DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/165,862 filed on June 25, 2026
in which Claims 1, 3-14, 16-18, and 20-21 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 25, 2026 have been considered. Claims 1, 3-14, 16-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 15, and 19 have been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Thus, Claims 1, 3-14, 16-18, and 20-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Applicant’s arguments filed June 25, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument on pg. 10 of Arguments/Remarks state:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not require every limitation of the claim to constitute a mental process. Claim 1 recites acts including analyzing environment representations, determining discrepancies between classifications, identifying subsets of sensor data associated with the discrepancies, aggregating the identified subsets, and labeling at least one subset. Such acts encompass observations, evaluations, judgments, and organization of information that may be performed mentally or using pen and paper. The additional recitation of causing updates to an environment classification model does not remove the recited mental process from the claim. Rather, the claim merely applies the results of the foregoing analysis using a computer implemented model. The claim does not recite a particular model architecture, training algorithm, loss function, parameter update technique, or other specific technological manner by which the model is updated. Moreover, claim 1 does not positively recite controlling or operating the autonomous vehicle based on the updated model. The autonomous vehicle and its sensors merely provide the context and source of the data being analyzed. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument that the recited process cannot be performed mentally because it enables autonomous vehicle operation is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument on pg. 11 of Arguments/Remarks state:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite a specific technological improvement to the operation of an autonomous vehicle or to the functioning of a machine learning system. Rather, claim 1 recites identifying discrepancies in classification data, collecting sensor data associated with those discrepancies, labeling the data, and using the resulting training data to update model parameters so as to improve classifications. The claim does not specify how the parameters are technically updated or how the model architecture or computer functionality is improved. Further, the claim does not require that the resulting classifications be used to control steering, braking, acceleration, navigation, or any other physical operation of the autonomous vehicle. Thus, the reference to an autonomous vehicle merely provides the technological environment in which the abstract data analysis is performed, and the recitation of updating the model amounts to applying the results of that analysis using a machine learning model. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Applicant’s argument on pg. 12 of Arguments/Remarks state:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the Specification may describe benefits associated with programmatically generating training data, limitations from the Specification that are not positively recited in the claims cannot be relied upon to establish eligibility. The amended claims recite the desired result of improving classifications by labeling selected sensor data and updating model parameters, but do not recite a particular technical mechanism for accomplishing that improvement. The processor, sensors, autonomous vehicle, and machine learning model are used according to their ordinary functions of obtaining data, processing data, performing classifications, and updating a model using training data. Further, the sequence of determining discrepancies, identifying associated data, aggregating the data, and labeling the data forms part of the recited abstract analysis itself and therefore does not provide an inventive concept merely because it is implemented using computer components. Accordingly, considering the claims individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments filed June 25, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1, 3-14, 16-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because these claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1: Claim 1 is a method type claim. Therefore, Claims 3-13 and 21 fall within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
2A Prong 1: If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance
of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable
interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mathematical calculation but for the recitation
of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract
ideas.
obtaining, […] , a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by […] , and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from (mental process – obtaining a first representation and a second representation may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to obtain a first representation and a second representation based on said analysis),
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes(Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
determining, […] , one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (mental process – determining one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the first representation and the second representation and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine discrepancies between the two representations)
for individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies, identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists (mental process – identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment based on said analysis)
aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set (mental process – aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set may be performed mentally or using pen and paper by a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to combine/aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies into a training data set based on said analysis)
causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model (mental process - labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model may be performed mentally or using pen and paper a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data, identifying information represented by the subset, assigning a label to the subset based on said analysis, and accordingly designating the labeled subset for use in updating the model)
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
[…] at least one processor of a computing device […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] by the at least one processor […] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that
are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
[…] at least one processor of a computing device […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] by the at least one processor […] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
For the reasons above, Claim 1 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 3 - 13. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 3:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 3 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
transmitting […] the retrained machine learning model to at least one autonomous vehicle […] (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
[…] wherein the at least one autonomous vehicle uses the retrained machine learning model to infer object classifications of objects based on additional sensor data ((Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of training a machine learning model according to training data set without significantly more)
Step 2B:
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
transmitting […] the environment classification model to at least one autonomous vehicle […] (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
[…] wherein the at least one autonomous vehicle uses the environment classification model to infer object classifications of objects based on additional sensor data (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of training a machine learning model according to training data set without significantly more)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 4:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 4 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the first representation is a semantic segmentation map of the environment, and the second representation is an occupancy grid of the environment (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the first representation is a semantic segmentation map of the environment, and the second representation is an occupancy grid of the environment does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 5 depends on.
wherein aggregating the subsets of sensor data into the training data set comprises clustering the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set (mental process – clustering the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the discrepancies and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to cluster the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 5 above, which Claim 6 depends on.
wherein aggregating the subsets of sensor data into the training data set further comprises programmatically labeling each of the one or more discrepancy groups based on a classification, within at least one of the first or second representations, of the portion of the environment at which the discrepancy exists (mental process – programmatically labeling each of the one or more discrepancy groups based on a classification may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the discrepancies classification and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to label each of the one or more discrepancy groups based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 7 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the difference in classification corresponds to a difference in confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the first representation and confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the second representation (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the difference in classification corresponds to a difference in confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the first representation and confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the second representation does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 8:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 8 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the first representation is generated by passing the sensor data through a model generated via application of machine learning to additional sensor data and wherein the second representation is generated by application of a non-machine-learned algorithm to the sensor data(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of using a machine learning model to generate a representation according to the sensor data without significantly more)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 9:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 9 depends on.
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (mental process – comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the corresponding elements and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to compare corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation based on said analysis)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (mental process – identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the classification between the first particular element and the second particular element and using judgement/evaluation to identify a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 10:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 10 depends on.
aligning […] the first representation with the second representation (mental process – aligning the first representation with the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the first representation and the second representation and using judgment/evaluation to align the first representation with the second representation based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
[…] by the at least one processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 11:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 11 depends on.
wherein determining the one or more discrepancies comprises generating a binary representation of the first representation by representing portions of the environment labeled as a first subset of the plurality of object classes with a first value and representing portions of the environment labeled as a second subset of the plurality of object classes with a second value (mental process - generating a binary representation of the first representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the first representation and using judgement/evaluation to generate a binary representation of the first representation based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 12:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 11 above, which Claim 12 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the first subset of the plurality of object classes comprises occupying-type classes, and wherein the second subset of the plurality of object classes comprises non-occupying-type classes (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the first subset of the plurality of object classes comprises occupying-type classes, and wherein the second subset of the plurality of object classes comprises non-occupying-type classes does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 11. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 13:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 13 depends on.
filtering the one or more discrepancies to remove at least one discrepancy from the one or more discrepancies, wherein the at least one discrepancy satisfies removal criteria comprising one or more of a minimum size, a minimum dimensionality, or a minimum visibility from a point of view of the at least one sensor(mental process - filtering the one or more discrepancies to remove at least one discrepancy from the one or more discrepancies may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the one or more discrepancies and using judgement/evaluation filtering the one or more discrepancies to remove at least one discrepancy from the one or more discrepancies based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 14:
Step 1: Claim 14 is a system type claim. Therefore, Claims 16-17 fall within one of the four statutory
categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
2A Prong 1: If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance
of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable
interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mathematical calculation but for the recitation
of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract
ideas.
obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by […] , and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from (mental process – obtaining a first representation and a second representation may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to obtain a first representation and a second representation based on said analysis),
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes(Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (mental process – determining one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the first representation and the second representation and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine discrepancies between the two representations)
for individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies, identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists (mental process – identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment based on said analysis)
aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set (mental process – aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set may be performed mentally or using pen and paper by a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to combine/aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies into a training data set based on said analysis)
causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model (mental process - labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model may be performed mentally or using pen and paper a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data, identifying information represented by the subset, assigning a label to the subset based on said analysis, and accordingly designating the labeled subset for use in updating the model)
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
a data store [...]; a processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a data store, a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that
are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
a data store [...]; a processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a data store, a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
For the reasons above, Claim 14 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 16 - 17. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 16:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 14 above, which Claim 16 depends on.
wherein aggregating the subsets of sensor of sensor data into the training data set comprises clustering the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set (mental process – clustering the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the discrepancies and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to cluster the one or more discrepancies into one or more discrepancy groups based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 17:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 14 above, which Claim 17 depends on.
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (mental process – comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the corresponding elements and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to compare corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation based on said analysis)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (mental process – identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the classification between the first particular element and the second particular element and using judgement/evaluation to identify a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 18:
Step 1: Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media type claim. Therefore, Claims 18 and 20 fall within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
2A Prong 1: If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance
of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable
interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mathematical calculation but for the recitation
of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract
ideas.
obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by […] , and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from (mental process – obtaining a first representation and a second representation may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to obtain a first representation and a second representation based on said analysis)
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes(Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (mental process – determining one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the first representation and the second representation and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine discrepancies between the two representations)
for individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies, identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists (mental process – identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment for which the discrepancy exists may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the sensor data and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of the environment based on said analysis)
aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set (mental process – aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies of the one or more discrepancies into a training data set may be performed mentally or using pen and paper by a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies and the discrepancies accordingly using judgement/evaluation to combine/aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies into a training data set based on said analysis)
causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model (mental process - labeling at least one of the subsets of the sensor data in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model may be performed mentally or using pen and paper a user observing/analyzing the subsets of sensor data, identifying information represented by the subset, assigning a label to the subset based on said analysis, and accordingly designating the labeled subset for use in updating the model)
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
[...] a processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a data store, a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that
are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
[...] a processor […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a data store, a generic processor of a computing device, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle […] the at least one sensor (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic processor, sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
For the reasons above, Claim 18 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claim 20. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 20:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 18 above, which Claim 20 depends on.
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (mental process – comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the corresponding elements and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to compare corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation based on said analysis)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (mental process – identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element may be performed mentally by a user observing/analyzing the classification between the first particular element and the second particular element and using judgement/evaluation to identify a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, there are no additional elements that integrate the
abstract idea into practical application. The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception.
Regarding Claim 21:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 21 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein causing the one or more updates to be made to the environment classification model comprises causing the one or more updates to be made to the machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of using a machine learning model as the model to which the updates are applied without significantly more)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, this additional element does not integrate the
abstract idea into practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing
the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1. The claim does not include additional
elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subhasis et al. (hereinafter Subhasis) (JP 2022554184), in view of Zheng et al. (hereinafter Zheng) (US 20180348784).
Regarding Claim 1, Subhasis teaches a method (Subhasis, Par. [0098], “A method”, thus a method is disclosed) implemented by at least one processor of a computing device (Subhasis, Par. [0042], “Computing device 214 may also include processor 222 and/or memory 224”, thus a processor of a computing device is disclosed), the method comprising:
obtaining, by the at least one processor, a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from the at least one sensor (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “In some examples, one or more sensors of a sensor type are associated with a pipeline (e.g., sequence of operations; steps; networks or layers thereof; machine learning models; analog-to-digital converters; Determine information about objects associated with hardware such as amplifiers, field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASIC(s), and/or the like) and contained in the associated sensor data can be used to Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of that type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perceptual pipeline) generates an environmental sensor based at least in part on the sensor data. can generate a representation of For simplicity, the collective output of the pipeline is referred to herein as the environment representation. The environment representation may include one or more object detections and may include one or more output types. For example, video pipeline 302 may output environment representation 308 based at least in part on video data 310 (eg, sensor data including one or more RGB images, thermal images)”, & Par. [0011], “In some examples, aggregated data may additionally or alternatively be data from remote computing devices and/or map data (e.g., road data, drivable surface locations, destinations), for example. , weather data, traffic notifications (e.g. congestion, collisions, lane changes, construction, speed changes), safety notifications (e.g. environmentally hazardous locations, disaster locations, road conditions, visibility conditions), etc. , and/or the like. In some examples, the remote computing device may be another autonomous vehicle, third party service, distributed computing device, remote sensor, and/or the like.”, & Par. [0012], “In some examples, data aggregated from different pipelines may also include at least a portion of the environment representation for one or more previous times. For example, the perceptual pipelines associated with different sensor types can be synchronized to generate environment representations with the same frequency (eg, every 100 ms, 500 ms, 1 second).”, & Par. [0059], “For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object class and so on.”, thus obtaining, by at least one processor, a first representation and a second representation of an environment sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle and generated based on sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that sensor data from sensors of an autonomous vehicle are received and processed by multiple perceptual pipelines to generate environment representations. Subhasis describes a visual pipeline that processes camera sensor data to generate an environment representation indicating occupancy and object information, and a lidar pipeline that processes lidar sensor data to generate a separate environment representation indicating occupancy and object information for the same environment. The environment representation output by the visual pipeline corresponds to the first representation, the environment representation output by the lidar pipeline corresponds to the second representation, and both representations are generated by the processor from sensor data of the autonomous vehicle and represent the same sensed environment),
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “one or more sensors of a sensor type may be associated with a pipeline (e.g., a series of operations; a step; a network or layer thereof; a machine learning model; hardware such as an analog-to-digital converter, an amplifier, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC (s)), and / or the like) associated with that sensor type and used to determine information about an object included in associated sensor data. Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of the type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perception pipeline) may generate a representation of the environment based at least in part on the sensor data”, thus wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches receiving sensor data from one or more sensors and processing that sensor data through a perception pipeline that may comprise a machine learning model to generate a representation of the environment. Subhasis’s sensor data received from the one or more sensors corresponds to the sensor data, Subhasis’s perception pipeline comprising a machine learning model corresponds to the application of a machine learning model to the sensor data, and Subhasis’s representation of the environment generated by the perception pipeline corresponds to the first representation),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes (Subhasis, Par. [0014], “the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more estimated object detections. As described above, object detections associated with an object may differ in dimension, location, or even presence between different pipelines. The final environment representation may include a single estimated object detection for each object that is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). For example, the estimated object detection generated by the ML model may include an ROI that identifies a portion of the environment as occupied (e.g., a region associated with an object), a predicted ROI associated with a future time, a velocity associated with the ROI, an object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, bicycle)”, & Par. [0015], “The pixels of the image may indicate that a portion of the environment is occupied, an object classification of an object occupying the portion, a velocity of the object, etc.”, thus wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches training the ML model to generate an environment representation in which regions or portions of the environment are associated with object classifications. Subhasis’s ROI and pixels identifying portions of the environment correspond to the portions of the environment, Subhasis’s object classification associated with an ROI or portion corresponds to labeling a portion as corresponding to an object class, and Subhasis’s classifications of vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, and bicycle correspond to the plurality of object classes)
determining, by the at least one processor, one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0003], “Small discrepancies between the detections determined in relation to the two different sensor types can cause jitter (i.e. "flying") and/or flickering (i.e. appearing and disappearing) in the representation of objects created by the vehicle. Also, some sensor types, such as depth cameras, are prone to large errors in depth measurements, which can further complicate object tracking. This can hamper safe navigation of vehicles and training of machine learning (ML) models. Additionally, techniques for reducing discrepancies and/or techniques for smoothing object representations or data associated therewith may consume computing bandwidth and/or memory.”, & Par. [0014], “In some examples, the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more inferred object detections. As noted above, object detection associated with objects may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. The final environment representation is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). It may include one probable object detection. For example, the inferred object detection generated by the ML model may include a ROI that identifies a part of the environment as occupied (e.g., the region associated with the object), a predicted ROI associated with future time, a velocity associated with the ROI. , the object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, heavy vehicle, bicycle), the velocity classification of the ROI (e.g., static or dynamic), the orientation associated with the ROI (e.g., yaw), and/or Azimuth bins (e.g., 2 bins centered at 0 and 180 degrees; 4 bins centered at 0, 90, 180, and 270 degrees; this output also includes the distance from the bin center obtained), and/or the height associated with the ROI (eg, the height of the detected object). In some examples, any region of interest may be generated based at least in part on the output of the trust layer, such as following a non-maximum suppression technique”, thus determining, by the at least one processor, one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment, is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that detections generated from different sensor types and perceptual pipelines may differ, resulting in discrepancies between object representations. Subhasis discloses that each perceptual pipeline produces object detections that include object classification information (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, bicycle), and that object detections may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. Since object classification is included in each environment representation, a discrepancy between the first representation and the second representation corresponds to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment. Accordingly, the processor’s identification of discrepancies between pipeline outputs reads on determining discrepancies between the first and second representations, and differences in object classification between those representations read on the difference in classification of a portion of the environment.)
Subhasis does not explicitly teach for individual discrepancies of […the one or more discrepancies…], identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists, aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set, and causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model.
However, Zheng teaches:
for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists (Zheng, Par. [0114], “To validate the detection results, each region detected in the passive sensor data is registered, 1225, with a corresponding region in the validation base data and the cross modality validation is performed, at 1230, with respect to each pair of such registered regions”, & Par. [0117], “the situation in which detection result (e.g., estimated depth) from passive sensor data is quite different, with a certain degree of certainty, from what the active sensor data present, suggesting that the models need to be adjusted”, & Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450”, thus for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists is disclosed, because Zheng teaches registering each detected region in passive sensor data with a corresponding region in validation base data, comparing the registered regions across different sensor modalities, identifying situations in which the detection result from the passive sensor data differs from what the active sensor data indicates, and selecting events associated with those discrepancies. Zheng’s difference between the detection result from the passive sensor data and the active sensor data corresponds to […the discrepancy…], Zheng’s detected region in the passive sensor data and corresponding registered region in the validation base data correspond to the subsets of sensor data, Zheng’s registered regions correspond to the portions of […the environment…], and Zheng’s selected events related to discrepancies correspond to the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] for which the associated subsets of sensor data are identified)
aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set (Zheng, Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450 and reinforcement data set 1440”, & Par. [0131], “The classified events are then sent to the vehicle centric data generator 1620 so that the selected and classified events of interest may be packaged as the training data from the vehicle before sending to the global model update cloud 160”, thus aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set is disclosed, because Zheng teaches selecting events associated with discrepancies, storing the selected discrepant events together in a discrepant data set, and packaging the selected and classified events as training data for model updating. Zheng’s events related to discrepancies correspond to the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], Zheng’s storing of the selected discrepant events in the discrepant data set corresponds to aggregating the subsets, and Zheng’s discrepant data set and packaged training data correspond to the training data set)
causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model(Zheng, Par. [0119], “events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”, & Par. [0126], “the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 accesses discrepant data set stored in 1450 for model adaptation using training data representing discrepancies”, & Par. [0127], “events related to discrepant events are selected at 1550 and used to perform, at 1555 by the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460, local modal adaptation based on the selected discrepant training data. If the configuration specifies that the mode is to use both discrepant and reinforcement training data, events related to reinforcement data are selected at 1535 and archived in the discrepant data set storage 1450 and the reinforcement data set storage 1440, respectively. Both the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 and the reinforcement based model adaptation unit 1470 are activated to perform, at 1540, local model adaptation. Once the models are adapted, the adapted models are locally updated at 1545”, & Par. [0145], “to update a parametric model, it may involve re-training the model to derive updated parameters of the model. Such parameters may involve different aspects of the model, some functional and some may be structural. For deep learning neural network models, there may be structural parameters of the models such as the number of layers and the number of nodes in each layer. There may also be functional parameters such as the function performed by the nodes and the weights on connections that link different nodes.”, & Par. [0150], “some of the training data may be labeled as discrepant data and some may be reinforcement data and depending on such labels, the training data may be applied differently to generate updated models. In addition, some data may be labeled as related to detection results from raining days so that such data may also be used to update class models for raining weather conditions, besides being used for adapting the global models. Some of such classified training data may be appropriately sent to the model training unit 2140 for re-training the models”, & Par. [0151], “the model training unit 2140 to carry out the re-training of the global version of the global models based on the labeled training data. The model update process may be iterative and the models being updated are optimized against the training data during the update process”, thus causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model is disclosed, because Zheng teaches labeling discrepant events associated with incorrect detection results and using those labeled discrepant events as training data to adapt and re-train the corresponding models. Zheng’s discrepant events correspond to the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set, Zheng’s labeling of the discrepant events corresponds to labeling at least one of the subsets, Zheng’s object detection and class models correspond to the environment classification model, Zheng’s use of the labeled discrepant training data for adaptation and re-training corresponds to causing one or more updates based on the training data set, Zheng’s updated model parameters and neural-network weights correspond to the one or more parameters of the environment classification model, and Zheng’s adjustment of the models for better future performance corresponds to improving classifications generated by the environment classification model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Subhasis with Zheng by incorporating Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique into Subhasis’s autonomous vehicle perception system. Subhasis teaches generating environment representations from sensor data using perception pipelines and determining differences between object detections generated from different sensor inputs. Zheng teaches identifying sensor data associated with such discrepancies, selecting and aggregating the discrepant data as training data, labeling the selected data, and using the labeled training data to adapt and update a model. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to incorporate Zheng’s technique into Subhasis’s system so that discrepancies identified between Subhasis’s environment representations could be used to identify useful training data and update the machine learning model, thereby improving subsequent classifications generated by the model (Zheng, Par. [0119], “Such selected events for local adaptation are sent to the local model adaptation event labeling unit 1350. Depending on each event, it may be labeled differently so that the selected event may be utilized different to locally adapt the model. For example, events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”)
Regarding Claim 3, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
transmitting, by the at least one processor, […the environment classification…] to at least one autonomous vehicle, wherein the at least one autonomous vehicle uses […the environment classification…] to infer object classifications of objects based on additional sensor data (Subhasis, Par. [0010], “In some examples, the techniques discussed herein involve aggregating at least some of the environmental representations associated with different sensor types and applying them to an ML model trained to output inferred object detection. and providing aggregated data as input. In some examples, the aggregated data may be represented in a multi-channel image, and different channels may be associated with different sensor types from which sensory data was generated and/or different types of sensory data. For example, the aggregated data may be a lidar, video, and/or radar occupancy grid {e.g., pixels indicating whether or not the corresponding location in the environment is occupied according to the perceptual pipeline associated with each sensor data type. etc.}, top-down display of ROIs generated in association with lidar, video and/or radar, object classification associated with a portion of the environment, which portion of the environment is occupied It may include probability, yaw of the detected object, and/or the like. See US patent application Ser. No. 16/591,518 relating to occupancy maps, which is hereby incorporated by reference in its entirety. In some examples, the occupancy grid may extend to a maximum height that may correspond to the height of the autonomous vehicle plus a buffer. In other words, the occupancy grid may indicate the occupancy of a portion of the environment below the maximum height. For example, traffic lights and billboards placed on the road may exceed the maximum height, so the occupancy grid does not indicate that they occupy part of the environment”, & Par. [0011], “In some examples, aggregated data may additionally or alternatively be data from remote computing devices and/or map data (e.g., road data, drivable surface locations, destinations), for example. , weather data, traffic notifications (e.g. congestion, collisions, lane changes, construction, speed changes), safety notifications (e.g. environmentally hazardous locations, disaster locations, road conditions, visibility conditions), etc. , and/or the like. In some examples, the remote computing device may be another autonomous vehicle, third party service, distributed computing device, remote sensor, and/or the like”, …& Par. [0041], “the drive component(s) 212 may include one or more communication connection(s) that enable communication by the respective drive component with one or more other local or remote computing device(s)”, & Par. [0024], “the perception component 110 may receive sensor data from the sensor(s) 104 and determine data associated with objects in the vicinity of the vehicle 102 (e.g., object classification, instance segmentation, semantic segmentation, two dimensional and / or three dimensional bounding boxes, tracking associated with detected objects)”, thus transmitting, by the at least one processor, […the environment classification…] to at least one autonomous vehicle, wherein the at least one autonomous vehicle uses […the environment classification…] to infer object classifications of objects based on additional sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches communicating environment related data including object classifications between computing devices, where the remote computing device may be another autonomous vehicle, and further teaches that the autonomous vehicle receives additional sensor data and determines object classifications for objects in its vicinity. Subhasis’s object classification associated with a portion of the environment corresponds to […the environment classification…], Subhasis’s communication with a remote computing device that may be another autonomous vehicle corresponds to transmitting […the environment classification…] to at least one autonomous vehicle, Subhasis’s sensor data received by the perception component corresponds to the additional sensor data, and Subhasis’s determination of object classifications from the sensor data corresponds to using […the environment classification…] to infer object classifications of objects based on the additional sensor data)
Regarding Claim 7, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
wherein the difference in classification corresponds to a difference in confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the first representation and confidence for classification of the portion of the environment in the second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0072], “Each and any of the object detection components described above may be associated with a regressed confidence score. For example, object classification may be associated with confidence scores, ROI may be determined based at least in part on the confidence scores associated with different pixels via non-maximum suppression techniques, and occupancy may be determined by each It may be determined based at least in part on the likelihood associated with the pixel as determined by the ML model of the respective pipeline, and so on”, & Par. [0073], “The ML model may additionally or alternatively determine a confidence score associated with any of these outputs. In some examples, ROIs may be generated based at least in part on anchor boxes or any other canonical object shape associated with the object classification for which the ML model was trained”, thus the difference in classification corresponding to a difference in confidence is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that object classifications, occupancy determinations, and regions of interest produced by each perceptual pipeline are each associated with confidence scores output by the respective models. When classifications differ between the first representation and the second representation, those differing classifications are accompanied by differing confidence values generated by the respective pipelines, such that a discrepancy in classification corresponds to a difference in confidence for the same portion of the environment across the two representations.)
Regarding Claim 8, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
wherein the first representation is generated by passing the sensor data through a model generated via application of machine learning to additional sensor data, and wherein the second representation is generated by application of a non-machine-learned algorithm to the sensor data (Subhasis, Par. [0072], “For example, the environment representations may be in a common frame of reference or transformed into a common frame of reference during aggregation”, & Par. [0072], “ROI may be determined based at least in part on the confidence scores associated with different pixels via non-maximum suppression techniques”, & Par. [0073], “At operation 424, example process 400 may include receiving estimated object detection 426 as an output from the ML model in accordance with any of the techniques discussed herein. In some examples, the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation 428 and/or an inferred object detection 426.”, thus wherein the first representation is generated by passing the sensor data through a model generated via application of machine learning to additional sensor data, and wherein the second representation is generated by application of a non-machine-learned algorithm to the sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches generating a first environment representation by applying a trained machine-learning model to sensor data to produce outputs such as object detections, classifications, ROIs, and confidence scores, which reads on generating the first representation by passing sensor data through a machine-learned model. Subhasis also teaches determining regions of interest and occupancy information using non-machine learned techniques such as non-maximum suppression and geometric aggregation applied directly to sensor-derived pixel data, which reads on generating the second representation by application of a non-machine-learned algorithm to the sensor data)
Regarding Claim 9, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0072], “In some examples, environment representations may be aggregated and provided as inputs to the ML model. In some examples, object detection may be separated from the rest of the environment representation and provided as input. For example, the environment representations may be in a common frame of reference or transformed into a common frame of reference during aggregation”, thus comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches aligning and aggregating multiple environment representations into a common frame of reference, such that corresponding portions of the environment from different representations spatially correspond to one another. Once the representations are in a common reference frame, individual elements representing the same portion of the environment can be directly compared across representations, which reads on comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation where a particular element of one representation corresponds to a particular element of the other representation.)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (Subhasis, Par. [0059], “In some examples, the multi-channel data structure 324 may include multi-channel images, where each channel of the image may be processed by different pipelines and/or different types of output (e.g., occupancy maps, occlusion grids, ROIs, object classification, etc.). ). For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object classification and so on”, & Par. [0096], “For example, a first set of layers in classification layer 610 may determine whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. Another set of layers in layers 610 may determine whether an environment is associated with an estimated height bin and so. In some examples, the discrete portion of the set of object classification layers may additionally or alternatively include latitudes associated with each of the object classifications for which exemplary ML architecture 600 was trained. In other words, the classification output head may output a binary indication that a part of the environment is or is not relevant for classification (e.g. height bins, object classification, occupancy), Or the classification output head may output regressed values to which the NMS algorithm can be applied to determine the classification”, thus based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches multi-channel environment representations in which corresponding elements represent the same portion of the environment across different perceptual pipelines and explicitly indicate occupancy status. Subhasis also teaches that a first channel may indicate whether a portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied as determined by a visual pipeline, while a second channel indicates occupancy for the same portion as determined by a lidar pipeline. Subhasis discloses classification layers that output binary occupancy indications for discrete portions of the environment. Accordingly, when a corresponding element in one representation indicates unoccupied and the corresponding element in another representation indicates occupied, this reads on identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element)
Regarding Claim 10, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
aligning, by the at least one processor, the first representation with the second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0059], “Various environment representations produced by different pipelines can be aggregated into a multi channel data structure 324 . For example, this aggregation may involve projecting the data into a common reference frame and/or a common representation of the environment, such as a voxel space, mesh representation, etc., having the same dimensions. Aggregation may additionally or alternatively include projecting a 3D ROI onto a 2D ROI from a top-down perspective, and/or at least partially onto a 2D ROI associated with sensor perspective, depth, and/or object classification”, & Par. [0072], “Note that object detection may be provided to the ML model as part of the environment representation. For example, environment representation 406 includes various object detections and data not shown such as object velocity, estimated height, etc., as described above. In some examples, environment representations may be aggregated and provided as inputs to the ML model. In some examples, object detection may be separated from the rest of the environment representation and provided as input”, thus aligning, by the at least one processor, the first representation with the second representation is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches aggregating environment representations produced by different perceptual pipelines by projecting them into a common reference frame or common representation, such as a voxel space or top-down view, so that the representations have corresponding dimensions and spatial alignment. Subhasis also teaches providing these aligned environment representations together as inputs to a machine learning model. These teachings correspond to aligning the first representation with the second representation by the processor)
Regarding Claim 13, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
filtering the one or more discrepancies to remove at least one discrepancy from the one or more discrepancies, wherein the at least one discrepancy satisfies removal criteria comprising one or more of a minimum size, a minimum dimensionality, or a minimum visibility from a point of view of the at least one sensor (Subhasis, Par. [0010], “In some examples, the occupancy grid may extend to a maximum height that may correspond to the height of the autonomous vehicle plus a buffer. In other words, the occupancy grid may indicate the occupancy of a portion of the environment below the maximum height. For example, traffic lights and billboards placed on the road may exceed the maximum height, so the occupancy grid does not indicate that they occupy part of the environment”, & Par. [0072], “Note that object detection may be provided to the ML model as part of the environment representation. For example, environment representation 406 includes various object detections and data not shown such as object velocity, estimated height, etc., as described above. In some examples, environment representations may be aggregated and provided as inputs to the ML model. In some examples, object detection may be separated from the rest of the environment representation and provided as input. For example, the environment representations may be in a common frame of reference, or transformed into a common frame of reference during aggregation. The pipeline may be configured to output positive object detections along with their coordinates in a common frame of reference. For example, these positive object detections may be part of the environmental representation associated with the likelihood of meeting or exceeding a threshold confidence. Each and any of the object detection components described above may be associated with a regressed confidence score. For example, object classification may be associated with confidence scores, ROI may be determined based at least in part on the confidence scores associated with different pixels via non-maximum suppression techniques, and occupancy may be determined by each It may be determined based at least in part on the likelihood associated with the pixel as determined by the ML model of the respective pipeline, and so on”, thus filtering the one or more discrepancies to remove at least one discrepancy satisfying removal criteria comprising one or more of a minimum size, a minimum dimensionality, or a minimum visibility from a point of view of the at least one sensor is disclosed because Subhasis teaches limiting environment representations based on dimensional constraints and confidence thresholds. Subhasis explains that the occupancy grid extends only up to a maximum height corresponding to the vehicle height plus a buffer, such that objects exceeding that dimensional limit are not represented, which corresponds to filtering based on minimum dimensionality. Subhasis also teaches that object detections and occupancy determinations are associated with likelihoods or confidence scores and that positive detections meet or exceed a threshold confidence, which corresponds to filtering based on minimum visibility from the sensor’s point of view. These teachings together correspond to removing discrepancies that fail to satisfy dimensional or visibility based removal criteria.)
Regarding Claim 14, Subhasis teaches a system (Subhasis, Par. [0104], “A system”, thus a system is disclosed) comprising: a data store (Subhasis, Par. [0119], “a memory”, thus a data store is disclosed) storing computer-executable instructions; and a processor (Subhasis, Par. [0104], “one or more processors, thus a processor is disclosed) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions causes the system to:
obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from the at least one sensor (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “In some examples, one or more sensors of a sensor type are associated with a pipeline (e.g., sequence of operations; steps; networks or layers thereof; machine learning models; analog-to-digital converters; Determine information about objects associated with hardware such as amplifiers, field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASIC(s), and/or the like) and contained in the associated sensor data can be used to Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of that type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perceptual pipeline) generates an environmental sensor based at least in part on the sensor data. can generate a representation of For simplicity, the collective output of the pipeline is referred to herein as the environment representation. The environment representation may include one or more object detections and may include one or more output types. For example, video pipeline 302 may output environment representation 308 based at least in part on video data 310 (eg, sensor data including one or more RGB images, thermal images)”, & Par. [0011], “In some examples, aggregated data may additionally or alternatively be data from remote computing devices and/or map data (e.g., road data, drivable surface locations, destinations), for example. , weather data, traffic notifications (e.g. congestion, collisions, lane changes, construction, speed changes), safety notifications (e.g. environmentally hazardous locations, disaster locations, road conditions, visibility conditions), etc. , and/or the like. In some examples, the remote computing device may be another autonomous vehicle, third party service, distributed computing device, remote sensor, and/or the like.”, & Par. [0012], “In some examples, data aggregated from different pipelines may also include at least a portion of the environment representation for one or more previous times. For example, the perceptual pipelines associated with different sensor types can be synchronized to generate environment representations with the same frequency (eg, every 100 ms, 500 ms, 1 second).”, & Par. [0059], “For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object class and so on.”, thus obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle and generated based on sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that sensor data from sensors of an autonomous vehicle are received and processed by multiple perceptual pipelines to generate environment representations. Subhasis describes a visual pipeline that processes camera sensor data to generate an environment representation indicating occupancy and object information, and a lidar pipeline that processes lidar sensor data to generate a separate environment representation indicating occupancy and object information for the same environment. The environment representation output by the visual pipeline corresponds to the first representation, the environment representation output by the lidar pipeline corresponds to the second representation, and both representations are generated by the processor from sensor data of the autonomous vehicle and represent the same sensed environment),
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “one or more sensors of a sensor type may be associated with a pipeline (e.g., a series of operations; a step; a network or layer thereof; a machine learning model; hardware such as an analog-to-digital converter, an amplifier, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC (s)), and / or the like) associated with that sensor type and used to determine information about an object included in associated sensor data. Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of the type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perception pipeline) may generate a representation of the environment based at least in part on the sensor data”, thus wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches receiving sensor data from one or more sensors and processing that sensor data through a perception pipeline that may comprise a machine learning model to generate a representation of the environment. Subhasis’s sensor data received from the one or more sensors corresponds to the sensor data, Subhasis’s perception pipeline comprising a machine learning model corresponds to the application of a machine learning model to the sensor data, and Subhasis’s representation of the environment generated by the perception pipeline corresponds to the first representation),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes (Subhasis, Par. [0014], “the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more estimated object detections. As described above, object detections associated with an object may differ in dimension, location, or even presence between different pipelines. The final environment representation may include a single estimated object detection for each object that is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). For example, the estimated object detection generated by the ML model may include an ROI that identifies a portion of the environment as occupied (e.g., a region associated with an object), a predicted ROI associated with a future time, a velocity associated with the ROI, an object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, bicycle)”, & Par. [0015], “The pixels of the image may indicate that a portion of the environment is occupied, an object classification of an object occupying the portion, a velocity of the object, etc.”, thus wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches training the ML model to generate an environment representation in which regions or portions of the environment are associated with object classifications. Subhasis’s ROI and pixels identifying portions of the environment correspond to the portions of the environment, Subhasis’s object classification associated with an ROI or portion corresponds to labeling a portion as corresponding to an object class, and Subhasis’s classifications of vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, and bicycle correspond to the plurality of object classes)
determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0003], “Small discrepancies between the detections determined in relation to the two different sensor types can cause jitter (i.e. "flying") and/or flickering (i.e. appearing and disappearing) in the representation of objects created by the vehicle. Also, some sensor types, such as depth cameras, are prone to large errors in depth measurements, which can further complicate object tracking. This can hamper safe navigation of vehicles and training of machine learning (ML) models. Additionally, techniques for reducing discrepancies and/or techniques for smoothing object representations or data associated therewith may consume computing bandwidth and/or memory.”, & Par. [0014], “In some examples, the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more inferred object detections. As noted above, object detection associated with objects may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. The final environment representation is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). It may include one probable object detection. For example, the inferred object detection generated by the ML model may include a ROI that identifies a part of the environment as occupied (e.g., the region associated with the object), a predicted ROI associated with future time, a velocity associated with the ROI. , the object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, heavy vehicle, bicycle), the velocity classification of the ROI (e.g., static or dynamic), the orientation associated with the ROI (e.g., yaw), and/or Azimuth bins (e.g., 2 bins centered at 0 and 180 degrees; 4 bins centered at 0, 90, 180, and 270 degrees; this output also includes the distance from the bin center obtained), and/or the height associated with the ROI (eg, the height of the detected object). In some examples, any region of interest may be generated based at least in part on the output of the trust layer, such as following a non-maximum suppression technique”, thus determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment, is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that detections generated from different sensor types and perceptual pipelines may differ, resulting in discrepancies between object representations. Subhasis discloses that each perceptual pipeline produces object detections that include object classification information (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, bicycle), and that object detections may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. Since object classification is included in each environment representation, a discrepancy between the first representation and the second representation corresponds to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment. Accordingly, the processor’s identification of discrepancies between pipeline outputs reads on determining discrepancies between the first and second representations, and differences in object classification between those representations read on the difference in classification of a portion of the environment.)
Subhasis does not explicitly teach for individual discrepancies of […the one or more discrepancies…], identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists, aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set, and causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model.
However, Zheng teaches:
for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists (Zheng, Par. [0114], “To validate the detection results, each region detected in the passive sensor data is registered, 1225, with a corresponding region in the validation base data and the cross modality validation is performed, at 1230, with respect to each pair of such registered regions”, & Par. [0117], “the situation in which detection result (e.g., estimated depth) from passive sensor data is quite different, with a certain degree of certainty, from what the active sensor data present, suggesting that the models need to be adjusted”, & Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450”, thus for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists is disclosed, because Zheng teaches registering each detected region in passive sensor data with a corresponding region in validation base data, comparing the registered regions across different sensor modalities, identifying situations in which the detection result from the passive sensor data differs from what the active sensor data indicates, and selecting events associated with those discrepancies. Zheng’s difference between the detection result from the passive sensor data and the active sensor data corresponds to […the discrepancy…], Zheng’s detected region in the passive sensor data and corresponding registered region in the validation base data correspond to the subsets of sensor data, Zheng’s registered regions correspond to the portions of […the environment…], and Zheng’s selected events related to discrepancies correspond to the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] for which the associated subsets of sensor data are identified)
aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set (Zheng, Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450 and reinforcement data set 1440”, & Par. [0131], “The classified events are then sent to the vehicle centric data generator 1620 so that the selected and classified events of interest may be packaged as the training data from the vehicle before sending to the global model update cloud 160”, thus aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set is disclosed, because Zheng teaches selecting events associated with discrepancies, storing the selected discrepant events together in a discrepant data set, and packaging the selected and classified events as training data for model updating. Zheng’s events related to discrepancies correspond to the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], Zheng’s storing of the selected discrepant events in the discrepant data set corresponds to aggregating the subsets, and Zheng’s discrepant data set and packaged training data correspond to the training data set)
cause one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model(Zheng, Par. [0119], “events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”, & Par. [0126], “the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 accesses discrepant data set stored in 1450 for model adaptation using training data representing discrepancies”, & Par. [0127], “events related to discrepant events are selected at 1550 and used to perform, at 1555 by the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460, local modal adaptation based on the selected discrepant training data. If the configuration specifies that the mode is to use both discrepant and reinforcement training data, events related to reinforcement data are selected at 1535 and archived in the discrepant data set storage 1450 and the reinforcement data set storage 1440, respectively. Both the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 and the reinforcement based model adaptation unit 1470 are activated to perform, at 1540, local model adaptation. Once the models are adapted, the adapted models are locally updated at 1545”, & Par. [0145], “to update a parametric model, it may involve re-training the model to derive updated parameters of the model. Such parameters may involve different aspects of the model, some functional and some may be structural. For deep learning neural network models, there may be structural parameters of the models such as the number of layers and the number of nodes in each layer. There may also be functional parameters such as the function performed by the nodes and the weights on connections that link different nodes.”, & Par. [0150], “some of the training data may be labeled as discrepant data and some may be reinforcement data and depending on such labels, the training data may be applied differently to generate updated models. In addition, some data may be labeled as related to detection results from raining days so that such data may also be used to update class models for raining weather conditions, besides being used for adapting the global models. Some of such classified training data may be appropriately sent to the model training unit 2140 for re-training the models”, & Par. [0151], “the model training unit 2140 to carry out the re-training of the global version of the global models based on the labeled training data. The model update process may be iterative and the models being updated are optimized against the training data during the update process”, thus cause one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model is disclosed, because Zheng teaches labeling discrepant events associated with incorrect detection results and using those labeled discrepant events as training data to adapt and re-train the corresponding models. Zheng’s discrepant events correspond to the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set, Zheng’s labeling of the discrepant events corresponds to labeling at least one of the subsets, Zheng’s object detection and class models correspond to the environment classification model, Zheng’s use of the labeled discrepant training data for adaptation and re-training corresponds to causing one or more updates based on the training data set, Zheng’s updated model parameters and neural-network weights correspond to the one or more parameters of the environment classification model, and Zheng’s adjustment of the models for better future performance corresponds to improving classifications generated by the environment classification model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Subhasis with Zheng by incorporating Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique into Subhasis’s autonomous vehicle perception system. Subhasis teaches generating environment representations from sensor data using perception pipelines and determining differences between object detections generated from different sensor inputs. Zheng teaches identifying sensor data associated with such discrepancies, selecting and aggregating the discrepant data as training data, labeling the selected data, and using the labeled training data to adapt and update a model. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to incorporate Zheng’s technique into Subhasis’s system so that discrepancies identified between Subhasis’s environment representations could be used to identify useful training data and update the machine learning model, thereby improving subsequent classifications generated by the model (Zheng, Par. [0119], “Such selected events for local adaptation are sent to the local model adaptation event labeling unit 1350. Depending on each event, it may be labeled differently so that the selected event may be utilized different to locally adapt the model. For example, events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”)
Regarding Claim 17, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0072], “In some examples, environment representations may be aggregated and provided as inputs to the ML model. In some examples, object detection may be separated from the rest of the environment representation and provided as input. For example, the environment representations may be in a common frame of reference or transformed into a common frame of reference during aggregation”, thus comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches aligning and aggregating multiple environment representations into a common frame of reference, such that corresponding portions of the environment from different representations spatially correspond to one another. Once the representations are in a common reference frame, individual elements representing the same portion of the environment can be directly compared across representations, which reads on comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation where a particular element of one representation corresponds to a particular element of the other representation.)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (Subhasis, Par. [0059], “In some examples, the multi-channel data structure 324 may include multi-channel images, where each channel of the image may be processed by different pipelines and/or different types of output (e.g., occupancy maps, occlusion grids, ROIs, object classification, etc.). ). For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object classification and so on”, & Par. [0096], “For example, a first set of layers in classification layer 610 may determine whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. Another set of layers in layers 610 may determine whether an environment is associated with an estimated height bin and so. In some examples, the discrete portion of the set of object classification layers may additionally or alternatively include latitudes associated with each of the object classifications for which exemplary ML architecture 600 was trained. In other words, the classification output head may output a binary indication that a part of the environment is or is not relevant for classification (e.g. height bins, object classification, occupancy), Or the classification output head may output regressed values to which the NMS algorithm can be applied to determine the classification”, thus based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches multi-channel environment representations in which corresponding elements represent the same portion of the environment across different perceptual pipelines and explicitly indicate occupancy status. Subhasis also teaches that a first channel may indicate whether a portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied as determined by a visual pipeline, while a second channel indicates occupancy for the same portion as determined by a lidar pipeline. Subhasis discloses classification layers that output binary occupancy indications for discrete portions of the environment. Accordingly, when a corresponding element in one representation indicates unoccupied and the corresponding element in another representation indicates occupied, this reads on identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element)
Regarding Claim 18, Subhasis teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media (Subhasis, Par. [0113], “A non-transitory computer-readable medium”, thus one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media is disclosed) storing computer- executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system comprising a processor (Subhasis, Par. [0113], “one or more processors”, thus a processor is disclosed), cause the computing system to:
obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment, wherein the environment is sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the first representation and the second representation are generated based on sensor data from the at least one sensor (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “In some examples, one or more sensors of a sensor type are associated with a pipeline (e.g., sequence of operations; steps; networks or layers thereof; machine learning models; analog-to-digital converters; Determine information about objects associated with hardware such as amplifiers, field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASIC(s), and/or the like) and contained in the associated sensor data can be used to Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of that type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perceptual pipeline) generates an environmental sensor based at least in part on the sensor data. can generate a representation of For simplicity, the collective output of the pipeline is referred to herein as the environment representation. The environment representation may include one or more object detections and may include one or more output types. For example, video pipeline 302 may output environment representation 308 based at least in part on video data 310 (eg, sensor data including one or more RGB images, thermal images)”, & Par. [0011], “In some examples, aggregated data may additionally or alternatively be data from remote computing devices and/or map data (e.g., road data, drivable surface locations, destinations), for example. , weather data, traffic notifications (e.g. congestion, collisions, lane changes, construction, speed changes), safety notifications (e.g. environmentally hazardous locations, disaster locations, road conditions, visibility conditions), etc. , and/or the like. In some examples, the remote computing device may be another autonomous vehicle, third party service, distributed computing device, remote sensor, and/or the like.”, & Par. [0012], “In some examples, data aggregated from different pipelines may also include at least a portion of the environment representation for one or more previous times. For example, the perceptual pipelines associated with different sensor types can be synchronized to generate environment representations with the same frequency (eg, every 100 ms, 500 ms, 1 second).”, & Par. [0059], “For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object class and so on.”, thus obtain a first representation and a second representation of an environment sensed by at least one sensor of an autonomous vehicle and generated based on sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that sensor data from sensors of an autonomous vehicle are received and processed by multiple perceptual pipelines to generate environment representations. Subhasis describes a visual pipeline that processes camera sensor data to generate an environment representation indicating occupancy and object information, and a lidar pipeline that processes lidar sensor data to generate a separate environment representation indicating occupancy and object information for the same environment. The environment representation output by the visual pipeline corresponds to the first representation, the environment representation output by the lidar pipeline corresponds to the second representation, and both representations are generated by the processor from sensor data of the autonomous vehicle and represent the same sensed environment),
wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data (Subhasis, Par. [0007], “one or more sensors of a sensor type may be associated with a pipeline (e.g., a series of operations; a step; a network or layer thereof; a machine learning model; hardware such as an analog-to-digital converter, an amplifier, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC (s)), and / or the like) associated with that sensor type and used to determine information about an object included in associated sensor data. Sensor data may be received from one or more sensors of the type, and a pipeline (sometimes referred to herein as a perception pipeline) may generate a representation of the environment based at least in part on the sensor data”, thus wherein the first representation is generated by application of a machine learning model to the sensor data is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches receiving sensor data from one or more sensors and processing that sensor data through a perception pipeline that may comprise a machine learning model to generate a representation of the environment. Subhasis’s sensor data received from the one or more sensors corresponds to the sensor data, Subhasis’s perception pipeline comprising a machine learning model corresponds to the application of a machine learning model to the sensor data, and Subhasis’s representation of the environment generated by the perception pipeline corresponds to the first representation),
wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes (Subhasis, Par. [0014], “the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more estimated object detections. As described above, object detections associated with an object may differ in dimension, location, or even presence between different pipelines. The final environment representation may include a single estimated object detection for each object that is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). For example, the estimated object detection generated by the ML model may include an ROI that identifies a portion of the environment as occupied (e.g., a region associated with an object), a predicted ROI associated with a future time, a velocity associated with the ROI, an object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, bicycle)”, & Par. [0015], “The pixels of the image may indicate that a portion of the environment is occupied, an object classification of an object occupying the portion, a velocity of the object, etc.”, thus wherein the machine learning model is trained to label portions of the environment as corresponding to an object class of a plurality of object classes is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches training the ML model to generate an environment representation in which regions or portions of the environment are associated with object classifications. Subhasis’s ROI and pixels identifying portions of the environment correspond to the portions of the environment, Subhasis’s object classification associated with an ROI or portion corresponds to labeling a portion as corresponding to an object class, and Subhasis’s classifications of vehicle, pedestrian, large vehicle, and bicycle correspond to the plurality of object classes)
determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy of the one or more discrepancies corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment as indicated within the respective first representation and second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0003], “Small discrepancies between the detections determined in relation to the two different sensor types can cause jitter (i.e. "flying") and/or flickering (i.e. appearing and disappearing) in the representation of objects created by the vehicle. Also, some sensor types, such as depth cameras, are prone to large errors in depth measurements, which can further complicate object tracking. This can hamper safe navigation of vehicles and training of machine learning (ML) models. Additionally, techniques for reducing discrepancies and/or techniques for smoothing object representations or data associated therewith may consume computing bandwidth and/or memory.”, & Par. [0014], “In some examples, the ML model may be trained to output a final environment representation that may include one or more inferred object detections. As noted above, object detection associated with objects may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. The final environment representation is determined based at least in part on object detections received from different pipelines (e.g., received as input to the ML model as part of the aggregated data). It may include one probable object detection. For example, the inferred object detection generated by the ML model may include a ROI that identifies a part of the environment as occupied (e.g., the region associated with the object), a predicted ROI associated with future time, a velocity associated with the ROI. , the object classification associated with the ROI (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, heavy vehicle, bicycle), the velocity classification of the ROI (e.g., static or dynamic), the orientation associated with the ROI (e.g., yaw), and/or Azimuth bins (e.g., 2 bins centered at 0 and 180 degrees; 4 bins centered at 0, 90, 180, and 270 degrees; this output also includes the distance from the bin center obtained), and/or the height associated with the ROI (eg, the height of the detected object). In some examples, any region of interest may be generated based at least in part on the output of the trust layer, such as following a non-maximum suppression technique”, thus determine one or more discrepancies between the first representation and the second representation, each discrepancy corresponding to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment, is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches that detections generated from different sensor types and perceptual pipelines may differ, resulting in discrepancies between object representations. Subhasis discloses that each perceptual pipeline produces object detections that include object classification information (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian, bicycle), and that object detections may differ in dimension, location, or even existence between different pipelines. Since object classification is included in each environment representation, a discrepancy between the first representation and the second representation corresponds to a difference in classification of a portion of the environment. Accordingly, the processor’s identification of discrepancies between pipeline outputs reads on determining discrepancies between the first and second representations, and differences in object classification between those representations read on the difference in classification of a portion of the environment.)
Subhasis does not explicitly teach for individual discrepancies of […the one or more discrepancies…], identifying subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists, aggregating the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set, and causing one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model.
However, Zheng teaches:
for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists (Zheng, Par. [0114], “To validate the detection results, each region detected in the passive sensor data is registered, 1225, with a corresponding region in the validation base data and the cross modality validation is performed, at 1230, with respect to each pair of such registered regions”, & Par. [0117], “the situation in which detection result (e.g., estimated depth) from passive sensor data is quite different, with a certain degree of certainty, from what the active sensor data present, suggesting that the models need to be adjusted”, & Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450”, thus for individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], identify subsets of sensor data reflecting portions of […the environment…] for which […the discrepancy…] exists is disclosed, because Zheng teaches registering each detected region in passive sensor data with a corresponding region in validation base data, comparing the registered regions across different sensor modalities, identifying situations in which the detection result from the passive sensor data differs from what the active sensor data indicates, and selecting events associated with those discrepancies. Zheng’s difference between the detection result from the passive sensor data and the active sensor data corresponds to […the discrepancy…], Zheng’s detected region in the passive sensor data and corresponding registered region in the validation base data correspond to the subsets of sensor data, Zheng’s registered regions correspond to the portions of […the environment…], and Zheng’s selected events related to discrepancies correspond to the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] for which the associated subsets of sensor data are identified)
aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set (Zheng, Par. [0125], “when only discrepancy based local model adaptation is to be carried out, events related to discrepancies are to be selected. If both discrepancy and reinforcement events are to be used for local model adaptation, both types of events are to be selected. The selected events of interest, including discrepant events and reinforcement events, are respectively stored in a discrepant data set 1450 and reinforcement data set 1440”, & Par. [0131], “The classified events are then sent to the vehicle centric data generator 1620 so that the selected and classified events of interest may be packaged as the training data from the vehicle before sending to the global model update cloud 160”, thus aggregate the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…] into a training data set is disclosed, because Zheng teaches selecting events associated with discrepancies, storing the selected discrepant events together in a discrepant data set, and packaging the selected and classified events as training data for model updating. Zheng’s events related to discrepancies correspond to the subsets of sensor data for the individual discrepancies […of the one or more discrepancies…], Zheng’s storing of the selected discrepant events in the discrepant data set corresponds to aggregating the subsets, and Zheng’s discrepant data set and packaged training data correspond to the training data set)
cause one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model(Zheng, Par. [0119], “events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”, & Par. [0126], “the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 accesses discrepant data set stored in 1450 for model adaptation using training data representing discrepancies”, & Par. [0127], “events related to discrepant events are selected at 1550 and used to perform, at 1555 by the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460, local modal adaptation based on the selected discrepant training data. If the configuration specifies that the mode is to use both discrepant and reinforcement training data, events related to reinforcement data are selected at 1535 and archived in the discrepant data set storage 1450 and the reinforcement data set storage 1440, respectively. Both the discrepancy based model adaptation unit 1460 and the reinforcement based model adaptation unit 1470 are activated to perform, at 1540, local model adaptation. Once the models are adapted, the adapted models are locally updated at 1545”, & Par. [0145], “to update a parametric model, it may involve re-training the model to derive updated parameters of the model. Such parameters may involve different aspects of the model, some functional and some may be structural. For deep learning neural network models, there may be structural parameters of the models such as the number of layers and the number of nodes in each layer. There may also be functional parameters such as the function performed by the nodes and the weights on connections that link different nodes.”, & Par. [0150], “some of the training data may be labeled as discrepant data and some may be reinforcement data and depending on such labels, the training data may be applied differently to generate updated models. In addition, some data may be labeled as related to detection results from raining days so that such data may also be used to update class models for raining weather conditions, besides being used for adapting the global models. Some of such classified training data may be appropriately sent to the model training unit 2140 for re-training the models”, & Par. [0151], “the model training unit 2140 to carry out the re-training of the global version of the global models based on the labeled training data. The model update process may be iterative and the models being updated are optimized against the training data during the update process”, thus cause one or more updates to be made to an environment classification model based on the training data set by labeling at least one of the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set to be used to update one or more parameters of the environment classification model to improve classifications generated by the environment classification model is disclosed, because Zheng teaches labeling discrepant events associated with incorrect detection results and using those labeled discrepant events as training data to adapt and re-train the corresponding models. Zheng’s discrepant events correspond to the subsets […of the sensor data…] in the training data set, Zheng’s labeling of the discrepant events corresponds to labeling at least one of the subsets, Zheng’s object detection and class models correspond to the environment classification model, Zheng’s use of the labeled discrepant training data for adaptation and re-training corresponds to causing one or more updates based on the training data set, Zheng’s updated model parameters and neural-network weights correspond to the one or more parameters of the environment classification model, and Zheng’s adjustment of the models for better future performance corresponds to improving classifications generated by the environment classification model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Subhasis with Zheng by incorporating Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique into Subhasis’s autonomous vehicle perception system. Subhasis teaches generating environment representations from sensor data using perception pipelines and determining differences between object detections generated from different sensor inputs. Zheng teaches identifying sensor data associated with such discrepancies, selecting and aggregating the discrepant data as training data, labeling the selected data, and using the labeled training data to adapt and update a model. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to incorporate Zheng’s technique into Subhasis’s system so that discrepancies identified between Subhasis’s environment representations could be used to identify useful training data and update the machine learning model, thereby improving subsequent classifications generated by the model (Zheng, Par. [0119], “Such selected events for local adaptation are sent to the local model adaptation event labeling unit 1350. Depending on each event, it may be labeled differently so that the selected event may be utilized different to locally adapt the model. For example, events that indicate incorrect detection results may be labeled as such so that they can be used to adjust the models for better future performance”)
Regarding Claim 20, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 18 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation (Subhasis, Par. [0072], “In some examples, environment representations may be aggregated and provided as inputs to the ML model. In some examples, object detection may be separated from the rest of the environment representation and provided as input. For example, the environment representations may be in a common frame of reference or transformed into a common frame of reference during aggregation”, thus comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation, wherein a first particular element of the first representation corresponds to a second particular element of the second representation is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches aligning and aggregating multiple environment representations into a common frame of reference, such that corresponding portions of the environment from different representations spatially correspond to one another. Once the representations are in a common reference frame, individual elements representing the same portion of the environment can be directly compared across representations, which reads on comparing corresponding elements of the first representation and the second representation where a particular element of one representation corresponds to a particular element of the other representation.)
based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second particular element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element (Subhasis, Par. [0059], “In some examples, the multi-channel data structure 324 may include multi-channel images, where each channel of the image may be processed by different pipelines and/or different types of output (e.g., occupancy maps, occlusion grids, ROIs, object classification, etc.). ). For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline, and a third channel indicates whether each portion of the environment is associated with a certain object classification and so on”, & Par. [0096], “For example, a first set of layers in classification layer 610 may determine whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. Another set of layers in layers 610 may determine whether an environment is associated with an estimated height bin and so. In some examples, the discrete portion of the set of object classification layers may additionally or alternatively include latitudes associated with each of the object classifications for which exemplary ML architecture 600 was trained. In other words, the classification output head may output a binary indication that a part of the environment is or is not relevant for classification (e.g. height bins, object classification, occupancy), Or the classification output head may output regressed values to which the NMS algorithm can be applied to determine the classification”, thus based on a determination that the first particular element indicates the first particular element is not occupied and the second particular element indicates that the second element is occupied, identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches multi-channel environment representations in which corresponding elements represent the same portion of the environment across different perceptual pipelines and explicitly indicate occupancy status. Subhasis also teaches that a first channel may indicate whether a portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied as determined by a visual pipeline, while a second channel indicates occupancy for the same portion as determined by a lidar pipeline. Subhasis discloses classification layers that output binary occupancy indications for discrete portions of the environment. Accordingly, when a corresponding element in one representation indicates unoccupied and the corresponding element in another representation indicates occupied, this reads on identifying a difference in classification between the first particular element and the second particular element)
Regarding Claim 21, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Zheng further teaches:
wherein causing the one or more updates to be made to the environment classification model comprises causing the one or more updates to be made to the machine learning model (Zheng, Par. [0145], “A model can be a deep learning neural network or other types of model such as parametric models or heuristic based models. Each model may be configured for processing data to achieve some kind of decision, e.g., detecting an object or features of objects such as depth, texture, etc”, and “Updating a deep neural network model may involve any of aspects related to the model”, thus wherein causing the one or more updates to be made to the environment classification model comprises causing the one or more updates to be made to the machine learning model is disclosed, because Zheng teaches that the models used for object detection may be deep learning neural network models and expressly teaches updating such deep neural network models. Zheng’s model configured for detecting an object corresponds to the environment classification model, Zheng’s deep learning neural network corresponds to the machine learning model, and Zheng’s updating of the deep neural network model corresponds to causing the one or more updates to be made to the machine learning model)
Claims 4, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subhasis et al. (hereinafter Subhasis) (JP 2022554184), in view of Zheng et al. (hereinafter Zheng) (US 20180348784), and further in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) (US 20230139772).
Regarding Claim 4, Subhasis and Zheng combined with Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Wang further teaches:
wherein the first representation is a semantic segmentation map of the environment and the second representation is an occupancy grid of the environment (Wang, Par. [0024], “In some examples, the perception component 110 receives sensor data from the sensors 104 and data related to objects in the vicinity of the vehicle 102 (e.g., object classification, instance segmentation, semantic segmentation, 2D and/or 3D bounding boxes, tracking), route data specifying the vehicle's destination, global map data specifying road features (e.g. detectable by different sensor modalities useful for autonomous vehicle orientation). features), local map data identifying features detected in proximity to the vehicle (e.g., location of buildings, trees, fences, fire hydrants, stop signs, and any other features detectable by various sensor modalities and/or or dimensions), tracking data (eg, environment representation, object detection and/or tracking as discussed herein), and the like”, & Par. [0029], “For example, FIG. 1 shows a top-down representation 120 of the environment, which may be part of the final environment representation determined by the ML model of tracking component 114 . A top down representation 120 shows object detection, illustrated in this case as an estimated ROI 122 . Top-down representation 120 and/or estimated ROI 122 may be determined by the ML model of tracking component 114 based at least in part on object detections received from one or more perception pipelines. For example, object detections provided as input to the ML model are associated with three-dimensional ROIs, one of which is denoted as ROI 126, associated with image 124, and lidar data 128 (e.g., two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional). obtain), of which ROI 130 was shown”, & Par. [0056], “Radar pipeline 304 may determine an environment representation (not shown to save drawing space) that includes:- an occupancy map, which may include portions indicated as being occupied by objects - discussed in more detail in US patent application Ser. No. 16/407,139, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety , an occlusion grid (including, for example, the probability that parts of the environment are hidden from the line of sight to one or more of the radar sensors)”, thus wherein the first representation is a semantic segmentation map of the environment and the second representation is an occupancy grid of the environment is disclosed, because Wang teaches generating semantic segmentation outputs and occupancy-based environment representations from autonomous-vehicle sensor data. Wang discloses that the perception component receives sensor data and produces semantic segmentation and object classification outputs describing portions of the environment, which corresponds to the first representation as a semantic segmentation map. Wang also teaches generating top-down environment representations and occupancy maps indicating whether portions of the environment are occupied by objects, including radar- and lidar-based occupancy grids, which read on the second representation as an occupancy grid. Accordingly, Wang discloses using semantic segmentation maps and occupancy grids as distinct environment representations generated from sensor data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Subhasis and Zheng with Wang by incorporating Wang’s binary representation technique into the environment representation and discrepancy determination process of Subhasis and Zheng. Subhasis teaches environment representations having discrete portions associated with different object classifications, while Zheng teaches identifying discrepancies between sensor based detection results and using data associated with those discrepancies for model adaptation. Wang teaches semantic segmentation maps, occupancy gird representations, and generating a binary map that distinguishes portions of a representation using different binary values. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to apply Wang’s binary mapping technique to the class labeled environment representation of Subhasis so that portions associated with different subsets of object classifications could be represented using respective binary values when determining discrepancies. Such a modification would provide a simplified representation for distinguishing portions belonging to different classification groups while retaining the discrepancy based model adaptation process taught by Zheng, thereby facilitating comparison and processing of environment representations. Wang further teaches that its techniques may generate representations with sufficient accuracy for autonomous driving applications (Wang, Par. [0051], “As such, the techniques described herein may be used to observe and reconstruct a 3D surface such as a 3D road surface, and a representation of the 3D surface structure (and/or corresponding confidence values) may be provided to an autonomous vehicle drive stack to enable safe and comfortable planning and control of the autonomous vehicle. Generally, the techniques described herein may generate a more accurate representation of road surfaces than prior reconstruction techniques. Furthermore, the present techniques may be used to generate a representation of road surfaces with sufficient accuracy and range for certain autonomous driving applications, unlike prior based reconstruction techniques. As such, the representation of road surfaces generated using the present techniques may enable improved navigation, safety, and comfort in autonomous driving. For example, an autonomous vehicle may be better equipped to adapt the vehicle's suspension system to match the current road surface (e.g., by compensating for bumps in the road), to navigate the vehicle to avoid protuberances (e.g., dips, holes) in the road, and/or to apply an early acceleration or deceleration based on an approaching surface slope in the road. Any of these functions may serve to enhance safety, improve the longevity of the vehicle, improve energy-efficiency, and/or provide a smooth driving experience.”)
Regarding Claim 11, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
determining the one or more discrepancies […] of the first representation by representing portions of the environment labeled as a first subset of the plurality of object classes with a first value and representing portions of the environment labeled as a second subset of the plurality of object classes with a second value (Subhasis, Par. [0026], “Object classifications determined by sensory component 110 may distinguish between different object types such as, for example, cars, pedestrians, bicycles, delivery trucks, semi-trucks, traffic signs, and/or the like”, & Par. [0059], “For example, a first channel of the image may contain pixels indicating whether the respective portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the visual pipeline, and a second channel of the image may contain pixels of the environment. may contain pixels indicating whether each portion of the environment is occupied/unoccupied as determined by the lidar pipeline”, & Par. [0072], “occupancy may be determined by each It may be determined based at least in part on the likelihood associated with the pixel as determined by the ML model of the respective pipeline, and so on”, thus this limitation is disclosed because Subhasis teaches that discrete portions of the environment are assigned object classifications drawn from multiple classes, such as vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, and other object types, which corresponds to labeling portions of the environment as belonging to a class of a plurality of classes. Subhasis also teaches that portions of the environment may be represented as occupied or unoccupied based on pipeline outputs and associated likelihood values, which corresponds to converting the multi-class representation into a binary representation by assigning one value to a first subset of classes, such as occupying-type classes, and another value to a second subset of classes, such as non-occupying-type classes)
Subhasis does not explicitly teach generating a binary representation.
However, Wang teaches generating a binary representation (Wang, Par. [0046], “To generate a corresponding sparse projection image for the input training data, a known pattern may be applied to the ground truth projection image to cancel out a subset of pixel values (e.g., setting those pixel values to zero) to simulate unobserved values. For example, frames of real-world data may be collected, a 3D surface structure (e.g., of a 3D road surface) may be estimated from each frame (as described herein), the estimated 3D structure (e.g., a. 3D point cloud) may be projected to form a projection image (e.g., a sparse 2D height map), and a corresponding binary map that represents which pixels of projection image are present or observed may be generated. A plurality of binary maps may be generated from real-world data, and one of the binary maps may be randomly chosen and multiplied by a ground truth projection image to generate a corresponding synthetic sparse projection image. As such, a sparse projection image may be generated for each ground truth projection image, and the pairs of synthetic sparse and ground truth projection images may be included in a training dataset”, thus generating a binary representation is disclosed because Wang teaches creating a binary map that assigns one value to a first subset of pixels (e.g., observed or retained pixels) and another value to a second subset of pixels (e.g., canceled or unobserved pixels), which corresponds to assigning one value to a first subset and another value to a second subset in a representation. Wang also explains that these binary maps are used to improve the accuracy and robustness of environmental surface representations for autonomous driving applications. Applying this binary mapping technique to the class-labeled environment regions identified by Subhasis improves clarity and reliability of discrepancy detection and downstream perception processing)
Regarding Claim 12, Subhasis and Zheng combined with Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as cited above and Subhasis further teaches:
wherein the first subset of the plurality of object classes comprises occupying-type classes, and wherein the second subset of the plurality of object classes comprises non-occupying-type classes (Subhasis, Par. [0096], “Classification layer 610 may include one or more sets of convolutional layers or other components for the classification tasks discussed herein. In some examples, the output layer of a classification task may output a tensor (or other data structure) of latitudes, the discrete part of the field being the relevant part of the environment to be classified (e.g., occupied space, object classification, velocity bins, direction bins, height bins). For example, a first set of layers in classification layer 610 may determine whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. Another set of layers in layers 610 may determine whether an environment is associated with an estimated height bin and so”, thus the first subset of the plurality of object classes comprising occupying-type classes, and wherein the second subset of the plurality of object classes comprising non-occupying-type classes is disclosed because Subhasis teaches that the classification layer determines whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. By distinguishing portions of the environment as occupied space versus unoccupied space, Subhasis separates environment classifications into occupying-type classes and non-occupying-type classes. This corresponds to the first subset comprising occupying-type classes and the second subset comprising non-occupying-type classes)
Claims 5, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subhasis et al. (hereinafter Subhasis) (JP 2022554184), in view of Zheng et al. (hereinafter Zheng) (US 20180348784), and further in view of Perez et al. (hereinafter Perez), a non-patent literature reference titled “Cluster-Based Active Learning”.
Regarding Claim 5, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Subhasis combined with Zheng does not explicitly teach clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set.
However, Perez teaches clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set (Perez, Page 1 – Section 1, “Instead of annotating single images, experts may annotate clusters that have class consistency (i.e., the vast majority of samples belong to the same class), greatly reducing the required number of human interactions to train a model”, & Page 2 – Section 3, “The cluster-based active learning framework consists of adding the clustering and cluster annotation steps into the common pool-based active learning framework. During the annotation step, it can ask the expert to annotate clusters, single samples based on some acquisition criteria (e.g., the most uncertain samples), or both, thus clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set is disclosed, because Perez teaches grouping data samples into clusters based on class consistency and using each cluster as a unit for annotation and learning. Perez teaches annotating clusters rather than individual samples, where each cluster represents a group of samples corresponding to a common class and serves as a discrete entry used during training. These teachings read on clustering discrepancies into discrepancy groups and treating each group as a corresponding entry in a training data set)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Subhasis’s identification of discrepancies between environment representations and Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique with Perez’s cluster-based active learning techniques, because Perez teaches that clustering data samples improves training efficiency and robustness while reducing annotation burden (Perez, Page 4 – Section 6, “We introduced the cluster-based active learning framework and demonstrated that it can reduce the number of human interactions needed to train a CNN for image classification. Furthermore, the framework can still be improved to achieve better results: training techniques that are more robust to label noise; better feature extraction and clustering methods; better training conditions”, thus applying Perez’s clustering techniques to the discrepancy regions identified by Subhasis enables organizing discrepancies into groups that serve as entries in a training data set, thereby improving the efficiency and effectiveness of training machine learning models for autonomous vehicle perception)
Regarding Claim 6, Subhasis combined with Zheng and Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as cited above and Perez further teaches:
wherein aggregating the subsets of sensor data into the training data set further comprises programmatically labeling (Perez, Page-1 – Section 1, “Instead of annotating single images, experts may annotate clusters that have class consistency (i.e., the vast majority of samples belong to the same class), greatly reducing the required number of human interactions to train a model”, & Page-3 – Section – 4, “To simulate experts annotating clusters, we automatically assigned a label to a cluster only if the modal class in the cluster corresponds to at least 80% of the samples in it. Otherwise, the cluster is not annotated”, thus, programmatically labeling is disclosed, because Perez teaches automatically assigning labels to clusters based on class consistency of the samples within each cluster, without requiring manual labeling of individual data samples)
Perez does not explicitly teach each of the one or more discrepancy groups based on a classification, within at least one of the first or second representations, of the portion of the environment at which the discrepancy exists.
However, Subhasis teaches each of the one or more discrepancy groups based on a classification, within at least one of the first or second representations, of the portion of the environment at which the discrepancy exists (Subhasis, Par. [0096], “Classification layer 610 may include one or more sets of convolutional layers or other components for the classification tasks discussed herein. In some examples, the output layer of a classification task may output a tensor (or other data structure) of latitudes, the discrete part of the field being the relevant part of the environment to be classified (e.g., occupied space, object classification, velocity bins, direction bins, height bins). For example, a first set of layers in classification layer 610 may determine whether each portion of the environment is occupied or unoccupied and/or associated with a respective object classification. Another set of layers in layers 610 may determine whether an environment is associated with an estimated height bin and so. In some examples, the discrete portion of the set of object classification layers may additionally or alternatively include latitudes associated with each of the object classifications for which exemplary ML architecture 600 was trained. In other words, the classification output head may output a binary indication that a part of the environment is or is not relevant for classification (e.g. height bins, object classification, occupancy), Or the classification output head may output regressed values to which the NMS algorithm can be applied to determine the classification”, thus grouping and labeling discrepancies based on classifications within environment representations is disclosed, because Subhasis teaches generating classification outputs that assign occupancy, object class, and related attributes to discrete portions of the environment, which provides the classification basis used to form discrepancy groups corresponding to portions of the environment where discrepancies exist)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Subhasis’s identification of discrepancies between environment representations and Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique with Perez’s cluster-based active learning techniques, because Subhasis identifies and localizes portions of the environment where classification outputs differ across perceptual pipelines, while Perez teaches organizing data samples into clusters and programmatically labeling those clusters to improve training efficiency and reduce annotation effort (Perez, Page 4 – Section 6, “We introduced the cluster-based active learning framework and demonstrated that it can reduce the number of human interactions needed to train a CNN for image classification. Furthermore, the framework can still be improved to achieve better results: training techniques that are more robust to label noise; better feature extraction and clustering methods; better training conditions”, thus applying Perez’s clustering and labeling techniques to the discrepancy localized regions produced by Subhasis allows discrepancies associated with similar classification characteristics to be grouped into discrepancy groups and treated as discrete entries in a training data set, thereby improving the efficiency and robustness of training machine-learning models used for autonomous vehicle perception)
Regarding Claim 16, Subhasis combined with Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as cited above.
Subhasis combined with Wang does not explicitly teach clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set.
However, Perez teaches clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set (Perez, Page 1 – Section 1, “Instead of annotating single images, experts may annotate clusters that have class consistency (i.e., the vast majority of samples belong to the same class), greatly reducing the required number of human interactions to train a model”, & Page 2 – Section 3, “The cluster-based active learning framework consists of adding the clustering and cluster annotation steps into the common pool-based active learning framework. During the annotation step, it can ask the expert to annotate clusters, single samples based on some acquisition criteria (e.g., the most uncertain samples), or both, thus clustering […] into one or more discrepancy groups, each discrepancy group corresponding to an entry in the training data set is disclosed, because Perez teaches grouping data samples into clusters based on class consistency and using each cluster as a unit for annotation and learning. Perez teaches annotating clusters rather than individual samples, where each cluster represents a group of samples corresponding to a common class and serves as a discrete entry used during training. These teachings read on clustering discrepancies into discrepancy groups and treating each group as a corresponding entry in a training data set)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Subhasis’s identification of discrepancies between environment representations and Zheng’s discrepancy based training data selection and model adaptation technique with Perez’s cluster-based active learning techniques, because Perez teaches that clustering data samples improves training efficiency and robustness while reducing annotation burden (Perez, Page 4 – Section 6, “We introduced the cluster-based active learning framework and demonstrated that it can reduce the number of human interactions needed to train a CNN for image classification. Furthermore, the framework can still be improved to achieve better results: training techniques that are more robust to label noise; better feature extraction and clustering methods; better training conditions”, thus applying Perez’s clustering techniques to the discrepancy regions identified by Subhasis enables organizing discrepancies into groups that serve as entries in a training data set, thereby improving the efficiency and effectiveness of training machine-learning models for autonomous vehicle perception)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 2123
/ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123