DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18, 20, 26-29, 31 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UHLING et al., 2022/0376805 A1 (Uhling hereinafter), in view of Srivastava et al., US 2014/0253373 A1 (Srivastava hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 17, Uhling discloses an apparatus (Uhling, paragraph [0039], As shown, node 200 includes a computing device 210) comprising:
at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Computing device 210 includes one or more processors 220); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Processors 220 may include any hardware configured to process data and execute software applications. Also see paragraph [0042], Memory 216 includes software application 242, which includes program code that, when executed by one or more processors 220, performs any of the operations discussed herein), cause the apparatus at least to: … estimate a first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication (Uhling, paragraph [0089], Software application 242 also calculates 406 a listening window for the periodic beacon based on the next receive time, a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, a missed synchronization component that is based on the number of missed periodic beacons from the node, and/or a maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0004], In some implementations, instead of communicating with one another indirectly through the back office, a group of IoT devices may establish an ad hoc mesh network to enable more direct device-to-device (i.e., sidelink) communications); and
cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices (Uhling, paragraph [0135], Each node also determines the threshold with which interval 820 is compared as the sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804 (i.e., combined time uncertainty to one or more terminal devices), and an overhead factor 818 associated with switching between transmitting and receiving modes on transceivers 206. Because each node does not know the listening window calculated by the other node for a periodic beacon from the node, the node may set the time uncertainty in the listening window calculated by the other node to the maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0043], software application 242 use transceivers 206 and links 214 to transmit and receive periodic beacons with neighboring nodes in network system 100. These periodic beacons include timing information that allows computing device 210 to perform time synchronization with the neighboring nodes); wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information (Uhling, paragraph [0131], To receive the first periodic beacon, the second node calculates a listening window 802 for the first periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 806. Similarly, to receive the second periodic beacon, the first node calculates a listening window 804 for the second periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 808. Listening window 802 includes a first time uncertainty 810 that precedes time 806 and a second time uncertainty 812 that follows time 806, and listening window 804 includes a first time uncertainty 814 that precedes time 808 and a second time uncertainty 816 that follows time 808. As described above, each time uncertainty 810-816 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 810-816 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0045], Timing information provided by the periodic beacons allows each node in network system 100 to both communicate the local network time on the node to neighboring nodes and track the local network times on the neighboring nodes).
Regarding claim 26, Uhling discloses an apparatus (Uhling, paragraph [0039], As shown, node 200 includes a computing device 210) comprising:
at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Computing device 210 includes one or more processors 220); and
at least one memory including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Processors 220 may include any hardware configured to process data and execute software applications. Also see paragraph [0042], Memory 216 includes software application 242, which includes program code that, when executed by one or more processors 220, performs any of the operations discussed herein), cause the apparatus at least to: … wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information (Uhling, paragraph [0131], To receive the first periodic beacon, the second node calculates a listening window 802 for the first periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 806. Similarly, to receive the second periodic beacon, the first node calculates a listening window 804 for the second periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 808. Listening window 802 includes a first time uncertainty 810 that precedes time 806 and a second time uncertainty 812 that follows time 806, and listening window 804 includes a first time uncertainty 814 that precedes time 808 and a second time uncertainty 816 that follows time 808. As described above, each time uncertainty 810-816 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 810-816 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0045], Timing information provided by the periodic beacons allows each node in network system 100 to both communicate the local network time on the node to neighboring nodes and track the local network times on the neighboring nodes).
Regarding claim 28, Uhling discloses a method (Uhling, paragraph [0086], FIG. 4 sets forth a flow diagram of method steps for performing time synchronization with respect to a node within a network, according to various embodiments) comprising: … estimating a first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication (Uhling, paragraph [0089], Software application 242 also calculates 406 a listening window for the periodic beacon based on the next receive time, a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, a missed synchronization component that is based on the number of missed periodic beacons from the node, and/or a maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0004], In some implementations, instead of communicating with one another indirectly through the back office, a group of IoT devices may establish an ad hoc mesh network to enable more direct device-to-device (i.e., sidelink) communications); and causing transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices (Uhling, paragraph [0135], Each node also determines the threshold with which interval 820 is compared as the sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804 (i.e., combined time uncertainty to one or more terminal devices), and an overhead factor 818 associated with switching between transmitting and receiving modes on transceivers 206. Because each node does not know the listening window calculated by the other node for a periodic beacon from the node, the node may set the time uncertainty in the listening window calculated by the other node to the maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0043], software application 242 use transceivers 206 and links 214 to transmit and receive periodic beacons with neighboring nodes in network system 100. These periodic beacons include timing information that allows computing device 210 to perform time synchronization with the neighboring nodes),
wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information (Uhling, paragraph [0131], To receive the first periodic beacon, the second node calculates a listening window 802 for the first periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 806. Similarly, to receive the second periodic beacon, the first node calculates a listening window 804 for the second periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 808. Listening window 802 includes a first time uncertainty 810 that precedes time 806 and a second time uncertainty 812 that follows time 806, and listening window 804 includes a first time uncertainty 814 that precedes time 808 and a second time uncertainty 816 that follows time 808. As described above, each time uncertainty 810-816 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 810-816 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0045], Timing information provided by the periodic beacons allows each node in network system 100 to both communicate the local network time on the node to neighboring nodes and track the local network times on the neighboring nodes).
Regarding claim 37, Uhling discloses a computer program comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to perform (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Processors 220 may include any hardware configured to process data and execute software applications. Also see paragraph [0042], Memory 216 includes software application 242, which includes program code that, when executed by one or more processors 220, performs any of the operations discussed herein) at least the following: … estimate a first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication (Uhling, paragraph [0089], Software application 242 also calculates 406 a listening window for the periodic beacon based on the next receive time, a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, a missed synchronization component that is based on the number of missed periodic beacons from the node, and/or a maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0004], In some implementations, instead of communicating with one another indirectly through the back office, a group of IoT devices may establish an ad hoc mesh network to enable more direct device-to-device (i.e., sidelink) communications); and cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices (Uhling, paragraph [0135], Each node also determines the threshold with which interval 820 is compared as the sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804 (i.e., combined time uncertainty to one or more terminal devices), and an overhead factor 818 associated with switching between transmitting and receiving modes on transceivers 206. Because each node does not know the listening window calculated by the other node for a periodic beacon from the node, the node may set the time uncertainty in the listening window calculated by the other node to the maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0043], software application 242 use transceivers 206 and links 214 to transmit and receive periodic beacons with neighboring nodes in network system 100. These periodic beacons include timing information that allows computing device 210 to perform time synchronization with the neighboring nodes),
wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information (Uhling, paragraph [0131], To receive the first periodic beacon, the second node calculates a listening window 802 for the first periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 806. Similarly, to receive the second periodic beacon, the first node calculates a listening window 804 for the second periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 808. Listening window 802 includes a first time uncertainty 810 that precedes time 806 and a second time uncertainty 812 that follows time 806, and listening window 804 includes a first time uncertainty 814 that precedes time 808 and a second time uncertainty 816 that follows time 808. As described above, each time uncertainty 810-816 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 810-816 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0045], Timing information provided by the periodic beacons allows each node in network system 100 to both communicate the local network time on the node to neighboring nodes and track the local network times on the neighboring nodes).
Regarding claim 38, Uhling discloses an apparatus (Uhling, paragraph [0039], As shown, node 200 includes a computing device 210) comprising:
at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Computing device 210 includes one or more processors 220); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Uhling, paragraph [0039], Processors 220 may include any hardware configured to process data and execute software applications. Also see paragraph [0042], Memory 216 includes software application 242, which includes program code that, when executed by one or more processors 220, performs any of the operations discussed herein), cause the apparatus at least to: … estimate a first time uncertainty caused by the terminal device for sidelink communication (Uhling, paragraph [0089], Software application 242 also calculates 406 a listening window for the periodic beacon based on the next receive time, a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, a missed synchronization component that is based on the number of missed periodic beacons from the node, and/or a maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0004], In some implementations, instead of communicating with one another indirectly through the back office, a group of IoT devices may establish an ad hoc mesh network to enable more direct device-to-device (i.e., sidelink) communications); and
cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices (Uhling, paragraph [0135], Each node also determines the threshold with which interval 820 is compared as the sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804 (i.e., combined time uncertainty to one or more terminal devices), and an overhead factor 818 associated with switching between transmitting and receiving modes on transceivers 206. Because each node does not know the listening window calculated by the other node for a periodic beacon from the node, the node may set the time uncertainty in the listening window calculated by the other node to the maximum time uncertainty. Also see paragraph [0043], software application 242 use transceivers 206 and links 214 to transmit and receive periodic beacons with neighboring nodes in network system 100. These periodic beacons include timing information that allows computing device 210 to perform time synchronization with the neighboring nodes),
wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information (Uhling, paragraph [0131], To receive the first periodic beacon, the second node calculates a listening window 802 for the first periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 806. Similarly, to receive the second periodic beacon, the first node calculates a listening window 804 for the second periodic beacon based on an estimate of time 808. Listening window 802 includes a first time uncertainty 810 that precedes time 806 and a second time uncertainty 812 that follows time 806, and listening window 804 includes a first time uncertainty 814 that precedes time 808 and a second time uncertainty 816 that follows time 808. As described above, each time uncertainty 810-816 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 810-816 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0045], Timing information provided by the periodic beacons allows each node in network system 100 to both communicate the local network time on the node to neighboring nodes and track the local network times on the neighboring nodes).
Uhling does not disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 17, establish the apparatus as a timing source terminal device;
Regarding claim 26, transmit a request for providing timing information to a terminal device identified as a relay terminal device for the apparatus; and
receiving information on a first time uncertainty estimated to be caused by the terminal device for sidelink communication or a combined time uncertainty from the terminal device,
Regarding claim 28, establishing an apparatus as a timing source terminal device;
Regarding claim 37, establish the apparatus as a timing source terminal device;
Regarding claim 38, cause establishing a terminal device as a timing source terminal device;
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Srivastava discloses a method related to performing location determination in a wireless communication network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 17, establish the apparatus as a timing source terminal device (Srivastava, paragraph [0027], A device (e.g., an MS) in a "synchronous network" as indicated herein is directed to a device that may transmit a signal modulated by a time reference that is synchronized with a known clock. For example, GPS, or other GNSS, may transmit a signal that is modulated with a data signal comprising a time reference that is synchronized with a GPS clock. Also see paragraph [0029]);
Regarding claim 26, transmit a request for providing timing information to a terminal device identified as a relay terminal device for the apparatus (Srivastava, paragraph [0044], FIG. 3 is a flow diagram of a process 300 for providing position assistance data to an MS, according to an implementation. For example, process 300 may be performed by MS 250 in FIG. 2. At block 310, MS 250 in synchronous network 220, for example, may receive a request for positioning assistance data from MS 230 over communication link 235, which may comprise a peer-to-peer communication link … positioning assistance data may comprise, among other things, at least a current time according to synchronous network 220 of MS 250. Positioning assistance data may also comprise a time uncertainty of the current time); and
receiving information on a first time uncertainty estimated to be caused by the terminal device for sidelink communication or a combined time uncertainty from the terminal device (Srivastava, paragraph [0044], At block 320, in response to such a request, the MS 250 may transmit one or more messages to MS 230, wherein the one or more messages may include the requested positioning assistance data. As mentioned above, positioning assistance data may comprise, among other things, at least a current time according to synchronous network 220 of MS 250. Positioning assistance data may also comprise a time uncertainty of the current time),
Regarding claim 28, establishing an apparatus as a timing source terminal device (Srivastava, paragraph [0027], A device (e.g., an MS) in a "synchronous network" as indicated herein is directed to a device that may transmit a signal modulated by a time reference that is synchronized with a known clock. For example, GPS, or other GNSS, may transmit a signal that is modulated with a data signal comprising a time reference that is synchronized with a GPS clock. Also see paragraph [0029]);
Regarding claim 37, establish the apparatus as a timing source terminal device (Srivastava, paragraph [0027], A device (e.g., an MS) in a "synchronous network" as indicated herein is directed to a device that may transmit a signal modulated by a time reference that is synchronized with a known clock. For example, GPS, or other GNSS, may transmit a signal that is modulated with a data signal comprising a time reference that is synchronized with a GPS clock. Also see paragraph [0029]);
Regarding claim 38, cause establishing a terminal device as a timing source terminal device (Srivastava, paragraph [0027], A device (e.g., an MS) in a "synchronous network" as indicated herein is directed to a device that may transmit a signal modulated by a time reference that is synchronized with a known clock. For example, GPS, or other GNSS, may transmit a signal that is modulated with a data signal comprising a time reference that is synchronized with a GPS clock. Also see paragraph [0029]);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Uhling by using the features, as taught by Srivastava in order to allow a sufficiently accurate time on a mobile device for relatively fast or accurate position fixes while reducing battery usage (see Srivastava, paragraphs [0002] and [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Uhling discloses wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to estimate the first time uncertainty by:
estimating one or more time uncertainty components caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication, wherein the estimating of the one or more time uncertainty components comprises at least one of:
estimating a time uncertainty related to frame timing based on a transmission timing error in a sidelink interface;
in response to propagation delay compensation being used by the apparatus, estimating time uncertainty resulting from using propagation delay compensation;
in response to propagation delay compensation not being used by the apparatus, estimating time uncertainty due to propagation delay based on timing advance;
estimating time uncertainty resulting from clock skew, estimating time uncertainty resulting from group delay calibration error; or
calculating the first time uncertainty as a sum of the one or more time uncertainty components (Uhling, paragraph [0146], The first node estimates time 1008 based on timing information for the second node in the neighborhood table. The first node then determines a listening window 1004 for the second periodic beacon based on time 1008, a first time uncertainty 1014 that precedes time 1008, and a second time uncertainty 1016 that follows time 1008. As described above, each time uncertainty 1014-1016 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 1014-1016 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0052], The timing uncertainty can include a jitter uncertainty, drift uncertainty, and/or missed synchronization uncertainty and paragraph [0167], a given node within a network can maintain time synchronization with the other nodes within the network without having to match the local timing of any of the other nodes. Accordingly, with the disclosed techniques, a node in a network can avoid the accumulation and magnification of timing errors and time synchronization delays that result from the node changing an internal clock to match the local timing of a root node in the network via timing messages transmitted along a path from the root node to the node).
Regarding 31, Uhling discloses further comprising: causing the apparatus to estimate the first time uncertainty by:
estimating one or more time uncertainty components caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication, wherein the estimating of the one or more time uncertainty components comprises at least one of:
estimating a time uncertainty related to frame timing based on a transmission timing error in a sidelink interface;
in response to propagation delay compensation being used by the apparatus, estimating time uncertainty resulting from using propagation delay compensation;
in response to propagation delay compensation not being used by the apparatus, estimating time uncertainty due to propagation delay based on timing advance;
estimating time uncertainty resulting from clock skew, estimating time uncertainty resulting from group delay calibration error; or
calculating the first time uncertainty as a sum of the one or more time uncertainty components (Uhling, paragraph [0146], The first node estimates time 1008 based on timing information for the second node in the neighborhood table. The first node then determines a listening window 1004 for the second periodic beacon based on time 1008, a first time uncertainty 1014 that precedes time 1008, and a second time uncertainty 1016 that follows time 1008. As described above, each time uncertainty 1014-1016 may be calculated as a sum of a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty, and/or a missed synchronization component. Each time uncertainty 1014-1016 may additionally be limited to a maximum time uncertainty associated with a listening window for a periodic beacon from a node. Also see paragraph [0052], The timing uncertainty can include a jitter uncertainty, drift uncertainty, and/or missed synchronization uncertainty and paragraph [0167], a given node within a network can maintain time synchronization with the other nodes within the network without having to match the local timing of any of the other nodes. Accordingly, with the disclosed techniques, a node in a network can avoid the accumulation and magnification of timing errors and time synchronization delays that result from the node changing an internal clock to match the local timing of a root node in the network via timing messages transmitted along a path from the root node to the node).
Regarding claims 18, 27 and 29, Uhling does not disclose the following features.
Regarding 18, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to establish the apparatus as the timing source terminal device in response to receiving a request for providing timing information from at least one of the one or more target terminal devices or from an access node.
Regarding claim 27, wherein the terminal device is a synchronization reference terminal device for the apparatus.
Regarding claim 29, further comprising: causing the apparatus to establish the apparatus as the timing source terminal device in response to receiving a request for providing timing information from at least one of the one or more target terminal devices or from an access node.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Srivastava discloses a method related to performing location determination in a wireless communication network that comprises the following features.
Regarding 18, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to establish the apparatus as the timing source terminal device in response to receiving a request for providing timing information from at least one of the one or more target terminal devices or from an access node (Srivastava, paragraph [0029], The first MS, which may be in a synchronous network, for example, may receive a request for positioning assistance data from a second MS over a communication link. Such a request for positioning assistance data may comprise a broadcast request available to one or more MS's in addition to the first MS, for example. In response to such a request, the first MS may transmit one or more messages to the second MS, wherein the one or more messages may include the requested positioning assistance data. Positioning assistance data may comprise, among other things, at least a current time according to the synchronous network of the first MS. Positioning assistance data may also comprise a time uncertainty of the current time).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the terminal device is a synchronization reference terminal device for the apparatus (Srivastava, paragraph [0027], A device (e.g., an MS) in a "synchronous network" as indicated herein is directed to a device that may transmit a signal modulated by a time reference that is synchronized with a known clock).
Regarding claim 29, further comprising: causing the apparatus to establish the apparatus as the timing source terminal device in response to receiving a request for providing timing information from at least one of the one or more target terminal devices or from an access node (Srivastava, paragraph [0029], The first MS, which may be in a synchronous network, for example, may receive a request for positioning assistance data from a second MS over a communication link. Such a request for positioning assistance data may comprise a broadcast request available to one or more MS's in addition to the first MS, for example. In response to such a request, the first MS may transmit one or more messages to the second MS, wherein the one or more messages may include the requested positioning assistance data. Positioning assistance data may comprise, among other things, at least a current time according to the synchronous network of the first MS. Positioning assistance data may also comprise a time uncertainty of the current time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Uhling by using the features, as taught by Srivastava in order to allow a sufficiently accurate time on a mobile device for relatively fast or accurate position fixes while reducing battery usage (see Srivastava, paragraphs [0002] and [0005]).
Claim(s) 21-23 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UHLING et al., 2022/0376805 A1 (Uhling hereinafter), in view of Srivastava et al., US 2014/0253373 A1 (Srivastava hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art CORLEY et al., US 2019/0289561 A1 (Corley hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 21-23 and 32-34, Uhling and Srivastava disclose the apparatus of claim 17 and the method of claim 28. Uhling and Srivastava do not disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to cause the transmission of the combined time uncertainty by causing transmission of reference time information having an uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to cause the transmission of the first time uncertainty as at least one of:
a separate field of a transmitted message, a part of transmitted sidelink control information, or
mapped to a transmitted sidelink synchronization signal identifier.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to perform at least one of the following:
receive a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information from a terminal device;
cause transmission of a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information to the one or more target terminal devices; or
cause the transmission of the information on the combined time uncertainty, following the transmission of the permission, by causing transmitting the reference time information having the uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty.
Regarding claim 32, further comprising:
causing the apparatus to cause the transmission of the combined time uncertainty by causing transmission of reference time information having an uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty.
Regarding claim 33, further comprising: causing the apparatus to cause the transmission of the first time uncertainty as at least one of: a separate field of a transmitted message, a part of transmitted sidelink control information, or mapped to a transmitted sidelink synchronization signal identifier.
Regarding claim 34, further comprising:
causing the apparatus to perform at least one of the following:
receive a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information from a terminal device; cause transmission of a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information to the one or more target terminal devices; or
cause the transmission of the information on the combined time uncertainty, following the transmission of the permission, by causing transmitting the reference time information having the uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Corley discloses a method related to establishing and maintaining timing synchronization for device-to-device communications that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to cause the transmission of the combined time uncertainty by causing transmission of reference time information having an uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty (Corley, paragraph [0007], a user equipment (UE) configured to obtain a timing signal from a timing synchronization reference source, the UE configured to compute a system frame number (SFN)-direct frame number (DFN) offset, the UE configured to create a timing fingerprint using the timing signal and the SFN-DFN offset, the timing fingerprint also comprising additional timing information, a database configured to store the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to continually update the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to determine whether the timing signal remains within a threshold, if the timing signal exceeds the threshold, the UE configured to iterate the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to verify the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time, if the timing fingerprint is verified).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to cause the transmission of the first time uncertainty as at least one of:
a separate field of a transmitted message, a part of transmitted sidelink control information, or
mapped to a transmitted sidelink synchronization signal identifier (Corley, paragraph [0008], means for verifying the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time, if the timing fingerprint is verified, means for using the SFN-DFN offset to derive current DFN timing to decode a sidelink control information (SCI) communication, and if the SCI communication is decoded, means for using the timing signal for communicating over a sidelink communication channel).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to perform at least one of the following:
receive a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information from a terminal device;
cause transmission of a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information to the one or more target terminal devices; or
cause the transmission of the information on the combined time uncertainty, following the transmission of the permission, by causing transmitting the reference time information having the uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty (Corley, paragraph [0009], obtain a timing signal from a timing synchronization reference source, compute a system frame number (SFN)-direct frame number (DFN) offset, create a timing fingerprint using the timing signal and the SFN-DFN offset, the timing fingerprint also comprising additional timing information, enter the timing fingerprint into a database, continually update the timing fingerprint, determine whether the timing signal remains within a threshold, if the timing signal exceeds the threshold, iterate the timing fingerprint, verify the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time).
Regarding claim 32, further comprising:
causing the apparatus to cause the transmission of the combined time uncertainty by causing transmission of reference time information having an uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty (Corley, paragraph [0007], a user equipment (UE) configured to obtain a timing signal from a timing synchronization reference source, the UE configured to compute a system frame number (SFN)-direct frame number (DFN) offset, the UE configured to create a timing fingerprint using the timing signal and the SFN-DFN offset, the timing fingerprint also comprising additional timing information, a database configured to store the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to continually update the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to determine whether the timing signal remains within a threshold, if the timing signal exceeds the threshold, the UE configured to iterate the timing fingerprint, the UE configured to verify the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time, if the timing fingerprint is verified).
Regarding claim 33, further comprising: causing the apparatus to cause the transmission of the first time uncertainty as at least one of: a separate field of a transmitted message, a part of transmitted sidelink control information, or mapped to a transmitted sidelink synchronization signal identifier (Corley, paragraph [0008], means for verifying the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time, if the timing fingerprint is verified, means for using the SFN-DFN offset to derive current DFN timing to decode a sidelink control information (SCI) communication, and if the SCI communication is decoded, means for using the timing signal for communicating over a sidelink communication channel).
Regarding claim 34, further comprising:
causing the apparatus to perform at least one of the following:
receive a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information from a terminal device; cause transmission of a permission to further modify an uncertainty field of the reference time information to the one or more target terminal devices; or
cause the transmission of the information on the combined time uncertainty, following the transmission of the permission, by causing transmitting the reference time information having the uncertainty field modified to correspond to the combined time uncertainty (Corley, paragraph [0009], obtain a timing signal from a timing synchronization reference source, compute a system frame number (SFN)-direct frame number (DFN) offset, create a timing fingerprint using the timing signal and the SFN-DFN offset, the timing fingerprint also comprising additional timing information, enter the timing fingerprint into a database, continually update the timing fingerprint, determine whether the timing signal remains within a threshold, if the timing signal exceeds the threshold, iterate the timing fingerprint, verify the timing fingerprint to determine whether there is a timing inconsistency between a most recent timing fingerprint and current time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Uhling and Srivastava by using the features, as taught by Corley in order to support collision avoidance and autonomous driving in Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications and V2V communications (see Corley, paragraphs [0001] and [0003]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UHLING et al., 2022/0376805 A1 (Uhling hereinafter), in view of Srivastava et al., US 2014/0253373 A1 (Srivastava hereinafter), in view of disclosed prior art CORLEY et al., US 2019/0289561 A1 (Corley hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art PARK et al., US 2020/0120625 A1 (Park hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 25, Uhling and Srivastava disclose the apparatus of claim 23. Uhling and Srivastava do not disclose wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
cause transmitting, along with the reference time information comprising the combined time uncertainty, a flag indicating that the uncertainty field of the reference time information has been modified.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Park discloses a wireless communication system that comprises wherein the at least one memory and the instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
cause transmitting, along with the reference time information comprising the combined time uncertainty, a flag indicating that the uncertainty field of the reference time information has been modified (Park, paragraph [0094], In a similar fashion, FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a timing quality for propagation delay compensation in units of nanoseconds. The field timingQuality ValueNs-r17 provides an estimate of uncertainty of the timing value for which the IE NR-TimingQuality is provided in units of nanoseconds. The resolution is assumed to be 10 nanoseconds, so that for an integer i, the uncertainty is lO*I nanoseconds. If the timingQuality ValueN s-rl 7 is larger than a RRC configurable integer, then a measurement is reported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Uhling, Srivastava and Corley by using the features, as taught by Park, in order to support synchronization enhancement for out of coverage (OOC) cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) communications (see Park, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UHLING et al., 2022/0376805 A1 (Uhling hereinafter), in view of Srivastava et al., US 2014/0253373 A1 (Srivastava hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art PARK et al., US 2020/0120625 A1 (Park hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 36, Uhling and Srivastava disclose the method of claim 28. Uhling and Srivastava do not explicitly disclose further comprising: causing transmitting, along with the reference time information comprising the combined time uncertainty, a flag indicating that the uncertainty field of the reference time information has been modified.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Park discloses a wireless communication system that comprises further comprising: causing transmitting, along with the reference time information comprising the combined time uncertainty, a flag indicating that the uncertainty field of the reference time information has been modified (Park, paragraph [0094], In a similar fashion, FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a timing quality for propagation delay compensation in units of nanoseconds. The field timingQuality ValueNs-r17 provides an estimate of uncertainty of the timing value for which the IE NR-TimingQuality is provided in units of nanoseconds. The resolution is assumed to be 10 nanoseconds, so that for an integer i, the uncertainty is lO*I nanoseconds. If the timingQuality ValueN s-rl 7 is larger than a RRC configurable integer, then a measurement is reported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Uhling and Srivastava by using the features, as taught by Park, in order to support synchronization enhancement for out of coverage (OOC) cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) communications (see Park, paragraph [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 24, 30 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 08/27/2025. Claims 17-38 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed on 08/27/2025, with respect to the claims 17-38 have been fully considered and they are found not to be persuasive.
Regarding claims 17, 28, 37 and 38, on page 13, first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that “Applicant submits that the cited passage of Uhling fails to disclose estimating a first time uncertainty. Rather it refers to calculating a listening window. The listening window as disclose in Uhling is intended for configuring transceivers to listen”. This argument is not persuasive. The argued feature of the claim recites “estimate a first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus for sidelink communication”. As noted in the office action Uhlig, discloses a software application in a computing device calculates (i.e., estimates) a listening window for the periodic beacon based on the next receive time, a jitter uncertainty, a drift uncertainty (i.e., first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus). Uhlig also discloses instead of communicating with one another indirectly through the back office the group of IoT devices may establish an ad hoc mesh network to enable more direct device-to-device (i.e., sidelink) communications (see Uhlig, Fig. 2 , and paragraph [0004], [0089]).
On page 13, third paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “As it can be seen from the above, a "listening window" is a period of time during which listening is carried out. The listening window is calculated based on certain parameters, among which "a maximum time uncertainty" is also mentioned in Uhling, paragraph [0089] and cited by the Examiner. Therefore, what is calculated in Uhling is not a time uncertainty per se, but a listening window BASED on the time uncertainty. If the listening window is calculated based on the time uncertainty, then a person of ordinary skill in the related art would understand that the time uncertainty is a parameter that is already available for it to be used in calculating the listening window. Thus calculating a listening window as disclosed in Uhling is not the same feature as estimating a time uncertainty as such”. This argument is not persuasive. The feature estimate a first time uncertainty caused by the apparatus is very broad in meaning. It could be interpreted as calculating a listening window for the periodic beacon based on any one of the jitter uncertainty, drift uncertainty or maximum time uncertainty that is caused by the apparatus.
On page 13, fourth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Furthermore, time uncertainty in the present application is defined as a parameter related to "inaccuracy" in timing (e.g. caused by air interface in RTI cases and by transmission timing errors in the sidelink scenarios; see for example paragraphs [0050] and [0052] of the present application), whereas a "listening window" is merely a period of time for listening, and bears no relation with inaccuracies in timing as disclosed in the present application”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above. Moreover, nowhere in the claim it is mentioned that the time uncertainty is specifically related to inaccuracies in timing (e.g. caused by air interface in RTI cases and by transmission timing errors in the sidelink scenarios), as disclosed in the specification and argued above. Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On page 13, fifth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “At least, for the above reasons, it is believed that the Examiner's reasons fail to show anticipation of this feature of the claims under discussion by Uhling”. This argument is not persuasive. The claims stand rejected for the reasons as explained above.
On page 13 last paragraph and page 14, first to fourth paragraphs of remarks applicant argues that, “The Office Action further states that Uhling discloses the following feature of the claims:
"cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty
and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices".
In support of such allegation the Examiner refers to Uhling, paragraph [0135], in which the following is stated:
"Each node also determines the threshold with which interval 820 is compared as the sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804".
Applicant finds no relevance in the cited passage to the feature of the claim. Indeed, the cited passage refers to determining a threshold value for comparing an interval (820). According to paragraph [0133] and FIG. 7 of Uhling, interval 820 is "between transmission times 806-808 of the two periodic beacons from the two nodes." A person of ordinary skill in the related art clearly understands that determining a threshold for an interval bears no relation with causing transmission of information to one or more target terminal devices as recited in the claims under discussion”. This argument is not persuasive. The argued feature of the claim recites “cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices”. Again the feature is vary broadly claimed, for example, “cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices”, does not necessarily mean transmission of the first uncertainty information to at the target terminal. For example, Uhilig discloses the software application use transceivers and links to transmit and receive periodic beacons with neighboring nodes in network system (i.e.., causes the transmission of information with the target terminal device), where the periodic beacons include timing information (i.e., information on at least the first time uncertainty) that allows computing device to perform time synchronization with the neighboring nodes (see paragraph [0043]).
On page 14, fifth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Furthermore, the feature "combined time uncertainty" as recited in the claims of the present application is different from "sum of a first time uncertainty 812 in listening window 802, a second time uncertainty 814 in listening window 804, " as disclosed in Uhling. This is further discussed in the following paragraphs”. This argument is not persuasive. The claimed feature recites “cause transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices”. As claimed, the feature requires only one of the two features to be selected. Uhlig discloses transmission of a beacon comprising timing information (i.e., information on timing uncertainty) that is used to determine the timing uncertainty, such as, jitter or drift uncertainty. Thus, transmission of information on “combined time uncertainty” is redundant.
On page 14, sixth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “At least, for the above reasons, it is believed that the Examiner's reasons fail to show anticipation of this feature of the claims under discussion by Uhling”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
On page 14, seventh paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “The Office Action further states that Uhling discloses the following feature of the claims:
"wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information ".
In support of such allegation the Examiner refers to Uhling, paragraph [0131].
However, neither in the cited paragraph, nor in the reasoning provided by the Examiner
can there be found any mention of a "reference time defined in reference time
information" as recited in the claims under discussion. A reference time is a timing
provided by a clock source (typically very accurate) used as a basis upon which clocks of other devices may be regulated or synchronized”. This argument is not persuasive. As discussed above, Uhlig discloses, at least, transmission of a beacon comprising timing information to the neighboring node, so the “combined time uncertainty” become redundant. Consequently, the feature "wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information " also become redundant and the arguments become irrelevant.
On page 15, fourth and fifth paragraphs of remarks applicant argues that, “At paragraph and [0045] of the present application it is stated that: "Most notably in view of the embodiments to be discussed below, the SIB9 comprises reference time information ( "ReferenceTimelnfo ", RT/)." Applicant found no mention of such "reference time information" in Uhling”. This argument is not persuasive. As mentioned above the limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Furthermore, as explained above the limitation, "wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information" become redundant when the “combined time uncertainty” feature is not selected. Thus the argument is not relevant.
On page 16 second to last paragraph of remarks applicant argues that “At least, for the above reasons, it is believed that the Examiner's arguments fail to show obviousness of the claims under discussion by Uhling in view of Srivastava. Applicant therefore respectfully submits that the rejections of claims 17, 28, 37 and 38 are improper and should be withdrawn”. This argument is not persuasive. Claims 17, 28, 37 and 38 stand rejected for the reasons as explained above.
On page 16 last paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “It is submitted that claims 18 - 25, 29-36 are non-obvious at least by virtue of their dependence from a respective independent claim which has been improperly rejected”. This argument is not persuasive, since independent claims 17, 28, 37 and 38 stand rejected for the reasons as explained above.
Regarding claim 26, on page 17, first and second paragraphs of remarks applicant argues that, “Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of the above claim is improper for, at least, the reasons discussed below.
The Office Action states that Uhling discloses the following feature of the claim: "wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information"”. This argument is not persuasive. Argued feature of the claim recite, “receive information on a first time uncertainty estimated to be caused by the terminal device for sidelink communication or a combined time uncertainty from the terminal device, wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information”. As claimed, the claim requires receiving information on at least one of the two features by one or more target terminal devices. As noted in the office action above, Srivastava discloses an MS transmit one or more messages which is received by the other MS, where the one or more messages may include the requested positioning assistance data comprising information on a time uncertainty of the current time. Thus, if a message that include the requested positioning assistance data comprising information on a time uncertainty of the current time is selected than the combined time uncertainty feature is redundant. Consequently “wherein the combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty, the second time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information”, also become redundant and the arguments are irrelevant.
On page 17 fifth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Applicant finds no mention in Uhling related to "a time uncertainty corresponding to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information", let alone to "combining" such time uncertainty of a reference time with another time uncertainty”. This argument is not persuasive. The feature is vary broadly claimed, for example, “receive information on a first time uncertainty estimated to be caused by the terminal device for sidelink communication or a combined time uncertainty from the terminal device”, does not necessarily mean reception of the first uncertainty information from the terminal device. As mentioned in the office action above, Srivastava discloses at least one of the messages received by the receiving MS include the requested positioning assistance data which comprises information on a time uncertainty of the current time (see Srivastava, paragraph [0044]).
One page 18, first paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Applicant found no mention of such "reference time information" in Uhling”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
One page 18, sixth paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “The cited passage of Srivastava clearly teaches away from the technique proposed by Uhling. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the related art would not look into Srivastava to cure the deficiencies of Uhling”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
One page 18, seventh paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “At least, for the above reasons, it is believed that the Examiner's arguments fail to show obviousness of claim 26 by Uhling in view of Srivastava. Applicant therefore respectfully submits that the rejections of claim 26 is improper and should be withdrawn”. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 26 stands rejected for the reasons as explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 10/24/2025