DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-16 are pending in this amended application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, US Pub 2019/0124473 in view of Agrawal et al. [hereafter Agrawal], US Pub 2020/0019352 and Kubo et al. [hereafter Kubo], US Pub 2008/0200118.
As to claim 1 [independent], Yoshida teaches a portable terminal apparatus comprising [fig. 1, element 100; 0053]:
a processor configured to [fig. 2, element 110; 0056]:
estimate a movement direction of a user carrying the portable terminal apparatus from a transition of a current position [figs., 5-7 & fig. 8; 0071-0072, 0083-0084, 0096-0099 Yoshida teaches that the processor 110 of the mobile device 100 calculates the movement of the user, who is holding mobile device 100, toward printer 200 with respect to the direction from a current position (e.g., figs. 5-7)];
from among image forming apparatuses capable of printing a document file to be printed, predict an image forming apparatus that the user intends to use for printing the document file, by referring to the movement direction of the user [figs., 5-7 & fig. 8; 0071-0072, 0080, 0083-0084, 0096-0099 Yoshida teaches that the processor 110 of the mobile device 100 calculates the movement of the user, who is holding mobile device 100, toward printer 200 with respect to the direction from a current position (e.g., figs. 5-7). The mobile device 100 has selected/predicted a printer 200a to print a print job to transmitted and printed by the selected/predicted printer 200a among multiple printers (e.g., figs. 5-7)]; and
Yoshida doesn’t teach in a case where the user has approached the predicted image forming apparatus to a distance in which printing is estimated to be finished at a point when the user arrives at an installation position of the predicted image forming apparatus.
Agrawal teaches in a case where the user has approached the predicted image forming apparatus to a distance in which printing is estimated to be finished at a point when the user arrives at an installation position of the predicted image forming apparatus [fig. 7; 0104 Agrawal teaches that slightly arrival of the user at the printer 108’s location, the mobile device 105 provides a print command to the printer 108 to print transmitted print data for the user just before arrive at the printer 108].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
Yoshida and Agrawal don’t teach determine that the predicted image forming apparatus as a target image forming apparatus and provide a printing start instruction of the document file from the target image forming apparatus.
Kubo teaches determine that the predicted image forming apparatus as a target image forming apparatus and provide a printing start instruction of the document file from the target image forming apparatus [figs. 1, 12, 28; 0094-0095, 0220-0224 Kubo teaches that the mobile device 3 predicted the printer 2-1 as target printer and choose to give print command for printing print data (fig. 28 & paras., 0220-0224)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kubo teaching to determine that the predicted target printer and provide a printing start instruction of the document to modify Yoshida & Agrawal’s teaching for sending a data transfer request to a base station i.e. external device to send electronic data i.e. electronic mail, of which addressee is the mobile device, which sent the data transfer request to a set of printers, printer stores the electronic data and sends the electronic data to the mobile device which is the addressee of the electronic data. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to have image processing system that permits the user of the radio communication terminal i.e. mobile device, to receive the data i.e. electronic mail, from the base station in the non-service area via copying machine efficiently.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
cause the user to designate whether or not to provide an automatic printing start instruction of the document file [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that slightly arrival of the user at the printer 108’s location, the mobile device 105 provides a print command to the printer 108 to print transmitted print data for the user just before arrive at the printer 108. The user’s mobile device 105 displays a prompt to the user in response to a notification. The prompt may inform the user that the stored print job is ready to print (based on the distance from the user to the printer 108) and that the user should approve the printing of the stored print job for the stored print job to be printed, and upon receiving approval from the user, the printer 108 initiates automatic printing of the stored print job].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 2], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where the automatic printing start instruction is designated, provide an instruction to automatically start printing the document file in a case where the user has approached to the distance [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that slightly arrival of the user at the printer 108’s location, the mobile device 105 provides a print command to the printer 108 to print transmitted print data for the user just before arrive at the printer 108. The user’s mobile device 105 displays a prompt to the user in response to a notification. The prompt may inform the user that the stored print job is ready to print (based on the distance from the user to the printer 108) and that the user should approve the printing of the stored print job for the stored print job to be printed, and upon receiving approval from the user, the printer 108 initiates automatic printing of the stored print job].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor is configured to: notify the user that printing of the document file is automatically started [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that the processing of automatic printing of the stored print job is already by sending a notification to the user for approving the printing process].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 4], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the user has changed setting content related to printing in response to the notification, control printing of the document file in accordance with the changed content [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that the processing of automatic printing of the stored print job is already by sending a notification to the user for approving the printing process. The mobile device 105’s user has changed the setting of the stored print job by delaying or cancelling the process of printing of the stored print job and updates the printer 108 regarding this].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where an automatic printing start instruction is not designated, make an inquiry to the user as to whether or not to start printing the document file in a case where the user has approached the predicted image forming apparatus to the distance [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that the processing of automatic printing of the stored print job is already by sending a notification to the user for approving the printing process. The mobile device 105’s user has changed the setting of the stored print job by delaying or cancelling the process of printing of the stored print job and updates the printer 108 regarding this and the determination is made again by calculating the distance to confirm whether the user has arrived or close to arrival at the printer 108, so can automatic process can be initiated again for the stored print job].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Yoshida teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire installation positional information of each image forming apparatus capable of printing the document file [figs. 4-7; 0090, 0096-0098 Yoshida teaches that the processor 110 of the mobile device 100 acquires position information of the multiple printers 200 (e.g., figs. 5-7)]; and
predict an image forming apparatus installed closest to a current position of the user within a predetermined range in the movement direction, as the image forming apparatus that the user intends to use for printing the document file by the user [figs., 4-7 & fig. 8; 0071-0072, 0080, 0083-0084, 0090, 0096-0099 Yoshida teaches that the processor 110 of the mobile device 100 calculates the movement of the user, who is holding mobile device 100, toward printer 200 with respect to the direction from a current position (e.g., figs. 5-7). The mobile device 100 has selected/predicted a printer 200a to print a print job to transmitted and printed by the selected/predicted printer 200a among multiple printers (e.g., figs. 5-7)].
As to claim 14 [independent], However, the independent claim 14 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 14 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 15 [independent], However, the independent claim 15 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 15 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 1], Agrawal teaches wherein each of the image forming apparatuses is respectively installed in a different store among stores [fig. 5; 0078-0079], and
Kubo teaches wherein the processor is configured to predict a store, from among the different stores, that the user intends to enter [figs. 1, 12, 28; 0094-0095, 0220-0224 Kubo teaches that the mobile device 3 predicted the printer 2-1 as target printer and choose to give print command for printing print data (fig. 28 & paras., 0220-0224)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kubo teaching to determine that the predicted target printer and provide a printing start instruction of the document to modify Yoshida & Agrawal’s teaching for sending a data transfer request to a base station i.e. external device to send electronic data i.e. electronic mail, of which addressee is the mobile device, which sent the data transfer request to a set of printers, printer stores the electronic data and sends the electronic data to the mobile device which is the addressee of the electronic data. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to have image processing system that permits the user of the radio communication terminal i.e. mobile device, to receive the data i.e. electronic mail, from the base station in the non-service area via copying machine efficiently.
5. Claims 8-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, US Pub 2019/0124473 in view of Agrawal et al. [hereafter Agrawal], US Pub 2020/0019352 and Kubo et al. [hereafter Kubo], US Pub 2008/0200118, further in view of Yokoyama, US Pub 2019/0075212.
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Yoshida, Agrawal and Kubo don’t teach a printing service system comprising: at least one portable terminal apparatus according to claim 1;
an image forming apparatus including at least a processor and a user interface; and
a service server that includes a processor and provides a printing instruction to the image forming apparatus in accordance with a printing start instruction from the portable terminal apparatus,
wherein the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to:
restrict use of the image forming apparatus by another user other than a user carrying the portable terminal apparatus, from a start to a finish of printing in accordance with the printing instruction from the service server.
Yokoyama teaches a printing service system comprising [fig. 1, element 10; 0048]:
at least one portable terminal apparatus according to claim 1 [fig. 1, element 100 or fig. 9, element “host PC”; 0048, 0112];
an image forming apparatus [fig. 1, element 200; 0048] including at least a processor [fig. 1, element 210; 0056] and a user interface [fig. 1, element 230 or 240 or both; 0056]; and
a service server that includes a processor and provides a printing instruction to the image forming apparatus in accordance with a printing start instruction from the portable terminal apparatus [fig. 9; 0113-0120 Yokoyama teaches that the server receives print data from mobile host PC and provides a print instruction to the printer 200, when the authentication information has been confirmed by the server so that the authenticated user can use the printer 200 to perform the requested print job received from the mobile host PC for the printer 200, in accordance with a printing start instruction from the mobile host PC (e.g., fig. 9 & steps 201-203)],
wherein the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to [fig. 1, element 210; 0056]:
restrict use of the image forming apparatus by another user other than a user carrying the portable terminal apparatus, from a start to a finish of printing in accordance with the printing instruction from the service server [fig. 9; 0113-0120 Yokoyama teaches that the server receives print data from mobile host PC and provides a print instruction to the printer 200, when the authentication information has been confirmed by the server so that only the authenticated user can use the printer 200 to perform the requested print job received from the mobile host PC by the server for the printer 200, in accordance with a printing start instruction from the mobile host PC (e.g., fig. 9 & steps 201-203)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yokoyama teaching to restrict use of the printer by another user other than a user carrying the mobile device to modify Yoshida, Agrawal and Kubo’s teaching to perform processing of displaying a screen to be displayed to a user of a mobile device from which a beacon signal is transmitted, on the display unit, performs processing of displaying the screen to be displayed to the user of the mobile device from which the beacon signal is transmitted, on the display unit, in a second display mode different from the first display mode, where distance between the processor and the mobile device is equal to or less than a reference distance. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user that apparatus effectively determines that the user utilizes the apparatus and performs transition to a power saving state, thus preventing inappropriate state transition.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 8], Yokoyama teaches wherein the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to: restrict an operation of the user interface from the start to the finish of printing in accordance with the printing instruction from the service server [fig. 9; 0113-0120 Yokoyama teaches that the server receives print data from mobile host PC and provides a print instruction to the printer 200, when the authentication information has been confirmed by the server so that only the authenticated user can use the printer 200 to perform the requested print job received from the mobile host PC by the server for the printer 200, in accordance with a printing start instruction from the mobile host PC (e.g., fig. 9 & steps 201-203)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yokoyama teaching to restrict use of the printer by another user other than a user carrying the mobile device to modify Yoshida, Agrawal and Kubo’s teaching to perform processing of displaying a screen to be displayed to a user of a mobile device from which a beacon signal is transmitted, on the display unit, performs processing of displaying the screen to be displayed to the user of the mobile device from which the beacon signal is transmitted, on the display unit, in a second display mode different from the first display mode, where distance between the processor and the mobile device is equal to or less than a reference distance. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user that apparatus effectively determines that the user utilizes the apparatus and performs transition to a power saving state, thus preventing inappropriate state transition.
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 8], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to: permit use of a function that does not use a printing function, among a plurality of implemented functions [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that the processing of automatic printing of the stored print job is already by sending a notification to the user for approving the printing process. The mobile device 105’s user has changed the setting of the stored print job by delaying or cancelling the process of printing of the stored print job and updates the printer 108 regarding this and the determination is made again by calculating the distance to confirm whether the user has arrived or close to arrival at the printer 108, so can automatic process can be initiated again for the stored print job].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
As to claim 13 [dependent from claim 8], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor included in the portable terminal apparatus is configured to:
register a user capable of printing the document file in the service server in accordance with an instruction from the user [fig. 9; 0113-0120 Yokoyama teaches that the server receives print data, and user’s secret information which further implies that the user is registered to commence a print job for printing document, from user’s mobile host PC and provides a print instruction to the printer 200], and
the processor included in the service server is configured to:
provide the printing instruction of the document file to the image forming apparatus in accordance with the printing start instruction from the portable terminal apparatus carried by the user capable of printing the document file [fig. 9; 0113-0120 Yokoyama teaches that the server receives print data from mobile host PC and provides a print instruction to the printer 200, when the authentication information has been confirmed by the server so that the authenticated user can use the printer 200 to perform the requested print job received from the mobile host PC for the printer 200, in accordance with a printing start instruction from the mobile host PC (e.g., fig. 9 & steps 201-203)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
6. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, US Pub 2019/0124473 in view of Agrawal et al. [hereafter Agrawal], US Pub 2020/0019352 and Kubo et al. [hereafter Kubo], US Pub 2008/0200118, further in view of Yokoyama, US Pub 2019/0075212 and Genda, US Pub 2008/0010079.
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 8], Yoshida, Agrawal, Kubo and Yokoyama don’t teach wherein the image forming apparatus further includes
an imager that images a user operating the image forming apparatus,
an output tray to which a printed matter is output, and
a sensor that detects an operation of acquiring the printed matter from the output tray, and
the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to:
in a case where the operation of acquiring the printed matter from the output tray by the other user is detected, output an alert message to the user interface.
Genda teaches wherein the image forming apparatus further includes
an imager that images a user operating the image forming apparatus [fig., step 104; 0046],
an output tray [fig. 7, element 28; 0039, 0041, 0054] to which a printed matter is output [0054], and
a sensor that detects an operation of acquiring the printed matter from the output tray [fig. 7, element 28; 0039, 0041, 0054 Genda teaches that the processor 21 has detected that the user has entered the user's ID and password by operation device on the printing device 20 to collect the printed documents of the user who entered the user's ID and password], and
the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to:
in a case where the operation of acquiring the printed matter from the output tray by the other user is detected, output an alert message to the user interface [fig. 7, element 28; 0039, 0041, 0054 Genda teaches that the processor 21 has detected that the user has entered the user's ID and password by operation device on the printing device 20 to collect the printed documents of the user who entered the user's ID and password. However, it is extremely obvious that if any user other than authenticated user make a false attempt to collect the printed documents of the user who entered the user's ID and password, the result would be alert message outputted to the display of the printer].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Genda teaching to acquire the printed matter from the output tray by the other user is detected, output an alert message to the user interface to modify Yoshida, Agrawal, Kubo and Yokoyama’s teaching to equipped with a camera that photographs each user passing through the printer, a CPU identifies the photographed user by comparing photographed image of the user with image information such as face image or an amount of physical characteristics extracted from face image registered in advance, with distinguishing information such as user identification (ID) or name. A controller outputs a message including user's ID or name using a speaker, so as to notify that there is print data addressed for identified user. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user that the user can know the presence or absence of print data addressed for the user without any intention, so the user need not go to the printer many times to check for presence/absence of print data or to output the print data after notification, thus enhancing the convenience for users.
As to claim 12 [dependent from claim 11], Agrawal teaches wherein the processor included in the image forming apparatus is configured to:
in a case where the operation of acquiring the printed matter by the user carrying the portable terminal apparatus is detected, release the restriction on the use of the image forming apparatus [figs. 4, 7; 0068, 0104 Agrawal teaches that slightly arrival of the user at the printer 108’s location, the mobile device 105 provides a print command to the printer 108 to print transmitted print data for the user just before arrive at the printer 108. The user’s mobile device 105 displays a prompt to the user in response to a notification. The prompt may inform the user that the stored print job is ready to print (based on the distance from the user to the printer 108) and that the user should approve the printing of the stored print job for the stored print job to be printed, and upon receiving approval from the user, the printer 108 initiates automatic printing of the stored print job].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agrawal teaching to provide a printing start instruction of the print job when the user arrives at an installation position of the printer to modify Yoshida’s teaching to realize normal &delay printing of print job until distance from the user to the printer is less than or equal to threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is not secure print job, and the processor realizes delay printing of the print job until the distance from the user to the printer is less than the threshold distance from the printer based on determination that the print job is a secure print job. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user in which the printer prevents print job from printing until a user associated with the print job is equal to or less than threshold distance away from the printer, so as to secure printed document from unauthorize user.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new prior reference(s) is/are being employed in this current rejection and the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682