI in time slot (n+2), and the second SCI indicates one time-frequency resource for sending the PSSCH. At this point, L=2, and the two time-frequency resources determined by the first UE according to one first SCI and one second SCI include time-frequency resources corresponding to the PSSCH in time slot n and time slot (n+2)”).
Claim 21: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first resource comprises at least one resource for determining a resource for receiving the sidelink information from the first terminal apparatus, and a start time of the first resource in the time domain comprises a time domain start time of a resource ranking first in the time domain among the at least one resource ([0058], “if the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE in time slot n, it takes a certain processing time to decode the received PSSCH to determine whether the PSSCH is received correctly, and the PSFCH resource is used for feedback in a certain time slot after the time slot n, such as time slot (n+K). The value of K depends on the minimum processing delay of all UEs supporting V2X services”, [0055], “ the first SCI sent by the second UE to the first UE indicates N time-frequency
resources, the second UE sends the PSSCH to the first UE on each of the N time-frequency resources, the N PSSCHs correspond to the same TB, the first UE determines L time-frequency resources according to the N time-Frequency resources indicated by the first SCI, and time domains of PSFCH resources respectively corresponding to the L time-frequency resources are the same”).
Claim 22: Qu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second terminal apparatus includes or is a chip ([0101], “the processing unit may be a separately established processing element, or may be integrated in a certain chip of the above apparatus”, [0102], “these units can be integrated together and implemented in the form of system-on-a-chip (SOC)”) .
Claim 23: Qu teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the first time is a sum of the time at which trigger information is received from the first terminal apparatus and the first time offset ([0058], [0142], disclose sending feedback information at slot (n+k), wherein time slot n is the first UE receives the PSSCH from the second UE, and the time slot difference value K is used to indicate a minimum time domain interval between a time slot where the first UE receives the PSSCH sent by the second UE and a time slot where the first UE sends the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH, Wherein n+k is reading as first time, k is reading as first time offset).
Claim 24 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 23.
Claim 25 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 23.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472