DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bemiss (US 3866816 A).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-8, and 14-20, Bemiss discloses a boilable bakeable package and method comprising a first end structure defining a first opening (top opening covered by 21; see Fig. 3) therein, the first end structure being configured to receive a first cover (21) positioned on the first end structure and extending across the first opening; a second end structure (bottom 51) positioned opposite the first end structure and defining a second opening (53) therein, the second opening extending through the second end structure, and the second end structure being configured to receive a second cover (52; see Fig. 5) positioned and adhered on the second end structure and extending across the second opening (Col 4 lines 5-15); two opposing side walls (54) coupled to the second end structure along a respective first set of fold lines (see Fig. 7), the two opposing side walls extending from the second end structure to the first end structure; two opposing end walls (56) coupled to the second end structure along a respective second set of fold lines, wherein at least one of the two opposing end walls extends obliquely relative to the second end structure and taper outwards from the second end structure (see Figures 1-10; Examiner notes that the walls of the package are trapezoidal).
Regarding claims 4 and 12-13, Bemiss discloses a packaging wherein the container is positionable on a support structure in both a top-up (e.g. Fig. 3 orientation) orientation and a bottom-up orientation (e.g. Fig. 5 orientation), wherein, in the top-up orientation, the second end structure is positioned in face-to-face contact with the support structure and the goods are visible through the first cover over the first opening from a perspective above the container, and wherein, in the bottom-up orientation, the first end structure is positioned in face-to-face contact with the support structure and the goods are visible through the second cover over the second opening from the perspective above the container. Examiner notes that Bemiss’s containers are capable of being placed next to one another on a shelf alternating the orientation (i.e. first one right-side up, next bottom-up, and so on).
Regarding claim 9, Bemiss discloses a packaging wherein the second end structure, two opposing side walls, and two opposing end walls collectively define a cavity of the container for receiving a product therein, the cavity further configured to receive a portion of an adjacent container therein to facilitate stacking the adjacent container within the container (see Figures 1-2), and wherein the container further includes a denesting assembly (16; Examiner notes that denesting element 16 is formed between two cuts and by three folds; see Fig. 1) configured to engage the adjacent container when received within the cavity of the container such that a flange of the adjacent container is spaced from the flange of the container (see Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach opposed top and bottom end structures with four walls extending therebetween; each of said top and bottom end structures further comprising covered openings.
-Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Bemiss discloses a covered viewing window on one end structure with an opposed end also comprising a sealed opening (Examiner notes that Figures 5-7 best depict the disclosed viewing window 52a; Fig. 10 discloses a sealed closure over an opening of an opposed end to 52a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734