DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 1/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 20, 21, 23, and 25 are amended.
No claims are cancelled or added.
Claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, as amended, it is unclear how “a difference” between the first and second time-domain resources is measured as compared to a “threshold duration”. Does this mean that the respective durations of the first and second time-domain resources are different? Or is the claimed “difference” intended to relate to the “gap time” that is between the first and second time-domain resources?
Claims 2-14 and 21-28 are rejected based on their dependency from claims 1 and 20, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 20-24, and 26-28 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20220159596A1), hereafter Kim, in view of Ibrahim et al. (US20220022206A1), hereafter Ibrahim.
Regarding claim 1,
Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, UE; Fig. 2B, first/second devices 100/200) comprising one or more processors (Fig. 2B, processor(s) 102/202), one or more memories (Fig. 2B, memory(s) 104/204) coupled with the processor(s), and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the processors (paragraph 69-70) to cause the apparatus to receive, via a first time-domain resource (i.e. downlink; paragraph 17) from a network entity (i.e. Fig. 1, eNB/base station), a control message that triggers reception of one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals for one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (Fig. 14B, 21; paragraph 17, 234-236; receive configuration information from BS indicating UE-to-UE CLI measurement).
Kim further discloses to adjust a reception timing of the first UE for the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (paragraph 234, 247; transmission timing of SRS changed/delayed), wherein the reception timing is adjusted during a time interval (paragraph 247-250; SRS for UE-to-UE CLI transmitted within the CP of the downlink timing of the receiving UE) that occurs after the control message is received and in accordance with a rule to align the reception timing of the first UE with a transmission timing of a second UE that is associated with transmission of the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals from the second UE (paragraph 234, 268-279; transmission timing/measurement window is changed based on timing advance/offset information; jointly performing change of SRS transmission timing by the transmitting UE while changing the timing of the measurement window necessarily occurs after explicit configuring of such change by the network/eNB), perform the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements using the adjusted reception timing in accordance with the rule and after the time interval (paragraphs 235, 247-250; 274-279; UE-to-UE CLI measured after the changed/delayed SRS transmission occurs within the CP of receiving UE and measurement window is adjusted based on TA value and TA offset according to the distance between UEs; jointly performing change of SRS transmission timing by the transmitting UE while changing the timing of the measurement window necessarily occurs after explicit configuring of change/delay by the network/eNB and changed/delayed SRS is received within the CP) and transmit, to the network entity, a report that indicates one or more cross-link interference metrics corresponding to the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (paragraph 277-279; UE performs CLI measurement based on the timing change of the measurement window and transmits a CLI report to eNB).
Kim discloses a guard period between downlink and uplink frames related to SRS transmission for CLI measurement (Fig. 3a(b); Fig. 15a-b, 16-20; paragraph 84-86, 159, 261-263) but does not expressly disclose timing adjusted during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource, wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration.
Ibrahim discloses analogous art (Title: Concurrent Self-Interference and Cross-Link Interference Measurement and Reporting) including timing adjusted during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource (Fig. 8, steps 810-820; paragraphs 76-80, 121, 129; timing adjusted via puncturing/rate-matching during guard period for CLI measurement reporting), wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration (paragraphs 67-68, 84, 104, 121, 129, 171; threshold quantity of guard symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim by adjusting timing during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource, wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration, as shown by Ibrahim, thereby enabling concurrent measurement reporting according to adjusted timing.
Regarding claim 20,
Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity comprising one or more processors (Fig. 2B, processor(s) 102/202), one or more memories (Fig. 2B, memory(s) 104/204) coupled with the processor(s), and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the processors (paragraph 69-70) to cause the apparatus to output a first indication that triggers reception of one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals for one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (Fig. 21; paragraph 17, 234-236; receive configuration information from BS indicating UE-to-UE CLI).
Kim further shows to output a second indication of a time interval that occurs after the first indication is output from the network entity and that is based at least in part on a rule to align a reception timing of the first UE with a transmission timing of a second UE that is associated with transmission of the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals from the second UE (paragraph 234, 268-275; transmission timing/measurement window is changed based on timing advance/offset information), wherein the time interval occurs between output of the first indication and reception of the CLI reference signals (paragraph 247-250; SRS for UE-to-UE CLI transmitted within the CP of the downlink timing of the receiving UE; paragraphs 235, 247-250; 274-279; UE-to-UE CLI measured after the changed/delayed SRS transmission occurs within the CP of receiving UE and measurement window is adjusted based on TA value and TA offset according to the distance between UEs; jointly performing change of SRS transmission timing by the transmitting UE while changing the timing of the measurement window necessarily occurs after explicit configuring of change/delay by the network/eNB and changed/delayed SRS is received within the CP) and obtain a report in response to the first indication, wherein the report indicates one or more cross-link interference metrics corresponding to the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (paragraph 277-279; UE performs CLI measurement based on the timing change of the measurement window and transmits a CLI report to eNB).
Kim discloses a guard period between downlink and uplink frames related to SRS transmission for CLI measurement (Fig. 3a(b); Fig. 15a-b, 16-20; paragraph 84-86, 159, 261-263) but does not expressly disclose timing adjusted during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource, wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration.
Ibrahim discloses analogous art (Title: Concurrent Self-Interference and Cross-Link Interference Measurement and Reporting) including timing adjusted during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource (Fig. 8, steps 810-820; paragraphs 76-80, 121, 129; timing adjusted via puncturing/rate-matching during guard period for CLI measurement reporting), wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration (paragraphs 67-68, 84, 104, 121, 129, 171; threshold quantity of guard symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim by adjusting timing during a gap time between the first time-domain resource and a second time-domain resource, wherein a difference between the first and second time-domain resources is greater than or equal to a threshold duration, as shown by Ibrahim, thereby enabling concurrent measurement reporting according to adjusted timing.
Regarding claims 2 and 21,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim discloses to output/receive a control message comprising the first indication via the first time-domain resource (paragraph 234; BS explicitly configures timing information on downlink), wherein the control message indicates the second time-domain resource for the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements that occurs after the gap time in accordance with the rule (Kim: paragraph 235-239; configuration information explicitly informs first and second UE of SRS timing configuration about the SRS to be transmitted/received for UE-to-UE CLI measurement; Ibrahim: Fig. 8, steps 810-820; paragraphs 76-80, 121, 129; timing adjusted via puncturing/rate-matching during guard period for CLI measurement reporting). See motivation above.
Regarding claims 3 and 22,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim discloses the rule indicates that the first time-domain resource occurs in a first slot and the second time-domain resource occurs in a second slot different from the first slot (Fig. 5-6, 16-18, 20; paragraph 246).
Regarding claims 4 and 23,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim discloses the rule indicates that a difference between the first time-domain resource and the second time-domain resource is one slot (Kim: paragraph 245-246, 254-256, 261-263; Fig. 15b, 17, 18; range of TA offset within one slot; Ibrahim: paragraph 63). See motivation above.
Regarding claim 5,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim discloses to receive, from the network entity, an indication of the gap time in accordance with the rule (Kim: paragraphs 234-239, 268-269; timing of the measurement window is changed/advanced based on the configured/indicated TA offset; Ibrahim: Fig. 8, steps 810-820; paragraphs 76-80, 121, 129; timing adjusted via puncturing/rate-matching during guard period for CLI measurement reporting). See motivation above.
Regarding claim 6,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim discloses the control message comprises the first and second indications of the gap time (Kim: Fig. 21-22; paragraphs 234-239, 268-269; timing of the measurement window is changed/advanced based on the configured/indicated TA offset; Ibrahim: Fig. 8, steps 810-820; paragraphs 76-80, 121, 129; timing adjusted via puncturing/rate-matching during guard period for CLI measurement reporting). See motivation above.
Regarding claims 9-12,
Kim discloses to receive, from the network entity, an indication of the timing offset in accordance with the rule and adjust the reception timing by applying the timing offset that is based at least in part on the rule, wherein the timing offset comprises a timing advance offset of the first UE for uplink transmissions and a timing advance offset of a second UE that is associated with the transmission timing (paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Regarding claim 13,
Kim discloses to adjust a second transmission/reception timing of the first UE for uplink transmissions or a second reception/transmission timing of the first UE for downlink receptions in accordance with a second time interval that occurs before or after the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements in accordance with the rule (Fig. 16-18; paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Regarding claims 14 and 26-28,
Kim discloses the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements are associated with a half-duplex and subband full-duplex operation mode at the network entity (Fig. 1, 14B; paragraph 2-4, 9, 78, 79, 162, 169, 290; flexible duplex, half-duplex and full-duplex operation).
Regarding claim 24,
Kim discloses to output a control message that comprises the first indication and the second indication in accordance with the rule (Fig. 21-22; paragraphs 234-239, 268-269; timing of the measurement window is changed/advanced based on the configured/indicated TA offset).
Claims 7, 8, and 25 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Ibrahim as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US20190357224A1), hereafter Li.
Regarding claims 7 and 25,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim does not expressly disclose to transmit, to the network entity, an acknowledgment message responsive to the control message, wherein the time interval is based at least in part on the acknowledgment message.
Li discloses analogous art including to transmit, to the network entity, an acknowledgment message responsive to the control message, wherein the time interval is based at least in part on the acknowledgment message (paragraphs 66, 73, 202-204; informing the base station of a determined cross link interference result in an ACK/NACK manner, adjusting new data transmission time domain location based at least in part on ACK/NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim and Ibrahim by transmitting, to the network entity, an acknowledgment message responsive to the control message, wherein the time interval is based at least in part on the acknowledgment message, as shown by Li, thereby enabling efficient scheduling adjustment based on the feedback information.
Regarding claim 8,
The combination of Kim and Ibrahim does not expressly disclose the time interval is based at least in part on one or more capabilities of the first UE.
Li further discloses the time interval is based at least in part on one or more capabilities of the first UE (paragraph 62; time domain length configuration of multiple candidate transmissions is determined according to the terminal capability and the traffic type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim and Ibrahim by determining the time interval based at least in part on one or more capabilities of the first UE, as shown by Li, thereby satisfying the requirements of data transmission having different magnitude in different types of traffic.
Claims 15-19 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 15,
Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, UE; Fig. 2B, first/second devices 100/200) comprising one or more processors (Fig. 2B, processor(s) 102/202), one or more memories (Fig. 2B, memory(s) 104/204) coupled with the processor(s), and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the processors (paragraph 69-70) to cause the apparatus to receive, from a network entity (i.e. Fig. 1, eNB/base station), a control message that triggers a transmission of one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals (Fig. 21; paragraph 17, 234-236; receive configuration information from BS indicating SRS to be transmitted for performing UE-to-UE CLI measurement).
Kim further discloses to adjust a first transmission timing (paragraph 235; existing uplink timing configuration) of the first UE to a second transmission timing of the first UE for the transmission of the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals (paragraph 235, 247; transmission timing of SRS by transmitting UE is changed/delayed) based at least in part on a rule to align the transmission timing with a reception timing of a second UE that is associated with one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements at the second UE (paragraphs 234-235, 247-250; 268-279; UE-to-UE CLI measured after the changed/delayed SRS transmission by the transmitting/first UE occurs within the CP of receiving/second UE and measurement window of the receiving UE is adjusted based on TA value and TA offset according to the distance between the UEs) and transmit, to the network entity, the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals using the second transmission timing in accordance with the rule (paragraph 236-238, 258-259; UE transmits SRS based on the changed TA and offset information).
Kim does not expressly disclose adjusting the second transmission timing to the first transmission timing in response to transmission of the UE-to-UE CLI reference signals. However, Kim does disclose a default timing unit/TA value if a specific TA value is not provided (paragraph 180-181) as well as a range of offset values based on different distances between UEs (paragraph 231, 250, 256, 272-279) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of effective filing to modify Kim to return the timing/TA value to a default value after the timing/TA value is changed/delayed as shown above, thereby enabling the timing to adapt based on changing distance between the transmitting and receiving UEs.
Regarding claim 16,
Kim discloses to receive, from the network entity, an indication of a timing advance offset associated with the transmission of the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals, wherein the timing advance offset is based at least in part on the rule, and wherein the transmission timing is adjusted in accordance with the timing advance offset (paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Regarding claim 17,
Kim discloses to adjust the transmission timing of the first UE in accordance with the rule to align the transmission timing of the first UE with a second reception timing of the first UE for downlink receptions (paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Regarding claim 18,
Kim discloses to adjust a second transmission/reception timing of the first UE for uplink transmissions or a second reception/transmission timing of the first UE for downlink receptions in accordance with a second time interval that occurs before or after the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements in accordance with the rule (Fig. 16-18; paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Regarding claim 19,
Kim discloses the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements are associated with a half-duplex and subband full-duplex operation mode at the network entity (Fig. 1, 14B; paragraph 2-4, 9, 78, 79, 162, 169, 290; flexible duplex, half-duplex and full-duplex operation).
Regarding claim 29,
Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity comprising one or more processors (Fig. 2B, processor(s) 102/202), one or more memories (Fig. 2B, memory(s) 104/204) coupled with the processor(s), and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the processors (paragraph 69-70) to cause the apparatus to output a first indication that triggers reception of one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals for one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements (Fig. 21; paragraph 17, 234-236; receive configuration information from BS indicating UE-to-UE CLI measurement).
Kim further shows to output a second indication of a timing offset associated with adjustment of a first transmission timing (paragraph 235; existing uplink timing configuration) of the first UE to a second transmission timing of the first UE for the transmission of the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals (paragraph 235, 247; transmission timing of SRS by transmitting UE is changed/delayed), the timing offset is based at least in part on a rule that aligns the second transmission timing of the first UE with a reception timing of a second UE that is associated with one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference measurements at the second UE (paragraphs 234-235, 247-250; 268-279; UE-to-UE CLI measured after the changed/delayed SRS transmission by the transmitting/first UE occurs within the CP of receiving/second UE and measurement window of the receiving UE is adjusted based on TA value and TA offset according to the distance between the UEs) and obtain the one or more UE-to-UE cross-link interference reference signals in accordance with the rule and the second transmission timing of the first UE that is based at least in part on the timing offset (paragraph 236-238, 258-259; UE transmits SRS based on the changed TA and offset information).
Kim does not expressly disclose obtaining one or more uplink signal in accordance with the first transmission timing of the first UE in response to obtaining the UE-to-UE CLI reference signals. However, Kim does disclose a default timing unit/TA value if a specific TA value is not provided (paragraph 180-181) as well as a range of offset values based on different distances between UEs (paragraph 231, 250, 256, 272-279) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of effective filing to modify Kim to return the timing/TA value to a default value after the timing/TA value is changed/delayed as shown above, thereby enabling the timing to adapt based on changing distance between the transmitting and receiving UEs.
Regarding claim 30,
Kim discloses to obtain an indication of a recommended timing advance offset from the second UE, wherein the timing offset associated with the transmission timing of the first UE is based at least in part on the recommended timing advance offset (paragraphs 181, 236-245; timing advance/offset about the SRS and PUSCH to be transmitted/received by first and second UEs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 20, as amended, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited Ibrahim reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 with respect to independent claims 15 and 29 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 13-15 of the Amendment, Applicant contends the rejection of claims 15 and 29 based on Kim is improper because the default TA offset value cited from Kim is not relevant to a TA offset value used by the transmitting UE to transmit SRS for CLI measurement. Rather, Applicant alleges a specific calculated changed TA value used for SRS/CLI measurement while other TA values previously applied are ignored. Further, Applicant contends the rejection’s stated motivation to adapt to changing distance between the UEs does not teach “in response to transmission of the CLI reference signals” as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While it is admitted that Kim does not expressly disclose adjustment/reverting the second transmission timing to the first transmission timing for obtaining one or more uplink signal in accordance with the first transmission timing of the first UE after obtaining the UE-to-UE CLI reference signals according to the second transmission timing, Kim does disclose a default timing unit/TA value if a specific TA value is not provided (paragraph 180-181) as well as a range of offset values based on different distances between UEs (paragraph 231, 250, 256, 272-279) for making various timing adjustments. Ignoring previously applied TA values with respect to the default TA value, as Applicant argues against the rejection, would be expected in order to maintain adherence to that default TA value such that it is not clear how this further disclosure of Kim distinguishes from the claims. Further, Kim’s disclosure of different distance between UEs would have a direct impact on the transmission of the CLI reference signals, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time of effective filing to modify Kim by returning adjusted/changed timing/TA values to a default value after the timing/TA value is changed/delayed as shown above, thereby enabling the timing to adapt to different distances between the UEs that are transmitting and receiving the CLI measurements, as claimed. Therefore, the rejections based on the disclosure of Kim are proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477