DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al (US 2021/0336720, hereinafter Chu, claiming priority dates of all provisional applications except 63/063,613), in view of Lu et al (US 2021/0400727, hereinafter Lu, claiming priority date of provisional applications 63/040,558 and 63/045,210) and in view of Alpert et al (US 2020/0162963, hereinafter Alpert).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses a bandwidth mode indication method, wherein the method comprises: generating a frame comprising a service field, a bandwidth mode indication field and a unicast/multicast bit (service field, Fig. 2b, bandwidth indicated by bits B5 and B6, Para [0116], unicast/multicast bit, Fig. 8a), wherein the frame is a non-high throughput (non-HT) frame or a non-high throughput duplicated (non-HT duplicated) frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113], non-HT PPDU carrying control frame, Para [0073]), the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode comprises one of a first bandwidth mode set and a second bandwidth mode set (one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, Para [0100]), wherein the first bandwidth mode set comprises 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 80+80 MHz or 160 MHz and the second bandwidth mode set comprises 320 MHz or 160+160 MHz (bandwidth value is based on the values of B5 and B6, Para [0116], BW of 20, 40, 80, 160 (80+80) and 320 MHz, Para [0109]); and sending the frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113]. Also see page 3, 4 from provisional application 63/138,627 and page 4 from provisional application 63/019,743); but does not disclose wherein a first field of the service field and the unicast/multicast bit cooperate to indicate whether the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode and the bandwidth mode indication field identifies a target bandwidth based on a combination of values of the unicast/multicast bit and the first field. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field (i.e. B5, B6 B7) are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lu and Alpert in the system of Chu in order to further improve indications of bandwidth extension and negotiation in wireless communications and to enable devices to operate with newer protocols and legacy protocols; and does not explicitly disclose service field comprises bits B0-B15. Lu discloses service field with bits B0-B15, Fig. 8; nor discloses wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit being to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a first preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the first bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a second preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the second bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 0, the bandwidth mode indication field does not indicate the bandwidth mode. Chu discloses one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, and a value of 1 means the BW is 320/160+160 MHz, Para [0100]. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field (i.e. B5, B6 B7) are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165], therefore the individual/group bit is 1 and B7 is either 0 or 1, indicating one or two BW modes.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Chu discloses the method/apparatus/chip according to claim 3/10/15, wherein the first preset value is 0 and the second preset value is 1 (the B7 bit can be a value of 0 or 1, Para [0100]).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Chu discloses the method/apparatus/chip according to claim 3/10/15, wherein the bandwidth mode indication field comprises a B5 bit and a B6 bit of the service field (bandwidth value is based on the values of B5 and B6, Para [0116]).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Chu discloses the method/apparatus/chip according to claim 1/8/15, wherein the bandwidth mode indication field is CH BANDWIDTH _IN_NON HT field (CH_Bandwidth_in_non_HT field, Fig. 2c/10b).
Regarding claim 8, Chu discloses a communication apparatus (station, Fig. 1) comprising: a processor and a storage medium (processor, Fig. 1, memory and storage, Para [0130]) coupled to the processor and storing computer instructions for execution by the processor and causing the communications apparatus to: generate a frame comprising a service field, a bandwidth mode indication field and a unicast/multicast bit (service field, Fig. 2b, bandwidth indicated by bits B5 and B6, Para [0116], unicast/multicast bit, Fig. 8a), wherein the frame is a non-high throughput (non-HT) frame or a non-high throughput duplicated (non-HT duplicated) frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113], non-HT PPDU carrying control frame, Para [0073]), the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode comprises one of a first bandwidth mode set and a second bandwidth mode set (one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, Para [0100]), wherein the first bandwidth mode set comprises 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 80+80 MHz or 160 MHz and the second bandwidth mode set comprises 320 MHz or 160+160 MHz (bandwidth value is based on the values of B5 and B6, Para [0116], BW of 20, 40, 80, 160 (80+80) and 320 MHz, Para [0109]); and sending the frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113]. Also see page 3, 4 from provisional application 63/138,627 and page 4 from provisional application 63/019,743); but does not disclose wherein a first field of the service field and the unicast/multicast bit cooperate to indicate whether the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode and the bandwidth mode indication field identifies a target bandwidth based on a combination of values of the unicast/multicast bit and the first field. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lu and Alpert in the system of Chu in order to further improve indications of bandwidth extension and negotiation in wireless communications and to enable devices to operate with newer protocols and legacy protocols; and does not explicitly disclose service field comprises bits B0-B15. Lu discloses service field with bits B0-B15, Fig. 8; nor discloses wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit being to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a first preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the first bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a second preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the second bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 0, the bandwidth mode indication field does not indicate the bandwidth mode. Chu discloses one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, and a value of 1 means the BW is 320/160+160 MHz, Para [0100]. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field (i.e. B5, B6 B7) are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165], therefore the individual/group bit is 1 and B7 is either 0 or 1, indicating one or two BW modes.
Regarding claim 15, Chu discloses a chip (circuitry, Para [0133]) comprising: a processor and a storage medium (processor, Fig. 1, memory and storage, Para [0130]) coupled to the processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the processor and causing the chip to: generate a frame comprising a service field, a bandwidth mode indication field and a unicast/multicast bit (service field, Fig. 2b, bandwidth indicated by bits B5 and B6, Para [0116], unicast/multicast bit, Fig. 8a), wherein the frame is a non-high throughput (non-HT) frame or a non-high throughput duplicated (non-HT duplicated) frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113], non-HT PPDU carrying control frame, Para [0073]), the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode comprises one of a first bandwidth mode set and a second bandwidth mode set (one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, Para [0100]), wherein the first bandwidth mode set comprises 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 80+80 MHz or 160 MHz and the second bandwidth mode set comprises 320 MHz or 160+160 MHz (bandwidth value is based on the values of B5 and B6, Para [0116], BW of 20, 40, 80, 160 (80+80) and 320 MHz, Para [0109]); and sending the frame (STA transmits control frame in a non-HT duplicate PPDU, Para [0113]. Also see page 3, 4 from provisional application 63/138,627 and page 4 from provisional application 63/019,743); but does not disclose wherein a first field of the service field and the unicast/multicast bit cooperate to indicate whether the bandwidth mode indication field identifies the target bandwidth mode and the bandwidth mode indication field identifies a target bandwidth based on a combination of values of the unicast/multicast bit and the first field. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lu and Alpert in the system of Chu in order to further improve indications of bandwidth extension and negotiation in wireless communications and to enable devices to operate with newer protocols and legacy protocols. and does not explicitly disclose service field comprises bits B0-B15. Lu discloses service field with bits B0-B15, Fig. 8; nor discloses wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit being to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a first preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the first bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 1 and setting the B7 bit of the service field to a second preset value, the bandwidth mode indication field indicates the target bandwidth mode in the second bandwidth mode set, wherein based on setting the unicast/multicast bit to 0, the bandwidth mode indication field does not indicate the bandwidth mode. Chu discloses one bit (B7) of the reserved bits is used to indicate whether the BW is 320/160+160 MHz and a value of 0 means the BW is no more than 160 MHz, and a value of 1 means the BW is 320/160+160 MHz, Para [0100]. Lu discloses there are several options to accomplish bandwidth extension signaling indication, Para [0034], options including setting the Unicast/Multicast bit to a certain value in the non-HT PPDU, Para [0035], to indicate bandwidth extension signaling, set the individual/group bit to “group” value, Para [0047], bit B7 can be set to 1 to indicate extended channel bandwidth, Para [0055] and bandwidth extension signaling under one of the four options may be combined with a bandwidth extension indication bit, Para [0038]. Alpert discloses if the individual/group bit is set to 1, then bits in the service field (i.e. B5, B6 B7) are used to indicate bandwidth information of the PPDU, Para [0165], therefore the individual/group bit is 1 and B7 is either 0 or 1, indicating one or two BW modes.
Examiner Remarks
The feature of the fifth field occupying 10 bits indicating the preamble puncturing information corresponding to the total bandwidth in published Para [0199] could potentially put the claims in better condition for an allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations in the claims. Applicant argues Alpert reference only discloses the positive case, when the individual/group bit is set to 1 it will signal service-field bits are used for PPDU bandwidth signaling but is silent if the individual/group bit is set to 0. The Examiner stated it would be implied. Applicant makes an argument Y happens when each of X and Z equal 1 does not imply Y is forbidden when X equals 0. In response, it is not clear what Applicant is talking about, it is assumed X being 1 or 0, refers to the individual/group bit being 1 or 0, not sure what Z is supposed to represent (maybe Bit 7). The individual/group bit can be a value of 1 or 0, if it is 1, then the service field bits can be used to indicate the extended BW information (bit 7). If Applicant argues the individual/group bit can also be set to 0, to indicate the same thing (because Alpert does not explicitly mention the case where the bit is set to 0), the value of the individual/group bit being 1 or 0, would be irrelevant.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461