Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/US2021/047021 filed 08/20/2021. PCT/US2021/047021 has PRO 63/068,931 filed 08/21/2020. The earlier filing date of 08/21/2020 is being used for examination purposes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1,4-7,9,12,16-18,20,22,25,27,32-33, and 35) in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 41-42 and 44 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2026.
The response filed 09/08/2026 was incomplete and did not address the requirement for species election for Group I as required in the Office Action dated 05/05/2026. In an effort to advance prosecution, the requirement for the election of species is withdrawn.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). See [0152]
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the “Brief Description of the Drawings” section of the Specification. See at least Fig. 3-5, 12 which each displaying sequences in the PyMOL screen capture but are not disclosed in the brief description or figures.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The specification is objected to because the use of improperly demarcated trademarks has been noted in this application. Although the use of trademarks is permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner that might adversely affect their validity as trademarks. See MPEP §608. 01(v). 9. Examples of such an improperly demarcated trademarks “PyMOL”, “Andrew+”, “SYBR”, and “MATLAB” which appear in the present specification in paragraphs [0067], [0072], [0093], and [0159] respectively. Examiner notes that the provided examples are not meant to be a complete list of improperly demarcated trademarks found in the present specification. Applicant should review the entire specification and correct all instances of improperly demarcated trademarks. Appropriate corrections required. Each letter of a trademark should be capitalized or otherwise the trademark should be demarcated with the appropriate symbol indicating its proprietary nature (e.g., ™, ©, ®) and accompanied by generic terminology. Applicants may identify trademarks using the USPTO's trademark database. Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS), on the Internet at https://tmsearch.uspto.go
Claim Objections
Claim 32 objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error.
Claim 32 recites both “modified surface-exposed residue” and “modified-surface exposed residue” throughout the claim. The “surface-exposed” recitation should be used throughout the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate having a three-dimensional surface comprising a plurality of binding patches” and “a plurality of moieties coupled to the plurality of binding patches via hydrophobic or hydrophilic interactions.” Claim 4 recites that the non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substate is “selected from an electrostatic, lipidic, gold, or metallic particle.”
The claims therefore encompass a genus of compositions in which the seed substrate is not a protein, in which that non-proteinaceous substrate bears a plurality of binding patches on its three-dimensional surface, and in which moieties are coupled to those patches by hydrophobic or hydrophilic interactions.
The discloses does not describe any member of this genus. The sole disclosure directed to a non-proteinaceous seed substrate appears at [0004], which states in its entirety “In certain aspects, the nanoparticle seed substrate is a non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate. In certain aspects, the non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate is an electrostatic, lipidic, gold, or metallic particle.” This passage recites the claim terms but provides no further description. It identities no structure of a binding patch on such a particle, no method of identifying such a patch, no moiety coupled to such a patch, and no example, working or prophetic of such a composition. By contrast, every substantive disclosure in the specification directed to a seed substrate having binding patches concerns a proteinaceous substrate (see [0036], [0039], [0070], [0104], and throughout).
The written description of an invention requires more than a recitation of the claim language. The specification must convey with reasonable clarity that the inventor was in possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. See MPEP 2163. For a claimed genus, an adequate written description requires either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus, or structural features common to the members f the guns such that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii); Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). Neither showing is present here. The specification discloses no species of non-proteinaceous seed substate bearing binding patches with coupled moieties. The recitation at [0004] names four categories of particles but describes no member of any of them in the claimed configuration, nor does the specification identify any structural feature common to non-proteinaceous binding patches, since the only structural characterization of a binding patch anywhere in the disclosure is by reference to surface-exposed amino acid residues, which a gold, metallic, electrostatic, or lipidic particle does not possess.
Accordingly, the specification describes only compositions in which the seed substrate is a protein or ribonucleoprotein, while claims 1 and 4 claim compositions in which the seed substate is expressly not proteinaceous. One of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude from the disclosure that the inventors were in possession of the claimed genus at the time of filing and therefore the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 5 each recite “a plurality of binding patches.” The term “binding patch” is not defined in the specification and has no established meaning in the art.
The specification uses the term without definition throughout and provides no lexicographic statement. Where the term is used substantively, it refers to regions of surface electrostatic potential on a protein identified by computational modeling, as in “identifying one or more surface-exposed residues within a binding patch for modification” (see [0036]) and “mutation of key charged residues in key binding patches, as determined by Poisson-Boltzmann plots” (see [0113]). The specification further describes such patches as ranges of amino acid residues, identifying “ranges of amino acids (Fig. 4H P175-D268) that represent charged non-activity-critical patches” (see [0128]). It is therefore unclear what structure constitutes a “binding patch” on the non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate recited in claim 1,which by definition has no amino acid residues and to which the disclosed Poisson-Boltzmann methodology is inapplicable. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
For purposes of examination, certain claim terms that are broad or otherwise require construction have been interpreted in accordance with their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, as is required during prosecution. See MPEP 2111; In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The following claim constructions have been applied in this office action. This construction section governs application of the art below. Where a rejection depends on a construction issue not addressed here, it is separately noted within that rejection.
binding patch(es): Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a “binding patch” is a spatially localized region of the three-dimensional surface of the nanoparticle seed substate at which a moiety is capable of associating. The interpretation is not limited to regions identify by Poisson-Boltzmann modeling, is not limited to regions comprising amino acid residues, and is not limited to regions of any particular charge state, dimension, or composition, because the claims recite no such limitations and the specification does not define the term to require them. The rejections set for the below under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 apply this interpretation. Prior art teaching discrete surface regions at which moieties associate is treated as teaching binding patches, whether such regions are described as charge pockets, cationic or anionic sites, attachment sites, or functionalized surface regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watson et al. (US 2018/0161447 A1, published Jun. 14, 2018, on IDS 01/22/2024 as US Pat. 10,975,388 B2).
In regards to claim 5, Watson discloses a composition comprising a nanoparticle seed substrate having a zwitterionic three-dimensional charge-tunable surface comprising a plurality of binding patches. Watson teaches core templates “which may include Cas9 RNP or any homogenously or zwitterionically charged surface,” and describes “[a] ~10 nm core particle consisting of CRISPR-Cas9 RNP bound to gRNA… shown with zwitterionic domains” (see Watson [0443]). Watson discloses that the surface is charge-tunable, teaching “[a] method for homogenizing the charge of a zwitterionic surface utilizing a variety of polymers” and that “a cationic polymer or anionic polymer may be added to homogenize the surface prior to the addition of oppositely charges polymers” (see Watson [0443]).
Watson discloses a plurality of binding patches, describing anionic and cationic charge pockets on the substrate surface that serves as electrostatic anchoring sites (see Watson [0439]-[0440]), and identify “cationic protein domain on cas9” on the depicted core (see Watson [0444]). Watson further discloses a plurality of moieties coupled to the plurality of binding patches, teaching “[e]xemplary anionic peptides (9-10 amino acids long, approximately to scale to 10 nm diameter CRISPR RNP) anchoring to cationic sites on the CRISPR RNP surface prior to… addition of cationic anchors as… anchor-linker-ligands or standalone cationic anchors” (see Watson [0441]).
Watson discloses that the combination of coupled moieties inhibits aggregation by electrostatic coupling of the seed substrate to a substrate, teaching that the charged materials are added “to form a stable charged layer on the protein surface” (see Watson [0439]) and that the charged polymer polypeptide domain “interacts electrostatically with a charged stabilization layer of a nanoparticle” (see Watson [0171]). The resulting stability is evidenced by the reported size and potential data (Tables 6 and 7, [0385]).
In regards to claim 6, Watson discloses a plurality of binding patches comprises a plurality of cationic and a plurality of anionic binding patches. Watson teaches both “cationic protein domain on cas9” and “anionic protein domain on cas9: on the same core particle (see Watson [0444]), and describes anionic charge pockets and cationic charge pockets as anchoring sites (see Watson [0439]-[0440]).
Watson further discloses a nanoparticle seed substrate having a zwitterionic charge ratio defined by the number of cationic binding patches to the number of anionic binding patches, and discloses that the charge ratio is modified compared to an unmodified seed substrate. Watson teaches formulating compositions to defined “positive to negative charge ratio (CR)” values and “amine to phosphate (N:P) or amine to phosphate+carboxylate [N:(P+C)] ratios.” (see Watson [0314]), and teaches homogenizing the charge of the zwitterionic surface by polymer addition such that the surface charge state differs from that of the starting substrate (see Watson [0443]).
In regards to claim 7, Watson discloses at least one moiety comprising a modified protein, wherein the modified protein comprises an anchor designed to interact with a binding patch, teaching “a charged polymer polypeptide domain (a cationic anchoring domain)” (see Watson [0168]), that is “used as an anchor to coat the surface of a nanoparticle with the delivery molecule” (see Watson [0171]). Watson discloses that the interaction between anchor and binding patch may be electrostatic and non-covalent, teaching that “anionic charge pockets serve as strong anchoring sites for charged cations” (see Watson [0439]), and may be hydrophilic, with the anchor and surface both being hydrophilic species in an aqueous buffer (see Watson [0172]).
Watson discloses at least one linker coupled to the anchor, teaching multiple constructs such as cysteine conjugation anchor 1 (CCA1) [charged polymer polypeptide domain-linker (GAPGAPGAP)-cysteine] and the reverse construct cysteine conjugation anchor 2 (CCA2) [cysteine-linker (GAPGAPGAP)-charged polymer polypeptide domain] (see Watson [0222]-[0223]) in which the charged polypeptide domain is conjugated to the linker domain. Watson further discloses a payload or functional domain coupled directly to the anchor and to the at least one linker as evidenced in construct “RRRRRRRRR GAPGAPGAP MIASQFLSALTLVLLIKESGA” in which E-selectin targeting ligand is coupled through the linker to the charged polymer polypeptide domain (see Watson [0235]), and the teaching that “a targeting ligand… is conjugated to a payload (e.g., a protein payload or a nucleic acid payload such as an siRNA) via an intervening linker” (see Watson [0209]).
In regards to claim 9, Watson discloses a plurality of cationic binding patches electrostatically bound to a plurality of negatively charged moieties teaching “, teaching “[e]xemplary anionic peptides (9-10 amino acids long, approximately to scale to 10 nm diameter CRISPR RNP) anchoring to cationic sites on the CRISPR RNP surface” (see Watson [0441]) and that “cationic charge pockets serve as strong electrostatic anchoring sites for charged anions” (see Watson [0440]).
Watson discloses a plurality of anionic binding patches electrostatically bound to a plurality of positively charged moieties, teaching that “exposed nucleic acid (anionic) and anionic charge pockets serve as strong electrostatic anchoring sites for charged cations” (see Watson [0439]).
Watson discloses both within a single composition, teaching anionic peptides anchoring to cationic sites “prior to… addition of cationic anchors as… anchor-linker-ligands or standalone cationic anchors” (see Watson [0441]).
In regards to claim 12, Watson discloses at least one moiety that is a fusion polymer comprising a polymeric molecule selected from the recited group. Watson discloses a gRNA molecule, a donor DNA molecule, an mRNA molecule, an siRNA molecule, and an aptamer, teaching payloads including “mRNA, m1A modified mRNA…, siRNA, miRNA, aptamers, shRNA, AAV-derived nucleic acids and scaffolds, morpholino RNA, peptoid and peptide nucleic acids, cDNA, DNA origami, DNA and RNA with synthetic nucleotides, DNA and RNA with predefined secondary structures, multimers and oligomers of the aforementioned, and payloads whose sequence may encode other products such as any protein or polypeptide” (see Watson [0252]).
In regards to claim 16, Watson discloses a multi-domain polymer comprising a plurality of domains selected from cationic domains, anionic domains, and neutral domains. Watson teaches that “[o]ne or more natural or modified polypeptide sequences herein may be modified with terminal or intermittent arginine, lysine, or histidine sequences” and describes histone fragments “bridged in series by a 5R (5 arginines), 9R (9 arginines), 5K (5 lysines), 9K (9 lysines), 5H (5 histidines), or 9H (9 histidines) cationic spacer domain” (see Watson [0195]).
In regards to claim 17 and 18, Watson discloses a functional domain comprising one or more of the recited elements. Watson discloses a ligand, teaching the target ligands of Table 1 among other domains such as nuclear trafficking signals (see Watson [0169]), and endosomal sorting pathways (see Watson [0138]-[0141]).
In regards to claim 20, Watson discloses a functional domain comprising a cell-penetrating motif selected from the recited group. Watson discloses cationic polymers, poly(L-arginine) (PLR), poly(L-lysine) (PLK) (see Watson [0172]).
In regards to claim 22, Watson discloses at least one moiety comprising a modified protein comprising an anchor wherein the anchor is a cationic anchor or an anionic anchor designed to interact with a binding patch and wherein the interaction between the anchor and the binding patch may be hydrophilic, hydrophobic, electrostatic, covalent, or non- covalent; and at least one linker, wherein at least one linker is a terminal linker coupled to the anchor. Watson discloses a “charged polymer polypeptide domain (a cationic anchoring domain)” comprising “repeating cationic residues (e.g., arginine, lysine, histidine)” (see Watson [0168]). Watson further discloses that the interaction between anchor and binding patch may be electrostatic and non-covalent (see Watson [0439]-[0441]), hydrophilic (see Watson [0172]), or covalent (see Watson [0210]), and discloses at least one terminal linker coupled to the anchor (see Watson [0222]-[0223]).
In regards to claim 25, Watson discloses a linker selected from the recited group. Watson discloses “in some embodiments the linker is a polyethylene glycol (PEG) linker” (see Watson [0211]).
In regards to claim 27, Watson discloses that that the nanoparticle seed substrate comprises a protein selected from the group recited. Watson discloses CRISPR Cas9 RNP as a seed substrate (see Watson [0443]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, and 27are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 2018/0161447 A1, published Jun. 14, 2018 on IDS 01/22/2024 as US Pat. 10,975,388 B2).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Watson discloses a composition comprising a non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate having a three-dimensional surface comprising a plurality of binding patches.
Watson discloses a plurality of binding patches on the seed substrate surface, describing discrete localized, surface regions that serve as sites of moiety attachment. Watson teaches that charge density plots of the seed substrate “allow for determining whether an anionic or cationic peptide/material should be added to form a stable charged layer on the … surface,” and that “anionic charge pockets serve as strong electrostatic anchoring sites for charges cations prior to addition of charged anions” (see Watson [0439]). Watson correspondingly teaches that “cationic charge pockets serve as strong electrostatic anchoring sites for charged anions” (see Watson [0440]).
Watson discloses a plurality of moieties coupled to the plurality of binding patches, teaching ““[e]xemplary anionic peptides (9-10 amino acids long, approximately to scale to 10 nm diameter CRISPR RNP) anchoring to cationic sites on the CRISPR RNP surface prior to… addition of cationic anchors as… anchor-linker-ligands or standalone cationic anchors” (see Watson [0441]). Watson further discloses the anchor-linker-ligand constructs by which such moieties are coupled, including “RRRRRRRRR GAPGAPGAP C” (see Watson [0222]) and RRRRRRRRR GAPGAPGAP MIASQFLSALTLVLLIKESGA (see Watson [0235]).
Watson discloses coupling of moieties via hydrophilic interactions. The moieties of Watson are hydrophilic polypeptides, including poly(arginine), poly(lysine), poly(histidine), poly(ornithine), and poly(citrulline) (see Watson [0172]), which are coupled to hydrophilic charged surfaces in aqueous buffers (see Watson [0293]-[0294]). Watson further recognizes hydrophobic association among the disclosed components, identifying “hydrophobic residues that stabilize the helix by interacting with two other helices” and describing modification of those residues to control conformation (see Watson [0455]).
Watson discloses that the combination of coupled moieties inhibits nanoparticle seed substrate aggregation by coupling of the nanoparticle seed substrate toa a substrate. Watson teaches that nanoparticles comprises “a nanoparticle includes a core that is surrounded by a stabilization layer (e.g., a silica, peptoid, polycysteine, or calcium phosphate coating)” and that “the stabilization layer has a negative charge and a positively charged polymer polypeptide domain can therefore interact with the stabilization layer, effectively anchoring the delivery molecule to the nanoparticle and coating the nanoparticle surface” (see Watson [0171]). The coupled moieties of Watson thus effect the coupling of the seed substrate to a further layer.
Watson further teaches coupling of the seed substrate to a discrete support by means of the coupled moieties, disclosing that “[t]argeting ligands consisting of polypeptides with a ligand, (GGGGS)2 linker, and electrostatic anchor domain were synthesized by solid phase peptide synthesis and used to functionalize the silica surface (sheddable layer) of particles” (see Watson [0358) and that “a subject delivery molecule can be embedded on a surface (e.g., in a dish/plate format), e.g., instead of antibodies, for biosensing applications” and “can be added to nanodiamonds (e.g., can be used to coat nanodiamonds)” (see Watson [0276]).
Watson expressly correlates this coupled architecture with inhibition of aggregation and enhanced stability. Watson teaches that a cationic or anionic polymer “may be added to homogenize the surface charge prior to addition of oppositely charged polymer” (see Watson [0443]). Watson reports that particles prepared by a particular order of addition of the coupled moieties were highly stable, monodispersed and heterogenous with low standard deviation and particle uniformity (see Watson [0357], [0365]). Watson reports measure hydrodynamic diameters and zeta potentials evidence non-aggregated, uniformly dispersed particles, with “strong particle stability” (see Watson Tables 6 and 7, [0377]).
Watson teaches that “[c]harged core template embodiments encompass any charged surface including a charged dendrimer or oligosaccharide-dendrimer, recombinant or synthetic histone dimer/trimer/tetramer/octamer, nanodiamond, gold nanoparticle, quantum dot, MRI contrast agent, or combination thereof” (see Watson [0443]). A gold nanoparticle, a quantum dot, and a nanodiamond are each non-proteinaceous.
Watson describes the binding patches in reference to a proteinaceous seed substrate surface, and does not expressly sate that the non-proteinaceous core templates identified possess a plurality of binding patches to which a plurality of moieties are coupled. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the binding-patch anchoring architecture of Watson to a non-proteinaceous nanoparticle seed substrate, including the gold, nanodiamond, quantum dot, and lipidic substrates identified by Watson. Watson expressly instruct the skilled artisan to apply its approach across substrate types, teaching that “[a]ll techniques described herein may be applied to any particle core, whether diagnostic or therapeutic, as well as to self-assembled materials” (see Watson [0364]). Further motivation is supplied by the recognized benefits of the resulting composition as Watson attributes the coupled architecture to improved particle uniformity (see Watson Tables 6 and 7) and the technique enables ligand directed cellular targeting (see Watson [0150], [0171]). One of ordinary skill I the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Watson demonstrates functionalization of non-proteinaceous particles with the same anchor-linker-ligand constructs (see Watson [0358], [0363]).
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, 27, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 2018/0161447 A1, published Jun. 14, 2018 on IDS 01/22/2024 as US Pat. 10,975,388 B2), as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, and 27 above, and included here for reasons supra, in view of Givens et al. (“Nanoparticle based delivery of CRISPR/Cas9 genome editing therapeutics”, AAPS J. ; 20(6): 108 published Oct. 10, 2019, on IDS 01/16/2026).
In regards to claims 33 and 35, Watson discloses the composition of claim 27 as set forth above, including a nanoparticle seed substrate comprising a protein, namely a Cas9 ribonucleoprotein core template (see Watson [0443]). Claim 27 recites that the nanoparticle seed substrate “comprises” a protein.
Watson further discloses non-proteinaceous particles to which proteins and other moieties are anchored, teaching charged core templates including a “gold nanoparticle” (see Watson [0443]), and teaching that a charged domain “interacts electrostatically with a charged stabilization layer of a nanoparticle… effectively anchoring the delivery molecule to the nanoparticle and coating the nanoparticle surface” (see Watson [0171]).
Watson does not expressly disclose a composition in which a payload is coupled to the nanoparticle seed substrate by a protein acting as a binding element. Givens cures this deficiency. Givens discloses a nanoparticle seed substrate comprising both a gold nanoparticle and a Cas9 protein, in which the Cas9 is bout to the particle surface by means of an engineered peptide tag. Givens teaches that “cationic arginine-functionalized gold nanoparticles (ArgNPs) were used to deliver Cas9 RNPs, comprising chemically modified Cas9 protein and sgRNA,” and that “Cas9 and sgRNA (1:1 molar ratio) were mixed with ArgNPs, resulting in ‘self-assembled nanoassemblies’” (see Givens p. 16-17). Givens further teaches that “ [t]he Cas9 used was either modified with a glutamate peptide tag at the N-terminus (Cas9glut) or remained unmodified,” the purpose of the tag being “to impart a negatively charged region to the highly positive Cas9, thus enabling stronger binding to the positively-charged arginine residues on the ArgNPs” (see Givens p. 17). The unmodified Cas9 would be the wildtype protein while Cas9glut is a chimeric protein within the meaning of claim 33.
Givens thus discloses the recited coupling relationship. The sgRNA payload is associated with the Cas9 protein in the ribonucleoprotein complex, and the Cas9 protein bout to the arginine-functionalized gold nanoparticles by way of its glutamate tag. The sgRNA is accordingly coupled to the nanoparticle seed substrate by the Cas9 protein acting as a binding element, the Cas9 providing the sole link between the sgRNA and the particle surface.
Givens further teaches an alternative arrangement in which a payload is couple toa gold nanoparticle substrate in a CRIPR-Gold delivery system, disclosing that manufacture “involved coating gold NPs with thiol-terminated DNA which was then hybridized to the donor DNA and then Cas9 RNP was allowed to absorb to the NPs” (see Givens p. 17).
Givens additionally teaches a wildtype protein acting as a binding element to couple a nucleic acid payload within a nanoparticle assembly, disclosing that “[t]he purpose of employing protamine sulfate was not only to increase the loading efficiency of the pDNA within the nanoassemblies, due to its ability to tightly bind and condense DNA, but to facilitate nuclear delivery through a putative NLS that protamine sulfate possesses” (see Givens p. 13 last para.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to couple a payload to the nanoparticle seed substrate of Watson by means of a protein acting as a binding agent, as taught by Givens. The motivation is supplied by Givens, which teaches that this arrangement achieves efficient uptake and nuclear delivery (see Givens p. 17). Watson independently teaches that ““[a]ll techniques described herein may be applied to any particle core, whether diagnostic or therapeutic, as well as to self-assembled materials” (see Watson [0364]) and teaches layer-by-layer assembly in which payload, protein, and substrate are combined according toa selected order of addition (see Watson [0295]-[0308]), providing express direction for arranging these components.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the working examples of both references, including Givens report of successful gene editing using the ArgNP-Cas9 nanoassemblies (see Givens p. 17) and Watson’s characterization of assembled particles by size and potential (see Table 6 and 7).
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, 27, 32-33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 2018/0161447 A1, published Jun. 14, 2018 on IDS 01/22/2024 as US Pat. 10,975,388 B2) in view of Givens et al. (“Nanoparticle based delivery of CRISPR/Cas9 genome editing therapeutics”, AAPS J. ; 20(6): 108 published Oct. 10, 2019, on IDS 01/16/2026), as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22, 25, 27, 33, and 35 above, and included here for reasons supra, in further view of Ramakrishna et al. (“Gene disruption by cell-penetrating peptide-mediated delivery of Cas9 protein and guide RNA”, Genome Res. 2014 Jun;24(6):1020-7, cited in Givens et al.).
In regards to claim 32, Watson discloses the composition of claim 27 including a nanoparticle seed substrate comprising Cas9 protein (see Watson [0443]), and further discloses covalent conjugation by way of cysteine residues and thiol-maleimide chemistry (see Watson [0143], [0217]-[0219]). Watson does not disclose that the nanoparticle seed substrate itself comprises a modified surface-exposed residue at which a payload or functional domain is covalently coupled, the cysteine substitution of Watson being introduced into the targeting ligand rather than into the seed substrate directly.
Ramakrishan discloses a nanoparticle seed substrate comprising a modified surface-exposed residue. Ramakrishna teaches the preparation of a Cas9 protein into which a cysteine residue was deliberately introduced, stating that they “sought to minimize genetic modification of Cas9 by adding a Cys residue at the C terminus… to enable CPP conjugation after Cas9 expression” (see Ramakrishna p. 1021 2nd para., Fig. 1).
Ramakrishna further discloses at least one functional domain coupled to the nanoparticle seed substrate through covalent bonding. Ramakrishna teaches conjugation of a maleimide-linked cell-penetrating peptide consisting of four glycine, nine arginine and four leucine, and teaches that “the free SH residue in the C-terminal cysteine of Cas9 reacts with the primary amine (-NH2) residue in m9R, forming a thioether bond.” The nine-arginine cell-penetrating peptide is a functional domain comprising a cell-penetrating motif. (see Ramakrishna p. 1021 2nd para.).
Ramkrishna further discloses that incorporation of the functional domain leads to a conjugation specifically at the modified surface-exposed residue. Ramakrishna teaches that although unmodified Cas9 contains native cysteine residues at positions 80 and 574, “this Cas9 failed to be conjugated to m9R when incubates with m9R…, suggesting that the m9R was conjugated to the C-terminal cysteine residue that we introduced.” Ramakrishna thus demonstrate that the conjugation occurs at the introduced residue and not elsewhere on the protein surface, which satisfies the recited requirement that incorporation of the functional domain leads to a stapling conjugation to a modified surface exposed residue on the nanoparticle seed substrate. The specification does not define “stapling conjugation” with particularity, as such the term encompasses a site-specific conjugation in the middle of the protein to second peptide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce a modified surface-exposed cysteine into the Cas9 nanoparticle seed substate of Watson and to covalently couple a functional domain at that residue, as taught by Ramakrishna. The motivation is supplied by Ramakrishna which teaches that this approach enables directly delivery of Cas9 without plasmids or transfection reagents, avoids uncontrolled plasmid integration and unwanted immune responses, and reduces off-target mutation frequency relative to plasmid transfection (see Ramakrishna “Discussion” p. 1023 – p. 1024). One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success as Watson’s teaches cysteine insertions and thiol-maleimide conjugation chemistry similar to Ramakrishna’s and Ramakrishna has demonstrated successful gene disruption in multiple cell types using cell-penetrating peptide mediated deliver of Cas9 nanoparticles (see Watson [0218]; Ramakrishna Abstract, Fig. 6).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kotha et al. - US 20160230189 – “Nanoparticle-mediated gene delivery, genomic editing and ligand-targeted modification in various cell populations”. Specifically relevant to claims 1, 4, 12, 17, 18, 20, 27, 33, and 35.
/MATTHEW HAROLD RAYMONDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/AARON A PRIEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681