DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections are maintained or modified as follows:
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Here, the amended language “such that infill material is liberated from artificial turf fibers while the artificial turf fibers remain substantially intact without substantial comminution”
(claims 1 and 15) and “configured to liberate infill material from artificial turf fibers while preserving structural integrity of the artificial turf fibers without substantial comminution..
wherein the ground material has reduced entanglement between the artificial turf fibers and the infill material as a result of operation of the low-speed shredder” (claim 8) was not properly described in the specification. Indeed, Examiner is unable to find instances of “substantial comminution” or “substantially intact” in the specification, or other similar qualifying language. Consequently, the amended claim feature can be regarded as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the amended language “infill material is liberated from artificial turf fibers while the artificial turf fibers remain substantially intact without substantial comminution” fails to properly define a claim scope. That is, it is not clear what is defined by “substantially intact” or “without substantial comminution” even in light of the specification (e.g., is an artificial turf fiber of a specific size range regarded as “substantially intact”? does “substantial comminution” define a shredding tool or otherwise?). Claim 8 suffers from the same lack of definite claim scope.
Examiner requests clarification and recommends amending the claims with language that clearly sets forth the claimed invention. In the interim, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the claims have been interpreted as set forth below.
The prior art rejections and related objections are maintained or modified as follows:
Specification
The amendment filed 4/27/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is is noted above in 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (“Andersen”)(US 2016/0067745 A1) in view of Coulton (US 2023/0107362), Lindsey et al. (“Lindsey”)(US 8,205,814) and legal precedent.
Andersen (fig. 2) teaches a system and method for recycling used artificial turf comprising:
(re: certain elements of claim 8) a low-speed shredder (near A_1) to generate ground material from a roll of artificial turf, wherein rotating drums of the low-speed shredder have attached shredding tools (fig. 2 showing shredder A_1 in form of rotating drums performing a ‘Cutting Step’; para. 98-99 teaching that initial stage involves downsizing the artificial turf product—comprising a backing material, a grass fiber component and additional components/optional contaminants-with a first shredder A_1 with para. 102 teaching that shredder element is “component generally known in the art”; see also para. 70-96 further defining component of artificial turf field and that “rolls” are transported to site for recycling)
such that infill material is liberated from artificial turf fibers while the artificial turf fibers remain substantially intact without substantial comminution (para. 99 teaching that shredded turf product is then screened through a drum screen to produce two fractions: a first fraction “substantially comprising a mixture of backing material and additional components” and a second fraction “substantially comprising grass fiber components” of greater than 5 mm, wherein Examiner regards said grass fiber components as turf fibers that are “substantially intact”);
a set of one or more screens (B_1, B_2 and S_1) configured to receive the ground material from the low-speed shredder, the set of one or more screens to separate, from the ground material, artificial turf fibers and infill material (Id. and para. 106-108);
a sand separator (E_1) configured to receive the infill material from the one or more screens and to separate lighter-weight infill material from heavier-weight infill material (para. 117 teaching separation into a lighter fraction 10 and a first heavier fraction 11 comprising infill material such as sand and rubber; para. 105 teaching that artificial turf product to be recycled comprises backing material and grass fiber components that include infill, e.g., sand and rubber); and
an additional separator (para. 118 teaching that heavier fraction may be subjected to additional separation to increase recycling yield);
one or more storage containers configured to store one or more of the artificial turf fibers, the infill material, the lighter-weight infill material, and the heavier-weight infill material (fig. 2 showing separating of sand/rubber 08.-3 and “fine sand” and “fine rubber”; para. 109-111, 121 teaching collecting of different fractions, such as sand, rubber and grass thus storage containers are inherent);
(re: claim 9) wherein the roll of artificial turf comprises synthetic turf fibers connected to a backing material and infill material captured within the synthetic turf fibers and the backing material (para. 105);
(re: claims 1-7) The claimed method steps are performed in the normal operation of the combined device described below.
Andersen as set forth above teaches all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: certain elements of claims 8, 14) wherein said sand separator comprises a sand screw machine configured to utilize rising water current; and
said additional separator is a density separator configured to receive the heavier-weight infill material from the sand screw machine, the density separator to further separate the heavier-weight infill material;
wherein the low-speed shredder operates at less than 50 revolutions per minute.
(re: claim 11) dewatering machinery to dewater one or more of the lighter-weight infill material and the heavier-weight infill material;
(re: claim 12) wherein the lighter-weight infill material is transferred over water weirs in the sand screw machine as part of a water slurry;
(re: claim 13) wherein the density separator utilizes a rising current to further separate the heavier-weight infill material.
Further, under an alternate interpretation, the shredder may not be interpreted as a low-speed shredder.
Lindsey, however, teaches that it is well-known in the recycling of artificial surface arts
(re: certain elements of claims 8, 14)
- to adjust shredding system parameters, such as shredding speed, to optimize the effectiveness of the shredding process and to reach a desired particle size (col. 7, ln. 5+ teaching variety of parameters may be optimized including cutting rotor speed and configuration).
Coulton further teaches that it is well-known in the artificial turf recycling arts
(re: certain elements of claims 8, 14 and claims 11-13)
- to integrate multiple wet separation elements, including a sand screw with an upflow classifier, as water-based separation elements are more compact than dry separation elements and can produce cleaner products (para. 11-14 teaching water-based separation elements as more compact that facilitate on-site separation, wherein hydrocyclones are more efficient at separating fiber from infill slurry; fig. 3 near 221 and para. 44, 90-92 teaching that upflow classifier may comprise an auger located within upflow compartment for removing higher density elements, e.g., sand and rubber, and may use a flow valve and a weir to control output; para. 61-63, 80-81 teaching that dewatering and drying elements assist in preparing fibres, sand and rubber particles for collection; para. 39-44, 96 teaching fluidized bed, upflow classifier may be combined with hydrocyclone and spiral separators to separate infill components).
Indeed, the claimed features relating to the type of separator or the operating variables of known system elements, i.e., shredder speed, can be regarded as common design parameters/operating variables controlled by the design incentives and/or economic considerations involved in this type of subject matter. This is especially applicable in the sorting/recycling arts as the type of material to be recycled controls variations in the specific device dimensions, features and/or sorting steps. Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/operating variables are obvious and are the mere optimization of result-effective variables that would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 I.II (teaching ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”); see also MPEP 2144.04.V.D. and VI (teaching that the mere rearrangement or duplication of known elements, or making known elements adjustable, is not a patentable advance).
It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the base reference with these prior art teachings—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale for this obviousness determination can be found in the prior art itself as cited above, in legal precedent as described above and from an analysis of the prior art teachings that demonstrates that the modification to arrive at the claimed invention would merely involve the substitution/addition of well-known elements (e.g., sand screw, density separator or dewatering element) with no change in their respective functions. Moreover, the use of prior art elements according to their known functions is a predictable variation that would yield predictable results (e.g., benefit produced by known function), and thus cannot be regarded as a non-obvious modification when the modification is already commonly implemented in the relevant prior art. See also MPEP 2143.I (teaching that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is known to one with ordinary skill in the art); 2144.06, 2144.07 (teaching as obvious the use of art recognized equivalences).
Further, the prior art discussed and cited demonstrates the level of sophistication of one with ordinary skill in the art and that these modifications are predictable variations that would be within this skill level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Andersen for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen, Coulton, Lindsey and legal precedent (“Andersen et al.”) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of what is well known in the art.
Andersen et al. as set forth above teach all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: claims 15-20) a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a system to implement the claimed method steps. The implementation of known method steps in this manner, however, is well-known in the recycling arts and Examiner takes Official Notice of such. It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of references—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention as these modifications are already well-known and commonly implemented in the recycling arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Andersen et al. for the reasons set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the amended claim features are unpersuasive in view of the reformulated rejections set forth above. In particular, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the functional limitation of a low speed shredder that is capable of liberating infill material from “artificial turf fibers while the artificial turf fibers remain substantially intact without substantial comminution” (claims 1 and 15; see also claim 8). This amended feature, however, fails to comply with the written description requirement. This is especially important here as Applicant is attempting to avoid the prior art rejection by using features that are not adequately described in the specification, thus the line of arguments relating to “fundamentally different operational regimes, “teaches aways” or “qualitatively different mode of operation” are not persuasive as these arguments are based on an unsupported feature. Even assuming that the amended feature was adequately supported, the amended feature would still lack proper antecedent basis as it fails to define an adequate claim scope (e.g., what is defined by “substantially intact without substantial comminution”? and why wouldn’t a fraction “substantially comprising grass components” with a length of above 5 mm satisfy this feature?). Further, Examiner disagrees that Lindsey’s teaching would teach away or lead to increased comminution as, first, Applicant has note adequately defined what is regarded as “substantial comminution” and, second, Lindsey teaches that particle size and rotor speed are well-known operational variables/parameters. Thus, it is unclear how adjusting the speed would destroy the functionally of the base reference or can be regarded as different “mode of operation” or “operational regime”. Consequently, as Applicant’s arguments are undermined by a reasonable interpretation of the prior art and the amendments in question are not even properly supported, the claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
Any references not explicitly discussed but made of record during the prosecution of the instant application are considered helpful in understanding and establishing the state of the prior art and are thus relevant to the prosecution of the instant application.
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, send an E-mail communication to Joseph.Rodriguez@uspto.gov. Such E-mail communication should be in accordance with provisions of the MPEP (see e.g., 502.03 & 713.04; see also Patent Internet Usage Policy Article 5). E-mail communication must begin with a statement authorizing the E-mail communication and acknowledging that such communication is not secure and may be made of record. Please note that any communications with regards to the merits of an application will be made of record. A suggested format for such authorization is as follows: "Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file”.
/JOSEPH C RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
Jcr
---
October 5, 2026